Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / imageCLASS Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop imageCLASS Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Color imageCLASS MF8280Cw

Color imageCLASS MF8280Cw

The Canon Color imageCLASS MF8280Cw will simplify workflow and keep up with your mobile life.
Average Customer Rating:
2.944 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
3
4 out of 8(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Color imageCLASS MF8280Cw
Review 1 for Color imageCLASS MF8280Cw
Nickname: 
Location: Olympic Peninsula
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great laser unit

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 29, 2015
I bought one of these multi-function units about a year ago when I needed another printer, but I was tired of wasting money on ink that dries up long before it is used up. Since I worked in a photo dry lab a few years ago I was already familiar with the beauty of laser prints but they were expensive units.
Looking around I got one on a great deal and got two sets of toner too so I can do a lot of printing if I need to and the toner won't dry out. Once you get through the setup and wifi hookup it works pretty much flawlessly and makes great copies and prints. I definitely give this almost a full five stars but because of the inaccuracies in the manual for setting up the wifi so it should be more like 4.75.
For setting up the wifi I suggest you look in the thin booklet, pg 12 I believe gives a web address to go to for an online guide. That is the guide to follow. It makes it less confusing.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Color imageCLASS MF8280Cw
Nickname: 
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Difficult to Install and Use

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2015
Print quality is good - if it weren't I'd be giving it a 1 star. This printer has caused me unlimited frustration. It took over an hour to get it installed and working wirelessly with my desktop computer. CD-Rom installation software wouldn't auto-load and I was able to browse to get it to execute, but the setup process was grueling, even with the software. I could NOT get it installed on my laptop at all. Tried downloading directly from Canon, tried support - still could not get it installed on my laptop. I gave up. Both machines are Windows 8.
Unless I've missed something entirely, the computer has to be wired to the printer to send scans.
Paper tray will hold only about 1/2 inch of paper. It won't recognize a single (envelope size) QuickBooks/Quicken check (thinks paper is empty, even though I moved the paper holder slides to proper position, etc.), and I've not been able to get the individual "multipurpose" sheet feed slot to work at all.
If I could, I'd return the dang thing but it's been more than 90 days since purchase.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Color imageCLASS MF8280Cw
Nickname: 
Location: New York
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Bad purchase

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 28, 2015
I rated this one star. This printer is hard to use. WiFi address changed without reason. 192.168.1.100 today, 192.168.1.114 tomorrow. I had to hardwiring it so everyone can print. Scan was horrible, software scan had to combine with scan button on printer, which became useless.
Image quality varies between copy and printer, the colors were completely off.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Color imageCLASS MF8280Cw
Nickname: 
Location: Alaska
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

hard to figure out

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 27, 2015
bought this printer two years ago. overall I am satisfied with the way it works. My biggest negative would be the ability to use the software and figuring out how to get it to print on different size paper. It scans fine but i spent frustrating hours trying to figure out how to get it to scan. As of this date I have yet to get it to scan something using my computer, I always have had to use the buttons and display on the printer itself. the toolbox software is useless. It does move the file to my computer, but sometimes hard to find it. I am always walking back and forth to the printer/computer. I also wish I would have spent the extra money and got the double sided printer. If the software worked or it had a friendlier software package I would give it a better rating. I think cannon expects people to know more than they really do being its main business comes from companies and not individuals. I know this is negative enough it won't be posted, but maybe Cannon will do something about user friendliness. This isn't my first Cannon printer copier, I still have one that's 12 years old. just needed a color printer
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Color imageCLASS MF8280Cw
Nickname: 
Location: Utah
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Major Cloud Print Issues

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 23, 2015
The quality is great. It's easy to setup on the network. Paper selection is not good. Air print from my iPhone works flawlessly. Google Cloud Print does not work well with this printer. There are many people that have issues with only this printer when they use Cloud print. The basic setup will likely not work to use cloud print. This is a major design flaw in the firmware. It can be fixed and can be intuitive but it seems that support and engineers don't believe Cloud Print is a priority.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Color imageCLASS MF8280Cw
Nickname: 
Location: CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Printing

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2015
For a color laser printer and it can't print double sided. Why? That should be a basic function. Can you download a update on the printer driver to make that happen?
11 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Color imageCLASS MF8280Cw
Nickname: 
Location: Boston, MA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Complicated Capabilities

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 25, 2014
We've had this multi-function printer for a couple of months. Frankly, when I first read some of he other reviews I didn't 'get it' until we started using it.
This printer has huge software control issues that make if very user unfriendly. Whatever paper selections you make locally on your computer you have to physically match up standing in front of the printer on the printer's control console. This is lunacy.
Mechanically, this seems to be a great printer, with many capabilities, but from a software control standpoint, it's a nightmare.
Stay away from this product. As soon as we are able, we're replacing it with something more user friendly.
At minimum Cannon should provide a completely revamped software program for this printer - assuming they care of even take the time to read these reviews.
27 of 28 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Color imageCLASS MF8280Cw
Nickname: 
Location: Amazon
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

A Tedious Machine

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2014
What happened to intuitive printers? This printer is not easy to use. If you do a variety of print jobs, in different programs, and various paper sizes- find another machine. Most jobs require an annoying number of setting changes- the error beeper/light is constantly going off and the messages are often incomplete. The low toner/ expired warning started at week three of use with minimal amount of printing. I would have given a lower rating, but quality is good, and we are able to use the machine- it is just not convenient. It seems most printers with the features we needed were the same. Good Luck!
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Color imageCLASS MF8280Cw
Nickname: 

Helpful

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2014
Helped me reinstalled driver on problematic PC,
have exclamation mark on printer icon
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Color imageCLASS MF8280Cw
Nickname: 
Location: Appleton, WI
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 20, 2014
This is my first time buying a laser printer for my home and I knew right away that Canon was the right way to go. I have owned my MF8280Cw for a year now and couldn't be any happier! The quality of printing looks great and I love all the features it has. Best of all, I am saving A TON of money on ink! I highly recommend this printer to everyone.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Color imageCLASS MF8280Cw
Nickname: 
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Copying
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Feeder problem just in 2 days of printing

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 3, 2014
Pros: High Quality Output, fast print speed
Cons: Difficult to use, unreliable
I bought this unit 4 weeks ago and I used only once. I just tried to scan a document via top feeder. It spoled my original into pieces. :-( I have to call Canon now.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Color imageCLASS MF8280Cw
Nickname: 
Location: Nashville, TN
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Does the job but not the best...

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 10, 2014
Pros: durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed
Cons: Difficult to use, Large Footprint, Difficult Setup, unreliable
The printer is larger than I had thought it would be. It does hold a lot of paper and does a good job, but if you are looking for a printer for your home office, this eats up some space.
The interface between the printer and the PC is quirky and not the best. It constantly loses the IP address and some setting are hard coded (can't be changed), like where I want to save images, etc.. The worst part is, though, regardless of what work that gets done with it, trying to launch a "copy" or "print" solely from the interface on the PC, it doesn't work. You have to use the printer buttons, which is simply annoying.
It's also a lot louder than it needs to be.
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Color imageCLASS MF8280Cw
Nickname: 
Location: MT
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

MF is great for my home business

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 22, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint
This Canon MF8280CW does all I need for my home business and personal use. The quality is excellent, no streaks/smears at all. The value is excellent especially compared to other lesser brands. The startup speed is great. I really love the wireless features including CloudPrint. Everything works great.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Color imageCLASS MF8280Cw
Nickname: 
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

You can't scan from your computer without...

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use
You can't SCAN from MF Toolbox on your computer any more. You have to go to the MF8280Cw, press the green energy saver button. Wait a second or two, then press the SCAN button, the the down arrow to Remote Scanning and then you can go back to MF Toolbox on your computer and finally you can Scan. I don't get it, with my old B&W ImageCLASS just crank up MF Toolbox and off you go. Com'on Canon...fix this. First page out now about 20 seconds compared to my old ImageCLASS of 9 seconds...still fast but not as good.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Color imageCLASS MF8280Cw
Nickname: 
Location: WA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 2, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: only problem toner is expensive
I think those people that left bad reviews lack technical knowledge significantly. I setup this printer in 20 mins, and works perfect!
The only think I have to say is, that I test printed a photo from Windows Photo Viewer and the colors were very off.
I printed the same photo with Adobe Acrobat X, after I converted into PDF of course, and colors are beautiful!!!
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Color imageCLASS MF8280Cw
Nickname: 
Location: Phoenix AZ
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

They blew it on this one

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 22, 2014
Pros: fast print speed
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup
It works OK if you can figure out how. The software, the help functions and figuring out how all the features work are somewhere between difficult and impossible.
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Color imageCLASS MF8280Cw
Nickname: 
Location: pa
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

doesn't work with windows 8,

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2014
Can't get this work with windows 8! so frustrating that canon doesn't have live chat to help me troubleshoot
14 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Color imageCLASS MF8280Cw
Nickname: 
Location: Summerville, SC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Color Laser MF Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2013
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output, easy to use
I was using a Canon ImageCLASS D480 (black) and another color laser. I purchased this one to reduce space used and number of machines and I am definitely not sorry. I love this printer. It was easy to setup and works great. I love the Canon Interface it is VERY user friendly.
36 of 40 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site