Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / EOS Digital Cameras Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop EOS Digital Cameras or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
4.588 out of 5
4.739 out of 5
4.447 out of 5

Customer Reviews for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit

EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit

Photo enthusiasts rejoice! The new flagship of the spectacular Rebel Line, the EOS Rebel T5i, is here to renew your artistic side with amazing imaging features and full-featured functionality.
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
13 out of 14(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Review 1 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: maltingproduction
Location: Springfield, MA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Absolutely stunning

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings
I got this camera only about two weeks ago, for better video performance from my Canon camcorder, and I'm already taking more photos than videos! The camera is amazing, produces stunning images like I've never taken! The only thing I didn't like about it, was its lack of a headphone jack, which is great for video, and somewhat loose focus ring. It slides nicely, but seems to go faster in some areas of the circumference. But you can overlook that!
20 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: JAdams
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Very Satisfied

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2013
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I use this camera for both photography and video, it is exceptional in both of these areas. This is my first DSLR I have owned but I have used others in the past and this camera is much superior to the DSLR's I have used previously. The quality of the images is exceptional, I rarely have to edit my pictures because they are already so crisp and perfect. The video is very nice, I like how the switch has a specific spot for the video feature so you can easily use the viewfinder without accidentally recording a video. Very happy with my purchase.
20 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: KenK
Location: Chicago
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2013
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: no cons at this time
I received this camera as a birthday gift to replace my T1i. It came with the 18-135 lens. This past summer we took a trip to Yellowstone NP with it and I only brought the one lens. The camera was fantastic. I shoot over 1000 pictures and over an hour of video with it with no problems. The video of Old Faithful came out a sharp as if I used a good video camera. The colors were spot on. On the stills, the camera captured all the color of the various steam pots, geysers, and pools in Yellowstone. The shots of the animals was without compare and again the color of the sky, trees, water, and anything else was perfect. I took a video of our 6 year old granddaughter being sworn in as a Junior Ranger. This was inside without any additional lighting and it came out crisp and clean. The audio was great also. I love the features, ease of use, and the performance of the camera. This camera will serve my needs for years to come.
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Matt
Location: Manhattan Beach, CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Solid purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 26, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Shot a couple weddings with this camera, both with strictly video and strictly photos on separate occasions and has turned out well and lived up to my expectations. Landscapes, portraits, travel and sports are easy to shoot and have come out great. This camera has lived up to my expectations and surpassed some as well. This camera is fast and super quick with the Canon 18-135 IS STM lens, a good step up from the kit lens already with the camera. You get a very versatile system for just about any type of photography and the lens/camera combination is extremely sharp and clear.
The one bummer is not being able to shoot in silent mode. A couple models up have that mode and are able to shoot very quietly, but hey, that's why you get one of these cameras, to hear that amazing click and awesome FPS. Overall very impressive look and feel, good build quality and obviously with some amazing lenses that Canon produces the better the shots will come out. I look forward to the great shots and video with this camera, a must have in the ol' camera bag.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: S.J. Photo Nut
Location: San Jose, Ca
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

First DSLR

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 2, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality
Purchased Camera on its features and others reviews. Taken on many shoots and like the photos obtained.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Ale
Location: Miami, FL

Excellent for beginners

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 30, 2013
Pros: quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings
It is an excellent camera for beginners. A built-in GPS would be nice to have.
0 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: jfs
Location: San Jose
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Wost Purchase Ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu
Cons: Dim LCD, Poor image quality, Difficult to use, Short battery life, wost video quality
Slow focus and sometimes in and out focus for few sec in video recording most of time. Start recording with out of focus, and it stays out of focus a few sec like it has in sleep. Press refocus again to wake up the autofocus, and it is then focus in and out over 5 sec in recording. What a joke Canon ! I have to use manual focus in shooting video. You must come out new firmware to fix the problem or you are losing a good name !
8 of 36 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Vt Photographer
Location: Vermont, USA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 3, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, easy to use
Finally bought the camera I've wanted for years. The camera is easy to use and takes unbelievable pictures! Some suggestions: view the introductory disc and read the very extensive manual that comes with the camera. I take a lot of pictures in Landscape mode and have found the different ambience modes easy to use and very helpful. I've experimented with all the different menus and find they are easy to understand. Already considering buying better lenses to really take advantage of all this camera can do! Novice or professional, this is a great camera to have.
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Noahs Mom
Location: Springfield, MO
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worth the money!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 9, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, easy to use
I was given the T5i as a gift from my family. I chose the T5i because of the features, such as the lenses and the adjustable shutter speeds. I am beyond impressed with the camera and the options that this camera has and can do. This camera is light and easy to use. If I do have a question or if I am wondering how to use a feature, the manual that comes with the camera is very easy to understand.
26 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Big Al
Location: Atlanta, GA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Another Winner for Canon

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 8, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, great video capabilities, touchscreen!
Cons: slow focus tracking in low light
This really is a great camera. I recently downsized a bit from a 7D to this T5i. I gave up the robust build but also gave up a lot of weight. This camera is a joy to carry all day. It is the most solid Rebel yet. The touchscreen works very well and becomes second nature in just a few days of use. Very handy! With good quality lenses this camera provides superior images to my 7D. This might be because the anti-alias filter isn't quite as strong. If you pair this camera with Canon's new EF 28mm f/2.8 IS lens you have a great street camera that's light to carry, unobtrusive, and relatively quick to use. With the new Canon 18-135 IS STM lens you get a very versatile system for just about any type of photography and the lens/camera combination is extremely sharp and contrasty. Really makes photography fun again.
28 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Italboy
Location: NJ
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 8, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Great camera, great pics. Solid. Upgraded from XTI.
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: maynardac
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great DSLR in its class

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 26, 2013
Used it for my eurotrip and I would say that this camera was a perfect for the trip... none of my shot was ever been a failure... I matched this camera body with the 24-105mm
8 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Shaun I
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

The prefect camera for everyone.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2013
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, easy to use, great kit lens, touch screen, just the right size
I'm thrilled with the results this Camera is giving me. It's combination of speed and image qualities are exactly what I was hoping for in a camera.
32 of 33 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: octavian
Location: oklahoma
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

T5i STM is phenomenal and lightweight

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 28, 2013
Pros: quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Let me say for the record. The T5i is superb and simple to operate. The main feature i noticed off the bat was just how light the body was. No more neck cramps from the old school Rebels.
The touch screen options define the word optimal. A shot can be taken by lightly touching the screen. This new style of camera is sure to be hit, because of this feature.
The picture qualities retain elegance and poise.
69 of 69 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site