Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / EOS Digital Cameras Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop EOS Digital Cameras or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products

Customer Reviews for EOS 6D

EOS 6D

Newly-designed 20.2 Megapixel Full-Frame CMOS sensor, and DIGIC 5+ Image Processor New 11-point AF with EV-3 sensitivity (center point) Full HD Video Built-in Wi-Fi and GPS Receiver
Average Customer Rating:
4.597 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(119 Reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (119 reviews)
5 stars
89
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
2
79 out of 81(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EOS 6D
Review 1 for EOS 6D
Nickname: westernsloper
Location: Colorado
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Canon 6D 6 months in

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 26, 2015
I purchased the 6D for my wife for Christmas. I have a 5Dmk3 to compare. The image quality is remarkable. Low-light is possibly a touch better than the 5Dmk3. The focus system is very good and for stills and most shots as good as the 5Dmk3, which holds the advantage on sports/action shots.
The primary drawback is that the build quality is slightly less. It is much lighter (advantage) and has less metal underneath the skin (disadvantage). Like many other 6D owners, we have lost the cover to the mode dial, but haven't yet lost the Quick Control Dial that others have.. I understand these are easily replaceable, but come on Canon!
We have made some use of the wireless capabilities although they are a bit difficult to setup and use (I am an IT person and still struggle a bit getting things to work reliably).
If you are looking for a full frame camera at a great price point with excellent picture quality and a few extra bells and whistles, and don't tmind losing a few button covers, I can recommend the 6D.
Review 2 for EOS 6D
Nickname: genenky
Location: Independence, Ky
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 10, 2015
this camera is beyond what I expected. has all the bells and whistles I will ever need
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Jerry
Location: Hermantown, MN
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Waited a long time for this camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 20, 2015
I’ve been waiting for a semi-professional camera body with built in GPS. Traveling around the U.S. it is difficult to recall exactly where any particular photo was taken. This camera does it automatically. There are more features I will be exploring over the next several months, i.e., WI-FI capability. As I use only “L” lenses (HINT: without quality glass, it doesn't matter which camera body one uses), there are no arguments with the picture quality. I only shoot large RAW format, but when I have the prints made, the JPEG files are bigger (average 6-8 MB), which allows for a larger quality print size. If you’re looking for a camera body which is flexible for landscape as well as portraits AND ‘relatively’ inexpensive, I would have no hesitation to recommend this camera body. While I will use this as my main camera body, eventually I will add the 5ds body for wedding & portraits due to the larger sensor size.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EOS 6D
Nickname: MNeosuser
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Best IQ and good WiFi

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 1, 2015
This is an ideal camera for landscape, cityscape and studio photography, or basically anything except quick action, with an image quality that is as good or better than any other camera in the lineup. Really good high ISO performance. The WiFi is wonderful for taking and adjusting bracketed shots without having to touch the camera and accidentally moving it if you want to retake your bracket. Also convenient when camera is in an uncomfortable or awkward position for continuous viewfinder use. I love this camera, it really is a no brainer for anyone looking for wonderful image quality. There are a few differences between this and the pricier Canon models, but the only one I really wish I had would be the dual card slots.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Dngrov257
Location: Topsham, Maine
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love the Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2015
I have owned my 6D for 2.5 years, and love the camera. The images are great, even at high ISOs. The AF works better than the specs suggest, but it hunt for focus when using the non center point in low contrast situations.
For the 6D II, the only things I would change is to add a few more AF points to bring the total to 19 and make at least 10 of them cross type, like the center point on the current model and improve the burst rate to 6fps. I would also add a de dedicated white balance button.
And while your at it, offer a 50MM f1.8 with same optical and build quality of the 35MM f2.0 for about the same price as the 35mm f2.0!!!!
Review 6 for EOS 6D
Nickname: LIONHEART NYC
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Stunning Full Frame Package

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2015
My review of the Canon 6D. When I first considered upgrading from my Rebel T5 to a higher end professional DSLR, I vacillated between (arguably the best APS-C body) the 7D Mark II and the (‘entry level’ full frame body) 6D. I choose the 7D Mark II and had an unforgettable and amazing experience with it. However, I felt compelled by myself and others to make the jump to full frame to maximize the amount light, resolution and proper application of full frame L Lenses. Since now owning the 6D, I'm in awe at how stunning this camera is, almost regret not buying it sooner. Here are some the key reasons I purchased the 6D.
FULL FRAME
At 20.2 MP, on a full frame sensor provides some of the sharpest, crisp, and colorful images. I have not been disappointed with image quality.
HIGH ISO
The 6D allows the photographer to shoot excellent pictures in low light situations with a range from 50 (Manual ISO) or 100 to 12,800.
GPS
For me, this is necessary because I like to travel and record the locations I have been to and extract the information for later reference.
Wi-Fi
I may not use it that much, but having the ability to tether the photos recently taken on the fly and connect to a smart phone using a separate Wi-Fi connection and the EOS Remote App does take digital photography to a whole new level. It is extremely impressive! This will be a new standard for the industry in the future, you can count on that.
SILENT MODE
Not all DSLRs have this feature, and it very important to me for many of the situations I am in that requires reducing shutter noise.
The 6D has all the right stuff and I would highly suggest aspiring photographers who are looking to go full frame consider this model. Canon designed the 6D with a high level of care, excellent build quality and very enjoyable functionality.
Thank you for reading!
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Aburns
Location: Texas
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Just buy it!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 15, 2015
I just upgraded from the Tebel xsi to my new 6D. WOW! This camera is everything and more. Photo quality is amazing, ISO capability blows me away, and the wifi and gps are awesome. All of the button placing is great and makes for ease of use as well. Just an incredible product. Im in love!
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EOS 6D
Nickname: RGH
Location: upstate NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

jump to full frame

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2015
After a long wait I recently made the move from my faithful
40d to full frame and I'm not looking back. The image quality
is better than I had expected and I know from my first results that I am totally satisfied.
Review 9 for EOS 6D
Nickname: T

MANUAL SETTING NOT FULLY MANUAL

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 6, 2015
THIS CAMERA IS NOT FULLY MANUAL. Exposure Compensation function is not optional in manual mode. DON'T SELL ME SOMETHING THAT'S SUPPOSEDLY MANUAL WHEN IT'S REALLY NOT.
If you want consistency in your exposures, this is not the camera.
Other than that the camera is fine.
9 of 48 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EOS 6D
Nickname: ollies123
Location: west seneca Ny
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

my canon 6d

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 20, 2015
I finally upgraded my EOS rebel which I loved for years to a 6d. unbelievable... the quality of the camera and the picture I can take with it.
I would recommend it to everyone.
thank you Canon...
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EOS 6D
Nickname: plummpj
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great performer!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2015
If you're thinking full frame- give the 6D a hard look. You can't beat it's low light performance (high ISO low noise). It's auto focus is often maligned, but using the center focus point I can track flying birds and get sharp images almost always. And I think it's shooting frame rate is fast enough for all but the most demanding sports shooters.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Cat
Location: Seattle, Wa
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Now I feel like a Real Professional!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 11, 2015
This camera is more amazing than I could have imagined! It was more money than I spent on a camera before but WOW! Is it ever worth it! Great photos, amazing options and settings, and not overly complicated. I love the wifi ability so I can connect with my smartphone and take pics remotely. The clarity and sharpness of the pics are incredible. I have yet to really discover any issues or dislikes with the camera. Overall.... Best money I have ever spent. Anxiously awaiting to discover what many more options I have in my career with this camera.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Love Photography
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

6D

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2015
You know, I really love this camera.
Image quality is the best Canon has (pending the new 5Ds next summer). IQ is somewhat better than even the 5DIII.
It could lock on quicker for sports, and if you're primarily into shooting rapid action, you'd best go for the 5DIII, or 5D4 when it comes out next year. And, rather than having to buy an ef 8-15 or ef 11-24mm for panoramic shots I wish it had a panorama function like my iPhone6+. But, if you're into slower stuff, landscape, portraits, etc. This is just a great camera, and the Canon EF lenses and selected lenses from 3rd party manufacturers work very well with it. Would buy it again, absolutely no doubt about it.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EOS 6D
Nickname: photofanatic
Location: Baltimore, Md
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

It is OK!

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2015
I used the Canon 6d. There are cons and pros on this camera.
Cons.
There are time the AF is hunting for the wrong subject.
It missed the white balance at the finger tip.
It has only one card storage.
Shutter is a little slow.
Shutter is not as durable.
LCD screen doesn't come on until you switch to live view.
The battery life is only fair.
Connection to Windows 7 may have problem.
Pros
The controls are easy to understand.
The noise reduction is very good even in high ISO.
The camera is very comfortable to handle.
The price is good for a full size sensor.
4 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EOS 6D
Nickname: ScottB
Location: Weymouth, MA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2015
I am new to the world of professional photography and was stepping up to a new camera. Although happy with my Canon EOS Rebel T1i I wanted to move to full frame body. I compared features and felt that the Canon EOS 6D was an amazing camera. Especially for the price. Although the Canon 5D Mk III has some additional features that would be nice, at this point in my photography career the Canon 6D has all the features I need for half the price. Additionally it has features that the 5D MkIII does not have. It has GPS and WiFi built in. A nice touch. I have had the camera for several weeks now and I am very satisfied with my choice.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Canon Guy
Location: Hyderabad, India
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Wish list

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2015
Hello Canon,
I wish you had put Articulating screen on this camera, Please make it possible on 6D Mark ii. Also there is nothing wrong with a pop up flash on a 6D. I also wish you improve the focus points atleast equal to 60D. And its a full frame camera, Please put dual card slots.
If you want to differentiate 6D from 5Ds, Please put Less focus points or Do Not put weather seals etc...
Or at least accommodate Articulating screen + wifi and a pop up flash in 5D Mark iv, I will immediately upgrade to it.
Please make it happen...
I also have 70D which is charm to use with the articulate Touch screen. The possibilities are unlimited with the cam's Wifi abilities. Its a total package, The only thing I wish it had was a full frame sensor and a dual card slot.
Canon please think about it. I have used a Canon AE1 for almost a decade before going digital with Eos Rebel. So for almost 25 years I have been using Dslrs of Canon. Even my background is BFA Photography. Please someone up in Canon company think about what we desire, We are sure you are great, but just need little addons to what you already offer.
Regards,
Ajay Tangudu
8 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Blue
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera - Known issues

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2015
I purchased this camera mainly because I didn't want to make the price jump to the 5D Mk III. So far this camera has taken fantastic images and videos. It has also been perfect for the beginnings of a small photography business. For a full frame camera you can't beat the price. Also the ability that the camera give you to take images in low lighting is amazing.
My number 1 complaint of the camera so far is that the dial cap for the setting selection randomly popped off while in the camera bag. After doing some research this seems to be a fairly common issue. I contacted Canon about fixing the issue, but unfortunately my warranty had expired 2 months ago. A bit frustrating because I was deployed for the past 6 months and not able to enjoy the camera.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Tomvette
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great low light camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2015
I've had this camera for about 8 months. It replaced a Canon 7D that was excellent. This new camera blows the 7D away for any low light photography. The jpeg photos are very usable all the way to 51K ISO and outstanding at 12K ISO.
I tend to shoot vacation and family photos often involving indoor settings. The great cathedrals in Europe often do not allow flash photography and the 6Ds low light capability produces stunning photos, while minimizing camera shake.
If you are a sports photographer shooting with lots of light, the comparably priced new Canon 7D Mk 2 is a good choice. It shoots much faster and has a larger focusing area. As I am "old school" I leverage the 6Ds center focus point which can focus in -3EV and recompose before shooting. I find this gives me extremely accurate and reliable focus results. With fast motion photography, this method is difficult to execute.
In closing, this camera with the 24-105mm L lens makes a top tier travel camera.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EOS 6D
Nickname: dooxie
Location: Xanthi, GR
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

The good can get better

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2015
I appreciate the low price for a full frame camera and the benefits of it (great picture quality, low noise in high iso, excellent video quality). It may not be the best built camera ever but it is sturdy enough and with a good size, not too big, not too small and with a good grip. The upgrades that would make it much much better imho is an articulated screen like the one we see on the 70d with the touch-screen focusing system for the videos and a better focusing system with more focusing points like the ones in the 7d mk II or at least like the ones in 70d. That would make it an almost perfect camera, at least to me.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EOS 6D
Nickname: Mazzinissss
Location: OK
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Excellent Value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2015
I have tried multiple cameras as a professional photographer including Weddings, Family Portraits, Night Sky, landscape and I must say that Im impressed with the quality of this product. Way cheaper than buying a 5d mkiii if you are on a budget, amazing colors, solid body. Focusing system is not a good as the mk iii but honestly the center focus is amazingly precise and amazing at low light with good ISO performance as well.
In my opinion its way better than the mk ii.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site