Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Professional Imaging Products Reviews / Cameras & Camcorders Reviews / Cinema EOS Cameras Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Cinema EOS Cameras or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EOS C100

EOS C100

EF-mount camera compatible with existing Canon EF and EF-S lenses Super 35mm Canon CMOS Sensor and DIGIC DV III Image Processor Amazing low-light performance Compact and ergonomic design meet a wide variety of application needs
Average Customer Rating:
3.889 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 out of 9(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EOS C100
Review 1 for EOS C100
Nickname: SPG
Location: Out shooting.
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

The negatives are easily overcome

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2014
Pros: image quality, ergonomics
Cons: nothing that can't be overcome.
You can read all about the features in the other reviews. This is just a comment on the solutions for the three gripes that everyone complains about.
1. Slow motion. Switch the camera to 60i or 50i and then with two clicks in your edit suite you have slow motion! This method looks better IMO than the 720 60p slowmo.
2. The EVF. Instead of using the EVF you can get a loupe made for the LCD screen from LCDVF (the BM model fits) or Zacuto. Works great.
3. Codec. I haven't had any issues with the AVCHD codec, but if you really want to abuse the image in grading then you can use a Ninja or Blade external recorder and get ProRes 422 out of camera.
Like everyone who wants it all without having to pay for it, I wish we didn't need to go to other steps or workarounds, but for the price of this camera these are hardly deal breakers. The image and ergonomics make up for them easily.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EOS C100
Nickname: Jack
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

great upgrade choice from dslr

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2014
Pros: image quality, focus peaking, waveforms, canon log, easy to use
Cons: no slow motion, slow motion? no..., why no slo-mo? who knows!, where is the slow motion???
4k isn't here yet. 99% of the jobs I do don't require it. This camera has a great image (upgradable to 4:2:2 with atomos ninja 2), built in ND filters, focus peaking, waveforms, wonderful sharpness, canon log, etc. In short - it is a camcorder. Filmmakers coming from DSLR's, it is so worth the upgrade.
Except..... where the heck is the slow motion?!? We all know that you can do it with firmware, Canon. Step up your game. That is my only low rating.... oh, and the viewfinder is complete rubbish.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EOS C100
Nickname: Nikki123

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2014
I like this camera. Very easy to handle. Finally can exchange lenses.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EOS C100
Nickname: PixelBokeh
Location: Seattle, WA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Solid Performer - Good Ergonomics

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2013
This is our main camera for doing commercial projects for web. The ergonomics compared to a DSLR's really make it stand out. I've used everything from the older Canon XL1s line upward, and this camera truly has a great layout.
The audio capabilities of this camera are great as well. You soon realize how nice it is to be able to plug an XLR straight into a camera from a LAV and set levels without having to worry about syncing later. (Something we never had the luxury of on our 5D III.)
We also use it with an Atmos Ninja 2 to get higher bit rates when needed. They pair well and we've not any issue with the or any other external monitor/recorder.
Initially we had some concern on recording to SD vs. our normal CF, but we've not had any issues with this.
Yes, there are some features we hope Canon sees sense in adding in the future (everyone knows it should have 60P on it) but Canon's been good as of late to get the updates out there.
The build is very solid as well. No issues with the handle either on the side or the one on top.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EOS C100
Nickname: kinoeye
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Nice image, horrible viewfinder

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 23, 2013
Pros: excellent resolution, light and compact, nice build quality
Cons: toy viewfinder, no hdsdi, no 60p or high speed, no waveform in viewfinder
I bought this camera for hand held verite work. I loved the compact form factor and light weight. The image is very sharp out of the oversampling chip. Unfortunately, it's impossible to judge focus on the postage sized viewfinder so I can't use the camera the way that I intended to when I bought it. What's particularly frustrating is that the viewfinder that Canon already had on the C300 was perfectly fine. I can't imagine what it must have cost in R&D to design an inferior part, rather than just using the existing ones. I purchased a 2nd party viewfinder which goes over the LCD. Now I can see but the camera is no longer comfortable to hand hold for long periods and the thing swivels in the middle of a shot. Lack of 60P is also an unnecessary hassle. I feel that instead of trying to make this camera as good as possible, Canon was focused on making sure it was worse than the C300.
25 of 32 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EOS C100
Nickname: Anonymous

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 16, 2013
Everything you love about DSLR's without the things you hate about them.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EOS C100
Nickname: Matt
Location: San Fransisco, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Almost Perfect. Almost

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2013
Pros: the iq audio preamps and ergonomics are amazing!, the built in ir hot mirror is a nice touch with th, the hdmi's 8-bit 4:2:2 signal that is on on par wi, ready out of the box for rng videography, the ability to for dual recording is a plus
Cons: the lack of waveform in the stamp sized evf is fru, the inability to see both the waveform and audio l, no clip duration on a camcorder aimed for wedding, this is a canons cinema camera line-up why is it
I got this because I do a lot of Run and Gun videography with natural light. I wouldn't want to be using any other camera in a dimly lit bar for a concert because of the great lowlight capabilies of this camera.
Deciding between a 5D MK III and this? Well the built in NDs are a huge help when moving from shade to interior to exterior within a matter of seconds. The oversampled image (from the same 4k sensor of the C500) is extremely crisp and I believe easily outperforms the 5D MK III.
Not to mention the handle's audio preamp is a lot cleaner then any Juicelinked, DR60D, H4n, setup I have every used. But for the price and lack of a lot of features my conclusion is:
Only get this camera for RnG/Corporate/Event videography and maybe documentary filmmaking. If you are doing narrative filmmaking or broadcast I wouldn't recommend this.
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EOS C100
Nickname: Rio de Janeiro
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

missing plug-in

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 29, 2013
Pros: good image
Cons: codec
Good image and delivers what it promises, but the codec causes a difficulty for publishers. We lack a plug-in for the c100, just as we have for the 5D Mark 3 to be used directly on the screen of the log and transfer.
Missing Slow
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EOS C100
Nickname: Producer/Shooter
Location: Asheville, NC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Too Expensive for feature set

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 20, 2013
Pros: uses dslr lenses, xlr audio, nd filters, timecode, great in low light
Cons: poor viewfinder, lcd screen placement, no 60 fps, clip counter reset, no ability to custom name clips or camera
I like the XLR audio and ND. The footage looks great.
The viewfinder is a joke. The placement and mounting of the LCD limits its usefulness. No built in ref mic on the body.
Every time you put in a fresh media card, the clip counter resets. Perfect if you want to run the risk of overwriting clips from other media cards when managing the media from a day's shoot. My 60D doesn't even do that.
Overall, a good camera but expensive for the limited feature set. IMHO
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site