Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MG Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MG Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201

PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201

The PIXMA MG2220 Inkjet Photo All-In-One is great for printing documents and photos thanks to its hybrid ink system.
Average Customer Rating:
3.12 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
7
14 out of 25(56%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Review 1 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: eric
Location: greensboro, nc
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Good for price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 21, 2014
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, easy to use
I bought and use this printer mainly for the scanning features, and I print labels occasionally, inkjets have expensive ink so that is all I do (i am still on original cartridge), I have another laser for more general use. Scanner is pretty good, a bit slower than I like. I have had zero issues, thought it was a steal at the price, you'd be hard pressed to find a better new product for the price. Most stand alone scanners are more than this device with all its features, IF it breaks, oh well it was practically disposable anyway.
Review 2 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: Romanticist Inc.
Location: Riverside, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Good for the money

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
It has everything I need, but I can't get it to scan or FAX. None of them scan at this price range, anyway. I just wish they wouldn't say it does.
The only real problem with it is that it's SLOW. Much slower than the box promised.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: Disappointed
Location: Hawaii
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

If you must.

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 10, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: High Ink Consumption, what menu?
If you're on a lean budget and can only spend this much on a printer, then so be it. Print and scan quality is decent and speed is too. The ink runs out quickly in even the XL cartridges. This is a very basic printer and cannot scan to anything more than print. It lacks a readable menu and therefore is very difficult to diagnose what is wrong with the printer.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: MaryK
Location: Indiana
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good product for the price

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 15, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: a little noisy
I have used this printer for about three months and found it to be easy to use, gives excellent copies, and is fairly fast. When my old printer died I looked for a new one with a name I trusted and some new features. The ability to print on both sides of the paper in one operation sold me on this model. The price was well within my budget and, although it is larger than my old printer, it still fit in the same place. Also like the ability to set up for black & white or color, saves a lot on ink. I have not used the scan feature as yet but it looks easy. All in all, I'm quite happy with this printer.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: Bob
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Awful quality

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 11, 2014
This printer worked great for a few months before it stopped feeding paper. The feed roll maintenance routine was useless, the printer is just completely dead. I must have dared to print almost 100 pages before it stopped working.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: Amberlee0211
Location: Tennessee
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good for the basics.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2014
Pros: inexpensive, consistently works
Cons: not good for photos
I've had this printer for over six months now, and two cartridge changes. The hardware works well for me. The ink was easy to replace and I've had no errors after those ink changes. I use it for school papers and printing out scrapbook embellishments. The one free photos I printed I want especially pleased with the results, but wasn't expecting quality for the price I paid.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: Skytramm
Location: San Francisco, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Produces clear sharp pictures and text

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2014
Pros: very quiet, very efficient, prints sharp looking photos, easy to operate
It has been a year now, and my Canon still works perfectly. The XL cartridges outlasts 2 reams of 8x11 paper. Don't change ink cartridges when low ink appears, wait until you notice your last sheet missing letters, which should be after 40 (at least) sheets have passed. Pictures come out brilliant as well. I like the 4x6 and 8x11 photo size choice button feature. Because I know what I want from reading the specs I buy Canon products on-line, saves me time and money. This is a quality product deserving 5 star rating.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: wandell
Location: cplumbia, sc
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast

easy to use and good printout

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 17, 2014
Pros: lightweight
Cons: it doesn't like foreign ink cartridges
I have had my Pixma 2220wpp201 going on 2 years now. It still works great. I find it to be easy to use and it puts out quality documents for me. I would and have recommended it to others.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: AwfulPrinter
Location: NH
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2014
Pros: nope.nothing
Cons: poor quality, printers "maintence" option doesnt help, doesnt register ink cartridge when replaced, once theres an issue theres no fixing it, does not print a photo correctly, causes migrains anger&frustration
HORRIBLE PRODUCT. Nothing but problems after I replaced the printer ink. DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: student61
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Junk

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 29, 2014
Pros: cheap
Cons: poor quality machine
I bought this printer due to the low cost. Printer worked fine until I had to change the ink cartridges. Since that time the printer will NOT print legibly. I have cleaned the cartriges, deep cleaned the cartridges, realigned the printheads manually and automatically SEVERAL times, cleaned the rollers and every other maintenance task available. There is a "paper Jam" after everything I print because the intake takes in an extra sheet of paper after the printing is done. I have had real paper jams and NOTHING BUT HEADACHES. I am throwing it in the garbage and getting a different brand of printer. I think Canon should stick with cameras. I wil never buy anything made by canon again.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: RIck

jjj

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2013
Used this printer for 2 months, after the first ink cartridge change, the printer would suck up paper, crumble it up and spit it back out, with no cause. Error codes were useless. A mandatory software is necessary to use the machine, which is useless unless you edit every picture that you want to print. On top of my problems, the ink is worth 95% of the printer's worth......
14 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: Babyblu
Location: Moorhead, MN
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great Value

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2013
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: paper out tray to short pages fall off
I purchased this printer after my previous printer died. Affordable, competitive ink prices, compact design, and has worked very well for me. Ink lasts much longer than when it says you are running low. I got at least 50 additional b/w pages beyond when it told me to replace the ink.
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: Lee
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great purchase for iPad /iPhone

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 29, 2013
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
So far no problems .. 10 min.installation.
Bought this for my daughter .Great little printer so easy to use!!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: angelsmama
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

not nearly as good as my old one

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 21, 2013
Pros: Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed
Cons: High Ink Consumption, unreliable, Flimsy Construction
I was really excited to find this one at a price that was excellent. However I have an older Canon Pixma from 2005 and that one is awesome. I have lots of trouble with this one feeding the paper through and every time I use it I have error messages. I am now back to using my old. On line with support yet again on the mp2220.
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: SwampThing
Location: Gulf Coast
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Canon Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2013
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
I LOVE this printer all-in-one, it is so easy to use.You do need to buy a USB cord, as I found out when I was setting it up .It is so easy to scan, & make greeting cards on this Canon printer, easier than any other I have used.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: snowbubbas
Location: Pioneer, Caliufornia
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Machine!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 10, 2013
Pros: Easy Setup, durable, fast print speed, easy to use
It is great for the family and the business, easy to use, easy to follow instructions!
it comes with a good range of tools and templates
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: slalexan
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 4, 2013
Purchased this printer for my highschool kids, well unlike other printers, it did not come with a USB cord, after 2 months we are still trying to print....LOL... I have to laugh.. I have uploaded drivers, manuals and a big mac and still not help. I don't think I have ever had this much trouble adding a printer.... The site is not user friendly, only because it has sat in the corner for more than 3 months I cannot take it back to wal mart for a full refund...
8 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: Beoza
Location: West Valley City, Utah
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Inexpensive, reliable

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 19, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Flimsy Construction
Had a few issues at first installing the printer but that was only because of the print spooler in Windows 7 and not a fault of Canon. After the issue was resolved it was a breeze to setup. It does exactly what I want it to do, the print speed is acceptable for an ink jet, uses very little ink if you tell it to do fast prints and save the high quality for documents you need to turn in. Had some issues with printing from a website but that is on the website and not a fault of the printer, as other sites print just fine. The print cartridges can be a little tricky to install/remove as theres not quite enough room to maneuver them, but Its not a big concern. Prices of cartridges are equal to other manufacturers. It's not wireless, I don't have a wireless card so not an issue for me. had to purchase a USB cable one wasn't included but that's normal most of the printers out there don't come with USB cables, mine was just too short by about 2ft so I got a good High speed cable. Manual was good it covered all the basics of setup and install. All in all a good printer for what I paid. I'll eventually replace this printer with a good Color Laser printer.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: Sharon
Location: Florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

This product is the worst printer made

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 10, 2013
Cons: unreliable
Do not buy this printer has constant problems. Paper jam,
slow,have to tell it to any feature. Maybe i just got a bum one.
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MG2220 w/ PP-201
Nickname: chief1
Location: Pennsylvania
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2013
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
The printer is nice , easy to set up and operate but upset that when you buy a printer/ other add ons you have to spend more money to have the opportunity to connect to the computer and operate because the USB cord isn't included in the purchase. What do you expect a customer to do have it sit on the desk and look at it?
19 of 25 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site