Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / Lenses Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Lenses or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM

EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM

EF-S standard zoom lens with IS for up to four equivalent stops of shake correction Built-in stepping motor provides smooth and quiet, continuous autofocus when shooting video with Canon EOS Rebel T4i DSLR Dynamic IS (movie Shooting Mode) delivers a wider IS correction range ideal for shooting while walking Minimum focusing distance: 1.3 ft./0.39m (full zoom range)
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM
Review 1 for EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM
Nickname: picboy8
Location: Tampa Fl
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Bad copy?

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 23, 2014
After reading the reviews , I was expecting excellent performance. Not so. My copy of this lens failed to perform in every category except noise where it excelled and zoom/focus that was very good. Took it back.
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM
Nickname: Blank
Location: Asheville, North Carolina
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Quiet, fast, sharp

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 2, 2014
I've had this about a week and have taken over a thousand shots. Most are outdoors in the mountains but some are in town Quietest lens motor I've ever owned. Fast to focus in good light - manual is better in dark environment. Manual took about 15 minutes to learn. Light weight and an inch shorter than the non-STM model. All shots were in RAW, with Daylight, AV setting on f 8. Most settings were on AUTO. About 95% of shots are usuable. The other 5% were my errors - not the lens. Color is very good. Sharpness is better than 18-55 or 55-250. Wiidest and longest settings do a good job - from 25 - 100 the shots are excellent everywhere. When shooting trees the edge issues don't even show up. Excellent choice for a budget minded photographer. I highly recommend the 18-135 STM lens.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM
Nickname: Grusum
Location: Dallas
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Full Time Manual Focus WORKS - just differently

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2014
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, quality construction, custom button assignments possible
Cons: none found
Full time manual focus works and works GREAT. You just need to understand it uses the STM motor to focus NOT a set of focus gears.
Prove it for yourself. Put the 70d into Live View shooting mode, cause the camera to focus, use the +/- key on the top back of the camera to enlarge the image and THEN use the manual focus ring -- WORKS GREAT; very very vernier focusing is possible with this lens!
I have had my 70d and 18-135STM for about a month now and I would NOT part with it. LOVE IT
I started with a T2i, upgraded to a T3i then finally a T4i. After holding a 70d and reading the reviews I sold my other four camera (sold my SX40 HS too) and bought the 70d. Have NOT looked back with any hesitation since it arrive in the brown truck. Yes, I paid extra to have it in 2 days cause I no longer could wait, patiently.
If you're in the market; buy it now - make yourself a happy Canon owner! You will not be disappointed!
12 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM
Nickname: bigron452
Location: Hopewell Junction, NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Nice Lens!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2014
Pros: quiet, fast focusing, light weight, quaility pictures
I upgraded from the T3i to the 70D and got this lens in the kit. I had the 18-135 IS on the T3i, and enjoyed that lens as it turned out to be my daily walk around lens. Same thing here with a few bonuses! With the focusing system of the 70D, it's much quicker and slient. That makes a huge difference when shooting video! It's light weight, easy to carry and quick! Images are sharp, vibrant and colorful. Now I'm not a pro by any strecth of the imagination, and I don't look for the extreme details of a picture. But if you'd like a good, quiet, solid walk around lens that has a wide angle, some zoom, and takes great pictures .. this one is sure worth taking a look at!
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM
Nickname: 87004
Location: Rio Rancho, NM
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best daily use lens for 60D

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images
Cons: not real manual focusing
This lens offers an equivalent 28-200 zoom range on a 60D with low distortion levels and very quick, silent focusing. It lacks sufficient magnification for bird photos, excellent for any other use. Although the manual focusing ring is computer driven, you hardly ever need to use it as autofocus is excellent
40 of 42 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM
Nickname: saboken
Location: Johnstown, Pa
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Lens Silent Operation

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, metal mount
Finaly I can record Video with out the noise of the lens that came with the T4I I purchaced, that lens was a Joke!!!! I would have purchaced the body only if I knew Canon was going to put a cheap plastic lens on a higher end camera! as far as the reviewer that said the manual focus ring is fake it's not fake the camera needs to be on and the lens switch set to MF for it to work it is not a mecanical focus ring it causes the focus motor to move like a volume knob. this lens is worth way more than I paid for it!!!!!! as for the plastic len's I don't know if I am going to sell it, trash it or make art out of it? maybe use it for target practice? if your buy a T4I get the body only and buy this lens or any othe STM lens you wont be sorry.
31 of 34 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM
Nickname: iguy
Location: Onalaska, WI
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Wonderful walk-around lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus
I have had this lens for about 6 months now, and it has performed impressively. It is the only lens I have now, having sold several others to make things simpler. I spent four years basically collecting gear instead of learning to take pictures. Thankfully, that futile endeavor is over. I am very confident that this lens can make 99% of the pictures I can imagine in my head.
The pros:
--lightweight compared to L series
--very practical zoom range covering everything most of us could need
--excellent image quality for a zoom, especially non L
--excellent IS
--plenty sharp, even wide open
The cons:
--marked barrel distortion at 18mm and moderate pincushion distortion at other focal lengths
-- "slow" max aperture at the telephoto end (f/5.6 from 85mm to 135mm)
I can fix the barrel/pincushion distortion in 15 seconds with software, so that's a non issue. The larger aperture at the tele end is just not an issue for me, as I don't do much low-light photography. Unless you plan to enlarge your photos to fill walls, the technical aspects of this lens are not going to limit you in any meaningful way. If you want to peep at pixels at 200%, get a few L series primes and knock yourself out. If you just want to concentrate on making interesting pictures, this lens will get out of your way so you can do that.
81 of 82 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM
Nickname: GavJ
Location: Iowa City, IA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent lens, but some annoyances

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 1, 2012
Pros: Super-sharp images, absolutely silent focusing
Cons: Poor build quality, fake "manual" focus ring
I bought this lens as a standalone to use with my Rebel t3i, so I cannot comment on the integrated movie mode image stabilization available with the t4i.
Aside from that, though, the lens is quite sharp across all the ranges I have tested. It is noticeably a little soft around the edges at the extreme focal lengths, unsurprisingly, but this softness requires you to look for it, and for a skilled photographer, it should be expected and not matter much anyway. This is much Much nicer optically than, for instance, the 18-55 kit lens.
The zoom barrel is a little tight for my taste, but the grip is wonderful, and the focal lengths are laid out so that the spacing is very intuitive and easy to precisely control all the way from 18-135. Also, a tight zoom does mean that the zoom lock isn't really necessary, which is good, I guess (though I don't understand why such a feature is necessary in the first place... seems like a band-aid fix in most cases)
The silent stepper motor is truly SILENT. As in, with my ear pressed up against the lens as it focuses, I still cannot hear it, unless I am in a still room by myself with no air conditioning on. And again, that's only if my ear is jammed up against it. Under normal circumstances, it just focuses with absolutely no noise, as if by magic. Very amusing, and of course, perfect for videography (although the video focus still pales in comparison to a camcorder, when used on the t3i, but that was expected).
Focus SPEED is about average for a mid range canon lens.
So all in all, great optics, good usability, and a very useful lens for the crop sensor. Also absolutely silent.
On the negative side, though... two points:
1) The build quality is very poor for the price. yes, it has a metal bayonet, but other than that, it looks really cheap, and feels pretty cheap. This is probably mostly an aesthetic thing (it does not affect performance, and plastics can be as strong as metals nowadays), but it is annoying and make me less satisfied using the lens. So sue me, I'm a little shallow like that.
2) More importantly, the manual focus is not actually a manual focus!!! This is just a little electronic sensor attached to a ring. When you change the focus, it takes a split second for the motor to catch up to you. And the focus (and therefore the lens) won't work if the camera is off or not attached to EFS powered signals.
Not only is this annoying and weird to work with under normal circumstances, but it makes this lens almost completely useless if you do a lot of work with non-Canon extension tubes, or a macro reverse ring, or on a non-EFS Canon camera with adapters, or duct taping lenses onto bellows, or other non-standard setups like that (which all amateurs should try at some point! And that is obviously who this is marketed at). Considering that this is obviously a "one-stop-shop, do-everything" lens, not being functional in situations like this is a significant drawback. Not being able to use a reversing ring on a 300mm prime lens? Well fine, obviously that wouldn't be a problem.
Here, it is a problem.
However, if you're not a very experimental person, or if you have other lenses on hand to mess around with in that way, then it's fine. Still annoying to not have instant manual focus control, though.
105 of 120 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Long Island, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Better Than Expected

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, lightweight
I have been using this lenses on a 7D for about a month now. I have taken this lens on two vacations, the bahamas, and the grand canyon. In both instances the pictures I took were amazing. I was supprised when I compared them to pictures taken with my 15-85 is usm and the pictures were sharper with the 18-135 stm. I went to the US open yesterday with my 18-135 stm and my 70-200 f4 is usm, and I will say that I had a hard time telling the pictures apart. This lens is a must not only for walk-around conveniemce but a great all purpose lens.
67 of 68 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM
Nickname: viktas
Location: Wharton NJ 07885
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Solid Performer at entry price.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 29, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images, manual overide, quite enough stm motor.
Serious sharpness for a entry level lens. Through out the entire range, impressive. Not the highest build quality but total satisfaction using a crop sensor and getting most out of your sensor in sharpness. Light weight, focus by wire is different and STM is quiter then the 40mm pancake. Plus this lens has Manual overide when holding down the shutter half way. A different approach but definetly not FTM. Over all for a entry zoom at this price range I don't believe I will be able to find a better deal or sharper lens in this price range from any manufacture.
40 of 41 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM
Nickname: 7X9
Location: Torrance, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Very Great Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 27, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, quiet focus
Cons: somewhat bulky
I received this lens with the Rebel T4i. At first I purchased the camera with the standard 18-55mm but decided to get the 18-135mm. The lens is pretty big size wise, but it's a good range , considering that I rarely change lenses. The best part about this lens is that it's absolutely quiet. Perfect for recording. The image quality is superb.
42 of 44 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site