Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / Other PowerShot Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Other PowerShot or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX280 HS

PowerShot SX280 HS

The PowerShot SX280 HS is a super-charged SX-series model featuring Canon's very latest proprietary processor, the DIGIC 6 Image Processor, for improved performance and exceptional clarity in low-light scenarios.
Average Customer Rating:
2.823 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(85 Reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (85 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
15
3 stars
10
2 stars
14
1 star
27
35 out of 85(41%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX280 HS
Review 1 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: rue

Battery dies in Video Mode after few mins of use !

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2014
Cons: Short battery life, battery dies taking videos !
I bought this camera New charged the battery overnight and took it to my son's 45 minute Tae Kwon Do class. I took about 30 pictures and 5 minutes of video. Suddenly taking another Video the battery indicator flashes red and the camera turns off !
Now researching other reviews this camera has many BAD reviews of batteries dieing while taking videos. My 8 year old Canon ELPH works better than this new Canon piece of junk!!
Returning it back to the store tomorrow thank goodness have 15 day trial !!!! Canon you will get this piece of junk back shortly !!!!
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: SeeUlater
Location: PA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great pocket size camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 14, 2014
Pros: excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use, fantastic zoom lens
Cons: Short battery life, low battery indicator
I'm married to a travel agent and lucky enough to take several trips a year. I recently purchased as SX280 HS to replace a 5 year old SX110 IS. I was looking for a pocket size camera with a good optical zoom. The optical zoom on the SX280 HS is fantastic for a camera this small. The 80 power digital zoom produces good photos if you steady the camera. (My wife is 5'2" so I often use her as a bipod) The sport mode burst of photos comes in handy at times when there are actions shots but you don't want to bother taking a movie. There is still a problem with this camera showing a blinking red battery icon when you switch to movie mode and the firmware download did NOT correct this issue. I occassionaly take movies, for example on whale watch trips or visiting with the grandkids but I learned to ignore this problem. I don't think I will be using the GPS feature because if I take a photo of the Statue of Liberty I know where it is and if I take a photo of a sunrise in the middle of the ocean I don't need to know the exact location. If I want to post a photo on the internet, I'll either use my Iphone or laptop so I doubt if I'll ever use the WIFI. I prefer a camera with the flash centered over the lense rather than off to the side where I usually place a finger but I'll learn to adjust my grip. With the exception of the battery issue, I think that this is good camera that will meet my travel needs. I think that Canon should stick to producing cameras that take great photos rather than chasing the latest trends like GPS and WIFI.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: SLR Joe
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Poor Video Battery Life Great Camera

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 6, 2014
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, wi-fi capable
Cons: Short battery life
Used the camera on a recent trip to Peru, took over 2500 photos and some movies. Camera is a Cannon, known for their world class cameras, enough said.
Only disappointment was the battery life on video. Purchaised three batteries because I did not want to be without power on the trail. From my experiance, I would agree, need to modify firmware to change voltage monitoring under hi load situations like video. Is it hi-def processing power that is causing the problem ?
Competitive market, people using phones instead of cameras. Nice to have a response to the customers here.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Katydid33
Location: New Hampshire
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Fantastic for the price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2014
Pros: easy to use, excellent auto function, great zoom, fantasticquality for the price
Cons: no easy "delete" function, couldn't figure out how to turn off flash
I got this camera as a gift just before leaving on a trip to India, and didn't even have time to read the manual. But I found it very easy to use, loved the zoom, and found the "Auto" setting worked really well for almost everything. The only time it didn't give me excellent shots was when the view was moving too fast for Auto to figure out what settings to use. When I had a moving target, I switched to Sports mode and always got a good shot. The only downside was that I couldn't figure out how to turn off the flash when photographing in an area where no flash was allowed. I had to use my iPhone for those photos.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: xonna

love this canon

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 16, 2014
this is a great camera !! the zoom is wild , I took pic of the moon and it zoomed so clear everyone love the . pic ..
Review 6 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Firdo
Location: Longmont , Co
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Bad purchase

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2014
Just bought thsi camera and then read the reviews, they all say bad battery life. I decided to try the video and sure enough the camera went dead in less than 5 min. So I took it back to the store. Not impresssed.
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: vc
Location: Rochester NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love This Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 9, 2014
The SX280HS does everything i want it to do very well. It is feature rich and very flexible. It's a lot smarter than I thought. It knows when to switch to macro mode for close up pictures and when to switch back. Although I have seen reviews that battery life isn't what it should be... well, that can't be helped. It takes a lot of power to drive this camera and I bought several batteries so when one drains, I just pop another in and i'm good to go. To every issue there is a solution. I look forward to many years of taking wonderful pictures. I still have my T-70 that I bought in 1985... it still works, but for the lack of 100 speed film, i would probably still be using it.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Marietta, GA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worst camera I have ever owned

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2014
I am extremely disappointed with this camera. Very poor battery life. Pop-up flash jams with the slightest interference requiring a reset by turning camera off/on causing many missed photo opportunities. After less than one year, the camera will not operate at all.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: BriCo
Location: Chicago area
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2014
Pros: zoom is great., clarity of pictures is wonderful.
Cons: battery drains as soon as you start taking a video, pictures come out pink sometimes., videos won't play on windows. not compatible.
My husband brought me this camera for Christmas a few months ago and I just recently started using it and downloading pictures. I use my camera's a lot for taking short videos and as soon as I hit the button to start video taping the battery gets drained, even after having just charged it.
Additionally, now that I have started downloading the pictures to my computer, many of the pictures are half, or all pink. I have had several Canon camera's prior to this and none of them had these types of issues. It's VERY DISAPPOINTING.
I have just sent an e-mail to the company to see what they can do, but having started to read all of the reviews, I am not too optimistic.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: T

Much potential

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2014
- The short battery life and type are serious problems.
- The long lens and lack of view finder is a serious problem.
Battery issues. For the next of this generation camera, add an accessory that holds multiple AA batteries, functions as a handhold, that mounts to the bottom of the camera.
View finder: Add a mount and electronic information interface for the DC1 electronic view finder built for the G-1 X Mk II.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Sasi
Location: Davie, Florida
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worst Canon out of 4 owned

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2014
Pros: good pictures
Cons: horrible battery life makes the camera useless.
Takes beautiful pictures if you can use it. On my China trip my iPhone outperformed this camera. I sent it back to canon to see if they can do something about the totally unacceptable battery life. If problem is not solved, good bye. Forget about using Video.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Kenz

Not usable because of battery issue

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2014
Cons: unreliable camera due to super short battery life
Brought this for my father. He has been using only Canon camera for many year because of its great quality. This camera made him so disappointed. Have the same battery issue like everyone else but couldn't find a solution. Very disappointed with Canon.
18 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: kellyos
Location: Pennsylvania
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great Camera!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 29, 2014
Pros: lots of usable settings, small, great zoom, quality photos
Cons: low battery life for video
The PowerShot SX280 HS is a great little camera. I own a DSLR but wanted something smaller that I can put into a purse. The Handheld Nightscene function is by far my favorite setting, allowing me to take great pictures in low-light settings. It took a while for me to figure out what settings were located under each dial setting, but after a bit of practice, it is easy to master. Also, this camera has a great zoom.
Another function I didn't think I'd use, but LOVE, is the WiFi capability. When connected to WiFi, I can instantly send photos to my cell phone so I can post to social media applications.
The only issue I have had with this camera is, while in movie mode, the low-battery indicator comes on after a few seconds, and the camera shuts off. I decided that I would use this camera only for pictures, not for video UNTIL.....I ordered a replacement battery. The battery that comes with the camera is 1000mAh. The replacement battery I purchased is 1450mAh. I swapped out the batteries a few times...each time with the Canon 1000mAh battery, the low battery indicator came on while shooting video. However, when I used the 1450 mAh battery, I could shoot without this problem. I don't know enough about batteries and I hope this won't cause damage to my camera, but so far so good!
22 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Smed

Short battery ife

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2014
Pros: solid camera
Cons: Short battery life, pop-up flash in bad location
Good quality camera with many technically advanced featured. I bought the camera because of the advertised long battery life. My previous Power Shot A570 IS had terrible battery life. Well, this one isn't much better but at least they are rechargeable. Also, the pop-up flash is under my left index finger and pushes it off when activated so I turhed off the flash.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Vintage1
Location: Racine,WI
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Best One Yet

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
After having used about 5 different cameras over the last 40 years, this is the best one I have had the pleasure to own, there is no problem with focus, low light, motion low battery life,or any of the drawbacks I had with other models. I will surely recommend this to family and friends.
Vintage1
8 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: kendp
Location: Sosua, Dominican Republic
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Product replacement: No

Excellent Walk-Around & Travel Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
I am very pleased with this camera. Both the photos and video are surprisingly high quality. I have a Canon SLR, but I wanted this for walking around and for travel.
In the early days of my use I had a couple of problems, but both were quickly solved by Canon when I reported them to Customer Service. The more serious of the 2 was the failure of the firmware update to solve the video problem. Customer Service advised sending camera back for service, which I did and soon received a message saying the camera could not be repaired with the parts available and that they were sending a replacement. I received it a few days later. Because the date and time were already set I knew the camera had been checked by the technicians before being sent to me. The camera works flawlessly.
I also have a camcorder, but I find that the SX280 takes at least as good video, plus I have the option of also taking excellent photos, which is not possible with the camcorder.
At this price, you aren't going to find a better dual purpose camera.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: GON
Location: Nrew Jersey
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Product replacement: Yes

sc280 power failure?

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2014
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, nice design
Cons: Short battery life, powera failure
The camera has great capabilities. I use Canon products but this camera with its power failure has disappointed me. I won't repeat the many comments I have seen. Simply, the battery indicator signals low and the camera shuts down when using video, especially with zoom.
My pictures are great with zoom and in low light. I carry 4 batteries with me. The 1200mAh seems to last longer than the standard battery. I wrote to Consumers Reports since they rate this camera as #1.
I hope the problem can be resolved!
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Pako044
Location: Milwaukee, Wi
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2014
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, easy to use
Cons: none
Purchased camera to replace a old Powershot. Used it for daughters Christmas show and the movies and photos where outstanding. Best yet was able to transfer photos to relatives phones with the downloadable app. Big wow factor with grandma and grandpa. Overall very happy with another great Canon product
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: JMig
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Wifi is terribly implemented

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Difficult to use, Complicated controls/menu
I've worked for over an hour to set up wifi and still have not been able to, though I work as I technology product manager. This implementation is horrible. Not worthy of Canon.
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: canon enthusiast
Location: MA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

canon sx280

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 25, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
I have been using canon cameras for the past twenty years without a problem. I own several of the more expensive Canon digital SLR cameras but wanted something easy to carry for impromptu shots. I should have heeded the advice regarding the performance of the sx280 but decided to go ahead and purchase the camera anyway. I agree with other reviews; the overall performance of the camera is great but the battery drains too quickly. I do not use the video and I am only using the camera for stills with no gps or wifi on and the battery light is indicating the battery needs charging even though the battery is fully charged. Canon should either replace the product with a similar one of equal or greater value or at least give each person who purchased this camera one or two replacement batteries that work properly ( if the software is not able to fix the problem). I bought the the camera for Christmas and will be returning it to the store tomorrow. With so many choices on the market today I am sure I will be able to find a comparable product with a longer battery life that suits my needs.
28 of 28 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site