Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot ELPH 100 HS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot ELPH 100 HS

Coming in an array of bold, eye-catching colors that'll be a sure fit for any personality, the sleek and stylish PowerShot ELPH 100 HS digital camera is what you need to add that creative edge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
38 out of 42(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot ELPH 100 HS
Review 1 for PowerShot ELPH 100 HS
Nickname: Boom

Love this Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 4, 2014
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, handy
I received this camera for Christmas a year ago and I am loving this camera. I just learned new features of it, so now I can take even better photos with this camera. It may be expensive, but it is totally worth the money. It may not have the same features as a DSLR, but it works like one if you know the different features of it. There are some tricks and tips to taking a photo like a pro without the DSLR quality, but works just as great. Canon has got to be the best camera quality from all brands.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot ELPH 100 HS
Nickname: Donz
Location: LA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Disappointment

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2014
Pros: easy to use
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance
Very disappointed after being a canon loyal customer for years, and even though my previous one sd1100 got ruined very easily when accidentally the lens opened and my hand happened to be in front of it so it was gone...I still got a new canon which is the elph 100 hs which takes very ok pictures in the day light but once we hit the dark the flash is way too week to light up faces so the pictures tend to be too dark...also it requires a very long press to take the picture which is annoying when you stop same stranger to take a photo of you cause usually you end up bothering them by trying and failing to take the picture
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot ELPH 100 HS
Nickname: shorty
Location: iowa
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: red eyes
I loved this camera alto i had troule with red eyes
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot ELPH 100 HS
Nickname: Bellcurve
Location: People's Republic of MA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very good, surprisingly so

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Bought this because I wanted a small, easily portable camera that would fit in the rear pocket of a cyclist's jersey..and wouldn't be so expensive that I wouldn't carry it in case I had a crash.
Well it fits that bill brilliantly. And it also takes surprisingly good pictures. Lots of flexibility in spite of not having Av or Tv capability, which I wasn't looking for.
The low light/high ISO performance is really a stunner. I was hoping ISO 400 would be usable, well ISO 1600 is useable, and even ISO 3200 is acceptable at times!
I had an ELPH 500 HS previously. It was a little too big for my purposes and I ended up not liking the touch screen interface. I was also a bit disappointed with its image quality, odd noise or noise reduction artifacs. The ELPH 100 HS IQ is significantly better. Same sensor, same processor, only difference is the lens. Go figure.
Inexpensive, small, high quality. A no-brainer.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot ELPH 100 HS
Nickname: Manny
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

My best camera so far

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 24, 2012
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Base on portability, price, easy of use and quality this is the best camera I ever had, and I had quite a few over 35 years. The image quality is impressive and the night shots without a tripod are amazing. The only con that I can find is that the zoom is only 4X but I was very aware that this is the small price that you have to pay if you want portability. I'm really happy with this camera.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot ELPH 100 HS
Nickname: scudrunner
Location: rural Wisconsin
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Excellent Value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 23, 2012
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Purchased this camera as a handy "pocket-sized always with you" backup to our Canon DSLRs. The photos are crisp, color rendition excellent, in short a much better camera than I was expecting in such a small package. The only downside.....I hate it when my camera is smarter than I am.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot ELPH 100 HS
Nickname: ConnahMac
Location: Bryan, Texas
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Really Great Purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2012
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, good macro, great portraits
Cons: 8 x 10's a bit pixelated
My dad bought me this camera for my birthday in September 2011, and I absolutely LOVE it. I am an amateur photographer, and this camera is perfect for someone who is looking to dip their feet into the world of photography. The macro on this camera is great, although it is a bit hard to focus on really small objects up close, which is kind of expected. The picture quality is amazing, and looks great even on large computer screens. The camera makes portraits look really great, even in auto mode. It's like it's got a little photoshop; Skin looks smooth, and eyes look bright. The menu is very easy to navigate, and has all sorts of nifty little effects that you can use, like vivid, B&W, and Sepia. Also, there are different modes that you can use in the custom mode, like Fish-eye, Foliage, and beach. Low light pictures come out well.
My only complaint is that my pictures, when printed in 8 x 10's, came out a bit pixelated. I'm not sure if it's the MP on the camera, I should have sharpened it, or the setting on the camera. It's probably me since no one else has complained about it.
Overall, this camera is great for beginners, or even experienced photographers who would like a compact camera for quick, on-the-go shots.
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot ELPH 100 HS
Nickname: yankee
Location: NC
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2012
Pros: great zoom focus, exceptionally clear images
This camera takes surprisingly clear photos. I recently took some stills of a track event of the runners coming down the track and I was pleasantly surprised to find that the images were not blurred. Once I read the instructions, the zoom feature was easy to use.
The camera is lightweight, yet sturdy. Images upload easily so that is a kudo to the supplied software including zoombrowser EX.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot ELPH 100 HS
Nickname: caro
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

great point and shoot

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2012
Pros: great low light, cmos sensor, full hd video, fast shooting, easy & quick to take a video
Cons: deleting is slow
I love this camera! It has a CMOS sensor, the HS system,and shoots up to 8 frames per second. It has full 1080 p video.
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot ELPH 100 HS
Nickname: tmehrkam
Location: Houston Tx
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great pocket camera and much more.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 1, 2012
Pros: price is right, takes great photos and movies, great battery life., small enough to live in a pocket
Cons: none.
I purchased this camera for a trip to Papua New Guinea. I was working on a Seismic Survey Vessel and wanted a small camera to take on the trip. Our marketing department wanted photos of our equipment in action and I wanted to have memories of the trip.
I have a Power Shot G2 and a film SLR but did not want to carry all that gear.
This little camera lived in my pocket 24/7 Always available to take a photo or movie. I took over 2000 photos and several hours of moves. It always did what I asked it to do. Out performed the old G2 to the point I am retiring that camera.
In addition it inspired me to get a Digital SLR for the few cases where this camera is not appropriate. Like taking photos where a telephoto lens is required. I just ordered a EOS 60D and a quality telephoto to go with it. With the EOS around my neck and the little ELF in the pocket I am ready for anything,
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot ELPH 100 HS
Nickname: Richio
Location: Aiken SC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Greatest compact --- but....

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 31, 2012
Pros: compact size
Cons: complicated menus, no zoom during videos
This is my fifth Canon digital camera. I really like the compact form factor. That makes it easy to throw the camera in the pocket or glovebox. This model has plenty of MP's (12) and is relatively easy to use. The photos are vibrant.
The camera has many extra features available through the menus. However, after reading the 202 page user manual, I came to the conclusion that (1) Most of the extra features I would rarely use and (2) If I DID want use one of those unusual features it would be twice a year therefore (3) I and probably most users are not going to be able to MEMORIZE how to click down through said menus in order to implement those features.
Regardless, I think that the camera is a good value for the price.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot ELPH 100 HS
Nickname: Pentaxian
Location: Godfrey, IL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera for the Buck!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 24, 2012
love the low light shooting with this camera. Often times, no flash required. Fairly easy to understand menu
Review 13 for PowerShot ELPH 100 HS
Nickname: jp338
Location: Kingman, AZ
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent performance and value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2012
Pros: great quality and value
After I read an excellent review for this camera in a consumer magazine, I purchased one. I am not disappointed.
This camera outperformed my other digital camera in the quality of the still photos it took. It also outperformed my digital camcorder in the quality of action videos as well. If I would have known about this camera sooner, I could have saved some bucks.
Also, I really like the Canon photo viewer software that comes with the camera. It organizes the photos efficiently for easy viewing and selection.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot ELPH 100 HS
Nickname: sheephead
Location: Meridian
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent camara!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 14, 2012
The price is reasonable. It is easily to use it. A lot of functions to take the good photos.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot ELPH 100 HS
Nickname: tdubs3
Location: Atlanta
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

9 months in Europe and still truckin' on

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2012
This is a great camera. I busted my previous point-and-shoot (which cost a sight more than this one) and figured I'd just replace it with an entry-level point-and-shoot in case history repeated itself.
I'm never going to spend a penny more - cause this thing is awesome! It's durable (9 months of travel, works like new), takes treat pictures, stellar in low-light, takes a decent video and that screen?...it's huge! Don't look further, just buy one.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot ELPH 100 HS
Nickname: dancer0609
Location: Florida
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera and Good Price

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 5, 2012
Pros: excellent photo quality, takes pictures like a professional camera, good price, lightweight, small and compact
Cons: the color chips off easily, wrist strap hard to get on
The camera has a good price for it's incredible photo quality. Works like a professional camera. Only problem is the color chips off easily.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot ELPH 100 HS
Nickname: SupaFly
Location: Miami
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2012
Pros: easy to use, great pictures, compact, lightweight, hd video, lots of features to play with
Cons: wrist strap to stiff, getting the wrist strap on camera
Great camera! Easy point and shoot camera with lots of features to play with.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot ELPH 100 HS
Nickname: Sandy
Location: Houston
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Only one I want to use

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2011
My job requires up to 400 shots a day on low resolution and this camera has been my favorite. I love the fast shot and the size of the camera. I have tried others and they just dont measure up. A co-worker found the same camera independently from me. Its just a workhorse.
I cant say its a con but due to the amount of use I was only able to drop it 4 times before it went out on me. When the lens cant function its a gonner, so I got another just like it.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot ELPH 100 HS
Nickname: Michael
Location: Corona, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera, but doesn't work w/Win 7 64 bit

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2011
Pros: lots of usable features, good size and light weight, 10 picture burst mode
Cons: cannot use file transfer to windows 7 64-bit os
We love this camera! The size and weight work well for hand carry. We especially like the burst mode so we won't miss any action pictures! The HD video is of course great!
The only issue is that the camera would not connect to my Window 7 64-bit home computer. Several re-installs did not remedy this. Fortunately, I have notebook with Windows XP and the camera works just fine connect there. It's only because of this issue that I couldn't give a full 5 star rating.
Bottom line is this is a terrific camera!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot ELPH 100 HS
Nickname: Annie
Location: NE
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Defecti ve

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2011
Bought the Elph100 on Friday. Charged it Sat. morning. Took it back to the store Sunday. Lens would NOT open.
7 of 17 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site