Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MG Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MG Series or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5420

PIXMA MG5420

Like all PIXMA printers, the MG5420 produces amazing detail in both business documents and photographs with 9600 x 2400 maximum color dpi 2 and a 5-Color Ink System.
Average Customer Rating:
2.575 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(113 Reviews) 113
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (113 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
13
3 stars
15
2 stars
9
1 star
51
32 out of 89(36%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5420
Review 1 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Vanguy
Location: Vancouver
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Don't Buy

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 27, 2015
I purchased this printer approx 1 year ago and have nothing but problems with it. It goes through a lot of ink even on draft settings and I have always required a work around solution for the scanner, and now the work around no longer works either. It is a complete frustration.
I will be replacing this unit with a competitor's product this week.
Review 2 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Myrna
Location: Hawley, Pa.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Basically I like this printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 19, 2015
I have had it for 7 years and a short time ago the printing became erratic. I asked for help and got: Instructions to clean the roller and how to. I did and it is now printing again like it did before.
The pages print fast both one-sided and two-sided.
This is a very complex machine as it does so much. I found out that you MUST read the manual which comes with Image Garden software. Right now I am researching how to shut off the WI-Fi light. But so far it is still printing.
Review 3 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Angry\Badger
Location: Chicago
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worst Purchase Choice

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2015
I've looked at the "tips" to get the printer to wifi print but it continues to not work. I purchased this because it seemed like a good wifi printer and had decent reviews on a large online retailer. I've done what I can to correct that mistake and am rating it poorly here too. I've used others with fair ease (not perfect but at least they work) so maybe look elsewhere.
Review 4 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: THOR
Location: Oak Grove, Oregon
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Very Pleased

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 25, 2015
I just purchased the MG 5420 printer and ID badge J-tray for the Mt Hood Miata Club. They will be used primarily to print Membership ID Badges. I had a backlog of 96 badges to be printed. The quality and ease of printing far exceeded my expectations.
Review 5 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Starfish
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2015
THIS IS A HORRIBLE PRINTER!! I really needed to print something important and it kept making sounds and it wouldn't print! It kept telling me I needed to put paper in but I didn't and i resent the queue multiple times! This printer is not worth the stress and unreliability.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: nikgun
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

TERRIBLE PRINTER!!!!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 29, 2015
Couple of weeks it worked fine, then it stopped printing at all, i replaced it once and replaced one was even worse. It took it forever to print one page. Now it simply does not print at all. The only thing it prints is blank pages. Bravo, Canon!!!. Disappointed...Avoid it every possible way. I will also put review on Amazon.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Frustrated
Location: Springfield, Va.
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Worst Purchase Ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 14, 2015
This printer takes forever to print if you can get it to print. The wireless feature works sometime. It's good when you can get it to work. Many times I can't print and I have to download the information to another media so I can take it to another printer. I will not buy this type of product anymore. It was a waste of my money and time.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Doogie
Location: TN
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

SORRY I EVER BOUGHT IT

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2015
SO VERY SLOW, CAN NOT DOWNLOAD USER MANUEL.
OK it's cheaper for Canon not to print a user manual but for the consumer it's a nightmare.,
Will never buy another Canon printer, EVER
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Blinker
Location: California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Not for Me

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2015
This printer is compact (MG5420) but very slow printing. Does not have option for all black copies from computer.
It was challenging to set up the wireless but if you are patient and go step by step it works very well.
I am now trying to set up the scanner and find no immediate help online for this process and nothing came with the printer/scanner. I would not recommend this to a friend and I would not purchase again.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Jerry
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worst purchase ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2015
I have nothing but trouble since purchasing the PIXMA MG 5420. It will not scan to the computer and it stopped doing air print. Service has helped on two occasions, however they could not get it to air print. They got it to scan and then that function stopped working. I do not recommend purchasing this item. I will look elsewhere for a better printer.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: BluePony
Location: Orlando, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

So disappointed

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2015
I have been a die-hard Canon fan for over 10 years. My last all-in-one (MP530) was the best printer I have ever owned. When it finally died after 6 years, I replaced it with the MG5420. I regret it. It was hard to set up (had to call Canon to assist, still can't print wirelessly, or print from laptop), it's super noisy, very slow, frustrating and difficult to use. Had this been the first Canon product I ever purchased, I don't think I would ever buy again from this company. I don't know what happened with the design and production of this scanner... I find it hard to believe it even has the Canon logo on it. I guess it's time to replace this one with a different Canon printer.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Ellen
Location: Rome, GA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Like!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2015
After using this printer for about four months, I have no complaints. It is easy to set up, has not had a paper jam, prints clearly and the ink cartridges are easy to change. This printer does everything I need for my home office needs.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Jhnhillis
Location: Monroe, La.
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

PIXMA MG5420

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2015
I bought the PIXMA MG5420 about a year ago.
I have not had ANY PROBLEMS up to date.
It prints wonderfully, on the network.
I would recommend this printer to anyone.
This is not the only Canon Printer that I use.
For me this has been a most excellent printer
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Tricia914
Location: Connecticut
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: more than 20 years

I thought it was a good printer but I was WRONG

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2015
I have had this printer for a little over a year right now. Everyone complained about the noise which to me was not that bad. I mean you would never put a sleeping baby next to it but its not that loud at all. The big issue I have is even though it shows on my computer and the it is on the wifi it tells me my computer is not connected or the printer is already offline. But it is not. This can be very frustrating when trying to work and ea
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: spacedebree
Location: LA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Waste

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2014
Ink hog and wireless use is useless.
Nothing but problems and waste of money with the MG5420
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Jack
Location: San Jose, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2014
Great printer. Great price. Bought it mostly to print pictures. They come out really well. Better than getting them printed at the store
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: HHH
Location: El Segundo, Ca
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Hard to use

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2014
The instructions refer to letters that mean something I am not familiar with making it hard to understand. I need the steps to simply scan a photo or document. I feel I am being forced into using the Canon Garden etc which adds something I don't want. I want to scan something at a particular setting and have it saved in a folder of my choice on my hard drive.
I would like to print a photo by, ctrl-p and select what I want, size, gray-scale, and whatever.
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Shel
Location: Twin Falls, Idaho
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Piece of Junk

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 22, 2014
This printer loses it wi-fi connection every other day!!! And of course no support on the weekend when I need it most. Trying to run a small business with this undependable piece of JUNK.
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Kathy D
Location: Luray, VA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2014
This printer is a replacement for me of an old (15-20 years old?) MP830 printer. The improvements are spectacular! Thoroughly enjoying the wifi connection. And so many "goodies." Even I, not being an electronically inclined individual, could figure out the set up and how to use it. Thanks once again, Canon. I am a fan.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: rebelYUN
Location: new york
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

works fine in the beginning...

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2014
Worked great in the beginning but after a while the wireless printing settings stopped working, I also don't understand how there are two ink cartridge slots for black and it won't let me just use cli-black when the the other one is out.
This is very frustrating because the ink gets wasted very fast off three pages of regular black text.
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site