Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot G Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot G Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot G1 X

PowerShot G1 X

Canon 1.5-inch, 14.3 Megapixel High-Sensitivity CMOS Sensor Canon DIGIC 5 Image Processor 14-Bit RAW + JPEG 1080p Full HD Video
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
10
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
1
32 out of 43(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot G1 X
Review 1 for PowerShot G1 X
Nickname: LIONGATE
Location: Scottsdale, Arizona
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Good camera with significant drawbacks

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2014
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, well built
Cons: Difficult to use, Short battery life, Complicated controls/menu, viewfinder worthless, shutter lag, slow autofocus
I bought this camera for a trip to Europe in 2012. The camera performed well for the trip, but I'm not sure it would be my camera of choice if I were to do it again. I read the reviews prior to making the purchase so I had some expectation of the potential issues. I guess I didn't realize how much they would affect me, these being (1)limited macro capability and (2)slow focusing. Put simply, don't expect to take close-ups of any kind with this camera. Even with the 4x magnifier I bought for it, and in macro mode, I can't get closer than 2 feet away from a subject. The slow focusing proved to be a bigger issue for me. For a carry around camera to shoot architecture, landscapes, etc., it proved to be great. Candid shots of the family enjoying the trip were a little more difficult because the focus was so slow. Additionally, there's a significant lag after you press the shutter button. Being accustomed to my Canon 20D ESLR, this was really noticeable and quite constraining. My only other comments are that there seem to be a lot of features that are only usable in specific modes and given the large variety of features and settings, it's more than a little confusing trying to remember what's available for a given mode. Keep your manual handy. Lastly, the battery life is very poor. I'd strongly recommend buying several batteries to keep on standby. The manual viewfinder is virtually worthless so you'll want to use the screen for nearly everything and it burns batteries like they're going out of style.
Review 2 for PowerShot G1 X
Nickname: bvwest
Location: los angeles
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

I enjoy it

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2014
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
Cut my teeth years ago with F1 mech., A1, F1AE, T90, etc. Remember the weight of a f1ae with motor drive, 12 count them 12 aa batteries. Carried them all over the world. Everyone remember the 50+ lbs camera bag? Wanted a camera that I could get good to very good images with a decent sensor size plus my small sound recording gear and my underwater gear in one small bag. Its perfect for that. Am I going to shoot a f1 race with it no, football action no, but for wandering around Maui and taking very nice shots with exceptional resolution its great. Know what it can do and accept the limitations your good to go
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot G1 X
Nickname: ken
Location: Washington
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

camera is too slow between shot

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life, too slow
Take too long between shot. Seems slower then the cheaper canon power shot. I wish they can make it a bit faster.
20 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot G1 X
Nickname: Rmark
Location: Maryland
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

great camera/ missing features

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 25, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD
Cons: Missing features/settings, Short battery life, steep learning curve
I have the G1x for about 18 months, having bought it shortly after it was released. I wanted the larger sensor and the external (non-menu) controls. I had read most of the critical reviews and was not put off by the slower focus and lack of macro. Neither was a deal breaker.
There are 2 rather inexplicable problems when using external flash. One, there is a noticeable delay after triggering shutter and when the external flash fires. The built in flash does not have this problem. Second is the lack of TTL flash when shooting in manual
Canon DSLRs have TTL flash in manual, cannot understand why it would be disabled.
Firmware upgrade could probably fix these issues, but Canon seems reluctant to provide updates for Powershot cameras.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot G1 X
Nickname: SteveL
Location: Minneapolis
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Extremely SLOW autofocus !

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Short battery life, extremely slow autofocus
Let me begin by saying I have used Cannon cameras exclusively since 1973 ! I bought the G1x to replace my G7 that had served me well for many years. I also own 2 high end Canon DSLR camera bodies.
I have been extremely disappointed with the G1x for one reason. The autofocus is EXTREMELY slow ! You click the shutter and wait and wait and wait for the camera to take the photo ! I have missed so many shots with the camera waiting for the shutter to open.
When I do get an image the image quality is very good. I have been very frustrated with so many missed shots.
19 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot G1 X
Nickname: Camera Guy
Location: Cali
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Poorly placed video button

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2013
Pros: excellent image quality
Cons: Missing features/settings, Complicated controls/menu, poor video button placement
A terribly placed video start button. This is where the exposure lock button used to be on powershots, which was perfect. Now when we go to lock exposure we mistakenly start shooting video. By the time this can be shut off, you miss the shot. I must be the only one that has a problem with this button as Canon continues to include this button in the exact same place on the G16. If you can't move it, at least let the function of it be customizable.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot G1 X
Nickname: Photo-Joe
Location: Arlington, VA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Almost Perfect

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 9, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: slow
This is an excellent point and shoot camera. If you don't want the bulk, but want some of the functions and advantages of a more expensive camera, this one is for you.
The features are top-notch. The video is solid; I have not noticed problems generally associated with videos from non-camcorders. The low light photo performance is outstanding -- I've taken photos in churchs, where no flash is allowed and the photos are great. For routine family/vacation photos and photos in low light, you can't go wrong with this camera.
A few detractors: 1. The camera is slow between taking single photos. I note that the 6 picture burst function does off-set this, but you have to switch functions to get that going. So, overall, it can be, but is not always, an inconvenience. 2. Where you have moving targets, like at sporting events, I suggest manually setting the camera function/settings up ahead of time to be sure you get the shot -- this is not close to a DSLR when it comes to sports photos.
Overall, it's almost perfect for a camera of this class.
31 of 31 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot G1 X
Nickname: Flying Scotsman
Location: Charlotte, NC
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Astonishing image quality!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 11, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life, slow af
Bought this camera used - at an absolutely rock-bottom, dirt-cheap price - directly from an unhappy owner who apparently thought he was getting dSLR image quality and dSLR speed. Well, he was 1/2 right. He shot less than 100 images ... and dumped it. The G1 X images are beyond comparison with anything I've seen in a point-n-shoot camera. But as others have noted, it's NOT at it's best for macro and NOT speed-demon as far as AF. I've done a few "action" shots in MF and that's a noticeable improvement - but this simply IS NOT a sports photographer's dream pocket- camera. It WILL knock out 98-99 percent of the average shooter's "vacation" images and should leave you speechless; the 1080p video almost looks too good to be "amateur". Best point-n-shoot camera I've ever used - understand the limitations of that type of camera! - and that's all I ever hoped for. It has easily exceeded my wildest expectations. (Get a spare battery!)
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot G1 X
Nickname: Javier
Location: Miami, FL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Battery Life

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 1, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
I have owned the camera for sometime now. I shoots beautiful pictures. The only drawback I've experienced is battery life. If I shoot with no flash, one full battery could last for over 24 hours, but battery life is much shorter with flash. I encourage Canon to solve this by maybe a firmware update. Thanks for reading this review.
23 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot G1 X
Nickname: rapopper
Location: Venezuela
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

excelent camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable
i have this camera for 6 monrhs and what it does is excelent,however if you are for macro or fast camera look another camera.
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot G1 X
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Colorado
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Product replacement: No

Extremely satisfied

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: not for macro
Do not buy this camera if your emphasis is action sports, or you want to do macro.
It is what it is. Learn to set the autofocus correctly and it takes beautiful landscape and portrait shots. It will also do it in lower light than most any other compact.
Used properly there is probably not another camera as small and lightweight that will give you the quality shots this camera will give you.
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot G1 X
Nickname: Duvall
Location: Apopka Florida
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Doesn't live up to the Canon name

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: has trouble with focusing inside of 10ft
Well I purchased this camera to take to Hawaii while my daughter got married to do some underwater shots. I have been using Canon cameras sense the tx and Ftb came out. This camera does not have any micro capiblity at all. I shot for three weeks everyday underwater. Half my images were out of focus that right half. I was so bumbed. As well as embarrised that I purchased it.
I guess I can join the club of other G1X owner who are dyeing for it to be fixed via software updates.
18 of 38 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot G1 X
Nickname: Scorpio69er
Location: Hawaii
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Superb IQ in a rugged small camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: slow auto focus, need to buy filter adapter
I have yet to see anything from this camera other than sterling image quality, assuming one observes the basic rules of photography. Anyone should be able to shoot fantastic pix with this in full auto mode, yet there are numerous manual settings available. Those wanting to stick a camera an inch away from a flower or bug should look elsewhere, as should those whose main thing is shooting fast moving action. But for any other shots (i.e., 99% of photography), this is simply unbeatable. Superb low light shots, especially. Oh, and shooting very nice 1080p movies is a snap.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot G1 X
Nickname: Dave
Location: MD
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 24, 2012
Pros: excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD
Cons: slow hunts for focus, lag
This camera is so slow, it takes all the enjoyment out of photography, and its macro for all reality does not exsist.
I find it funny the other write that said come on its not a dslr its not going to be fast. Let me tell you most ALL point and shots beat this camera and for a lot less. It's lag and hunting for focus takes all the fun away from actually taking the pictures.
Not sure what guys around a board table approved this camera but someone really needs to be held accountable.
Does it take good pictures....Yes, but the mind blowing slowness of this camera and for the price point make it a Do Not Buy.
84 of 93 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot G1 X
Nickname: StacyJ808
Location: Big Island, Hawaii
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Love it, but Macro focal length needs attention

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 17, 2012
Pros: excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use, manual white balance gives nice underwater color
Cons: Short battery life, inadequate macro focal point, focus locks on a subject but focuses elsewhere
I bought this camera mainly to be my underwater camera. I am just getting started as a scuba diver. I do have previous canon dslr experience but this was my first purchase of this type of camera. It was recommended to me by the local camera shop because of it's amazing picture quality.
I do LOVE the picture quality but after taking it on about 30 dives I have to say that I couldn't agree more with the comments about the disappointment in the macro focus range. I need to be able to get MUCH closer to my subject than this macro allows me.
I have also ocassionally been disappointed with the focus lock out of the water. I have locked it full-on the subject I am trying to take a picture of and when I look at the picture, it has focused on something further out that my subject -- and that's with my subject 4+ feet away, so it's not a macro photo?
So far, I think I love everything else about the camera. The instructor of my underwater digital photography course yesterday was very surprised at the flaw in the macro. (She has and loves her G10) She recommended that I go to Canon about it because it is unacceptable for a dive camera.
She also commented that Canon is fantastic about fixing things via firmware.
I am hoping Canon is listening to these requests and that my G1X is about to the everything I wanted in a dive camera in this price point.
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot G1 X
Nickname: Daryl
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Fun Camera, small enough to use all day.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2012
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu
I have owned the camera for a couple of days and I really enjoy it. It takes great pictures day or night. The only problem I have had is the learning curve with all the menus and buttons. The manual provided on the CD is almost worthless. When you need to figure out something there is not always a computer around to read the manual. I bought a very nice book at he bookstore which helped a lot. This camera has a great lens and sensor combination but the focusing could be easier.
The filter lens hood accessories need improvement. Taking them on and off and storing the lens ring is not convenient.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot G1 X
Nickname: RobW
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

High quality non-DSLR

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 24, 2012
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu
My G1X is second camera (to 7D), replacing my G10, which in turn replaced G7.
Image quality is outstanding. On a 10-day trip recently with both 7D and G1X I, much to my surprise, found the choice between images from each camera surprisingly difficult. Very low noise and excellent color performance.
I can understand some of the comments re start-up time and focus performance is slightly below what I would have hoped, but for me these are minor compromises in the performance of an excellent camera.
Don't really understand review comments re battery performance, as I've not been able to stress it so far, and I'm a self-confessed hog who then has to spend far too many hours sorting through the results.
VIdeo performance is stunning. I loaned my wife the camera to try HD Video while i was using the 7D to capture stills, while our daughters were zip lining in rainforest area. Results were impressive, with the video image quality and stabilization outstanding.
Very flexible camera in a small package and a very worthwhile upgrade from the G10. I see a few niggles reported, and a few I agree with, though I'd certainly buy it again as-is. Of course, if Canon are able to deal with them via firmware in the same way as the firmware upgrade about to be released for my 7D, then I'll be a delighted owner indeed!
43 of 44 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot G1 X
Nickname: Surprised User
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Spectacular Photo Quality

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2012
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, durable, great 'grab and go' camera
It's all a matter of perspective - the G11 or G12 and all point and shoot users for that matter have to be just ecstatic with this camera. Come on boys and girls this is not advertised to be the fastest burst rate DSLR camera out there! But if you want a solid camera that you can take to the next family picnic or downtown street festival this is the best camera for the job. It’s small and light enough to carry around all day and oh my gosh does it take great pictures (and video for that matter). Is it going to replace my DSLR, no. But, I didn’t expect it to either. For me Canon hit a sweet spot for my casual, grab a camera and go needs! Love this G1X !!
15 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot G1 X
Nickname: MikeO
Location: Fairfax VA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Too bad

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2012
Pros: Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings, Short battery life, slow
Well, I'm sorry to say that this product has really left me wondering what's up at Canon... The image quality is good enough at lower ISOs --- BUT the camera response to menu commands, button clicks, multiple shutter exposures is soooooo slow it reminds you of the early digital cameras.. Certainly not what you would expect. Buy a G12 while they're still available. I love my Canon equipment BUT I'm going to have to find another home for this one soon. Sorry, but this one is just not worth the money and has really surprised me with its slow performance.
31 of 39 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot G1 X
Nickname: BobbyD
Location: NY,NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

Better Than Ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 5, 2012
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: 'film' button in the way
I've been using a T1i, T3i and a G10 as a back-up and for those "you can't use those camera's here" and for everyday catch'em shots. I fell in love when I saw and felt the G1x. It just feels right, well all except the film button almost under my right thumb! Is there any way to reprogram or deactivate it?
Otherwise I love this camera. The raw exposures are a little dark but have lots of 'meat' on them and are easy revised to meet my needs or expectation. It is also my 'go to' camera for vacationing and those not to be missed photos of the grand-kids!
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site