Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / Other PowerShot Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Other PowerShot or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX280 HS

PowerShot SX280 HS

The PowerShot SX280 HS is a super-charged SX-series model featuring Canon's very latest proprietary processor, the DIGIC 6 Image Processor, for improved performance and exceptional clarity in low-light scenarios.
Average Customer Rating:
2.804 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(107 Reviews) 107
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (107 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
20
3 stars
13
2 stars
19
1 star
33
39 out of 98(40%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX280 HS
Review 1 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: digital
Location: Marietta, Ga
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Unbelievable

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2015
Unbelievable piece of junk from Canon. Being a Canon user, I was not prepared for the headaches this camera produces. Really just one. The battery problem is real, and this camera isn't even one that is affected (serial number). The supposed FIX a firmware update (my camera is from factory with the latest firmware) apparently does nothing to resolve the problem. However, it turns out that all the complaints are valid. This camera exhibits all the symptoms that I belatedly discovered on internet reviews, and forums. Of course Canon is aware and has even, apparently, stopped producing this camera after only one year in production.. Not what you would expect from Canon.. It does not replace my aging A620. The A620 is superior in all regards (casual shooter) except for the Zoom. I had long since disposed of my 35mm film cameras, and lenses.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Kodiak
Location: Washington, DC
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Battery won't hold power

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2015
Others have noted that battery won't hold power in video, but for me it is happening in photo mode. It's so bad now that the camera won't even stay on for more than a few seconds with a fully charged battery. It either goes black or gives me a message to charge the battery. I have one Canon battery and one generic back up battery - same results with both.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Disappointed
Location: Redmond, WA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Don't expect to take video

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 20, 2014
As others have mentioned, the camera thinks the battery is drained after a few seconds of shooting video. In some cases, the camera will turn itself off in the middle of recording. When the power is turned on again, the camera indicates a full battery. This is especially frustrating, because the firmware update was supposed to correct the problem.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Farrosail
Location: Palmdale Ca.
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Battery problems

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2014
Great small point and shoot except for the battery issues. The battery is average at best in still photo mode, but with video something does not seem right.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Hobbes
Location: NJ
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Not As Good As the SX260

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2014
I got this SX280 HS when my SX260 HS was lost. The image quality is okay for a normal point-and-shoot, but this is considered a high-end point-and-shoot. Image quality is a bit poor, despite having the settings at best quality. The SX260 HS this camera replaced actually had better image quality (fewer artifacts, crisper images, etc.).
The main problem with this camera (and I don't think they've fixed it by what I see in other reviews) is that the battery dies VERY quickly if you shoot video. It's not that the battery actually drains, but instead there's a bug in the firmware that the camera "thinks" the battery is dead even when fully charged. Canon released a firmware update to fix this, but it just didn't fix it at all. So, if you plan on shooting video with this camera -- DON'T GET IT!!!
The zoom is amazing on this camera. I love how it's powerful as a point-and-shoot, but still small enough to fit in my jeans pocket.
The WiFi is handy when you really want to post a photo you just took to Facebook and don't want to wait until later. I just connect it with my phone and upload photos from the camera to my phone and then post to Facebook. I don't use it to transfer images to my PC as it takes too long over WiFi and drains the battery too much.
If you do get this camera, you will definitely want to buy a second battery.
If you can still get the SX260 and don't need WiFi (the 260 doesn't have WiFi), consider getting that instead.
Good luck!
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: A.S.
Location: ISR
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Perfect Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2014
If you prefer performance over battery this is perfect.
Very short turn on time. Fast response of Zoom and focus lens.
Burst HQ is perfect for children.
Optical zoom 20X is perfect for shooting video without having to camera "in your face".
Very good image cleaning algorithms for low light.
Review 7 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: John
Location: Orlando, FL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Good pictures but not too good so far

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 3, 2014
The camera takes very good pictures and I want to like it but so far my experience has not been good overall. The wifi button when pressed would not display the menu as shown in the manual and the camera would connect to wifi or my computer. So, I am unable to transfer pictures without using the cable. I had to send the brand new camera back to Canon for repairs which I am not happy about at all. I am hoping they will replace it with a new and properly working camera that will perform the way it is expected to. Luckily I kept the camera of another brand that I was upgrading from and which connects to my computer and wife with no problems. I will be happy if/when my Canon does the same when the camera is returned from the company.
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Conrad
Location: Seattle, WA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love it!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2014
I recently upgraded from an SX260HS. Although connecting to the Wi-Fi took a little getting used to, it works great. I always buy an extra battery for my cameras, so battery life wasn't an issue. This camera is very easy to use, and would recommend it to the Novice, expert.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Nicole
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Battery Life is a SERIOUS issue.

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2014
Bought this after my reliable Canon point and shoot bit the dust after a drop. Looked like it would serve all my needs and indeed takes really beautiful photos for a point and shoot. But the battery drained quickly over the 12 days I was out of country (combo shooting video and stills) needing to be charged nightly.
Got back from that trip and used the camera one more time for a few hours on a short trip in the city and the battery never worked after that. Replaced the battery which holds a charge fine (checked with a battery life tester) but the camera repeatedly starts up (or only just starts up) before shutting down and requiring another charged battery. Can't even retract the lens on this one.
I'm a big fan of Canon's digital products but this is a pretty big
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: outhere
Location: NH
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, nice images, impressive videos
Cons: Short battery life, didn't last long, poor battery life
Great camera. Easy operation, stunning videos. But battery does not last long especialy on videos. Need two or three if on vacation or away from power for charger. The only thing I really hated about this camera...was it lasted only a 11 months. wont power up. bought a new battery but still no response. took good care of it too. never got wet or dropped. just Died.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Bill
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Do not like this camera

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 17, 2014
Pros: Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Short battery life
I have been a longtime Canon customer. This is NOT their best effort. This camera has needed to be sent back for repairs twice. Same problem they have not been able to fix. When using Video mode, the battery light blinks and camera shuts down. Even with a full battery. The camera needs to be recycled to work again. This is very inconvenient and unlike a canon camera.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Huey
Location: Port Charlotte, FL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera except for battery issues

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life
I have owned my SX280 for about 6 months and I like it a lot. I chose it over other similar cameras (Canon and other brands) because of its great 20X zoom. It has great features. The one caveat is, as others have written, the movie/battery glitch is still a problem. Don't buy this camera if you are going to take movies with it. The other problem I have experienced is battery life when taking stills. If you keep the camera turned on for any length of time, it drains the battery quickly. My workaround is simply to turn on the camera, take a photo, and then turn off the camera. This greatly extends the battery life.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: tarol
Location: Victorville, CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Returned

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: kept freezing
Had this camera for 4 months and loved the features and the shots turned out well - but I kept having problems with it freezing. Good thing I bought it from Best Buy with a warranty - returned it for a sx700 hs and hopefully will have better luck with it.
Review 14 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: CHARAA
Location: New York
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Horrible battery life

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2014
Pros: excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life, undependable
I have owned several Canons over the many years and have always been happy with them. I bought the SX280HS for a trip to Ireland and had terrible problems with the battery. It would take 10-15 pictures and then I would get a "Charge Battery" indication on the screen. I turned off the GPS to try to extend the life but didn't seem to make a difference. I have taken it to several events since then and have been unable to use for more than a few pictures and have to resort to using my cell phone. Not what I expected from Canon.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: PollyS
Location: Spokane, WA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Travel

Poorly designed

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 20, 2014
Very poorly desinged. The flash pops up where your fingers automatically rest when trying to take a picture. Everyone who uses it comments on it. Also don't like how the only way you can force flash it to use the Live setting. Slow to take another flash picture at times too. Flash doesn't reach very far. Otherwise seemed to work OK for the the last 10 mos since I received it until now, it won't take a picture despite everything else working. I am trying to figure that out currently.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: sankarmukh
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

flash is in awkward location

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 14, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Bright LCD, easy to use
Cons: Complicated controls/menu
I bought this camera for cannon name. It is fairly easy to use but for one glaring problem. If you are in auto mode, the flash pops out in low light at the left side where people usually hold the camera. So, after it hits you finger, you move your move the finger and flash fires. But the holding of camera becomes unsteady and picture comes out blurry.
Unless there is another way most of the people are holding this camera,
I am kind of dumbfounded about possessed cannon team to place the flash in there.
I have not checked the wi-fi capabilities etc because I just bought the camera but I will find out and post about it.
Regards.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: nmk
Location: Denver, Co
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 7, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, durable, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Difficult to use, Short battery life
First off, I love canon's. This would have been my sixth canon however ... While the SX280 HS is a sturdy camera with a 20x zoom with decent image quality, a few issues really spoilt it for me: On/off button and flash ill positioned; memory card/battery cover hard to open at times (often times turning on the camera when not intending to 'cause of where the on/off button is positioned); soft telephoto images (!); and perhaps the biggest issue I have, battery life is not that great! I read the reviews on how poor it was. Somehow, I just didn't think it could be THAT bad! It was! After a 4.5 min video, around 92 pictures, and a bit of editing on camera, the battery warning starts to flash its low?! While I am in video mode! Really?! While the SX280 does capture good low light images and possess a comprehensive selection of shooting modes, after a few days use, I will be returning it to the store. I didn't even bother with the Wi-Fi as I figured if it couldn't handle just video and images, Wi-Fi would just drain the battery even worse!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Pastor
Location: Upstate NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very Happy

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I bought this camera to take on a trip to Israel. I expected to do a great deal of hiking and didn't want anything large. However, I wanted something that would transfer pictures to my iPad, and that would take high quality picture. This camera fit the bill perfectly. The Wifi hookup to my iPad worked perfectly. The GPS quadrants were a bonus, but more important than I could have realized. The battery life was fair. I love this camera and would recommend it.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Markus
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Pleasant Surprise

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 6, 2014
Pros: excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
Although I am accustomed to manual controls, deliberated shooting, MUCH larger sensors, and faster lenses, I picked up one of these cameras because my son has been sending excellent pictures home from Germany, shot on the mostly similar SX-260HS. These little cameras easily surpass my expectations for image quality and convenience. The take-home percentage is very high. Compared to a DSLR, these little cameras will come up a bit short in low light, but in a very large percentage of the well-lit out-of-doors, you are going to be glad to have this camera in your pocket.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: tmn
Location: Torrance, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Big Disappointment

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 5, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu
Cons: Short battery life
I am very disappointed. I had read reviews about the battery life but I guess I thought it wouldn't be that bad. With a fully charged battery, I was able to record barely 10 minutes. I would never have purchased this camera had I known that the battery charge would last only 10 minutes.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site