Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MG Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MG Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG3220

PIXMA MG3220

The PIXMA MG3220 Wireless Inkjet Photo All-In-One delivers excellent quality and convenience in a compact package.
Average Customer Rating:
2.097 out of 5
2.1
 out of 
5
(93 Reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (93 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
8
3 stars
9
2 stars
20
1 star
46
23 out of 93(25%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG3220
Review 1 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: South Fla

awful

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 21, 2014
Good luck, it won't load the paper correctly so you have to feed and push thru at the exact time it's pulling in to get it to print.
Review 2 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: science teacher
Location: Louisiana
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

nothing but trouble

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 20, 2014
Pros: bought it cheap
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, Dull Tones & Colors, unreliable
I have owned this product for 9 months and it has software interface problems. The printer will go "offline" periodically requiring a delete and reinstall of the device in order for it to work. After a PDF file is printed the printer becomes unavailable with the message "printer is being used by another computer," and there is only one computer in the house. The wifi, that was temperamental to begin with, has now quit working completely. I will never buy another Canon printer.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: acbris
Location: Oklahoma
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

dont walk...run!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, fast print speed
Cons: unreliable
This printer seem to work great for the first month that I had it and then I've had nothing but problems since!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Greg
Location: Niceville, FL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Do not make make my mistakie

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, Low Ink Consumption
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable, impossible to create a multi-page scanned document
This is the most user-unfriendly printer and scanner I have EVER owned.
Does fine-enough for standard printing.
But do NOT use it as a scanner unless you also have a gun handy to blow your brains out with first.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Rod
Location: Winona MN
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

For features and quality the best

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 24, 2014
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
I helped a friend purchase this printer. It took me 10 to 15 minutes to hook it up (wireless) and I had a fabulous print.
I really don't understand all of the bad reviews.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: tengomuchoshy
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

binges on ink

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 24, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Dull Tones & Colors, High Ink Consumption, unreliable, very expensive to use
Lucky to get 15 sheets of decent quality, then it's all downhill from there. Photos are terrible. Not at all pleased with the MG3220.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Linux Rules
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert

If it can't have linux then it's not worth a dolla

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2014
Pros: it's cheap
Cons: unreliable, no linux support
Microsoft = Viruses, malware, spyware, trojans, and worms (good for business/bad for people)
Linux=6years running without a hitch (we will not build our system around a canon printer....sorry)
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: pj279
Location: Atlanta, GA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

wireless is a joke

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 1, 2014
Pros: Compact Design
Cons: Difficult Setup
Tried a wireless connection so many times, I finally gave up. The access point (WPS button) is on the 3rd floor, I am on the bottom level and alone. Lost count of number of times I've climbed the stairs trying to make the wireless connection work. Went to help pages and everywhere I could think of. Other sites have mention problems with setting up wireless by the purchasers.I should have listened ! What a huge waste of time. Will give this to local thrift store since I must have wireless. Back to searching I go and this time I will pay attention to the reviews of other purchasers !
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Blkalero01
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Decent

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2014
Pros: reliable, durable, easy to use
Cons: Difficult Setup
Purchased for my daughter going to college. Works as it should. I like the wireless printing. Setup was a bit tedious but overall works great for us.
Review 10 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: d
Location: oklahoma
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months

not good or easy

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 24, 2014
Cons: Difficult Setup
prints ok..not great, but for being an all in one? All i get is an error message when I try to do anything but print. Would not buy this again.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Lilly
Location: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Disapointed

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2014
Cons: Difficult Setup, unreliable
I have continually had a problem with this printers Power cord being so loose it falls out. Downloading and updating the device drivers have been a nightmare. I never could manage to get the Wireless function to work and the USB cables are unusually short unless you intend to use the printer as a platform to rest your computer monitor on.
Review 12 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: truckfox
Location: Philadelphia,pa
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

started good until ink ran out

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: High Ink Consumption, unreliable, does not recognize new canon ink
It was a good printer until first ink ran out, Now I have 3 new Canon cartridges that do not work or sputter. For the price of the cartridges, I could have bought the unit again
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: bman
Location: WI
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Junk

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 13, 2014
Pros: Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup, High Ink Consumption, unreliable
Owned for about 9 months and it has been nothing but trouble. It eats ink and never works when you want it to work. Wireless worked then not, printing direct worked, then not. Setup was relatively easy but obviously the drivers are subpar and cause it to fail consistently- even with an updated driver.
Throwing it away after I use up the ink, cheaper to do it this way - an added bonus afterwards will be my blood pressure going down after its gone.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Bon
Location: OK, USA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Not user friendly

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 13, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup, unreliable, High Ink Consumption
This printer worked very good for about two months. I had to change the ink. From then on it went downhill. The error code display on the led is very confusing.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Al
Location: Grants, New Mexico
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

No support when printer crapped out.

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 9, 2014
After I changed cartridges the printer stopped working. I changed cartridges again and it still doesn't work. Very disappointed.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Rondo
Location: Central Jersey
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Cannot Turn on Grayscale Printing

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2014
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: cannot set grayscale printing
Overall I am pleased with the unit: easy wifi setup (Mac); good print quality, average ink usage. However, the utility does not permit grayscale printing (not talking scanning here, but printing). My utility window shows grayscale printing "OFF", leading me to believe it could be turned on. Canon site Knowledge Base did not help.
Grayscale printing of documents is useful in my work,but either is not available or I don't know where to look. I would recommend the MG3220 to a friend for general use, but I would include a caveat re: lack of grayscale printing ability.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: J P
Location: illinois
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

very good for the price - $xx

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 2, 2014
Pros: price
Cons: non-wireless
had this for 2yrs an 7 months... no problems would like a wire-less model....I print brochers, pictures, news letters, ect. have gone thru 14 reams of paper so far.. just a little over spray inside the cabinate...
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: adkwmn
Location: northern NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Bad choice

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2014
This printer has been a disappointment. I trusted the name Canon. I have had to uninstall and re-install twice. Every time I use the scan feature it fouls up the wireless print ability. Also no card slot, you have to use usb cable to scan to computer. I have had it about two months and will have to replace it. I don't have time to fuss with this unacceptable product!
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Dragon
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Waste Of Money

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 24, 2014
I have had problems with this printer ever since I got it, less than a year ago. It says my color ink is low so I installed new ink and now it won't print properly. It keeps saying ink is low even after I have reset it a dozen times. I will never buy another printer from Canon.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: calvorn
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years

Too much extra stuff

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 22, 2014
I don't need all the extra stuff you install with the drivers. At least you could do is ask permission before installing all that extra stuff.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site