Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot A Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot A Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot A2500

PowerShot A2500

The PowerShot A2500 makes highly advanced imaging technology fun and easy to use, so you'll capture beautiful stills and video.
Average Customer Rating:
2.7 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
6
7 out of 20(35%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot A2500
Review 1 for PowerShot A2500
Nickname: Primo
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Disappointed

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 11, 2014
Pros: Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings, Poor image quality, Short battery life, Complicated controls/menu, can't charge with usb
2.5
I am very disappointed with the camera. My 14mpx Camera takes much better pictures and is much easier to control features. It also has a light for video which this does not. I am most disturbed by the fact that it will not charge via the USB cable which almost all others do. So using the USB cable to transfer photos drains my battery. This is not disclosed on the package. I am considering taking it back!
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot A2500
Nickname: ashbry
Location: Lincoln University, PA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

awesome product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 10, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I have had my PowerShot A2500 for a year now I absolutely love it to death it take awesome photos and video
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot A2500
Nickname: Humbug7
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

OK but overpriced and not intuitive

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 5, 2014
Pros: Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Missing features/settings, Poor image quality, Short battery life, Complicated controls/menu
Solid construction but...
1. No USB/interface cable included. Available online, but is out of stock. Seriously, for the price, I would think Canon could afford to include this cable...most other brands do, and it is not clearly indicated on the package what is included, so you're out of luck when you've opened it.
2. The user interface is very complex. Buttons are marked with functions, but also do something completely different in a different mode (power on or off, menu, etc.). The menu is fairly clear. The included pamphlet is primitive. A more comprehensive manual is available online, but again, REALLY?
3. When it's all over and done, the picture quality is mediocre (compared to similar shots taken by the same people using different cameras). The battery doesn't seem to hold much of a charge...about 20 stills and it needs recharging.
4. I have a 15-year-old camera (different brand, much lower megapixels and zoom abilities, and it easily outperforms this one. It cost about the same as this one at that time.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot A2500
Nickname: Cameraman
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

No cable

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2014
Pros: easy to use
Cons: no cable
The fact that it doesn't come with an interface cable is insane.
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot A2500
Nickname: Dream Catcher
Location: Denton, TX
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Common sense will prevail.....

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2014
Pros: size, price, time to boot up, picture quality
Cons: non so far
This camera is just a basic camera you can't expect much for the price. Settings are basic. As far as being able to adjust the size of the photo, use a picture software program if you need to change the size. It is always best to take the best picture possible and then resize afterwards. That way one can make large prints if you get a great shot. Now down loading pictures with any camera it is always faster to pull the card and download directly to your computer. Data cables are slow and not worth the time it takes to transfer from camera to the computer. With that said this camera is what it is point and shoot grab them on the fly and that is what I needed for work and quick trips. If you are looking for a camera with multiple features then look in a higher price range don't waste your time and money with this camera.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot A2500
Nickname: casual user

one major flaw

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2014
I owned this camera for one week and returned it because it was so difficult to see through the viewfinder outdoors.
I then bought a Canon A1400 because it has an optical viewfinder but haven't used it yet.
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot A2500
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Virginia
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

cannot get pictures and why Dutch or German?

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 13, 2014
No connecting cable, no instructions, no download and cannot get pictures from camera
4 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot A2500
Nickname: Teacher
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Bare Bones

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2014
Pros: small easy to tuck in a purse
Cons: bare bones, no manual, no ac adaptor, can be slow
Disappointed that there was no manual, why do I want to search and download it. Shouldn't this basic need to understand a camera come with it?? No adaptor, but there is a portal on the camera for one, so again , an extra charge. Very disappointed that the very basics aren't included. Too bad canon, you lost a customer.
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot A2500
Nickname: wt
Location: central Illinois
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Too many features

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2014
Pros: fits in your shirt pocket
Cons: 16 mega pixels create huge email attachments
I guess the worst thing is it didn't come with a users manual, it has to be downloaded, and their site doesn't work. So I'm stuck with a camera that doesn't focus where I want it to focus, I get these green squares that bracket everything but the item I want to focus on. It takes OK pictures, but file is huge - 3MB plus. Want to anger your friends?try emailing several photos. I keep getting this "LIVE" icon in the corner. What's that supposed to mean? It has a cell phone type lithium battery. I can't tell from the icon how much life is left in the battery. there is no simple menu item to show battery life. The external charger has no cord, just two prongs that flip out to plug into a socket. you have to remove the battery to charge it. The flash is in the left corner at the top, so if you use two hands to hold the camera, make sure you don't cover the flash, especially if you have gloves on. If you try to use one hand, you have to be especially careful where you put your thumb, or you will hit the function/scroll button. Which has multiple functions, It is labeled Eco, delete/auto, flash, Disp. Other times it is a scroll button, but its not marked with arrows, so you have to guess what is going to happen when you press it. I used to have a canon A560, which was a great camera -7.1 mega pixels, until I dropped it and cracked the battery door. but I used and abused it a lot, and couldn't put it into my shirt pocket,so when the lens stopped coming out I upgraded.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot A2500
Nickname: Dickens

Not working, never worked

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2014
When you buy the camera, it should be workable out of the box but this camera did not work.
I am going to try and get a memory card to see if I add a new memory card, I might be able to get it to start.
Yes, the battery is fully charged.
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot A2500
Nickname: Neptune693
Location: New Port Richey, FL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Super Easy! Try it for yourself!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2014
Pros: simple operation, controls labeled well, high quality images, fun bright colors, excellent price, small and compact
Cons: av cables would have been a nice bonus, protection pouch would have been a nice add on
It doesn't get much easier than this! It's point and shoot, right out of the (after charging the battery) was snapping great pictures!
For those that complained about no software and support did not examine this page. I downloaded the PDF manual to my phone and read it while the battery was charging. Software is available for download on this site under support.
Low price, high quality, I'm all for it!
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot A2500
Nickname: cookielady
Location: Las Vegas NV
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years

lousy picture

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2014
Cons: Dim LCD, Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance
I previously owned a Canon A560 and purchased the A2500 because I thought it might have new features. Takes a lousy picture. Very dark even when using the flash. So dark I can barely make out the subject in the picture. Worse mistake I ever made.
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot A2500
Nickname: Spencer
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera for what you pay for!!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
This Camera is a great quality camera that is a great price!!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot A2500
Nickname: daisy
Location: FLORDIA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

DIAPPOINTMENT

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Missing features/settings, Difficult to use, Complicated controls/menu, no instruction guide
CAMERA TO BE ALL AS STATED.HOWEVER WITHOUT A INSTRUCTION MANUAL EVEN A GEEK WILL HAVE PROBLEMS TO USE ALL THE FINE FEATURES AVAILABLE,SO FAR WHAT I HAVE DISCOVERED WIYH HELP FROM LIFE LONG USER OF CANON CAMERS IS RATED 4 STARS. WITHOUT A INSTRUCTION I WOULD RATE IT 1/2 STAR.WOULD NOT RECCOMEND.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot A2500
Nickname: jg
Location: NJ
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

worst ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 20, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu
2 months old and going back for repairs a 2nd time. Does not erase and now does not download to computer.
7 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot A2500
Nickname: reza
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 24, 2013
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings
this is good camera for biggners... Takes good pictures, Love the HD video (720). A good set of controls to let you change the settings to get the shot. Overall this is a Nice little Camera.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.....
21 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot A2500
Nickname: Eagle
Location: OC, Ca
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

A Good Deal

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
This is a Nice little travel camera, works well to slip into a pocket when you are on the go. Takes good pictures, Love the HD video (720). A good set of controls to let you change the settings to get the shot. Overall this is a Nice little Camera.
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot A2500
Nickname: Choletta
Location: Mass.
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

mixed rerview

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2013
Pros: good battery life, durable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings, woeful lack of instructions with the camera
Sadly a nice compact camera but lacking adequate instructions on how to use it. I printed all 109 pages of the
manual...wud have been better served with a consice 20-30 page manual just pointing out the basics as opposed to marketing this camera as some sophisticated piece of equipment. Keep it simple!!!
19 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot A2500
Nickname: Ran411
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

great photos, no interface cable or directions

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 7, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings
Great photos, lightweight & easy to use! No instruction booklet, just a very brief insert showing how to set up camera included. No interface cable included. The instructions on the Canon site show a PDF file to download of 139 pages. I am in the dark about a lot of features.
18 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot A2500
Nickname: kunosoura
Location: Mid-America scenic Ozark Mtns.
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Worst purchase ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 1, 2013
Pros: three are none
Cons: no manuals software
The single instruction page in box provides very little detailed information. Not enough to properly use the camera. The single page makes false claim (You can download PDF manuals and software.... ) Not true. Thus camera is mostly useless. Take it back to dealer, demand your money back. Camera: PowerShot A2500.
18 of 52 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site