Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MX Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MX Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX922

PIXMA MX922

The MX922 also has a new high-capacity 250-sheet plain paper cassette so you can focus on your work and not running out of paper! This can bring office efficiency to all-new levels and help reduce costs at the same time.
Average Customer Rating:
2.554 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(267 Reviews) 267
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (267 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
42
3 stars
22
2 stars
49
1 star
105
69 out of 204(34%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX922
Review 1 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Charlie
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great all in one

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2015
Bought this printer to replace two others. It has worked great. Every function exceeds my expectations. My 8 year old granddaughter can now send photos from her Kindle to the MX922 to print them. I use it for home/office work and was surprised how easy it was to scan documents to every PC on our network. Thanks Canon
Review 2 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: CYNshade
Location: Orange County, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Slowest printer ever

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2015
I timed how long it takes to print ONE black and white document. 1.5 minutes and the XL ink does not last very long and I am not a constant printer of docs. I hate this printer.
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Bridgette G
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Highly Disappointing

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2015
I do not recommend this printer. Its a pain to set up, the software is not user friendly and its extremely slow to warm up. Seriously sad I'm stuck with it...
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: mack
Location: Beaumont, Ca
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great Canon Product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2015
I absolutely love my printer, scanner, fax and copier. It was the best Canon product I had ever bought. Especially needed for office work. Love Love Love it!!!!
Review 5 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: gls
Location: houston, tx
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

great pictures

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2015
this printer makes great pictures. it is a little slow on printing pictures and other documents. haven't used the fax yet so can't comment on it. not a bad printer/scanner though.
Review 6 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Candy
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Can't Print from Apple's Pages Software

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2015
I purchased this printer expressly to print my photo images and text pages that I generate from Mac's Pages software. I use this program for a variety of subjects, but primarily for my travel photos with text box descriptions on the same landscape pages with the photos. When printing these pages, the images are washed out & too light. The same problem occurs using Word, except the images/photos come out too dark, so it isn't just the Pages software. So if you purchase this printer to use with Word or Pages, you will be disappointed. When printing from iPhoto the pictures are great! It's only when I use the 2 software programs that my pictures are not good.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Rog
Location: Reno
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Worst printer to set up ever!!!!!!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2015
To start with the Canon pixma 922 looks very nice. It took 30 minutes to get it to be recognized by my computer, an iMac 24" top of the line computer 2 years old. By now I would figure all wifi printers would be plug and play to speak. Even though the printer shows on my computer the software cd says it does not find a canon printer so I can't print any pictures. There is no manual with the printer just some instructions for setting it up.
I am sure if I spend hours scouring the internet and jumping through hoops I will eventually get this printer to work but ........really.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: DennisG
Location: Vacaville, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Awesome Printer!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2015
Great home printer! Installation was very easy and connected to all of my devices quickly. Expected starter ink to run out early but to my surprise the levels are at 50% after printing 25 color 4 x 6 photos. The printed photos were awesome using Canon ink and paper. Couldn't believe how easy scanning was and automatic document feeder worked flawlessly. I have already recommended this printer to my children and co-workers.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: DANSFLA
Location: Panama City FL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

JUNK

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2015
This not worth a dollar difficult to install and use the quality is not any better than any other printer I have ever owned buy something else I AM
1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: brian
Location: Illinois
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Does a lot well....

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2015
I like many of the features of this copier scanner but the printing aspects have given me headaches. This is my first Canon printer and I really looked forward to using it. I have had the printer going on its second year. It worked well. But you have to align and clean the heads often.
What I found is that it consumes a lot of ink and I am always struggling with loading the cartridges, I get 1680 and 1411 error codes.
The scanning and copy features work well but since this is a printer, I have to give the MX922 a low rating.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: JoeG111
Location: So. Illinois
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Unit, easy to operate.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2015
I originally ordered a smaller printer but decided to change my order. so I called the Company and upgraded to this model. I read some magazine articles, and found a number of reviews that steered me to this one. I am really glad I upgraded. This unit is very user friendly, and does everything I need it to do. I love the feature that prints on both sides by it's self, and has all the up to date features, that I need to get familiar with. It does have a large footprint. You may read about it hogging ink, but I have used it for about a year, and I don't see any excessive use. It could be that people don't take into consideration that the it comes with sample tanks, and that sample tanks have almost no ink in them. They run out quick, this gives a false impression of ink usage. This printer is a 5 Star unit from top to bottom.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: MAUD
Location: Orlando, FL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

pretty bad

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2015
I don't like this new printer at all. It was suggested to me by Canon support when my previous one broke down. This one can't scan from the feeder half the time, and you cannot send a scanned document directly to an email. What i find the most annoying is that you have to remove the entire stack of paper to be able to print an envelope (which slot is located in the paper tray cassette). It is not good for office use, let's put it that way. Now i have big fat lines when i print or scan documents.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Nan
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2015
This printer works great! I love it! No complaints!!
Review 14 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: nortk
Location: Rockford, IL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Nice Printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2015
I have had this printer for about a month now and I am a low volume user. I have had some extremely bad luck with printers over the last year. I was looking for an All-in-one printer that had copy/scan/fax capabilities, but most of all needed one that printed acceptable pictures. So far, this printer has met those expectations. I especially like the pictures which are close to what you get commercially. After reading other reviews, I would like to say that set up was very easy and WiFi connectivity was quick and so far trouble free. My router sets right next to the printer, however. I have had three printers from other Mfgr. and the MX922 blows them all away! I am still on the trial ink cartridges so I can't address ink use or expense. My printer starts up in a reasonable time and prints fast. Two-sided printing is easy. The paper trays are the most frustrating part. They don't hold the paper secure leading to mis-feeds and "tray empty" messages. Printing envelopes is awkward. If you do many Mailings, this is not the printer for you.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: mariannef
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Terrible

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2015
This is by far one of the worst printer combos I have ever used. I have printed only five times since I have owned the machine, and now I am unable to print at all. I have no indication on the reason for the failed print job. Also feeder is not secure and constantly gives me a 2800 error. I have to hold the feeder down to remove the error, or put something heavy on top. Canon makes great cameras, but horrible printers. Stay away from this one.
And downloading the manual from this site is a cluster. Just give us a PDF, don't make us install an exe.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: AskGenie
Location: Phoenix
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excruciatling Slow

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2015
This printer has more than it's fare share of features. From a feature standpoint, It lacks little (except a usb port).
That being said, if the features it has worked it would be a great value. The speed of most functions is painfully slow. As I write this review, I've sat here for 8 minutes now waiting for the printer to start up. When I print a document (with a USB connection mind you) takes about 4 minutes and and scanning well, that feature is an enigma since the printer doesn't have a Flash Drive port and I've not been able to get it to scan to my PC.
Now it's been about 10 min. While I wait, i'll interject a pet peeve. When you select photo as the print quality, it makes you print from the photo tray and not the paper tray. The photo tray doesn't accommodate 8.5x11 paper. It does not give you the option to print 8.5 x 11 photos.
It's been about 12min now and no luck. Did my 6 month old printer die??
I'm a canon fan and this is the first printer that i am unhappy with. I will probably replace it with another canon but this model my friends, is definitely a lemon.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Tracey

Disappointed

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2015
I have had my printer for several months and it works off and on. It will work for a few days and continues to lose the wifi connection. Spent an hour on it tonight and still not printing. Very disappointed in my purchase. I bought this printer due to the Canon name and expected a better quality printer. I am not alone in this issue as I have found many buyers of this printer are experiencing the same issues as myself.
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Mark
Location: Mountain View, CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great print quality, iffy wireless connectivity

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2015
Having used this printer now for about 6 months, after replacing a dead MX700 series, I'd recommend it and purchase it again (although with some caveats).
I would rate 5 stars if the wireless connectivity were more reliable (perhaps a future firmware fix could help?).
PROS:
The print quality - especially photos - is outstanding. I can now print 8x10s at home that are to me more or less indistinguishable from professional quality. Color, resolution, contrast, they're all superb. Having two paper trays, including the top tray being dedicated to 5x7 or 4x6 photo paper, is a tremendous convenience.
I really like the design such that all papers go in the front and come back out the front - no odd feeding from the back, etc. - as with previous Canon inkjet designs.
I've printed dozens of odd shaped envelopes on this printer, too, and the feed system all worked perfectly.
In hundreds of print jobs so far, I've not had a single jam.
Speed and ink consumption also seem to be quite good.
Excellent packaging. It is high quality, easy to unpack, and gave me confidence that the manufacturer cared about delivering a good product. I've had numerous other printers where I just about broke the thing trying to get it out of the shipping box. No such worries with this product.
Excellent value for money IMO
CONS:
i found setup rather time consuming and tedious, although it was well documented and easy enough to go through.
The wireless connectivity is frustratingly iffy, both printing through Google Cloud Print and just over the local wifi network. The issue is that the printer just doesn't "stay connected". Every time I want to print to it wirelessly, I have to go to the printer and tell it to check from Web Print jobs. After that, it picks up any queued jobs or, if I hit print within a few minutes, it will receive the job and print out the output. This is extremely annoying but is something i can live with given the other strengths and price of the printer.
UNKNOWNS:
I've not tested the scanner yet so can't really comment on this particular model.
I haven't tried out any of the included software or the options to download and print thing directly from the web (like calendars or stationery), although I commend Canon for including them.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: sis
Location: PA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Terrible printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2015
This printer should be taken off the market. It won't print envelopes without taking paper from tray then guessing the envelope is inserted correctly. That is mild compared to trying to keep it connected to wifi. Right now I am unable to print because I can't get connected to WIFI. I've tried everything. I wish I had never purchased this printer, may just junk it and eat the cost.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Phyl
Location: Manteca CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Like Canon Printers

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2015
There are features missing from the 922 that I liked in my previous printer like being able to keep envelopes loaded in the back feed. It was much easier to print envelopes. Other than that feature it is very similar to my old printer. I always prefer Canon!
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site