Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MG Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MG Series or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201

PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201

The PIXMA MG2220 Inkjet Photo All-In-One is great for printing documents and photos thanks to its hybrid ink system.
Average Customer Rating:
3.281 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
8
14 out of 25(56%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Review 1 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: 
Location: OK
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

customer

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 5, 2015
not particularly impressed.
uses ink cart. quickly
align procedures complex and ineffective
tried this 3x and it just gets more misaligned
print quality now marginal
machine takes a long time to warm up...it spasms and clunks for about a minute each time, as if to do some kind of self-check. odd. or, it will stop in the middle of a print job and do its spasm routine for a while.
keeps reminding me that no color cart is installed when there is a new one in place.
overall a difficult machine to use for simple home copying and printing.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: 
Location: Broomfield, CO
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Amazing printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 25, 2015
I am very satisfied with my purchase of Pixma MG2220.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: 
Location: dallas, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worst Printer Ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2015
This is the worst printer I've ever owned. I have to feed it one piece of paper at a time and then it's hit or miss if it will work or not.
I've had this over a year now and it's been an issue since day 1 but since I rarely have reason to print it's merely been an annoyance, until now.
I have a project that I'd like 100 copies made. I am 10 pieces of paper and 40 minutes in.
These things aren't very expensive and it shows in the craftsmanship. I know cannon has some quality products out there - this is NOT one of them.
For the cost of a low end printer, there are much better models out there.
Simply put, don't waste your hard earned money on this waste of plastic.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: 
Location: Ctoton on Hudson NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2015
. My second Canon Pixma 2220. All good. I use it at home for personal and for documents for an organization to which I belong.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: 
Location: San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Solid printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2015
Bought this in Sept 2013 (now it's Jan 2015), and so far it has worked exactly as expected. No frills but no problems either. Fine for just word documents, but not photo quality. Scanner is pretty decent.
Sometimes there is a minor glitch in which the USB cable connecting it to my laptop disconnects halfway through a print job even though it's still physically plugged in, and then the print job starts over from the beginning (very annoying), but it's hard to tell whether this is a defect of the printer or of my cord.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: 
Location: Orlando, FL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2014
We are very satisfied with this product. If someone is want a All In One Printer for printing your online orders or correspondants this one is the one to purchase.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: 
Location: Midwest, USA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Get what you pay for.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 24, 2014
The Canon PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201 will not disappoint its users. This printer will serve you endlessly!
About me:
30/m, programmer/advanced office user
Primarily Use of Product:
1st) printing grey scale .doc & .docx files.
2nd) printing color .doc & .docx files
3rd) scanning documents and photocopy images
4th) copying documents
[ Pros ]
- price low in cost.
- easy to find printing supplies.
- prints quickly.
- prints fair to good quality documents.
- scans are crisp.
- unit is light weight.
- great customer support.
- has a self cleaning feature (very unique).
- use instructions are easy to understand.
- responsive in regards to the abort (STOP printing) document.
[ Cons ]
- infrequent paper jams caused whenever the printer has 30+ blank pages placed in the tray (easy to fix).
- no wireless WiFi connectivity
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: 
Location: greensboro, nc
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Good for price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 21, 2014
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, easy to use
I bought and use this printer mainly for the scanning features, and I print labels occasionally, inkjets have expensive ink so that is all I do (i am still on original cartridge), I have another laser for more general use. Scanner is pretty good, a bit slower than I like. I have had zero issues, thought it was a steal at the price, you'd be hard pressed to find a better new product for the price. Most stand alone scanners are more than this device with all its features, IF it breaks, oh well it was practically disposable anyway.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: 
Location: Riverside, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Good for the money

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
It has everything I need, but I can't get it to scan or FAX. None of them scan at this price range, anyway. I just wish they wouldn't say it does.
The only real problem with it is that it's SLOW. Much slower than the box promised.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: 
Location: Hawaii
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

If you must.

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 10, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: High Ink Consumption, what menu?
If you're on a lean budget and can only spend this much on a printer, then so be it. Print and scan quality is decent and speed is too. The ink runs out quickly in even the XL cartridges. This is a very basic printer and cannot scan to anything more than print. It lacks a readable menu and therefore is very difficult to diagnose what is wrong with the printer.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: 
Location: Indiana
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good product for the price

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 15, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: a little noisy
I have used this printer for about three months and found it to be easy to use, gives excellent copies, and is fairly fast. When my old printer died I looked for a new one with a name I trusted and some new features. The ability to print on both sides of the paper in one operation sold me on this model. The price was well within my budget and, although it is larger than my old printer, it still fit in the same place. Also like the ability to set up for black & white or color, saves a lot on ink. I have not used the scan feature as yet but it looks easy. All in all, I'm quite happy with this printer.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: 
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Awful quality

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 11, 2014
This printer worked great for a few months before it stopped feeding paper. The feed roll maintenance routine was useless, the printer is just completely dead. I must have dared to print almost 100 pages before it stopped working.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: 
Location: Tennessee
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good for the basics.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2014
Pros: inexpensive, consistently works
Cons: not good for photos
I've had this printer for over six months now, and two cartridge changes. The hardware works well for me. The ink was easy to replace and I've had no errors after those ink changes. I use it for school papers and printing out scrapbook embellishments. The one free photos I printed I want especially pleased with the results, but wasn't expecting quality for the price I paid.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: 
Location: San Francisco, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Produces clear sharp pictures and text

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2014
Pros: very quiet, very efficient, prints sharp looking photos, easy to operate
It has been a year now, and my Canon still works perfectly. The XL cartridges outlasts 2 reams of 8x11 paper. Don't change ink cartridges when low ink appears, wait until you notice your last sheet missing letters, which should be after 40 (at least) sheets have passed. Pictures come out brilliant as well. I like the 4x6 and 8x11 photo size choice button feature. Because I know what I want from reading the specs I buy Canon products on-line, saves me time and money. This is a quality product deserving 5 star rating.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: 
Location: cplumbia, sc
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast

easy to use and good printout

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 17, 2014
Pros: lightweight
Cons: it doesn't like foreign ink cartridges
I have had my Pixma 2220wpp201 going on 2 years now. It still works great. I find it to be easy to use and it puts out quality documents for me. I would and have recommended it to others.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: 
Location: NH
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2014
Pros: nope.nothing
Cons: poor quality, printers "maintence" option doesnt help, doesnt register ink cartridge when replaced, once theres an issue theres no fixing it, does not print a photo correctly, causes migrains anger&frustration
HORRIBLE PRODUCT. Nothing but problems after I replaced the printer ink. DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: 
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Junk

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 29, 2014
Pros: cheap
Cons: poor quality machine
I bought this printer due to the low cost. Printer worked fine until I had to change the ink cartridges. Since that time the printer will NOT print legibly. I have cleaned the cartriges, deep cleaned the cartridges, realigned the printheads manually and automatically SEVERAL times, cleaned the rollers and every other maintenance task available. There is a "paper Jam" after everything I print because the intake takes in an extra sheet of paper after the printing is done. I have had real paper jams and NOTHING BUT HEADACHES. I am throwing it in the garbage and getting a different brand of printer. I think Canon should stick with cameras. I wil never buy anything made by canon again.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: 

jjj

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2013
Used this printer for 2 months, after the first ink cartridge change, the printer would suck up paper, crumble it up and spit it back out, with no cause. Error codes were useless. A mandatory software is necessary to use the machine, which is useless unless you edit every picture that you want to print. On top of my problems, the ink is worth 95% of the printer's worth......
14 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: 
Location: Moorhead, MN
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great Value

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2013
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: paper out tray to short pages fall off
I purchased this printer after my previous printer died. Affordable, competitive ink prices, compact design, and has worked very well for me. Ink lasts much longer than when it says you are running low. I got at least 50 additional b/w pages beyond when it told me to replace the ink.
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: 
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great purchase for iPad /iPhone

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 29, 2013
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
So far no problems .. 10 min.installation.
Bought this for my daughter .Great little printer so easy to use!!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site