Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / imageCLASS Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop imageCLASS Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Color imageCLASS MF8580Cdw

Color imageCLASS MF8580Cdw

The Canon Color imageCLASS MF8580Cdw is loaded with easy to use features, outstanding color output and multifunction capabilities.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
3
4 out of 7(57%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Color imageCLASS MF8580Cdw
Review 1 for Color imageCLASS MF8580Cdw
Nickname: JB
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Good with some issues

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 18, 2014
The MF8580Cdw was not quite what I expected but after using for a bit some of my main cons about it have become less important. I am used to scanning from the computer rather than from the printer/scanner. People have been complaining about this function and rightly so. One has to keep periodically setting the Remote Scanner option in order to do this. However, is discovered after a bit that if programmed correctly one can scan directly from the MF8580Cdw directly to the computer using the programmable PC Scan buttons (two buttons on console) without pressing any other buttons on the MF8580Cdw with possible exception of the energy saver button to wake up the MF8580Cdw from power saving mode. With proper programming these buttons can be programmed to handle single page scanning or multi-page scanning from the Document Feeder. If you do use scanning from the scanner plate (platen) then you may have to press the Store and Finish or Next soft button when doing multiple pages or finished scanning. In some ways this is actually easier than scanning from the computer. One other limitation using the PC Scan buttons on the console is that you can only do one sided scanning or two sided scanning once the option is set until you reprogram the PC Scan button to do a different sided setting or you could set one PC Scan Button to do one sided scanning with the other PC Scan Button doing two sided scanning. I chose to have one do color and the other grayscale with both doing one sided scanning.
I still believe the MF8580Cdw should have its firmware changed so that once the Remote Scanner option is selected then it would stay selected until changed.
One reliability concern though is when I first got the MF8580Cdw I did not remember it making a clicking sound in addition to what I consider to be normal laser sounds including paper transport sounds. Now I hear which is most noticeable after what I recognize as normal sounds a click/thud sound sounding repeatedly for several seconds both when the MF8580Cdw is turned on and mostly at the end of printing cycle. It still does seem to print ok so I do not know if this is a problem.
I have experienced the problem reported in another review regarding the envelopes sealing after being printed on though mine seem to unseal easily enough. I have noticed though that the Multi-Paper Drawer paper transport mechanism does seem to ever so slightly mangle the left edge of the envelope when printing on it if you look closely. It is as though the transport mechanism put multiple tiny diagonal folds in the envelope.
For the most part I have been pleased with the print quality which so far I have only used the General setting. At first the printer had a ghosting problem but after applying some settings changes and/or the problem just went away after getting more usage of the printer the ghosting seems to have stopped.
it is a little annoying that a print job takes a bit to start up (which I understand about first page print startup) but there is almost as much of a stop job time after last page of print job finishes and this stop time seemingly has to occur before it can start the next print job seemingly indicating that the start up time is not mostly drum warm up time. This should not be much of a problem for me though.
Fax driver software could be more flexible. Other Fax driver software I have used is more versatile and display of the Faxed files is less than desirable as each file is not easily identifiable as to what the Fax file sent is. The Fax software also does not automatically count the number of sent pages for you and place the count on the cover sheet. There could be a Cover Sheet Font Size option.
I still have not discovered a convenient way to have the MF8580Cdw share a voice line and have it automatically select Fax or Voice when there is Voicemail as opposed to an answering machine attached to the MF8580Cdw. It can use such a shared phone line but the problem seems to be unable to get both voicemail and Faxes. It seems you can only get one or the other so that manual intervention is necessary to do a Fax receive.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Color imageCLASS MF8580Cdw
Nickname: GMS
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Noisy, Slow, Difficult Settings

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2014
I have been a tech person for many years. I've worked all all different types of equipment. I replaced a stand alone fax machine and two printers with this one.
The set up was difficult and time consuming. It is noisy. It is slow. To be able to print envelopes and checks from the multi-purpose tray takes a great deal of time to change the settings and paper sizes. For something that should be automatic, printing anything from the multipurpose tray is complicated.
I would not recommend this printer.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Color imageCLASS MF8580Cdw
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Iowa City, IA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Seals envelopes

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 10, 2014
I was excited with the initial performance of this printer: easy set-up, good color, fast. Then I sent through an envelope to print an address. It came out sealed. I tried several more envelopes (which were open and dry before I fed them into the printer) and each one came out sealed. The printer clearly runs so hot that it seals standard business envelopes. For me, that makes the printer worthless and I am returning it to the store.
Review 4 for Color imageCLASS MF8580Cdw
Nickname: inkyx
Location: Orange County CA and SLC Utah
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

When it's new, it works great, but...

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 27, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: unreliable
This copier performed admirably until warranty expired. Then issues appear. I have two. For one of them, we called in a specialist who did a software fix as it wasn't printing properly. Now, my other one at a different location is having paper tray issues and won't print on both sides. It's probably software related, but Canon's site is useless for this fix.
Would I recommend you buy this...? Only if you've got Canon specialist on your staff.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Color imageCLASS MF8580Cdw
Nickname: Ian
Location: Duvall, WA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love this printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 18, 2014
Pros: reliable, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed
Cons: scan to pc
I am using this printer on a Mac running Mavericks. I absolutely love the printer all bar one feature which is scanning from the computer. I have to send the scan to the Mac from the printer and I can't just rescan without going to the printer. Its a minor niggle as I actually prefer to mail scans directly from the print these days. Its a feature that we have on our ImageRunner at work and I love using it at home. I use the MF feeder at the front for envelopes and have had no problems with standard and even custom sized envelopes and I can easily override paper sizes from the front panel. I can understand why some people do not like the setup. It is pretty comprehensive and lets you set pretty much every aspect of the printer, there has to be several hundred options but this is not a $100 printer, it is a powerful configurable machine and the web interface is well laid out and logical. Some setting do require a degree of understanding on networks which I have so whilst they may appear daunting to most users they really aren't and most users will never want to touch them anyway. Take your time and read the online docs and you will understand everything. I am no FAX expert but was able to reading the manual configure everything to work perfectly over my Vonage VOIP service.
I really love this printer and I love that it has power saving as it is installed in my home.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Color imageCLASS MF8580Cdw
Nickname: mIKE
Location: Maine
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Canon Software is worst

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 26, 2014
Pros: High Quality Output, fast print speed
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup
Bought high end printer and cannot install driver. Suggest other brands. Printing may not be as good but they work and Canon does not. Last Canon purchase. Anyone want a MF 8500 C cheap
5 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Color imageCLASS MF8580Cdw
Nickname: FRANK
Location: LAS VEGAS, NV
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

VERY DISAPPOINTED

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 5, 2014
Pros: Small Footprint, High Quality Output
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup
IT IS A HIGH QUALITY PRINTER WITH A PRETTY GOOD SCANNER AND MANY FEATURES. HOWEVER, THE SET UP WAS A NIGHTMARE. THE USER INTERFACE IS FREQUENTLY CUMBERSOME, ESPECIALLY PRINTING ENVELOPES FROM A MAC.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Color imageCLASS MF8580Cdw
Nickname: cy
Location: Seattle, WA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Truly Amazing Small Business All-In-One

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
I bought this based on other reviews that it is an excellent small business solution, and I would have to agree. I have experience working with other brands in my previous careers and I have to say that this machine was very easy to set up and figure out how to use. The flow of the instructions in the manual were a bit odd, but not enough to make you think too much. The print quality is more than adequate for 99% of day to day business documents I would say.
I purchased this printer mainly for its ability to scan multiple duplex pages to PDF for my practice. It does exactly what I wanted but my only complaint about the machine thus far is that the mechanism that pulls the paper through the auto-feeder is slightly off alignment causing a visible white angled border on my scanned documents, but not enough to cause any problems for what I'm using it for. That is why I only give the quality 4/5 stars.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Color imageCLASS MF8580Cdw
Nickname: SeriousMultitask
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worth Every Penny

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 8, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
After squeezing the life out of yet another inkjet printer after only 2yrs, our office decided to bite the bullet & look into investing a couple more dollars for the sake of saving some serious sanity. We needed something that would be absolutely reliable at ALL of the functions we would need- wireless printing, copying, faxing, & double-sided capabilities. We were immediately impressed with this machine's speed & straight-forward easy functions. With half of our office being technologically handicapped, an easy-to-use no-fuss machine has been a huge time saver on all of us, and the printing is always gorgeous & perfect, even photos- which are important to our business. The multipurpose tray for specialty papers is so intuitive & efficient for printing out certificates & shipping labels. The wireless signal is always perfect, and was very easy to set up with no-fuss driver installations on all of our computers. We also love that we can control the printer's scanning capacities either from our computers or directly from the printer, & create .pdf files with ease. This truly has been a dream machine & we're anticipating a long-term relationship with this one!
47 of 47 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Color imageCLASS MF8580Cdw
Nickname: Aadjuster
Location: Naperville, IL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

So Much Power

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 25, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Our office needed an additional unit to satisfy our workspace. After working with this unit over the last week we ordered 2 more to replace our existing units. This units abilities are second to none. High quality color copies, dual sided features, wireless, with a very user friendly user panel for the price, it's UNBEATABLE! We print about 2000b/w copies a week on each unit and 500 color and these units have been extremely reliable and efficient. Bravo Canon, Bravo!
24 of 25 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site