Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot S100

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot S100

12.1 Megapixel CMOS sensor and new DIGIC 5 Image Processor Full HD 1080p video in stereo sound 5x Optical Zoom with 24mm wide angle lens Intelligent IS automatically chooses from six different modes to optimize image stabilization
Average Customer Rating:
3.537 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
9
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
5
25 out of 41(61%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot S100
Review 1 for PowerShot S100
Nickname: mkse55

S100 great pocket camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2014
very nice pocket camera. small, great IQ, nice features. RAW image or JPG, 2.0 thru more than 1/2 the zoom. HDR and night shots. good ISO control. hard to beat at this price range.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot S100
Nickname: Jkelly
Location: Long Beach, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Crappiest Powershot ever

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2013
Pros: Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Poor image quality, Short battery life, Flimsy Construction, overpriced
Overpriced and poor replacement to the S95. Three product advisories issued w/in one year of camera release. Lens wouldnt retract after several months. Canon really has dropped the ball on this line and lost a lot of fans of their Powershot series. Much better options out there ..
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot S100
Nickname: Sparks
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Lens Flaw Ruins Otherwise Great Camera

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 12, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life, design flaws
I purchased this camera in December 2011 and have used it for thousands of pictures and for HD video. Picture and video quality is superb. It is my "go to" camera for traveling light applications.
Unfortunately . . . the lens jammed in June 2012. Two week repair plus shipping and insurance. Lens jammed again in June 2013. Back to the shop hoping the warranty will be honored. Had to buy a replacement as I use the camera almost daily in my business.
I can not recommend this camera.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot S100
Nickname: Manu
Location: New york, NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Horrible perfomance

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 3, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Simple controls/menu
Cons: Dim LCD, Poor image quality, Difficult to use, Heavy/Bulky, Complicated controls/menu
I have this camera for over 5 months now, I never get night and indoor picture correct. They always come out blurry. I don't recommend any purchase this for indoor photo shots
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot S100
Nickname: LynNM
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

So Frustrated!

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2013
Pros: excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Difficult to use, Short battery life, Complicated controls/menu
Great looking camera, but the User Guide is awful. So little real information on how to use this new camera of mine. I want my old camera back!
1 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot S100
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: San francisco bay Area
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Missing Manual

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
This a agreat camera. Excellant handling, images , etc. Except there is no printed manual a real cheap drawback,especially if one doesn'r have a computer or printer.
Review 7 for PowerShot S100
Nickname: Rick
Location: Houston, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Battery Life Very Poor

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2013
Cons: Short battery life
I researched this camera quite a bit and did notice the poor battery performance remarks. I just did not know it was as bad as it was, or even think it could be so bad. I regularly carry 4 batteries (charged up) because the battery loses its juice so fast. It is very bothersome.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot S100
Nickname: snapdoc
Location: Boston
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good but one major deficiency

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
I have had this camera for a year and a half. I wanted to have a pocket-size all-purpose camera for shooting kids and to use while skiing. I am a photographer and always like to have a camera with me. Cell phones are useful but in general won't do if you want good quality and to make larger prints. This camera takes great shots. It focuses fast and accurately and handles most scenes quite well.I use the program or scene modes frequently and find that I only use manual mode rarely. The images from this camera will not hold up to close inspection with larger sensor cameras but will give you good shots in most situations. Color saturation and dynamic range as well as detail will not be as good as C size or full frame sensors. That doesn't mean that you won't get acceptable pictures depending on your purpose.
The problems that I've had with this camera have been significant to me. The first is that this battery cannot stand up to exposure to cold weather for even a brief period. You may get one or two Shots off when taking pictures on a mountain while skiing or even 15 seconds of video but no more. The red battery light comes on telling you that you need to change your battery and this even though the battery is fully charged. I returned my camera to Canon who told me nothing was wrong and that the camera was up to spec. This camera is not guaranteed to take pictures at temperatures below 32°. All my previous PowerShot cameras have been fine under the circumstances in fact I have never had a problem before. I Returned my camera a second time when this continued to happen this year and they change the motherboard. The camera is a little better but it's clear that the problem relates to this particular battery. The battery has been changed For the S110 which is back to the battery used in the S95. Interestingly my wife has the S95 and that is the camera that we used this season for our ski pictures without a problem.
The camera makes beautiful videos in high definition of indoor sporting events with the only problem being again the battery not lasting that long. If you shoot in slow motion your images are also likely to be somewhat dark unless you are in a very bright arena.
To Make a long story short, this is an excellent camera particularly at it's present price point. It gives beautiful pictures, beautiful videos and has state-of-the-art functionality for a point-and-shoot camera.If you plan on just going out and shooting a couple of snapshots, the battery will do fine. If you're going to use this to shoot events make sure you buy an extra battery. If you plan on using this outdoors in cold weather buy something else.
ps. Canon Service was actually quite good. My problem was apparently more about the battery than malfunction. The service was fast and pleasant and I have no complaints with them.
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot S100
Nickname: CUser
Location: Reynosa, Mexico
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Advanced Pocket Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
Great advanced camera, performs better than expected. This is a replacement to my lost S90 wich was a really good compact. I really enjoy taking pictures with this little but powerful camera, it delivers great results, the camera grip and control wheel are very useful, the only con I encountered is that the battery life lasts less when the GPS is used. I consider this to be a pro level compact camera.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot S100
Nickname: ACD
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Terrible camera

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2013
Cons: Poor image quality, Flimsy Construction
This is a terrible camera. The flash broke within 3 months of purchase because it is located right where you put your finger when holding camera. Action photos (of children, babies) are always blurry, even in TV mode. I wish I were able to return it and buy a better camera.
4 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot S100
Nickname: mt man
Location: Colorado
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Canon fixed the problems disregard my previous rev

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, great image resolution at lower iso settings
Cons: Short battery life
This review replaces my previous negative review of of the S100. I can now agree with those that posted positive reviews of the S100. My S100, after 2 trips to Canon service is now working to specs.It is great. I find that trying to remain in iso 125 in Av and TV while shooting RAW gives me spectacular results for a such a small sensor. Even passes the pixal peeping test at 100% when viewing the image on my computer . Great little camera. Canon service came through
and I am satisfied.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot S100
Nickname: Mt man
Location: Colorado
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Unacceptable image quality,soft and shaky

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life
The first copy had shot soft blurry images especially in low light applications.I sent it back to retailer and they replaced it.
Second copy had same issues ,soft ,blurry images, terrible performance.
On auto the camera would choose really slow shutter speeds allowing for camera shake even in outside good light.Indoors
In low light flash photos also very poor. Hand held night feature allowed for camera to select low iso and very slow shutter speeds, again camera shake. Focus was also off. I sent it to Canon repair
they replaced some kind of assembly. Camera came back no different ,same problems. Sent it back again. Canon said they "cleaned and adjusted optics and adjusted that assembly, that they had previously replaced. Huh? I have not received it back yet. I am wonder if there was a bad batch manufactured and I am unlucky to get 2 copies of that bad batch. My experience with this camera is nothing like the positive reviews posted here. I have had pro Canon film cameras as a well as DSLRs since I am a pro.
The 2 powershot 100 cameras, so far have been nothing but a hassle and unusable. At this stage Canon is repairing their previous repairs. I fear that I have a "paper weight"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot S100
Nickname: Burk
Location: Lafayette, LA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Flash Drove Me Crazy

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 1, 2012
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
I was excited to get this camera as a Mother's Day present. I had a Canon point and shoot prior to this and I was very pleased. I wanted a higher end Canon p/s. After much research I decided on this one. It had all the features I wanted; however, I was very disappointed that it did not come with an complete owner's manual that I could put in my camera case.
I contacted my retailer several times because I was unhappy with the shutter to flash time. By the time the flash fired, my subjects (grandchildren) had long gone. It was frustrating. I was going to send it back; however, I dropped it on concrete at the zoo and broke it. I am going to send it back to Canon to see if it can be repaired since it will be a while for me to replace it. I would not recommend or buy another Canon S100 because of the delayed flash.
6 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot S100
Nickname: hoosierdaddy2
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best pocket-sized camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 24, 2012
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, control ring
Cons: Short battery life
Purchased 6 months ago as a pocketable alternative to my big DSLR.
Pros: great image quality for a small sensor camera
Impressive low-light capability for a small sensor camera
Size/weight is exactly what I wanted
Cons: Frustratingly short battery life and overpriced spare battery!
Shutter lag compared to DSLR makes it useless for action shots
Flash placement is exactly where I want to put my finger
Need a second dial for exposure compensation; I like the ring set to ISO, but then it takes too long to adjust exp. comp.
Overall it seems about $100 overpriced for what you get.
A G15 closer to this size would be perfect!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot S100
Nickname: Old Dog
Location: Lawrence KS
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Very Compact, easy to use

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 13, 2012
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings, shutter lag
I have been a Canon owner and avid fan since 1973, from F1 bodies and a full range of FD lenses to the 5D MKII. The S100 performs as well as my G9 except for the shutter lag. It is impossible to take action pictures with the S100. However, the S100 fits easily into my pants pocket so it can go anywhere I go without any hassles. I have used this camera for portraits, landscapes, low light street scenes and it works great. Just forget trying to take action pictures.
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot S100
Nickname: Critical Mass
Location: St. Louis, MO
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

The best camera is the one with you!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 5, 2012
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Missing features/settings, Short battery life, Complicated controls/menu
Purchased unit in February and have used it extensively since then on travel, family and macro. As good as it is overall, it's highest/best use may be macro. Wide open it does a fantastic job in general shooting and outstanding on macro (down to one inch). Note to others who have had lens problems - The S100 has a recall program to correct the lens sticking issue. Mine was returned in very short order and has worked fine since. Night shooting is another area of excellence that I have enjoyed. Cons include the well known battery insufficiency (turn the GPS off and leave it off!), needs practice to make good use of features and does not come with a case or manual. I carry it in a very small zip lock snack baggy when in my pocket or backpack to ward off lint/dust/water/whatever and it works great. It's not a DSLR but it doesn't need to be, it IS quite good and the perfect pocket companion if you understand photography. Needs two things: First is more rapid, continuing development by Canon on software/features and, if it gets that, it will solve the second need - improved value equation.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot S100
Nickname: Jimbo
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Good Shots but Battery Life & Flash Issues

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 4, 2012
Pros: excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use, optical zoom in video mode, compact
Cons: Short battery life, expensive spare battery, pop-up flash not in ideal location, file write time a tad sluggish
Having a DSLR and the G12, I needed something small enough to go in the pocket and yet still take good photos for a family trip. The initial reviews I read of the s100 suggested it could fit the bill.
Pros:
The camera's size and quality of photos taken were just what I had hoped for. I can fit the s100 in my front jeans pocket and take good shots...ideal. The image stabilising seems to be pretty effective as well. You can also start recording video no matter which mode you are in, so no need to suddenly scramble to fiddle with knobs. And, compared to the G12, you have an optical zoom in video mode, which simply blows the G12 away (the G12's digital video zoom is "use only in an emergency" due to the resulting poor image quality).
However, there are a couple of cons, which are the battery (life and cost) and the flash (main) and noise reduction in JPEG mode (minor) and write time and shutter pressure.
Con 1: The battery life is far too short for a camera at this price point. Considering the energy density of Li-Ion batteries, a fraction bigger on the volume dimensions would have had a noticeable impact on battery life. Many a time, I have had to dial down the LCD brightness to help eek a bit more time out of the battery. Also, when the battery starts getting close to being empty, the camera really gives conflicting messages about the state of the battery, and has me scratching my head as to if it needs a charge or not. Lastly, Canon seriously overprices its batteries, as I picked up a reputable third-party brand in the shops for close to half what Canon charges. Li-Ion is effectively a mature technology, Canon.
Con 2: The location of the pop-up flash is problematic, to say the least. As noted by another reviewer, it sits right under where one of your fingers naturally wants to sit. I usually shoot without the flash in Program mode, but if you shoot with the "Auto Flash" mode, then it pops up and throws you off, not to mention if you block it you may need to restart the camera. This is something that I am surprised Canon did not pick up on in their product development and testing.
Con 3: You cannot turn off the noise reduction except when shooting in RAW mode. Since you can turn it off in RAW mode, why not in JPEG mode as well? Canon, time for a firmware update here...
Con 4: The write time is on the sluggish side, even when shooting just JPEGs.
Con 5: To me, it seems as if you need to press down on the shutter button a bit harder than on the G12. That could simply be me.
So, overall, the s100 does take good shots and I have been pretty happy in that respect, especially considering the size of the camera. However, it is worthwhile investing in a spare battery. For what you pay for the s100, I would have expected Canon to have addressed these issues, which is why I have marked it down to 4 stars.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot S100
Nickname: WATERGRL
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great pix, but watch out for pop-up flash

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 1, 2012
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, pop-up flash
After reading several reviews of the S100, I was afraid of buying too much camera for me as I am not by any means a professional photographer. Fears aside, I still got it and I am not sorry. It is fun to play with the myriad of settings. Besides, I could take classes if I want to take better pictures. The camera mostly works beautifully, the pictures and video are wonderfully clear.
My only real issue is the pop-up flash. Not a good placement design. Instinctually one holds a point and shoot camera with both hands to steady it but unfortunately the placement of the flash is right under your finger. If you don't watch your finger placement you could block the flash and cause the camera to error out. You have to re-start it in order for the flash to work again. I am not sure if that is why my flash stopped popping up after only two weeks, but it did. Since the camera was only purchased weeks ago, I opted to exchange it for a new one of the same model. Let's see what happens...
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot S100
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Los Angeles
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

should have waited

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 23, 2012
Cons: Heavy/Bulky, Flimsy Construction
I made the mistake of buying the S100 at Fry's with their 15-day return policy. On day 17, the lens cover stopped operating on the day of the huge party for which I bought the camera. Now I will always worry that the replacement camera will do the same thing.
3 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot S100
Nickname: Challenger3989
Location: Salina, Kansas
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Better videos than Canon M30

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2012
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I bought this camera after being very satisfied with Canon's S95 camera. I also own the Canon Vixia M30 camcorder. I must say the S100 takes better videos and is simpler to use than the M30. I take videos of railroad operations that I upload ti You Tube. For handheld camera videos, I am able to acquire a much more steady shot with the S100. Also, the videos from the S100 have not turned out distorted like some of the videos from the M30. My only complaint is the battery life which I will ameliorate by picking up a spare battery on eBay.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site