Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot S Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot S Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot S110

PowerShot S110

Built-in Wi-Fi 5x Optical Zoom with 24mm Wide-Angle Lens with f/2.0 12.1 Megapixel High-Sensitivity CMOS sensor with DIGIC 5 Image Processor 3.0-inch capacitive touch panel PureColor System LCD
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
6 out of 8(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot S110
Review 1 for PowerShot S110
Nickname: On the go
Location: Portland , ME
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years

So happy then so sad!!!!!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 21, 2014
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: short life
I loved this camera. I used all the features. I probably convinced others to buy this camera because of the way I promoted it and believed in it. I traveled with it to Italy, Peru, Puerto Rico and all over the USA and took beautiful photographs. I am a former black and white film photographer who had a hard time switching to digital and had an even harder time switching from a slr to a point and shoot but this camera made me a believer in the capability of both. I had owned the canon powershot s110 camera for 1year and 3 months when it just stopped working (on my sister's wedding day ). I own about 12 cameras and this one was my "go to" for everyday life and travel. It took such wonderful shots for its size. The warranty ends at one year so I am just out of luck and so disappointed. The camera will not turn on, that's it. There was no trauma or damage, no scratches anywhere, it appears to be in mint condition. It just stopped working.
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot S110
Nickname: N F
Location: King of Prussia, PA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

A great upgrade to the S100

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, wifi connectivity is extremely useful!!
Cons: tiny on/off button
I'm not going to touch much on the quality of the photos/videos this camera takes because it's simply beautiful. I was even able to capture a decent photo of Aurora Borealis. So here are some other highlights
I owned the S100 for a while but lost it while I was traveling so replaced it with this S110. The one major complaint I had with the S100 was that it had a very slow response time when using flash. So slow that when I would ask strangers to take a photo for me, I'd have to explain to them each time that they need to hold the shutter down for a while (on average 3~5 seconds). With the S110, however, it's significantly faster. It works like how it should (on average <1~2 seconds).
It also takes better pictures under low light conditions (without flash). Even when capturing against the sun in the background, you can still clearly see the person's face (where normally it would be too dark).
Wifi Capability - The wifi capability is SO useful. I don't even care that they took off the GPS geotag that they had in the S100 (because it didn't even work that well to begin with). The built in wifi doesn't mean it connects to a wifi hotspot. It BECOMES the wifi hotspot for your devices (phone, tablet, laptop, etc) to connect to. It allows you to use your phone's GPS to geotag each pictures taken by the camera. The best feature about this that I absolutely LOVE, is that it lets me transfer my camera photos directly onto my device through this wifi connection (very fast, too). This makes photo sharing SO much easier. For example, I can take a photo of a waterfall with my camera, then transfer it onto my phone, then upload it or email it to someone right ON THE SPOT, while I'm still standing in front of the waterfall (as long as I have phone reception).
Underwater Housing compatibility - I have an underwater housing for the S100 (Canon WP-DC43). I did not want to purchase a new one for the S110 because they cost almost as much as a brand new S110 on Amazon. Great news is that the underwater housing for the S100 works just fine! The only thing is, the power on/off button does not align. All of the other buttons work fine. You can get around the power button issue by pressing the photo review button to turn on the camera and pressing the shutter button to take photos, and make sure to adjust the automatic shut off time (not to waste too much battery) to let it turn off on its own.
I love this camera <3
I think one complaint I might have though, is the power on/off button. Why the heck did they shrink it so small? It makes it difficult to turn it on/off when wearing gloves. Oh well it's still manageable.
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot S110
Nickname: lechat
Location: New York
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

do not buy this camera

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2014
Cons: does not work in cold weather
This camera does not work in cold weather. I exchanged the first one thinking the camera was defective. Same problem with this one.
12 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot S110
Nickname: Euastace 2
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

A Great Point & Shoot for DSLR Users

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, excellent exposure control
This review is from the perspective of a long time DSLR user. My regular camera is a DSLR with the battery grip and several lenses. I have been looking for an easily portable camera to carry when I don’t need or want the heavy gear. My goal was to reproduce the functions of the DSLR in a small package. This review looks at my five most important DSLR functions and explains how they are reproduced in the S110.
Shooting in Camera Raw
I always shoot my DSLR in RAW mode and custom crop and process every image. It sounds like a pain, but thanks to automated features in programs like Photoshop and Photoshop Elements, it isn’t a big deal and the results are worth it. If this is new for you, the difference between capturing a picture in JPEG and RAW is in the ability to further manipulate the images later. For example, assume you have set your camera to use: 1) Auto White Balance, 2) No Exposure Compensation, 3) Medium Sharpening, and 4) produce the image in JPEG format. The camera takes the picture, applies your settings and records it as a JPEG file. If you shoot the same picture in RAW with the same settings, the camera notes your settings and may apply them to the thumbnail that it shows you, but what you download from the camera is the data collected from the sensor without the settings applied. This is why pictures from a cheap point-and-shoot (P&S) camera may look better out of the camera than pictures from a DSLR or advanced P&S. But, the trouble comes when your JPEG settings don’t give you what you expected. Suppose you get the pictures on your computer and they have a green cast from the lighting, they are under-exposed and under-sharpened. If you shot them in JPEG, you may be out of luck without doing extensive fiddling. If you shot them in RAW, you use your processing software’s RAW converter and change the settings to what they should have been to give you the shot you wanted. Basically, you adjust RAW images on your computer like your camera produces JPEG images in the camera. The computer gives you more processing power, more sophisticated processing software, and the ability to change the settings until you get the image you want. Combine this with the fact that JPEG compression will hurt image quality and RAW images come out of the camera uncompressed and you can see why shooting in RAW mode is more work, but can provide a much better outcome. The primary reason for selecting any of the cameras in this class of advanced point-and-shoots is the ability to record images in RAW format. If you plan to leave the camera in JPEG mode, you can save yourself some money, get a good camera, and get very nice pictures by choosing a different camera that takes only JPEGs.
Front Control Ring
You can assign 8 preprogramed functions to the front ring. I use the control ring to change the lens zoom settings. The focal length changes in fixed steps of the standard prime lenses from 24mm to 120mm. I find the control ring works much faster than trying to frame with the zoom lever on the top of the camera. After using a range finder and SLR cameras for years, it is natural to have this control on the front of the camera and I love the ability to program it with the push of a button. I have been surprised by how this one feature simplifies shooting with the S110.
Display Information
I don’t know if I will ever get used to framing on the screen of a P&S. I prefer the “real” optical viewfinder of a SLR. But, none of the cameras in this class have an optical viewfinder, to get that feature you will pay another $100 and get a larger camera. The S110’s display gives me all of the information I get when using my DSLR and more. When framing the shot, I see the battery level, shooting mode (e.g. RAW), the exposures remaining on my SD card, the length of video I could shoot, the flash setting, horizontal level, exposure compensation, f-stop, and ISO. When I press the shutter button, the display clears at the top and then shows me the information on that shot along the bottom of the display: exposure meter mode, horizontal level, f stop (in aperture priority), exposure compensation, and ISO setting.
Aperture Priority Mode
Cameras in this class will allow you to choose Aperture, Shutter, and Manual mode in addition to a bazillion scene settings. Like my DSLR, I keep the S110 in aperture priority nearly all the time and use the back thumb wheel to change the aperture. If you have read the reviews for this camera and the others in this class you know that you lose a lot of aperture range as you extend the zoom. For example, the aperture range is f 2.0 to f 8.0 at 24mm and at 50mm the aperture range is f4 to f8. The relatively fast lens helps get good pictures in low light situations. The problem is that the relatively small sensor gives little control over the depth of field, again an issue with this class of cameras that is not unique to the S110.
Exposure Compensation
The camera’s meter is always a good place to start. But, I often find that I need to increase or decrease the exposure to accurately capture the mood of the scene. The exposure compensation process is simple with the S110; press the top of the rear control dial and rotate the dial to select the exposure increase or decrease. The display them previews the shot with the new setting.
If you have read the other reviews, you know that it is a good idea to buy a second battery. I own at least two batteries for all my cameras, so I was not surprised or disappointed by the battery life.
The S110 is not intended to replace your DSLR. But, Canon has taken the DSLR’s controls and wrapped them around a point and shoot sensor to give photographers a great small camera that they can carry virtually everywhere.
199 of 209 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot S110
Nickname: amitastris
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
This camera is pretty ridiculously awesome. Takes great night pictures and has lots of very good modes for image capture. Not sure about the video yet, but the images come out very vivid and crisp. The camera itself is very fast to respond, however it chews batteries pretty fast. Luckily there are cheap batteries you could buy here on Amazon and elsewhere, and they all charge super fast, so i'd recommend getting two or three more for image posterity. This camera has the coveted HDR feature, naturally though, the camera has to be very still for the series of images it takes, so i recommend a small tri-pod. It takes a couple seconds then to combine them, like any other camera on HDR function. Haven't had any lens issues, but if i do i'll certainly post here about it.. that was my only concern when buying this camera. A lot of people complained about the flash popping out where naturally a person holds their left index finger on the camera; hindrance at first, but with a little brain effort it isn't that difficult to simply not put your finger on the one tiny spot anymore. So far i love this camera. If something changes i'll complain to the messes here.
69 of 70 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot S110
Nickname: jazzfreek
Location: Buffalo, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

buy spare batteries!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 21, 2012
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Short battery life, Complicated controls/menu
This camera takes great pics and Raw mode was a prerequisite to me purchasing, as its the 2.0 aperture. I only have 2 complaints. I think the camera is way too complex and overloaded with features, like watching for a babies smile to snap a picture, etc. I think these features are ridiculous, although I'm sure somebody likes them. The booth drawback though is the very bad battery life, not to mention the price of spares. Besides these issues, it takes very nice photos in a very small footprint.
26 of 32 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot S110
Nickname: Canon Cop
Location: Oak Lawn, Illinois
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Like a point & shoot EOS

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2012
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, shoots raw, built in gps, compact size for all the features, would be great at twice the price
My search for the ultimate small backup camera is over. I normally shoot with a 5D mki III, and a 7D. My back-up or lcompact has been a G11 and/or a SX30 (both fine cameras in there class) However i have always wanted a "do all" camera that would truely fit into a shirt or pants pocket. Of course there are hundreds of cameras from all manufacturers that fit into that size catagory. All the ones that I have tried (and that is a lot between family and friends) have fallen fare sort with their image quality. Then enter the Canon S100. The image quality is equal to that of the G & SX series, and some entry level DSLR's.
Still it will fit in a shirt pocket. Soots RAW , JPEG, or both, has GPS, and very good low light capability for this class camera. Shutter lag, is always an issue with compacts, however is not bad at all with the S100 (flash off of course). It would be nice to have a little more zoom, but in a camera of this size it just would be practicle without a tripod.
99 of 114 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot S110
Nickname: Pp
Location: Maryland
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Super

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 8, 2012
Pros: excellent image quality, Bright LCD, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
For profesionál people is very good toys in pocket. I can recommend ... I love it. Is good have extra battery ...
31 of 50 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site