Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / EOS Digital Cameras Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop EOS Digital Cameras or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EOS 6D

EOS 6D

Newly-designed 20.2 Megapixel Full-Frame CMOS sensor, and DIGIC 5+ Image Processor New 11-point AF with EV-3 sensitivity (center point) Full HD Video Built-in Wi-Fi and GPS Receiver
Average Customer Rating:
4.589 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(107 Reviews) 107
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (107 reviews)
5 stars
79
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
2
79 out of 81(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EOS 6D
Review 1 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Love Photography
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

6D

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2015
You know, I really love this camera.
Image quality is the best Canon has (pending the new 5Ds next summer). IQ is somewhat better than even the 5DIII.
It could lock on quicker for sports, and if you're primarily into shooting rapid action, you'd best go for the 5DIII, or 5D4 when it comes out next year. And, rather than having to buy an ef 8-15 or ef 11-24mm for panoramic shots I wish it had a panorama function like my iPhone6+. But, if you're into slower stuff, landscape, portraits, etc. This is just a great camera, and the Canon EF lenses and selected lenses from 3rd party manufacturers work very well with it. Would buy it again, absolutely no doubt about it.
Review 2 for EOS 6D
Nickname: photofanatic
Location: Baltimore, Md
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

It is OK!

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2015
I used the Canon 6d. There are cons and pros on this camera.
Cons.
There are time the AF is hunting for the wrong subject.
It missed the white balance at the finger tip.
It has only one card storage.
Shutter is a little slow.
Shutter is not as durable.
LCD screen doesn't come on until you switch to live view.
The battery life is only fair.
Connection to Windows 7 may have problem.
Pros
The controls are easy to understand.
The noise reduction is very good even in high ISO.
The camera is very comfortable to handle.
The price is good for a full size sensor.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EOS 6D
Nickname: ScottB
Location: Weymouth, MA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2015
I am new to the world of professional photography and was stepping up to a new camera. Although happy with my Canon EOS Rebel T1i I wanted to move to full frame body. I compared features and felt that the Canon EOS 6D was an amazing camera. Especially for the price. Although the Canon 5D Mk III has some additional features that would be nice, at this point in my photography career the Canon 6D has all the features I need for half the price. Additionally it has features that the 5D MkIII does not have. It has GPS and WiFi built in. A nice touch. I have had the camera for several weeks now and I am very satisfied with my choice.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Canon Guy
Location: Hyderabad, India
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Wish list

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2015
Hello Canon,
I wish you had put Articulating screen on this camera, Please make it possible on 6D Mark ii. Also there is nothing wrong with a pop up flash on a 6D. I also wish you improve the focus points atleast equal to 60D. And its a full frame camera, Please put dual card slots.
If you want to differentiate 6D from 5Ds, Please put Less focus points or Do Not put weather seals etc...
Or at least accommodate Articulating screen + wifi and a pop up flash in 5D Mark iv, I will immediately upgrade to it.
Please make it happen...
I also have 70D which is charm to use with the articulate Touch screen. The possibilities are unlimited with the cam's Wifi abilities. Its a total package, The only thing I wish it had was a full frame sensor and a dual card slot.
Canon please think about it. I have used a Canon AE1 for almost a decade before going digital with Eos Rebel. So for almost 25 years I have been using Dslrs of Canon. Even my background is BFA Photography. Please someone up in Canon company think about what we desire, We are sure you are great, but just need little addons to what you already offer.
Regards,
Ajay Tangudu
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Blue
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera - Known issues

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2015
I purchased this camera mainly because I didn't want to make the price jump to the 5D Mk III. So far this camera has taken fantastic images and videos. It has also been perfect for the beginnings of a small photography business. For a full frame camera you can't beat the price. Also the ability that the camera give you to take images in low lighting is amazing.
My number 1 complaint of the camera so far is that the dial cap for the setting selection randomly popped off while in the camera bag. After doing some research this seems to be a fairly common issue. I contacted Canon about fixing the issue, but unfortunately my warranty had expired 2 months ago. A bit frustrating because I was deployed for the past 6 months and not able to enjoy the camera.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Tomvette
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great low light camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2015
I've had this camera for about 8 months. It replaced a Canon 7D that was excellent. This new camera blows the 7D away for any low light photography. The jpeg photos are very usable all the way to 51K ISO and outstanding at 12K ISO.
I tend to shoot vacation and family photos often involving indoor settings. The great cathedrals in Europe often do not allow flash photography and the 6Ds low light capability produces stunning photos, while minimizing camera shake.
If you are a sports photographer shooting with lots of light, the comparably priced new Canon 7D Mk 2 is a good choice. It shoots much faster and has a larger focusing area. As I am "old school" I leverage the 6Ds center focus point which can focus in -3EV and recompose before shooting. I find this gives me extremely accurate and reliable focus results. With fast motion photography, this method is difficult to execute.
In closing, this camera with the 24-105mm L lens makes a top tier travel camera.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EOS 6D
Nickname: dooxie
Location: Xanthi, GR
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

The good can get better

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2015
I appreciate the low price for a full frame camera and the benefits of it (great picture quality, low noise in high iso, excellent video quality). It may not be the best built camera ever but it is sturdy enough and with a good size, not too big, not too small and with a good grip. The upgrades that would make it much much better imho is an articulated screen like the one we see on the 70d with the touch-screen focusing system for the videos and a better focusing system with more focusing points like the ones in the 7d mk II or at least like the ones in 70d. That would make it an almost perfect camera, at least to me.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Mazzinissss
Location: OK
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Excellent Value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2015
I have tried multiple cameras as a professional photographer including Weddings, Family Portraits, Night Sky, landscape and I must say that Im impressed with the quality of this product. Way cheaper than buying a 5d mkiii if you are on a budget, amazing colors, solid body. Focusing system is not a good as the mk iii but honestly the center focus is amazingly precise and amazing at low light with good ISO performance as well.
In my opinion its way better than the mk ii.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EOS 6D
Nickname: membracid
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Canon camera I've owned

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2015
My Canon 6D is the fourth Canon camera and the best one I've owned. I photograph insects and need to see detail and the 6D combined with my MPE-65 Canon lens delivers. The full frame allows a little more depth of field than the crop sensors. The great IQ at high ISO's is mind blowing.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EOS 6D
Nickname: quky
Location: houston
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

what a nice ff camera.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2015
Incredible low light performance.This camera has top notch image quality in a compact package.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EOS 6D
Nickname: max
Location: Austin, TX
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love My 6D!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2015
This is the greatest camera I've ever owned! I'm 63 yrs old. I still have my old, original Canon F1 I bought in Japan in the 70s. I've had many cameras, and a number of Canon digital cameras. I have a 2yr degree in photography. And.....I LOVE this camera. It does everything I want and more. The photos from it are stunning. The colors and resolution are outstanding. This is my first full frame digital and I could not be more impressed. I might even prefer this to the 5D for ergonomic reasons. The build quality is extremely high. I bought mine refurbished from the Canon web site and have been very impressed. It looked brand new. It could have been sold for brand new. Thanks Canon!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Grubby
Location: Central Florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2015
Upgraded from a Rebel. Wanted a full frame camera and video capabilty and just way overdue for a high quality camera.
Review 13 for EOS 6D
Nickname: thunderboltII
Location: Abingdon, VA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Canon 6D

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2014
I made this purchase to upgrade my photo skills. I have been shooting with a Canon XSi 450D for the past eight years and had reached this cameras limits.
I am now very impressed with what I have seen so far. But this is a major step up for me and I am having to relearn how shoot with this camera because of the major differences between the two camera frames. But with each new item I learn, it only gets better. Most of the time I shoot in Manual and with the 6D, it's a little harder to do on the run. But like I said before, with a little more time to get use to this frame I will be liking it even more. I just wish it had the ISO button on the outside of the chassis instead of on the screen along with the white balance light button. As for the quality of the photos it takes, I could not be happier.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EOS 6D
Nickname: blekenbleu
Location: Ediston Island. SC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

irritating controls, slow & weak live view focus

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2014
As a long-time Canon APS-C owner, having always accumulated EF lenses in anticipation of owning a full-frame body, the 6D's image quality and low light perfomance with f2.8L glass is very satisfying.
Needing to continually refer to documentation, for example to select image recording formats (confusingly labelled Image quality), then e.g. struggling with TWO controls for that ONE menu item becomes infuriating.
Other potentially useful menu options being opaquely named (e.g. "Auto Lighting Optimizer") discourage one from experimenting with them.
While increased field of view and depth of focus control inherent with full frame sensors motivate carrying it around, my 6D will likely be relegated to backup status; a 16-35 f2.8L might be more often appropriate for shots impossible with long telephoto lens on an APS-C primary body, a 40mm f2.8 STM will be less hassle (consequently more often lugged around) on this anti-intuitive secondary body.
Reviewers suggest that a 6D viewfinder is more useful than those on APS-C bodies; I have not noticed any appreciable benefit.
Bottom line: I might have felt obligated to try (and more irritated by) making a 5D mkIII my primary body, had I opted to invest more in 35mm imaging. Except that its ergonometrics will probably prove as aggravating (to me) as the 6D's, I anticipate eventually pairing a 7D mkII with the 6D, rather than spending roughly the same on a (reportedy soon to be obsoleted) 5D mkIII.
One can appreciate Canon offering relatively sophisiticated options while also hating that inadequate thought and care has been invested in intelligently organizing and documenting control of those options. Sadly, abdicating to the aftermarket for useful documentation has become typical.
2 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EOS 6D
Nickname: coolcat2
Location: Stuart, Florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love this Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 10, 2014
I purchased this camera after seeing the holiday savings package deal from B&H. The package included not only the 6D camera body but also the Canon Pro-10 printer and 50 sheets of Canon luster paper. I own a Canon 60D and this was and easy transition for me due to the same basic placement of the knobs and dials. I wanted to upgrade to a full-frame camera and at the price this was offered, I couldn't pass it up. After much deliberation on other trade up cameras from Canon, I found this to be my best choice.
I devoted a full day to setting up the camera using the instructions provided in Douglas J. Klostermann's book "The Canon 6D Experience". The detailed content of the operation and use of the camera is really quite easy, but my favorite features are: full-frame image quality, GPS, WiFi, high ISO with little noise and weather proofing. I wasn't that concerned with super high burst capability such as I saw with the new Canon 7D Mark II; a camera heavily touted during the 2014 Christmas season.
The menu options are much more comprehensive than those in my Canon 60D. I forgive the fact that this camera does not have a built-in flash or articulating display screen. If I am really desperate for those two options, I will resort back to using my 6D.
Now I can hardly wait to get out and do some serious shooting beyond doing test shots around my house. At this point I can only say that I am very happy with this camera purchase and would recommend it to anyone who wants to move up to a full-frame model.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EOS 6D
Nickname: F. catus
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Exactly What I'd Hoped For

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2014
I'm a hobbyist photographer and I primarily shoot landscape/nature photos. I've been a happy EOS 40D shooter for the last six years. While the 40D was, and still is, a great camera, it does have some limitations in both low light and in high contrast lighting situations. I had been interested in making the jump to a full frame camera for a while, but I couldn't justify the expense of a 5DIII, nor did I need all of the features that it offers. Enter the 6D.
The 6D is a great value and a pleasure to shoot. I use the camera for still photography and its image quality is superb. The 6D's high ISO performance and dynamic range allow me to capture images that I could only dream of getting with the 40D. I was initially a little concerned about the 6D's polycarbonate body components. However, after shooting with it,I can say that it feels every bit as sturdy as the 40D and it's lighter to boot. I don't use the GPS function, so my battery life has been good so far. My only quibble with the camera is that I prefer the 40D's rear joystick to the 6D's directional wheel.
Overall, I would recommend the 6D to anyone looking to upgrade to full frame from a crop sensor camera who doesn't necessarily need all of the 5DIII's bells and whistles. It's a great camera.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Joey's eye
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Learning to use

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2014
My EOS 6D is fabulous. Now, if I could only learn to use it. The Wi-Fi basic instruction manual may seem easy for some, but I find it challenging. My initial reaction is that the instructions could be more user friendly, but we'll see. I bought the EOS 6D for these features, GPS included, and I will try to conquer their use. One thing I found disappointing in the first few weeks of use, however, is how quickly the battery seems to discharge. I've taken about 100 images and the remaining battery charge is just over 50%. I've disabled the VC on the lens and the image shown on the monitor just to see if this has some effect on the battery charge. My older digital camera could capture 1,000 shots and still go on on a single charge. ????
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Jesse K
Location: Boulder, CO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Software not current

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2014
"There is no - software for the OS Version you selected." That's the message on Canon's site for the current Mac OS, Yosemite. This little message means I now need to find workarounds for all the Canon software I've been using with my 6D. Whoever at Canon thinks this is acceptable, it is not. You need to prioritize keeping on top of software updates on Macs, which many pro's use. This is poor support. Please update your software.
30 of 42 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EOS 6D
Nickname: d4v!d
Location: Boston MA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

what a (pleasant) surprise!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 11, 2014
I bought this camera as an addition to my aging 5D II kit, primarily because this one had built in wi-fi. And right from the first minute with this camera, I was more than pleased - I was thrilled. For my use, architectural and studio, this combination is perfect. With clients hovering, I can manage a complete photoshoot from a 12.2 in tablet - which my clients really like. (Me too!) The color accuracy seems more accurate - and a bit more vibrant - than any previous model I've used. At this point the model is two years old so I imagine there is a Mk II coming - it will no doubt be awesome.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Mike
Location: So Cal
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera, Bad Support

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 7, 2014
The camera itself is great but support is lacking. OS X Yosemite has been out for a few weeks now and still no software support is available, preventing you from easily getting pictures from the camera to the computer. I'd expect more from Canon.
11 of 18 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site