Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / EOS Digital Cameras Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop EOS Digital Cameras or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit

EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit

Photo enthusiasts rejoice! The new flagship of the spectacular Rebel Line, the EOS Rebel T5i, is here to renew your artistic side with amazing imaging features and full-featured functionality.
Average Customer Rating:
4.839 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
18 out of 19(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Review 1 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Sticko
Location: Trego , WI
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Rebel T5i

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2015
Awesome camera , easy to use . many features , easy to use manual I have had Canon Rebel film cameras and I am glad I purchased the T5i. Terrific pictures . I purchased the 18-55 IS STM and the 55-250 IS STM lenses they are great. Thanks Canon.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Flower lady
Location: Calif
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

great purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2015
I upgraded to the ti5 and love the camera. Takes beautiful pictures.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: robare15
Location: Somers, CT
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

A ton of fun.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2015
I have had my Rebel T5i for about a month now and every day is a surprise as I discover more of it's many features.
I call it a computer with an attached lens.
It isn't my first digital camera but it certainly is my best camera.
I bought an auto strobe and was delighted to see that the camera settings are transferred to the strobe for surprisingly easy flash photography.
My rebel came with two lenses, an 18 to 55mm and a 75 to 300mm. However, as I became familiar with the camera I began to think that the single use, 18 to 135mm would have been a better choice.
The auto focus is fantastic the menu choices are easy to use and the controls are very intuitive.
robare15
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Bryony
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Better Results than Expected

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2015
I bought this camera for photography as I am an avid photographer in hobby and profession. The camera was completely astonishing in it's complete ability and beauty. The machine's power is revealed in crisp definition in each pixel and through the clearest video quality I have yet experienced. I've had the camera for 4 months and I am beyond impressed!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Alex
Location: Mass.
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Rebel T5i

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2015
Recently purchased the EOS T5i camera package. I purchased it for general photo taking, I purchased Canon from previous usage of a families camera.The cameras instructions and camera are very user friendly and produce a great picture. The kit is of a good quality, all Canon products. Can not go wrong with a purchase of this item.
Review 6 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: pdride
Location: San Diego, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Canon just keeps improving

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2015
The T5i is the second Canon Rebel I have owned, having the SL1 previously. The improvements in features and weight of the camera are immense, while maintaining its familiarity. The images are so much better, with the same lenses, and the video is a bonus. I love the touchscreen and quick notes that help remind me on the fly of the best setting to use for the occasion. I would highly recommend this camera to both novices and the more experienced photographers who want the most out of a cost efficient option in camera gear. With options from fully automatic to fully manual, this camera can work for anyone. The professional photographers I work with agree with me completely.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Gayle
Location: San Antonio, TX
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love my new camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2015
I received the camera on Christmas Eve. I used the automatic feature to take photos of my Grandchildren. It took the best pictures of the action, capturing the faces as they were surprised. I can not wait to get more knowledgeable on all the uses for this camera.
Thank you, Thank you, Thank you
Review 8 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Emmy
Location: Minnesota
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Best thing I ever did for my family

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2014
This is my first camera that isn't a cell phone and WOW!! My husband and I take it everywhere. I was intimidated when I opened the box, but after going through the instruction found it simple. We are still learning and loving it. We have perfect photos to share with grandma's and family. It's been the best thing I've done for my family!
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: phorisc
Location: utah
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Camera for Photographer or Videographer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2014
I purchased this camera for creating youtube videos. The continuous auto focus isnt as good as the 70D and the price reflects it. But I will say the autofocus does work, and it is completely silent with certain lenses. video picture is great and the touchscreen is way awesome when trying to set things up. knowing the hotkeys is much quicker though. The Camera hasn't failed me yet so I recommend this to anyone getting into film but would like continuous auto focus...if you dont care for continuous autofocus then the t3i would work just fine cause really the autofocus feature is the big price changer from t3i to t5i.
great camera...
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Forest City,IL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Canon T5i

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2014
I have a Canon T5i ! I have to say I'm Blessed and I LOVE my camera. Still exploring different modes but loving the crisp look of the pictures. I gave it a 5 stars cause its easy to use and understand. I have no negative about it. I love everything about this. I got it in the package deal and well worth it. I plan on buying more lenses for it.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Doc
Location: Whittier, California
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Easy to use

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2014
One of the best purchases I've ever made. The camera is fun and easy to use. The features are easy to access, and user friendly. I recommend the T5i to anyone who wants to capture great memories.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Vandopsis
Location: Ojai, Ca
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best pictures I have ever produced

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 2, 2014
I thought I took good pictures until I started using the Ti5. Now people see my pictures and ask me who took them. Same photographer, better equipment. I bought this to take pictures of my kids sporting events and only used auto settings. Based on those results I started shooting hummingbirds in my yard. Wow! Incredible! I have stills with incredible detail, you can see their wing beats with zero blur. Now I shoot in manual modes half the time. The battery life is EXCELLENT! Just don't use the LCD. I only use the lcd to review and make adjustments to settings on the go. Use the Canon web tutorials to learn what settings will work best for your application. I'm a much better photog today than I was a year ago with this little powerhouse.
48 of 50 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: rsph
Location: Atlanta, GA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera for DSLR beginners

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 28, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD
The T5i was an engagement present from my father-in-law. I called it "a good start" at the time (Summer of '13). Actually, it was a great start! I have been using it ever since, and I will continue using it for a long time.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Richard
Location: Farmington, Mn
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Poor product

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 8, 2014
Pros: quiet, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Poor build quality, Difficult to use
I bought this product as a back up camera, to my surprise on manual modes you have to double press to take a picture.
11 of 71 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Lovin184
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

More than I thought that it was.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 13, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use, everything about this camera is a pro., it fits my world., alot to learn for a novice like myself, enough said
Cons: there is none., notta con
Worked as described which was Awesome.Took my hobby and shifted from second to fourth gear without any problems.That was stupid to say.Nah it 's a great camera and I'm still in the learning process of all of its capabilities.I am kinda scared to do to much with it because it was not cheap.The more I use it, the more the nervousness disappears.So much value in a little piece of black plastic.If you want a good camera don't buy this one because it is a better than (great) camera.You can laugh now,Ha hA. It is a great camera,More and better than I had expected.
36 of 41 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: thecrew805
Location: California
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Solid for everyday use

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 10, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Only knock is its a T4i just updated name... other than that I was able to get the 2 lens kit and i cannot complain. unless you are a professional this is a lot of camera for me too. I love the touch screen and size of this camera. I also have a T2i that I like as well. Canon is solid in all aspects. I don't have anything bad to say about the quality and variety of canon and aftermarket lens and accessories.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Josh
Location: Guatemala
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 9, 2014
Pros: quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
This is my first dslr an i'm really having a great experience shooting with it!
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

great upgrade

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 29, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I bought this as a replacement for my EOS XTi that I had for years. The new processor is far superior and the video function will be helpful for the research I will be doing at the university.
MY review of the functions are fairly bias because much of the settings and controls are similar to the XTi I was using. If you are not someone who knows a lot about photography, the program and full auto modes will help you a long a great deal. I take a lot of low-light photos so the EF-S IS lens will be helpful as well because I only ever had the EF lenses without the stabilization built in.
So far I love it! I wanted to buy the 60D but could not afford it and this is more than just a consolation, it was a great purchase.
The Rebel series of the EOS line is good for people like me who have a lot of stuff and not a lot of space, they're a little smaller than the professional "d" series and full frame cameras, it makes it easier to carry and easier to fit into a crime scene kit without sacrificing quality.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: maltingproduction
Location: Springfield, MA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Absolutely stunning

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings
I got this camera only about two weeks ago, for better video performance from my Canon camcorder, and I'm already taking more photos than videos! The camera is amazing, produces stunning images like I've never taken! The only thing I didn't like about it, was its lack of a headphone jack, which is great for video, and somewhat loose focus ring. It slides nicely, but seems to go faster in some areas of the circumference. But you can overlook that!
25 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: JAdams
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Very Satisfied

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2013
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I use this camera for both photography and video, it is exceptional in both of these areas. This is my first DSLR I have owned but I have used others in the past and this camera is much superior to the DSLR's I have used previously. The quality of the images is exceptional, I rarely have to edit my pictures because they are already so crisp and perfect. The video is very nice, I like how the switch has a specific spot for the video feature so you can easily use the viewfinder without accidentally recording a video. Very happy with my purchase.
23 of 26 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site