Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MG Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MG Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5420

PIXMA MG5420

Like all PIXMA printers, the MG5420 produces amazing detail in both business documents and photographs with 9600 x 2400 maximum color dpi 2 and a 5-Color Ink System.
Average Customer Rating:
2.602 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(88 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (88 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
11
3 stars
12
2 stars
8
1 star
38
32 out of 88(36%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5420
Review 1 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Kt.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

terrible rpinter

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 18, 2014
I had Canon model before this that was satisfactory. This one is lighter and flimsier. It almost never prints true. I am forever replacing ink and it still prints mostly orange. I have a hard time getting it to recognize our wireless. It will print okay one day and be "offline" the next four. Do not buy this printer.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Arthur H
Location: Severna Park, MD
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Main use: disc printing

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2014
Pros: reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors, very good disc printing, not its competitors
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, High Ink Consumption, messy documentation
This is my first Canon printer, purchased solely to print CD and DVD labels straight to disc. It's the ONLY consumer inkjet I will use for this purpose now. Once I discovered that this cannot be done wirelessly, but requires a USB connection (an inconvenience if you want to print from multiple computers), and once I figured out how to set up to print from my very common Mac-based label printing software, I was good to go.
Drawbacks are:
* "user-friendly" but actually very complicated documentation. Scan to your computer vs. your pad? Change ink carts?? Hard to figure out. Give me a traditionally organized, comprehensive manual please.
* like most ink jets, consumes way too much ink, especially if you only use it for brief spurts.
* buttons are easy to press accidentally
I almost never use the paper feed, but it's GOT to be better than its major competitor. Because I have to use the USB connection, I may not be able to use iPrint with my phone, but I'll check into it and hope that, unlike its major competitor, this feature will actually work.
Overall, prints nicely to discs, but so consumer-friendly and feature rich that it's otherwise too cluttered for my purposes.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: renrut
Location: Chicago suburb
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Quality Output

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: High Ink Consumption
My old MP600, which I loved, finally bit the dust. I purchased this machine and liked its ability to print CDs. I read as much as I could about this multifunction printer prior to purchasing. I really don't need wireless at home so I use a USB connection. The text and photos are outstanding. I found it easy to set up. Found the CD tray that is attached on the bottom of the upper tray. Had a brief problem in finding out exactly where to insert the CD tray, but a quick check on the Canon site resolved that problem. I usually know beforehand if I will be using the printer,so I turn it on right away while I'm getting the photos, CD, or letter that I will print or scan. Yes, it does use a lot of ink, but I don't print anything and everything. If it's a draft, I set the printer preference to "fast," which uses less ink. And no matter where one purchases the ink, it's expensive. Have had this machine about 3 weeks and find the quality of the output as good or better than my old MP600.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Topper
Location: Dallas, TX
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Worse purchase ever!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 1, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, unreliable, High Ink Consumption, Flimsy Construction
Shame on me for not reading the reviews before I bought this piece of junk! For the last 2 weeks I have struggled to get this to print at all! The wireless doesn't work, paper jams, and it uses ink like crazy. Seems like something new goes wrong everyday and I spend most of my work time trying to figure out why I can't print.
Don't buy it - just junk it!
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Therck
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

What were they thinking?>

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 28, 2014
Pros: Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Heavy/Bulky, Difficult Setup, High Ink Consumption, unreliable
This is my 6th Canon printer and they are beginning to lose my confidence overall. As others have noted, this printer is the slowest to initiate printing that I have ever had. It just grinds, whirs and clunks for many minutes before beginning to print. And why did they ever go to a front-and-over paper handling mechanism? You know this will be more problematic than straight down-and-out handling. And it is. It is difficult to know where to align the paper in the lower tray for proper pick-up and the system will take up multiple sheets at times. And yes, the ink consumption is excessive. Come on, Canon. Are you trying to lose customers?
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Disgusted!
Location: Northwester PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

DO NOT BUY THIS PIECE OF JUNK!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 24, 2014
Cons: Slow Print Speed, High Ink Consumption, Flimsy Construction, excessive head cleaning needed, pulls multiple sheets of paper, left pool of ink under printer
I received this printer just about one year and two weeks ago. The warranty is for one year. Now I know why. It has failed already. It uses ink like there is an endless supply of new factory cartridges and endless money to buy them. I got this primarily for its scanner and disc printing features. BUT the scanner will not work when any one of the ink cartridges is low. It does not matter that you are not printing. When you do print, start the printer, and do a deep cleaning! before you expect to print anything useable. It will go thru a bunch of ink and whirr, spin, clank and clunk for ten minutes before you get one useable page of print out. Needless to say, this eats ink in great quantities. To replace the ink cartridges with Cabon cartridges, ends up costing more than half the original coat of the printer. Unless you have an unlimited bank account, you are forced to go to alternate source cartridges. Refills are the other option but using either voids the warranty anyway. After my third set of Canon cartridges (within four months of purchasing the printer, I went to refills. You have to reset the printer since Canon, in their need to buy only THEIR inks, does not have any way to reset the chips on the actual cartridges.
Then, to top it off, the printer will often grab two sheets of paper. Finally it grabbed three sheets, crushed them under the print head and destroyed the printer. It was impossible to clean the crunched up (crunched to six or seven layers) under the head and preventing it from moving, That finally put this device out of MY misery. Oh yes, when I did finally get the paper out, there was a big pool of black ink under the printer and more than a few drops of colored ink inside the printer.
Opening the top cover to replace ink cartridges always gave me the feeling that the cover was about to fall off.
Doing anything with this printer took excessive amounts of time, even to just scan a document. That is scan it to the computer without any printing involved.
I did luck out in that a few weeks ago I had to print some printable DVDs and it did do that quite well (except for having to refill the inks two times during printing the 35 discs. That is about the best (and only good feature I can say about this unit.. Its print quality matches or is less than my many years old Canon i560. It did do a good job when using glossy photo paper but this was a small amount of my actual printing.
I had high hopes for this unit based on my Canon 1560 which is still going strong after MANY years of service, even with refill inks (again the high cost of Canon inks). It is really terrible that this 5420 did not even come close to meeting the standards for quality and reliability that the years old Canon 560 does.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Mavis
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Don't Even Consider It!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 13, 2014
Pros: Compact Design
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup, High Ink Consumption, won't print black & white if a color is low., often jams.
I bought this to replace a 4 year old Pixma that still worked OK. Decided to upgrade printer while upgrading computer. I had to have it set up by a commercial tech guy. Even he couldn't get it to scan wirelessly so I have to plug in the computer to do so. It does print wirelessly although It too often says the printer is incorrectly connected. Then I have to shut the printer off and back on. If one ink color gets low, it won't print black and white. Another problem is the frequency of paper jams. My biggest complaint is that this is the slowest printer I have ever used, even back in the 1980's. It takes forever to warm up, like 5-10 minutes. All in all, this is one very frustrating printer and I plan to dump it.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 4, 2014
Pros: Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: High Ink Consumption
We've used the printer for 4 months now and find that it uses too much ink but does have nice features.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: AMunoz
Location: Abilene, TX
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Poor Quality, Drinks Ink

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Heavy/Bulky, Dull Tones & Colors, High Ink Consumption, unreliable
I purchased this printer simply for proofing. The box said it's quality was very high and that it didn't consume much ink. That is not correct at all. I have used it 4 times and it has run out of ink already. That is 4 proofs, 3 were 1 page proofs. The other was a black and white document that was 52 pages front and back.
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Mistry bhai
Location: CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Regret is all I have coz ink is very expensive.

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2014
Pros: no pros for purpose that it serves
Cons: Slow Print Speed, High Ink Consumption
Canon printers r not worth it this is my second canon, first one MP560 did not last more then two ink refills. The second one MG6420 does not recognize when you refill ink carterages with ink. It's worst old marketing method. U cannot expect individuals to buy printer and pay for ink original carterages for same prize that's very in professional for canon to think that. I am never going to buy canon
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Upset
Location: Here
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Worst printer ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 15, 2014
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Heavy/Bulky, High Ink Consumption, unreliable
God this printer is horrible. Worst printer I have ever bought. Start up time sometimes is like 10 minutes!!! Wastes ink so fast. Won't print back and white documents if color ink is low. Never buying a canon again!
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: RedHeadedKitty
Location: Lexington, NC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Copying
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Love it!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2014
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: buttons a little too accessible
Best printing I've seen in forever and easy to use menus! The only thing that could possibly be improved is something in the design. Cats love to lie on printers/scanners. The buttons on this one are a little too close to the top to avoid buttons being pressed. I've had to cover with a cut out cardboard box.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Jonathan
Location: VA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Mediocre at Best

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 14, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, easy to use
Cons: Dull Tones & Colors, High Ink Consumption, unreliable
I had a Canon Pixma printer previously that I loved. It stopped working suddenly after 5+ yrs of use. It printed excellent photos. I thought it would be great to have a wireless printer. It is great when it works. Unfortunately, as with a lot of wireless tech, the connection occasionally fails, but most of the time I have had no problem connecting. Have Mac and PC's connected. Scanning is pretty easy and pretty good quality. The printing is bad though. Photos aren't near the quality of my previous Pixma. I have to clean the print head super frequently, so the thing eats ink. Literally sometimes, I will have to clean the print head every other print or it will make big white streaks on the paper. Quality is just not on par with my last Canon printer. Good features, poorly executed.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: splem
Location: Tennessee
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

VERY POOR SCAN AND PRINT QUALITY

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 6, 2014
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Heavy/Bulky, Dull Tones & Colors, High Ink Consumption, scans fuzzy images
This printer is very slow to start printing. Scanned images are fuzzy and the colors are not the same brightness as the scanned image. Printed image comes out dull and the colors are not the same as the original image being printed. Don't waste your money on this printer!!!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Gary
Location: South Bend, IN
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Painfully slow startup

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 24, 2014
Quality of print is good but this printer takes forever to wake up and start printing. Making a copy of a document from a sleeping printer takes at least 5 minutes.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: CatKnip
Location: Atlanta, GA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Does what it claims

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 7, 2014
Cons: does not allow regular paper in the second tray.l
I've been using Canon printers for 20 years and won't buy anything else. It is designed for home use and light office rather than heavy office use, so keep that in mind. I use mine a lot to print knitting patterns I'm going to be doing to save wear and tear on the magazine or book it's in.
My only caveat is that I would love for the second tray to also use standard paper. I recycle my prints for both sides so it would be really handy to be able to place those in the second tray and specify that one for use in printing out patterns and keep clean paper in the other tray. Not a deal breaker though.
I'd needed a printer that also scanned as I have limited space. This fits the bill.
I also prefer one that has separate tanks for each color since you usually run out of red and/or blue and still have half a tank of yellow. This printer fills that requirement as well. Two black tanks and one for each color as well.
19 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Chuck
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Bought for Two Features - Only One Works

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2014
I bought this for wireless printing and direct inkjet printing onto printable DVDs. My system is a 3.06 GHz Intel iMac with 10.6.8; an iPad, iPad Mini, and iPhone 5.
Set-up for wireless printing took about 3 minutes for the printer to do its own set-up, and then I pushed the WPS button on my modem/router, at which point all devices were connected. Wireless printing from all 3 devices is great, Picture quality on Canon Photo Paper Plus Glossy II (3 sheets included) is outstanding.
The second reason I bought this was for direct inkjet printing onto printable DVDs. This is totally unsatisfactory! First, one must use Canon software (My Image Garden) to print. This program is designed for would-be artists, and is set up to require images (scanned in pictures, and other such stuff). I do not want any pictures on the DVDs. My purpose is to label DVDs for archival storage, with text identifying what is on the DVD. The best this Image Garden will provide is three boxes on the lower half of a DVD giving a grand total of 175 characters of Times New Roman, 12 pitch data. I am a lawyer, this was going to be used to identify dozens of case titles from litigated cases I have handled. 750 MB of space on a DVD would give me space for about 100 .pdf formatted of the typical cases I want to store. This limitation to 175 characters makes this "feature" useless to me. There is no way I can possibly identify 5% of what is on the DVD. I can't even say good morning to a Judge in court and identify myself in 175 characters!
At this point I am researching the options with Canon to see if I can enter more data, as well as researching other printer companies' printers to see if I can find one that will work for me.
No I would not buy this again. No I would have not carried it into my house if it had been a gift from Canon.
6 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Jimbo
Location: Big Los Angles
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

GERRRRRRRRATE

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 28, 2014
Pros: what can i say? try it
Cons: can't think of any
The PIXMA printer MG5420 produces amazing detail in both documents and photographs with 9600 x 2400 color and a 5-Color Ink System with a sixth cartridge that makes your color prints on glossy paper look like they came from the printers . Replacing the ink is quick and easy. The MG5420 reproduces the colors of your original documents flawlessly. And thanks to AirPrint3, Cloud Print4 and PIXMA Cloud Link5, the MG5420 lets you print wirelessly from your compatible smartphone or tablet. You can also create beautiful scans and copies. You can print JPEG, PDF files, web pages and other stuff wirelessly from compatible iPad, iPhone, iPod, and Android devices without a computer, thanks to some free apps. You can also print from your computer. Try it you'll like it.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: gs21a
Location: Carlsbad, NM
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Canon printer MF5420

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2014
Pros: good quality, good price
Cons: no rear paper tray, scans file size is too large, too slow to start printing
Ordered this when my older Canon printer died last year after 5 years of faithful service. Never occurred to me that the newer Canon printers would not have a rear paper tray. Sorely disappointed that the second paper tray is in the front and only accepts small photo paper. I don't know why everyone assumes that the only use for these printers is photo printing. Some of us still use a desktop printer for office / clerical needs. I had to set this one aside and source an older model that still had the rear tray. Even then, the one I found is supposed to be for photo paper in the back. Recommend Canon rethink their decision to remove the rear paper tray on these printers.
Otherwise, the quality was good. Print start is slow as it always aligns the print heads before printing. And, the Canon Imaging software is over the top and not user friendly.
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: PrintMan
Location: Birmingham, AL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good printer needs better instructions

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2014
Pros: very fast printing
Cons: instructions do not tell the whole story
Canon printers got good reviews for Mac users, so I bought one. I got the MG 5420. It is wireless capable. However, there are a few things the instructions didn't really cover so I would like to mention them for the sake of anyone else using an Apple computer and an Airport Extreme router. I bought this printer for the print directly to printable CD or DVD option but the instructions fail to mention that this will not work unless the printer is connected via USB cable. You cannot print this way wirelessly. Also, I had to update software from Canon. I think the drivers that were included were faulty. Also, less than 24 hours after setting up the wi-fi, I had to reset it because it claimed the printer was "offline". Go into the Mac system prefs and under printers, delete the printer and add the printer again and then it prints just fine. So, overall, I would say that this is still a very good printer. The ink supply is good. I've gotten a lot of printing off the inks included with the printer. Printing standard legal size pages is super fast. They shoot out of the machine, which is a huge improvement over the old snail-pace printer I used to have. It prints beautiful photos too. There are still other features I have not yet used but am looking forward to it. In summary, I really like this printer. It has it's quirks but overall, I have not encountered any problems that cannot be addressed. For the price, it's a steal.
6 of 10 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site