Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MG Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MG Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG3220

PIXMA MG3220

The PIXMA MG3220 Wireless Inkjet Photo All-In-One delivers excellent quality and convenience in a compact package.
Average Customer Rating:
2.137 out of 5
2.1
 out of 
5
(102 Reviews) 102
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (102 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
10
3 stars
11
2 stars
20
1 star
50
24 out of 95(25%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG3220
Review 1 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: NanaM

MG3220 Great Printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 18, 2014
I have found this printer very good for the price. Only wish I could print in draft quality.
Review 2 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Danwliny
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Bad from top to bottom

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 16, 2014
Replacement ink costs more than the printer. Loads a lot of extra Cannon programs on the computer. Image Garden is stupid. Trying to hook up to use it as a WiFi printer and it works barely 1/2 the time. Seems like it does not like having a dynamic IP address from the router, but that is what the router sends. The whole experience working with this machine is an exercise in frustration.
Review 3 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: ochlocrat
Location: SF
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Useless waste

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2014
This printer is essentially nonfunctional. Every time I have had to print something - I typically print from work except when necessary - it has failed. The paper does not load, there are software problems, etc. Every aspect of it has been a headache. In over two years I have printed maybe 6 pieces of paper given how horrid the experience has been,
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Kat
Location: Gulf Shores, AL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Good printer-hard to set up

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 9, 2014
I like my new Canaon printer, but cannot get it to work as a :wireless: printer, which is what I want. I'll keep trying.
Review 5 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: SuziQ
Location: NJ
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Not for me!!!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 5, 2014
There' are many other Canon printers that are easier to use, perform faster with a higher quality. But I guess I got what I paid for.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Billwv
Location: West Virginia
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great printer for the $

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 19, 2014
I have been using my MG3200 series printer for about a year and have had no issues with the printer. I was looking for an inexpensive AirPrint printer and this one fits the bill perfectly for casual use. The scan and copy features have come in handy as well.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: davidwnc
Location: NC
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good Printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 5, 2014
Have used this about 3 months and have had NO problems. Easy to set up wireless, simple to use !!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Holls
Location: San Francisco, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Does the Job Adequately

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 3, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, durable, Lightweight/Portable, price/value, print quality
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, slow scan speed
I've owned this printer for one year now. I'm happy with my purchase. It prints and scans documents well enough. My only qualms is the device is much slower than my previous all-in-one, especially when it comes to scanning. Other reviewers mention problems with the wireless function. I had this problem in the beginning. The solution that works for me when the computer appears to be "offline" is to make sure I'm selecting the correct printer from my available devices in the print dialog box. For some reason it is listed TWICE at those moments, as if I have two separate Pixma printers. There's definitely a learning curve with this one. It's not ready to go fresh out of the box.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: YM
Location: Houston, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

It's a shame!!!!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 1, 2014
Pros: fast print speed
Cons: unreliable, constant cartridge misalignment
I have had the MG3220 printer for over a year. It was a free replacement for another printer that I had had for 7 years that was discontinued. I started having problems on the 3rd month!!! First it with the wireless online set up, and now the cartridge alignment. I've had to replace the ink and trouble shoot several times... and it still doesn't work. I'm so glad I didn't pay for this out of my own pocket...Trust me! you get what you pay for!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: South Fla

awful

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 21, 2014
Good luck, it won't load the paper correctly so you have to feed and push thru at the exact time it's pulling in to get it to print.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: science teacher
Location: Louisiana
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

nothing but trouble

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 20, 2014
Pros: bought it cheap
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, Dull Tones & Colors, unreliable
I have owned this product for 9 months and it has software interface problems. The printer will go "offline" periodically requiring a delete and reinstall of the device in order for it to work. After a PDF file is printed the printer becomes unavailable with the message "printer is being used by another computer," and there is only one computer in the house. The wifi, that was temperamental to begin with, has now quit working completely. I will never buy another Canon printer.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: acbris
Location: Oklahoma
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

dont walk...run!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, fast print speed
Cons: unreliable
This printer seem to work great for the first month that I had it and then I've had nothing but problems since!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Greg
Location: Niceville, FL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Do not make make my mistakie

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, Low Ink Consumption
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable, impossible to create a multi-page scanned document
This is the most user-unfriendly printer and scanner I have EVER owned.
Does fine-enough for standard printing.
But do NOT use it as a scanner unless you also have a gun handy to blow your brains out with first.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Rod
Location: Winona MN
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

For features and quality the best

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 24, 2014
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
I helped a friend purchase this printer. It took me 10 to 15 minutes to hook it up (wireless) and I had a fabulous print.
I really don't understand all of the bad reviews.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: tengomuchoshy
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

binges on ink

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 24, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Dull Tones & Colors, High Ink Consumption, unreliable, very expensive to use
Lucky to get 15 sheets of decent quality, then it's all downhill from there. Photos are terrible. Not at all pleased with the MG3220.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Linux Rules
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert

If it can't have linux then it's not worth a dolla

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2014
Pros: it's cheap
Cons: unreliable, no linux support
Microsoft = Viruses, malware, spyware, trojans, and worms (good for business/bad for people)
Linux=6years running without a hitch (we will not build our system around a canon printer....sorry)
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: pj279
Location: Atlanta, GA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

wireless is a joke

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 1, 2014
Pros: Compact Design
Cons: Difficult Setup
Tried a wireless connection so many times, I finally gave up. The access point (WPS button) is on the 3rd floor, I am on the bottom level and alone. Lost count of number of times I've climbed the stairs trying to make the wireless connection work. Went to help pages and everywhere I could think of. Other sites have mention problems with setting up wireless by the purchasers.I should have listened ! What a huge waste of time. Will give this to local thrift store since I must have wireless. Back to searching I go and this time I will pay attention to the reviews of other purchasers !
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Blkalero01
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Decent

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2014
Pros: reliable, durable, easy to use
Cons: Difficult Setup
Purchased for my daughter going to college. Works as it should. I like the wireless printing. Setup was a bit tedious but overall works great for us.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: d
Location: oklahoma
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months

not good or easy

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 24, 2014
Cons: Difficult Setup
prints ok..not great, but for being an all in one? All i get is an error message when I try to do anything but print. Would not buy this again.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Lilly
Location: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Disapointed

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2014
Cons: Difficult Setup, unreliable
I have continually had a problem with this printers Power cord being so loose it falls out. Downloading and updating the device drivers have been a nightmare. I never could manage to get the Wireless function to work and the USB cables are unusually short unless you intend to use the printer as a platform to rest your computer monitor on.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site