Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / imageCLASS Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop imageCLASS Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for imageCLASS MF4770n

imageCLASS MF4770n

Designed to meet the needs of home offices and small offices, the imageCLASS MF4770n is a fast and versatile machine that delivers high quality laser output. The new technologies used include the tiltable control panel, quiet mode 10 and simple solution keys. The MF4770n offers the convenience of networking via an Ethernet connection and quick print and copy speeds.
Average Customer Rating:
3.591 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
5
10 out of 18(56%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for imageCLASS MF4770n
Review 1 for imageCLASS MF4770n
Nickname: Ole
Location: Whitley City KY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Copying
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Very difficult to Scan

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2015
Inexpensive. Cartridges very inexpensive. Learning to Scan requires about two days of study. If that is all you do day after day, it is worth it. For a casual user.it is not. I have tried to learn intuitively and thought I had it for a while, but something changed and I literally cannot scan as of now. The operations manual lists many different ways. I'd prefer one intuitive way.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for imageCLASS MF4770n
Nickname: mlee
Location: Dallas, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

little imperfect

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2014
The only thing I am not happy with this printer/copier/scanner is that if you have multiple pages to scan, the resulted scanned PDF image is not straight.
Another thing it happened now is if you open the cover and scan one page at a time. it does not let you do next page, it will create the PDF right away... So I will try to reinstall the driver to see if I can fix it
Review 3 for imageCLASS MF4770n
Nickname: Pamolly
Location: Naples, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best of class

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 10, 2014
This is a great multi-function printer. Everything it does - printing, copying, faxing, crawling on its belly like a reptile - is top notch especially for the price. The print output is better than good and its scan functions are among the best of class. The cartridges last a respectable amount of time. The compact footprint make it suitable for the home where desk space is usually at a premium. Would buy this machine again! So should you.
Review 4 for imageCLASS MF4770n
Nickname: Grof
Location: Kentwood, MI
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best home laster printer out there

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2014
For a very long time I have been looking for an affordable laser printer for my home office, I got sick and tired of buying cartridges every other week. I for this one took it out of the box plugged the power and ethernet cable in, installed the drivers and setup was done, getting 2100-2200 pages per cartridge is AWESOME. Printer is extremely fast and quiet, I should probably mention that I am an IT Consultant by day and a DJ by night so there is a lot of paperwork that I have to print and scan. In my day job I deal with setting up MFP's almost on a daily basis and this was hands down one of the easiest to set up.
I found absolutely no con's to this printer whatsoever.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for imageCLASS MF4770n
Nickname: Frk
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Ridiculous to find the right cable

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 3, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, Difficult Setup, Low Quality Output, unreliable, Flimsy Construction
I still do not have the correct cable because apparently the cable that is recommended does not work with Windows 8. I cannot find a cable that is recommended with Windows 8, so not sure what I should do. This is a ridiculously stupid problem to have.
4 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for imageCLASS MF4770n
Nickname: AGK
Location: New York.
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Faxing
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent. Efficient.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 27, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: machine is black.
It is excellent machine for a small business. The print quality is satisfactory. The speed is satisfactory. It has low noise. The price is very affordable. I have used it for just over 3 months, so far I have no complaint. I wish it was not black in color.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for imageCLASS MF4770n
Nickname: HQINUSA
Location: Dallas, TX
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Best Laser MFC for the $

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 26, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: network setup could be easier
Though this printer may be lacking some features, it is by far the best printer for the money. Extremely satisfied with value.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for imageCLASS MF4770n
Nickname: Mike
Location: Westfield, NJ
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great value for the money

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
I switched from ink jet printer to this feature packed laser printer and couldn't be happier. The quality of the output is crisp and clean. Faxing a bundle of documents is a breeze. The only thing lacking is color but this is what I paid for so can't complain. Overall highly recommended.
Review 9 for imageCLASS MF4770n
Nickname: cfamilyof6
Location: Telford, TN
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Mostly Great

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 5, 2014
Pros: durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed
Cons: not windows rt compatible
Printing is super-fast, and the print quality is wonderful. There are a lot of features that I'm not used to, but will come in handy. The only downside for me is that this printer is not compatible with Windows RT. Please make a way for this to happen. I print from my tablet often and this is major for me.
Review 10 for imageCLASS MF4770n
Nickname: rainbow
Location: New York NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 20, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, easy to use
Sorry, I just posted bad review that was a mistake because I plug USB cable to wrong place. The printer just work perfect.
Canon products are my favorite. I have been using for more than 10 year. This is first time I made this funny mistake.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for imageCLASS MF4770n
Nickname: mr
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Scanning
Product replacement: No

Don't Buy This

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 24, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, Difficult Setup, Low Quality Output, unreliable, Flimsy Construction, crashed
sorry, its not worthed the cheap price from my experience
1 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for imageCLASS MF4770n
Nickname: Canon
Location: MS
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

wrost purchase ever i made

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 4, 2014
Cons: unreliable, Flimsy Construction
cannon you should a have make this printer a airprint
compatible. Every single business person use apple iPhone. Or apple ipad for there business.
0 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for imageCLASS MF4770n
Nickname: Yort
Location: Washington State
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Sad

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 4, 2014
Pros: price was right
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable, Flimsy Construction
This experience with the issues we are having with your printer and the software issues has put a bad taste in our mouth.
7 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for imageCLASS MF4770n
Nickname: Geo3
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

First Year Review

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2014
Pros: reliable, cost effective
Cons: none
The MF4770n performs economically and reliably. In its first year of service I have had no problems. As a copier and printer it's excellent. The scanner, while a bit confusing at first, is likewise excellent. I'm very pleased!
Review 15 for imageCLASS MF4770n
Nickname: MSCJ
Location: New Hampshire
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

death by paper jam

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 7, 2014
Pros: great when it works
Cons: died of a continuous paper jam
The printer was working well, and then poof--the interminable paper jam. I've spent way too m uch time trying to remedy the situation. I give up.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for imageCLASS MF4770n
Nickname: VRAY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Support Documentation impossible to find / Manual?

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2014
Pros: great quality, lots of functions, great price for features
Cons: expesive cartridges, support
Trying to check on how to do some things, like reprint last fax. Under support/drivers can't find any manual or help options? giving up, wasting too much time trying to find help through their website. Overall happy with printer; figured out some of the tricky scan functions, with XP.
Cartridges are super expensive; will look for a good refiill alternative. I have been recommended some good comapnies.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for imageCLASS MF4770n
Nickname: ursula
Location: orlando, fl
Used this product for: more than 1 year

Waste of money

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, no compatible windows 7 and 8
This device don't WORKING with windows 7 and 8, They supposed have updated the drivers, but still not working. It is not compatible. Don't waste your money.
16 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for imageCLASS MF4770n
Nickname: Rob
Location: Bellflower, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great machine except for scanning

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Difficult to use, scanning is terrible, bad user interface, firmware is cumbersome for scanning, scans don't come out straight
The hardware side of this device is exceptional. It prints quickly, goes to sleep quickly, and is completely silent when asleep. The print is crisp and clear, the scans excellent. The paper feeder is smooth and hasn't jammed yet.
Printing is flawless with both, Windows and Mac PCs (you have to download the Mac software from the Canon website, no biggie).
The painful part, and the reason why I gave it 3 stars, is that the firmware is cumbersome for scanning. I should be able to go up to the machine, select the PC to which i want the scan to go (assume for a moment that they are all on the same, secure subnet and that I have allowed access to the PC storage) and have the scan go there. Alternatively, start the whole process from the PC and then just put the papers to be scanned in the scanner, hit a button linking the PC's scan request to the action, and done.
No, instead you have to go back and forth between the machine you want the scan to end up on, interact with the Canon software on the pc, and the firmware selection on the scanner.
I hope Canon fixes this with an upgrade. It's a pain in the rear and it makes the value of a networked scanner significantly diminished.
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for imageCLASS MF4770n
Nickname: CHARLIE
Location: Deltona,FLorida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Faxing
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

MAINLY FOR FAX FUNCTION

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 28, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
I already have three Canon printers. I got this one primarily for faxing. Since it is so new, I knew it would deal with the digital phone line that I have much better than my old one. I was right! Works great.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for imageCLASS MF4770n
Nickname: Warden
Location: Boston, MA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Nice Replacement

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 9, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Bought it the other day to replace my Color Printer, I love it, does all that the other printer did..... color is really not necessary in what I do.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site