Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / imageCLASS Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop imageCLASS Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for imageCLASS MF4890dw

imageCLASS MF4890dw

High quality, versatility and ease of use make the imageCLASS MF4890dw the perfect choice for your home or small office. The MF4890dw offers advanced new features to add convenience to your work day, including the tiltable control panel, Quiet Mode 11 and simple solution keys. With wireless capabilities 9 , speed and all mode duplex your home or small office will never miss a beat.
Average Customer Rating:
3.3 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
4
11 out of 20(55%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for imageCLASS MF4890dw
Review 1 for imageCLASS MF4890dw
Nickname: Hobbes
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Product replacement: Yes

Worthless

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 16, 2014
Pros: High Quality Output, fast print speed
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable
When the printer actually prints, it works flawlessly. The problem I have is that it constantly comes off line. As in ALL THE TIME. This printer is never ready to print for me. It is the only wireless device in my household (and I count no fewer than six such devices) that I have problems with. The controls are nonsensical and it might be the least-intuitive electronic device I have ever worked with.
Review 2 for imageCLASS MF4890dw
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Athens, GA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

unreliable

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 27, 2014
I have spent almost five hours trying to get this printer running again but failed.
The first time installation was good. Then we moved to another place and lost the CD. We can't download everything from the website, and couldn't get it connected to PC again.
Very disappointed because my previous Canon was very reliable.
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for imageCLASS MF4890dw
Nickname: Anonymous

fax and scanner do not work properly

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 8, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable
Very disappointed on this product. IT is very difficult to set up to send/receive fax using the phone line. Scanning has an error message without error code: "An Error Occurred, Close?", totally don't know how to fix it.
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for imageCLASS MF4890dw
Nickname: Happy Printer
Location: Northglenn, CO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Love it!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed
I have not used this faxing, but routinely print and scan with this printer over wireless home network. Works great. Scan function can be slightly tricky but not hard to learn. Setup and user guide doc that comes with printer are top notch. Just moved this printer to a new secure wireless network and had it up and running in 2 minutes. Rock solid machine.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for imageCLASS MF4890dw
Nickname: Affordable import
Location: New Hampton, NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Copying
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great Printer for the Price!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 3, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed
Great Printer, and great value for the price. I have a previous model that I bought 4 years ago and its still going. I bought this one because I thought the old one was broken from me dropping it when it actually is fine, so now I have both of them up and running!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for imageCLASS MF4890dw
Nickname: boatcaptain
Location: Santa Barbara
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Nice product overall

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 11, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed
Print quality is high and fast. The network setup wasn't too painful. I run this on a home network with two pcs and a mac and they all can network print without issues. Scan to computer function over the network is a little clumky, it works but it's sometimes can't find computers to scan to. When plugged into USB, scan to works very well. Duplexing ADF is slow, but works well otherwise and was a major selling point.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for imageCLASS MF4890dw
Nickname: hoisinboi
Location: Virginia
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Gets the job done (with a few quirks)

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2014
Pros: fast, full-featured for soho, Small Footprint
Cons: unintuitive scanning, can't fax over network, eats toner
First of all, this is an excellent printer for a SOHO. It has fast print speed, wire(less) networking, ADF, and duplexing. It is extremely capable and gets the job done. This printer has some quirks that is leading to some of the negative reviews posted here. Some of the tasks, especially scanning aren't intuitive and not immediately obvious. I dropped a star because of this. I am using a Mac with Mavericks, but have also installed this printer on Windows 7 as well. I have used this printer for about 15 months. To address some of the negative reviews:
.
R: scanner is not working for Macintosh
A: Absolutely false. Scanner works perfectly in Macintosh. However, it's not intuitive how to scan documents. You have to set the scanner into scan mode, then select remote scanner. This puts the printer into scan receive mode. Then the MF Toolbox scanner app will see the scanner. Otherwise, the app will complain. Why can't the developers just put in something to have the scanner available ALL the time like all the other multifunctions out there. This makes no sense and complicates matters.
.
R: Noisy Printer
A: This printer isn't any noisier than most of the other multifunctions I've used. Obviously, it's going to be louder than an inkjet, but this is what you get for high speed laser.
.
R: The fax machine has to scan one page at a time. You cannot just put the sheets in an automatic document feeder.
A: This is false. I've faxed and scanned multiple pages (1-sided AND 2-sided) from the ADF just fine.
.
R: Copying always does 2 sided and it is not easy to do a single page when desired
A: Again, this is false. I've been able to do 1 sided -> 2 sided, 2 sided -> 1 sided, 2 sided -> 2 sided. Read the manual. The setting is the 3rd one down on the control panel. Hit Copy, high down arrow twice, hit ok. All the permutations are there. To change the default settings, go to Menu -> Copy Settings -> Change Defaults -> 2-Sided
.
R: MF Drivers Will not install
A: This is user error. You probably DON'T have admin privileges. If you do, you probably need to right-click on the installer and select "Run as Administrator"
R: weak software, This product install is difficult and time consuming.
A: Weak review. Driver install can't be any more straightforward on the windows side. I don't know why they split up all the drivers into separate installs on the Mac side, but it isn't any harder than installing drivers for any other peripheral.
.
The REAL cons:
1. The scanning interface is unintuitive. You have to set the printer to scan mode before being able to scan. This step shouldn't be needed.
2. Scanner DPI limited by software to 300dpi as another reviewer had mentioned. Can it do 600dpi optical? I haven't figured out how. But then again, do I need 600dpi for a business machine? I don't think so.
3. Computer faxing CAN'T be done through the network. If I can print via network, why can't I fax over the network? This is an arbitrary limitation and I think the developers should remove it. Right now, I have a USB cable hooked up to the machine just so that I can print to the fax driver.
4. Eats toner. The starter cartridge is rated for 1500 pages, but I got low toner at 700. I mainly print word docs. But then again, ink/toner is where the money is.
37 of 38 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for imageCLASS MF4890dw
Nickname: Happy Consumer
Location: GA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great tech support!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2014
This machine has been very reliable and the tech support team is phenomenal! Very patient and will walk you through one step at a time. Also can clearly understand every word they say! Thanks for the great job! This is the second Canon printer we have purchased and have recommend Canon to many friends.
Review 9 for imageCLASS MF4890dw
Nickname: Fung
Location: MD
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

scanner is not working for Machintosh

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, fast print speed
Cons: not apple friendly
Scanner is not working for Apple product, please update the driver ASAP!
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for imageCLASS MF4890dw
Nickname: Shoreline Apts
Location: Buffalo New York
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Noisy Printer

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 4, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: noisy
This printer is extremely noisy when printing. Wish there was a way to make it quieter. I like the features of the multifunction machine its just way to noisy for my office.
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for imageCLASS MF4890dw
Nickname: WVLawyer
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Excellent Small Office Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 20, 2013
I am a solo practicing attorney and have recently hung my shingle part time. This printer suits my needs perfectly - I don't need high volume, but I do need a reliable printer/fax/copier scanner. It was cost effective and works great. I've been using it consistently for 3-4 months and haven't had a single issue.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for imageCLASS MF4890dw
Nickname: disappointed
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Hard to use and disappointed

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 18, 2013
Pros: fast print speed
Cons: Difficult to use, can't perform activities automatically from comput
The printing quality is excellent. The ease of use is terrible. You have to be at the printer to perform most functions instead of being able to perform from the computer. The fax machine has to scan one page at a time. You cannot just put the sheets in an automatic document feeder. I have figured out how to fax and have used it but I have to be at the printer for multiple pages. For scanning, you have to be at the machine in order to scan to the computer. Copying always does 2 sided and it is not easy to do a single page when desired. After a month I have not been able to receive a fax automatically even though my phone line is dedicated to the computer.
9 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for imageCLASS MF4890dw
Nickname: Happy
Location: Southern New Jersey
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Best printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
This is the best printer I've ever owned. Installed easily. Prints fast and flawlessly. The fax function works great. Love having a laser printer. Should have bought one of these years ago. A friend of mine saw it and he bought one too.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for imageCLASS MF4890dw
Nickname: pete
Location: Maryland
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Stick with a single function

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 14, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use, outstanding support
Cons: scanner stinks
The laser printer works great. I love the ease of use of the duplex printing. Quality is great, speed is fantastic. Printer drivers loaded first time and hasn't missed a beat.
These days I think the fax option has outlived it's usefulness. Scan and email is much more popular.
The scanner is very disappointing. I bought the machine because I wanted the self-feeding duplex scanner. I have a Canon P-215 portable scanner that works great so I thought the bigger scanner would be the same. Wrong. The duplex scanning is mechanical (there is only one scan head so the paper has to be mechanical flopped over inside the machine) which doesn't work. The scan speed is 1/10 that of the P-215 and the quality is not as good. The scanner drivers simply would not load and I had to get customer support to figure it out. Turns out their 215 driver was preventing the 4890 scanner from working.
For the price I'm still happy with the printer and would have paid that for a single function laser printer. Canon needs to take the 215 scanner and put it in the 4890 to make a perfect machine.
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for imageCLASS MF4890dw
Nickname: j_hulett
Location: San Diego
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

MF Drivers Will not install

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 29, 2013
Cons: Difficult Setup
The printer seems very well made, however I cannot install the drivers for it. The installer tells me I lack administrator privilege but this is not correct. Have searched support and it appears there is no help area to ask for help. I will be returning this product.
7 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for imageCLASS MF4890dw
Nickname: pglcc
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Best bang for the buck

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 9, 2013
Researched and set this up for a client to print at the desk. Installation was simple. Did not setup wireless because the client didn't need it. After two weeks of scanning, copying, printing, she doesn't use the workgroup printer anymore.
Only time will tell to see how reliable/durable it is.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for imageCLASS MF4890dw
Nickname: sjbwc3
Location: Bethesda, MD
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worth the money

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 25, 2013
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Great MFP, high quality prints/copies. The printer was easily recognized by my home mac and a work (govt) win computer. No issues installing drivers on either. Seamlessly integrates with my home network. Highly recommend to anyone looking for a high quality MF laser printer.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for imageCLASS MF4890dw
Nickname: leslie
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best printer I've ever had

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 12, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Printer is great, only downside is the documents I've scanned have come out with low resolutions, but it could be my settings although I've gone over them a few times now.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for imageCLASS MF4890dw
Nickname: sd
Location: lincoln, ma
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

weak software

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 10, 2013
Pros: sold on amazon
Cons: Difficult Setup
This product install is difficult and time consuming.
3 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for imageCLASS MF4890dw
Nickname: FlyingFish
Location: CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Should be good printer but with issues.

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 14, 2013
Pros: High Quality Output, fast print speed
Cons: Difficult Setup, bad support.
Everything is very good except one thing.
Scaner only can go up to 300 dpi. Not 600 dpi in pecification. Also the SN can not be recognized on web.
20 of 22 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site