Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / Lenses Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Lenses or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM

EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM

Large aperture L-series professional "normal" zoom lens New optical design minimizes chromatic aberration on the outer area at wide-angle Uses 2 types of aspherical lenses to achieve high image quality throughout the full zoom range Highly resistant to dust and water, enabling shooting in harsh conditions
Average Customer Rating:
4.812 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM
Review 1 for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: Colonel H
Location: Boise, Idaho
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worth the money?

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 22, 2014
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, controls flare
I am an advanced amateur hobbyist that recently upgraded to 5D MkIII from Canon 7D w/ EF-S 17-55mm f2.8, so I thought i'd save a nickel and get the XXX Brand 24-70MM f/2.8 but when I got it on the camera it had really bad vignetting. I was used to the previous set up that had almost no vignetting. So back to the brick & mortar store it went. Got my refund and ordered this lens. After two days of test shots I am convinced that this lens far and away out performs the XXX Brand (at least for someone with my skill set). I believe that great pros can make a coke bottle work as a lens but amateurs need a great piece of glass like this lens to help us compensate. The first test I did was directly at the sun on a very bright sunny day and man what a difference over my old setup. Canon got this right and this lens makes a great combo with the 70-200mm f2.8 IS II.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: Tree Son
Location: Orange County, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

One lens to last me.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2014
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, lighter than previous version
Cons: expensive
If I must choose just one lens, this is the one I will pick.
This lens will go anywhere anytime I go. Best multi-purpose lens.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: 619
Location: San Diego, California
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2014
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images
Cons: Poor build quality
I've always shot with prime lenses but I really needed something versatile and purchased this lens. I'm very satisfied with the performance and picture quality that I get as this is mounted to my 5D Mark 3. As for the price, I think it's way too expensive especially considering that the closure is made of plastic unlike the first versions which is made of metal. This is why I gave the rating of 2 stars in quality because the plastic closure doesn't justify the L Series of this lens. I also believe it isn't weather sealed either but I could be wrong. But it's made in Japan if that means anything. Overall, I'm satisfied.
4 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: dank
Location: College Park,Ga.
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

I was blown away

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
After talking to several photographers and reading several reviews I decided to sell my old 24-70 lens and purchase the new lens. Well I quickly learned that evertning that I had heard about this lens was true. Sharpness,color,contrast and focus speed was amazing. It was hard to beleive that it was better than my old 24-70 but it was. The only thing that I miss is the huge lens hood.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: RaymondCamerasPR
Location: United States
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

good lent but extream overvalued price

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 24, 2013
is a good lent but the price is overvalued!!! +
i can understand a 70 200 2.8 IMAGE S is in a price like this but not this one
8 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: Behzad
Location: Tehran, Iran
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Extraordinary Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 3, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: expensive
The new 24-70 f2.8 L II is absolutely a great lens! Its sharpness is excellent + even better than my 70-200 f2.8 L II IS and auto focus speed and accuracy and also build quality is superb! i have been using this one about a month and i m really satisfied with buying this lens. The only negative point is its price which is so expensive! But believe me it s worth to buy and you will be definitely satisfied.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: Chicago Al
Location: Chicago IL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Several prime lenses in one

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: heavy, no image stabilization
Photography has been my hobby for over 20 years. I am not a pro. In order to evaluate a new lens, I shoot everyday life instead of brick walls. This lens is sharp wide open at F2.8. You do not need to stop it down to increase sharpness. This is what I love about this lens. It is like having several prime lenses in one package. I used the 35L and 50mm F1.4 for several years. They are good lenses. But I had to stop them down from F1.4 to F2.0 or F2.8 to get sharp images. The combination of this lens on a 5D3 are heavy. Carrying them around for a full day is not easy. Despite the weight, I still wish it had image stabilization. Its autofocusing is very good, although it is not any better than the autofocusing of the 35L or 135L or 300mm F4L. But then again, I haven't done any scientific measurements. This is all based on my everyday use. The bokeh is "good". Although I much prefer the bokeh of the 135L. Shooting into bright lights is surprisingly good. Overall, I love this lens. I don't like the high price though. But if you think of it as several high quality prime lenses in one, I guess that can justify the price.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: Tony
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

A definitive contender...

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images
If your still doing homework on a lens of this caliber and price tag, then my review should only add confidence in a purchase. The build is of rigid and pretty standard professional grade expectations added the weather seal for environmental elements. I shouldn't be noted but common sense applies to complete the seal with a filter as stated in the manual. Im old fashioned and like the heft and feel, i could ask for better containment than engineered plastic, how about t-6061 aluminum?? Maybe then no one would complain about a price-tag. Furthermore, the optics are just phenomenal, from 24-70 if you use the focal length respectfully. Sharp, sharp, sharp and not afraid to use it wide open in any circumstance. Slightest distortion but critical in studio. Focus and zoom execute excellent and comfortable turns. simply a pleasure and all around contender.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: GI JOE
Location: Darien
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: costly
I used it mostly during my travel. Sharp and fast auto focus. Used for portraits and landscape. It is coslty. Wilsh it had image stabilization.
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: Nyolia
Location: San Antonio
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

EF 24-70mm f/2.8 II USM

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 24, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, lighter
I received this lens on Monday, and sold my previous favorite, the 24-70mm L f/2.8 on Tuesday. I have waited for this lens for too long. I shot all day Monday and found this new upgrade really brilliant; It's lighter, looks better and the photos that come out of it are a lot sharper. The color rendition matches those of my 85mm L f/1.2 and the 70-200mm L f/2.8. If Canon had included IS into this baby it would have been a work of art, a masterpiece. I am sure there is a reason for this; Canon knows better. I shoot manual and don't think I desperately need IS. Moreover, I am learning how to lock my elbows as I shoot, and the result is paying off...I have taken about a thousand photos and every single of them is as sharp as the other.
Thank you Canon. I love what this lens does!
31 of 34 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: Invertalon
Location: Cleveland, OH
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Amazing go-to lens...

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 24, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, weight, zoom lock, hood size
Cons: no image stabilization, price
This is my first experience with a 24-70 variant... Coming from the 24-105L, the difference is quite significant. This lens has incredible resolution at 24mm edge to edge on my 5D Mark III. Even wide open, the microcontrast is simply amazing. The images look better wide open than the 24-105L does at f/8. It is THAT good.
The lens does soften a tad at 70mm. It is still extremely sharp, but not exactly to the level of 24mm. To give a comparison, I find the 24-70 II at 70mm similar in sharpness to the magnificent 70-200 II at 70mm. You would be hard pressed to find any difference in image quality.
Build quality is excellent. Most of the exterior is engineering plastic versus metal or other materials. Still feels extremely high quality and the weight reduction from the previous version is welcomed.
The only downfall with the lens is the lack of IS and the cost without it. Not exactly required for everybody, it is a very nice feature on the long end of the zoom range. For the price of this lens, IS should have been included. I am assuming Canon had good reason to omit IS for image quality benefits.
As far as copy variation, the first copy of this lens I had to return due to a decentered lens element causing softness on the right side of the frame at 24mm... My second copy I am currently using appears to be perfect.
Other image quality attributes this lens offers include beautiful 18-point sunstars when conditions are right. CA levels are extremely low if not non-existent. Flare is well controlled. There is quite a bit of light-falloff (vignetting) but is easily corrected in post if need be. The lens also features very quick AF, one of the fastest I have used honestly.. As with the 70-200 II, I really like the locking lens hood. The zoom lock is also a very nice feature as zoom lenses have the tendency to creep with heavy use over time. There is no zoom creep so far, but time will tell how the internals will hold up to heavy use in this case.
I am extremely impressed by this lens overall. It has prime lens image quality (if not better in some cases) with the versatility of a zoom. I highly recommend this lens.
45 of 46 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: Liberty
Location: Missouri
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Superb Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 17, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: price
This lens was a replacement of the old version. This new lens is super sharp and beautiful contrast. Edge to edge sharpness almost like a prime lens. Just love the images taken with this lens. Only thing I don't like is the price, and "maybe" if it had IS (Image Stabilizer).
Anyway, the price although high, is well worth the image quality that is achieved by this lens on my 5d mark iii.
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: FL_Photograper
Location: Orlando,Fl
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worth The Money..

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 11, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: lens hood
I purchased this lens as a replacement for my old 24-70 and received it the day before I left for Venice Italy. I was truly shocked of how fast the AF was, and the sharpness from edge to edge. The build quality is excellent, and this one seems lighter than the older one. The only thing I don’t like is the lens hood, wish it was more the earlier version.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: Dave
Location: New Orleans , La.
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Super lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 9, 2012
Pros: Super-sharp images
Cons: lens hood
Over priced .... But ..., much better than the old lens .
Lighter & shorter than the older one . I don't like the lens hood nor the all plastic construction .
Bottom line ... Best mid size lens !
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: Mark
Location: New York
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Sharp

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 6, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images
Cons: lens hood
I have replaced my old 24-70 with this new lens and am very happy I did.
Sharp from edge to edge and ready for 40 plus megapixel full frame sensors.
The only thing I do not like is the lens hood which although lighter and smaller attaches to the moving end of the lens possibly making the lens more vulnerable to abuse a pro lens can receive during it's lifetime..
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: instaimage
Location: Minden, NV
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

VERY much worth the upgrade

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 20, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
I am replacing the prior 24-70 with this lens, I've never been overjoyed with the older one... can't really put my finger on why, and being the lens that I use to make the majority of my money that may sound strange... but it's the truth....
This new one... WOW, I LOVE it. The images are outstanding! I'm also shooting the 5D3 and two 1DX's with it so the combo of all new gear may be some factor but I'm VERY VERY happy with the new lens.
Super sharp everywhere, quick autofocus, great build quality. I like the new lens extension lock feature.
One "issue" I have with the lens and it's only because of a habbit I have... I frequently will put the lens between my legs so I can use my hands to work with a client... the new lens hood is smaller and I seem to always be pushing the new locking button on the lens and the hood rotates... no fault of the hood or the lens, just something different that I need to make an accomodation for in my workflow... :)
34 of 35 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site