Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / SELPHY Compact Photo Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop SELPHY Compact Photo Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for SELPHY CP900

SELPHY CP900

The SELPHY CP900 Wireless 3 Compact Photo Printer brings photo lab quality to your memories as built-in Wi-Fi® opens up all kinds of wireless printing possibilities from almost anywhere in your house, and even beyond.
Average Customer Rating:
3.1 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
5
2 stars
9
1 star
9
17 out of 38(45%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SELPHY CP900
Review 1 for SELPHY CP900
Nickname: tom ford
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

great printer.. after fix

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 1, 2014
I could not get my pictbridge cameras to print directly to printer until I found out you have to put them into "manual" or "Program" mode. why not tell us that? everything fine now.
Review 2 for SELPHY CP900
Nickname: Patrick
Location: Germany
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Unreliable

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 22, 2014
Nice print quality; however, printer needs to be hard-reset all the time because it hangs up and does not respond over the WiFi. This makes WiFi useless for me, because I end up walking to the printer literally -anytime- I want to print something.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SELPHY CP900
Nickname: PicturePerfect
Location: Texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Few Modes

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 24, 2014
Pros: durable, High Quality Output
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup
It does not work on Linux Mint Qiana (probably the best operating system). It does not work on Windows 8.1. It does work off SD memory chip. All I have to do is copy a picture to the SD. Remove the SD from the computer, Take the SD to the printer, and fumble with the super small screen on the CP900. It does print pretty good pictures, and it is reasonably priced. I bought it when I ran XP. It does work on XP. If you have XP and never plan on upgrading it is a good printer. If you run Linux or 8.1 and you want to accommodate Canon and like playing with SD chips it might work for you.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SELPHY CP900
Nickname: RobinP
Location: West Seneca, NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very Happy

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 26, 2014
Pros: reliable, durable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
I absolutely love the quality of the prints that come out of this printer. It is so easy to use, so portable, and the color is awesome. My only complaint is that I wish they had one for 5X7,s and 8X10's. It is so convenient to be able to do some corrections in a photo program and then just print from home. I love this printer.
Review 5 for SELPHY CP900
Nickname: rt9902004
Location: Radford, Virginia
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great Purchase!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 23, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use, reorder accessaries.
A exceptional useful and good product: Canon A500 and Selphy CP900.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SELPHY CP900
Nickname: grillman
Location: Burlington N J
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

worst purchase ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 9, 2014
will not connect to wifi . have one i purchased three years ago ; made this purchase for the wi-fi and can,t connect. very stressed out
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SELPHY CP900
Nickname: Mukman
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Works Like A Charm

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, wi-fi connected, decent colors
Interesting to see the negative reviews that focus on Windows 8 or the Apple environment. This was a snap to set up, connect to my home Wi-Fi network and print directly from my Android phone with the Canon mobile printing app. I have no idea how long it will last, but it took about less than 60 seconds to print from my phone. The colors were true to the picture.
What's to complain about for a VERY inexpensive printer that lets you create a print of the pic from your SD card, USB drive or phone? I have two computers with Windows 8 and they both have a default area with Windows 7 that you get thrown into, so I don't see the problem.
In any event, it works as advertised and is simple to use - buy it!
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SELPHY CP900
Nickname: Casey
Location: Seattle, WA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Cannot get WiFi to work and no OSX support

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2014
Printer will not connect to my WiFi and I cannot install the software on OSX Maverick.
I love the prints and the dye sublimation technology. But the whole reason for buying it was for the WiFi access which does not work.
Would like to see a response from someone at Canon regarding this.
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SELPHY CP900
Nickname: Ray
Location: East Haven, CT
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

No Windows 8 driver

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 9, 2014
Very disappointed as there are no drivers for Windows 8. This is a relatively new product and you would think Canon would keep it current. It worked fine under Windows 7, but I've upgraded so the printer is fairly useless as I do editing before printing.
12 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SELPHY CP900
Nickname: Neacail
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great Little Printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2014
Pros: price, print quality, ease of use and installation
Cons: poor blacks, overly simple software
This really is a great little printer. It was very easy to set up, and it delivers excellent quality dye sublimation 4x6 prints for my personal use.
The only two things I don't like about it are inferior blacks (blacks that aren't quite black enough) and the elementary, almost juvenile, software that the printer is supplied with. Fortunately, I'm able to print directly to it from Photoshop.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SELPHY CP900
Nickname: titerius

OSX 10.9

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 5, 2014
There is no support to OSX 10.9 Mavericks!!!!! U even can install it!
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SELPHY CP900
Nickname: Jon
Location: Orange County, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos

Waste of Money

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup
The setup instructions are absolutely horrible!!! I would not buy this product simply on the fact that Canon didn't spend the time to make it easy to setup and use. I'm returning this printer after many wasted hours attempting to set it up correctly.
9 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SELPHY CP900
Nickname: Pi$$edoffcustomer
Product replacement: No

Wireless? Nope.

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2014
Cons: no wireless capability
I am very unhappy with the wireless feature on this printer. I have been through the manual a hundred times doing exactly what it says for the wireless setup. Still nothing. In the infrastructure mode it will show me my network but says connection failed. In the other mode I can see my printer on my phone and tablet, but can't connect to it. I bought this for the wireless capability. I should have just bought a regular print since I still have to plug it in.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SELPHY CP900
Nickname: Big Don
Location: Palm Beach Florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

80% of the way there.....

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2014
Pros: Small Footprint
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, no windows 8 os support
The printer hardware is pretty solid and works smoothly giving Drug Store quality photos. Unfortunately the development team needs to beef up their software staff.
Already obsolete because it doesn't support Windows 8. Doesn't display some files on the built in screen. Difficult to crop. Not intuitive.
I would hope that Cannon goes the last 20% in their software development and give us a great printer.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SELPHY CP900
Nickname: Rx Photos
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

I guess you have to be a bit tech savy.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 28, 2013
Pros: Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use, always the right amount of ink and paper
Cons: Difficult Setup, must have computer network skills, need trouble shooting skills
I love this printer. I can print from a SD card, my camera, or my wireless network.
I am very techie. I have built and fixed computers and put in my own wireless network.
I find it easy and enjoyable to use.
Photo reproduction is wonderful.
I am an advanced amateur photographer.
18 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SELPHY CP900
Nickname: HELP
Location: los ángeles
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Set up?

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 8, 2013
Cons: Difficult Setup
I've read through the manual so many times and tried to set up I willing to pay someone lots of money to set this up. It seems that it would be fairly easy but not.
10 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SELPHY CP900
Nickname: anonymous
Location: Colorado
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

not a bad product

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 13, 2013
Pros: Small Footprint, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: takes time to set up, takes experimentation to get the best prints
after reading the reviews I was reluctant to even try to set up the printer with any of my devices on which I have photos. Turns out it does work with an I phone 4S. You can also edit photos to fit even from the I phone - some editing needed on the phone before you print as the photo prints slightly smaller than the image on the phone - not really a problem when you take the time to figure it out. I think it's a fun printer (I'm using it for personal photos) to take anywhere - similar to the old polaroid but a little more sophisticated.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SELPHY CP900
Nickname: Anonymous

No Windows 8 driver

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2013
Cons: Difficult Setup
No Windows 8 driver, and can't find anywhere. Don't know how to use it.
17 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SELPHY CP900
Nickname: grannyroots
Location: Mt Pleasant, IA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

replacement printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 5, 2013
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output, easy to use
I have just taken my new printer out of the box and set it up. I run 10.8 OS on my imac and my computer found it right away. This replaces a CP800 so had updated my driver last fall. The quality of the print I printed was a good or better than with the old printer.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SELPHY CP900
Nickname: max145
Location: los angles
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

problem printer

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2013
Pros: fast print speed
Cons: Difficult Setup, unreliable, Flimsy Construction
this is flimsy specially if dropped ,paper shout feeder barely fits if at all .
2 of 15 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site