Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / EOS Digital Cameras Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop EOS Digital Cameras or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EOS 6D

EOS 6D

Newly-designed 20.2 Megapixel Full-Frame CMOS sensor, and DIGIC 5+ Image Processor New 11-point AF with EV-3 sensitivity (center point) Full HD Video Built-in Wi-Fi and GPS Receiver
Average Customer Rating:
4.584 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(113 Reviews) 113
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (113 reviews)
5 stars
84
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
2
79 out of 81(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EOS 6D
Review 1 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Aburns
Location: Texas
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Just buy it!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 15, 2015
I just upgraded from the Tebel xsi to my new 6D. WOW! This camera is everything and more. Photo quality is amazing, ISO capability blows me away, and the wifi and gps are awesome. All of the button placing is great and makes for ease of use as well. Just an incredible product. Im in love!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EOS 6D
Nickname: RGH
Location: upstate NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

jump to full frame

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2015
After a long wait I recently made the move from my faithful
40d to full frame and I'm not looking back. The image quality
is better than I had expected and I know from my first results that I am totally satisfied.
Review 3 for EOS 6D
Nickname: T

MANUAL SETTING NOT FULLY MANUAL

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 6, 2015
THIS CAMERA IS NOT FULLY MANUAL. Exposure Compensation function is not optional in manual mode. DON'T SELL ME SOMETHING THAT'S SUPPOSEDLY MANUAL WHEN IT'S REALLY NOT.
If you want consistency in your exposures, this is not the camera.
Other than that the camera is fine.
5 of 35 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EOS 6D
Nickname: ollies123
Location: west seneca Ny
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

my canon 6d

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 20, 2015
I finally upgraded my EOS rebel which I loved for years to a 6d. unbelievable... the quality of the camera and the picture I can take with it.
I would recommend it to everyone.
thank you Canon...
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EOS 6D
Nickname: plummpj
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great performer!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2015
If you're thinking full frame- give the 6D a hard look. You can't beat it's low light performance (high ISO low noise). It's auto focus is often maligned, but using the center focus point I can track flying birds and get sharp images almost always. And I think it's shooting frame rate is fast enough for all but the most demanding sports shooters.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Cat
Location: Seattle, Wa
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Now I feel like a Real Professional!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 11, 2015
This camera is more amazing than I could have imagined! It was more money than I spent on a camera before but WOW! Is it ever worth it! Great photos, amazing options and settings, and not overly complicated. I love the wifi ability so I can connect with my smartphone and take pics remotely. The clarity and sharpness of the pics are incredible. I have yet to really discover any issues or dislikes with the camera. Overall.... Best money I have ever spent. Anxiously awaiting to discover what many more options I have in my career with this camera.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Love Photography
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

6D

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2015
You know, I really love this camera.
Image quality is the best Canon has (pending the new 5Ds next summer). IQ is somewhat better than even the 5DIII.
It could lock on quicker for sports, and if you're primarily into shooting rapid action, you'd best go for the 5DIII, or 5D4 when it comes out next year. And, rather than having to buy an ef 8-15 or ef 11-24mm for panoramic shots I wish it had a panorama function like my iPhone6+. But, if you're into slower stuff, landscape, portraits, etc. This is just a great camera, and the Canon EF lenses and selected lenses from 3rd party manufacturers work very well with it. Would buy it again, absolutely no doubt about it.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EOS 6D
Nickname: photofanatic
Location: Baltimore, Md
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

It is OK!

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2015
I used the Canon 6d. There are cons and pros on this camera.
Cons.
There are time the AF is hunting for the wrong subject.
It missed the white balance at the finger tip.
It has only one card storage.
Shutter is a little slow.
Shutter is not as durable.
LCD screen doesn't come on until you switch to live view.
The battery life is only fair.
Connection to Windows 7 may have problem.
Pros
The controls are easy to understand.
The noise reduction is very good even in high ISO.
The camera is very comfortable to handle.
The price is good for a full size sensor.
3 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EOS 6D
Nickname: ScottB
Location: Weymouth, MA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2015
I am new to the world of professional photography and was stepping up to a new camera. Although happy with my Canon EOS Rebel T1i I wanted to move to full frame body. I compared features and felt that the Canon EOS 6D was an amazing camera. Especially for the price. Although the Canon 5D Mk III has some additional features that would be nice, at this point in my photography career the Canon 6D has all the features I need for half the price. Additionally it has features that the 5D MkIII does not have. It has GPS and WiFi built in. A nice touch. I have had the camera for several weeks now and I am very satisfied with my choice.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Canon Guy
Location: Hyderabad, India
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Wish list

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2015
Hello Canon,
I wish you had put Articulating screen on this camera, Please make it possible on 6D Mark ii. Also there is nothing wrong with a pop up flash on a 6D. I also wish you improve the focus points atleast equal to 60D. And its a full frame camera, Please put dual card slots.
If you want to differentiate 6D from 5Ds, Please put Less focus points or Do Not put weather seals etc...
Or at least accommodate Articulating screen + wifi and a pop up flash in 5D Mark iv, I will immediately upgrade to it.
Please make it happen...
I also have 70D which is charm to use with the articulate Touch screen. The possibilities are unlimited with the cam's Wifi abilities. Its a total package, The only thing I wish it had was a full frame sensor and a dual card slot.
Canon please think about it. I have used a Canon AE1 for almost a decade before going digital with Eos Rebel. So for almost 25 years I have been using Dslrs of Canon. Even my background is BFA Photography. Please someone up in Canon company think about what we desire, We are sure you are great, but just need little addons to what you already offer.
Regards,
Ajay Tangudu
8 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Blue
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera - Known issues

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2015
I purchased this camera mainly because I didn't want to make the price jump to the 5D Mk III. So far this camera has taken fantastic images and videos. It has also been perfect for the beginnings of a small photography business. For a full frame camera you can't beat the price. Also the ability that the camera give you to take images in low lighting is amazing.
My number 1 complaint of the camera so far is that the dial cap for the setting selection randomly popped off while in the camera bag. After doing some research this seems to be a fairly common issue. I contacted Canon about fixing the issue, but unfortunately my warranty had expired 2 months ago. A bit frustrating because I was deployed for the past 6 months and not able to enjoy the camera.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Tomvette
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great low light camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2015
I've had this camera for about 8 months. It replaced a Canon 7D that was excellent. This new camera blows the 7D away for any low light photography. The jpeg photos are very usable all the way to 51K ISO and outstanding at 12K ISO.
I tend to shoot vacation and family photos often involving indoor settings. The great cathedrals in Europe often do not allow flash photography and the 6Ds low light capability produces stunning photos, while minimizing camera shake.
If you are a sports photographer shooting with lots of light, the comparably priced new Canon 7D Mk 2 is a good choice. It shoots much faster and has a larger focusing area. As I am "old school" I leverage the 6Ds center focus point which can focus in -3EV and recompose before shooting. I find this gives me extremely accurate and reliable focus results. With fast motion photography, this method is difficult to execute.
In closing, this camera with the 24-105mm L lens makes a top tier travel camera.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EOS 6D
Nickname: dooxie
Location: Xanthi, GR
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

The good can get better

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2015
I appreciate the low price for a full frame camera and the benefits of it (great picture quality, low noise in high iso, excellent video quality). It may not be the best built camera ever but it is sturdy enough and with a good size, not too big, not too small and with a good grip. The upgrades that would make it much much better imho is an articulated screen like the one we see on the 70d with the touch-screen focusing system for the videos and a better focusing system with more focusing points like the ones in the 7d mk II or at least like the ones in 70d. That would make it an almost perfect camera, at least to me.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Mazzinissss
Location: OK
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Excellent Value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2015
I have tried multiple cameras as a professional photographer including Weddings, Family Portraits, Night Sky, landscape and I must say that Im impressed with the quality of this product. Way cheaper than buying a 5d mkiii if you are on a budget, amazing colors, solid body. Focusing system is not a good as the mk iii but honestly the center focus is amazingly precise and amazing at low light with good ISO performance as well.
In my opinion its way better than the mk ii.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EOS 6D
Nickname: membracid
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Canon camera I've owned

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2015
My Canon 6D is the fourth Canon camera and the best one I've owned. I photograph insects and need to see detail and the 6D combined with my MPE-65 Canon lens delivers. The full frame allows a little more depth of field than the crop sensors. The great IQ at high ISO's is mind blowing.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EOS 6D
Nickname: quky
Location: houston
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

what a nice ff camera.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2015
Incredible low light performance.This camera has top notch image quality in a compact package.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EOS 6D
Nickname: max
Location: Austin, TX
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love My 6D!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2015
This is the greatest camera I've ever owned! I'm 63 yrs old. I still have my old, original Canon F1 I bought in Japan in the 70s. I've had many cameras, and a number of Canon digital cameras. I have a 2yr degree in photography. And.....I LOVE this camera. It does everything I want and more. The photos from it are stunning. The colors and resolution are outstanding. This is my first full frame digital and I could not be more impressed. I might even prefer this to the 5D for ergonomic reasons. The build quality is extremely high. I bought mine refurbished from the Canon web site and have been very impressed. It looked brand new. It could have been sold for brand new. Thanks Canon!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Grubby
Location: Central Florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2015
Upgraded from a Rebel. Wanted a full frame camera and video capabilty and just way overdue for a high quality camera.
Review 19 for EOS 6D
Nickname: thunderboltII
Location: Abingdon, VA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Canon 6D

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2014
I made this purchase to upgrade my photo skills. I have been shooting with a Canon XSi 450D for the past eight years and had reached this cameras limits.
I am now very impressed with what I have seen so far. But this is a major step up for me and I am having to relearn how shoot with this camera because of the major differences between the two camera frames. But with each new item I learn, it only gets better. Most of the time I shoot in Manual and with the 6D, it's a little harder to do on the run. But like I said before, with a little more time to get use to this frame I will be liking it even more. I just wish it had the ISO button on the outside of the chassis instead of on the screen along with the white balance light button. As for the quality of the photos it takes, I could not be happier.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EOS 6D
Nickname: blekenbleu
Location: Ediston Island. SC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

irritating controls, slow & weak live view focus

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2014
As a long-time Canon APS-C owner, having always accumulated EF lenses in anticipation of owning a full-frame body, the 6D's image quality and low light perfomance with f2.8L glass is very satisfying.
Needing to continually refer to documentation, for example to select image recording formats (confusingly labelled Image quality), then e.g. struggling with TWO controls for that ONE menu item becomes infuriating.
Other potentially useful menu options being opaquely named (e.g. "Auto Lighting Optimizer") discourage one from experimenting with them.
While increased field of view and depth of focus control inherent with full frame sensors motivate carrying it around, my 6D will likely be relegated to backup status; a 16-35 f2.8L might be more often appropriate for shots impossible with long telephoto lens on an APS-C primary body, a 40mm f2.8 STM will be less hassle (consequently more often lugged around) on this anti-intuitive secondary body.
Reviewers suggest that a 6D viewfinder is more useful than those on APS-C bodies; I have not noticed any appreciable benefit.
Bottom line: I might have felt obligated to try (and more irritated by) making a 5D mkIII my primary body, had I opted to invest more in 35mm imaging. Except that its ergonometrics will probably prove as aggravating (to me) as the 6D's, I anticipate eventually pairing a 7D mkII with the 6D, rather than spending roughly the same on a (reportedy soon to be obsoleted) 5D mkIII.
One can appreciate Canon offering relatively sophisiticated options while also hating that inadequate thought and care has been invested in intelligently organizing and documenting control of those options. Sadly, abdicating to the aftermarket for useful documentation has become typical.
3 of 10 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site