Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MG Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MG Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG3220

PIXMA MG3220

The PIXMA MG3220 Wireless Inkjet Photo All-In-One delivers excellent quality and convenience in a compact package.
Average Customer Rating:
2.154 out of 5
2.2
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (78 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
7
3 stars
9
2 stars
15
1 star
38
21 out of 78(27%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG3220
Review 1 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Rondo
Location: Central Jersey
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Cannot Turn on Grayscale Printing

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2014
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: cannot set grayscale printing
Overall I am pleased with the unit: easy wifi setup (Mac); good print quality, average ink usage. However, the utility does not permit grayscale printing (not talking scanning here, but printing). My utility window shows grayscale printing "OFF", leading me to believe it could be turned on. Canon site Knowledge Base did not help.
Grayscale printing of documents is useful in my work,but either is not available or I don't know where to look. I would recommend the MG3220 to a friend for general use, but I would include a caveat re: lack of grayscale printing ability.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: J P
Location: illinois
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

very good for the price - $xx

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 2, 2014
Pros: price
Cons: non-wireless
had this for 2yrs an 7 months... no problems would like a wire-less model....I print brochers, pictures, news letters, ect. have gone thru 14 reams of paper so far.. just a little over spray inside the cabinate...
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: adkwmn
Location: northern NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Bad choice

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2014
This printer has been a disappointment. I trusted the name Canon. I have had to uninstall and re-install twice. Every time I use the scan feature it fouls up the wireless print ability. Also no card slot, you have to use usb cable to scan to computer. I have had it about two months and will have to replace it. I don't have time to fuss with this unacceptable product!
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Dragon
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Waste Of Money

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 24, 2014
I have had problems with this printer ever since I got it, less than a year ago. It says my color ink is low so I installed new ink and now it won't print properly. It keeps saying ink is low even after I have reset it a dozen times. I will never buy another printer from Canon.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: calvorn
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years

Too much extra stuff

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 22, 2014
I don't need all the extra stuff you install with the drivers. At least you could do is ask permission before installing all that extra stuff.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: macron
Location: Meriden, Ct
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good Quality For The Money

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2014
Pros: cartridge are inexpensive, cartridges last long
Cons: non that i came across
This printer is a great product and is very Mac Friendly which is one of the reasons I purchased it. Another is the fact that it requires less ink replacement than others.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: austerus
Location: Seattle, OH
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

A fair printer

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 16, 2014
Pros: fairly fast printing, good value for price, wifi is fairly reliable, high quality scans
Cons: expensive cartridges, colors aren't separate
I bought this as a cheap printer that connects via WiFi to my network and the WiFi part works great.
Unlike what some people believe, the printer doesn't connect to a computer directly via WiFi, but you need a router in the middle of the network. The setup works like this:
- connect one computer with drivers installed via cable to printer
- setup the printer's WiFi and connect it to the router
- disconnect computer from cable
After this, all my computers with Windows 7 and 8 were able to detect the printer on the network without even installing drivers.
WiFi was stable, in one year I only needed to reconnect it once after the printer spent two days disconnected from the power supply.
My main problem with this printer is that printing is costly. Doesn't work with refilled cartridges and the color cartridge doesn't have individual sub-cartridges to replace individually.
Review 8 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Digger
Location: Folsom, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great price, but you will regret

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2014
Pros: price
Cons: maintenance, jamming, cartridge replacement
This printer is available for a great price, but as they say "you'll either pay for it now or pay for it later. This printer is constantly either jamming or needing some kind of maintenance. You cannot refill cartridges because the Canon cartridge won't be read by the printer.Which means you have to buy from Canon and fork out big $$$$$$$. Also, if you run out of one of the colors in the color cartridge you have to replace the whole cartridge.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: aggrevated2014
Location: Connecticut
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Trouble Right from start

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 9, 2014
After tinkering and frustrating time with just getting this printer to respond, I have given up. Won't work with wireless nor will it work with wire. It is plugged in and does not respond after coming here to this website to download the driver here. WOW...Can think of many more ways to spend a Sunday afternoon than doing something that should be pretty simple!
Wrapping this boy back up and back to the store with you, going to buy a foreign brand printer.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: LrDg
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Decent enough

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2014
I don't know why so many people have trouble using the Wi-Fi feature. I installed this printer about 6 months ago and since then I have never once had to plug the USB in or had problems with the Wi-Fi. Maybe I got lucky? Anyway, for me this printer does exactly what I expected. The printing of color pictures (such as from websites, on regular paper) isn't extremely high quality but I didn't expect it to be for the price. I'm happy with this printer and use it often.
Review 11 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: steveG

Will no longer buy from Canon

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2014
This printer does NOT connect to my computer through WiFi (the main reason I bought the printer was because it was wireless). Also the amount of money I have to spend replacing the ink is extremely costly.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Worst Printer Error

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2014
Cons: the printer
have to say this is probably the worst printer i have ever dealt with coming from someone in the IT field. Every time i need to install this printer on a different computer i have to hook it up via usb in order to install it rather than the setting it up once and being able to connect over the network. This thing hardly sees the network when it is installed. Ever since back when i bought it back in July of 2013 i have hated this printer from the moment i got the first model and it was defective out of the box to the replacement one i currently have. I have never dreaded printing since i got this machine because i always have to ask myself if it is going to print this time. It is a frustrating piece of equipment i have dealt with in my professional career and in my personal life.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Aspen
Location: New Bern, NC
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Doesn't not print wireless

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 18, 2014
I bought this wireless printer so I could use it wireless, without the need for the USB cable. The printer is installed on my computer, yet I get the message the printer cannot be found. It will print using the USB cable, but, I repeat, that is not the reason I bought it! What is going on?
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: tim
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Constantly Reboot Printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2014
I have had this printer for about 32 months and I am constantly having to power off and on for it to connect back to the wireless network. My wife is constantly telling me she can't print and I have to power off and back on. I have been using Canon printers the last 4 purchases but this one has been very aggravating.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Oregon
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Load up on ink

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2014
I bought this printer at a very good price...needless to say I wasn't expecting it to be perfect. It works fine for regular printing jobs. My biggest complaint is that is uses a ton of printer ink. I have had to replace both the color and black ink twice in the past 2 months. Not a good deal to get a cheap printer and then pay lots of money for ink.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Port of Agony
Location: Port Angeles, WA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

One problem after another

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2014
Cons: will not wifi reliably
WI-FI operations on a home network, using this printer, have proven to be impossible to make the printer work on a sustainable basis. I was able to get it to enter the WI-FI network and to print once. Then everything went into a Que with statement the printer was offline.
I called Canon and got a very knowledgeable rep who patiently walked me through uninstallation and installation with driver download from the Canon web site. Everything worked well AND THEN after a period of a day or so, I tried to print again. NOTHING, "printer offline." I went through the whole uninstall and reinstall routine and it worked. Then after a day, it went back to "printer offline." Obviously, I am too dumb to figure it out. YOU KNOW SOMETHING: I DO NOT WANT TO BE SMART ENOUGH TO FIGURE OUT WHY IT WILL NOT FUNCTION STEADILY.
I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS MACHINE TO PEOPLE LIKE ME, MAYBE "IT" EXPERTS, BUT NOT ME. My MP560 is online at another location and works well with little tweeking required.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Marty
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Decent. I like it.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2014
I always like Japan designed or made product because of their quality. I see a lot of complaints on here, but on Amazon; this is rated highly.
Yes, this printer sucks up a lot of ink. That's how most manufacturers make their money now. You can buy ink refills or generic brand cartridges to save. Always buy the large one.
The install on Window XP with the CD drivers were fine. When I installed the second time with Window 7 x64 bit, it could not detect the network. Apparently the CD drivers are out of date for Windows 7 and above so you will need to download it from Cannon's website.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: bjl-lf
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

I do not see why this would get such bad reviews!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2014
Pros: duplexer, airprint, fast printing, budget friendly, reliable
Cons: wifi setup needs to be done via the computer
I went out and bought this printer right after another Canon printer I found on the side of the road died. It wasn't until I had the product home when I looked up the reviews, I was about to go back and exchange it for another printer in the same price range. I am glad I didn't! I found out when I got it home had AirPrint and a Duplexer. I tried it out and after the first few prints I was in love. I am going out and buying another for my father.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: doghouse
Location: Ohio
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Ink smears on glossy paper

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2014
I bought this printer to print pictures and cd/dvd labels. Both use Glossy paper. After printing a set of dvd labels , I found
that the ink would smear , even rub off. Even an hour and 45
min's later the ink is smearing. Just the dark colors . I have never seen this before. Please don' t tell me I have to buy only your paper!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Susie
Location: Florida
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Very very poor picture quality.

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2014
Cons: Dull Tones & Colors
We have had this model printer for 2 months and are very dis-satisfied with the quality of pictures. Hard to even recognize any details to pictures. We will never purchase Canon products again. Tones are very very dull!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site