Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / EOS Digital Cameras Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop EOS Digital Cameras or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
4.57 out of 5
4.66 out of 5
4.602 out of 5
4.358 out of 5

Customer Reviews for EOS 6D

EOS 6D

Newly-designed 20.2 Megapixel Full-Frame CMOS sensor, and DIGIC 5+ Image Processor New 11-point AF with EV-3 sensitivity (center point) Full HD Video Built-in Wi-Fi and GPS Receiver
Average Customer Rating:
4.602 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(93 Reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (93 reviews)
5 stars
70
4 stars
15
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
2
79 out of 81(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EOS 6D
Review 1 for EOS 6D
Nickname: coolcat2
Location: Stuart, Florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love this Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 10, 2014
I purchased this camera after seeing the holiday savings package deal from B&H. The package included not only the 6D camera body but also the Canon Pro-10 printer and 50 sheets of Canon luster paper. I own a Canon 60D and this was and easy transition for me due to the same basic placement of the knobs and dials. I wanted to upgrade to a full-frame camera and at the price this was offered, I couldn't pass it up. After much deliberation on other trade up cameras from Canon, I found this to be my best choice.
I devoted a full day to setting up the camera using the instructions provided in Douglas J. Klostermann's book "The Canon 6D Experience". The detailed content of the operation and use of the camera is really quite easy, but my favorite features are: full-frame image quality, GPS, WiFi, high ISO with little noise and weather proofing. I wasn't that concerned with super high burst capability such as I saw with the new Canon 7D Mark II; a camera heavily touted during the 2014 Christmas season.
The menu options are much more comprehensive than those in my Canon 60D. I forgive the fact that this camera does not have a built-in flash or articulating display screen. If I am really desperate for those two options, I will resort back to using my 6D.
Now I can hardly wait to get out and do some serious shooting beyond doing test shots around my house. At this point I can only say that I am very happy with this camera purchase and would recommend it to anyone who wants to move up to a full-frame model.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EOS 6D
Nickname: F. catus
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Exactly What I'd Hoped For

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2014
I'm a hobbyist photographer and I primarily shoot landscape/nature photos. I've been a happy EOS 40D shooter for the last six years. While the 40D was, and still is, a great camera, it does have some limitations in both low light and in high contrast lighting situations. I had been interested in making the jump to a full frame camera for a while, but I couldn't justify the expense of a 5DIII, nor did I need all of the features that it offers. Enter the 6D.
The 6D is a great value and a pleasure to shoot. I use the camera for still photography and its image quality is superb. The 6D's high ISO performance and dynamic range allow me to capture images that I could only dream of getting with the 40D. I was initially a little concerned about the 6D's polycarbonate body components. However, after shooting with it,I can say that it feels every bit as sturdy as the 40D and it's lighter to boot. I don't use the GPS function, so my battery life has been good so far. My only quibble with the camera is that I prefer the 40D's rear joystick to the 6D's directional wheel.
Overall, I would recommend the 6D to anyone looking to upgrade to full frame from a crop sensor camera who doesn't necessarily need all of the 5DIII's bells and whistles. It's a great camera.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Joey's eye
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Learning to use

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2014
My EOS 6D is fabulous. Now, if I could only learn to use it. The Wi-Fi basic instruction manual may seem easy for some, but I find it challenging. My initial reaction is that the instructions could be more user friendly, but we'll see. I bought the EOS 6D for these features, GPS included, and I will try to conquer their use. One thing I found disappointing in the first few weeks of use, however, is how quickly the battery seems to discharge. I've taken about 100 images and the remaining battery charge is just over 50%. I've disabled the VC on the lens and the image shown on the monitor just to see if this has some effect on the battery charge. My older digital camera could capture 1,000 shots and still go on on a single charge. ????
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Jesse K
Location: Boulder, CO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Software not current

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2014
"There is no - software for the OS Version you selected." That's the message on Canon's site for the current Mac OS, Yosemite. This little message means I now need to find workarounds for all the Canon software I've been using with my 6D. Whoever at Canon thinks this is acceptable, it is not. You need to prioritize keeping on top of software updates on Macs, which many pro's use. This is poor support. Please update your software.
20 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EOS 6D
Nickname: d4v!d
Location: Boston MA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

what a (pleasant) surprise!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 11, 2014
I bought this camera as an addition to my aging 5D II kit, primarily because this one had built in wi-fi. And right from the first minute with this camera, I was more than pleased - I was thrilled. For my use, architectural and studio, this combination is perfect. With clients hovering, I can manage a complete photoshoot from a 12.2 in tablet - which my clients really like. (Me too!) The color accuracy seems more accurate - and a bit more vibrant - than any previous model I've used. At this point the model is two years old so I imagine there is a Mk II coming - it will no doubt be awesome.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Mike
Location: So Cal
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera, Bad Support

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 7, 2014
The camera itself is great but support is lacking. OS X Yosemite has been out for a few weeks now and still no software support is available, preventing you from easily getting pictures from the camera to the computer. I'd expect more from Canon.
8 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Sammyray
Location: NC
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Sad purchase

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 6, 2014
My 6d makes noise when in movie mode. And will not continue to connect too wifi.
I would beware of this model...
2 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EOS 6D
Nickname: bg_rocks
Location: Virginia
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Should I be impressed?

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 31, 2014
Great camera overall. Great image quality and all, but why do I feel I bought very expensive Rebel ? I honestly like my 50D better! Controllers are different not in a good way by far. The new round controller instead of joystick is absolutely unnecessary. buttons on the top have less functionality. Wi-fi is great but gets in a way and not easy to set up. This is supposed to be a step down from 5D mark 3 but it feels like the camera has been crippled and reduced on purpose. You have to disable wi-fi to take video, shutter is less durable and slower 1/4000s, yes HDR in camera but only JPG, you can customize almost every button and yet I battle with the camera all the time. The camera feels cheap not comparing it with any other cameras, it just feels cheap! I can definitely say for sure this will be my very last Canon camera!
0 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EOS 6D
Nickname: shooter
Location: So Cal
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Better Than Expected

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2014
If you have decided that a full frame camera is out there somewhere with your name it. You're looking at what's available and weighing it against your budget and see the cost of full frame isn't cheap. Buy the 6d, you won't regret it. The images are fantastic! The video is, well who cares, if you want video buy a video camera. The GPS is, who cares, I'd rather have touch-screen. The WiFi is limited to phone geeks and is not going to dump your images onto your laptop. Message to Canon: I would gladly forfeit video, GPS, and WiFi for additional resources devoted to images and camera operation. Touch-screen, more cross-type focus points, dual SD slots, and stuff like that.
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EOS 6D
Nickname: arthur
Location: iowa
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Amazed, really.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 17, 2014
I shoot landscape and art pictures. I use the multi exposure capabilities fairly often. (Of course I also shoot family.) This camera is outstanding. Anyone truly committed to the highest image quality (short of medium format) is in full frame format. I have gradually increased the ISO at which I'm willing to shoot, as I see the uncompromised image quality of 400, 800, 1600, and beyond.
This camera is dense and compact, it feels like a million bucks. For what I do the auto focus is totally adequate. The frames per second, not a factor. I do use the video some, and in fact I augment the audio with a Rode Stereo Pro@ mike. I think the video quality is excellent.
The bottom line for me, though, is image quality, shooting JPEG images, and processing them on my Macbook Pro with retinal display screen, simple as pie, I get truly awesome professional results. I make metal prints to 16X24 and they are crisp and wonderful. I am obsessive and fastidious about image quality!
Arthur
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EOS 6D
Nickname: SPUD
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Poor Capabilities

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2014
This camera is slow. Does not focus well. To expensive for the return on performance.
2 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Giulia
Location: rome,italy
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

could be really a great camera

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2014
Hi
i own a 5d and 5d mark 2 , well i wanted to have another body , i bought the 6d
i really like it , the image quality , the center focusing point colors , really beautiful camera
what i did no like about the 6d is the missing joystick , and small rear dial ,the multicontroller , and the body slightly narrow
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EOS 6D
Nickname: PIC629
Location: Southern Maryland
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very Good Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: only a few focus points
I purchased the 6D as a second camera to my 1d MK 3. The primary purpose was to use for vacations and general use. I originally had a 60d for this purpose but wasn't satisfied with the camera. I have found that I am now using the 6D for weddings and special events as well as for everyday use.
The camera has a reasonable build quality balancing ruggedness with weight.
The quality of the pictures and the use of the full frame are excellent.
The only draw back I see in the camera are number of focus points and the fact that only the center point is both horizontal and vertical.
I use the camera primarily with a 24-105 4L as well as a 70-200 II 2.8L
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Leonardo
Location: Amarynthos, Evia GREECE
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very good but the focus points

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 6, 2014
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings
Hi all,
this is my first review for the canon 6D. I was about to get the 5D MarkIII but didnt have enough budget so i end up to the 6D, after reading so many reviews.
I had a bad feeling regarding the AF points but reading all these reviews, i understood that wont be a big issue.
Having the 6D, im really happy man, but i would expect from CANON to put more AF points and more + points.
Pictures depends on the lens coming up sharp. No issues with that.
The body has a nice feeling and its weight is perfect for traveling.
Compared to what i was expecting with other brands and Canon's previous products, i would like to see more AF points. This is a missing feature for this camera. Apart from that the AF works really good and accurate.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Tamandal1205
Location: Brooksville, Florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Wish it had....

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2014
Pros: excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Solid Operation, reduced light ability
Cons: Missing features/settings
I bought this Canon 6D to replace a DX camera from another manufacturer. I wanted to move up to FX and I liked the quality of the Canon, especially the 24-105L lens, over the other brand. In short, the photographs are amazing, especially in reduced light. This camera's high ISO performance, alone, made the purchase worthwhile. I'm not sure if it's the camera/sensor quality or just switching to FX, but the reduced light abilities amaze me. Please, Canon, give us a built in flash and second memory card slot. That's ALL this camera needs to be perfect!
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EOS 6D
Nickname: ForestDweller
Location: Northern Minnesota
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Wonderful Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 19, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Solid Operation, easy to use
This camera was an upgrade from the 40D and the difference is astounding. Image quality is exceptional. Having migrated to digital from large format for all my serious photography I found the 40D somewhat limited. In contrast, images captured with the 6D are wonderful and a suitable replacement for large format.
I like the way the menu is set up and it is fairly easy to use.
With the exception of sports photography where I use auto focus and auto exposure, I generally use manual settings for most of my work. The spot meter is accurate and I find manual focus overcomes the limitation that autofocus can be confused by complex images.
The ISO range is unbelievable. Night time images can be captured without a tripod, you just get high ISO background that you need to remove in subsequent processing. Tripod shots with a remote are easy to set up as well.
All in all, this is a remarkable camera at a reasonable price.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EOS 6D
Nickname: KSchey
Location: Chicago
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Decision ever!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2014
Pros: quiet, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use, wifi connectivety ability, full frame
Cons: wifi connectivety doesn't always work
I like the feel, weight, and overall handling of the camera. I like the idea behind the WiFi of being able to transfer photos to my iPhone with out the need of using a card reader. The only real complaint where the engineers put the exposure compensation function, and the camera doesn't always connect to my iPhone using the wifi function.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EOS 6D
Nickname: showme
Location: Missouri
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 11, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: manual not for the nearsighted., manual needs to be book size.
The Canon 6D surprised me in just how good it is. It has especially good low light performance and the noise can be handled up to at least 6400 ISO. While the camera is probably best for landscapes and portraits, it can be used in wildlife and nature. The shutter speed means it is not that great for say birds in flight, but normally 100% of the shots will be in focus and you can use a high ISO to maintain shutter speed without introducing too much noise. A 7D is certainly much faster, but in low light focus will often be missed and there will be noticeably more noise at high ISOs.
Do I have complaints about the camera, no not for the use I have for it. That said though jpeg only for some features would bother me if I used those features;
In closure, if you want a quality full frame camera and either cannot afford or do not wish to spend the bucks for a 5D MIII the 6D is an excellent choice. In my opinion the camera is better than a 5D MII
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EOS 6D
Nickname: ryan4449
Location: Sacramento,CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Love this camera!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 11, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation
Take mainly outdoor landscapes. Having the built in GPS is a plus. Wish the LCD rotated. Great pictures. Got the grip/battery pack to deal the with GPS drain on batteries - makes camera easier to use. Wish the camera was a little faster and had the ability to download the HDR individual images like the 5D. Very rugged.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EOS 6D
Nickname: nikkii
Location: mayhill, New Mexico
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

better than expected.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2014
Pros: excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
at first i wasnt to sure about this camera but after a week i fell in love. very good imagine quality.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site