Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MX Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MX Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX922

PIXMA MX922

The MX922 also has a new high-capacity 250-sheet plain paper cassette so you can focus on your work and not running out of paper! This can bring office efficiency to all-new levels and help reduce costs at the same time.
Average Customer Rating:
2.526 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(213 Reviews) 213
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (213 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
34
3 stars
18
2 stars
39
1 star
85
69 out of 204(34%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX922
Review 1 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Stretch
Location: Nebraska
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Remains to be seen

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 21, 2014
I purchased a MX922 to replace an MX800 series printer that failed after just short of 2 years. I easily had the new one up and running on my WiFi with my Mac and iPad. Scanning works fine too.
In my opinion, the setup might be a little much for a rookie computer user though.
I stayed with Canon after the first failure because I am familiar with them, and the ease of setup for me. In addition, the print quality is very good.
I marked it down though, because of the weight.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Fern
Location: Anderson

New Printer Head Needed

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2014
I was pleased with the product overall, but, essentially, it was not printing passages clearly, instead there were only "streaks" of statements. I called the phone support and an agent by the name of David was very efficient, courteous, and skilled at diagnosing the problem and providing a solution. I will await the new printer head in the mail and hopefully that should do it!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: l
Location: la
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Worst Purchase Ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2014
Worst Printer.
* Does not remember WiFi network password, have to set up the printer each time
* Slow
* Very Big and Heavy
* Horrible UI
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Bislander
Location: Seattle
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Do not recommend this product

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2014
I am very disappointed with the Wireless Pixima MX922. Majority of times it does not work, when I need it most to print something important ink is down, and I get a lot of errors for which I can not find troubleshooting steps. Sadly, I can not return it anymore.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: sepp forcher
Location: Atlanta
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

NO INK - NO SCANNER

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2014
beware - you can not use the whole thing if you are out of ink!
The Scanner or anything else on the printer is not working when one of the ink cartridges is empty.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Pete in OC
Location: Southern California
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Not a big improvement over the MX 860

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 14, 2014
Bought this to replace a 5 year old 860 that was a great unit until the dreaded B200 failure - clogged print head. Replacement cost 75% of a new printer, so buying new was a no-brainer. Of course all my spare ink tanks are not usable on the new unit.
Setup was a breeze, took maybe 15 minutes of mostly waiting time; added Google Print and AirPrint also, both very easy. Print quality excellent, comparable to the MX 860. Having a second paper tray for small prints and CDs is a nice feature. Ink tanks are easier to get to, but they weren't a big deal to replace anyway.
Gloss black is a gross fingerprint magnet, looks bad in no time. The 860 was a matte gray, much better. Front print door opens with a big crash, unlike the soft opening of the 860, makes it appear cheap.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: lcat
Location: Greater Detroit, MI
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

So Disappointed

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 13, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed
I've used and loved Canon printers for over 15 years, but this one is a big disappointment. Biggest problem is you have to physically wake it up to print. No useful if I'm in another room. Doesn't interface with Microsoft Word on my Mac so I had to find a get around which lets me save a preset, but doesn't let me name it so I have to remember codes to use (no good for visitors using my computer). Lastly, the entire scan system is odd. Every other Canon I've had permitted easy control as to what I wanted and where I wanted it saved as well as how. No so here. Just plain no user friendly and now I'm likely stuck for years to come, because I cannot justify going out and buying something else.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Chanel
Location: Orange County, Ca
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Printer in MX series

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2014
For me this is the CADILLAC IN THE PIXMA MX SERIES , I needed a replacement for my MX860 (with rear feeder for photos, which jammed most of the time) so I ordered the MG 5520 first. While the MG printed great photos, it only had one paper tray, and the constant exchange of paper from photo to regular paper and different size and quality, has the Printer confused? (Therefore all the
error messages, and the reason I purchased the MX922 instead! CANON you FINALLY did it . You put both PAPER TRAYS IN THE FRONT
Therefore no more jams when using photo paper, and the quality of photos is excellent. While the printer is as large as the other MX Models, You are now saving the space of the rear feeder,(which was about 10 inches when extended) by placing this printer all the way to the wall a great improvement right there!
It gets even better, this printer is extremely quit in use there is no shaking it simply opens and prints with ease
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Bob
Location: Seattle WA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Bad Bad Bad

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2014
I am so disappointed in Canon. When I generally see the Canon name, I used to feel confident I was buying quality, but this product is shameful. User interface and technical issues should had been addressed before ever releasing. Read all the other complaints and I agree with all of them. It's to late for me to return, but I just threw away my money. I want a recall on this product!
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: ghamden
Location: WV
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Don't beleive all the Negetive remrks

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 6, 2014
My original MX850 died after 6 years of great use and performance.
II after reading some of the negative reviews on the MX922 made very skeptical and i acctually went with a different brand which proved to be a bis mistake.
So i purchased the MX 922 and it is a great quality and ease of install.
Printing is very high quality Photo quality is great.
Just Make sure you read and follow exact install information.
For me took about 20 minutes to get everything up and running.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: weave
Location: San Jose, Calif.
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great price for a printer that dose everthing

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 28, 2014
Pros: reliable, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint, Difficult Setup
This printer dose everything i want. And yes, it takes time to set it up. I have read a lot of the reviews and must say you are putting the blame on the wong item. If your internet goes down dont blame the printer. When it wont print when its low or out of ink thats a failsafe so you dont burn out your print head (B200 error code). As far as having problems with the Apple Air app, well what can i say, it's Apple, so
blame them.
If you know anything about computers you shouldn't have any problems setting up this printer. Just remember this printer dose a lot of remarkable things so it's going to take time to set up. And a word of caution, don't ever print with an empty ink cartridge or you will burn out the print head. Thats why it's important that you install the software that comes with the printer to prevent that from happening.
Also the erro code B200 is sign that you may have a clogged
printhead and being you have Canon you can pull the printhead out and clean it. Canon is the only printer that you can remove the print head as I've been told.
15 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Don38
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Scanning
Product replacement: Yes

Great printer, terrible software

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 27, 2014
Pros: High Quality Output, fast print speed
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, horrible software
I've been using computers long enough to know how to scan a document, but "My Image Garden" is the most complex, unusable piece of software I've ever encountered. If you just want a printer, this one is great; if you expect to USE the multi-functionality, look somewhere else.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Mad in Mesquite
Location: Mesquite, Tx
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Don't buy

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 23, 2014
Pros: fast print speed
Cons: Difficult Setup, unreliable
This printer is no good don't buy it. you will have tons of problems connecting it. wifi.signal strength is a big problem
6 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: kb
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Better if Airprint worked

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 19, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed
Cons: Difficult to use, unreliable
Quality and speed is very good, but the user interface is cumbersome, and Airprint stopped working all together for all the computers in the house. Deleting and reinstalling drivers did not help. Since this was the primary reason for buying this printer, we are buying a replacement after only one year.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: yougetwhatupay4

Taking it back same day

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2014
Just spent an hour or so setting up the printer only to have the internet connection drop each time you print and it never could scan. Print quality was poor and actually slower than advertised. Cutting my losses and returning to Best Buy ASAP.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Nelson
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Difficult

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2014
Pros: High Quality Output
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup
I bought this product because it promised a lot of great things, however, I have expended over 4 hours in the set up and I cannot even scan my first page yet. the set up is extremely hard. It makes you take it right back to the store or to the trash can. Please do not purchase
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: NMH
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office

Not worth it

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 4, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, unreliable
This printer is SLOW, has been malfunctioning and printing red for all greyscale items and constantly drops the wireless signal even though my computer does not. And it does not even come with a cord to connect to your computer so you are up a creek when it drops the signal. Terrible technology.
8 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: allison
Location: lahaina, hi
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great printer, but...

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 2, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use
Cons: all ink cartridges must be full to print
Awesome printer, but one should NOT have to replace ALL inks if one just WANTS to print black and white and thus give error codes. Printer should just say MUST REPLACE ALL INKS BEFORE PRINTER WILL FUNCTION because we want you to buy inks even when you don't need them right this minute, Print functions are excellent, no problem otherwise, love the double sided feature, as it saves paper!
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: LG
Location: Arizona
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 1, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, Difficult Setup, Low Quality Output, Flimsy Construction
This printer is the most complicated all-in-one I have ever used. Brother all-in-one printer runs circles around this for both operability and product performance. I will never buy another Canon. Actually, I only got this because when my Brother ended up with a problem before end of warranty, they were out of same Brother and they gave me the Canon. I hate it. Don't think I will ever buy another Canon. I love my Canon EOS camera, but the printers, no.
3 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: dartin
Location: florida
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

worst purchase ever wireless part never works

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 31, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable
I don't have a disk drive in my computer could not download soft ware. Every time I go to use wirelessly cant find network. funny my computer always does. been very dissatisfied with performance for that reason. I also wanted to scan documents but just went ahead and got the neat. way easier to use. and does more volume.
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site