Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MX Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MX Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX892

PIXMA MX892

Bring incredible quality, speed, and ease of use to your home office all in the name of increased productivity.
Average Customer Rating:
3.279 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (68 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
5
3 stars
8
2 stars
16
1 star
12
31 out of 68(46%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX892
Review 1 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: Accountant901
Location: Memphis TN
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Generally works well

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup
Cons: Slow Print Speed
I may have discovered a solution for the printer using color ink to print black. I allowed all of my color cartridges to run completely dry and started printing only from the black cartridge. Now, it seems to be printing only from my black 225 cartridge (unless of course I print color and then it does a good job).
I had no problem with the setup. It connected to my Wi-Fi on the 1st attempt.
Review 2 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: JenH
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents

Can I give it ZERO stars?

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2014
If you like to spend an hour trying to make it print, buy this printer. It inexplicably goes offline, has errors, is not responding, etc. Don't think it's our wifi since everything else stays online. Also, it seems to print about 5 pages before you need 1 of the 5 ink cartridges.... ka-ching, ka-ching $$$. I can't live with this printer much longer.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: Student
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

PIXMA MX892 BEWARE

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2014
Pros: nice user congifuration, decent price
Cons: loves to go 'off line', included software useless
This printer does a fine job when it works. I have had issues for quite a while with the printer going 'off line' while connected via Wi-Fi and while connected via USB. The only thing I can count on is that I can't count on this printer working without jumping through hoops 98% of the time I want to use it. The included software is a waste since going on line to download the software is the only working option. I will continue battling this device until either I finally get too tired of it or it breaks on its own.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: Very Disappointed
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years

Never buy again

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2014
I've had this product for almost 2 years. It worked well in the beginning but found it slow. It goes through the colour cartridges very quickly and they're not cheap. I got an error message of B200 and found out that the printer head was probably gone and its replacement would be about the price of a new printer. I would never buy a Canon product again.
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: Professor Bill
Location: Orange County, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Product works well as Adveritsed

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2014
When Writer/Printer is used as Advertised it works well as a Home Office product
Review 6 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: Mike
Location: Charlotte, NC
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office

Great features and performance but not reliable

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: unreliable
Prints very well; a little slow but quality is good. The included software works very well for scanning. However, after about 9 months the printer gave me a "U052" error and said I installed the wrong printhead. Search for it on the Canon forums; it seems to be a common problem. Now I'm waiting for an a warranty exchange, but it's on backorder!?!? Would be a 5 star printer if it was reliable. A flagship printer should not break after 9 months.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: INURBEX
Location: Seymour,IN
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome Printer !!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, easy to use, pyramid design, display
Cons: 8.5/10 print speed
I've owned this printer now for over a year.I've used several printer brands & models over the years but this printer here is the best I have ever used.Very dependable.Very user friendly & has more options than a fully loaded car.I haven't used 1/2 of the options this printer has available.Connects easily to Bluetooth & Wireless Routers like the ASUS RT-N56U & RT-N65U Routers.Scans images fairly quickly.Prints fairly quickly also.I give these 2 an 8.5 out of 10 which is a very good rating.The design of it is what appealed to me.The screen was the 2nd.It has the look of a Pyramid somewhat which I think is excellent.I'm so amazed with this printer that I'm currently in the process of buying the upgraded model the: MX922.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: DrTim
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good Hwardware Ruined by Confused Software

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2014
Pros: High Quality Output, fast print speed
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, horrible software
I've been using Canon printers and scanners for some years now, and the MX890 continues the Canon tradition of combining great hardware with a befuddled mess of overlapping and confusing software.
Instead of a nice clean scan/print application, you get multi drivers (with overlapping functions), multiple scan+print applications (with overlapping functions), and multiple utilities. And good luck figuring out which is which from the scant documentation on the Canon web site.
Worse still, the apps themselves are amateurish .. some have huge buttons, some tiny. Even the basic driver is a confused mess. For example, the MX890 scanner shows up twice: once as "MX890 series" and once as "MX890 series Network". Why? Whice one should I use? The docs are silent. And if you choose one a "Change" button lights up that takes you to ANOTHER dialog box which presents a NEW list of scanners using DIFFERENT names ("mx890") and asking to choose one again.
it's very clear no-one at Canon has any real idea of how to make a well designed application.
So, buy the unit for great printing and scanning, but be prepared to spend a while figuring out the confused mess that is the scanner/printer software.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: richardssmt4
Location: Nevada City, Ca.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years

Great product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2013
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use, individual ink colors
Cons: non printed manual
I would prefer to have a printed manual. My usage is mainly printing of documents and photos,some fax.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: Dan
Location: Bradenton, Fl
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great printer for home office!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2013
Pros: reliable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed
We have had this printer for about a year. It has been very reliable as we don't use it every day. But when we do it's always ready!
Review 11 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: DISAPPOINTED

worst purchase ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2013
Cons: Slow Print Speed, unreliable
I have gone through more ink than ever, uses color ink when printing black and white....makes no sense, freezes up after 2 printings on a regular basis, have tried the suggestions to unplug, etc., has been the biggest waste of my work hours so has cost me money in that sense as well.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: John.e.b
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Super printer for the price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 29, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: ink goes quick but is inexpensive.
I picked this printer up about a year ago, it's performed very well and has been reliable for me. I use it via wireless from both PC and MAC computers as well as printing from my Android phones and iPads. A ton of functions and it was easy to setup. My only gripe would be that the ink cartridges do not last as long as I see with competing printers. Also as one would expect, when reading memory cards from the printer to my PCs it is relatively slow but does indeed go faster if I switch to a network cable instead of wireless.
Still, I am very satisfied and intend to stick with similar Canon printers when I need another.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: radar
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office

Best Printer/fax I have owned

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 26, 2013
Pros: reliable, High Quality Output
The MX892 is without any doubt the best printer/fax I have ever owned. The copies are clean and concise The fax does what is supposed to do, send the copies to the correct recipient. The only draw back is that it does not come with a users manual, making it difficult to get started until you figure it out.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: tylerscribble
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Problematic, Money Sink

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 19, 2013
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, unreliable
My wife and I were excited to buy our first printer from Canon after having several of their Digital Cameras. We can't believe how disappointing this printer has been! First of all, we have ONLY printed grayscale pages VERY FEW times in the year we have owned it. This printer has gone through TWO sets of COLOR cartridges in a year. NEVER ONCE printed color. I have basically bought another MX892 for the price of ink to replace these. I am about ready to replace again. I have tried to love this printer, and I have called the warranty department over the issues it has with freezing on startup. Every time I start it up it freezes at the Canon logo. I have to unplug it and then plug it back in to get it to start up, which warrants the warning not to turn it off that way. I think that may be part of what makes it eat up ink? I am so done with this thing and I have barely got to use it.
I do like the style, the interface, and the wireless capability. I am sad to say that I can't recommend this printer. It has been a sore purchase for me.
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: Bee
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 7, 2013
Pros: High Quality Output
Cons: Difficult to use, unreliable, no owners manual, customer site could be more helpful, review site bias must say you are a canon enthusi
When it functions, the MX 892 does a good job of printing. Speed isn't fast, but is satisfactory. But setup is unnecessarily complex, and I'm old school, and need an owners manual. Regardless of what the store tells you, this doesn't come with one, and if you have a problem, trying to correct it will become problem #2. The site doesn't list the MX 892 as one of the MX models, and it doesn't matter, because their problem solving site is simplistic and of almost no value. Trying to get a problem corrected, my printer now wants to only print from the back unless I'm using the computer; may be beyond the Canon sites ability, or mine to figure out the site. Basically, the MX 892 is worthless if you encounter any problems, and today I did.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: Student
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Mostly used for: Printing Documents

Awful, just like all other printers I've used

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 1, 2013
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable
Terrible:
- Uses up color ink even when I tell it to print only black and white
- Spontaneously turns itself off, then says "Power was not shut off correctly"
Bad:
- Does not give sufficient warning about ink levels.
- Slow turn-on and operation time.
Ok, I guess:
- Does duplex printing.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: polar765
Location: Yakima Wa
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

error error error error

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 22, 2013
Cons: Low Quality Output, unreliable
second canon printer that shows constant errors and the picture print quality is terrible ,same error as the last canon printer
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: Ffej5647
Location: Columbus, oh
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

The best printer I ever used!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 29, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed
Cons: Flimsy Construction
This printer is absolutely wonderful! The ink seems to last almost forever and it has a very fast print speed with little noise. The back tray did break off so it does have a cheap construction in some areas. My biggest gripe is no Linux support! This is very hard for me to get over as I am a Linux user but drivers are available when you setup the computer on Linux but there is 0 Linux support on the website! No software or anything available for download! That is just disgusting! Other than that, there is nothing else to complain about! I would definitely recommend this printer to both novice users and experienced users!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: agirlinhouston
Location: Houston, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

PIXMA MX892 Rocks!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 23, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
This wireless printer, scanner, fax and copier is great. I print from my iPad, iPhone and computer and it is so reliable. This is my second Canon product and I am sold on Canon. The replacement ink is easy to find and is not expensive. I have never had a jam on this printer. I am still amazed at the quality of work it gives me. It is very quiet and I love it!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: Anonymous

WORKS GREAT

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 22, 2013
Pros: reliable, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed
I like the product because it is reliable. The wireless function works flawlessly. The way it spends ink is ok. I set mine to 'grayscale' & draft mode. Canon lets you permanently do this, unlike the competition. I've tried other brands that don't let you lock settings. Canon is the best at saving ink that way. This is an outstanding printer.. don't believe the bad reviews. My last Canon lasted over 7 years, until I accidentally spilled water on the inside. I've had this unit for about 1 year.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site