Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX500 IS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SX500 IS

The PowerShot SX500 IS gives you all the power of super zoom in a camera that¿s sized to go everywhere! The extremely powerful 30x Optical Zoom with 24mm Wide-Angle Lens (35mm equivalent: 24-720mm) gives you true shooting versatility, while the Optical Image Stabilizer ensures crisp, brilliant images at any zoom length.
Average Customer Rating:
3.925 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
3
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
6
27 out of 40(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX500 IS
Review 1 for PowerShot SX500 IS
Nickname: Dee
Location: Southampton, NY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worst ever purchased

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 4, 2014
Cons: Slow auto-focus, Poor build quality
A plastic piece around the lens is only glued in and when you take the lens cover off the plastic piece is stuck in the lens cover. Now the plastic piece is completely gone and the cover will not go on the lens. The camera freezes all the time and will not take pictures. The word busy is constantly being displayed. I have had other Canon power shots and loved them. This model I totally dislike and am frustrated every time I use it.
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SX500 IS
Nickname: Stevehoutx
Location: Houston, Tx
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Canon SX 50

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2014
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, incredible zoom
Cons: Short battery life
I compared this camera side-by-side with another Canon SX 50 and from that we found the image stabilizer and the auto focus were not working correctly.
We compared the photo image at a 100 times and 200 times.
My Canon SX 50 would not stay focused. The image stabilizer was very unstable. I am sending this camera back to Canon for a replacement. This is a great camera. Mine may somehow have missed the quality inspections. Hopefully I can change my review when I get my replacement
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SX500 IS
Nickname: zann
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year

love my camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
I received this camera as a Christmas gift in 2012 and just love everything about it! Easy settings, nice quality photos every time! The only problem i can think of is that sometimes it gets finiky with low light and doesnt want to take the photo.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SX500 IS
Nickname: Ktana234
Location: NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
This is one of the many cameras that I have but the canon powershot sx500 is is the best. Not only is it portable and small but it also has a 30x zoom and 60x super zoom. This camera has a number of scene modes and effects which make my photos clear and vibrant. I would recommend this product because it is easy to use and has a long battery life.
24 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot SX500 IS
Nickname: Sach
Location: Dar es Salaam
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome picture quality, and excellent product.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I bought this camera Canon SX500IS on 2nd Nov 2013, It very good I would recommend to my friends. Excellent quality product, awesome pictures . Easy to use. Probably Canon would have provided soft case with it, would have have appreciated. Thanks canon. I did not fond any Cons, because it is perfect for my use specially outings, travelling and short safari.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SX500 IS
Nickname: SandyN
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Product replacement: Yes

Wish I had my money back

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2013
Cons: Missing features/settings, Difficult to use, Short battery life, Heavy/Bulky, Complicated controls/menu
Every time I have used this camera for one single occasion (no more than a couple of hours each time), I have had to recharge the battery. Fortunately (?) the guy at store recommended that I get a second battery. Since one battery is always charged, that helps. I do not like that the lens doesn't close up (prone to scratches); I do not like the short battery life; it does not indicate on the screen which setting I'm using; it does not fit in my purse. In short, I regret buying the camera. I will buy another camera but will do a LOT more homework. The reviews on this one did not indicate the problems I am experiencing. I can't even think of anyone I want to pass this camera along to.
9 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SX500 IS
Nickname: kdldreamer
Location: Morganton, GA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

I LOVE my Canon camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, great stablization; no blurred photos
Cons: there are no cons.
I love my camera (Canon Powershot SX500IS) because of the 50 X zoom. It enable me to take pictures of the moon and the detail was incredible. A friend has a DSLR high end camera and lens that couldn't get the close up shot that I did. Canon will always be my camera of choice because I have never had to replace one. I only buy a new camera when Canon has developed a camera with features that my other Canon cameras don't have (example 50X zoom). Canon cameras enable me to always take beautiful unblurred photos. I LOVE my Canon cameras.
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SX500 IS
Nickname: asinate
Location: Hawaii
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Expected better.

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 13, 2013
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life, poor video quality
I bought this camera brand new. I was a little bummed because at first I wanted the Canon Elph 110 for vlogging purposes, but the store I went to had sold out of the Elph so I had to pull out a little extra cash for this camera. As it was $90 more. I know the capabilities of the Elph because my friend has one, and this camera although more expensive and quoted to take crisp photos, does not amount to the elph *digital* camera! The video quality on the Canon SX500 IS is grainy and performs horribly in all lighting except outdoors. The best photos are taken on auto if the object is still. I shouldn't have wasted my money, and my warranty is up. Canon you let me down, for the very first time. But I do love my 60D!!!! I just wish I could get my hands on the Canon Elph 110.
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SX500 IS
Nickname: Hector

Excellent camera but...

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 29, 2013
After owning a Rebel ET for years decided to go smaller. It fits my needs totally. Really wanted a camera with video. Although I am satisfied with the camera I was a bit disappointed that the soft carrying case, PSC-4050, would not accept my camera because it was too small. Other than that I love all your canon cameras.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SX500 IS
Nickname: Boomer918
Location: Plattsburgh NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Poor Picture Quality

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 3, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, durable, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance
I have been using Canon cameras for some time. I deceided to move to a bit larger camera for the 30x zoom feature which is great. Problem is my pictures are rarely if ever clear and sharp with this model. Very disappointed with this model. Can only guess the lens is low quality. Will buy Canon again but will check lens quality closely.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SX500 IS
Nickname: Big Guy
Location: Orange County Ca.
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Extremely impressed

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I have been using a cheaper 10 megapixel point and shoot camera for a few years now but really wanted a high end Cannon Rebel or better but was just not affordable for me yet so I thought I would at least upgrade to this SX 500 IS and WOW! I am Blown Away with this Camera. For the money this Camera Performs beyond my expectations. The Zoom feature is fantastic and the picture quality is amazing. I highly recommend this Camera and with a little patience and study of the more detailed manual available on-line the results are quite incredible.
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SX500 IS
Nickname: JJ
Location: New York
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
This camera was a Christmas present to my wife and myself. I used this camera at several concerts in an arena. I was able to take photos, from the middle seating level near the back of the arena. I used the optical zoom without the flash, just using the concert lighting. The photographs are incredible, beautiful quality, the close ups were almost like a portrait shot. The video is also incredible, I would not hesitate to buy this camera if I had to do it over.
23 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SX500 IS
Nickname: hidee
Location: Savannah Ga
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

professional results

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
My wife and I purchased this as a Christmas gift to our selves. At first I used it in auto mode. I then began exploring manual mode photos. I was shocked at the quality images the SX 500 IS produces. I only wish I could attach a photo to this review.
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SX500 IS
Nickname: Sams Club Guy
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Don't buy from Sam's Club

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 28, 2013
Researched the camera to no end, reviews looked good, bought one at Sam's Club, returned it the next day. My wife and I were excited to buy the new camera. Brought it home and charged the battery over night. The next day we went to setup the camera and we kept getting a memory card error. Canon website informed us to format the card in the camera, and we did. After taking one shot, the error code came back. We returned it back to Sam Club and they informed us that dozens of units were returned for the same reason. Disappointed Customer !!
15 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SX500 IS
Nickname: Mr. B

Great Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: would like a manual
Used to own a nice Minolta with 3 lenses; weighed about 15 pounds total; moved up to small digital, pocket sized; bought this for a trip to California - what a great buy! I've never taken such nice shots so easily, and the zoom and wide angle capabilities made the trip to Yosemite something we'll never forget; the pictures are amazing!
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot SX500 IS
Nickname: michlong
Location: Prairie du Chien, Wi
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love this camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 24, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD
I have had this camera for a couple of weeks and i have falling in love with this camera. I love the pictures it takes, I take pics of flowers and birds the most. The camera brings the birds right in.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SX500 IS
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: peabody, MA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

LOOOVE IT

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Dim LCD, Flimsy Construction
all i wanted to say is last time i checked this was 130$ bucks cheaper and the price is saying i SAVED money. well anyways i love this camera one of the best point and shoots and if you know how to use the setting ou can get pro results
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SX500 IS
Nickname: forevermemorable
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Terrible camera!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2013
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance, Difficult to use, Short battery life, Complicated controls/menu
Terrible camera! The worse one I have ever used! You can use disposable camera that perform better than this one. The auto focus drowns out your photos! Too much lighting! Of course you can tweak the settings, if you had time, but for a quick point and shoot camera, this is NOT the one. Also, many of my photos get out of focus. When the flash is not on, the pictures are distorted! When the flash is on, there usually is too much light cast on people's faces.
The default size of the pictures are set really small, which you might as well delete every photo you take. It is REALLY HARD to figure out how to change the default setting to a higher quality image. And even at that, the "higher quality" image is not really higher quality.
The battery is the worse battery life I have ever seen. I would rather use a 99 Cent Store battery than this one. Granted that you can recharge it, but when you are out taking pictures, the battery drains SUPER FAST. If you take video, you might get 10 minutes from it before the battery is depleted!
The only cool feature is the zoom lens, which can zoom pretty darn far, for the small size of this camera.
4 of 33 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SX500 IS
Nickname: spikynanna
Location: North Carolina
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 11, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Great little camera, easy to hold and use. Very nice features, great quality of pictures
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SX500 IS
Nickname: SOFFEFDL
Location: Charlotte, NC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Disappointed

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 23, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Dim LCD, Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance, slow
I purchased this camera because of the great features and compact size. Performance in terms of picture quality was very disappointing. The LCD was very grainy/pixelated. Good light, low light, stills, motion...nothing looked crisp. Performance seemed sluggish. Hoping that it was the particular camera I had...I returned it and got another. Unfortunately, the image quality was just as poor...the LCD was just as blurry...and it seemed just as slow...so it must be the nature of the product. I have returned it and will invest in something else.
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site