Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / imageCLASS Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop imageCLASS Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Color imageCLASS MF8280Cw

Color imageCLASS MF8280Cw

The Canon Color imageCLASS MF8280Cw will simplify workflow and keep up with your mobile life.
Average Customer Rating:
3.364 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
1
4 out of 8(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Color imageCLASS MF8280Cw
Review 1 for Color imageCLASS MF8280Cw
Nickname: BDS
Location: Amazon
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

A Tedious Machine

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2014
What happened to intuitive printers? This printer is not easy to use. If you do a variety of print jobs, in different programs, and various paper sizes- find another machine. Most jobs require an annoying number of setting changes- the error beeper/light is constantly going off and the messages are often incomplete. The low toner/ expired warning started at week three of use with minimal amount of printing. I would have given a lower rating, but quality is good, and we are able to use the machine- it is just not convenient. It seems most printers with the features we needed were the same. Good Luck!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Color imageCLASS MF8280Cw
Nickname: IT

Helpful

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2014
Helped me reinstalled driver on problematic PC,
have exclamation mark on printer icon
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Color imageCLASS MF8280Cw
Nickname: Hoppy
Location: Appleton, WI
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 20, 2014
This is my first time buying a laser printer for my home and I knew right away that Canon was the right way to go. I have owned my MF8280Cw for a year now and couldn't be any happier! The quality of printing looks great and I love all the features it has. Best of all, I am saving A TON of money on ink! I highly recommend this printer to everyone.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Color imageCLASS MF8280Cw
Nickname: Pearl
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Copying
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Feeder problem just in 2 days of printing

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 3, 2014
Pros: High Quality Output, fast print speed
Cons: Difficult to use, unreliable
I bought this unit 4 weeks ago and I used only once. I just tried to scan a document via top feeder. It spoled my original into pieces. :-( I have to call Canon now.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Color imageCLASS MF8280Cw
Nickname: Joshua Tree
Location: Nashville, TN
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Does the job but not the best...

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 10, 2014
Pros: durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed
Cons: Difficult to use, Large Footprint, Difficult Setup, unreliable
The printer is larger than I had thought it would be. It does hold a lot of paper and does a good job, but if you are looking for a printer for your home office, this eats up some space.
The interface between the printer and the PC is quirky and not the best. It constantly loses the IP address and some setting are hard coded (can't be changed), like where I want to save images, etc.. The worst part is, though, regardless of what work that gets done with it, trying to launch a "copy" or "print" solely from the interface on the PC, it doesn't work. You have to use the printer buttons, which is simply annoying.
It's also a lot louder than it needs to be.
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Color imageCLASS MF8280Cw
Nickname: GeoMapMaker
Location: MT
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

MF is great for my home business

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 22, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint
This Canon MF8280CW does all I need for my home business and personal use. The quality is excellent, no streaks/smears at all. The value is excellent especially compared to other lesser brands. The startup speed is great. I really love the wireless features including CloudPrint. Everything works great.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Color imageCLASS MF8280Cw
Nickname: ppilot
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

You can't scan from your computer without...

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use
You can't SCAN from MF Toolbox on your computer any more. You have to go to the MF8280Cw, press the green energy saver button. Wait a second or two, then press the SCAN button, the the down arrow to Remote Scanning and then you can go back to MF Toolbox on your computer and finally you can Scan. I don't get it, with my old B&W ImageCLASS just crank up MF Toolbox and off you go. Com'on Canon...fix this. First page out now about 20 seconds compared to my old ImageCLASS of 9 seconds...still fast but not as good.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Color imageCLASS MF8280Cw
Nickname: Jay
Location: WA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 2, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: only problem toner is expensive
I think those people that left bad reviews lack technical knowledge significantly. I setup this printer in 20 mins, and works perfect!
The only think I have to say is, that I test printed a photo from Windows Photo Viewer and the colors were very off.
I printed the same photo with Adobe Acrobat X, after I converted into PDF of course, and colors are beautiful!!!
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Color imageCLASS MF8280Cw
Nickname: blackdog
Location: Phoenix AZ
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

They blew it on this one

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 22, 2014
Pros: fast print speed
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup
It works OK if you can figure out how. The software, the help functions and figuring out how all the features work are somewhere between difficult and impossible.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Color imageCLASS MF8280Cw
Nickname: mel
Location: pa
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

doesn't work with windows 8,

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2014
Can't get this work with windows 8! so frustrating that canon doesn't have live chat to help me troubleshoot
12 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Color imageCLASS MF8280Cw
Nickname: Jimmy
Location: Summerville, SC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Color Laser MF Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2013
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output, easy to use
I was using a Canon ImageCLASS D480 (black) and another color laser. I purchased this one to reduce space used and number of machines and I am definitely not sorry. I love this printer. It was easy to setup and works great. I love the Canon Interface it is VERY user friendly.
35 of 39 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site