Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MG Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MG Series or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5420

PIXMA MG5420

Like all PIXMA printers, the MG5420 produces amazing detail in both business documents and photographs with 9600 x 2400 maximum color dpi 2 and a 5-Color Ink System.
Average Customer Rating:
2.598 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(107 Reviews) 107
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (107 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
12
3 stars
15
2 stars
9
1 star
47
32 out of 89(36%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5420
Review 1 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Frustrated
Location: Springfield, Va.
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Worst Purchase Ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 14, 2015
This printer takes forever to print if you can get it to print. The wireless feature works sometime. It's good when you can get it to work. Many times I can't print and I have to download the information to another media so I can take it to another printer. I will not buy this type of product anymore. It was a waste of my money and time.
Review 2 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Doogie
Location: TN
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

SORRY I EVER BOUGHT IT

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2015
SO VERY SLOW, CAN NOT DOWNLOAD USER MANUEL.
OK it's cheaper for Canon not to print a user manual but for the consumer it's a nightmare.,
Will never buy another Canon printer, EVER
Review 3 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Blinker
Location: California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Not for Me

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2015
This printer is compact (MG5420) but very slow printing. Does not have option for all black copies from computer.
It was challenging to set up the wireless but if you are patient and go step by step it works very well.
I am now trying to set up the scanner and find no immediate help online for this process and nothing came with the printer/scanner. I would not recommend this to a friend and I would not purchase again.
Review 4 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Jerry
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worst purchase ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2015
I have nothing but trouble since purchasing the PIXMA MG 5420. It will not scan to the computer and it stopped doing air print. Service has helped on two occasions, however they could not get it to air print. They got it to scan and then that function stopped working. I do not recommend purchasing this item. I will look elsewhere for a better printer.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: BluePony
Location: Orlando, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

So disappointed

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2015
I have been a die-hard Canon fan for over 10 years. My last all-in-one (MP530) was the best printer I have ever owned. When it finally died after 6 years, I replaced it with the MG5420. I regret it. It was hard to set up (had to call Canon to assist, still can't print wirelessly, or print from laptop), it's super noisy, very slow, frustrating and difficult to use. Had this been the first Canon product I ever purchased, I don't think I would ever buy again from this company. I don't know what happened with the design and production of this scanner... I find it hard to believe it even has the Canon logo on it. I guess it's time to replace this one with a different Canon printer.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Ellen
Location: Rome, GA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Like!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2015
After using this printer for about four months, I have no complaints. It is easy to set up, has not had a paper jam, prints clearly and the ink cartridges are easy to change. This printer does everything I need for my home office needs.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Jhnhillis
Location: Monroe, La.
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

PIXMA MG5420

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2015
I bought the PIXMA MG5420 about a year ago.
I have not had ANY PROBLEMS up to date.
It prints wonderfully, on the network.
I would recommend this printer to anyone.
This is not the only Canon Printer that I use.
For me this has been a most excellent printer
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Tricia914
Location: Connecticut
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: more than 20 years

I thought it was a good printer but I was WRONG

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2015
I have had this printer for a little over a year right now. Everyone complained about the noise which to me was not that bad. I mean you would never put a sleeping baby next to it but its not that loud at all. The big issue I have is even though it shows on my computer and the it is on the wifi it tells me my computer is not connected or the printer is already offline. But it is not. This can be very frustrating when trying to work and ea
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: spacedebree
Location: LA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Waste

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2014
Ink hog and wireless use is useless.
Nothing but problems and waste of money with the MG5420
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Jack
Location: San Jose, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2014
Great printer. Great price. Bought it mostly to print pictures. They come out really well. Better than getting them printed at the store
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: HHH
Location: El Segundo, Ca
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Hard to use

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2014
The instructions refer to letters that mean something I am not familiar with making it hard to understand. I need the steps to simply scan a photo or document. I feel I am being forced into using the Canon Garden etc which adds something I don't want. I want to scan something at a particular setting and have it saved in a folder of my choice on my hard drive.
I would like to print a photo by, ctrl-p and select what I want, size, gray-scale, and whatever.
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Shel
Location: Twin Falls, Idaho
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Piece of Junk

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 22, 2014
This printer loses it wi-fi connection every other day!!! And of course no support on the weekend when I need it most. Trying to run a small business with this undependable piece of JUNK.
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Kathy D
Location: Luray, VA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2014
This printer is a replacement for me of an old (15-20 years old?) MP830 printer. The improvements are spectacular! Thoroughly enjoying the wifi connection. And so many "goodies." Even I, not being an electronically inclined individual, could figure out the set up and how to use it. Thanks once again, Canon. I am a fan.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: rebelYUN
Location: new york
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

works fine in the beginning...

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2014
Worked great in the beginning but after a while the wireless printing settings stopped working, I also don't understand how there are two ink cartridge slots for black and it won't let me just use cli-black when the the other one is out.
This is very frustrating because the ink gets wasted very fast off three pages of regular black text.
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: RedDirtCreations
Location: Texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Absolutely LOVE!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 7, 2014
To say that I am shocked after reading so many negative reviews here....is a huge understatement! I bought this Canon about a year and a half ago, not just for one or two of the things that it was supposed to do, but for virtually everything! I was nervous because I usually don't have great luck buying any type of electronics, and I'm used to having to return items and eventually getting one that works on the 2nd or 3rd try. Not this time! Set up was a breeze....couldn't believe how easy it was! Especially the wifi, because I'll be honest....I seem to always have problems with my wifi. It just all clicked like a dream. The photo's always come out looking crisp and clear and the colors are amazing. Seems like every printer I have ever had, I battle with it over paper jams....this far into owning this one, I have yet to have a paper jam (knock on wood). I'm not sure if I'm one of a very few that managed to get one that performs well AND doesn't use a lot of ink! I was shocked at how long my first set of ink cartridges lasted and was continually checking them, because I just knew that I had to be close to running out, even tho it showed something different on the display. I'm sure I don't print as much as other people might do, but from past experience with other printers, even if I was printing twice as much as I do now, it would still be reasonable on the amount of ink it uses. Yes, it is a little bit slow to warm up first thing, but that doesn't bother me that much because I'm the same way lol! I do have one thing that I don't understand....the second paper tray! I'm not really sure what its for, since it doesn't seem to be sized for regular sized paper.
I highly recommend this Canon for home/home office use and depending on the type of small business, that also.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Galesburg, Il.
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

price right,but features lack

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 4, 2014
While price was excellent, features lack.When hooked up to computer and computer calls for printing, I would prefer the option of printing in black ink only. When doing copies, I can select black only.
If printer is left on while using computer for a length of time, it automatically shuts down and then goes through to start up procedure all over again when I call for a particular page to be printed. This is time wasted and I assume ink wasted..
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: CLynn
Location: Alvarado, Tx
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Worst printer EVER!!!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 19, 2014
This is by far the worst printer I ever encountered in my life! It is a total piece of garbage. If you ever want to just print in black and white, forget it- unless you have full ink in every compartment plus an extra large black one. Oh, and even when you buy new ink cartridges, count on them lasting about 12 sheets before at least one of them runs out. I have never seen a multicolor printer that wouldn't let you at least print from the black cartridge. Horrid, horrid product. I just wish I had realized what a malfunctioning hunk of plastic it was before it was too late to return it. I will never purchase another Canon product.
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: AgingEngineer
Location: Raleigh, NC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Tips on Installation and Slow Printing

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2014
A few points on MG5420 wireless printer installation that may keep you from seeing some of the problems seen by some of those who have complained about difficulty with the wireless setup, 'no response from printer' problems, and extremely slow printing--I've seen them, too, but I've fixed them--at least in my installation.
1) Update the drivers to latest level for your computer (XP, Vista, etc) (always a good practice, anyway). Mine were available by simply using the Windows Update function.
2) If you're using MAC address filtering in your router, don't forget to update the list to include the printer MAC.
3) Unless you have good reason to do otherwise, recommend you disable Ipv6 on both printer and router.
At this point, I had connectivity to the printer, but experienced the "no response from printer" error--even when simply printing a test page. Then, about 20-3- minutes later, printing would start--that is, until I did the next item (4):
4. Finally, disable the LAN DRX function in the printer.
Now printing starts in seconds. All is good!
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: LaDe
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

don't buy it!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 5, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, High Ink Consumption, unreliable
It never broadcasts & even hardwired it doesn't print.
4 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Kt.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

terrible rpinter

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 18, 2014
I had Canon model before this that was satisfactory. This one is lighter and flimsier. It almost never prints true. I am forever replacing ink and it still prints mostly orange. I have a hard time getting it to recognize our wireless. It will print okay one day and be "offline" the next four. Do not buy this printer.
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site