Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX712

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA MX712

Bring incredible quality, speed, and ease of use to your home office all in the name of increased productivity.
Average Customer Rating:
1.7 out of 5
1.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
8
2 out of 10(20%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX712
Review 1 for PIXMA MX712
Nickname: Sick of cannon pr
Location: District heights, md
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Worst purchase ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2014
Cons: poor performance
Has too many bugs in system. Let's you down I when you are in crunch time.
Review 2 for PIXMA MX712
Nickname: p
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

too expensive

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2014
great printer but run out of any ink cartridge out of 5 cartridges and you cannot print, not even black only if you run out of yellow. bad flaw.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX712
Nickname: jorge
Location: CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Business
Product replacement: No

Very Poor Quality.

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2014
Cons: Poor build quality
Light user - print once a week - printer broke after 18 mos.
Review 4 for PIXMA MX712
Nickname: fragma
Location: Allentown, PA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Don't Waste Your Money

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2014
Cons: useless
I have never had so many problems with a piece of office equipment as this. Loses connection constantly, and it is hard to get it reconnected. Worked fine for the first two months, and a dud ever since. Some jobs I have printed don't print until two or three days later. Lame.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX712
Nickname: ed
Location: tx
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

worst purchase ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2013
I run out of ink, and this peace of junk will not even allow me to scan an important document for an early project. I've had other printers that allowed me to at least scan a document even if there's no ink cartridge. Take this junk from the market.
Review 6 for PIXMA MX712
Nickname: Dr.Scotty
Location: Dublin, California
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2013
Pros: Easy Setup
Cons: Difficult to use, unreliable
If this printer worked consistently it would be a great printer. However, several times in the last six months that I have owned it, the printer just plain stops working. Sometimes the LCD screen just freezes and you have to unplug it to get it to unfreeze, but most of the time, out of the blue, the printer no longer communicates with the wireless network and it is useless. It's not a problem with the network because all of our other devices work, but unless you connect a USB cable to the computer you can not print. I bought the printer because of its wireless capabilities, and it has turned out to be useless for this purpose. If you want a wireless printer that works consistently, you need to buy something else, this does not work.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX712
Nickname: mrthink
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Pleasantly surprised!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 7, 2013
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Having come from an older Canon printer that was costing more in monthly ink cartridges than the cost of a new printer, I am very surprised at 1) ease of setup wireless connectivity, 2) ease of use, 3) reduced demand of new ink cartridges. The only feature I do not use is the FAX, since I don't have a land line. Otherwise, this was a great purchase. Printing is fast, copying is multi-function and I really like the DUPLEX feature. I use it with 2 MACs and 2 Android tablets.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX712
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: PA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 18, 2013
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Low Quality Output
The unit takes long to start up even though its powered on. Wireless printing its always offline even though wireless connection is on and printer is on.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX712
Nickname: dunsmuirwill
Location: California
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Outstanding printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use, duplex scanning/printing
I purchased this printer about 2 months ago and I'm amazed at the quality and features it offers for the price. The output is quick and high quality. I particularly enjoy the combined duplex scanning/printing capabilities.
As a professional writer, I'm not terribly concerned with photo printing, but it does an excellent job on photos and graphics for my needs.
I highly recommend this printer.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX712
Nickname: Kaye
Location: NY, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

WORST printer ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2013
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, Low Quality Output, unreliable, Flimsy Construction
Printer spools over and over again, if there is any type of problem (which so far is 90%) the only solution is to ask you to power down the printer. At which point it needs to go through the 45 seconds of whizzes and bangs to power back on- only to give you the same result. 3 power ups later your doc is gone (not waiting in tray) and printer is acting like it didnt just get amnesia. I have never seen such a thing! To add, there is no ACTIVE feeder tray - meaning - it has a PHOTO tray in the rear - which it turns out is only active when trying to print a photo - but the great part is that the printer decides which tray to pull from - NOT YOU. The undercarriage tray does NOT hold 4x6. Which means I can't print envelopes, note cards, custom anything...Also when you AIRPRINT a photo it does not feed from the photo tray. So what does one do when they bought the printer for AIRPRINT photo functionality? Throw it out? I decided to leave it next to my pc but that wont even last, I print next to nothing, have had this printer less than a month and have wanted to open the door and throw it in the street on at least 3 occasions. Its worth $100 to watch this printer smashed to pieces. I dont get how all the printers on here have good reviews....chances are my review will never see the light of day.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site