Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot ELPH 500 HS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot ELPH 500 HS

Experience an even more intuitive touch panel technology with the PowerShot ELPH 500 HS digital camera.
Average Customer Rating:
3.364 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
6 out of 11(55%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot ELPH 500 HS
Review 1 for PowerShot ELPH 500 HS
Nickname: jmc
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

lens opening sticks

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 1, 2012
Cons: Flimsy Construction
This will be the last Canon I buy.
A few weeks into using the camera the lens opening (which appears to be some flimsy thin metallic sheets) had problems opening all the way so I had to use my hands to manually open them all the way. They now don't even open more than half-way. I have had the camera for just about six months and it's pretty much useless.
I had a similar problem with a past canon. I think there is a flaw with the lens opening design.
I will be speaking with customer service about this defect.
16 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot ELPH 500 HS
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Colorado Springs
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Travel
Product replacement: Yes

Disapointed

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 13, 2012
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance, Complicated controls/menu
This is my first Canon product. I had high hopes for this camera because I had purchased a Canon camera for my son as a gift. I don't remember the model. But it takes great pictures. This seemed to be the closest camera that they make now to the one I gave him. I am very disappointed. Everything is great except the image quality. It is terrible. I have an old 4MP Fuji that puts this to shame . The only way I have been able to get a fair picture is to set the ISO to 100 and the recording MP down to 6MP. When I e-mailed Canon for help they did not even bother to respond. I would not recommend this camera at all.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot ELPH 500 HS
Nickname: Striker
Location: Mountain Home, Arkansas
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

TECH Today Makes NO Sense.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2012
Pros: everything else.
Cons: battery life., gets real hot recording in 1080p
First I got this from Best Buy for just over $200 shipped. I love it over my other 2 year old cam. Lots of reasons why I like it. U can see them here so why type it too. On the other hand what I did not see that was clear was that the battery life is worse then u would expect worse to be. Im talking 20 pics and 15 minutes of 360p video. Its DEAD already. If I knew this would be so bad I would have bought something else. But I have it now and I like it otherwise.
One other thing not to fault canon for but for you reading this to consider. If your net connection is slow like mine it takes over 600 minutes to upload a clip that is 1 minute and 47 seconds. I have .5 dsl. Thats I can get here in cow town. So my trouble is just getting worse till my service is upgraded. My cam did not need to be in hindsight.
One last thing. I recorded that 1:47 video and the cam was so hot. If u want a reliable cam that will record 15 min 1080p clips then this is not it. U cant pig tale 3 battery's to make that happen. On the other hand I can now see why they call it the "Power Shot".
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot ELPH 500 HS
Nickname: Lady
Location: Durham Maine
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast

did not work for me

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2012
I had one cannon camera previously that developed lens problems after a year of use. I expected this camera to work better than the last. It did not. the lens was non functioning out of the package. I returned it.
bought another brand.
4 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot ELPH 500 HS
Nickname: Atlantic

Great CANON ELPH 500!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2012
Pros: physical balance, silver color, sleek feel, smooth look, programs
Straight out of the box the ease of use in this kit rates a 10.
Follow directions and in minutes you'll be shooting uploading and editing awesome, vibrant, intense images!
I am a senior with disabilities in my hands and as long as I use the strap it's simple 1 finger commands to get the results I want. The editing pack is okay so far I mostly upload thru Windows Live and edit in that gallerys program.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot ELPH 500 HS
Nickname: Dyno
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Compact Camera that worth the Price

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 20, 2011
This is my 3rd Canon Compact Camera and to my surprise, in its moderate price, It does the things that I want.
Picture (Day time)
Indoor: 4.5
Outdoor: 5
Picture (Night/Low Light)
Indoor: 4
Outdoor: 4 - took pictures without tripod, only hand-held and I believe if using tripod the rank will be more than 4 :)
Even, when I showed the night shoot picture to my friend, most of them couldn't believe that i took it with a compact camera. They thought I use SLR to take them.
Video (day & Night): 4
In spite the fact that it is only 12M Pixel camera, It really gives a remarkable result. Thanks to great 2.0 aperture that delivers outstanding image. I have not explore all the features bundled in this camera but when I did they will thrill me even more.
Lastly, this is the best camera I ever have as it does replace my previous canon compact cameras as well as my mini DV camcorder to do the things I want. All I need now is some bigger high speed SD memory card.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot ELPH 500 HS
Nickname: mo
Location: NYC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

very pleased

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 5, 2011
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Missing features/settings, Poor Low-Light Performance
For the price this is a very nice camera.I always owned Cannons and have been very happy with them.Takes very nice pictures, the LCD screen is very good you can see your screen in daylight very well.Has a nice zoom on it .Tested out the video it work pretty good also .
For a small camera it does pretty well .If you are use to smart phones touch screens you will find the controls easy to use.
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot ELPH 500 HS
Nickname: JK
Location: Los Angeles
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Top End Point & Shoot

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 29, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
This point and shoot probably has more features than you can imagine and probably ever use. In addition, you can let the camera do the thinking and choose the automatic mode. Reading the digitized manual is important and there is a leaning curve if you want to use the manual settings. The video features are also excellent. The computer software and digital transfer is seamless and intuitive. I have a large SLR and honestly I rarely use it anymore. The lens is exceptional for a point and shoot. It doesn't shoot in RAW, but that is a small limitation.
31 of 31 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot ELPH 500 HS
Nickname: Photographer
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Dare to Compare

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 7, 2011
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I just returned from a beach vacation and can't prase this camera enough. Every picture from bright beach and open waters to nights out on the deck or indoors were well in balance.
The HD videos I uploaded to YouTube have been complimented as if they were shot professionally.
Now all I have to do is buy my own and return this one to the office!
27 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot ELPH 500 HS
Nickname: DG

Horrible Shutter Speed Performance

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 6, 2011
Pros: Bright LCD
Cons: Missing features/settings, Poor Low-Light Performance, Difficult to use, Complicated controls/menu, slow shutter speed
I just purchased the camera and have used it for the past week. The camera is DREADFULLY SLOW. Over the weekend, I was attempting to take pictures of a 3-year old. In most instances, by the time the camera finally took the picture, I had a great picture of the back of her head as she was running away. It takes so long for this camera to lock and load, it is PATHETIC. I am very disappointed in the camera. I like the touch screen, although it is not very intuitive. I am used to Apple products that don't even come with an operating manual----Apple products are so intuitive. If I had it to do all over again, I would not have bought this camera---even though I have bought 5 point and shoot and own an SLR.
25 of 100 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot ELPH 500 HS
Nickname: BlueJay
Location: Ormond Beach, Florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Canon hits a homerun with the 500 HS!!!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 7, 2011
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, customizable touch screen
Cons: Short battery life, time format 24 hour only
This is my 3rd Elph P&S upgrade from Canon and they really delivered on the 500 HS. The 500 HS was purchased after several months at looking at all the recently introduced compact point & shoot cameras, as well as many of the larger ones. For travel, I wanted a small, feature-loaded, P&S with a very wide-angle, quality lens. The picture quality is outstanding (although I haven't used movie-mode yet) and the touch screen performs well both indoors and outside in sunlight.
The 4 basic modes (Auto, Programmed AE, Aperture, and Speed Priorities) along with the options provided, just covers about every feature an amateur would want. Perhaps one of the neatest features is the ability to customize the touch screen to your personal use.
The only features lacking seem to be panoramic shooting, GPS, and manual focus; but for the size and price, it can't be beat. And I love the bronze (brown) color.
The only reasons I wouldn't give it a 5-star rating are the following:
First is the battery; even with a spare, I'm concerned about long, active, picture-taking days. Second, it would sure be nice to have the option to display time in either 12 or 24 hour format. And third, the PSC-2060 black case doesn't have a belt loop. I've been told the 2050 does, but the on-line descriptions don't indicate that.
107 of 107 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site