Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot A Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot A Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot A4000 IS

PowerShot A4000 IS

In a new high for the A-Series, it's equipped with a powerful 8x Optical Zoom to get you close to the action fast, and a 28mm Wide-Angle lens and Optical Image Stabilizer that deliver beautifully clear images with more excitement in every frame.
Average Customer Rating:
3.731 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
2
16 out of 26(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot A4000 IS
Review 1 for PowerShot A4000 IS
Nickname: mailcat8
Location: KY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Neat little camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 1, 2014
Works great for snapshots and family photos--simple to use--pictures are great--however there is some delay when taking a picture and the subject can move and you "lose the moment".
Review 2 for PowerShot A4000 IS
Nickname: Bob
Location: Colorado
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Power Shot A 4000 IS HD Camera

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance, Complicated controls/menu, Flimsy Construction
I will not purchase a Canon Power Shot camera again.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot A4000 IS
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 4, 2013
I have had this camera for less than a year and have had it break twice already. The first time the lens wouldn't come out and the second time it wouldn't flash or use any lighting at all so every picture turned out really dark. When the camera was working, it took good pictures and was nice to carry around. It had some good features too. But if it breaks, then they are useless.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot A4000 IS
Nickname: JOHN
Location: MT.ANGEL, OR
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

I HIGHLY RECOMEND THIS PRODUCT TO EVERYONE

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 29, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, easy for all levels of expertise
I ENCOURAGE EVERYONE, NOT JUST PHOTOGORAPHERS,BUT TO WVWRY ONE THAT JUST NEEDS A GOOD CAMERA FOR GOOD PHOTOS ;) :) :P =)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot A4000 IS
Nickname: SgtChuck
Location: Midlothian, IL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

It's Fantastic

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 17, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: no cons
This Camera is perfect. It's small and has all the advantages of a big camera
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot A4000 IS
Nickname: phoenix
Location: Parkersburg,WV
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Disappointed

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2013
Pros: Simple controls/menu
Cons: Dim LCD, Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life, Flimsy Construction
Very disappointed with this camera..Used in low-light settings and ended up with blurred pictures..It also hangs too long in between pictures so you end up missing shots..
Will go back to using my Canon Powershot SD790 IS.I never had a problem with this camera ever..
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot A4000 IS
Nickname: Tom
Location: New Jersey.
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Dont buy!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 12, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Flimsy Construction, flash bulb poor quality
2 weeks after using this camera, a piece of debri some how got behind the lens and can not be removed.
The flash burnt out after 5 months of use. NOT warrantied. Warranty is only 90 days. the pictures where awesome but the Price and the inferior construction for a Canon product,, I will warn anyone not to buy. The flash burning out was my turning point to flag this camera as well as the entire power shot series there all made the same!
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot A4000 IS
Nickname: Angel
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

A nice P & S

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 21, 2013
Pros: excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings
I wanted a simple P & S to keep in my bag. I got the A400IS a month ago and I'm happy with it overall, but can't find a way to change the aspect ratio without losing resolution.
I would love to be able to change the ratio to 3:2 so I can print in 6" x 4" size without losing too much of the photo in the cropping process. So far this is the only disappointment I have with this camera - it gets a bit tedious having to resize every photo manually before having them printed.
Otherwise I'm pleased with the performance, easy of use and quality of both the camea and the prints.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot A4000 IS
Nickname: jball
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Lens keeps getting stuck

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2013
Pros: excellent image quality, easy to use
Cons: Flimsy Construction, lens jams
I haven't been particularly impressed with this camera. I got it 9 months ago brand new, and since that time, the lens always jammed. I called it in for a warranty claim four months ago but on the factory reconditioned camera that they replaced mine with the lens jammed badly and the camera is now unusable. I'm currently in the process of making a second warranty claim in less than a year on that camera, hence the low rating.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot A4000 IS
Nickname: Family Man
Location: Central Iowa
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera for Family Activities

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 28, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
This camera is an excellent choice for general family use. Canon quality & durability in the construction give me peace in letting my seven year old carry it around our acreage snapping photos at random. 16 mp & 8x optical zoom give me the photo quality I need to capture the special moments in my hobbies (son's first buck, etc.). Intuitive software makes it easy to edit, delete, and back up my photos. In a word...thrilled.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot A4000 IS
Nickname: Disappointed
Location: DC
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

U Should look for another model

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2013
Fuzzzzy Pictures, very few clear shots, Great Flash, can't see the screen in Day light, wish I could figure how to make it work like it was intended, it is really cute. Doesn't come with a memory card, can't recharge battery without removing it and putting it in the charger, Fits nicely in my old cell phone pouch.
4 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot A4000 IS
Nickname: voyager
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Canon A4000

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Camera is a delight to use. Small & light. Fits into pocket. The optics are fine for this type of camera. Zoom range is very convenient for rapid photos just about any where & anytime. While not a DSLR, it is my choice when I don't what to carry a big heavy camera plus extra lenses in my back pack while hiking. Photos enlargen just fine to 8 x 10. Color balance & sharpness is fine for such a small camera. Takes suprizingly good photos.
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot A4000 IS
Nickname: Bob
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Outstanding little Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: none
Got this for Christmas 2012. Out of the box I found it easy to use and understand. Picture results are extremely good for a small pocket camera. Great selection of auto programs, nice bright display and I love the extra range with this lens. For the price hard to beat this camera. I have several DSLR's but this little compact is at my side all the time.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot A4000 IS
Nickname: Tai Pan
Location: Long Island NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Whats not to like

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Purchased 21 Dec 12 , when the camera arrived I did a quick review of the instructions , then started shooting.....The results were much better then I had expected...Sharp image , natural colors and as easy to use ans any P/S camera....My idea of a good camera is the Image quality , this does it ...The extras are OK if you want to do on your own.....The object of the Auto is to let you compose the picture and think about the subject and let the camera do its job......I find this A4000 is worth the price and and ease of use............
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot A4000 IS
Nickname: GIFTEE
Location: Minnesota
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Product replacement: No

Nice camera but case too small

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2012
Pros: excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings, case too small
I received this camera as a Christmas gift and was pleasantly surprised how easy it is to use.
However, as mentioned by a few other reviewers, the camera case is TOO SMALL. I recommend that Canon replace the case with one that fits or reimburse some monetary sum so a new, better fitting case can be purchased without additional cost to the owner.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot A4000 IS
Nickname: znlmom

Case won't close

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2012
Pros: Nice features/settings, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I received this camera as a Christmas gift this year. I like the small size and so far it has taken good quality photos. My complaint is that the case it came with does not properly hold the camera. I also am trying to figure out how to use the flash when it is sunny out to keep shadows off the faces of those in the photos.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot A4000 IS
Nickname: Happy
Location: San Jose, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good purchase

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 25, 2012
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I bought the camera in December 2012. I like the camera, but I don't like the camera case because it does not fit the camera.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot A4000 IS
Nickname: Disapointed Girl
Location: Winston Salem, NC
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 10, 2012
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance, Flimsy Construction
I have ALWAYS had a Canon Powershot camera...they took WONDERFUL pics always! I was always the designated one to bring my camera to functions since it was so great. Well I thought I was upgrading getting this newer one, and what a disapointment. I can't get a clear shot on ANY pic on ANY setting! Not sure what happened this time around but not too happy. Camera changes settings on me after every pic. :-(
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot A4000 IS
Nickname: Grammy
Location: Ohio
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Love this camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 13, 2012
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
On a train/bus trip west this summer to see some of our National parks, my previous camera "died" the night before departure. When we got to the first hotel in Salt Lake City I immediately went camera shopping and decided on this model -the Canon Power Shot A4000. I spent 20 minutes reading the manual and then over the course of 11 days I took over 400 beautiful pictures that will be treasured by me forever!!! Thank you, Canon!
56 of 58 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot A4000 IS
Nickname: Ray
Location: Chicago, Il
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Disappointed

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 22, 2012
Pros: Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Dim LCD, Short battery life, can't charge via usb, no view findeer
On my recent vacation I used this camera for the first time. I bought it as I am a long time Cannon user, this is my 6th Canon camera, and I wanted a simple point and shoot.
I found it simple to use, light weight and it took fairly good pictures.
However, it has some major short comings: the LCD is diificult to see in bright sunlight and there is no view finder to use as an alternative. I also found battery life to be short as I was changing batteries more than once a day. Another major design flaw is that you can't recharge the battery using the USB connector. That means you must remember the bring the charger.
23 of 28 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site