Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / EOS Digital Cameras Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop EOS Digital Cameras or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EOS 6D

EOS 6D

Newly-designed 20.2 Megapixel Full-Frame CMOS sensor, and DIGIC 5+ Image Processor New 11-point AF with EV-3 sensitivity (center point) Full HD Video Built-in Wi-Fi and GPS Receiver
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (78 reviews)
5 stars
62
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
76 out of 78(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EOS 6D
Review 1 for EOS 6D
Nickname: ForestDweller
Location: Northern Minnesota
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Wonderful Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 19, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Solid Operation, easy to use
This camera was an upgrade from the 40D and the difference is astounding. Image quality is exceptional. Having migrated to digital from large format for all my serious photography I found the 40D somewhat limited. In contrast, images captured with the 6D are wonderful and a suitable replacement for large format.
I like the way the menu is set up and it is fairly easy to use.
With the exception of sports photography where I use auto focus and auto exposure, I generally use manual settings for most of my work. The spot meter is accurate and I find manual focus overcomes the limitation that autofocus can be confused by complex images.
The ISO range is unbelievable. Night time images can be captured without a tripod, you just get high ISO background that you need to remove in subsequent processing. Tripod shots with a remote are easy to set up as well.
All in all, this is a remarkable camera at a reasonable price.
Review 2 for EOS 6D
Nickname: KSchey
Location: Chicago
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Decision ever!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2014
Pros: quiet, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use, wifi connectivety ability, full frame
Cons: wifi connectivety doesn't always work
I like the feel, weight, and overall handling of the camera. I like the idea behind the WiFi of being able to transfer photos to my iPhone with out the need of using a card reader. The only real complaint where the engineers put the exposure compensation function, and the camera doesn't always connect to my iPhone using the wifi function.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EOS 6D
Nickname: showme
Location: Missouri
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 11, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: manual not for the nearsighted., manual needs to be book size.
The Canon 6D surprised me in just how good it is. It has especially good low light performance and the noise can be handled up to at least 6400 ISO. While the camera is probably best for landscapes and portraits, it can be used in wildlife and nature. The shutter speed means it is not that great for say birds in flight, but normally 100% of the shots will be in focus and you can use a high ISO to maintain shutter speed without introducing too much noise. A 7D is certainly much faster, but in low light focus will often be missed and there will be noticeably more noise at high ISOs.
Do I have complaints about the camera, no not for the use I have for it. That said though jpeg only for some features would bother me if I used those features;
In closure, if you want a quality full frame camera and either cannot afford or do not wish to spend the bucks for a 5D MIII the 6D is an excellent choice. In my opinion the camera is better than a 5D MII
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EOS 6D
Nickname: ryan4449
Location: Sacramento,CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Love this camera!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 11, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation
Take mainly outdoor landscapes. Having the built in GPS is a plus. Wish the LCD rotated. Great pictures. Got the grip/battery pack to deal the with GPS drain on batteries - makes camera easier to use. Wish the camera was a little faster and had the ability to download the HDR individual images like the 5D. Very rugged.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EOS 6D
Nickname: nikkii
Location: mayhill, New Mexico
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

better than expected.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2014
Pros: excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
at first i wasnt to sure about this camera but after a week i fell in love. very good imagine quality.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EOS 6D
Nickname: jeffa4444
Location: London
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Outstanding

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: dust in optics & sensor
Bought this camera back in October 2013 and Im consistantly amazed by the quality of the images produced. The camera is easy to use but retains a large degree of flexability & customization. the Wi-Fi works great with Canon iPhone app. and the GPS is accurate & easy to use (turn it off after use it saps the battery if left on).
My only gripe is dirt getting on the sensor more easily that my 7d & in around the ground glass.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Garen
Location: SF Bay Area
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Another Excellent Camera by Canon

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 20, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: wifi transfer to lan storage, no swivel back
Pros. Every feature in this camera is well thought out. The controls are more akin to my way of handling a camera design from the 80s and the 90s. Remarkably low noise sensor. Need for flash is not there except for special situations. This camera is heavier than Canon's T line. I shoot a lot of B&W. This camera does an excellent job at B&W.
Cons: I would like to see this camera use WiFi to transfer images to a hard disk on LAN. Hence 1 star removed from the features ranking. I would also like to see a swiveling LCD back.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EOS 6D
Nickname: pbj

Nearly Perfect

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 19, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings
I have had this camera for over a year. It does everything I need it to and excels at it except for one think: tracking a moving subject. Auto focus with the center point is amazing, spot on more than any camera I've used, but when it needs to track using multiple points, it's almost as if the camera can't decide which point to use and just ends up seeking, never mind missing the focus, more than anything. Besides this I have zero complaints, and nothing but praise for the model.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EOS 6D
Nickname: JJ
Location: SLC, UT
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Value in a Full Frame

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I was so impressed after trying this camera that I sold my 5D III to buy this and a 70D. Best camera combination I have yet to own. The image quality of the 6D at higher ISO is actually better than the 5D III, sure it lacks a few of the features, but at less than half the price, I'll take it any day. This is my go to camera for Portraits and landscape photography and I use the 70D for sports and video. Either camera makes a great backup to the other, even though neither has ever let me down.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Terminator
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Camera Yet.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 24, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I've owned the T3i, 60D and 6D. Have been able to sell the first two at reasonable prices to upgrade to the next. Each time the quality of the photos has improved. Hopefully I've learned some tricks as well as improvements in the cameras. The 6D has all the latest features that I wanted. i.e. WiFi, GPS, full frame, etc. I think I've found the best camera for me.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EOS 6D
Nickname: DoctorPepper
Location: Palm Coast, FL
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Excellent full frame DSLR on a budget

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 22, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I've owned my EOS 6D for over four months now, and I've taken it with me pretty much everywhere. I'm not a pro, but I use the heck out of my cameras.
I also have an EOS Rebel T3i, which I still use, but I wanted the 6D for its better low light capabilities and full frame sensor. The T3i feels almost like a toy in my hands, but the 6D feels just right. Just the right amount of weight, the right size to carry comfortably.
I got the EF 24-105 f/4L lens along with my 6D, and I think the two of them are just about the most perfect combination of camera and lens. Sure, I sometimes wish for a bit more wide angle for a shot, or a bit more zoom for a far away shot, but all in all, these two are just right.
The only real things I would like to see changed on the 6D are the shutter speed (yes, sometimes 1/4000th of a second is too slow!), and I would like the view finder to be 100%, instead of 97%. That's it!
Great camera, thanks Canon!
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EOS 6D
Nickname: pearl
Location: Sunbury, Pa
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Amazing product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2014
Pros: excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, easy to use
Cons: noisy, Heavy/Bulky
I use the 6D for my wedding photography business, and am absolutely enthralled with it! Amazing image quality, and is very easy to use. I would definitely recommend this camera to anyone who wants a reliable camera for their business.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Auburnflyer
Location: West Coast
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great Product Value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2014
Pros: quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, great value
I received my second Full Frame Canon camera recently since I do not change lens in the field and wanted a back up camera for the 70-200IS Mk II lens. The 6D is a great camera and gives me the flexibility of having a backup camera to the 5D MKIII. I can use either camera in complete confidence when I want a different lens with a longer range. Both have extra clear pictures and either can take HD video. I like the features and the feel of the 6D since it is lighter than the 5D and the pictures are excellent and they compare very closely to the quality of the 5D.
I would recommend this camera to anyone wanting a Full Frame camera. It has plenty of features and it is very easy to use.
I was surprised that the 6D HDR mode does not include the three pictures that make up the composite picture. The 5D gives me all three of the pictures plus the composite picture. You can edit those with software if you wanted to create an HDR file with your choice of details. picture.
.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EOS 6D
Nickname: foster1013
Location: Central New Jersey
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Used it for over a year now and its great.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 21, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu
Cons: Missing features/settings, cropped view finder, does not have a pc socket
As mentioned in the title, I've had the camera for over a year and its performed wonderfully. My first shoot after the purchase was following the Big Apple Circus for a couple of days. The high ISO settings helped out with all the tricky lighting situations under the big top. I've since shot countless jobs, the performance and image quality has been excellent.
One major down side and a total oversight on my part when I was camera shopping is that it does not have a PC port.
I tested the 6D with the 600EX-RT and ST-E3-RT. I was disappointed that Rear Curtain Sync/2nd Curtain Sync / High Speed Sync were not reliable with this set up.
That aside, overall I think its a great camera. Particularly for someone looking to upgrade from the Rebel series or videographers.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EOS 6D
Nickname: iamacamera
Location: New Mexico
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

This is a great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2014
Pros: quiet, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I am very enthusiastic about this camera. It was bought after carefully considering the 5DMkII and 5DMkIII. After looking at each camera this was by far the best choice. I am delighted with the camera both in the field and in the studio. I would highly recommend it to anyone considering getting a camera as a replacement or as the first digital camera. Some folks say it isn't a "professional" quality camera. If you're depending on the camera to make you a "professional", or do professional quality work, then you need to get some training and some skills. I would recommend getting the external battery holder.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Michgirl
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

So Glad I Went For It!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2014
Pros: quiet, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
After months of deliberation, I sold my 5d II and purchased the 6d with kit lens. So very happy that I did! The photos this combo produces are absolutely stunning. Great color, contrast and sharpness. This set-up is a little bit lighter than my previous, and has more features. Love the ability to use higher ISO and still have great shots. It is great for a beginner, as well as a more advanced shooter. I only wish it had the same focus system as the 70D, but can live with it. It is definitely a camera that I will use for years to come.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EOS 6D
Nickname: PnB
Location: Pompano Becha, FL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

PC connection

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD
Cons: Missing features/settings
I'm very disappointing with the EOS 6D its not camping with PC connection.
But I'm very satisfied with the quality of image.
1 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Anonymous
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years

Amazing Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 20, 2014
I purchased the 6d to take a photography class in college. I am more than happy with it. The images when adjusted with the correct exposure and focus are professional magazine front cover quality (of course several other factors go into taking a photo not just focus and exposure). It is extremely durable and solid. I love the wifi capability. If you own a iPhone or newer generation iPod the EOS app works great with the 6d. It makes it super fast to download the set of images or select only the best images and have them ready to be post processed or shared in no time. The body will work with the full line of EOS lenses so the only thing I would recommend to a person interested in buying any new SLR camera is to understand the type of photography you would be doing the majority of the time and buy the best EOS lens for the job at hand. I only say that because I find myself doing a lot of macro photography and the 24-105mm lens that comes with the 6d is decent for macro but not phenomenal. Know the limits of your lens and start building your lens kits to fit your needs best. I have taken over 4,000 photos so far on my 6d and I love it, cant seem to put it down. Great job Canon.
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Jeff
Location: Iowa
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 20, 2014
My first DSLR.
The only problem that I encountered was the ability to "stop down" the pictures to get the effect that I desired. ( Probably just inexperience )
Overall the convenience of using this camera is great!
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Gochome
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

EOS 6D

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2014
Pros: low noise, excellent image quality, lighter than 5dm2, far cheaper than 5dm3 with comparable image qualit, robust design
Cons: controls complicated, poor auto focusing even with l lenses, 1/180 max flash sync, only slower sd card slot, controls better on 60d
Very good camera and great images, but confusing design issues on this one. Only 1/180 max sync speed with is baffling. Thought the design and buttons better on the 60D.
WI-FI is great and easy for sending photos straight to iPhone.
I traded in a 5DM2 for this camera and do not regret it. It is a lot lighter, less of a clunk when mirror closes (always found that a problem with Mark 2) and noise levels are pretty much the same as the 5DM3.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site