Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot SD/ELPH Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot SD/ELPH Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot ELPH 330 HS

PowerShot ELPH 330 HS

Radiant in a sleekly rounded new design, the PowerShot ELPH 330 HS boasts enhanced built-in Wi-Fi® that enables you to comment on photos and share them to social networking sites quickly and easily - even within specific groups.
Average Customer Rating:
3.812 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
4
19 out of 25(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot ELPH 330 HS
Review 1 for PowerShot ELPH 330 HS
Nickname: 
Location: Portland, Oregon
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Advanced features great but hard to set up

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2015
If you just use the SD card, and that's it. WONDERFUL you are going to like this camera. For a small dedicated item that will do its job for small jobs, perfect.
Good pictures and good HD video.
Most people will never need these extras, but I thought I should review them.
The accessories cost is very steep. So is the extra battery.
Battery life is fine if just taking a few pics or short video.
For the casual user, perfect.
However. It does have some really great extra software kit. But you really need to be an IT person to set it up. Easy WIFI it is not. But it is as secure as it comes.
So You will like it. Wish I could use it as a web cam That is really the killer feature it is missing. Otherwise, it won't be able to compete with the Cell phone cams next year.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot ELPH 330 HS
Nickname: 

Haven't used it more than 5 times since receiving

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2015
Nice size and seems to work Bought it for a trip to Europe in spring. Haven't had much occasion to use.
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot ELPH 330 HS
Nickname: 
Location: Los Angeles
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best loyalty program

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2015
I've been purchasing cannon products for years now and they are very reliable and never been disappointed.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot ELPH 330 HS
Nickname: 
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2015
the 330 ELPH Canon model is a wonderful camera and I like that it is 12.1 Megapixels (I don't need more than that and it allows me to store more photos on my computer).
The camera is easy to use and importantly operates brilliantly with existing light -- remarkably good. For example, I can shoot well with 1 candle in a completely dark room.. I like doing non-flash photos--it's more natural and less obtrusive (since I am not annoying others with flashing lights).
In addition to an incredibly easy HD movie mode (just 1 button allows a movie clip pronto), the 330 model also has a hybrid button that allows me to make a compilation of short movie scenes that string together as one clip automatically (even though I am turning the camera off between clips). At Thanksgiving I got such a good sampling of the family day by turning on the hybrid mode and piecing together pre-meal chat, the dinner table scene, and our after-dinner relaxing.
There are a few minor disadvantages but these are small details compared to all the camera's advantages: the gray-on-gray battery indicator on the screen doesn't easily alert me that I am running out of battery power (my other camera warned me better beforehand); The area where the USB and HDMI ports are located has a flimsy plastic cover that will likely break off before long; Sometimes (not often) the camera will decide all on its own that it wants to zoom in on something when I haven't touched any other buttons other than the shutter (so, I just manually un-zoom and start again). But these are minor points and I would buy the Canon ELPH 330 again in an instant. I even preferthe 330 to the 340 newer model that I borrowed from a friend.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot ELPH 330 HS
Nickname: 

DO NOT BUY

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 7, 2014
I have had nothing but problems with this camera so far. Purchased this back in January 2014 and it is a complete headache. Every month there is a communication error and the wifi connectivity is a joke! I would not recommend this to anyone.
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot ELPH 330 HS
Nickname: 
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Low Battery product advisory

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2014
Phenomenon:
In some PowerShot ELPH 330HS compact digital cameras, there is a possibility that the following operation errors may occur due to insufficient contact between the camera’s battery terminal and the battery, even when the battery has sufficient power remaining.
・ The message “Charge the battery” appears immediately.
・ The power sometimes does not turn on
・ The power turns off during use.
On canon's website do a search on 330HS advisory, click on consumer & home office
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot ELPH 330 HS
Nickname: 
Location: Virginia
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Not reliable

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 6, 2014
About a month after we got this camera we started getting a message to charge the battery, even when the battery was fully charged. The camera wouldn't turn on until you pulled out the battery and put it back in. So we replaced the battery, thinking it was the problem. About 11 months later we had the same problem, so we used a battery from our previous Canon, which worked fine in that old camera. Same messages; camera would not reliably turn on, but would eventually after several tries. The camera was just out of warranty, so we had no recourse. One star because this unit was defective-- probably a firmware glitch-- but it lasted just long enough to leave us with a useless camera that had no respectable user life.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot ELPH 330 HS
Nickname: 
Location: Midwest
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

330 outperforms my old 850,but prefer old software

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 29, 2014
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: slow imagebrowser software, fragile lens cover may not open fully
I switched from full-sized SLRs to pocket-sized ELPHs seven years ago, and never looked back. My ELPH 330 does everything I need in a camera, and having it with me at all times when I am on the road means I lose fewer image opportunities than I did with my larger cameras that were more intrusive. The ELPH 330 outperforms my older ELPH 850, especially in telephoto shots -- the optics have been improved greatly. The only downside is that the ELPH 330 software (Imagebrowser) is more complex and much slower than the older Zoombrowser software. I usually download and edit several thousand images per trip, and ZB takes it in stride while IB just plugs away slowly. I think too many bells and whistles have been added to IB, so buy an ELPH 330 but keep your older ZB software. I have used the ELP 330 for almost a year with only one recurring malfunction -- the lens cover (a 2-part diaphragm) sometimes does not open fully -- it is quite fragile in rough conditions (dusty roads, etc.). One can simply overcome this by manually moving the cover to a fully open position.
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot ELPH 330 HS
Nickname: 
Location: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

EXCELLENT WIDE-ANGLE IMAGES Camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2014
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
For a simple point-and-shoot camera the battery life seems to be just fine for me. I don't shoot a lot of pics. I bought 2 new batteries at Best-Buy and charge them up and keep them with me for when I need them. I bought the camera because I needed a nice wide-angle camera to get all of the nature scenes on my winter vacation trip to Cuba. The camera worked really nice, and the images that come out of it on bright days are really nice. I always use the 'i-Contrast' feature set on 'LOW', and it brings out the details in shadow areas. I never used the software that comes with the camera and I use a card reader to transfer images. So no problems because I keep things simple. I downloaded a FREEWARE called 'Freemake Video Converter' and I use this free software to convert all of the camera's videos from Quicktime to MP4, and the size of the video file goes down from 30 MB to only 4 MB, saving a ton of storage space. For editing pics I use Google's free 'PICASA' freeware.
The camera is FAST, amazingly fast. And low-light pics blow every other point-and-shoot camera out of the water. But the best is the 24mm wide angle - that's why I got the camera in the first place. Don't use the included software and don't use the WI-FI, and you will love this camera.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot ELPH 330 HS
Nickname: 
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good camera Software is terrible

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2014
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life, terrible software
I really like the camera...I would have reviewed just the camera much higher...but the software is getting worse..This is my 3rd canon camera and previously the software to download pictures worked fine...I don't expect much...just let me download untransferred images...this is way too high a hurdle for the current canon team. No longer does the software popup...I how have to find a 3rd party application to to do this. I may just delete all canon software so it doesn't interphere with something that actually might work
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot ELPH 330 HS
Nickname: 
Location: Phila, Pa
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 22, 2014
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Bought this camera after many positive reviews and I agree, a great , small, point and shoot. Image quality is excellent which is what I was looking for in a compact camera. Can't go wrong with this camera.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot ELPH 330 HS
Nickname: 
Location: Burlington, Vermont
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Very poor battery life

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 10, 2014
Pros: Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life
I've had this camera less than 6 months and the battery is completely dead after using it 6 different occasions. Since I charged it prior to an event it died after 2 pictures and now that is what it keeps doing. Allows 2 pictures and dies. I'm not happy as the replacement battery is ridiculously expensive. I'll be looking for a new camera as buying batteries will soon cost more than the camera with a years use.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot ELPH 330 HS
Nickname: 
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

WHAT IS GOING ON!!!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 27, 2014
I have only given it one star because I can't turn it on! I've charged the battery multiple times and every time I try to turn it on nothing happens. The screen won't even turn on to tell me the battery power. I will happily change my review when it starts working but right now its a waste of space! If someone can please get back to me quickly! Thank you
6 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot ELPH 330 HS
Nickname: 
Location: bucks,pa
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

battery life

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
very poor battery life
All the other feature are great
did not use the wifi yet
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot ELPH 330 HS
Nickname: 
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 13, 2014
This camera is small and is good for simple photography. It does not take very clear pictures in low lighting. It does take fairly clear pictures outside.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot ELPH 330 HS
Nickname: 
Location: Massachusetts
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

PS Elph 330

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 28, 2014
In a nutshell... LOVE, LOVE, LOVE. No complaints & I recommend this camera to anyone who loves photography as much as I do. I have a Canon Rebel T1i which I absolutely love & adore, but I carry the PS Elph 330 in my purse everyday.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot ELPH 330 HS
Nickname: 
Location: us
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Terrible Interface

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2014
Pros: excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Missing features/settings, Difficult to use, Short battery life, Complicated controls/menu
This is about my 7th digital camera, and I never thought i could get so frustrated by interfacing with a camera. I still have no idea how to change the frame rate for videos.(maybe it doesnt have the ability) Took me forever to find out where the menu for changing video quality is. Totally non intuitive, at least for me. My SD card reader was having problems so i foolishly tried using the wifi to transfer pictures to my pc. I guess the wifi is only for smart phones and tablets, and social networking users who want their pics to go direct to a third party. Software crashes when I tried to run it. The Manual is useless.
16 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot ELPH 330 HS
Nickname: 
Location: Vienna, VA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

mechanically phenomenal, but software issues.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings, missing software support.
Mechanically, this is an amazing cam. The controls and menus are remarkably well designed.
That said, here are my gripes:
1. I tried to install the XP software but all software included with the cam and all updated versions on the website fail to load and produce only an error message. Thankfully I'm a linux user and only use my XP machine in emergencies, a program called "Digikam" can let me use the core features...
2. I am irked by the 10 minute limitation for video recording, I made a little cat video and the cam cut it at 10 minutes even though there is no technological resaon why it couldn't continue recording for hours.
3. The camera is a slippery little bugger, make sure you use the wrist strap to avoid fumbling it! (file this under useful advice).
4. The camera doesn't have direct filesystem access via USB or wifi.
5. The wifi connection is perfectly easy to set up but I can't do anything with it because the software doesn't work. It exposes a proprietary service around port 15,000 but there's no utility to do anything useful with it.
6. The camera can't seem to be used as a webcam. (I was hoping for a device that would do an OK job at everything, and then after winning the lottery buy a camera with a CCD big enough to resolve the serial numbers on the parts left by the moon missions.)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot ELPH 330 HS
Nickname: 
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best pocket point and shoot

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I decided on this model because of the "hand held low light setting". I have used this camera at an outing for a Christmas light display, it was very cold. This camera performed better than I had hoped, the battery lasted for 4.5 hours in temperatures in the single digits. Once I had my settings it was easy to use with gloves on. It is a little small to make changes with gloves on, however great results when you don't want to carry all the big equipment. I have next year's Christmas card using a picture with this camera.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot ELPH 330 HS
Nickname: 
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Big thing in a small package

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2013
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings
Compared this camara to the S110 in a full day of comparison shots, only late in the evening when the sun set, did this camara start to show any weakness. In ample lighting image quality is great. Even at night if you are in a club or bar, outside at a moderately lit function shots will be fine. Needless to say I returned the S110 and kept the 330, my new constant companion.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site