Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA Pro Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA Pro Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA PRO-100

PIXMA PRO-100

It's time to step up to the large format, professional quality printer you've been dreaming about. The PIXMA PRO-100 Wireless Professional Inkjet Printer possesses the functionality and technology you need to achieve high-quality output so your prints can look as good as the images you capture.
Average Customer Rating:
3.612 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
9
24 out of 34(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA PRO-100
Review 1 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: 
Location: Jackson Hole
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

not up to standard

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 24, 2015
Our old printer stopped feeding properly and so we figured we're using Canon professional cameras and lenses let's use a Canon printer. For some reason the pro 100 will not give as fine a resolution as the old printer that costs half the price. The color is off and the lines are fuzzy. After 3 months of trying to get it to spec I went and bought another manufacturer. Problem solved.
I did discover that some folks did not see the problem until you compared the images side by side. The pro 100 now prints my business cards and brochures but NOT my photographic images.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: 
Location: Floyds Knobs, IN
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

junk

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 18, 2015
Have not even made it through the intial set of ink cartridges and went to use it today. No Power. Dead. Good thing I didn't pay anything for it.
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: 
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Would not recommend

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2015
This is by far the worst piece of technology I have ever used. I have not been able to consistently use it as it is always disappearing from the network. I have spent countless house uninstalling and reinstalling the software. The only way it prints is if it connected directly to a PC which defeats the purpose of buying a wireless printer. We recently bought a new computer and changed wireless providers(due to moving) and continue to have the same issues.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: 
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 24, 2015
awesome machine
prints great pics (gotta learn how too print at full quality asap)
surprisingly fast
very heave with our without the box
INK TANKS ARE AWESOME
great build quality
wish it had a SD card as well as 3.5 inche touchscreen
but its till as good as it gets
GREAT FIND AND BUY FOR ALL YOUR PHOTO NEEDS
especially if you have your own photography business
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: 
Location: New York, NY
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Nothing but problems

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 19, 2015
I've wasted enough hours of my life with this thing, I'm not going to waste more listing all the problems I've had with it. Simply put, STAY AWAY IF YOU VALUE YOUR TIME OR YOUR SANITY!
4 of 33 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: 
Location: Winston-Salem, North Carolina
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Difficult paper size codes

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 22, 2015
I love the picture quality of my Pro-100. I have one MAJOR complaint. You can't just tell the thing to print a 13X19 print. You can't just put in the paper size. You have to guess the code Canon uses for that paper size. About half the pictures I print actually fit on the paper; the rest I throw away. It is wasteful and absolutely incomprehensible.
If I had known about this guessing game on inputting paper size, I would not have bought this printer.
18 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: 
Location: Colorado
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Fantastic Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2015
I purchased the Canon Pixma Pro 100 printer back in December and have been delighted with the results that I am able to get. The photos that I have been printing surpass that of what I was able to get at a store. People that have seen my work always ask first thing "where did you get the print from" and I am pleased to tell them that I printed it. They are amazed.
Set up of the printer was very easy and had it up and running in about 30 minutes.
I would recommend this printer to anyone that wants to be able to print their own photos.
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: 
Location: NYC
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Outstanding Professional Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2014
I recently purchased the Pixma Pro 100 and it nothing short of breath taking. I have been printing out a variety of 4x6, 5x7 and 8.5x11s so I am utterly amazed by the sheer level of color, sharpness that this printer can produce. Despite its huge size (which I don't mind) the Pixma Pro 100 operates fairly quiet, works excellently and I love looking at everyday. The set up was easy and took about an hour because I took my time. Once everything is up and running, translating digital photos into a finished final product always brings satisfaction to my heart. Not the undermine the higher end models like the Pro 10 and Pro 1, (which I was considering) I still extremely impressed with the eight color options as this is my first professional printer. Will continue to be a loyal Canon customer!!!From NYC
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: 

NO LINUX SUPPORT

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2014
Got as a gift, only to find there is no support for Linux. Please, canon, this is almost 2015, not 1995. We don't all use Windows or Mac.
This is a doorstop for me.
10 of 40 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: 
Location: Minneapolis
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

great printer, terrible software

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2014
The printer seems to produce great quality prints, and feels like a quality piece of hardware. It is big and heavy, and needs a lot of clearance both front and back, so you need a lot of room for it. It seems very well closed off when not in use, which should help durability. Setting up and installing the ink was easy, and works wirelessly. First prints I've made have been mostly very good, and the printer is certainly more than fast enough for home usage. The images on Luster paper look great. The big problem is that I can't easily use the software provided for printing my images at the right size and proportion. The driver provided with the printer only supports older versions of the photo editing software I use (think the home version of the most popular photo editing software out there - I have version 13 for Mac and the driver only supports up to version 12). Hence, I can't access all the printer settings from my photo editing software (or any other except the Canon one). To be able to access all the settings, I am left to try printing with the very cumbersome and dated image layout software that came with the printer. The interface is infuriating as it only gives you a few layout options that automatically stretches the short side of your image to fill the page, cropping the rest. That is, you can't print your 3:2 images at the original size and proportion on a sheet of paper, unless that sheet of paper is the exact size (good luck finding many options). I am left to create, for example an 8-1/2" x 11" document in my photo editing software with blank space around it (wasteful memory usage) so that I can then lay that out in the Canon software and be able to print it without cropping it. While I do think the printer is likely able to produce great prints, this would have been a deal breaker if I had known before buying. I am left holding my breath for them to update the driver.
34 of 35 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: 
Location: Columbia, MD
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

first time for a novice printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 26, 2014
Although I have been an avid photographer for years, This is the first time I have ever done color prints on my own. Was having trouble getting decent prints straight out of PS or LR and a Canon Tech lead me through driver updates and Studio Pro install.
The results are just stunning and equal or better than prints I've paid a high price for.
If you have good color on your calibrated screen, the prints will be just as good.
13 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: 
Location: West Bend,WI
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Printer has the WOW Factor

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 6, 2014
After using this printer for a short time and printing some Fantastic prints, I can't say enough about it.
I have printed a bunch of 13 X 19 prints and I am blown away by the quality of the final product.
The printer is FAST and QUIET.
I would recommend this printer to anyone who likes making there own prints to enjoy hanging on the wall.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: 
Location: Phoenix, Az
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

unbelievable!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2014
I've had this printer for a couple of months now and I'm VERY pleased. The prints are just stunning and most people that I show them to can't believe they weren't done at a lab.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: 
Location: Bowie, MD
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Excellent Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 18, 2014
First off, I will say that I have limited experience with other printers of this nature, but, that being said, I used to work in a commercial ad agency and used high-end, large format printers, so I have seen some of the 'big boys' in action. I bought this printer for a small art print business. I was just getting my toe in the water and did not want to layout a huge junk of change initially in the event things didn't pan out.
That being said, in the 6 months I have owned this printer, I have printed over a couple hundred cards and prints on 60-70+lb paper, ranging in size from A7 note cards to 13x19 inch prints with NO issues (I have been using Red River Greenpix and Aurora Art paper). Now, most of my work is black and white, so I can't speak too much to color production, but my black and white prints are crisp and beautiful (people are always surprised to hear I print these in house!), and the handful of personal photos I have printed to hang in my house have rendered gorgeously without little to no fiddling on the color end.
With regards to the ink, admittedly I have not seen it in a electronics or computer stores in my area, BUT it is easily available online through a number of retailers. In this day and age, being limited to making a purchase only through the internet is not a minus in my book.
The printer does have a large footprint, and is heavy - but, what do you expect of something capable of printing the sizes it handles, and how often are you really going to move it?
All said, I think it's a great printer for the price. My two cents.
24 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: 
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

I love it

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2014
There really isn't much to complain about for this printer! I see people complaining about not being able to print 11x14, but you can with Lightroom... soooo.... The only time I use the Easy Print software is to print on CDs and make Cases.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: 
Location: Pueblo CO
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

IMPOSSIBLE to find ink!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2014
Cons: ink can't be bought in stores
Six major office supply and electronic stores later I still can't find the replacement ink!
16 of 49 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: 
Location: Washington state
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Product replacement: Yes

great quality for the price

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: no 11"x14" print format
This product was easy for me to setup and use out of the box.The only issue that I have is that this photo printer does not support an 11"x14" photo paper. I would like to see a software update to take care of this issue, since I find it to be a very popular format requested.
27 of 30 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: 
Location: Sacramento CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

This is the best Photo Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2014
Pros: professional quality images, easy to use, able to print large sizes
Cons: very large, heavy
I have owned the Pixma Pro 9000 Mark II and now the Pixma Pro-100.
They are both outstanding printers, putting out studio quality prints, that rival those purchased online or at a print shop. I have many images in my office, and frequently have people ask where I 'have them printed' and are amazed I do them at home.
I would also like to comment about using this printer for non-photo needs and have to ask 'why'? This is a printer designed to give professional grade photo prints. If you are using it to print envelopes, or let your kids use it for printing word .doc for school...get a different printer.
It's like buying a Ferrari so you can run to 7-11 for a slim jim, and you only live 2 blocks away.
I have a Pixma 920 for home office use, that scan's, prints and can fax.
Lastly, make sure you have color calibrated your monitor. The printer will print your images 'as is'. However, if your monitor is not calibrated it may look good on your screen but print colors may be 'off'. It's like if your speedometer is not calibrated correctly. It may tell you the speed is 55mph, but in reality you are doing 45, or 75.
Enjoy the printer, it truly is a fantastic printer for home use.
59 of 62 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: 
Location: Doylestown, PA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Surprised

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2014
For years I have had bad luck with higher end photo printers... I came across a good buy for this Canon Pro 100.. I open the carton installed the inks and set everything up. Gave it a go right from lightroom 5.. Well ... the first print was awesome and I'm ultra picky. I have printed maybe 50 13x19 prints and they are perfect. I was amazed and surprised that I got professional results right out of the box. So far I'm loving this printer....
17 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: 
Location: North Adams MA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Incredible Prints!!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output, easy to use, great black and whites
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint
I just got this a few days ago and it does all I ask of it . I go through printers like water and this one is built like a tank. I can only see good things from this. Set up was tough I am a mac user and it did not like most of the software. Also I had to go online for the drivers after that it went smooth . I followed the directions and put the parts in that need to be and started it up . I printed a few and they came out so so so I worked on the wireless hook up and it took all night to get it hooked up this way . Once it was hooked up I printed a few color shots the software that came with it digitized and there for everything looked pixelated . I tried it on Lightroom and the pictures were flawless . So then I printed a few Black and Whites and they were the best black and whites I have ever seen printed . I can only imagine in the future what this printer will do for me personally as wells professionally .
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site