Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Camcorders Reviews / High Definition Camcorders Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop High Definition Camcorders or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for VIXIA HF G20

VIXIA HF G20

True video enthusiasts and advanced amateurs will find their inspirational match in the new VIXIA HF G20.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIXIA HF G20
Review 1 for VIXIA HF G20
Nickname: PapaM
Location: Central Texas
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Disappointed customer

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 8, 2014
Pros: Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance, Difficult Computer Connectivity, Short battery life, Poor Color Reproduction
Less than expected - my old camera was better. This camcorder is over rated and not a good value for the price.
0 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VIXIA HF G20
Nickname: Parker
Location: Spain
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Best choice for indie filmmakers

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
This is the Canon Legria HF G25, as known in Europe, and it's an amazing camcorder. I used it to make a feature film and I can only say good things about it. Its image quality is outstanding and it's full of pro features without being that difficult to use. I think this is the best camcorder for indie filmmakers in a budget, you can really get pro results with it. In low light this camcorder really shines, its low light (and bright light too) footage is wonderful! I'm just writing another new project to be shot with this little marvel. Wanna make indie films? buy this one! (with a large battery pack), you won't regret it!
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIXIA HF G20
Nickname: Knight
Location: Canary Islands, Spain
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Outstanding camcorder.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 1, 2014
I'm very happy with this camcorder, here in Europe it is called Canon Legria HF G25. I've just completed editing an horror indie feature film shot with this little (and great) camcorder. My film was shot in seven days with no lighting but the sun, with this I mean this camcorder is perfect when you have no crew, as I was. The camcorder job was done all by myself and this is a camcorder LOADED with pro features that allows an easy use to get professional results. Its low light performance is simply amazing, it even seemed I had some lights when in fact I did not. This is truly a remarkable device, the kind of camcorder I want by my side in hard pressed shootings. Bravo Canon!!!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIXIA HF G20
Nickname: jsonny
Location: Woodway, TX

Excellent Overall Quality

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2013
Great camcorder with excellent video quality. Would like to see a better software to make downloading simpler. Hand adjustment for features on shooting are somewhat a problem for me. But all in all, the finished video is its best feature.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIXIA HF G20
Nickname: J. C. Video
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Camera at an Excellent Price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 20, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, easy to use
Cons: should have standard accessory shoe
This is my 5th Canon camcorder and I love it! This almost pro camera is packed with nearly all the pro features I have used on other pro cameras, at a fantastic price. The image quality and ease of use is wonderful. This camera is perfect for anyone wanting a more professional look to their video.
The use of the touch screen for focus, tracking, and exposure is awesome!
This camera could be improved in three ways:
Make the touch menu easer to navigate.
Make the touch screen more sensitive.
Give it a standard hot shoe.
Overall, Canon did a great job giving modest improvements to the excellent G10 and then giving it a price that says "Wow!"
Thank you Canon!
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIXIA HF G20
Nickname: Magic filmaker
Location: Las Vegas
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Needs more features

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 30, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Good Software Compatibility, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: needs filmaker features see review
This Camera, needs 1fps, for animation 9fps and 56fps for slow motion, how about a interval timer.
what ever happen to second audio track for background music and easy dial and control to use the features . You need to go to the past to perfect the future remember the super 8 1014xl
this camera was a dream camera
5 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIXIA HF G20
Nickname: keith
Location: Boston, MA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Fell in love with the camera at CES2013

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2013
finally upgraded
Great camera..
Only Flaw is that the LCD shows aliasing ( seriously - I didn't believe it but and it's a simple firmware fix for the
display) / it may have an easy fix, but I haven't found
a way to fix this minor flaw.. - but it's just the display.
and
- if you hit the lens shade (accidently) it may detach
low light shooting is great !
Battery life great
image quality for post processing, flawless !
Would recommend this to anyone !
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIXIA HF G20
Nickname: Lexi
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Best camera ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 24, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Good Software Compatibility, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: Poor Color Reproduction
This is a perfect camera. It has perfect display and focus on you and everything around you
6 of 10 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site