Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / Lenses Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Lenses or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EF 35mm f/2 IS USM

EF 35mm f/2 IS USM

Newly designed wide-angle single focal length lens Rear focusing system and ring USM for fast autofocus One Gmo aspherical lens element achieves high image quality with improved performance in the periphery Optical Image Stabilizer provides up to 4 shutter speed stops of correction
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EF 35mm f/2 IS USM
Review 1 for EF 35mm f/2 IS USM
Nickname: di Simondi
Location: Boston, MA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Outstanding Features

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2015
Since I am a professional photographer, I must be able to count on my lenses to produce excellent images under wide-ranging conditions. Outstanding optics, robust and durable build quality are givens for me.
This particular lens, however, has a couple feature which make it the best 35mm available for my work. Having such a wide aperture (f/2.0) allows me to shoot many events without flash! That can be big to my clients. Also, having IS at this (kinda-wide) focal length gives me distinct advantages: (1) it plays into the non-flash event scenario. (2) it makes a wonderful lens for video.
Additionally, I can get beautiful short DOF shots with this baby. It's almost like a little brother to my 85mm f/1.2.
If you have a need for 35mm (who doesn't?), this one rocks!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EF 35mm f/2 IS USM
Nickname: Great Dane
Location: Cool, Texas
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Fine Lens - Requires you to use your camera's Peri

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2015
Picture quality and sharpness is much better than expected based on the MTF Chart. Suitable, at large aperture, for indoor photos of moving objects that require fast shutter times. Short minimum focal length, fast USM, and very effective IS make this an ideal "Grandkids" lens. Fine detail for outdoor/landscape photography. It is important that you use your camera's Peripheral Illumination Correction as otherwise you will see significant vignetting. This being a newer lens, you may have to first update your version of EOS Utility in order to register the lens' Peripheral Illumination Correction Data. Do buy the original Canon Lens Hood - some aftermarket products simply do not work well on this lens.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EF 35mm f/2 IS USM
Nickname: Tachu
Location: Dubai
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Best all purpose lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2015
I recommend this as the best Canon lens for anytime anywhere photography. If you are confused of which lens is the most suitable for you, anytime and anywhere, especially if you own a full frame, this is your best choice. If you are beginner or hobbyist, this lens brings the best in you. The lens is very sharp and fast. Only draw back I see is the vignetting.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EF 35mm f/2 IS USM
Nickname: solobackcountry
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

APS-C Natural Beauty

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2015
I only use prime lenses. I purchased this lens specifically for high quality natural perspective landscape photography on my APS-C sensor EOS SL1 Rebel. I am so happy with the quality of photos I'm getting from this lens. It really deliverers the goods. I will note that I always use this lens on a tripod and per Canon recommendation I disable the image stabilization to optimize quality. I was originally using an EF 28mm F/1.8 lens. It was a good lens but not good enough. The 35mm F/2 is noticeably superior optically for my type of photography.. Very little corner softening and very little distortion. As a landscape photographer, large aperture performance is of minimal interest to me. I need long depth of field when composing with up close foreground. I typically only shoot at apertures ranging from f/10 to f/18. Edge to edge image sharpness is clean and consistent across the sensor in that range. Quality drops off a bit after f/16 but not enough to overly annoy and noticeably less then the EF 28 F/1.8 lens. F/11 to F/14 is very good. Equivalent focal length on the 35mm F/2 after the 1.6 crop factor on APS-C is 55mm. That's just about perfect. The overall gain in image quality from the EF 28mm F/1.8 mostly comes down to the simple fact of being less of a wide angle lens. 35mm is a clean solid performing focal length. In my opinion, a 35mm lens is the best choice for quality natural perspective images on APS-C. Overall lens performance is not far off from using a 50mm lens on a full frame format. It's about as close as you’re going to get. If your serious about natural perspective photography on APS-C, do not hesitate to purchase this lens. By the way.. The hood for this lens if wonderful! Its expensive but worth it. Velvet lined, great coverage, and a sweet new locking mechanism.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EF 35mm f/2 IS USM
Nickname: Ethan.S
Location: Seattle, WA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

super good lens for the money

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2014
This lens was a great buy. I love it. It captures a lot. its compact size makes it versatile and light. the glass is great. canon did a good job.
Review 6 for EF 35mm f/2 IS USM
Nickname: Viktas
Location: Wharton New Jersey
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

a great alternative

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 16, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
I really like this lens's size, weight, fast f/2 and IS. Too many people want only f1.4 but most use these lenses steped down to f/2 any way because of depth of field. Especially in tight quarters like indoors. and for portraiture. with lens correction software like LightRoom distortion is not a issue. Neither is the strong vigneting at f/2 because of the post vignete tools in LightRoom. I love the color rendition or color out put from this lens, its just simple lovely. crisp and clean. I use this lens on my 5Dmk3 and Eos-M. Just test the lens for your self and you will see what I'm describing here.
20 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EF 35mm f/2 IS USM
Nickname: Lurcus
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Finally!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 27, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: no tropicalization, no lens hood included
That's the lens I've been waiting for, for so many years!
A 35mm fast lens, with a very good build and optical quality, with an efficient stabilizer and a fast, nearly silent AF. A dream came true.
After a few weeks with this lens, I immediately sold my 35/1,4 L. Image quality is at the same level, but now I have a stabilizer and faster AF. Obviously I lost the f/1,4 and I have more vignetting until f/4, but... I can deal with that.
Downsides?
- Strong vignetting until f/3.5 (still visible after that, but not so annoying).
- No tropicalization.
- Despite the price, no lens hood included... as usual.
If this lens had less vignetting wide open and a water/dust/moist/all-weather protection, it would be just perfect.
Waiting for a 35/1,4 L IS with improved image quality, IMHO that's the best 35mm in the Canon lineup.
18 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EF 35mm f/2 IS USM
Nickname: Michael
Location: Cologne, Germany
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent at low light

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 5, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: vignetting
Okay, it is an excellent lens, especially in combination with the 6D at low light level. But is is larger than I thought (I did hope it'd have the size of a 28/1,8), and vignetting is quite significant. Up to now (Feb. 5, 2013) I did not find any any lens correction data for the camera or with EU or DPP.
On APS-C, in combination with a cheap rubber lens shade, it is good lens for street. Even here, the IS helps!
7 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EF 35mm f/2 IS USM
Nickname: Kevin
Location: Cleveland, OH
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years

Great all around lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images, low ca, great for low light
Cons: doesn't come with l series accessories
I like the lens very much for general shooting purposes. It seems to be average in a lot of qualities; not excellent or terrible in any aspect. For low light or close focusing the IS is a great feature. The lens is light weight, and the manual focus ring is much more dampened compared to the 35L. I think it's a nice upgrade to the old f2, but the price is high.
13 of 15 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site