Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / imageCLASS Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop imageCLASS Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for imageCLASS MF4880dw

imageCLASS MF4880dw

Designed with home offices and small offices in mind, the imageCLASS MF4880dw provides a high quality solution with easy to use, advanced features. This compact machine will fit anywhere in your office and offers great new technologies such as the tiltable control panel, quiet mode 11 and simple solution keys. The speed, wireless 9 capabilities and simple navigation help your business to be efficient every step of the way.
Average Customer Rating:
3.071 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
2
8 out of 14(57%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for imageCLASS MF4880dw
Review 1 for imageCLASS MF4880dw
Nickname: Brett
Location: Sayreville, NJ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Could have been great

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 15, 2014
Pros: Small Footprint, fast print speed
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable
I had really high hopes for this last multi function. After rotating threw ink cartridge style printers for years I decided to give this a whirl. The pros, its a solid built unit, visually looks nice, printing is clear. The negatives, every other month the wireless printer fails to work right in windows 8.1. I've reinstalled the drivers and the reliability of wireless printing is horrible. The scanner is lower resolution unless you want to just photo copy text documents don't expect to save nice photos with this. Overall I really wanted this multifunction to be great but in the end it wasn't worth the cheap price even for its poor performance.
Review 2 for imageCLASS MF4880dw
Nickname: No Connection
Location: Reston
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Seriously Flawed

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 17, 2014
Pros: fast print speed
Cons: Difficult Setup, unreliable
This machine is not hard to install and operate. The problem is when you try to scan documents, there always seems to be an error. I even bought a USB cord to directly connect, and there are still scanning connection errors. At least, now I know that the error is with the scanner and not my wifi connection. DO NOT BUY IF YOU INTEND ON SCANNING DOCUMENTS
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for imageCLASS MF4880dw
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

More than I need

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 25, 2014
Pros: reliable, durable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, expensive toner
I have used this copier/printer since November 2013. I have it setup to print wirelessly from my Mac. It starts printing quickly after I hit the "Print" key, especially Acrobat docs. Print quality is quite good. I replaced a just plain old copier that no longer worked. The old copier had simple manual buttons to change image size, print density, etc. No screen. I really did not want an all-in-one but that seems all that is available. I do not like the LCD menu screen in general. Too many functions and takes too long to go thru the menu for simple operations. Also the menus are not a continuous scroll thru back to the beginning. When you reach the end of a list in a menu and you wish to go to the beginning you have to scroll back up thru previous items. About three weeks ago the scanner function got out of alignment. Printing docs from the computer was fine but when used as a copier the left margin of the page was shifted two inches to the right and all text at the right side of the page being copied did not show on copy. I called Canon and after working thru several diagnostic steps with tech support I was told the machine would be replaced under the existing warranty. Within less than 48 hours a replacement arrived on my doorstep. I packed up the non-working machine and returned it pre-paid vis UPS. Great customer service! However I still cannot figure out why No. 10 envelopes do not print the return address in the correct position! Also have not yet figured out if I can send a scan to my computer over wireless network. Sigh.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for imageCLASS MF4880dw
Nickname: sporty
Location: canada
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Intial Opinion

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 7, 2014
Pros: High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Was concerned after I bought it and read some of the reviews. Than after testing the machine I realized it was a case of typical internet reviews where you have no idea of the competence of the reviewer. Turns out it prints Adobe acrobat docs just fine, can be installed as default printer, scan resolution is 600dpi optical and overall works fairly good with a substantial amount of features for printing or copying. I hooked one machine via USB another via Ethernet and another by wireless and woke the machine from energy saver mode and printed the doc instantly (very fast). Initial impressions are very good but will need to put it through the paces to have a long term review but so far very happy with what I have as I wanted a b/w laser for work only.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for imageCLASS MF4880dw
Nickname: Nate
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Not Compatible with Adobe Acrobat

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2014
Pros: image quality, scan quality
Cons: cannot be set as windows default printer, cannot print from adobe acrobat
Image and print quality is quite good; scan functions are good. Unfortunately, it is not compatible with any Adobe product, including CS. It is a particular nuisance that it will not print from Acrobat. Also, it cannot be set as the default printer in Windows - still prints from Microsoft Office and all other software, though (except Acrobat). May need to return it....
3 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for imageCLASS MF4880dw
Nickname: frank
Location: massachusetts
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

mf4880dw works great

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2014
We have the printer in my office/tv room. I have it attached to my home network. It was very easy to do. My system is running windows 8.1 and has no issues with the printer. Drivers work fine. There are also several windows 7 laptops and a windows 7 desktop attached to the network and are all using the printer. Just to mention, all connections are wireless.
The quality of the print is fine for me. Copier works fine. Have not yet used the fax. The fax, copy and print functions show up as separate icons on device and printers in windows 8.1. I like the fact that it drops in to energy saver mode when not in use. Has been installed for three months and overall very satisfied.
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for imageCLASS MF4880dw
Nickname: VetteHog
Location: Massachusetts
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Good value, limited Scan quality

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2014
Pros: ease of use, prints/copies double sided
Cons: 300dpi vs 600dpi, no double sided scan
I am pleased with this product, except the price of the toner is high. I am disappointed the scanning is only 300 DPI Max as, when I bought it, it was advertised as a 600 DPI scanner. Software limit for the resolution?
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for imageCLASS MF4880dw
Nickname: SYED
Location: washington, DC
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

GREAT PRODUCT!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2014
Pros: fast printing
Cons: not a color printer
If you know how to use this canon imageCLASS then you have got yourself a very good affordable printer, i loved it. I has been around 7 months and is working great.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for imageCLASS MF4880dw
Nickname: dec2013
Location: Everett, WA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Disappointed

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2014
Pros: high speed printing
Cons: low quality scan
If I don't' have print problem, this is good machine (But I don't like scanning quality.) Print speed is great and quality is good. If you want to scan photo, I don't recommend this. I bought this last December. Configuration was easy and everything was OK at first. Then suddenly I couldn't print. I re-configured, updated firmware and driver. Then it printed a while. Then again print error started. Somehow this printer stop responding suddenly. If I don't have this problem, this is good machine.
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for imageCLASS MF4880dw
Nickname: Baz
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great All-In-One for the price

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2014
Pros: quick and reliable
Cons: low res scanning, toner is fairly expensive
Had zero difficulty getting this unit up and running. Didn't even read the instructions at the time. Set up with ethernet cable and has been dead reliable and very very quick. I love the duplexing feature as well as the batch scanning. Looks professional too - like an office printer.
I find it quite intuitive to use and have no real criticism except maybe for the fairly low scanning resolution - 600 DPI. Then again it's not designed to be a photo scanner so it's fine. I like that when you replace the toner - that's all the maintenance and upkeep required, except maybe for cleaning it.
All in all - a well designed and high performing machine. For its intended use and great value, I heartily recommend it.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for imageCLASS MF4880dw
Nickname: Josh
Location: Boise
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Doesn't work with Windows 8.1

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2014
Cons: worthless
This worked great with Windows 7 and XP but Canon won't provide support for Windows 8.1. I got a new computer and it's impossible to get it to work. They have a driver and say "on the next page click on 'I agree" - WHERE IS THE NEXT PAGE? There's no "next page" to go to and download the driver. Will never buy anything from Canon again.
6 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for imageCLASS MF4880dw
Nickname: jango
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Good multifunction home printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2013
Pros: reliable, easy to use
We have been using this printer for the past eight months and have found it to be reliable, fast, and not too difficult to operate. All in all, considering the low price, I think it is an excellent home printer/fax/scanner.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for imageCLASS MF4880dw
Nickname: Raggetyass
Location: Kansas
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

love it more every day

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: cartridge cost
I have had this printer for about 9 months. it is my first laser printer and it functions very well for me. I print wireless off my computer and also do lots of copy and fax. I have a small insurance office and it serves me better than any machine I have ever had. Cannon support is fantastic - real people with real patience and can talk you through a problem in minutes. Quality printing and a cartridge last forever. Why not five stars - well nobody is perfect and it isn't either but i am darn happy with it. It has been a very dependable machine.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for imageCLASS MF4880dw
Nickname: Matt254534
Location: San Diego, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Don't buy it

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2013
Prints when it feels like it, scans when it feels like it. I wanted a multi function printer, not a part time job in printer troubleshooting.
10 of 21 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site