Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / Other PowerShot Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Other PowerShot or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX280 HS

PowerShot SX280 HS

The PowerShot SX280 HS is a super-charged SX-series model featuring Canon's very latest proprietary processor, the DIGIC 6 Image Processor, for improved performance and exceptional clarity in low-light scenarios.
Average Customer Rating:
2.84 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(100 Reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (100 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
20
3 stars
11
2 stars
18
1 star
30
39 out of 98(40%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX280 HS
Review 1 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Conrad
Location: Seattle, WA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love it!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2014
I recently upgraded from an SX260HS. Although connecting to the Wi-Fi took a little getting used to, it works great. I always buy an extra battery for my cameras, so battery life wasn't an issue. This camera is very easy to use, and would recommend it to the Novice, expert.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Nicole
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Battery Life is a SERIOUS issue.

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2014
Bought this after my reliable Canon point and shoot bit the dust after a drop. Looked like it would serve all my needs and indeed takes really beautiful photos for a point and shoot. But the battery drained quickly over the 12 days I was out of country (combo shooting video and stills) needing to be charged nightly.
Got back from that trip and used the camera one more time for a few hours on a short trip in the city and the battery never worked after that. Replaced the battery which holds a charge fine (checked with a battery life tester) but the camera repeatedly starts up (or only just starts up) before shutting down and requiring another charged battery. Can't even retract the lens on this one.
I'm a big fan of Canon's digital products but this is a pretty big
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: outhere
Location: NH
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, nice images, impressive videos
Cons: Short battery life, didn't last long, poor battery life
Great camera. Easy operation, stunning videos. But battery does not last long especialy on videos. Need two or three if on vacation or away from power for charger. The only thing I really hated about this camera...was it lasted only a 11 months. wont power up. bought a new battery but still no response. took good care of it too. never got wet or dropped. just Died.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Bill
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Do not like this camera

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 17, 2014
Pros: Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Short battery life
I have been a longtime Canon customer. This is NOT their best effort. This camera has needed to be sent back for repairs twice. Same problem they have not been able to fix. When using Video mode, the battery light blinks and camera shuts down. Even with a full battery. The camera needs to be recycled to work again. This is very inconvenient and unlike a canon camera.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Huey
Location: Port Charlotte, FL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera except for battery issues

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life
I have owned my SX280 for about 6 months and I like it a lot. I chose it over other similar cameras (Canon and other brands) because of its great 20X zoom. It has great features. The one caveat is, as others have written, the movie/battery glitch is still a problem. Don't buy this camera if you are going to take movies with it. The other problem I have experienced is battery life when taking stills. If you keep the camera turned on for any length of time, it drains the battery quickly. My workaround is simply to turn on the camera, take a photo, and then turn off the camera. This greatly extends the battery life.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: tarol
Location: Victorville, CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Returned

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: kept freezing
Had this camera for 4 months and loved the features and the shots turned out well - but I kept having problems with it freezing. Good thing I bought it from Best Buy with a warranty - returned it for a sx700 hs and hopefully will have better luck with it.
Review 7 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: CHARAA
Location: New York
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Horrible battery life

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2014
Pros: excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life, undependable
I have owned several Canons over the many years and have always been happy with them. I bought the SX280HS for a trip to Ireland and had terrible problems with the battery. It would take 10-15 pictures and then I would get a "Charge Battery" indication on the screen. I turned off the GPS to try to extend the life but didn't seem to make a difference. I have taken it to several events since then and have been unable to use for more than a few pictures and have to resort to using my cell phone. Not what I expected from Canon.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: PollyS
Location: Spokane, WA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Travel

Poorly designed

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 20, 2014
Very poorly desinged. The flash pops up where your fingers automatically rest when trying to take a picture. Everyone who uses it comments on it. Also don't like how the only way you can force flash it to use the Live setting. Slow to take another flash picture at times too. Flash doesn't reach very far. Otherwise seemed to work OK for the the last 10 mos since I received it until now, it won't take a picture despite everything else working. I am trying to figure that out currently.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: sankarmukh
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

flash is in awkward location

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 14, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Bright LCD, easy to use
Cons: Complicated controls/menu
I bought this camera for cannon name. It is fairly easy to use but for one glaring problem. If you are in auto mode, the flash pops out in low light at the left side where people usually hold the camera. So, after it hits you finger, you move your move the finger and flash fires. But the holding of camera becomes unsteady and picture comes out blurry.
Unless there is another way most of the people are holding this camera,
I am kind of dumbfounded about possessed cannon team to place the flash in there.
I have not checked the wi-fi capabilities etc because I just bought the camera but I will find out and post about it.
Regards.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: nmk
Location: Denver, Co
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 7, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, durable, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Difficult to use, Short battery life
First off, I love canon's. This would have been my sixth canon however ... While the SX280 HS is a sturdy camera with a 20x zoom with decent image quality, a few issues really spoilt it for me: On/off button and flash ill positioned; memory card/battery cover hard to open at times (often times turning on the camera when not intending to 'cause of where the on/off button is positioned); soft telephoto images (!); and perhaps the biggest issue I have, battery life is not that great! I read the reviews on how poor it was. Somehow, I just didn't think it could be THAT bad! It was! After a 4.5 min video, around 92 pictures, and a bit of editing on camera, the battery warning starts to flash its low?! While I am in video mode! Really?! While the SX280 does capture good low light images and possess a comprehensive selection of shooting modes, after a few days use, I will be returning it to the store. I didn't even bother with the Wi-Fi as I figured if it couldn't handle just video and images, Wi-Fi would just drain the battery even worse!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Pastor
Location: Upstate NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very Happy

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I bought this camera to take on a trip to Israel. I expected to do a great deal of hiking and didn't want anything large. However, I wanted something that would transfer pictures to my iPad, and that would take high quality picture. This camera fit the bill perfectly. The Wifi hookup to my iPad worked perfectly. The GPS quadrants were a bonus, but more important than I could have realized. The battery life was fair. I love this camera and would recommend it.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Markus
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Pleasant Surprise

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 6, 2014
Pros: excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
Although I am accustomed to manual controls, deliberated shooting, MUCH larger sensors, and faster lenses, I picked up one of these cameras because my son has been sending excellent pictures home from Germany, shot on the mostly similar SX-260HS. These little cameras easily surpass my expectations for image quality and convenience. The take-home percentage is very high. Compared to a DSLR, these little cameras will come up a bit short in low light, but in a very large percentage of the well-lit out-of-doors, you are going to be glad to have this camera in your pocket.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: tmn
Location: Torrance, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Big Disappointment

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 5, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu
Cons: Short battery life
I am very disappointed. I had read reviews about the battery life but I guess I thought it wouldn't be that bad. With a fully charged battery, I was able to record barely 10 minutes. I would never have purchased this camera had I known that the battery charge would last only 10 minutes.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Raybot
Location: Manhattan, New York
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 3, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, balance
This camera is really a work of design, functionality, rugged form and has a noticeable nice weight to it, that is quite balanced for a medium sized point and shoot. First: The battery problem: Resolved, if you purchase a newer Canon Powershot SX280 HS. The Canon Website will allow to identify by serial # if your camera needs the firmware update for the battery or not. Mine did not. So, I was reluctant about filming video until I checked. I’m still taking test shots to learn this camera and so far the image quality, light and balance are outstanding. I did not want a larger camera, I choose Canon again after having a pleasant experience with Canon Powershot ELPH 330. I was looking to replace that excellent camera and started seeing this new Powershot. The choices were many, but after deciding on this brand, I choose the high zoom 20X – and good image quality – 12.1 MP. The decision came very close after looking at another Canon Powershot for $30.00 more, but the difference was 18X zoom and 18.1 MP sensor quality for the other Canon, but I decided on this. The Canon Powershot SX280 HS is a very nice camera, it has the advanced DIGIC 6 image processor, improving low light ability. It has many more functions than my previous Canon, with much more flexibility and this will allow you learn how to take better pictures. I feel for the money, this camera is, well if not, best in class.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Maine
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Good, but the lens

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 25, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: issue with lens scratches
I have not had three of these cameras. Overall, it is a great camera. Because of what I do I need a good optical zoom ability and I am very thrilled with this camera in that regard. I have read the other complaints about battery life and found that if you use original Canon batteries, they will last a lot longer. The after market ones don't last as long and die almost instantly once the charge begins to wear out. My issue is with the lens. I am now on my 3rd camera of this model and have found that a vertical scratch develops in the lens in the top half just off center. At first I thought it was me... but the same EXACT issue with all 3 cameras? Canon has been great at working with me on the issue, but is this a design flaw?
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: rue

Battery dies in Video Mode after few mins of use !

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2014
Cons: Short battery life, battery dies taking videos !
I bought this camera New charged the battery overnight and took it to my son's 45 minute Tae Kwon Do class. I took about 30 pictures and 5 minutes of video. Suddenly taking another Video the battery indicator flashes red and the camera turns off !
Now researching other reviews this camera has many BAD reviews of batteries dieing while taking videos. My 8 year old Canon ELPH works better than this new Canon piece of junk!!
Returning it back to the store tomorrow thank goodness have 15 day trial !!!! Canon you will get this piece of junk back shortly !!!!
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: SeeUlater
Location: PA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great pocket size camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 14, 2014
Pros: excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use, fantastic zoom lens
Cons: Short battery life, low battery indicator
I'm married to a travel agent and lucky enough to take several trips a year. I recently purchased as SX280 HS to replace a 5 year old SX110 IS. I was looking for a pocket size camera with a good optical zoom. The optical zoom on the SX280 HS is fantastic for a camera this small. The 80 power digital zoom produces good photos if you steady the camera. (My wife is 5'2" so I often use her as a bipod) The sport mode burst of photos comes in handy at times when there are actions shots but you don't want to bother taking a movie. There is still a problem with this camera showing a blinking red battery icon when you switch to movie mode and the firmware download did NOT correct this issue. I occassionaly take movies, for example on whale watch trips or visiting with the grandkids but I learned to ignore this problem. I don't think I will be using the GPS feature because if I take a photo of the Statue of Liberty I know where it is and if I take a photo of a sunrise in the middle of the ocean I don't need to know the exact location. If I want to post a photo on the internet, I'll either use my Iphone or laptop so I doubt if I'll ever use the WIFI. I prefer a camera with the flash centered over the lense rather than off to the side where I usually place a finger but I'll learn to adjust my grip. With the exception of the battery issue, I think that this is good camera that will meet my travel needs. I think that Canon should stick to producing cameras that take great photos rather than chasing the latest trends like GPS and WIFI.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: SLR Joe
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Poor Video Battery Life Great Camera

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 6, 2014
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, wi-fi capable
Cons: Short battery life
Used the camera on a recent trip to Peru, took over 2500 photos and some movies. Camera is a Cannon, known for their world class cameras, enough said.
Only disappointment was the battery life on video. Purchaised three batteries because I did not want to be without power on the trail. From my experiance, I would agree, need to modify firmware to change voltage monitoring under hi load situations like video. Is it hi-def processing power that is causing the problem ?
Competitive market, people using phones instead of cameras. Nice to have a response to the customers here.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Katydid33
Location: New Hampshire
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Fantastic for the price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2014
Pros: easy to use, excellent auto function, great zoom, fantasticquality for the price
Cons: no easy "delete" function, couldn't figure out how to turn off flash
I got this camera as a gift just before leaving on a trip to India, and didn't even have time to read the manual. But I found it very easy to use, loved the zoom, and found the "Auto" setting worked really well for almost everything. The only time it didn't give me excellent shots was when the view was moving too fast for Auto to figure out what settings to use. When I had a moving target, I switched to Sports mode and always got a good shot. The only downside was that I couldn't figure out how to turn off the flash when photographing in an area where no flash was allowed. I had to use my iPhone for those photos.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: xonna

love this canon

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 16, 2014
this is a great camera !! the zoom is wild , I took pic of the moon and it zoomed so clear everyone love the . pic ..
1 2 3 4 5 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site