Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA Pro Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA Pro Series or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for PIXMA PRO-100

PIXMA PRO-100

It's time to step up to the large format, professional quality printer you've been dreaming about. The PIXMA PRO-100 Wireless Professional Inkjet Printer possesses the functionality and technology you need to achieve high-quality output so your prints can look as good as the images you capture.
Average Customer Rating:
3.765 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
4
24 out of 34(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA PRO-100
Review 1 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: no INK
Location: Pueblo CO
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

IMPOSSIBLE to find ink!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2014
Cons: ink can't be bought in stores
Six major office supply and electronic stores later I still can't find the replacement ink!
3 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: papparay
Location: Washington state
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Product replacement: Yes

great quality for the price

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: no 11"x14" print format
This product was easy for me to setup and use out of the box.The only issue that I have is that this photo printer does not support an 11"x14" photo paper. I would like to see a software update to take care of this issue, since I find it to be a very popular format requested.
21 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: CMfromIL
Location: Sacramento CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

This is the best Photo Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2014
Pros: professional quality images, easy to use, able to print large sizes
Cons: very large, heavy
I have owned the Pixma Pro 9000 Mark II and now the Pixma Pro-100.
They are both outstanding printers, putting out studio quality prints, that rival those purchased online or at a print shop. I have many images in my office, and frequently have people ask where I 'have them printed' and are amazed I do them at home.
I would also like to comment about using this printer for non-photo needs and have to ask 'why'? This is a printer designed to give professional grade photo prints. If you are using it to print envelopes, or let your kids use it for printing word .doc for school...get a different printer.
It's like buying a Ferrari so you can run to 7-11 for a slim jim, and you only live 2 blocks away.
I have a Pixma 920 for home office use, that scan's, prints and can fax.
Lastly, make sure you have color calibrated your monitor. The printer will print your images 'as is'. However, if your monitor is not calibrated it may look good on your screen but print colors may be 'off'. It's like if your speedometer is not calibrated correctly. It may tell you the speed is 55mph, but in reality you are doing 45, or 75.
Enjoy the printer, it truly is a fantastic printer for home use.
46 of 47 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: KurtW
Location: Doylestown, PA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Surprised

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2014
For years I have had bad luck with higher end photo printers... I came across a good buy for this Canon Pro 100.. I open the carton installed the inks and set everything up. Gave it a go right from lightroom 5.. Well ... the first print was awesome and I'm ultra picky. I have printed maybe 50 13x19 prints and they are perfect. I was amazed and surprised that I got professional results right out of the box. So far I'm loving this printer....
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: Remi
Location: North Adams MA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Incredible Prints!!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output, easy to use, great black and whites
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint
I just got this a few days ago and it does all I ask of it . I go through printers like water and this one is built like a tank. I can only see good things from this. Set up was tough I am a mac user and it did not like most of the software. Also I had to go online for the drivers after that it went smooth . I followed the directions and put the parts in that need to be and started it up . I printed a few and they came out so so so I worked on the wireless hook up and it took all night to get it hooked up this way . Once it was hooked up I printed a few color shots the software that came with it digitized and there for everything looked pixelated . I tried it on Lightroom and the pictures were flawless . So then I printed a few Black and Whites and they were the best black and whites I have ever seen printed . I can only imagine in the future what this printer will do for me personally as wells professionally .
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: EARLE
Location: Manhasset, New York
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

LIMITED PRINTING

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2013
Cons: unreliable
Do not purchase this printer if you intend to print envelopes or smaller heavier stock. I'll assume the printer
does a good job printing photos etc., however I had horrible results on 1/2 the envelopes I tried to print. They fed through very crooked. Those that worked were fine.
Secondly, the guides on the back feed slot for heavier stock can only adjust to a preset width and cannot print also of sizes.
6 of 53 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: Ev
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Pixma PRO100

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2013
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, Difficult Setup
The product is unfortunately not compatible with my photographic workflow requiring a additional software package to which the photographs have to be copied and pasted in order to print. As a semi-professional photographer, this is a time consuming drawback that is not necessary with other printers.
5 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: Imager2112
Location: Hermiston, OR
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Excellent Large Format Printing

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, easy to use, accurate color repro
Cons: Large Footprint, heavy
I bought this to print photos taken by my Canon 5D Mark III and after some research found that this was the best for cost and quality. The printer was easy to set up and use with very high quality output (better than expected.
Since receiving this printer I've printed both small (4x6") and large format (13x19"). With the large format I've used special canvas (thick and highly textured). In all cases this printer exceeded my expectations in accurate color reproduction and crispness of details.
19 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: Jim
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 23, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Very easy to setup and prints very high quality pictures.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: Rich
Location: Kent, Washington
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Printer and ink problems

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2013
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: unreliable, ink cartridges expensive and unreliable.
I have had my pro-100 for about a year now and it had taken into the shop twice. Both times it was rendered head and this last time also included a collector.
No stores in my area carry the ink cartridges for it, so I have ordered them online and because of it, it's easiest order all 8 at once. However I have had several of the cartridges tell me they are empty when they are not. It shuts down the printer and I have to place the cartridge it's saying is in the. Due to the cost of the cartridges it gets really expensive fast.
While I like the printer, even having to have taken it to the shop twice now, I am becoming very hesitant about buying another Canon, if it is going be in the shop and cost me more in each cartridges, then to buy a cheaper brand to do the same job.
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: MarkF
Location: Torrance, CA

So far it's great

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2013
I happened to get this printer in a camera combo deal. It is rather big, but i like it because it can print poster size pictures.
I don't see how people can not install this thing. I was able to install it without instructions, well i didn't read them. The print head is obvious, so are the ink cartridges. So after all that was installed, i knew the printer had to be synced to the wireless router, guess i got lucky holding the blue wireless button down long enough to get it to flash and the router has a wps button and that's that. Driver install was easy and my printer was in the network list in the driver and that was that. Ok now to the good stuff, printed a few photos on the included semi gloss paper and luster paper, it looked great, and just like a picture print from say costco, it was edge to edge and perfect. I'm sure long term i can't afford all 8 ink cartridges, but for now i'm loving it. The printer and box are huge and heavy, this is a workhorse printer that i'm leaving in the living room so everyone can use it. No cons, it's big because it's a pro picture printer that can handle the large paper.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: pjlee
Location: Los Angeles
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Product replacement: No

Not happy with purchase

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 22, 2013
Cons: Difficult to use, Large Footprint, Low Quality Output, unreliable
I've had this printer for a few months. It was challenging to set up and it took me quite some time to figure out how to print. Finally I was able to print and the ink wasn't printing properly. I followed the canon trouble shooting and cleaned the ink, followed with 2 deep cleanings, cleaned the tray, everything. Initially group 2 wouldn't print. Then just black and Cyan were not printing. After a few more deep cleans, I was able to print. I printed a few prints, and didn't use it for another month, and when I tried to print again, group 2 was printing blank again! I have tried several cleans and nozzle, ink, deep clean but still all the ink in group 2 are not printing. Honestly, this printer is sitting collecting dust. The printer itself is really big as well. I am very disappointed that from the very beginning I've had nothing but print issues and am still unable to print. I was very excited for this printer but I feel like maybe I have a lemon. It seems this is a common problem though. Canon needs to fix this. I am going to try to contact canon to have it serviced. I hope it will work one day. Otherwise all my pics come out freakishly red. Lastly, the few times it did print, the quality was okay. There were streaks, not as high quality as I thought it'd be.
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: Papa117
Location: South coast of MA.
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Nice printer, tough setup

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2013
Pros: High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint, Difficult Setup
I just finished setting up a Canon PIXMA Pro-100 printer to replaced a 9-year-old Canon i9900 which finally failed terminally. That was a great printer and I am sorry it is gone. The new PIXMA Pro-100 does essentially the same job with the added feature of wi-fi connectability.
The new printer is significantly larger. Otherwise, it performs about the same. The wi-fi connection helps a little with my wiring rats-nest and provides more convenience in locating the printer - a very helpful feature given the printer's large size and heavy weight.
Setup documentation is OK, but fragmented on too many pieces of paper. A single get-started booklet would be helpful. Wi-fi setup was difficult and crashed my existing network, but I am finally up and running again.
The few test-prints I have made are excellent, but not noticeably better than the old i9900.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: Ron
Location: Barrie, Ont
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Software is the pit's

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 13, 2013
I've had the Pro-100 for two months. The Printer does a good job of printing on various mediums. The Software that comes with it is pathetic. You cannot size an art print on a piece of medium with the software that comes with this machine. If you want to print an 11 x17 or a 12 x 16 on a 13 x 19 piece of photo paper , there is no way to do this !! It will print in some oddball size that you cannot buy a frame for. All my old printers at least came with software that allowed you to select the actual size of the print on the page.
Does nobody at Canon try this stuff ??? There is a reference to buying photo shop to do this along with the monthly charge for the program.
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: The Wedge
Location: Stillwater, MN
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

LOVE my PIXMA PRO-100

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 29, 2013
Pros: reliable, durable, High Quality Output
I'm always reluctant to buy printers. To say I've been happy with the PIXMA PRO-100 would be an understatement. I just love the color and detail this printer produces for me.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: serejadoktor
Location: Brooklyn,NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

My PRO-100

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 23, 2013
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Very good and quality printer. My photography look like alive. Thanks Canon for this magnificent printer.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: Anonymous

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 12, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint
I am new to photography and color printing. So, for me, the most important thing is the quality, as determined by appearance of the prints. This printer is excellent in that respect. To me, the prints really look true to the actual color. I also like that print time is reasonable. The item is a bit big, but thats ok for me.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: david1643
Location: Smyrna, GA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos

Great Ccolor

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 11, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, easy to use
I have had this printer for several months now. I am using this printer mostly for landscape photos. I am happy with the color reproduction for those prints. I have tried several brands of paper and am very pleased with the Luster brand from Canon.
One thing I find confusing is which settings to use. 1/3 photo pro Luster, or 3 photo pro luster.
One area I felt poorly about is the results of black and white. This turns out more soft tones that are closer to bluish, gray tones, not B & W.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: cnj3000
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Printer/Great Value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 4, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
I just purchased this printer from B&H Photo. I knew it was big-- it has to be to print large photos! You can tell by its weight that it's made well and is sturdy. The wireless feature allows you to set it up where it's convenient.
I'm a printing novice, but so far using it with the printer controlling the color management while printing from Photoshop I have to say that the print quality is amazing.
Just as good, is Canon's telephone support. Without hesitation they will walk you through set-up and answer your questions regarding its MANY features.
This is a PRO printer but a novice can get great photos while learning its countless functions.
It's a great printer for a great price. Prints small photos and large photos worthy of framing and display.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: Bruce
Location: Los Angeles, Calif
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Update From Sept 23, 2013

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 24, 2013
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint, unreliable, ink monitors not accurate
09/24/2013. Update on my prior review. Tried printing again this morning. No difference. Did another print head cleaning. This time PM and Y printed M still blank. I didn't notice it yesterday, but now the ink status shows under half remaining for the PC/M/Y/PM ink wells. Visually checked them. All are nearly full with a couple of slightly larger bubbles than the day before. Did another deep cleaning on group 1 (PC/M/Y/PM) ink wells. Did the nozzle check and the PM and Y appear to be much better. M (magenta) was still blank. Did another deep clean on group 1 with same results. Decided to give the printer time to do what I am guessing is a dissolve on the print head. Checked the ink levels on the status and the group 1 inks (PC/M/Y/PM) are all showing under half full now. The group 2 (C/BK/LGY/GY) are all showing about 1/3 used. The ink wells all appear to be full on visual inspection with the few bubbles near the top. Canon really needs to work on the ink well status reporting.
In the evening, I tried the nozzle check again. This time all the colors printed. Tried to print a picture and it appears to be fine. So I guess it was just a clogged/dried ink problem.
Regardless, I wasted a lot of time and very expensive ink trying to fix this issue. Haven't heard from Canon even though they posted my original review. I cannot in all honesty recommend this printer. I'm just glad I didn't need it for something important when it failed. Took over a day to correct and now there is always the specter that it may fail again. Overall I am very satisfied with the printed pictures, but I am very disappointed in the printer not being as reliable as I hoped. I feel I may be rolling the dice each time I use it.
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site