Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / EOS Digital Cameras Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop EOS Digital Cameras or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EOS 6D

EOS 6D

Newly-designed 20.2 Megapixel Full-Frame CMOS sensor, and DIGIC 5+ Image Processor New 11-point AF with EV-3 sensitivity (center point) Full HD Video Built-in Wi-Fi and GPS Receiver
Average Customer Rating:
4.702 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(84 Reviews) 84
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (84 reviews)
5 stars
65
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
79 out of 81(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EOS 6D
Review 1 for EOS 6D
Nickname: arthur
Location: iowa
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Amazed, really.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 17, 2014
I shoot landscape and art pictures. I use the multi exposure capabilities fairly often. (Of course I also shoot family.) This camera is outstanding. Anyone truly committed to the highest image quality (short of medium format) is in full frame format. I have gradually increased the ISO at which I'm willing to shoot, as I see the uncompromised image quality of 400, 800, 1600, and beyond.
This camera is dense and compact, it feels like a million bucks. For what I do the auto focus is totally adequate. The frames per second, not a factor. I do use the video some, and in fact I augment the audio with a Rode Stereo Pro@ mike. I think the video quality is excellent.
The bottom line for me, though, is image quality, shooting JPEG images, and processing them on my Macbook Pro with retinal display screen, simple as pie, I get truly awesome professional results. I make metal prints to 16X24 and they are crisp and wonderful. I am obsessive and fastidious about image quality!
Arthur
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EOS 6D
Nickname: SPUD
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Poor Capabilities

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2014
This camera is slow. Does not focus well. To expensive for the return on performance.
1 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Giulia
Location: rome,italy
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

could be really a great camera

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2014
Hi
i own a 5d and 5d mark 2 , well i wanted to have another body , i bought the 6d
i really like it , the image quality , the center focusing point colors , really beautiful camera
what i did no like about the 6d is the missing joystick , and small rear dial ,the multicontroller , and the body slightly narrow
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EOS 6D
Nickname: PIC629
Location: Southern Maryland
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very Good Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: only a few focus points
I purchased the 6D as a second camera to my 1d MK 3. The primary purpose was to use for vacations and general use. I originally had a 60d for this purpose but wasn't satisfied with the camera. I have found that I am now using the 6D for weddings and special events as well as for everyday use.
The camera has a reasonable build quality balancing ruggedness with weight.
The quality of the pictures and the use of the full frame are excellent.
The only draw back I see in the camera are number of focus points and the fact that only the center point is both horizontal and vertical.
I use the camera primarily with a 24-105 4L as well as a 70-200 II 2.8L
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Leonardo
Location: Amarynthos, Evia GREECE
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very good but the focus points

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 6, 2014
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings
Hi all,
this is my first review for the canon 6D. I was about to get the 5D MarkIII but didnt have enough budget so i end up to the 6D, after reading so many reviews.
I had a bad feeling regarding the AF points but reading all these reviews, i understood that wont be a big issue.
Having the 6D, im really happy man, but i would expect from CANON to put more AF points and more + points.
Pictures depends on the lens coming up sharp. No issues with that.
The body has a nice feeling and its weight is perfect for traveling.
Compared to what i was expecting with other brands and Canon's previous products, i would like to see more AF points. This is a missing feature for this camera. Apart from that the AF works really good and accurate.
Review 6 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Tamandal1205
Location: Brooksville, Florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Wish it had....

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2014
Pros: excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Solid Operation, reduced light ability
Cons: Missing features/settings
I bought this Canon 6D to replace a DX camera from another manufacturer. I wanted to move up to FX and I liked the quality of the Canon, especially the 24-105L lens, over the other brand. In short, the photographs are amazing, especially in reduced light. This camera's high ISO performance, alone, made the purchase worthwhile. I'm not sure if it's the camera/sensor quality or just switching to FX, but the reduced light abilities amaze me. Please, Canon, give us a built in flash and second memory card slot. That's ALL this camera needs to be perfect!
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EOS 6D
Nickname: ForestDweller
Location: Northern Minnesota
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Wonderful Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 19, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Solid Operation, easy to use
This camera was an upgrade from the 40D and the difference is astounding. Image quality is exceptional. Having migrated to digital from large format for all my serious photography I found the 40D somewhat limited. In contrast, images captured with the 6D are wonderful and a suitable replacement for large format.
I like the way the menu is set up and it is fairly easy to use.
With the exception of sports photography where I use auto focus and auto exposure, I generally use manual settings for most of my work. The spot meter is accurate and I find manual focus overcomes the limitation that autofocus can be confused by complex images.
The ISO range is unbelievable. Night time images can be captured without a tripod, you just get high ISO background that you need to remove in subsequent processing. Tripod shots with a remote are easy to set up as well.
All in all, this is a remarkable camera at a reasonable price.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EOS 6D
Nickname: KSchey
Location: Chicago
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Decision ever!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2014
Pros: quiet, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use, wifi connectivety ability, full frame
Cons: wifi connectivety doesn't always work
I like the feel, weight, and overall handling of the camera. I like the idea behind the WiFi of being able to transfer photos to my iPhone with out the need of using a card reader. The only real complaint where the engineers put the exposure compensation function, and the camera doesn't always connect to my iPhone using the wifi function.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EOS 6D
Nickname: showme
Location: Missouri
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 11, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: manual not for the nearsighted., manual needs to be book size.
The Canon 6D surprised me in just how good it is. It has especially good low light performance and the noise can be handled up to at least 6400 ISO. While the camera is probably best for landscapes and portraits, it can be used in wildlife and nature. The shutter speed means it is not that great for say birds in flight, but normally 100% of the shots will be in focus and you can use a high ISO to maintain shutter speed without introducing too much noise. A 7D is certainly much faster, but in low light focus will often be missed and there will be noticeably more noise at high ISOs.
Do I have complaints about the camera, no not for the use I have for it. That said though jpeg only for some features would bother me if I used those features;
In closure, if you want a quality full frame camera and either cannot afford or do not wish to spend the bucks for a 5D MIII the 6D is an excellent choice. In my opinion the camera is better than a 5D MII
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EOS 6D
Nickname: ryan4449
Location: Sacramento,CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Love this camera!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 11, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation
Take mainly outdoor landscapes. Having the built in GPS is a plus. Wish the LCD rotated. Great pictures. Got the grip/battery pack to deal the with GPS drain on batteries - makes camera easier to use. Wish the camera was a little faster and had the ability to download the HDR individual images like the 5D. Very rugged.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EOS 6D
Nickname: nikkii
Location: mayhill, New Mexico
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

better than expected.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2014
Pros: excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
at first i wasnt to sure about this camera but after a week i fell in love. very good imagine quality.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EOS 6D
Nickname: jeffa4444
Location: London
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Outstanding

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: dust in optics & sensor
Bought this camera back in October 2013 and Im consistantly amazed by the quality of the images produced. The camera is easy to use but retains a large degree of flexability & customization. the Wi-Fi works great with Canon iPhone app. and the GPS is accurate & easy to use (turn it off after use it saps the battery if left on).
My only gripe is dirt getting on the sensor more easily that my 7d & in around the ground glass.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Garen
Location: SF Bay Area
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Another Excellent Camera by Canon

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 20, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: wifi transfer to lan storage, no swivel back
Pros. Every feature in this camera is well thought out. The controls are more akin to my way of handling a camera design from the 80s and the 90s. Remarkably low noise sensor. Need for flash is not there except for special situations. This camera is heavier than Canon's T line. I shoot a lot of B&W. This camera does an excellent job at B&W.
Cons: I would like to see this camera use WiFi to transfer images to a hard disk on LAN. Hence 1 star removed from the features ranking. I would also like to see a swiveling LCD back.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EOS 6D
Nickname: pbj

Nearly Perfect

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 19, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings
I have had this camera for over a year. It does everything I need it to and excels at it except for one think: tracking a moving subject. Auto focus with the center point is amazing, spot on more than any camera I've used, but when it needs to track using multiple points, it's almost as if the camera can't decide which point to use and just ends up seeking, never mind missing the focus, more than anything. Besides this I have zero complaints, and nothing but praise for the model.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EOS 6D
Nickname: JJ
Location: SLC, UT
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Value in a Full Frame

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I was so impressed after trying this camera that I sold my 5D III to buy this and a 70D. Best camera combination I have yet to own. The image quality of the 6D at higher ISO is actually better than the 5D III, sure it lacks a few of the features, but at less than half the price, I'll take it any day. This is my go to camera for Portraits and landscape photography and I use the 70D for sports and video. Either camera makes a great backup to the other, even though neither has ever let me down.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Terminator
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Camera Yet.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 24, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I've owned the T3i, 60D and 6D. Have been able to sell the first two at reasonable prices to upgrade to the next. Each time the quality of the photos has improved. Hopefully I've learned some tricks as well as improvements in the cameras. The 6D has all the latest features that I wanted. i.e. WiFi, GPS, full frame, etc. I think I've found the best camera for me.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EOS 6D
Nickname: DoctorPepper
Location: Palm Coast, FL
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Excellent full frame DSLR on a budget

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 22, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I've owned my EOS 6D for over four months now, and I've taken it with me pretty much everywhere. I'm not a pro, but I use the heck out of my cameras.
I also have an EOS Rebel T3i, which I still use, but I wanted the 6D for its better low light capabilities and full frame sensor. The T3i feels almost like a toy in my hands, but the 6D feels just right. Just the right amount of weight, the right size to carry comfortably.
I got the EF 24-105 f/4L lens along with my 6D, and I think the two of them are just about the most perfect combination of camera and lens. Sure, I sometimes wish for a bit more wide angle for a shot, or a bit more zoom for a far away shot, but all in all, these two are just right.
The only real things I would like to see changed on the 6D are the shutter speed (yes, sometimes 1/4000th of a second is too slow!), and I would like the view finder to be 100%, instead of 97%. That's it!
Great camera, thanks Canon!
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EOS 6D
Nickname: pearl
Location: Sunbury, Pa
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Amazing product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2014
Pros: excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, easy to use
Cons: noisy, Heavy/Bulky
I use the 6D for my wedding photography business, and am absolutely enthralled with it! Amazing image quality, and is very easy to use. I would definitely recommend this camera to anyone who wants a reliable camera for their business.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Auburnflyer
Location: West Coast
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great Product Value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2014
Pros: quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, great value
I received my second Full Frame Canon camera recently since I do not change lens in the field and wanted a back up camera for the 70-200IS Mk II lens. The 6D is a great camera and gives me the flexibility of having a backup camera to the 5D MKIII. I can use either camera in complete confidence when I want a different lens with a longer range. Both have extra clear pictures and either can take HD video. I like the features and the feel of the 6D since it is lighter than the 5D and the pictures are excellent and they compare very closely to the quality of the 5D.
I would recommend this camera to anyone wanting a Full Frame camera. It has plenty of features and it is very easy to use.
I was surprised that the 6D HDR mode does not include the three pictures that make up the composite picture. The 5D gives me all three of the pictures plus the composite picture. You can edit those with software if you wanted to create an HDR file with your choice of details. picture.
.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EOS 6D
Nickname: foster1013
Location: Central New Jersey
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Used it for over a year now and its great.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 21, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu
Cons: Missing features/settings, cropped view finder, does not have a pc socket
As mentioned in the title, I've had the camera for over a year and its performed wonderfully. My first shoot after the purchase was following the Big Apple Circus for a couple of days. The high ISO settings helped out with all the tricky lighting situations under the big top. I've since shot countless jobs, the performance and image quality has been excellent.
One major down side and a total oversight on my part when I was camera shopping is that it does not have a PC port.
I tested the 6D with the 600EX-RT and ST-E3-RT. I was disappointed that Rear Curtain Sync/2nd Curtain Sync / High Speed Sync were not reliable with this set up.
That aside, overall I think its a great camera. Particularly for someone looking to upgrade from the Rebel series or videographers.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site