Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX712

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA MX712

Bring incredible quality, speed, and ease of use to your home office all in the name of increased productivity.
Average Customer Rating:
1.833 out of 5
1.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
13
2 out of 12(17%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX712
Review 1 for PIXMA MX712
Nickname: 
Location: Port Orchard, WA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

A bit disappointing

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 10, 2015
I have owned Canon printers since the days of the BJC600 and even was a Canon demonstrator at local electronics stores for a while. I purchased this unit because Canon quit making the dual path machines such as the MX922
I really appreciate the speed of this printer. When I send it a print job, it starts right up and prints quickly.
I love the size of the new cartridges, if those really are "all ink" then they should last quite a while. I don't like that you must "play" with the machine to insert or remove a specific one,. I look forward to getting my hands on a Black XL!
I like the dual cassettes with their 250 sheet capacity. However, I wish Canon had incorporated a way to electronically name the cassette, such as Change "Cassette 1" to Envelopes, and Cassette 2 to "Letterhead"
I wish that I could figure out how the "Auto Select" decides which Cassette to print from. I have looked through the User's Manual and I must have overlooked what causes it to decide which one to use.
Review 2 for PIXMA MX712
Nickname: 
Location: CT
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

very disappointing

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2015
The machine is far too complex and the instructions both printed and on line are woefully inadequate to solve even the most basic connection problems. generally a great wast of money to buy this machine; cannot work on compute at all so basic use is to copy photos. Not much else works, from fax to scan.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX712
Nickname: 
Location: Charlotte, NC
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Got the Dreaded B200 Error

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2015
I've always used a competitor's printer in the past and they've lasted so long, I usually end up buying a new one only to upgrade to new features.
This time I tried a Canon because of the individual ink cartridges. BIG mistake!! After less then two years, I got the dreaded B200 error that seems to be a common issue with this printer. I tried all the 'fixes' that I could find online and nothing works. This is just the last straw in a whole list of issues I've had with this printer.
I'm off to buy a new (NOT Canon) printer when I get out from work this afternoon.
Review 4 for PIXMA MX712
Nickname: 

bad experience

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2015
yea, so i really dislike this printer it rarely works as its supposed to and its so un-userfriendly its ridiculous.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX712
Nickname: 
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good product...until it doesn't work!

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2014
The printer worked fine and I was happy with it for about 6 months. Then the dreaded B200 error kept popping up. I use this machine sparingly. Mostly to scan documents (which never uses the print head) but on average I was probably printing mostly black and white documents about 20 sheets per week - more or less. Considering other online user reviews, it's obvious I'm not the only one with a print head problem. I decided to clean the print head myself as the cartridges are all relatively new and I only use genuine Canon products/ink. Power won't turn on at the moment and print head is drying. If it powers up tomorrow, I guess this review will be updated but if it doesn't, I'll change this from 2 stars to 1!
Review 6 for PIXMA MX712
Nickname: 
Location: Sutton, MA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Solid office machine

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 21, 2014
I have a small business. I use the copy and print functions mainly. I have not had any issues. Copies are of good quality as are the printed pages, which of course, depends on the paper quality. I have never experienced jams or poor feeding. I use aftermarket ink tanks at a fraction of the cost of the Canon brand and have had great results. I have a legal size flatbed so I can't comment too much on the built-in scanner and fax is extinct technology as far as I'm concerned.
I don't know why the other users gave such poor ratings. My daughter has one of these for college and is very happy with it.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX712
Nickname: 
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years

Impossible to use

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 4, 2014
If you want a multi-function printer, scanner and fax that is easily controllable from your PC, this is not it. If you want multi-function printer, scanner and fax that even works properly from the device itself, this is not it. The mechanical parts are great, and the price is right. Ease of use is horrible. Manuals and Menus are misleading. When you download their quick tool, there is no scanner function. The manual's steps to scan assume software that does not exist, even after completely reloading from the website multiple times. What a disappointment
Review 8 for PIXMA MX712
Nickname: 
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Product replacement: Yes

Do Not Buy

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 26, 2014
Cons: never works
This printer is incredibly unreliable. I simply cannot print to it consistently. I always keep a usb stick around because the wifi is worthless and, recently, it's stopped printing from usb too.
This printer does not work. Don't buy it!
Review 9 for PIXMA MX712
Nickname: 
Location: District heights, md
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Worst purchase ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2014
Cons: poor performance
Has too many bugs in system. Let's you down I when you are in crunch time.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX712
Nickname: 
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

too expensive

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2014
great printer but run out of any ink cartridge out of 5 cartridges and you cannot print, not even black only if you run out of yellow. bad flaw.
Review 11 for PIXMA MX712
Nickname: 
Location: CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Business
Product replacement: No

Very Poor Quality.

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2014
Cons: Poor build quality
Light user - print once a week - printer broke after 18 mos.
Review 12 for PIXMA MX712
Nickname: 
Location: Allentown, PA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Don't Waste Your Money

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2014
Cons: useless
I have never had so many problems with a piece of office equipment as this. Loses connection constantly, and it is hard to get it reconnected. Worked fine for the first two months, and a dud ever since. Some jobs I have printed don't print until two or three days later. Lame.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX712
Nickname: 
Location: tx
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

worst purchase ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2013
I run out of ink, and this peace of junk will not even allow me to scan an important document for an early project. I've had other printers that allowed me to at least scan a document even if there's no ink cartridge. Take this junk from the market.
Review 14 for PIXMA MX712
Nickname: 
Location: Dublin, California
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2013
Pros: Easy Setup
Cons: Difficult to use, unreliable
If this printer worked consistently it would be a great printer. However, several times in the last six months that I have owned it, the printer just plain stops working. Sometimes the LCD screen just freezes and you have to unplug it to get it to unfreeze, but most of the time, out of the blue, the printer no longer communicates with the wireless network and it is useless. It's not a problem with the network because all of our other devices work, but unless you connect a USB cable to the computer you can not print. I bought the printer because of its wireless capabilities, and it has turned out to be useless for this purpose. If you want a wireless printer that works consistently, you need to buy something else, this does not work.
Review 15 for PIXMA MX712
Nickname: 
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Pleasantly surprised!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 7, 2013
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Having come from an older Canon printer that was costing more in monthly ink cartridges than the cost of a new printer, I am very surprised at 1) ease of setup wireless connectivity, 2) ease of use, 3) reduced demand of new ink cartridges. The only feature I do not use is the FAX, since I don't have a land line. Otherwise, this was a great purchase. Printing is fast, copying is multi-function and I really like the DUPLEX feature. I use it with 2 MACs and 2 Android tablets.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX712
Nickname: 
Location: PA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 18, 2013
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Low Quality Output
The unit takes long to start up even though its powered on. Wireless printing its always offline even though wireless connection is on and printer is on.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX712
Nickname: 
Location: California
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Outstanding printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use, duplex scanning/printing
I purchased this printer about 2 months ago and I'm amazed at the quality and features it offers for the price. The output is quick and high quality. I particularly enjoy the combined duplex scanning/printing capabilities.
As a professional writer, I'm not terribly concerned with photo printing, but it does an excellent job on photos and graphics for my needs.
I highly recommend this printer.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX712
Nickname: 
Location: NY, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

WORST printer ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2013
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, Low Quality Output, unreliable, Flimsy Construction
Printer spools over and over again, if there is any type of problem (which so far is 90%) the only solution is to ask you to power down the printer. At which point it needs to go through the 45 seconds of whizzes and bangs to power back on- only to give you the same result. 3 power ups later your doc is gone (not waiting in tray) and printer is acting like it didnt just get amnesia. I have never seen such a thing! To add, there is no ACTIVE feeder tray - meaning - it has a PHOTO tray in the rear - which it turns out is only active when trying to print a photo - but the great part is that the printer decides which tray to pull from - NOT YOU. The undercarriage tray does NOT hold 4x6. Which means I can't print envelopes, note cards, custom anything...Also when you AIRPRINT a photo it does not feed from the photo tray. So what does one do when they bought the printer for AIRPRINT photo functionality? Throw it out? I decided to leave it next to my pc but that wont even last, I print next to nothing, have had this printer less than a month and have wanted to open the door and throw it in the street on at least 3 occasions. Its worth $100 to watch this printer smashed to pieces. I dont get how all the printers on here have good reviews....chances are my review will never see the light of day.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site