Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MX Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MX Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX922

PIXMA MX922

The MX922 also has a new high-capacity 250-sheet plain paper cassette so you can focus on your work and not running out of paper! This can bring office efficiency to all-new levels and help reduce costs at the same time.
Average Customer Rating:
2.478 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(136 Reviews) 136
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (136 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
24
3 stars
14
2 stars
25
1 star
54
45 out of 136(33%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX922
Review 1 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Sonny
Location: Staten Island, New York
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

So Far The Best Purchase!!!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2014
Pros: reliable, High Quality Output, fast print speed
Cons: Difficult Setup
The Only Issue I Have With The Printer Set Up Is The Wireless Application:: It Took A Couple Of Try's To Get It To Go Wireless I Had To Call 1-800-OK Canon And Let Them Walk Me Trough The Setup, But I Finally Got It Working To My Satisfaction::In The Future, I Would Recomend And Owners Manuel To Show Diffrent Features:: But Overall, It's A Great System!!!!!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: professor
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Product replacement: Yes

Terrible printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, unreliable
This is a terrible printer, the worst we have ever owned.
1 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: M
Location: ma
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Don't buy this crab

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup, Low Quality Output, unreliable
It takes for ever to print on black and white paper
it uses a lot of very expensive ink
1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: walt1439
Location: oklahoma city
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

This printer isn't as bad as some say!!!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 4, 2014
Pros: reliable, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Difficult Setup
I got a good laugh at some of the really negative reviews of this printer. I think some people just are just exaggerating the negatives of this printer.
Some say it is slow and on startup it is a little slow, but it is no slower than most other printers in this price range that I have used. In fact it is much faster than most others I have owned.
I just finished running three reams of legal size paper through this printer copying deeds and it performed magnificently. I copied in color as I wanted the watermark on these deed copies in color and you can't tell the copies from the original. The ink consumption on this project wasn't out of line with most other printers.
Some say the scanner jams. I have yet to have the auto scan jam, but then again I don't put trash in the scanner with paper clips or other debris on the paper. I think the negatives about this scanner jamming is strictly bogus.
I have read complaints of streaks on copies and I have never experienced that. All my copies are as perfect as I think possible and as good as I get from using print shops for copying.
I did have some issues with setup, but after calling Canon those issues were solved. Canon has the best customer support that I have encountered anywhere.
Would I put this in a big office with numerous users and work it 24/7? Absolutely not. But, for my home office where I use it every day for copying documents and printing legal and letter size along with envelopes it works just fine and better than the other brand computer I replaced with this computer.
All I can add here is that I like it and use it every day and use it pretty hard.
33 of 33 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: AgudoDan
Location: Stamford
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Outstanding features/performance

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 4, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, easy to use, intuitive new features
Cons: Slow Print Speed
Hard to believe that all the reviewers who pan this machine used the same one I have. I love it. It's so much better than the prior models, e.g., MX870 and others before that I've had. Software has so many new helpful features, too many to note. I have had none of the problems mentioned by others, except that yes, it's a bit noisy and takes too long recycling before printing, but quality is terrific and no problems after using constantly/daily for 2 months. Highly recommended thus far.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: jonyen
Location: St Louis, MO
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Stay away from this printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 1, 2014
Please read the numerous reviews on this printer before making a purchase. All of the negative reviews are 100% accurate. This is by far the worse printer that I have owned. Four months of ownership and it has been one problem after another from phantom paper jammed to lost wifi connection.
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Geraldo
Location: Florida
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Canon PIXMA 922 STINKS!!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2014
Pros: nice color printing
Cons: doesn't print envelopes, scanner only works intermittently, made of cheap flimsly plastic, very long delay whenever starting to print, not worth the time and aggrivation.
From the time one presses or clicks "print", the Canon PIXMA 922 takes an inordinate amount of time to start printing the first page (30 to 40 seconds). And this is the case even when the printer is already warmed up. Its construction can best be described as cheap and shoddy. Moreover, there has been little forethought in its design. Who ever heard of having to remove all of the paper in order to print one envelope? And of course, that is assuming one is able to get the printer to print the envelope. I didn't pay a lot of money for this printer, but it should at least do the minimal things, like print, with some ease and speed. But evidently that's too much for Canon to try and figure out. It is going to be a long day in h-ll, before I purchase another printer made by Canon. It is annoying, aggravating, and I can't get my work done using it. One minute it will scan a document, the next it won't. Some days it prints envelopes, some days it doesn't. Life is too short to put up with this kind of poor performance from any product.
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: RS315
Location: Queens,NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

A very good Printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2014
I've had this printer for over a year now .So far .its been performing flawlessly = No jams , no freezes , not even ink gulping . This is by far the best printer I ever had ,and I've had quite a few ,given my extensive , and untimely use of 'em.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: PAJ
Location: MN
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Waste of money

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2014
Been a big Canon fan for some time, but will no longer be a printer customer. Stick to something you're good at Canon. Printers are not it. This printer can only print on thin stock. Card stock or heavy photo paper doesn't stand a chance in this printer. Speed is also an issue. Often takes minutes (no exaggeration here) to ready itself. Reasonably fast after the very slow start... Look to other brands if you want print media flexibility.
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: unhappy owner
Location: Peoria, IL
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

worst printer I ever owned

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2014
Cons: printer software, reliability, ease of maintenance
This is the worst, least reliable, hardest to use printer I have ever used of owned! Wish I had never bought it.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Curtis
Location: USA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Printing CD/DVD labels

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2014
Unable to INSTANTLY find ALL hardware setups for printing CD/DVD labels. Still do not have a clue on how to insert the tray into the printer.
It would be nice to have CLEAR how-to instructions without all the sales hype and dum-dum background NOISE posing as music.
Review 12 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: deepsqleg
Location: Bluffton SC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Worst canon Product

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2014
Pros: no pros
Cons: see review for cons
Having bought and happily used MX 860 and MX 892, this product MX 922 is absolute junk. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY !! It is extremely flimsy, makes an incredible noise when printing and not ! Has no stop in the paper tray, so it is impossible to line up with labels/trifold brochures etc. I don't know what Canon was thinking - I have wasted hours, inks and expensive paper to try to make it perform. Goodbye Canon !
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: online school mom
Location: SC
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

PITIFUL!!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2014
I researched printers extensively before purchasing this one. I chose the MX922 because it had all the features I was looking for and previous reviews for other Canon printers were positive. HOWEVER, this printer is HORRIBLE! If it is not in continuous use, it loses wireless connection. I constantly have to input the passcode. Oh, and if it were being used continuously, be prepared to shell out bucks for the ink. I never understand how the colored ink runs out so fast when I print mostly in black and white??????
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: cmaw
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

worst printer ever

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2014
Pros: photo prints look great
Cons: slow, many steps to work, scanning is fickle, sucks ink very quickly
Wish I had paid closer attention to other reviewers. This printer is the slowest, most difficult printer I have ever dealt with. Even the 'fast' setting takes minutes to print a single black one-sided document. The color prints look good, but it is not enough to make me like this dog. I cannot wait to get rid of it and find something that actually does what it is supposed to... print quickly and scan easily.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: TJ
Location: Albany, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

infuriating!!!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2014
I wanted to love this machine. It had all the features I needed and I had no problems with my MP620. This machine does not print wirelessly, does not automatically connect to the router (you have to manually type in all information), and then this printer looses the connection and does not print. Aggravating! I am going to return this printer, but I can't print the return label!!!!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Moe
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months

Worst Purchase Ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2014
This is by FAR the worst printer I have ever used. Even when hardwired to the computer, it loses connection constantly- in fact I've come to expect that it won't print on the first try. It's as if it completely disconnects itself when it goes to sleep. I'd only be taken off guard if it printed without malfunctioning somehow (and I don't remember the last time it did). The wireless is worthless. Before printing, it takes forever to warm up. After it prints anything, it continues to make noise for about ten minutes. I am in awe that this printer has not been recalled- I can't believe it made it through testing. It is THAT bad. Canon, I want a new printer.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: JR
Location: youngstown ohio
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

caon MX922 printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 13, 2014
Pros: great printer
Cons: none
after I got the drivers up dated to windows 8.1 the wifi was easy you have to do this first and then set up wifi and it is working perfect it stay online,this is one great of printer copies are perfect and fast and ink cost and how many you get only time will tell. so far im glad that I bought it also don,t forget on phoning canon help center,it cuts down a lot of wasted time.
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: fabio
Location: Miami Fl
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Good purchase

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2014
Pros: good color and bw printer, excellent scanner, easy to use, a lot of great features
Cons: built with low quality material
I purchased the Canon Pixia MX922 4 months ago and it was easy to install, and very easy to use.. This multifunction printer is for a sophisticated home user or a small/home office. It has plenty of features, everything you could need and more, for a very good price. Printing quality is good, scanners excellent. I would have been very satisfied with my purchase, if it wouldn't be for the quality of the material used: it's made with cheap, light plastic that it seam that will brake at any moment. The frontal doors that opens to allow the exit of the printed paper, broke down the first day!! It was very disappointing. It would be a really great product if better built.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Vikingsfan
Location: Minnesota
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Frustrating Printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 9, 2014
Pros: nice features
Cons: constantly loses wireless connection, uses a lot of ink
One word best describes this printer - FRUSTRATING!!! I bought this printer because I needed a printer that could print wirelessly. Unfortunately, the wireless feature is the worse part about this printer because it constantly looses the wireless connection. Huh??? If you look at the reviews this is a common complaint and the Canon "fixes" do not help. Print quality is good and features are nice, but constantly having to reset the WLAN connection is a major pain! The printer also has a appetite for ink.
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: sir
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

disappointing

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 9, 2014
Usually I'm a big Canon guy but this printer is very poor.
The scanner chokes on even good originals.
The photos have noticable scan lines.
It eats ink.
It warms up forever.
I use scangear because the supplied software took forever and was hard to use.
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site