Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot G Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot G Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot G15

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot G15

Newly developed 5x Optical Zoom (28mm-140mm) and bright f1.8(W) - f/2.8(T) lens 12.1 Megapixel High-Sensitivity CMOS sensor combined with Canon's powerful DIGIC 5 1080p Full HD video in stereo sound High Speed AF greatly improves focus speed and High-Speed Burst HQ
Average Customer Rating:
4.618 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
29 out of 34(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot G15
Review 1 for PowerShot G15
Nickname: jdh
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends

Best Item We Bought for New Baby!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I am an okay photographer and needed a camera that would take amazing pictures without me having to do any real work. I spoke to two photographer friends and they both recommended the Canon G15. I have taken beautiful pictures of my baby and am so thrilled I bought this camera. The camera also has good battery life and I've found it to be sturdy. I've recommended this to many friends and every purchaser is happy.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot G15
Nickname: Oliver Jo Jo
Location: Anaheim, California
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

The best point and shoot ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 7, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I'm crazy Canon guy and using Rebel T5i and point and shoot ELPH 330 HS. Can't stop keep buying Canon and this time I chose Powershot G 15. Amazing and the best point and shoot camera ever with DSLR quality. Awesome at low light. Great HD video. 100% recommended! I love Canon! ....Thank you!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot G15
Nickname: DB
Location: Cary NC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

The perfect in between

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 7, 2014
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: none
After much research of advanced point and shoot digital camera options I narrowed it down to two. The G15 being one. I have a DSLR and also a basic point and shoot camera, but I was looking for something in between. The DSLR did a fine job with pictures on a previous vacation trip, but it was rather bulky to travel with as others have noted. So my quest to find an advanced point and shoot prior to a recent vacation to Ireland was on.
I visited my local camera store and after explaining what I was looking for they asked if I would be interested in a used G15. I said sure having owned Canon 35mm cameras years ago and always liked Canon but had not owned a Canon since the move to digital.
The G15 was a favorite of the camera store and they took the time to show me the G15 features and explain some added functions of an advanced point and shoot camera.
I made the purchase and took the G15 on vacation and I could not be more pleased with it. It was the perfect size for traveling via airports/planes and hopping on and off our tour motor coach. The picture quality is excellent and I was pleased with the range of options in the various shooting modes. I also found I did use the view finder. In some instances of bright sunlight it did help in framing the picture as opposed to the LCD screen. I also found the battery life was about as advertised.
In short the G15 was an excellent purchase and I suspect I will be using it more and more.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot G15
Nickname: Photobug
Location: California
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Gained Good Features; Lost a Few

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2014
Pros: lens is f1.8 at low focal length, better organized menus system, nice black and white shots
Cons: no swivel back, pop-up flash, no raw recording option in b&w
I am a previous owner of G11. In comparison, the G15 has a pop-up flash and no swivel back. It has a new menu system that is better organized than the G11. You have horizon indicator. Sensor has 2 more megapixels. The aperture has 6 leaves. The lens at wide angle is f1.8 and f2.8 at telephoto. The latter was on my improvement wish list. The pop-up flash has delicate plastic linkages. I preferred the fixed flash on the G11/G12. Now it is on my wish list. So is swivel back. The exposure is accurate. B&W shots are excellent but you don't get raw recording with b&w. That's on my wish list too.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot G15
Nickname: Four-O
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great take-everywhere camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I purchased this camera a couple weeks before Christmas and have used it almost everyday since. Images are outstanding, particularly the low-light images I took at various candlelight services...stunning, and that's my wife's words, not just mine. Has an abundance of features including a fast lens, f1.8 at 28mm and only f2.8 even at 140mm! Love setting my G15 on a tripod and using the built-in ND filter for images of moving water. Still love and have my DSLR, but my G15 now goes everywhere with me.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot G15
Nickname: Cheryl
Location: Newberg, Or
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I bought this camera to take on a trip to Niagara Falls, NY City, DC & Virginia because I did not want to take my DSLS. It is compact enough that I could carry in purse, pocket etc. I got wonderful pics of the falls, excellent night pics in NY, statue of Liberty, monuments in DC. I bought the adaptor so I could use a polarizer. You need to watch the back of the screen when turning the polarizer, it will not show any change when looking through the view finder. When using the view finder, you will see some of the adaptor but will not affect taking a pic. I wish it had the small manual like my DSLR has because I do like to take it along. I requested one but was the 8x11 size still helpful though. Pictures are very sharp & clear, battery life pretty good 200-250 pics which included looking at them on the screen, menu easy to use, love having the compensation dial on the top easy to make adjustments, don't miss the rotating screen on the back, never used it on my old powershot. Hardly use the view finder, good viewing screen on the back.
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot G15
Nickname: Carlos
Location: Florida
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Do not upgrade from a G12

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 8, 2013
Pros: Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Missing features/settings, Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance
I had a G12 and it took stunning underwater photos. I decided to "upgrade" to a G15. Huge mistake. Nothing but problems with this camera. Takes way to long to focus and images are no where near as clear and as sharp as the G12. I would give this camera back to Canon in a second to have my G12 back.
13 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot G15
Nickname: okiedokie
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 4, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I had purchase the SX 150 in September of 2012 and was disappointed with it's performance. Everything about it was sub par and I was considering going back to using my A570is when I decided to purchase the G15 in April of 2013. After using the G15 now for 6 months, I can give it a great review. Definitely worth the money. Faster continuous shooting, quicker focus, and f 1.8 lens and long battery life. This camera performance should not be compared to a DSLR performance because it's not one. But with its many shooting modes, quick recharge on the flash and compact size, to me, makes it worth every penny. I love being able to take 8 to 10 continuous shots and then pick out the best one of the shoot. I'm able to get pictures I would normally miss with the SX15's slower continuous mode. And no more carrying around an 8 pack of AA batteries because of how fast the SX15 would used them up. Longer battery life is a huge plus.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot G15
Nickname: Shark
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

AWESOME!!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 3, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I bought the G9 in 2007. It still works. But, dust got into the lens. After 6 years and about 100,000 pictures I think that is reasonable. The camera was a tank.
I also own the T3i with multiple lenses. I love the T3i but it is not as easy to carry around as the G series.
Decided to buy the G15. Well worth the investment. I am WOWED by the improvements. Awesome pictures. Love the faster lens. Love the higher ISO. I have had this camera less than a month and I have already shot a few thousand pictures. I can't put it down. I take it with me everywhere. The battery lasted through 700 pictures on the first charge. Great photos during daytime and nightime. Love how easy the flash is to turn on. That is much improved. My only wish is that I could change the TV and AV while in the "P" setting the way they had it in the G9. Other than that, I have no complaints. Very happy with this purchase. I won't wait another 6 years to upgrade.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot G15
Nickname: G15 user
Location: Denver
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great point and shoot

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: viewfinder
Pros - Build quality is excellent. Menus are very intuitive, didn't need the instructions to find anything. Camera is very solid and doesn't feel like most point and shoots. Image quality is great for a P&S. Focus is very fast and accurate. Video quality is outstanding, rivals many dedicated video cameras.
Cons - Viewfinder is pathetic. It has no exposure info, poor clarity, the only disappointment on an otherwise fine camera.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot G15
Nickname: Tala

disappointed

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 14, 2013
Pros: good battery life, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
I took about 160 indoor photos with this camera to take shots of our newborn baby , baby's stuff and gifts , on LCD screen the pictures look bright but when I transfer them to computer they look dark and dull , I didn't like them , some pictures look like if it was taken by iphone camera . Some details were unclear or grainy when I zoom in the picture. I was expected something better when I bought this camera.
3 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot G15
Nickname: ztmcam
Location: Minnesota
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Serious G15 bugs

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 24, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Poor image quality, Difficult to use
I bought this camera about a month before I went on a vacation. I tried it out on a variety of everyday situations, and it seemed to work reasonably well, although the viewfinder turned out to be even more worthless then mentioned in other reviews. The wide angle was less wide than my previous camera, but I thought it would be OK for most pictures. It wasn't until I started using it on my trip that I discovered that this camera has very serious flaws which are especially evident at long distance shots. When shooting at maximum wide angle, the LCD shows a wider field of view than the camera can actually photograph. Everything looks good on the LCD up to pressing the shutter button, but when the display comes up afterward, the result is cropped picture about 5-10% smaller on the LCD screen (and on the memory card) than was shown in the preview. If you try to take a near maximum width picture of a wide building, the sides get cut off. If you notice the cropping when the two second display comes up, in theory you can back up and take an overly large picture, but I found in many city situations the combination of the limited wide angle capability and this cropping made taking the picture of a moderately wide building or similar subject impossible. There was an even worse problem, however. Every so often I would take a carefully composed photo, and the the result would the a picture skewed up or down by about 20%, from what was shown in the viewfinder when I clicked the shutter. It turns out that you can carefully click the shutter, wait for the screen to go dark and the shutter sounds to complete, but apparently the camera has still not captured the image. I found I had to wait and hold the camera steady for a couple of seconds or so after the shutter click to make sure the picture registered properly. To be really safe, you need to wait for the preview to come up and look at it carefully. Needless to say these problems are a disaster if you are taking any sort of action scene. I've never had this sort of problem with any other digital camera. Hopefully this can be fixed with a firmware upgrade.
24 of 32 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot G15
Nickname: Lorenzo
Location: Verona, ITALY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Great satisfaction from italy !

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: viewfinder could be better
This camera is an extension of my arm, great for street photography, always in my pocket.
Macro is great and bokeh very good.
As others have said: rarely carry my DSLR anymore!
Now at a lower price in Europe, so much so that I'm planning to buying another one.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot G15
Nickname: Tamandal1205
Location: Brooksville, Florida
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Amazing camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, durable, easy to use, macro is awesome!
Cons: limited zoom?
I bought this camera as a vacation replacement for a full size DSLR when I wanted something small, yet functional, to lug around a theme park, for example. This camera is amazing. The fast lens sold me on the camera and it doesn't disappoint. I also have a speedlight 270EX II which I rarely need to use. I love the 1.8 - 2.8 speed.
Quality is amazing and performance is wonderful. I don't have small kids, anymore, so the slightly reduced focus speed doesn't bother me in the least. It focuses faster than you might expect for a point/shoot.
The most surprising feature has been the macro capabilities....WOW, you can shoot wide open at 1cm from the lens. Close up shots are fun and very cool!
I couldn't be happier and rarely carry my DSLR anymore. Thank you Canon!
29 of 30 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot G15
Nickname: Happy Canon User
Location: Englewood, FL
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Canon User Forever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, shoots raw footage
I purchased this camera to use on my dive trips--underwater and because is shoots RAW footage. Although I have had the camera for a few months now, I just used it on a trip to St. Kitts and Saba, WOW!!!! What a great outcome. I just finished my video and people say it is the best ever. Thank you Canon. The construction and quality is superior to my previous cameras. I love that it has a neck strap for land rather than a wrist strap. It is slightly heavier than my other pocket cameras, but the quality makes up for it. The G15 also has an optical viewfinder which is important to me when outside. There is a large screen in the back and they provide screen protectors. You don't have to have the camera on to review the photos & videos. For me, Canon has put all good qualities in one small package. Thank you, Canon. I will be using your products from now on.
18 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot G15
Nickname: Tatiana
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome Choice

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 9, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, does blurred background
I was looking for the compact camera to take to my annual European trip. This sounded like a good choice, I generally use Canon, it's small, not too expensive and I like auto shutting lenses.
However, this camera somehow can do amazing close-ups with blurring the background. This makes the shots look like pros. The other features: black and white mode, vivid colours mode, etc are awesome too...
Fantastic product that exceeded my expectations.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot G15
Nickname: gjclap
Location: Iowa
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Point & Shoot

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 7, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Bought this before we went on our last cruise in May 2013 to replace a Canon S5IS. This is the best point & shoot camera on the market. Very easy to use including manual setting were a breeze. Great low light capability and excellent video. I also bought a underwater housing and both performed without flaw. I also have a DSLR but ended up using the G15 much more due to smaller and lighter to carry. You will not be disappointed if you buy this camera.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot G15
Nickname: BillBQ
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Recent Purchase: Canon G15

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 20, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, high performance for low cost
A few weeks ago when visiting NYC, I went to the B & H Camera Store, stopping at the Canon kiosk on the 2nd floor. While I'd researched the Canon Powershot G15 as well as competitor cameras online, I wanted, as a longtime Canon user, to experience a demonstration with Canon first. After doing so, I bought a G15, and have used it extensively since then.
Previously, for the past 4 or 5 years, my camera of choice was the Canon Powershot G10. It was a real workhorse for fine art photography, street and tabletop photography, as well as for photo assignments for a local weekly newspaper. It's versatility was its best feature and I could take it anywhere. But, after using the new G15 for the past few weeks, I noticed significantly improved image quality to go along with its versatility.
Compared to the G10, whose exposure settings range from -2 to +2, the G15 settings range from -3 to +3. As someone who needs and shoots Macro 60% of the time, I found that the Macro setting on the G15 offered better resolution and a greater sense of detail than the G10, including other brands I'd tried. Macro focusing using the G15 is now easier and more accurate, producing a significant decrease in unfocused or blurry close-up results. But, the real surprise, and probably the most useful feature of the G15 for me is its automatic image stabilization setting which, of course, influences all the photos one will take with the camera.
To cite an extreme example that occurred when visiting the American Museum of Natural History last week, I took photos of a "Huasteca" stone sculpture from Mexico, a subject I'd taken pictures of in the past. Because of the chronically low-light situation in the Museum, I can't recall any of my previous pictures of that particular sculpture ever being usable due to camera noise, shake or blur. However, when using the new G15, the results were entirely different. Dubious about taking any photos of that and other sculptures under those conditions - the ceiling light above the "Huasteca" sculpture was burned out and the ambient light very poor - I reluctantly set the exposure to show just enough detail, then took several hand-held pictures expecting the same results as in the past. When I imported those and other low-light photos into my computer, I was amazed at the startling results. The pictures were not only correctly exposed but there was no sign of shake or blur and I didn't notice any noise either! That was the litmus test that I'd made the right decision by buying the G15.
Another bonus provided by the great improvement in the image stabilization setting, is that moving objects such as active grandchildren can now be photographed with much less "blur" than before - a considerable accomplishment.
However, I have two caveats: like the G10, the G15 has problems accurately reproducing various hues of Red and Orange, especially when shooting roses, for example. A second concern of mine is the megapixel count of 12.1 as opposed to 14.7 on the G10, one of the reasons I held out so long buying a new camera. I'm hoping to see a 16-18 megapixel camera from Canon in the not too distant future, making Canon more competitive with other brands with higher megapixel counts combined with the appropriate sensors. Other than that, the G15 is still a remarkably versatile camera that produces outstanding, high quality images that can be comfortably enlarged to 16" X 20". And with a higher megapixel count in the near future, the possibility of even bigger enlargements will be possible, something that bodes well for my fine art work. I like small cameras and big photos.
Since 9/11, I need to carry a camera at all times, and as much as the G10 was a durable tool for so long, I'm extremely pleased at the higher quality photos I've gotten so far from the G15. Had I read a user's review like mine a few months after the G15 was introduced, I would've bought one sooner.
I highly recommend the Canon G15.
75 of 77 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot G15
Nickname: kisscycles
Location: Dearborn
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent but fragile

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, fixed screen
Cons: Flimsy Construction, body finish
I have used most of the 'G' range, exception the G5, and my favorite the G10. I love the fixed screen - its slim robust and does not require opening and closing to use the camera. The image results outstanding - and I have compared to 4/3rds cameras and its even better that my G1x. BUT the body finish of the G15 is fragile and easily damaged, mine chipped in no time and made a nice camera look very second hand after a couple of outings. So I invite Canon to comment and return the G15 finish to the robust tough finish of the G10/11/12
33 of 34 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot G15
Nickname: Canon Dude
Location: Albuquerque
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Nice Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 14, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, durable, easy to use, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD
Cons: the aperture only goes down to f8.0. no f16 and n
Nice Camera! Well built. NOTE: The aperture only goes down to f8.0. No f16 and no f22.
6 of 12 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site