Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / Other PowerShot Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Other PowerShot or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX50 HS

PowerShot SX50 HS

World¿s first 50x Optical Zoom (24-1200mm) and 24mm Wide-Angle lens (*As of August 21, 2012) 12.1 Megapixel High-Sensitivity CMOS sensor combined with a DIGIC 5 Image Processor creates the Canon HS SYSTEM for improved low-light performance up to ISO 6400 Capture stunning 1080p Full HD video in stereo sound High Speed AF, High-Speed Burst HQ and a bright 2.8-inch Vari-angle LCD
Average Customer Rating:
4.454 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(130 Reviews) 130
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (130 reviews)
5 stars
86
4 stars
28
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
4
82 out of 96(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX50 HS
Review 1 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: jmistudio
Location: Northern New Jersey
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great carry around camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2012
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use, great lens range
This a great all in one carry around camera. I also own the older SX1 and SX40HS, and this camera improves on both.
The SX1 has a 35mm equivalent 24-560mm lens, has great image quality, great video, and shoots RAW files, but the downfall in my view was AA batteries which had a very short useful life (relative to a Lithium Ion battery) and always seemed to die at the wrong moment. There was no battery charge indicator other than an "idiot" light that would flash as the battery died.
Then a few versions later came the SX40HS. Great camera, battery charge indicator, Lithium Ion battery, 35mm equivalent 24-840mm lens, great image quality, great features, great video... but no RAW.
Now we have this little gem the SX50HS which in my view finally completes the picture for the perfect carry around camera with an even longer lens range, battery charge indicator, Lithium Ion battery with remarkable life, great image quality, great video, great features and shoots RAW files!
This camera boasts remarkable image quality from a very small chip. Does it compare to the image quality I get from my 1DS Mark III or 5D Mark III? No. Did I expect it to? No. But for the all the amazing features packed into this camera the bottom line for me is that there are many great images that HAVE been captured because of the portability and range of this camera which might have been missed otherwise, as I don't regularly tote around the 20 - 30 pounds of gear that would be needed to cover this lens range on my full frame DSLRs.
1,501 of 1,516 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: Sober0782
Location: Hersey, Michigan
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera with many Features

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 5, 2015
I was replacing another SLR Camera that I had for a long time and had paid 3x as much for when I bought it. I read a lot of reviews about the SX50 hs camera and compared to other cameras it had very high reviews.
Watched some videos on its performance and features before buying this camera.
Right out of the box it really surprised me with the quality of photographs it takes and transferring images is a breeze directly from the Memory card. loved the heavy feel of the camera to not like a cheap light weight camera. great photos from very close to long zoom.
I Highly recommend this camera for any occasion I think you will be very happy with it.
I am 70 years old bought a lot of things in my life
Review 3 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: Rosebud
Location: Boston, Ma.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love this camera !!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 5, 2015
Photography is a passionate hobby of mine. I have owned Canon cameras for at least 35 years..since my first Canon AE1..I've dealt with carrying around different lenses and filters. This time I wanted a good "all in one " camera. I found it. This camera has an incredible zoom ( a "see the craters on the moon" zoom) and great special effects to play with. The pictures are of excellent quality especially for what is considered a point and shoot camera. I love that it can be either fully automatic or fully manual. It's a nice size and comfortable to hold. I love my SX50 HS.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: purplechk
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

love it

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 11, 2015
I love this camera! It is very easy to use. gets way up close, takes great pics. My friends that have really expensive camera's want to know what I use to get great pictures. Of course it's a Canon!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: Rabbitbrush
Location: Craig, Colorado
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

I love this Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 3, 2015
I am a beginner and the Canon Powershot SX50 was recommended by a professional Photographer I know. I love this camers and I am so please with the pictures I have taken!
Review 6 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: Beginning Birder
Location: Weatherford, TX
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great purchase and value!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 2, 2015
I have been looking for an easy to use camera with a great zoom for documenting my bird sightings. After much researching I decided on the Canon Sx50 HS. It has done exactly what I needed it to do. Pictures are great and it is easy to review photos and to down load photos.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: Mic
Location: Ballantine, MT
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

First bridge camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2015
This little camera has all the functions I could have imagined, plus a bunch of other functions I didn't even know existed. It takes fantastic pictures, up close and far away. I'm just getting started with photography, and this camera has definitely put me on the right road to getting good at it. Thanks Canon.
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: MikeMikeMike
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good focus HORRIBLE Mic, Horrible battery life.

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 12, 2015
I shoot youtube videos of wildlife and the outdoors. The zoom on the camera is great but does have a slight delay. The auto focus feature works sometimes but can be very troubling. The audio on this camera is HORRIBLE. I installed a foam wind screen over the two mic holes to reduce wind noise. If you are wanting an all around camera, buy the t3i or t5i. If you are wanting a camera with not a ton of lenses to change with high zoom, this is a decent camera. Battery will last about 2 hours.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: Joe
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

sx50hs

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2015
Great lens. sharp pictures, quiet smooth shutter. Needs a slightly larger body for easier handling and a remote wireless shutter release.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: Budofthestar
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best in my hands in 70 years

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2015
I have been taking pictures professionally for 69 years in the USA and Europe. I was forced to give up the120 size film in 1975. I had of course used 35mm also and got my first canon in Switzerland in 1957 (a VT Deluxe) I took it back to work in Germany and fell in love with it. No Canon has come out with this marvelous camera SX50HS which does everything a working pro would need. 24-1200 mm. Zoom lens (Sharp as a tack) . Shoots both RAW and Jpg.. Built in filters,and,a viewfinder and viewing Screen, ISO speeds up to 6400. All in a package no bigger then a old rangefinder camera.
Now that may be the only problem I can see with the camera. It is so small and has so many buttons to push that it is very easy to push them by accident, but what else can you do with a camera with so many features?
When combined with the right software I don't see anything beating it.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: jazzsky
Location: New Hampshire
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great little Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 13, 2015
Got this camera to replace my SX10is. This camera works great and takes excellent pictures. The zoom extends the reach of my Canon 3ti with a 300mm zoom on the end. This camera meets and exceeds my needs as a backup camera to have on hand, for those really distant shots.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: Kathy
Location: Southern NH
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

What a gift!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2015
Received this wonderful gift with every attachment you can imagine for Christmas. Have used it a limited number of times as I go thru the manual and try different things.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: Princecraft
Location: Buffalo Grove,IL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent zoom range

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2015
Basically purchased the camera for taking landscape and nature photos. Have used the camera for about a month and it has exceeded all my expectations. I have taken photos of birds and wildlife in my back yard and I must say the pictures I took with the zoom lens were outstanding. The camera is easy to use and the zoom range is excellent. The camera is well made and battery life is very good.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: 100sofpictures
Location: Florence, CO
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2015
Love the SX50HS camera. It's even better than the SX40 and I didn't think that was possible. I own 4 SX cameras and have been pleased with all of them. I wore the first one out and use the other 3 all the time. Best camera's I've owned and I've owned several others.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: BW
Location: Franklin,NC
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Still Learning

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2015
I am still learning how to use the SX50. It goes without saying that the 50x zoom is amazing, but there are so many things this camera can do.
Even though it has been out for a couple of years, it still stacks up well against other superzoom cameras.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: Joe L
Location: South east PAA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great value

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2015
This camera has a ton of features and from what I've seen so far, they all work as advertised - so many features that I can't remember them all. I wish the manual was a hard copy, not just a .pdf Also, I wish it came with a USB cable and a memory card. Quality of photos look great so far. I also wish the panoramic photos would self stitch like other cameras and my iPhone.
Review 17 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: Letterlady
Location: Bakersfield, VT, USA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great Little Camera!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2015
I love this camera! Has everything I need and is easy to bring along. I looked at a SLR and decided I didn't need all the bells and whistles. I mostly take pictures of family and nature shots and this camera has all I need for great candid shots and outdoor photography!
I just wish they would send a written manual that is a bit larger and easier to read. I had to call and request one, and it is difficult to read. That shouldn't be hard to remedy, and I think it would make a lot of Canon buyers happy!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: Bob
Location: DeLand, Florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Exceeded My High Expectations

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2015
I bought the SX50 as an upgrade to my SX30 despite having no real issues with the SX30. Like to take bird photos and the large zoom was my main desire. The SX50 takes crystal clear photos even out to 200x zoom while being hand held. Noticeably superior to SX30. Minor rearranged placement of control buttons was a plus.
Review 19 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: Oakland211
Location: Oakland, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Outstanding all-around camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2015
I have a couple of mirrorless cameras and a variety of lenses. And even other Point & Shoot compact cameras. But I still use the SX50 on lots of occasions.
My main uses are for wildlife. I could use a very long lens on my mirrorless (and I have a 600mm equivalent), but to get max quality you'd spend thousands. I find the SX50 to be a great compromise when I need a very long zoom, and of course it's far easier to use, less weight, and is cheaper than even the budget mirrored superzoom telephotos.
Plus the SX50 has many of the manual controls I'm used to on more expensive cameras, a viewfinder (essential for outside work, but not as good as you'd find on an EOS eg), and a nice articulated screen, handy for macros.
Capture time with RAWs rather lags, but is expected with a compact camera. But video is good, and autofocus decent. Prefocus helps. Rapid fire shooting for bracketing is also slow, but acceptable once you account for it.
It has good battery performance, and the controls are easy to use. Zoom is occasionally a bit choppy, more so than manual on a DSLR, but the motorized feature to zoom out to frame and then back in is very handy at long focal lengths.
All in all a great travel and outdoor enthusiast's camera.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SX50 HS
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Chicago
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year

good point and shoot with extras

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2015
I wanted more than a simple point and shoot for vacation pictures, Also zoom was impoartant.. I did not want a bulky multi lens camera.. This camera fit the bill nicely. Also, the view finder is great for shots in the sun when you can't see the lcd screen very well. I just got the camera but it is easy to use for amateurs like myself, with advanced features available to learn with.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site