Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / Other PowerShot Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Other PowerShot or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX50 HS

PowerShot SX50 HS

World¿s first 50x Optical Zoom (24-1200mm) and 24mm Wide-Angle lens (*As of August 21, 2012) 12.1 Megapixel High-Sensitivity CMOS sensor combined with a DIGIC 5 Image Processor creates the Canon HS SYSTEM for improved low-light performance up to ISO 6400 Capture stunning 1080p Full HD video in stereo sound High Speed AF, High-Speed Burst HQ and a bright 2.8-inch Vari-angle LCD
Average Customer Rating:
4.432 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(95 Reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (95 reviews)
5 stars
63
4 stars
20
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
4
81 out of 95(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX50 HS
Review 1 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: jmistudio
Location: Northern New Jersey
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great carry around camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2012
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use, great lens range
This a great all in one carry around camera. I also own the older SX1 and SX40HS, and this camera improves on both.
The SX1 has a 35mm equivalent 24-560mm lens, has great image quality, great video, and shoots RAW files, but the downfall in my view was AA batteries which had a very short useful life (relative to a Lithium Ion battery) and always seemed to die at the wrong moment. There was no battery charge indicator other than an "idiot" light that would flash as the battery died.
Then a few versions later came the SX40HS. Great camera, battery charge indicator, Lithium Ion battery, 35mm equivalent 24-840mm lens, great image quality, great features, great video... but no RAW.
Now we have this little gem the SX50HS which in my view finally completes the picture for the perfect carry around camera with an even longer lens range, battery charge indicator, Lithium Ion battery with remarkable life, great image quality, great video, great features and shoots RAW files!
This camera boasts remarkable image quality from a very small chip. Does it compare to the image quality I get from my 1DS Mark III or 5D Mark III? No. Did I expect it to? No. But for the all the amazing features packed into this camera the bottom line for me is that there are many great images that HAVE been captured because of the portability and range of this camera which might have been missed otherwise, as I don't regularly tote around the 20 - 30 pounds of gear that would be needed to cover this lens range on my full frame DSLRs.
1,324 of 1,338 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: Olbill
Location: Atlanta
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Wow!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, easy to use
This is my favorite camera I've ever owned. I took over 2000 pictures on a lengthy Western USA trip and had very few bad ones. A lot of pictures were made though the car windows. I had a lot of fun taking all kinds of shots with the huge zoom. Pictures of the moon look like they came from NASA.
With the neck strap and the LCD turned to face upwards the camera functions a lot like a twin lens reflex with a waist level viewfinder. It's a great way to get steady shots.
My ONLY complaint is that I have a hard time holding the camera without mistakenly pushing a button. My fix has been to try to keep my thumb in the LCD cavity (I rarely use the EVF).
Review 3 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: KSchey
Location: Chicago, Il
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Do I have favoritess? Yes!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, raw added
Cons: macro still needs some minor tweaking., front command dial needed for the m settings, improvement in low light capability, not wifi enabled
The major improvement in the SX50 are: photo quality, Improved Macro capability, RAW function was added, Zoom range improved. The SX50 replaces the SX40 after 172,000 images/actuation. This camera supplements my EOS 6D.
Review 4 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: swamper
Location: Michigam
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years

Excellent value

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 18, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: slow focusing
I am very well satisfied with my SX50HS, overall quality is excellent. If you realize the few shortcomings you can take pro pics. Battery life is excellent, low light possibilities are great. My biggest complaint is the slow focusing for in flight shots of birds. The camera is fantastic for macro shots using the long focal length (1200mm 35mm equiv>) which focuses at 4.3ft which allows some wonderful macro opportunities at a discreet distance from subject. Having that great magnification is really important although I have experienced very difficult focusing over water at the full extension (1200) even using manual focus. If you are like me and don't wish to carry around huge lenses, the camera is a godsend>
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: mitrob
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Optical zoom exceptional

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 5, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings
The optical zoom is excellent, no panorama however, easy to use video option
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: Coolio
Location: iowa
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very, very good camera.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, perfect
Very good quality. Good photography camera. I would recommend to anybody looking for a quality camera. The price is good considering the camera quality. The nicest camera I've had in a long time. Love, Love, Love. Buy this camera. You won't be disappointed,
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: pal
Location: central Florida
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

great pics

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu
great for distance shots of animals and birds. pictures mostly can be magnified and printed with good results. I take about 6,000 pics on a 3-week vacation and last safari gave me some really nice pictures.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: DBFarm
Location: Archer, FL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

ON/OFF button problems

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, great zoom, easy to handle, lens cap stays on finally
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, battery has to be charged instead of changed to aa, timer button location, power button iffy
Just read the second review on this wonderful camera, and saw where they had the same problem that I have: you press the power button, and it doesn't work the first time. Almost took it back, but like my Cannons so much that I thought I'd stick it out. Another feature is that I somehow keep hitting the timer...it is in a bad place!
The lens cover FINALLY stays put on this camera, a real plus. This is my 3rd PowerShot, & the BEST features are the zoom & quality on AUTO. The focus is great, and that little button on the view-finder puts it in a place that no glasses are needed to take pics.
One bad upgrade: that battery needs to be charged. I had used regular AA batteries on the other two, keeping a set of 4 with me in case of emergencies. This battery pack doesn't allow regular battery use, and I had an emergency where I needed to record something but missed it entirely due to no battery for an hour.
Otherwise, for the cost, this is a GREAT little camera & lets me continue to take high quality amateur pics that are often shown on our local ABC news.
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: bam
Location: San Antonio, TX
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Potential Problem w/SX50 HS

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 22, 2014
Pros: easy to use
Overall, I am extremely, but extremely pleased with this compact digital camera. I upgraded from a G-12 and well, there is just no comparison. One thing which has happened twice now is when I press the on/off power button, nothing happens. Frightening. I opened the battery/card compartment, took out the card and re-inserted it and pressed the power button again and it worked this time. This has happened twice and I wonder if this has come up as an issue. I have now downloaded the instruction booklet and am in the process of reading what it might have to say about sensitivity of the power button. I like this too much to return it for an exchange, i.e., don't want to be without it now.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: birdlover
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Awesome Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 29, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
This little camera is simply awesome. It's light and compact enough to carry in my purse. I have a 5D Mark 11, and a Rebel XT as well. Both are heavier cameras, and frankly I cannot afford to purchase an 800mm lens for birding. I bought this camera expressly to take with me on birding trips.
WOW am I impressed. From my first test shots to now, about 3,000 shots later in two months, I am ecstatic about this camera.
Many fellow birders, friends, and other travelers have asked me about this camera and I've recommended it to them all.
Even on windy days I've managed to get great bird shots thanks to the IS feature. It takes some getting used to when the lens is fully extended, but it's definitely capable of getting non-shaky shots. In fact, the shots that I'm getting are nothing less than unbelievable.
I tried the macro feature and was very unimpressed, but I have the awesome Canon 100mm L macro lens when I want to shoot close ups. Don't really need macro for birding.
The camera is quite rugged as well. I dropped it this weekend - the sky filter shattered, but the camera itself is fine!
Canon makes extremely tough and durable cameras.
When this camera comes out with Wi-Fi, i'll purchase it again.
And again.
I do wish that some of the controls were not under 'menu'. For example, all my shots have been on automatic so far.
Switching to video is extremely easy too. The only thing I don't like about that is with the sound on, you can hear the sound of the lens moving in and out.
Overall, this camera gets an A+++ from me. I am super happy with it.
21 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: christy g
Location: Dallas, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Perfect for a safari

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I bought this camera 1.5 years ago because I was going on an african safari and was impressed by the zoom videos on youtube.
The you tube videos don't do this camera justice. This is the most amazing camera. Everyone on the safari wanted this camera because they were amazed by the quality of the pictures i was able to capture of animals so far away. Took it on a glacier cruise later. Caught my mother packing it in her bag because she loved it as well. She ended up buying her own.
I'm off to Machu Picchu and Easter Island and can't wait to use it again!
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: Russ
Location: Maine / Bonita Springs Fl.
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera at any price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 11, 2014
Pros: worth every dime
Cons: printed user guide not included
I shoot a lot of wildlife esp. birds. Because of the 1200mm zoom and because it is light to carry it has been a dream to use.After hundreds of photos with super results I have never been happier with a product. Because of my experience 2 friends have purchased this camera. I hand hold it and shoot at 1200 mm and a birds eye will be In perfect focus..
19 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: The Critic
Location: Denver, CO
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Good, but with some major reservations

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 28, 2014
Pros: great photos, intelligent auto setting incredibly good, shoots raw, great zoom if a bit overkill, rubber surround around evf!
Cons: horribly placed timer button- read review, junky evf, evf diopter a real pain to use, evf-lcd switch button badly located, battery life indicator vague, lo-batt warning premature..., low battery warning flashes constantly onscreen
I like this camera overall. Image quality is excellent in terms of detail, color accuracy, saturation, sharpness, consistency, and depth of field at all aperture settings. I tested 6 other competitive cameras in the super-zoom bridge camera category, and this is the camera I ultimately purchased.
So, end results are very good, and there is a lot to like here. However, the amount of text permitted in this review will not provide room for all the positives, so I am afraid I will have to “focus” on the negatives – issues that I would like to see corrected in the next iteration of this camera. (BTW, Canon – it would be nice if you told prospective reviewers the MAXIMUM number of characters allowed so we don’t have to use guesswork & trial-and-error to find out!)
The absolute MOST annoying design flaw in this camera is that the self-timer button is located on the far right-hand edge of the back of the camera. This is a terrible location for this or any other control button, since almost every time you pick up, pass, or hold the camera to shoot, the heel of your palm presses this button and activates the timer. Often this cannot be corrected with just a single button press, as the timer has a number of elapsed time options and you may have to depress the button numerous times to turn the timer off to commence shooting! One has to learn how to delicately and unnaturally hold the camera to prevent this from occurring, and even then it happens consistently despite one’s best efforts. This flaw drives me out of my mind, and if it were not for the camera’s good performance which has forced me to learn to live with this perpetual frustrating annoyance, this would be a total deal-breaker.
Second major issue: the electronic LCD viewfinder’s resolution at a mere 202k dots is junk compared with competitors, all of which at least more than quadruple this spec! I use an EVF a lot, and it is almost essential if you want to take photos in bright light or shoot extended telephoto shots without camera-shake blur. Moreover, the diopter adjustment wheel is EXTREMELY difficult to operate.
Related to the EVF inferiority is the inconvenient location of the button which alternates the photographer’s view between the EVF and the LCD screen, and its inconvenient operation. You must pull the camera well away from your face to locate and operate it, and since the button is one of many dual-function buttons, you must press it twice quickly to change the views, which slows down composition & shooting. This camera either needs a well-designed automatic EVF-switching sensor, or else the button needs to be relocated - ideally to the left side of the flash unit near the diopter, where it belongs!
The telephoto is amazing. There is a button on the side of the lens barrel that further locks in the image stabilization at extreme focal lengths, although it is a bit clumsy to use, is difficult to locate by feel, and often jars the camera when one tries to depress it, thus defeating its efficacy entirely! At greater telephoto lengths in dim light the camera does often have to “hunt” for focus, resulting in a lot of noisy lens extension and retraction buzzes and grinds that don't have a pleasing high-quality mechanical sound to them!
There are no in-camera adjustable settings for contrast, sharpness, or noise-reduction, which I initially found unusual since this camera’s competitors (that I tested) all include such adjustment settings. However, and luckily, the default settings and the resulting images in these areas are so good that I don’t miss being able to tweak them.
The owner’s manual is very lengthy, convoluted, and most sections are loaded with cross-references to other pages and sections, making instructions very laborious and confusing to follow as you attempt to flip back and forth between all the cross-references and sub-cross-references. Like all cameras these days, the manual is only available in electronic form, which makes it virtually impossible to use. Fortunately, there are online services which for a reasonable price will produce print copies of the manual and provide fast delivery.
Features I would like to see in addition to a correction of the major complaints mentioned above: a lens cap that pops off when you turn on the camera and the lens extends, like my previous camera offered; an on-screen battery status indicator that A.) doesn’t start flashing CONTINUALLY onscreen once you get down to 25% battery power, ceasing only when battery is depleted (a REALLY annoying feature of this camera!), and B.) tells how many minutes or shots remain on the battery charge rather than simply depicting a very gross and generalized full /empty battery symbol that all-too-quickly goes into flash alert mode (see A., preceding!).
46 of 51 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: bones
Location: Clinton Township, Mi
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

very dissatisfied

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2014
Cons: camera does not function well
Purchased camera for a bird watching trip to Costa Rica. One week into trip camera stopped working. Others on trip with same camera had similar problems. This was an expensive trip in which I had no camera for most of it. Fortunately the retailer I purchased it from gave me a full refund.
10 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: Bunny
Location: Tucson az
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

most bang for the buck

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2014
Took my new sx50 to Costa Rica- Caught amazing images in Tortagero. Birds - Toucans and Macaws even at full zoom are clear. Monkeys - white face, spider, howler pics are amazingly clear.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: royboy
Location: Cortez Colo.
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Service

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2014
I was very impressed about a recall I had on the SX50HS ...the rubber around the eye viewer ... received the notice, was instructed as to how to send back to the company ...Canon ...turn around time was just over a week ...and I received a new camera to replace the one I had ... GREAT JOB CANON and Dave ...you have a life time customer...the five star ratings are because of the service ...rating on the camera will come later ...but I bet its as good as the service
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: wiskers
Location: cortland ny
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

help\\\\

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2014
nice pictures, clear and precise. needed help from granddaughter to set it up, more things on this one than the one I have, but it just takes practice, i'm so excited for spring to come. worth the money!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: Waxon
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

zoom, zoom

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2014
I bought this camera to downsize from a SLR. I found that I often went without a camera because I didn't want to "lug" the big camera around. I wanted a full-featured SMALL camera. The 50x zoom was the main reason I chose THIS camera. It didn't disappoint. The 50x zoom is incredible! Sure, this camera has all the bells and whistles that the other point and shoot cameras have, but the zoom capability is so amazing! Nothing else compares.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: Antoine le Bon
Location: Denver, CO
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great Performance, Many Design Flaws

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, rubberized evf surround -- nice!, see review
Cons: Missing features/settings, Difficult to use, low-quality evf, terrible self-timer button location, see review
I like this camera overall. The image quality is excellent in terms of detail, color accuracy, saturation, sharpness, consistency, and depth of field at all aperture settings. I tested 6 other competitive cameras in the super-zoom bridge camera category, and this is the camera I ultimately purchased.
So, end results are very good, and there is a lot to like here. However, the amount of text permitted in this review will not provide room for all the positives, so I am afraid I will have to “focus” on the negatives – issues that I would like to see corrected in the next iteration of this camera. (BTW, Canon – it would be nice if you told prospective reviewers the MAXIMUM number of characters allowed so we don’t have to use guesswork & trial-and-error to find out!)
The absolute MOST annoying design flaw in this camera is that the self-timer button is located on the far right-hand edge of the back of the camera. This is a terrible location for this or any other control button, since almost every time you pick up, pass, or hold the camera to shoot, the heel of your palm presses this button and activates the timer. Often this cannot be corrected with just a single button press, as the timer has a number of elapsed time options and you may have to depress the button numerous times to turn the timer off to commence shooting! One has to learn how to delicately and unnaturally hold the camera to prevent this from occurring, and even then it happens consistently despite one’s best efforts. This flaw drives me out of my mind, and if it were not for the camera’s good performance which has forced me to learn to live with this perpetual frustrating annoyance, this would be a total deal-breaker.
Second major issue: the electronic LCD viewfinder’s resolution at a mere 202k dots is junk compared with competitors, all of which at least more than quadruple this spec! I use an EVF a lot, and it is almost essential if you want to take photos in bright light or shoot extended telephoto shots without camera-shake blur. Moreover, the diopter adjustment wheel is EXTREMELY difficult to operate.
Related to the EVF inferiority is the inconvenient location of the button which alternates the photographer’s view between the EVF and the LCD screen, and its inconvenient operation. You must pull the camera well away from your face to locate and operate it, and since the button is one of many dual-function buttons, you must press it twice quickly to change the views, which slows down composition & shooting. This camera either needs a well-designed automatic EVF-switching sensor, or else the button needs to be relocated - ideally to the left side of the flash unit near the diopter, where it belongs!
The telephoto is amazing, if a bit overkill at 1200 mm equivalent, optical. There is a button on the side of the lens barrel that further locks in the image stabilization at extreme focal lengths, although it is a bit clumsy to use, is difficult to locate by feel, and often jars the camera when one tries to depress it, thus defeating its efficacy entirely! At greater telephoto lengths in dim light the camera does often have to “hunt” for focus, resulting in a lot of noisy lens extension and retraction buzzes and grinds that don't have a pleasing high-quality mechanical sound to them!
There are no in-camera adjustable settings for contrast, sharpness, or noise-reduction, which I initially found unusual since this camera’s competitors (that I tested) all include such adjustment settings. However, and luckily, the default settings and the resulting images in these areas are so good that I don’t miss being able to tweak them.
The owner’s manual is very lengthy, convoluted, and most sections are loaded with cross-references to other pages and sections, making instructions very laborious and confusing to follow as you attempt to flip back and forth between all the cross-references and sub-cross-references. Like all cameras these days, the manual is only available in electronic form, which makes it virtually impossible to use. Fortunately, there are online services which for a reasonable price will produce print copies of the manual and provide fast delivery.
Features I would like to see in addition to a correction of the major complaints mentioned above: a lens cap that pops off when you turn on the camera and the lens extends, like my previous camera offered; an on-screen battery status indicator that A.) doesn’t start flashing CONTINUALLY onscreen once you get down to 25% battery power, ceasing only when battery is depleted (a REALLY annoying feature of this camera!), and B.) tells how many minutes or shots remain on the battery charge rather than simply depicting a very gross and generalized full / empty battery symbol that all-too-quickly goes into flash alert mode (see A., preceding!).
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: divergent
Location: cali
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

great upgrade!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: decent low light
if you are looking for an upgrade from an ordinary point-and-shoot or a phone camera, look no further. photo quality is great with plenty of light. even got some bokeh. amazing moon shots, too. only downsides is its decent low-light performance, action shots and really zoomed in macro.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site