Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA Pro Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA Pro Series or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for PIXMA PRO-100

PIXMA PRO-100

It's time to step up to the large format, professional quality printer you've been dreaming about. The PIXMA PRO-100 Wireless Professional Inkjet Printer possesses the functionality and technology you need to achieve high-quality output so your prints can look as good as the images you capture.
Average Customer Rating:
3.811 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
4
24 out of 34(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA PRO-100
Review 1 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: imager2112
Location: Hermiston
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Good But Short-lived

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 16, 2014
I was anxious to get this printer when I ordered it, based on the other good reviews. It worked great and performed well while it worked, the only drawback; it lasted for about one year and the ink clogged up.
In all honesty, I was hospitalized due to an amputation of my right foot and wasn't around the product to use it for three months. That said, I don't think I'll ever own another "professional" Canon printer after this poor and rather unprofessional performance in the long run. I wish I could give it a better review, but I'm truly disappointed with this product's performance.
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: chesapeakecreativ
Location: Bowie, MD
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Excellent Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 18, 2014
First off, I will say that I have limited experience with other printers of this nature, but, that being said, I used to work in a commercial ad agency and used high-end, large format printers, so I have seen some of the 'big boys' in action. I bought this printer for a small art print business. I was just getting my toe in the water and did not want to layout a huge junk of change initially in the event things didn't pan out.
That being said, in the 6 months I have owned this printer, I have printed over a couple hundred cards and prints on 60-70+lb paper, ranging in size from A7 note cards to 13x19 inch prints with NO issues (I have been using Red River Greenpix and Aurora Art paper). Now, most of my work is black and white, so I can't speak too much to color production, but my black and white prints are crisp and beautiful (people are always surprised to hear I print these in house!), and the handful of personal photos I have printed to hang in my house have rendered gorgeously without little to no fiddling on the color end.
With regards to the ink, admittedly I have not seen it in a electronics or computer stores in my area, BUT it is easily available online through a number of retailers. In this day and age, being limited to making a purchase only through the internet is not a minus in my book.
The printer does have a large footprint, and is heavy - but, what do you expect of something capable of printing the sizes it handles, and how often are you really going to move it?
All said, I think it's a great printer for the price. My two cents.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: JWeaver
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

I love it

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2014
There really isn't much to complain about for this printer! I see people complaining about not being able to print 11x14, but you can with Lightroom... soooo.... The only time I use the Easy Print software is to print on CDs and make Cases.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: no INK
Location: Pueblo CO
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

IMPOSSIBLE to find ink!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2014
Cons: ink can't be bought in stores
Six major office supply and electronic stores later I still can't find the replacement ink!
7 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: papparay
Location: Washington state
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Product replacement: Yes

great quality for the price

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: no 11"x14" print format
This product was easy for me to setup and use out of the box.The only issue that I have is that this photo printer does not support an 11"x14" photo paper. I would like to see a software update to take care of this issue, since I find it to be a very popular format requested.
21 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: CMfromIL
Location: Sacramento CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

This is the best Photo Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2014
Pros: professional quality images, easy to use, able to print large sizes
Cons: very large, heavy
I have owned the Pixma Pro 9000 Mark II and now the Pixma Pro-100.
They are both outstanding printers, putting out studio quality prints, that rival those purchased online or at a print shop. I have many images in my office, and frequently have people ask where I 'have them printed' and are amazed I do them at home.
I would also like to comment about using this printer for non-photo needs and have to ask 'why'? This is a printer designed to give professional grade photo prints. If you are using it to print envelopes, or let your kids use it for printing word .doc for school...get a different printer.
It's like buying a Ferrari so you can run to 7-11 for a slim jim, and you only live 2 blocks away.
I have a Pixma 920 for home office use, that scan's, prints and can fax.
Lastly, make sure you have color calibrated your monitor. The printer will print your images 'as is'. However, if your monitor is not calibrated it may look good on your screen but print colors may be 'off'. It's like if your speedometer is not calibrated correctly. It may tell you the speed is 55mph, but in reality you are doing 45, or 75.
Enjoy the printer, it truly is a fantastic printer for home use.
48 of 50 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: KurtW
Location: Doylestown, PA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Surprised

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2014
For years I have had bad luck with higher end photo printers... I came across a good buy for this Canon Pro 100.. I open the carton installed the inks and set everything up. Gave it a go right from lightroom 5.. Well ... the first print was awesome and I'm ultra picky. I have printed maybe 50 13x19 prints and they are perfect. I was amazed and surprised that I got professional results right out of the box. So far I'm loving this printer....
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: Remi
Location: North Adams MA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Incredible Prints!!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output, easy to use, great black and whites
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint
I just got this a few days ago and it does all I ask of it . I go through printers like water and this one is built like a tank. I can only see good things from this. Set up was tough I am a mac user and it did not like most of the software. Also I had to go online for the drivers after that it went smooth . I followed the directions and put the parts in that need to be and started it up . I printed a few and they came out so so so I worked on the wireless hook up and it took all night to get it hooked up this way . Once it was hooked up I printed a few color shots the software that came with it digitized and there for everything looked pixelated . I tried it on Lightroom and the pictures were flawless . So then I printed a few Black and Whites and they were the best black and whites I have ever seen printed . I can only imagine in the future what this printer will do for me personally as wells professionally .
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: EARLE
Location: Manhasset, New York
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

LIMITED PRINTING

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2013
Cons: unreliable
Do not purchase this printer if you intend to print envelopes or smaller heavier stock. I'll assume the printer
does a good job printing photos etc., however I had horrible results on 1/2 the envelopes I tried to print. They fed through very crooked. Those that worked were fine.
Secondly, the guides on the back feed slot for heavier stock can only adjust to a preset width and cannot print also of sizes.
6 of 57 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: Ev
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Pixma PRO100

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2013
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, Difficult Setup
The product is unfortunately not compatible with my photographic workflow requiring a additional software package to which the photographs have to be copied and pasted in order to print. As a semi-professional photographer, this is a time consuming drawback that is not necessary with other printers.
6 of 30 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: Imager2112
Location: Hermiston, OR
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Excellent Large Format Printing

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, easy to use, accurate color repro
Cons: Large Footprint, heavy
I bought this to print photos taken by my Canon 5D Mark III and after some research found that this was the best for cost and quality. The printer was easy to set up and use with very high quality output (better than expected.
Since receiving this printer I've printed both small (4x6") and large format (13x19"). With the large format I've used special canvas (thick and highly textured). In all cases this printer exceeded my expectations in accurate color reproduction and crispness of details.
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: Jim
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 23, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Very easy to setup and prints very high quality pictures.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: Rich
Location: Kent, Washington
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Printer and ink problems

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2013
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: unreliable, ink cartridges expensive and unreliable.
I have had my pro-100 for about a year now and it had taken into the shop twice. Both times it was rendered head and this last time also included a collector.
No stores in my area carry the ink cartridges for it, so I have ordered them online and because of it, it's easiest order all 8 at once. However I have had several of the cartridges tell me they are empty when they are not. It shuts down the printer and I have to place the cartridge it's saying is in the. Due to the cost of the cartridges it gets really expensive fast.
While I like the printer, even having to have taken it to the shop twice now, I am becoming very hesitant about buying another Canon, if it is going be in the shop and cost me more in each cartridges, then to buy a cheaper brand to do the same job.
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: MarkF
Location: Torrance, CA

So far it's great

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2013
I happened to get this printer in a camera combo deal. It is rather big, but i like it because it can print poster size pictures.
I don't see how people can not install this thing. I was able to install it without instructions, well i didn't read them. The print head is obvious, so are the ink cartridges. So after all that was installed, i knew the printer had to be synced to the wireless router, guess i got lucky holding the blue wireless button down long enough to get it to flash and the router has a wps button and that's that. Driver install was easy and my printer was in the network list in the driver and that was that. Ok now to the good stuff, printed a few photos on the included semi gloss paper and luster paper, it looked great, and just like a picture print from say costco, it was edge to edge and perfect. I'm sure long term i can't afford all 8 ink cartridges, but for now i'm loving it. The printer and box are huge and heavy, this is a workhorse printer that i'm leaving in the living room so everyone can use it. No cons, it's big because it's a pro picture printer that can handle the large paper.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: pjlee
Location: Los Angeles
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Product replacement: No

Not happy with purchase

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 22, 2013
Cons: Difficult to use, Large Footprint, Low Quality Output, unreliable
I've had this printer for a few months. It was challenging to set up and it took me quite some time to figure out how to print. Finally I was able to print and the ink wasn't printing properly. I followed the canon trouble shooting and cleaned the ink, followed with 2 deep cleanings, cleaned the tray, everything. Initially group 2 wouldn't print. Then just black and Cyan were not printing. After a few more deep cleans, I was able to print. I printed a few prints, and didn't use it for another month, and when I tried to print again, group 2 was printing blank again! I have tried several cleans and nozzle, ink, deep clean but still all the ink in group 2 are not printing. Honestly, this printer is sitting collecting dust. The printer itself is really big as well. I am very disappointed that from the very beginning I've had nothing but print issues and am still unable to print. I was very excited for this printer but I feel like maybe I have a lemon. It seems this is a common problem though. Canon needs to fix this. I am going to try to contact canon to have it serviced. I hope it will work one day. Otherwise all my pics come out freakishly red. Lastly, the few times it did print, the quality was okay. There were streaks, not as high quality as I thought it'd be.
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: Papa117
Location: South coast of MA.
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Nice printer, tough setup

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2013
Pros: High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint, Difficult Setup
I just finished setting up a Canon PIXMA Pro-100 printer to replaced a 9-year-old Canon i9900 which finally failed terminally. That was a great printer and I am sorry it is gone. The new PIXMA Pro-100 does essentially the same job with the added feature of wi-fi connectability.
The new printer is significantly larger. Otherwise, it performs about the same. The wi-fi connection helps a little with my wiring rats-nest and provides more convenience in locating the printer - a very helpful feature given the printer's large size and heavy weight.
Setup documentation is OK, but fragmented on too many pieces of paper. A single get-started booklet would be helpful. Wi-fi setup was difficult and crashed my existing network, but I am finally up and running again.
The few test-prints I have made are excellent, but not noticeably better than the old i9900.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: Ron
Location: Barrie, Ont
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Software is the pit's

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 13, 2013
I've had the Pro-100 for two months. The Printer does a good job of printing on various mediums. The Software that comes with it is pathetic. You cannot size an art print on a piece of medium with the software that comes with this machine. If you want to print an 11 x17 or a 12 x 16 on a 13 x 19 piece of photo paper , there is no way to do this !! It will print in some oddball size that you cannot buy a frame for. All my old printers at least came with software that allowed you to select the actual size of the print on the page.
Does nobody at Canon try this stuff ??? There is a reference to buying photo shop to do this along with the monthly charge for the program.
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: The Wedge
Location: Stillwater, MN
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

LOVE my PIXMA PRO-100

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 29, 2013
Pros: reliable, durable, High Quality Output
I'm always reluctant to buy printers. To say I've been happy with the PIXMA PRO-100 would be an understatement. I just love the color and detail this printer produces for me.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: serejadoktor
Location: Brooklyn,NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

My PRO-100

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 23, 2013
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Very good and quality printer. My photography look like alive. Thanks Canon for this magnificent printer.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA PRO-100
Nickname: Anonymous

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 12, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint
I am new to photography and color printing. So, for me, the most important thing is the quality, as determined by appearance of the prints. This printer is excellent in that respect. To me, the prints really look true to the actual color. I also like that print time is reasonable. The item is a bit big, but thats ok for me.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site