Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MX Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MX Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX922

PIXMA MX922

The MX922 also has a new high-capacity 250-sheet plain paper cassette so you can focus on your work and not running out of paper! This can bring office efficiency to all-new levels and help reduce costs at the same time.
Average Customer Rating:
2.578 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(334 Reviews) 334
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (334 reviews)
5 stars
64
4 stars
53
3 stars
27
2 stars
58
1 star
132
69 out of 204(34%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX922
Review 1 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: derrick

Drops Network Connection

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2015
It's a nice printing if you are using it for wireless printing. Almost everyone is having the same problem. It drops the network connection a lot.
If your search internet for reviews you will find there are a lot of complaints about this. There are no real solutions.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Ginger
Location: Danbury, CT
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Prints Well , Wireless Horrible

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 22, 2015
Its a great printer as long as you are using it over USB or Wired LAN cable.
The WiFi Card is very bad (Google it lots of complaints)
Don't buy this if you want WiFi Printing
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: luna377
Location: Iowa
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Copying
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Best printer ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 22, 2015
I love this printer its easy to set up and use. All the colors are separate ink cartridges the ones that are all in one cartridges you run out of 1 color the rest of it is ruined.I have had it a week and the documents and letters come out clear and photos come out beautiful. I only had to run a test once!
Review 4 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: dave
Location: virginia
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

worst canon printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2015
it got good ratings, plus i already own a mx 860 and am very happy with that model. it's wireless functionality is awful. i get it set up, test it , and a week later- i get nothing but communication errors. so now its a wired printer. i found that the cartidges are very inexpensive on amazon, which is why i haven't thrown it away. once they run out: the 922 goes to the dump.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: madzzz
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents

worst printer ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 11, 2015
This printer has given more problems than all my previous printers combined. Won't print black and white even when any color is low. The consistent paper feed issue is incredibly hindering. Overall terrible. Would not wish this printer on my worst enemy. I will never buy a canon printer again.
Review 6 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: macwell
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

persistent paper feed issue

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 9, 2015
The printer looks for paper in the upper cassette, meant for envelopes etc, even with the correct default paper size and the latest drivers. I have lo;st patience after only a week or two of ownership. DO NOT BUY
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: LAF
Location: Green Bay, WI
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

What has happened to the quality of Canon printers

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2015
I've had a Canon MP610 for years with not one problem. I bought the MX922 based on Consumer Reports in March. Set it up in April and got a print head error message. Called Canon and got that fixed. In May had a paper jam that could not be fixed. They sent a refurbished replacement. Set it up and got a wifi error. Emailed and got that fixed. Printed 3 pages and got a message that the cassette was out of paper - which it was not. Called and Canon could not fix that and is sending another printer. I've essentially been without a printer since I first set this up in April...........How long does this cycle go on They are sending yet another machine this week. If it does not work, I'm demanding a full refund and going to a different brand printer. Customer Service has been great but the product is terrible - unless I've just gotten two lemons in a row!
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: jajomi

Decent

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2015
I received this printer as a replacement from Canon for a PIXMA MX892 that stopped working. Since I've had this, I've not had any problems. I'm not a heavy user of my printer, I've had it for just under a year and I'm just now ordering my first set of replacement cartridges. I use it mainly to print recipes and family photos. The pictures have been very good quality, printing (once it starts) is fast. My only real complaint is that it takes FOREVER to be ready to print. If I'm on my PC and decide to print something, turn on my printer, then hit the print icon, it can take 2 or 3 minutes for the printer to start up and be ready to go. If I know I'm going to be printing, I turn on my printer early to make sure it's ready. That's my only real complaint. I also use the scan to PDF and copy features quite a bit, and am very happy with those.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Ginger's Mom
Location: Georgia
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 27, 2015
At first I wondered if I was reading reviews for the wrong printer.
Out of the box, this has been excellent. I have the advantage of using Canon printers for years, so the software is no biggie. I had a perfectly good functioning Canon 5220 but had the chance to get this, my "dream printer" on a great sale, because it Air and Cloud prints which my not so old one didn't. Have found Canon printers usually last 4-6 years with good care.
I was having a hard time justifying the expense, but once I set it up, I didn't use the other one again for four months. (Have since passed it on to a friend and it's doing just fine.)
Reading tips around cyberspace, I've learned to just leave the printer turned on all the time and it does not have to reboot ad infinitum every time you want to print something. The other thing is to wait until the printer literally stops and tells you it won't print another word until you put in a cartridge. Do not replace when it shows only a quarter cartridge left and says its getting low on toner. You can probably use it several weeks to a month after that and no damage.
Beautiful photos, the new scanning software program is very intuitive, great duplex printing, love the doc feeder, and of course printing from mobile devices is just so fun.
My only complaint is that the software for copying documents in duplex format takes a little more attention than I like but it does do just fine.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: ACE
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Wastes My Time

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 25, 2015
I spend too much time trying to this printer to work. I get error messages and have to re-install the print drivers just to get the printer to work. Very frustrating.
Would not buy this or any other Canon printer based on this experience
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: cudaus1
Location: Bonita Springs, FL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Never again

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 22, 2015
This is my second MX series in the last three years. The first one was replaced once by canon and the second died about a year later. So if you count the replaced unit, this is my third one. Why I was so stupid to buy yet another one, I don't know.
My current machine just started fading and skipping lines of print. I'll call canon customer service today to try to correct the problem, but I will never buy a canon product again. Oh, and by the way, just about every negative review you have seen here is totally correct.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Frustrated

Poor Performance

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2015
I was excited at first, but the printer is slow and eats up ink. Now it will not print and it is only 4 months old.
It takes a long time to trouble shoot and in my opinion the amount of time it takes to print outweighs any cost savings.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Anonymous

good printer with quirk

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 18, 2015
Having owned the Canon Pixma mx922 for several months, I can say that it has functioned very well as a printer. I advise printing in grayscale when possible because the color cartridges run out fast. The biggest drawback is the frequent and often ridiculously long delay of "processing" time in performing a print job.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Frustrated
Location: indiana
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

worst printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2015
bought this printer to be able to air print from my IPad...had tried to get my iPad to recognize this printer as AirPrint, unsuccessful since last year. Finally hired a computer guy to come to my house yesterday, he spent 2 hours trying.....gave up and told me this is a problem Canon needs to address with a update.........only way I can print is through an app or cloud.......hate this printer, would never recommend it
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Jack M
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Terrible

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2015
I bought this to replace an MG6120 that worked really well but ultimately died on us. This printer is terrbile compared to that, which is pretty bad considering this is the enterprise version of the line. It takes forever. It constantly says "please wait a moment." It just spins forever without doing anything. If I leave it alone for more than three minutes, it disconnects from the wireless. You have to go press a button on it to get it to wake up - thus negating the benefit of wirelessly printing from downstairs when the printer is upstairs. Overall, I'm considering going back to the MG line after my experience with this printer.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Raf
Location: DC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Difficult setup

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2015
Can somebody explain me how to hook up this device to a wireless network when using a Mac? I followed all instructions and still does not work. I will probably return it soon.
Very difficult to set up. If you are like me, pc - illiterate don't buy this printer. I can't even rate it since it doesn't work.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: IT guy
Location: Boston, Massacusetts
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Come on people it works fine.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 14, 2015
I bought this printer before reading all the reviews. I have to say it not getting a fair review. I installed the printer on my wireless network at home so that all my computers could access the printer. The setup while not easy wasn't too bad, it certainly was manageable without any extensive knowledge of computers.
As for access I have had one on two issues which isn't awful since I have so many devices using it on a regular basis.
Quality is excellent I use this printer for documents and photos and the output is well above the minimum acceptable quality.
I replace another brand printer with this and I would do it again.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Lisa
Location: Chicago
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

DONT BUY

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 14, 2015
I bought this printer thinking I was getting a more updated faster machine. Well it is quite large, ink cartridges run out faster than I have ever experienced, and I don't print in color all the time either. It is so slow starting up and printing or copying. You can literally stand there for 5-7 minutes while it says please wait momentarily.... should say go have a cup of coffee and come back later. I plan on replacing this after not having it a year. Bad purchase and waste of money.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: beth
Location: Lakevillle MN
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

worst ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 13, 2015
I thought I was going nuts until I read other reviews. it has made my life miserablel! My poor kids are in tears trying to get papers printed for school. DO NOT BUY THIS
Review 20 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: j
Location: long island
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

canon printers are unfriendly

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 11, 2015
I can't believe how difficult it is to use these printers - and help on the website makes the process even more difficult
I will definitely NOT ever buy a canon printer again
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site