Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / EOS Digital Cameras Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop EOS Digital Cameras or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit

EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit

Photo enthusiasts rejoice! The new flagship of the spectacular Rebel Line, the EOS Rebel T5i, is here to renew your artistic side with amazing imaging features and full-featured functionality.
Average Customer Rating:
4.708 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
18 out of 19(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Review 1 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: davidncl
Location: Chile
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 6, 2015
it´s my first reflex camera and purchase with 18-135 mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM lens. I have more chances to continue learning to change the body in a short time!. excellent optical quality.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: bds156343
Location: Machias, New York
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 3, 2015
this is a great camera easy to use quick interchange on the lenses
Review 3 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: fitmomma
Location: Connecticut
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Awesome!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2015
I love this camera! The best purchase I have made in a while!
Review 4 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: keith
Location: Columbus, ms
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

great

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 25, 2015
its a great Camera this will be the second one i have had
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: jack
Location: Henderson, Nv
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2015
I purchased this camera because i wanted the versatility of being able to change len's. This camera was the top rated by any evaluation that i read. Also, I already own a canon camera, so the brand is familiar to me. I am just learning how to use the camera. it does take beautiful pics., even with me pushing the button
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Sally
Location: Texas
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

New Canon Rebel

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2015
Love the pictures it takes but the support programs are designed for someone who speaks another language. It is all much too complicated and I am miserable. Guess I'll have to take a day off from work to call up and try to find someone who speaks beginner Rebel.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: dfcm
Location: mahwah,nj
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

best purchase camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2015
im a beginner , and this is the best camera, im learning all the tools, and is easy to use
Review 8 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Aggie
Location: College Station, TX
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

All you can ask for

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2015
Great Product. Meets my expectations. Would recommend to anyone just getting into photography.
Review 9 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: MarkB
Location: Santa Marta
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Guessing The Exposure

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 31, 2015
The Canon Rebel T5i has no histogram in the viewfinder. You must put it into Live View to see the histogram and view it with the LCD screen which is difficult in the sun or in bright conditions. Then you must click it out of Live View to go back to using the viewfinder. Basically you are guessing the exposure with this camera. Photos now take 3 times as long to take than they did for me on my previous camera. The settings you do see in the viewfinder disappear after 3 seconds and you need to half press the focus button to get them to reappear, then they disappear again after 3 seconds. The aspect ratio only works in Live View also. If you do not use Live View (taking a photo with the LCD screen) then all photos are saved in the 2 by 3 format. Post production will now take a lot more time to complete because my website uses photos in the 3 by 4 format. Therefore each and every photo I take will need to be cropped and recomposed in the computer. The lens cap has no string to attach it to the camera and it is just a matter of time before it falls off or I drop it somewhere where I cannot retrieve it, ie the sea or a river.
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: powdrcote
Location: Rochester, New York
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Rebel T5i

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 20, 2015
After using a Rebel XS for 2 years, I finally got to purchase a T5i with the 18-135 mm lens kit. What drew me to this model was the video feature along with the vari-angle viewing screen. I go to a lot of car shows and cruise-ins and being able to shot from low angles without having to get on the ground is a great convenience. I got used to the vari-angle screen from having a A630 for many years.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Rick
Location: Ecuador
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 17, 2015
A life long Canon camera user, I was having trouble holding the larger cameras and had gone to small digitals for a few years. The size of the T5i invited me to go back to an SLR. It is everything I expect in a Canon camera.However, I would have been happy to have been informed that there are no lens doublers for this lens, a MAJOR drawback for me. I may have to trade up!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: dadfman
Location: Slidell, LA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Smart decision to buy this camera.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 13, 2015
This is my first major camera purchase and I'm glad I did. This camera take beautiful pictures and the ease to adjust to the settings is great.... I would recommend this camera to buy....
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Loves Chows
Location: Northeast US
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Glad I Took the Plunge

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2015
I just purchased the Canon Rebel 5ti with the 18-135 kit lens. I bought it as part of a package which also included the 50-250 lens and a host of any accessories from an on-line company. Previously I have been using a point-in-shoot camera from another brand. I thought it was time to step up and get a camera that would take good shots and do video as well. As I'm into YouTube, I purposely bought the Rebel T5i because it had good reviews for video and the silent STI lenses. Another major reason for buying Canon was camera software. I previously had a bad experience downloading software for another manufacturer's camcorder. Canon includes all the necessary software. In fact, they even give software describing how to use the software. It can't get easier than that.
I would also encourage anyone buying this camera to purchase the 18-135 mm kit lens. I have seen a lot of buyer's remorse in reviews from people who purchased the 18-55 lens initially. They found themselves constantly changing lenses between the 18-55 and the 50-250.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Shutterbug
Location: De Queen, AR
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2015
Bought this to replace a Canon Rebel XS. I must say that the improvement over the XS is outstanding. The colors are very bright and ease of use is up to Canon standards. Haven't really found any reason to knock this camera at all. Video is easy and clear. Just shot video at a flag folding for Marine. The video was clean and crisp. This is a great camera and for the landscape photographer, the family picture guy, you have a winner in this one
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Chrissie
Location: San Diego, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Left out important feature

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 7, 2015
I had an accident with my Rebel SL1, which I really loved, particularly the ability to crop within the camera. I was going to replace my damaged camera with another and two camera stores informed me they won't be carrying it or will have to special order it because they thought it was being discontinued. So I bought the Rebel T5i because it is advertised with the creative filters that my SL1 had. What a disappointment to find that Canon left out the cropping feature. I never would have bought this if I knew in advance. Too late.
1 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: maltingproduction
Location: Springfield MA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Fantastic

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2015
I have had this camera for over a year, and it's been a great year. This camera has drastically changed the way I take photos and videos. This is a definite must-buy for beginners.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Smokey
Location: Fredericksburg VA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Space Shuttle

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 5, 2015
Pros: Accurate metering, quick autofocus, versatile, great video, and stills, ambience features a plus, accurate HDR photography.
Cons: expensive name brand accessories (but you get what you pay for)
I bought a lesser camera on a "Television show". Then returned that camera, after doing my homework. Then I bought the T5i. I did not make a mistake. The T5i is superior to the other camera. Allow me to say that I am an experienced "newbie" with DSLR's. I've owned a Canon for many years, and never tried to improve my photography - that is until I bought this camera. My previous camera was/is a Canon Rebel 2000. I've read 2 books on the T5i and many articles via on-line, and in print. My experience level has increased immensely since studying the T5i. It takes great photos, is easy to use, and learn. The touch screen will increase the speed with which you can learn this camera. For example, after learning this camera's functions, I went back and picked up my Canon Rebel 2000 (film SLR), and found that I could learn that camera in minutes. I also felt as though I had gone from a piper cub (Rebel 2000) to the Space Shuttle (T5i). Imagine, 10 years ago, the T5i would have been so advanced that it may have been at the top of the DSLR world. Yet today it is considered a mid-level camera. Technology has certainly advanced in 10 years, and so has Canon's T5i. You will not be disappointed with this camera, no matter what level of expertise you have.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Sticko
Location: Trego , WI
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Rebel T5i

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2015
Awesome camera , easy to use . many features , easy to use manual I have had Canon Rebel film cameras and I am glad I purchased the T5i. Terrific pictures . I purchased the 18-55 IS STM and the 55-250 IS STM lenses they are great. Thanks Canon.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Flower lady
Location: Calif
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

great purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2015
I upgraded to the ti5 and love the camera. Takes beautiful pictures.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EOS Rebel T5i 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: robare15
Location: Somers, CT
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

A ton of fun.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2015
I have had my Rebel T5i for about a month now and every day is a surprise as I discover more of it's many features.
I call it a computer with an attached lens.
It isn't my first digital camera but it certainly is my best camera.
I bought an auto strobe and was delighted to see that the camera settings are transferred to the strobe for surprisingly easy flash photography.
My rebel came with two lenses, an 18 to 55mm and a 75 to 300mm. However, as I became familiar with the camera I began to think that the single use, 18 to 135mm would have been a better choice.
The auto focus is fantastic the menu choices are easy to use and the controls are very intuitive.
robare15
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site