Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MX Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MX Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX922

PIXMA MX922

The MX922 also has a new high-capacity 250-sheet plain paper cassette so you can focus on your work and not running out of paper! This can bring office efficiency to all-new levels and help reduce costs at the same time.
Average Customer Rating:
2.476 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(231 Reviews) 231
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (231 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
37
3 stars
20
2 stars
42
1 star
95
69 out of 204(34%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX922
Review 1 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: TinMass
Location: Agawam MA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

MX922 - Slowest printer I've owned

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2014
A real disappointment ! I"ve had a Canon MX850 for years.(worked great till the ADF mechanism started to fail. )
This MX922 is so SLOW....................... This is not a small office printer/scanner.
Don't think your going to do quick print before you speed off to a meeting. The 922 will make you
wait for near 5 minute while prepares to print. It also drops from wireless network. Spend more money for your printer.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: corgilover 2
Location: Sacramento, Ca
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

A Nightmare

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2014
I have a MX 850 that still works and I love it. This "step up" is beyond dismal. It isn't printing correctly. Everything is blue. I have uninstalled and re-installed twice, but no better. It is loud, slow and literally swills ink. I am going to throw this printer in the trash and consider it a lesson well-learned. I will either go back to my old printer or buy another brand. I no longer trust Canon to build a quality product.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: U2Farmer
Location: rural Nebraska
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Dependable Network Printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2014
This is my second network printer. Installation has become a lot easier. I am on Apple iMAC computers and Apple Time Capsule router and had no installation problems. I have no problems with the computer working wirelessly. Teens love that it works with AirPrint to print from cell phones and iPad, etc. I also have it hooked up to the telephone line with an answering machine and have no problems as I have had with previous Network printers. Ink cartridges are easy to change and I like the supply level monitoring.
The only thing that really bugs me is that I can't figure out how to align labels to print within the boundaries of the blank labels. Frustrating. I'm also not a fan of the Canon Picture Garden software and don't use it.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Frustrated User
Location: Escondido, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

A Dog to Setup

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2014
I wish I had never purchased this Canon MX922 all in one printer. It is a dog to set up; this dog won't hunt. I've spent 5 frustrating days with Canon techies to finally, I hope, get this dog set up. I tried downloading the detailed manual from the Canon website and the link just will not work; it won't run, it won't save, it won't save and run. Hooking up the Fax function to Cox Internet Phone has also been a nightmare. I got so angry that I threatened the loss of my marriage because I was so frustrated that I unintentionally directed some of my anger towards my wife. I won't even review the printing of envelopes which has been already covered by others. It's terrible and complex. I most certainly do not recommend this product to anyone.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: T
Location: MA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good Printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 11, 2014
I needed a replacement printer and after much searching decided to purchase the MX922. The set up went well until the software installation. When the install was about to complete I got the following error:
new port could not be created.:0000
Because I do support work I was able to determine that my Norton antivirus/firewall software was blocking the port creation. Disabling it for the install solved that problem.
This is the only reason from a four instead of 5 star rating.
I haven't used it a lot, but am very satisfied with the print quality. I also like the fact that I can set off a print job from anywhere in the house.
So far so good...
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: pat
Location: Atlanta
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

always ofline

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2014
great printer, but it is always off line. I must unplug and replug it in to print.
I have it connected wirelessly, so it is a lot of trouble.
Turning it off and on does nothing, I must unplug/replug it to fix
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Fotocr8zy
Location: Utah
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worst printer I've had

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2014
This is the 2nd MX922 I've had, after returning the 1st one for errors, I know get "There is no paper in the cassette" errors and can't print anything. I have to be at an appointment to get signatures in less then an hour and...again...it won't print. This printer is not reliable, drinks ink like coolaid and the wireless won't stay connected ( and it is right next to the wireless box).
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: cnfdcwby
Location: Georgia
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great Printer But . . . . .

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 2, 2014
I'm very happy with the quality of this printer, but as a network printer it leaves a lot to be desired.
It constantly goes offline and cannot be restored except by powering down the router, computer and printer.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: user
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great all in one printer except life

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 1, 2014
It's great all in one printer. The quality and speed are superior but the printer only last just over a year. It seems the scanner broke but the error code rendered the printer into giant paper weight.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Pman
Location: Louisville, KY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worst Printer Ever Owned

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2014
I've never, ever had such a worhless printer. Today, I fed it all the ink it wanted after using the piddly amount of ink supplied with the printer. All I wanted to do was print one simple page. Now it tells me I have a paper jam, which I do not. All it does is do whatever startup process it does to waste more ink! Furthermore, in the 6 months I've had this printer, every time I try to print, it causes me to lose my home network connection. My last printer was a Canon and I never had an ounce of trouble with it. I would not recommend the MX 922 to anyone!
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Russ
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Don't waste your time

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 25, 2014
The first thing I noticed was that this printer, promised as the replacement for the MX882, has no rear tray capability. That means that I can no longer print on stiff card stock, and if I want to print a #10 envelope, I need to take the letter-side paper out of the tray, and try to align the envelope. I say, "try" because the one time I tried, the printer declared the envelope jammed. I removed it, but the printer hasn't worked since.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: jjo
Location: California
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

I expected more from Canon

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 23, 2014
I have owned 6 Canon printers over the last 15 years and have loved all of them except this one. It is slow. It is noisy. It takes way too long to "warm up" and actually start printing. It has no rear paper feed. And printing envelopes is a nightmarish job with this printer. In the past I have always recommended Canon to friends wanting to buy a printer. I would not recommend this one to my worst enemy.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: 1x fan
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Seriously Guys

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2014
Not intuitive, super heavy, software doesn't download at all from the Canon site for my PC but did from my Apple laptop. Really disappointed and I see here in this forum i'm not alone. Sad in 2014 to have these kinds of problems. It's forever changed my perception of the Canon brand.
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Dziadzi
Location: Scranton, PA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Photo printer yes, All-around printer NO

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 17, 2014
For as heavy as the unit is, there is too much flimsy plastic involved. The biggest problem with this printer is printing an envelope. I used to own a Canon Pixma MP560. If I wanted an envelope or two, all I had to do is put the envelope(s) in the rear feeder and presto! I had printed envelopes without any trouble. If I want an envelope with the MX922, I need to remove the normal paper tray, remove all the paper, adjust the tray sizing, make sure that the envelopes are nice and neat and straight.......you get the picture. Then, having put the envelope in the tray, put the tray back in its place and pray that it prints the envelope. I just tried it 3 times............NO envelopes print. Having seen high ratings at various websites, I have to wonder what the other users bought this for. I bought it to replace a Canon product that served me well, with the exception that it could not be started remotely like other printers I have had. I am EXTREMELY dissatisfied with this unit, and will do my best to return it without losing to much money on the return costs. My recommendation is, if you need a normal all-in-one printer for normal business use.......this is NOT the one for you!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Jen
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very Hard to print envelopes

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2014
If you want this Product for Printing envelopes , ITS NOT GREAT VERY DIFFICULT.....Ill explain more. If you want this product for Printing Photos or Fax or Scanning Its Great ...
They took away the rear tray that made it really easy to print envelopes. They make you use the bottom try now and that means if you want to print 1 envelope you have to pull out all the paper in the bottom tray and input the 1 envelope print it and then go back to the printer and put all the paper back.
This is a BIG PAIN. Also when printing envelopes that are thick or small or have large seals on the back, It seems to get stuck or jam or mess up. VERY FRUSTRATING.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: W
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

comparison

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 2, 2014
Bought the mX922 to replace 860 mainly to be able to print from apple products. Still don't know why an update couldn't be provided for that function.
Anyway, yes, the 922 will print wirelessly from an I product. However, even though the 866 and 922 are both plastic, , the 922 is noticeably flimsier. I mean it squeaks! the part that sticks out from the output tray frequently dislodges from its position.
I understand they are using the Gillette business model to sell link, but really, it could use more heft.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: SK
Location: Aurora, CO
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Fast complete photos and text

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 1, 2014
It is nice to get photos and text without missing pixels and streaks like I would get with the pluged up ink cartridges of my previous brand. This printer does a lot of self maintainance to keep the print clean. The only other thing to watch for is that you load the regular and the photo paper with the narrow side facing into the printer or you will jam it up ( My stupid mistake ! )
The nice thing is that there is good access to clear any possible jams that could occur. Once I learned to load all types of papers I have not had any jams !!!
Overall the printer has been great!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Oppy
Location: Erin, NY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Not Happy!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 29, 2014
Over the years I have purchased a great deal of computer equipment. This printer (my personal #5) was chosen for the Canon name. They missed the boat on this model. You must remove the paper supply to print an envelope. It takes forever to copy or print one document.
It does NOT print to the edge of the paper. The trays and their slides are flimsy..
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Stretch
Location: Nebraska
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Remains to be seen

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 21, 2014
I purchased a MX922 to replace an MX800 series printer that failed after just short of 2 years. I easily had the new one up and running on my WiFi with my Mac and iPad. Scanning works fine too.
In my opinion, the setup might be a little much for a rookie computer user though.
I stayed with Canon after the first failure because I am familiar with them, and the ease of setup for me. In addition, the print quality is very good.
I marked it down though, because of the weight.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Fern
Location: Anderson

New Printer Head Needed

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2014
I was pleased with the product overall, but, essentially, it was not printing passages clearly, instead there were only "streaks" of statements. I called the phone support and an agent by the name of David was very efficient, courteous, and skilled at diagnosing the problem and providing a solution. I will await the new printer head in the mail and hopefully that should do it!
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site