Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MG Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MG Series or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5420

PIXMA MG5420

Like all PIXMA printers, the MG5420 produces amazing detail in both business documents and photographs with 9600 x 2400 maximum color dpi 2 and a 5-Color Ink System.
Average Customer Rating:
2.596 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(94 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (94 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
12
3 stars
13
2 stars
8
1 star
41
32 out of 89(36%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5420
Review 1 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: rebelYUN
Location: new york
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

works fine in the beginning...

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2014
Worked great in the beginning but after a while the wireless printing settings stopped working, I also don't understand how there are two ink cartridge slots for black and it won't let me just use cli-black when the the other one is out.
This is very frustrating because the ink gets wasted very fast off three pages of regular black text.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: RedDirtCreations
Location: Texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Absolutely LOVE!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 7, 2014
To say that I am shocked after reading so many negative reviews here....is a huge understatement! I bought this Canon about a year and a half ago, not just for one or two of the things that it was supposed to do, but for virtually everything! I was nervous because I usually don't have great luck buying any type of electronics, and I'm used to having to return items and eventually getting one that works on the 2nd or 3rd try. Not this time! Set up was a breeze....couldn't believe how easy it was! Especially the wifi, because I'll be honest....I seem to always have problems with my wifi. It just all clicked like a dream. The photo's always come out looking crisp and clear and the colors are amazing. Seems like every printer I have ever had, I battle with it over paper jams....this far into owning this one, I have yet to have a paper jam (knock on wood). I'm not sure if I'm one of a very few that managed to get one that performs well AND doesn't use a lot of ink! I was shocked at how long my first set of ink cartridges lasted and was continually checking them, because I just knew that I had to be close to running out, even tho it showed something different on the display. I'm sure I don't print as much as other people might do, but from past experience with other printers, even if I was printing twice as much as I do now, it would still be reasonable on the amount of ink it uses. Yes, it is a little bit slow to warm up first thing, but that doesn't bother me that much because I'm the same way lol! I do have one thing that I don't understand....the second paper tray! I'm not really sure what its for, since it doesn't seem to be sized for regular sized paper.
I highly recommend this Canon for home/home office use and depending on the type of small business, that also.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Galesburg, Il.
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

price right,but features lack

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 4, 2014
While price was excellent, features lack.When hooked up to computer and computer calls for printing, I would prefer the option of printing in black ink only. When doing copies, I can select black only.
If printer is left on while using computer for a length of time, it automatically shuts down and then goes through to start up procedure all over again when I call for a particular page to be printed. This is time wasted and I assume ink wasted..
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: CLynn
Location: Alvarado, Tx
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Worst printer EVER!!!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 19, 2014
This is by far the worst printer I ever encountered in my life! It is a total piece of garbage. If you ever want to just print in black and white, forget it- unless you have full ink in every compartment plus an extra large black one. Oh, and even when you buy new ink cartridges, count on them lasting about 12 sheets before at least one of them runs out. I have never seen a multicolor printer that wouldn't let you at least print from the black cartridge. Horrid, horrid product. I just wish I had realized what a malfunctioning hunk of plastic it was before it was too late to return it. I will never purchase another Canon product.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: AgingEngineer
Location: Raleigh, NC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Tips on Installation and Slow Printing

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2014
A few points on MG5420 wireless printer installation that may keep you from seeing some of the problems seen by some of those who have complained about difficulty with the wireless setup, 'no response from printer' problems, and extremely slow printing--I've seen them, too, but I've fixed them--at least in my installation.
1) Update the drivers to latest level for your computer (XP, Vista, etc) (always a good practice, anyway). Mine were available by simply using the Windows Update function.
2) If you're using MAC address filtering in your router, don't forget to update the list to include the printer MAC.
3) Unless you have good reason to do otherwise, recommend you disable Ipv6 on both printer and router.
At this point, I had connectivity to the printer, but experienced the "no response from printer" error--even when simply printing a test page. Then, about 20-3- minutes later, printing would start--that is, until I did the next item (4):
4. Finally, disable the LAN DRX function in the printer.
Now printing starts in seconds. All is good!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: LaDe
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

don't buy it!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 5, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, High Ink Consumption, unreliable
It never broadcasts & even hardwired it doesn't print.
3 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Kt.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

terrible rpinter

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 18, 2014
I had Canon model before this that was satisfactory. This one is lighter and flimsier. It almost never prints true. I am forever replacing ink and it still prints mostly orange. I have a hard time getting it to recognize our wireless. It will print okay one day and be "offline" the next four. Do not buy this printer.
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Arthur H
Location: Severna Park, MD
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Main use: disc printing

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2014
Pros: reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors, very good disc printing, not its competitors
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, High Ink Consumption, messy documentation
This is my first Canon printer, purchased solely to print CD and DVD labels straight to disc. It's the ONLY consumer inkjet I will use for this purpose now. Once I discovered that this cannot be done wirelessly, but requires a USB connection (an inconvenience if you want to print from multiple computers), and once I figured out how to set up to print from my very common Mac-based label printing software, I was good to go.
Drawbacks are:
* "user-friendly" but actually very complicated documentation. Scan to your computer vs. your pad? Change ink carts?? Hard to figure out. Give me a traditionally organized, comprehensive manual please.
* like most ink jets, consumes way too much ink, especially if you only use it for brief spurts.
* buttons are easy to press accidentally
I almost never use the paper feed, but it's GOT to be better than its major competitor. Because I have to use the USB connection, I may not be able to use iPrint with my phone, but I'll check into it and hope that, unlike its major competitor, this feature will actually work.
Overall, prints nicely to discs, but so consumer-friendly and feature rich that it's otherwise too cluttered for my purposes.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: renrut
Location: Chicago suburb
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Quality Output

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: High Ink Consumption
My old MP600, which I loved, finally bit the dust. I purchased this machine and liked its ability to print CDs. I read as much as I could about this multifunction printer prior to purchasing. I really don't need wireless at home so I use a USB connection. The text and photos are outstanding. I found it easy to set up. Found the CD tray that is attached on the bottom of the upper tray. Had a brief problem in finding out exactly where to insert the CD tray, but a quick check on the Canon site resolved that problem. I usually know beforehand if I will be using the printer,so I turn it on right away while I'm getting the photos, CD, or letter that I will print or scan. Yes, it does use a lot of ink, but I don't print anything and everything. If it's a draft, I set the printer preference to "fast," which uses less ink. And no matter where one purchases the ink, it's expensive. Have had this machine about 3 weeks and find the quality of the output as good or better than my old MP600.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Topper
Location: Dallas, TX
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Worse purchase ever!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 1, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, unreliable, High Ink Consumption, Flimsy Construction
Shame on me for not reading the reviews before I bought this piece of junk! For the last 2 weeks I have struggled to get this to print at all! The wireless doesn't work, paper jams, and it uses ink like crazy. Seems like something new goes wrong everyday and I spend most of my work time trying to figure out why I can't print.
Don't buy it - just junk it!
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Therck
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

What were they thinking?>

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 28, 2014
Pros: Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Heavy/Bulky, Difficult Setup, High Ink Consumption, unreliable
This is my 6th Canon printer and they are beginning to lose my confidence overall. As others have noted, this printer is the slowest to initiate printing that I have ever had. It just grinds, whirs and clunks for many minutes before beginning to print. And why did they ever go to a front-and-over paper handling mechanism? You know this will be more problematic than straight down-and-out handling. And it is. It is difficult to know where to align the paper in the lower tray for proper pick-up and the system will take up multiple sheets at times. And yes, the ink consumption is excessive. Come on, Canon. Are you trying to lose customers?
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Disgusted!
Location: Northwester PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

DO NOT BUY THIS PIECE OF JUNK!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 24, 2014
Cons: Slow Print Speed, High Ink Consumption, Flimsy Construction, excessive head cleaning needed, pulls multiple sheets of paper, left pool of ink under printer
I received this printer just about one year and two weeks ago. The warranty is for one year. Now I know why. It has failed already. It uses ink like there is an endless supply of new factory cartridges and endless money to buy them. I got this primarily for its scanner and disc printing features. BUT the scanner will not work when any one of the ink cartridges is low. It does not matter that you are not printing. When you do print, start the printer, and do a deep cleaning! before you expect to print anything useable. It will go thru a bunch of ink and whirr, spin, clank and clunk for ten minutes before you get one useable page of print out. Needless to say, this eats ink in great quantities. To replace the ink cartridges with Cabon cartridges, ends up costing more than half the original coat of the printer. Unless you have an unlimited bank account, you are forced to go to alternate source cartridges. Refills are the other option but using either voids the warranty anyway. After my third set of Canon cartridges (within four months of purchasing the printer, I went to refills. You have to reset the printer since Canon, in their need to buy only THEIR inks, does not have any way to reset the chips on the actual cartridges.
Then, to top it off, the printer will often grab two sheets of paper. Finally it grabbed three sheets, crushed them under the print head and destroyed the printer. It was impossible to clean the crunched up (crunched to six or seven layers) under the head and preventing it from moving, That finally put this device out of MY misery. Oh yes, when I did finally get the paper out, there was a big pool of black ink under the printer and more than a few drops of colored ink inside the printer.
Opening the top cover to replace ink cartridges always gave me the feeling that the cover was about to fall off.
Doing anything with this printer took excessive amounts of time, even to just scan a document. That is scan it to the computer without any printing involved.
I did luck out in that a few weeks ago I had to print some printable DVDs and it did do that quite well (except for having to refill the inks two times during printing the 35 discs. That is about the best (and only good feature I can say about this unit.. Its print quality matches or is less than my many years old Canon i560. It did do a good job when using glossy photo paper but this was a small amount of my actual printing.
I had high hopes for this unit based on my Canon 1560 which is still going strong after MANY years of service, even with refill inks (again the high cost of Canon inks). It is really terrible that this 5420 did not even come close to meeting the standards for quality and reliability that the years old Canon 560 does.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Mavis
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Don't Even Consider It!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 13, 2014
Pros: Compact Design
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup, High Ink Consumption, won't print black & white if a color is low., often jams.
I bought this to replace a 4 year old Pixma that still worked OK. Decided to upgrade printer while upgrading computer. I had to have it set up by a commercial tech guy. Even he couldn't get it to scan wirelessly so I have to plug in the computer to do so. It does print wirelessly although It too often says the printer is incorrectly connected. Then I have to shut the printer off and back on. If one ink color gets low, it won't print black and white. Another problem is the frequency of paper jams. My biggest complaint is that this is the slowest printer I have ever used, even back in the 1980's. It takes forever to warm up, like 5-10 minutes. All in all, this is one very frustrating printer and I plan to dump it.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 4, 2014
Pros: Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: High Ink Consumption
We've used the printer for 4 months now and find that it uses too much ink but does have nice features.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: AMunoz
Location: Abilene, TX
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Poor Quality, Drinks Ink

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Heavy/Bulky, Dull Tones & Colors, High Ink Consumption, unreliable
I purchased this printer simply for proofing. The box said it's quality was very high and that it didn't consume much ink. That is not correct at all. I have used it 4 times and it has run out of ink already. That is 4 proofs, 3 were 1 page proofs. The other was a black and white document that was 52 pages front and back.
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Mistry bhai
Location: CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Regret is all I have coz ink is very expensive.

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2014
Pros: no pros for purpose that it serves
Cons: Slow Print Speed, High Ink Consumption
Canon printers r not worth it this is my second canon, first one MP560 did not last more then two ink refills. The second one MG6420 does not recognize when you refill ink carterages with ink. It's worst old marketing method. U cannot expect individuals to buy printer and pay for ink original carterages for same prize that's very in professional for canon to think that. I am never going to buy canon
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Upset
Location: Here
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Worst printer ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 15, 2014
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Heavy/Bulky, High Ink Consumption, unreliable
God this printer is horrible. Worst printer I have ever bought. Start up time sometimes is like 10 minutes!!! Wastes ink so fast. Won't print back and white documents if color ink is low. Never buying a canon again!
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: RedHeadedKitty
Location: Lexington, NC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Copying
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Love it!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2014
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: buttons a little too accessible
Best printing I've seen in forever and easy to use menus! The only thing that could possibly be improved is something in the design. Cats love to lie on printers/scanners. The buttons on this one are a little too close to the top to avoid buttons being pressed. I've had to cover with a cut out cardboard box.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Jonathan
Location: VA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Mediocre at Best

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 14, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, easy to use
Cons: Dull Tones & Colors, High Ink Consumption, unreliable
I had a Canon Pixma printer previously that I loved. It stopped working suddenly after 5+ yrs of use. It printed excellent photos. I thought it would be great to have a wireless printer. It is great when it works. Unfortunately, as with a lot of wireless tech, the connection occasionally fails, but most of the time I have had no problem connecting. Have Mac and PC's connected. Scanning is pretty easy and pretty good quality. The printing is bad though. Photos aren't near the quality of my previous Pixma. I have to clean the print head super frequently, so the thing eats ink. Literally sometimes, I will have to clean the print head every other print or it will make big white streaks on the paper. Quality is just not on par with my last Canon printer. Good features, poorly executed.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: splem
Location: Tennessee
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

VERY POOR SCAN AND PRINT QUALITY

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 6, 2014
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Heavy/Bulky, Dull Tones & Colors, High Ink Consumption, scans fuzzy images
This printer is very slow to start printing. Scanned images are fuzzy and the colors are not the same brightness as the scanned image. Printed image comes out dull and the colors are not the same as the original image being printed. Don't waste your money on this printer!!!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site