Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA iP Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA iP Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA iP7220

PIXMA iP7220

The PIXMA iP7220 Premium Wireless 1 Inkjet Photo Printer delivers a true photo lab quality experience at home.
Average Customer Rating:
1.763 out of 5
1.8
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
10
1 star
21
6 out of 35(17%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA iP7220
Review 1 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: dlc
Location: Apex, NC
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Extremely frustrating

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2014
Date:November 17, 2014
If you've used and enjoyed an older Canon inkjet printer, then you will despise this one. At least, that's my experience. All I wanted was a replacement for my venerable old iP4000. I knew I'd miss the document feed but hoped I could at least print decent pictures with the iP7220. Instead, I get the useless "My Image Garden", software on the desktop I don't want, printing software that is bewildering, and worst of all, prints that are so horribly blotched they're unuseable. I'm a senior software engineer, so it's not like I'm an inexperienced user. So, I'll once again reinstall the printer driver and see if that helps, but I'll have to convince my wife it's worth another try, as she's given up on it.
If you're a new user, maybe you'll be naive enough to not know what you're missing. Good luck.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: Faust
Location: Los Angeles
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Not that hot.

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 10, 2014
All I wanted was to print DVD labels. Blank, with text. Business-like. The software for this purpose that came with the printer is terrible. Limited functionality, text in pre-determined places, limited flexibility. If what you want is to occasionally print a label with a picture of your cat on it, and limited text this may be the one for you.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: NYC Photo
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

No rear feed = FAIL

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 8, 2014
I have been a loyal Canon customer for many years, promoting their brand every step of the way but Canon made a huge mistake in removing the rear feed tray from this photo printer. Judging by the majority of reviews here, Canon is losing a lot of customers due to this mistake and until now I never would have thought to look to another brand either. Unfortunately, now we are all forced to shop around. I sincerely hope Canon is paying attention to this feedback. Until Canon brings back the rear feed trays on all their photo printers, I can no longer recommend them.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: pictureprinterjud
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

junk!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup
Cons: Low Quality Output, Flimsy Construction
noisy, poor quality pictures, flimsy ... pictures printed on non-shiny photo paper are terrible
3 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: Scott
Location: White Plains, NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Product replacement: No

Awful. Awful. Awful.

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 20, 2014
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, unreliable, expensive ink, short ink cartridge life
Expensive ink cartridges with proprietary chips that are so small they dry out before you can use them. A buggy, slow interface. WiFi does not work properly. There is nothing to like about this Canon product. While I am writing this, the printer is refusing to print a photograph because the text black ink has dried out. Awful, awful, awful. The last Canon inkjet printer I will ever own.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: ECK
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years

An inconvenient and frustrating printer

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2014
Pros: High Quality Output
Cons: Large Footprint, excessive ink usage
When my iP4300 (which I liked very much) gave up the ghost I bought an iP7220. I was very disappointed. The paper supply is limited to a bottom-loading paper tray instead of being located on top. This is inconvenient in that it is impossible to gauge how much paper is left in the printer just by looking, and it means that anything in front of the printer has to be moved before the tray can be removed and reloaded. The print speed and quality is OK once the printer actually begins printing, but prior to that there is a lengthy period where the printer clacks and clatters around, presumably performing some internal housekeeping duties. Canon scanners and printers work and integrate well with Apple computers, but the iP7220 printer is an aggravation.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: nydog
Location: NN, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

THE BEST OUT OF 4 OTHER BRAND PREVIOUS

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2014
Pros: very sharp clear pictures
Cons: no cons
Good buy, good price, prints quality, litle noise but this is ok. all printers I owned priviously 4 of them, other brands was noisy, some litle more some less. But the price is excelent , what counts for me is the prints quaity. Also I use photo EDIT CANON software, and allways Canon Photo paper PRO PLATINUM and yes the CANON ink catriges PIXMA 251XL. XL because I save about $40% on prints lasting.
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: Butch
Location: Chattanooga, Tn
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Fair

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2014
Pros: print quality is good.
Cons: noisy, no rear paper feed.
I have been using Canon for years and I like there products but, I think they dropped the ball on this one. It sounds like it is coming apart when you use it. Print quality is good. I liked my ip5000 better but, I could no longer get a print head for it. I don't like not having the rear paper feed.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: DAWN

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2014
this was a terrible purchase! once it gets going its fairly quick but man alive getting to get going..wow! takes a long time and i hear alot of movement of the cartridges and nothing being produced...does not too too well for picture quality either
Review 10 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: alaskaraoke

Better then expected

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2014
After reading the reviews the printer was better then I expected. Since I was setting it up on a low hutch shelf the front feed and front output is a plus since I'm limited on space. The quality of the photos match's my old IP6700D and there we're no jambs running several 4x6 at a time. Disc printing is exceptional. With Surething 6 or Canon software print alignment on discs was automatic and perfect. Text print was great and fast. The printer did run a lot setting up at first but now it gets right to the job much faster. Overall I'm satisfied but if i wanted to make a custom print like a panoramic I would have to use my old IP6700D.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: tall
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great Purchase

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2014
Pros: easy to use, reliable, quality prints, wireless printing is great
Cons: photo paper sometimes misfeeds
I've used this printer for about six months and other than the printer misfeeding photo paper twice, it's worked great. It's been a fantastic printer and it's odd that so many people have had problems. Wireless printing is a breeze and it prints great photos.
I do use my pro canon printer for serious photo prints so I only use this printer for non critical work.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: bombonka
Location: Portland, OR
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Buyers remorse

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2014
Cons: constant connectivity problems
Like many others writing a review of this product, I have been using Canon for years. The best model I had was the ip4200 which worked very well. However, the Pixma iP7220 doesn't work 50% of the time, mostly due to "communication errors" or "the printer is not connected" which it is!!!! We got this so we could use it wireless and share the printer between my husband and I. Perhaps, there is something wrong with the wireless connection. I am very disappointed. Also, the rear feed allowed for more pages it seems. Will have to find a another printer.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: Mojo
Location: Atlanta, GA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good Printer for Price and Casual Use

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 29, 2014
Pros: good printer for price, good quality photo printing, Easy Setup, decent b/w speed
Cons: slow color printing, occassionally goes through lengthy setup fits, some will not like the slightly larger footprint
It all depends on what one expects an inexpensive printer to do. This printer was probably not designed to be an office workhorse, but a personal home unit. The quality of the photos I have printed so far outweighs the slower speed and occasional setup routines this printer is want to go through. I would say my usage is "casual". Final output quality is what counts to me, and I am quite satisfied, especially considering the price.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: Dave
Location: Vancouver, WA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Bring back rear feed!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2014
Cons: no rear feed
We have used Canon printers for over 11 years. Love their print quality and speed for photos. Unfortunately the medium we print on will not accommodate the bottom feed. PLEASE BRING BACK THE REAR FEED!!!
5 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: bookelly
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Run Away

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, Difficult Setup, Low Quality Output, unreliable, Flimsy Construction, you get to print 10 pages before it needs ink
Cheapest piece of garbage you will ever buy. Run away from this printer, it is terrible in every way. Even if the store pays YOU to take it home...throw it away before it gets into your house.
I HATE this printer.
4 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: unwork
Location: Oregon
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Poor quality, slow, expensive ink

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2013
Pros: Small Footprint
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Flimsy Construction
Terrible experience with this printer. Canon might make quality products for industrial printing, but their consumer-oriented printers are cheaply built, slow and expensive to maintain. The IP7220 proves this point. Don't be fooled by the sleek looks of this printer, its performance is terrible.
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: Jill
Location: Boston, MA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Rear Feed Needed!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2013
Cons: no rear feed
This new model is extremely disappointing. My business relies completely on the rear feed feature, and this option was removed from this model! We exclusively use Cannon printers AND INK. However now, with this inconvenient removal of the rear feed, we will be forced to look elsewhere for printer and ink providers. Please reinstate this crucial feature for our company!
32 of 42 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: CBphoto
Location: Chicago
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

NO REAR FEED - awful printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 24, 2013
Pros: easy to use
Cons: Difficult to use, unreliable, no rear feed, hard to print photos, hard to print envelopes, impossible to print custom sizes
I have been an devoted canon customer for 9 years. Have exclusively used canon printers (and cameras) for both business and personal use. This new printer is supposed to replace the 4900 printer series, but they have taken away the rear feed! Without the rear feed it's impossible to print quality photos, print on envelopes, print placecards, etc. I have spent thousands and thousands of dollars on canon products and this new printer is a complete disappointment. Until canon brings back the rear feed option, I will have to spend my money elsewhere.
16 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: hannah
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very Disappointed

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 31, 2013
Pros: Easy Setup
Cons: Difficult to use, unreliable, Flimsy Construction
I have had Canon printers for years and have always been happy with them. I loved my iP4200 printer until it died and was told by the salesman that this one (the iP7220) was way better. I agree with the other reviews that I miss the rear feed. This limits me considerably with my work and the paper doesn't feed properly from the bottom tray. Sometimes it doesn't work at all. I have to put only one piece of paper in the tray at a time when I want to print out a photo or it gets hung up in the printer or tries to feed two sheets at once. I also didn't find it very easy to use compared to my other printers. If there were any way I could send it back and get a different model at this point I would.
I will also be checking out other manufacturers. Maybe someone still makes a printer with with a rear feeder.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: alpaca
Location: San Luis Obispo, California
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Margin Control Defective

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 11, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use, fabulous colors
Cons: all printing misaligned
I absolutely love Canon Inkjets, and have used them for years. The IP7220 was a replacement for an older model, and it--the IP7220--was great in all regards.
Except for the fact that it does not print where you tell it.
I have done extensive testing because I couldn't believe this is true, but it is. Regardless of what you specify as margins, regardless of paper size, regardless of program, this printer shifts everything 1/16 to 3/16 (depending on margins) off center. I've tested with several different print programs and two different printers, and both behaved identically.
If margins and alignment are important to you, and believe me, they are, then DO NOT buy this printer. I love it and everything about it (colors are fabulous, wireless is great, printing time is fine, works flawlessly), but not printing properly on the page is a deal-breaker.
28 of 29 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site