Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / Other PowerShot Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Other PowerShot or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX50 HS

PowerShot SX50 HS

World¿s first 50x Optical Zoom (24-1200mm) and 24mm Wide-Angle lens (*As of August 21, 2012) 12.1 Megapixel High-Sensitivity CMOS sensor combined with a DIGIC 5 Image Processor creates the Canon HS SYSTEM for improved low-light performance up to ISO 6400 Capture stunning 1080p Full HD video in stereo sound High Speed AF, High-Speed Burst HQ and a bright 2.8-inch Vari-angle LCD
Average Customer Rating:
4.419 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(86 Reviews) 86
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (86 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
4
72 out of 86(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX50 HS
Review 1 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: jmistudio
Location: Northern New Jersey
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great carry around camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2012
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use, great lens range
This a great all in one carry around camera. I also own the older SX1 and SX40HS, and this camera improves on both.
The SX1 has a 35mm equivalent 24-560mm lens, has great image quality, great video, and shoots RAW files, but the downfall in my view was AA batteries which had a very short useful life (relative to a Lithium Ion battery) and always seemed to die at the wrong moment. There was no battery charge indicator other than an "idiot" light that would flash as the battery died.
Then a few versions later came the SX40HS. Great camera, battery charge indicator, Lithium Ion battery, 35mm equivalent 24-840mm lens, great image quality, great features, great video... but no RAW.
Now we have this little gem the SX50HS which in my view finally completes the picture for the perfect carry around camera with an even longer lens range, battery charge indicator, Lithium Ion battery with remarkable life, great image quality, great video, great features and shoots RAW files!
This camera boasts remarkable image quality from a very small chip. Does it compare to the image quality I get from my 1DS Mark III or 5D Mark III? No. Did I expect it to? No. But for the all the amazing features packed into this camera the bottom line for me is that there are many great images that HAVE been captured because of the portability and range of this camera which might have been missed otherwise, as I don't regularly tote around the 20 - 30 pounds of gear that would be needed to cover this lens range on my full frame DSLRs.
1,181 of 1,194 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: christy g
Location: Dallas, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Perfect for a safari

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I bought this camera 1.5 years ago because I was going on an african safari and was impressed by the zoom videos on youtube.
The you tube videos don't do this camera justice. This is the most amazing camera. Everyone on the safari wanted this camera because they were amazed by the quality of the pictures i was able to capture of animals so far away. Took it on a glacier cruise later. Caught my mother packing it in her bag because she loved it as well. She ended up buying her own.
I'm off to Machu Picchu and Easter Island and can't wait to use it again!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: Russ
Location: Maine / Bonita Springs Fl.
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera at any price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 11, 2014
Pros: worth every dime
Cons: printed user guide not included
I shoot a lot of wildlife esp. birds. Because of the 1200mm zoom and because it is light to carry it has been a dream to use.After hundreds of photos with super results I have never been happier with a product. Because of my experience 2 friends have purchased this camera. I hand hold it and shoot at 1200 mm and a birds eye will be In perfect focus..
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: The Critic
Location: Denver, CO
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Good, but with some major reservations

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 28, 2014
Pros: great photos, intelligent auto setting incredibly good, shoots raw, great zoom if a bit overkill, rubber surround around evf!
Cons: horribly placed timer button- read review, junky evf, evf diopter a real pain to use, evf-lcd switch button badly located, battery life indicator vague, lo-batt warning premature..., low battery warning flashes constantly onscreen
I like this camera overall. Image quality is excellent in terms of detail, color accuracy, saturation, sharpness, consistency, and depth of field at all aperture settings. I tested 6 other competitive cameras in the super-zoom bridge camera category, and this is the camera I ultimately purchased.
So, end results are very good, and there is a lot to like here. However, the amount of text permitted in this review will not provide room for all the positives, so I am afraid I will have to “focus” on the negatives – issues that I would like to see corrected in the next iteration of this camera. (BTW, Canon – it would be nice if you told prospective reviewers the MAXIMUM number of characters allowed so we don’t have to use guesswork & trial-and-error to find out!)
The absolute MOST annoying design flaw in this camera is that the self-timer button is located on the far right-hand edge of the back of the camera. This is a terrible location for this or any other control button, since almost every time you pick up, pass, or hold the camera to shoot, the heel of your palm presses this button and activates the timer. Often this cannot be corrected with just a single button press, as the timer has a number of elapsed time options and you may have to depress the button numerous times to turn the timer off to commence shooting! One has to learn how to delicately and unnaturally hold the camera to prevent this from occurring, and even then it happens consistently despite one’s best efforts. This flaw drives me out of my mind, and if it were not for the camera’s good performance which has forced me to learn to live with this perpetual frustrating annoyance, this would be a total deal-breaker.
Second major issue: the electronic LCD viewfinder’s resolution at a mere 202k dots is junk compared with competitors, all of which at least more than quadruple this spec! I use an EVF a lot, and it is almost essential if you want to take photos in bright light or shoot extended telephoto shots without camera-shake blur. Moreover, the diopter adjustment wheel is EXTREMELY difficult to operate.
Related to the EVF inferiority is the inconvenient location of the button which alternates the photographer’s view between the EVF and the LCD screen, and its inconvenient operation. You must pull the camera well away from your face to locate and operate it, and since the button is one of many dual-function buttons, you must press it twice quickly to change the views, which slows down composition & shooting. This camera either needs a well-designed automatic EVF-switching sensor, or else the button needs to be relocated - ideally to the left side of the flash unit near the diopter, where it belongs!
The telephoto is amazing. There is a button on the side of the lens barrel that further locks in the image stabilization at extreme focal lengths, although it is a bit clumsy to use, is difficult to locate by feel, and often jars the camera when one tries to depress it, thus defeating its efficacy entirely! At greater telephoto lengths in dim light the camera does often have to “hunt” for focus, resulting in a lot of noisy lens extension and retraction buzzes and grinds that don't have a pleasing high-quality mechanical sound to them!
There are no in-camera adjustable settings for contrast, sharpness, or noise-reduction, which I initially found unusual since this camera’s competitors (that I tested) all include such adjustment settings. However, and luckily, the default settings and the resulting images in these areas are so good that I don’t miss being able to tweak them.
The owner’s manual is very lengthy, convoluted, and most sections are loaded with cross-references to other pages and sections, making instructions very laborious and confusing to follow as you attempt to flip back and forth between all the cross-references and sub-cross-references. Like all cameras these days, the manual is only available in electronic form, which makes it virtually impossible to use. Fortunately, there are online services which for a reasonable price will produce print copies of the manual and provide fast delivery.
Features I would like to see in addition to a correction of the major complaints mentioned above: a lens cap that pops off when you turn on the camera and the lens extends, like my previous camera offered; an on-screen battery status indicator that A.) doesn’t start flashing CONTINUALLY onscreen once you get down to 25% battery power, ceasing only when battery is depleted (a REALLY annoying feature of this camera!), and B.) tells how many minutes or shots remain on the battery charge rather than simply depicting a very gross and generalized full /empty battery symbol that all-too-quickly goes into flash alert mode (see A., preceding!).
28 of 30 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: bones
Location: Clinton Township, Mi
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

very dissatisfied

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2014
Cons: camera does not function well
Purchased camera for a bird watching trip to Costa Rica. One week into trip camera stopped working. Others on trip with same camera had similar problems. This was an expensive trip in which I had no camera for most of it. Fortunately the retailer I purchased it from gave me a full refund.
6 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: Bunny
Location: Tucson az
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

most bang for the buck

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2014
Took my new sx50 to Costa Rica- Caught amazing images in Tortagero. Birds - Toucans and Macaws even at full zoom are clear. Monkeys - white face, spider, howler pics are amazingly clear.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: royboy
Location: Cortez Colo.
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Service

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2014
I was very impressed about a recall I had on the SX50HS ...the rubber around the eye viewer ... received the notice, was instructed as to how to send back to the company ...Canon ...turn around time was just over a week ...and I received a new camera to replace the one I had ... GREAT JOB CANON and Dave ...you have a life time customer...the five star ratings are because of the service ...rating on the camera will come later ...but I bet its as good as the service
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: wiskers
Location: cortland ny
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

help\\\\

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2014
nice pictures, clear and precise. needed help from granddaughter to set it up, more things on this one than the one I have, but it just takes practice, i'm so excited for spring to come. worth the money!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: Waxon
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

zoom, zoom

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2014
I bought this camera to downsize from a SLR. I found that I often went without a camera because I didn't want to "lug" the big camera around. I wanted a full-featured SMALL camera. The 50x zoom was the main reason I chose THIS camera. It didn't disappoint. The 50x zoom is incredible! Sure, this camera has all the bells and whistles that the other point and shoot cameras have, but the zoom capability is so amazing! Nothing else compares.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: Antoine le Bon
Location: Denver, CO
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great Performance, Many Design Flaws

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, rubberized evf surround -- nice!, see review
Cons: Missing features/settings, Difficult to use, low-quality evf, terrible self-timer button location, see review
I like this camera overall. The image quality is excellent in terms of detail, color accuracy, saturation, sharpness, consistency, and depth of field at all aperture settings. I tested 6 other competitive cameras in the super-zoom bridge camera category, and this is the camera I ultimately purchased.
So, end results are very good, and there is a lot to like here. However, the amount of text permitted in this review will not provide room for all the positives, so I am afraid I will have to “focus” on the negatives – issues that I would like to see corrected in the next iteration of this camera. (BTW, Canon – it would be nice if you told prospective reviewers the MAXIMUM number of characters allowed so we don’t have to use guesswork & trial-and-error to find out!)
The absolute MOST annoying design flaw in this camera is that the self-timer button is located on the far right-hand edge of the back of the camera. This is a terrible location for this or any other control button, since almost every time you pick up, pass, or hold the camera to shoot, the heel of your palm presses this button and activates the timer. Often this cannot be corrected with just a single button press, as the timer has a number of elapsed time options and you may have to depress the button numerous times to turn the timer off to commence shooting! One has to learn how to delicately and unnaturally hold the camera to prevent this from occurring, and even then it happens consistently despite one’s best efforts. This flaw drives me out of my mind, and if it were not for the camera’s good performance which has forced me to learn to live with this perpetual frustrating annoyance, this would be a total deal-breaker.
Second major issue: the electronic LCD viewfinder’s resolution at a mere 202k dots is junk compared with competitors, all of which at least more than quadruple this spec! I use an EVF a lot, and it is almost essential if you want to take photos in bright light or shoot extended telephoto shots without camera-shake blur. Moreover, the diopter adjustment wheel is EXTREMELY difficult to operate.
Related to the EVF inferiority is the inconvenient location of the button which alternates the photographer’s view between the EVF and the LCD screen, and its inconvenient operation. You must pull the camera well away from your face to locate and operate it, and since the button is one of many dual-function buttons, you must press it twice quickly to change the views, which slows down composition & shooting. This camera either needs a well-designed automatic EVF-switching sensor, or else the button needs to be relocated - ideally to the left side of the flash unit near the diopter, where it belongs!
The telephoto is amazing, if a bit overkill at 1200 mm equivalent, optical. There is a button on the side of the lens barrel that further locks in the image stabilization at extreme focal lengths, although it is a bit clumsy to use, is difficult to locate by feel, and often jars the camera when one tries to depress it, thus defeating its efficacy entirely! At greater telephoto lengths in dim light the camera does often have to “hunt” for focus, resulting in a lot of noisy lens extension and retraction buzzes and grinds that don't have a pleasing high-quality mechanical sound to them!
There are no in-camera adjustable settings for contrast, sharpness, or noise-reduction, which I initially found unusual since this camera’s competitors (that I tested) all include such adjustment settings. However, and luckily, the default settings and the resulting images in these areas are so good that I don’t miss being able to tweak them.
The owner’s manual is very lengthy, convoluted, and most sections are loaded with cross-references to other pages and sections, making instructions very laborious and confusing to follow as you attempt to flip back and forth between all the cross-references and sub-cross-references. Like all cameras these days, the manual is only available in electronic form, which makes it virtually impossible to use. Fortunately, there are online services which for a reasonable price will produce print copies of the manual and provide fast delivery.
Features I would like to see in addition to a correction of the major complaints mentioned above: a lens cap that pops off when you turn on the camera and the lens extends, like my previous camera offered; an on-screen battery status indicator that A.) doesn’t start flashing CONTINUALLY onscreen once you get down to 25% battery power, ceasing only when battery is depleted (a REALLY annoying feature of this camera!), and B.) tells how many minutes or shots remain on the battery charge rather than simply depicting a very gross and generalized full / empty battery symbol that all-too-quickly goes into flash alert mode (see A., preceding!).
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: divergent
Location: cali
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

great upgrade!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: decent low light
if you are looking for an upgrade from an ordinary point-and-shoot or a phone camera, look no further. photo quality is great with plenty of light. even got some bokeh. amazing moon shots, too. only downsides is its decent low-light performance, action shots and really zoomed in macro.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: Maax
Location: Rathnapura,Sri Lanka
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

My best cam ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
This is the coolest cam I ever used.Brilliant picture quality and super zoom is amazing.There are many cool effects too.So I recommend this to everyone.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: Alanrad
Location: South Africa
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Great companion for my 5dMk3

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: viewfinder
This is an amazing camera. The lens and the IS has given me some brilliant, sharp and impressive shots. This saves me from carrying around my large tele on general street shoots - which I hate.
I still use my 5Dmk3 for the majority of shots - but I get more used to this camera - I find I'm using it more and more.
I wish the viewfinder was a little better - but I am leaning to cope this the electronic image.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: Merky
Location: Denver, CO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Best pictures ever!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 30, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, adds more color
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
This camera is amazing!! Somehow, it has the ability to add even more color that doesn't exist in real life, it's odd but very cool. It's easy to use and produces excellent pics every time. The video is decent too but the camera is the best part. I've always purchased Canon's and will continue to. great buy, even if it is a little pricier than others. Worth the money.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: sundance kid
Location: Texas Dallas
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Point and Shoot

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: more mp
I have owned the Canon sx50 for about 7 months..
I have had so much fun with it..
the ZOOM is just CRAZY and sharp and clear ..
its got jpeg and raw and I like that ..it takes very sharp close up shots .I went from Camera to camera trying to find the Camera I was looking for the Canon sx50 works for me. I would like to have seen this Camera at about 20 magapix...but I guess you cant have everything you want.. unless you fork out lots of money.. but most people don't...
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: ScCm
Location: Prescott, AZ
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

WOW!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 17, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, great zoom
Great price, even better pictures. I love my camera. :) Best gift ever.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: Jackson
Location: Torrance, Calif
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

It's a daunting task!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 11, 2013
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, new excitement for us old guys, the histogram is the map and a good one., i like the color histograms as well
Cons: hard for us old guys
I purchased my SX 50 HS a couple of months ago. I was born too soon and digital has been difficult for me. I have yet to be able to give accurate ratings. I have used the SX 120 IS and SX 150 IS for a couple of years and learning hasn't been easy, BUT I am a good photographer and I can 'will' an image into existence if needed. The SX 50 HS is filled with promise and I am getting the hang of it quickly. I downloaded the PDF instructions and read them about four times before I bought the camera. I have been told that I have a rather 'Catholic' (some of everything) taste and I think that I will grow to love this camera. I need to make some prints on metallic paper of the moon shots I just did. They look really great on the LCD. REALLY GREAT! There is just so much I want to do and I need to learn the controls and modes plus tweaks backwards and forwards. I will have a pocket full of notes for a long time to come. I really wanted to be able to mount a polarizer and now I can. It has been a long time since I have stolen anyone's soul and I look forward to a long afternoon in search of the perfect image while I go through the various modes to find the one best suited to soul stealing. The long, long lens was the feature that sealed the deal. That and HDR which may be a real challenge. I have to make some prints before I can really say what I think I know. That would be that the money spent on the SX 50 HS is money well spent! The image stabilization is like the hand of God at 50X and one second hand held. True, it took one or two to get a real sharp one, but 50X at one second? I have been walking around with one camera or another around my neck for thirty five years and this one may just be the most versatile. Interestingly, they were all Canon cameras and each one had its strong point. The SX 50 HS may well have a lot of strong points. I an counting on it!
16 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: Chris Powershot
Location: Texas
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

worst purchase

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 29, 2013
Cons: Poor image quality, Difficult to use, Heavy/Bulky, Complicated controls/menu, software very poor
I use a camera in my profession, I previous had a Cannon PS5SX which was a good camera too good clear pictures with great color balance easy to use software, and hence my next camara was a ”cannon” also SX50HS, my first disappointment was the software it used the same easy to use software as previous however its now covered up with a fancy front and make many more steps to do what was once easy.
The camera is junk I will be selling it and happy to sell for half price, horrible in balanced colors grainy photos, control are not as easy to use the rotating disk finger keeps slipping off, horrible downgrade and expensive mistake.. I doubt this will be published!
15 of 69 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: Scotty Bob
Location: Ocoee, Fl
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Better Than the Cool Pix P510

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 10, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I purchased the cool pix p510 but find that the low light Af was inadequate and the battery life was sub par, The canon absolutely fulfills both of these requirements. I'm not a pro, I'm not even a novice but this little jewel has got my family and friends oohing and aahing.
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: Picture taker
Location: Western Wisconsin
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

You won't believe your eyes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 20, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
After seeing pictures taken on a birding trip by a friend with this camera, I bought one as soon as we got home.
I took it on vacation with me to the dunes of Michigan and couldn't believe the pictures I got. The zoom is absolutely phenominal. I steadied the camera on a deck railing, not even a tripod and the pictures were perfectly clear even at 100x zoom. I just love this camera.
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site