Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MX Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MX Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX922

PIXMA MX922

The MX922 also has a new high-capacity 250-sheet plain paper cassette so you can focus on your work and not running out of paper! This can bring office efficiency to all-new levels and help reduce costs at the same time.
Average Customer Rating:
2.586 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(292 Reviews) 292
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (292 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
46
3 stars
26
2 stars
53
1 star
112
69 out of 204(34%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX922
Review 1 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Jerry
Location: Henderson, NV
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Not good for lots of scanning

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2015
I actually like this printer for its b&w and color printing.
But, if you have a lot of scanning to do where the scanned data must reside as a file on your computer via a wifi connection, then this is NOT the scanner for you. A 16 page document took over a half hour to complete. I suppose I could try going to an ethernet connection, but I only do lots of scanning on occasion and I'm too lazy to set that up only to have to remove it later. I wouldn't want that cable as a permanent fixture in my home office setup.
Review 2 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: GeoP
Location: Waterford, MI
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Printer fits my needs

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2015
Emergency purchase to replace my old printer that just up and quit (after many good years). I just use this for personal use, no industrial printing, and it does the job I bought it for (so far). Have only had it for a month or so but I'm happy with it. Still need to figure out how the desk top icon stuff works but I'll get there.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Fran
Location: Monroe, LA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2015
I am a senior citizen (68) and NOT computer literate. However I do use my computer to pay bills and receive statements. I initally bought another name printer. I couldn't ever connect it. I called the tech support and finally got it connected, then it worked for 4 (yes 4) days and quit, while giving me some stupid "error message". I had to return it. I then bought the Pixma 922. It was easy as pie. I love love, love it. Thank you Canon!!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: puke
Location: Northern California
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Oops

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2015
I ran a detailed printing job with the MX922 and ran into multiple paper handling problems. False paper out message even when machine is actively printing. One sheet usual paper pickup, but two sheets also happened four times in 50 - not acceptable. Paper jammed, jam cleared. MX922 returned to dealer, Bought MG7520 instead. MX922 2-star..MG7520 not rated yet but appears physically superior to MX922. .
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: rav
Location: Sarasota, FL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Less quality than expected

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 20, 2015
This printer is not as good as the Series MX800 I replaced. I miss the rear feed that allowed any sized paper and allowed it to have a straight feed.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Wahbello
Location: Los Angeles
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

The worst printer I have ever had

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2015
Don't buy this piece of trash please! I am a photographer, I have been using Canon cameras, video cameras and products since 1995. I have always been happy with anything canon until I purchased this piece of pure junk. It stalls, it takes its time, it would drive you insane in the very moments you are in a rush to print important stuff and take forever... Money thrown out the window for the worst slowest nonsense printer I have ever experienced! What a disgrace to the name of CANON!
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: DonQ
Location: Texas
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very Poor, blurry Scan Quality

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2015
The scan process is much easier than the 892, BUT, the image really lack clarity.
I tried to scan a printed and very readable floor plan as a PDF document. The image is so faint that it is difficult to read the print. Big Disappointment.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: JSMA
Location: chicago, il
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2015
Worked well when it worked. After one year started getting skipping on the black page ink coverage. Cleaning, deep cleaning, nozzle cleaning does not resolve it. My third Canon that I have had print head problems with. Time to try some other brand.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: sailing seattle
Location: Minneapolis
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Lousy printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2015
I purchased a Canon PIXMA MXM920, yes 920 in December and it is one of the worst purchases I've ever made. I've had more trouble with it than I can tell you. I've had another Canon printer for years and love it, but this one doesn't work more often than it does. It pauses printing for no reason and will not resume when prompted. I can't seem to get the scanner to work. Don't buy it.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Arlington, TX
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Setup Problems

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 9, 2015
When I tried to install the printer I was unable to do so; the instructions were vague and incomplete. After two hours I returned the printer to the store for a refund. One of the salespeople showed how to get around some the problems so I took it back home and tried again. After another one and half hours i was able to install it with LAN but not the USB cable installation that I wanted. I had to wait until Monday and call Canon technical support to complete the installation. In contrast, I installed the printer I was replacing (a PIXMA MP530) on my backup computer in twenty minutes.
Another problem I noticed is the user's manual. Once I downloaded it and read it I found it much less detailed and complete than the one provided with the Canon MP 530.
Now that I have finally got it seup it seems to be working fine.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Pa
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very Disappointed

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 7, 2015
I have been very satisfied with Canon printer/scanner performance for years. I just purchased the MX922 expecting that the good experience I had on the MX860 would continue. Unfortunately, this turned out to be wrong. Printing is good. but scanning is very difficult to do from the computer because of the software. It seems that Canon is unwilling to set up the MX922 to be used with MP Navigator. It was that product which made the older machine so effective and easy to use for scanning, particularly with the automatic document feeder. . I agree with another reviewer. "If you are a heavy scanner user and store in many different files stay well clear of this unit. If you only print it is a fine machine" .I am very disappointed in Canon.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Topcat
Location: Jefferson City, MO
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

wonderful

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2015
Simply put. It was easy to set up, understand, and work with. I have made photos, did the 2-sided page and scanned. It was easy to connect with the wifi as well. Awesome I think. I
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: camdude
Location: Green Bay, wi
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very happy so far

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2015
Ive only had this printer for 1 day now, i purchased it for photo printing. Why it doesn't have a good review here, i don't know. Set up was an absolute breeze, Found my wifi instantly, my mac found the printer instantly. I have some tweaks to do yet, but print quality of photos overall are great. I haven't used the CD/DVD printer part yet, really don't plan on it, that is a little hard to find as I had to ask canon where the tray for it was..it is under hidden on the bottom of the top tray by the way...I've printed a few black and whites so far, cartridges seem to be using the same amount as any other printer I had. (Mite be a good idea though) to look at CIS systems (Continuous Ink Systems). The paper profiles are a bit confusing, but i found out which to use for my canon photo paper. My prints come out a little darker than what I have on screen, but I'm still working on that.
i just wish there was a way I could adjust the printers brightness of prints using a setting that allows for brightness adjustments.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Long Ash
Location: Richmond, Va.
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Not the Best

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2015
Bought this printer in the hopes that it would print on paper that I was having a problem with on my 2 other printers. The 922 seems to work better at the task, but uses much more ink than it should. Also prints flyers and brochures in darker colors than shown. Takes longer than normal to warm up and go on line.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: tony
Location: Cheyenne, wyo
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

great investment

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2015
I depend on my printer being a reliable piece of office equipment.
The Canon MX922 has far exceeded my expectations and the ease of installation only adds to my satisfaction with the printer.
great purchase.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Bob
Location: California
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Scanning is dumbed down

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2015
I've used Canon printers/scanners for several years and have been satisfied with their performance. After my long term Canon MX 850 failed I purchased the MX922 thinking that the same abilities would continue. We use yours for printing and scanning. The way that Canon has supposedly improved the scanning was to limit scanning capabilities by requiring the operator to put only one set of papers for a particular file where as with the 850 you could scan all the papers and then select the folder to send them to instead of the labor and time consuming process of only one set for one file and then resetting the files in the scanner and then repeating the process. What used to take minutes now takes hours. The customer service folks have been very apologetic but there seems to be no change in the wings. Unfortunately we are now shopping for a printer/scanner that has the capabilities of the MX850. The 922 has some nice expanded features though. If you are a heavy scanner user and store in many different files stay well clear of this unit. If you only print it is a fine machine.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: AbeLZ
Location: Staten Island
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Printer/Terrible Software

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2015
Great printer, and I love that it's airprint compatible.
But..... the scanning software is aweful.
The software for the older MX880 was far better.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: MX 922
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

DO NOT BUY

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2015
Printer and scanner lock out -- what? That's it, with color ink warning on I can not print back or use scanner.
This printer seems to eat ink. I put new color cartridges in printer and with it's continually cycles it eats up the ink. Very little color printing but all color gone.
IMO, this is the worst printer/scanner I have ever owned. I am going to look for new software update and if this does not fix -- its up for sale or the dumpster.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: don
Location: Huntsville, Ohio
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Canon PIXMA MX922

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2015
I did some research before purchasing this printer and the comparisons that were used rated this printer "Best Buy for Your Buck". After receiving it, I believe the reviews. Another reason for purchasing it was the I have a Canon SX50 Camera and it is awesome! I take unbelievable pictures with ease. That said, I have had other Canon products and respect the reliability, quality and functions. This printer, so far, has lived up to the Canon name of quality and hopefully reliability. I like the fact that you can purchase only the color that runs out instead of purchasing a bundle of colors. It was easy to set up and run. I have used the scanner, printed color photos, and printed from two different computers (a laptop and a desktop). The printer does seem to run a lot after printing, but does not impede printing. Overall, I think this printer has met all of my requirements and recommend it highly.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: JSG
Location: Camino, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Incomplete manual

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2015
Manual is totally incomplete. No directions for doing anything except copy. No directions for PRINTING, etc. Want to use B/W, but machine always switches to color.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site