Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / EOS Digital Cameras Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop EOS Digital Cameras or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit

EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit

As the world's smallest and lightest digital SLR camera*, the new EOS Rebel SL1 is small in size but enormous in performance.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
25 out of 26(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Review 1 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: EOS Rebel Review
Location: Sauk Rapids, MN
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

EOS Rebel Review SL1 18-55 IS STM

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 28, 2014
I have used previous Cannon Cameras and had a very disappointing battery experience. I would use the camera for about 2 hours and have only half of the battery left.
That is not the case here. We have used this camera for about 6 hours and still have a full battery.
So far the only downfall I have seen is you have to be close to take a close up shot of something. For intense if you wanted to take a shot of a small flower even with the lens zoomed in all the way you have to be relatively close. This can be fixed by purchasing a lens that can zoom in further. That is on great feature of the detachable lens style cameras.
All that being said the standard lens that comes with the camera takes amazing shots for everything you can do with it. If you are looking to take camera shot from far distances this lens won't cut it, but if you are taking closer shots you will be amazed at how well the shots always turn out.
The shutter speed of this camera is super fast in comparison to previous version of Cannon cameras I've used.
I would highly recommend this product to anyone looking to make the next step up in digital cameras.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Linda
Location: Virginia
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Happy with the Little White

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 5, 2014
Pros: Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
I own a 5D Mark III and of course love that camera but the weight makes it hard to carry back and forth to work everyday. I have been finding that I have been talking less images and really wanted to get back to photography. I looked at the mirrorless cameras and was about to buy one when this little WHITE camera popped up during my research. This camera is so light and FUN. It has (most) of the same dials, etc as the 5DMIII plus touch screen capabilities. The images (with the 18-55 STM and the 55-250 STM) are great. In most cases I do not see much difference between this and the 5DMIII,. People stop me to ask what white camera i have. Fun to use and great images - plus very light weight. Can't ask for more.
20 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Darrian Gehner
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent though wish it had more features

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2014
Pros: quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Dim LCD, Missing features/settings, Short battery life
Wonderful camera to start out with (when you buy the kit with lenses). It is a steal for that price/quality. I have used this camera for 7 months and actually run my business with it. I wish it had a rotating vari-angle screen like the T3i and more ISO options (there is only a few and I can't select 150, 320, 570, etc.).
Love the camera though and would definitely recommend it.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Lethalpen
Location: Alberta, Canada
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great Mid Level Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 25, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
My first DSLR and I love it! Found it easy to use as a beginner.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Ange
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Love it!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 20, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I've been wanting to upgrade to a dslr camera for a while now, as I've been doing photography with an old digital camera with always blurry pictures. When I purchased it, they were telling me all these advanced features and upgrades and I said " it's okay, I'm not really that into photography like that, just novice." And I got the response "trust me, with this camera, you will be." Well, all the rest of the comments were right, I'm having so much fun learning the art of photography on this amazing camera! The image quality is great, and it is so much easier to use in many ways (especially with the fact that I have small hands!) It is so easy to handle, and to me, the photos look almost like a total professional took them, although I'm still a novice. I would recommend to anyone who either wants good quality photos easy, or is looking to use the manual mode and still have the capability of getting great photos! So, I think this is best for someone upgrading from a lower class dslr or starting photography, but knows that they will continue with it for years.
Additionally, I love that it has a built in sensor cleaner! It puts some of my fears at ease.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: captdave
Location: Rocky Hill, Ct.
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

well designed thought out camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
All my Canon cameras are wonderful, but my SL1 is fantastic
not only is it lightweight it performs as good if not better than my 60D and 7D in my opinion. Some of the photos I take can
be magnified and still show great detail and sharpness. I still
use my other canon camera regularly but my SL1 will be right
with them. Fantastic camera!
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: garden shopper
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

love camera - but want articulating lcd

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 28, 2014
Pros: excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings, missing articulating lcd
Love the SL1 - Dimensions are GREAT! - OVF is a must... However, I really want an SL1 with an articulating "vari-angle lc" as well. When will Canon add that? Thanks
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: AnneMarie
Location: Cleveland, OH
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Best decision ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 28, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I have long hesitated to get a DSLR camera, but it was finally time to get something of real good quality and reputation.
I love this camera from the moment I first turned it on. Set up was easy an did not require much of reading the manual. I took my first pictures within the hour and they turned out excellent.
The camera feels comfortable in my hand and is not as heavy as most other models. I wanted something smaller with all the features.
Battery life is excellent, features are great, photos turn out excellent. I am still learning the software.
I am recommend this camera to everyone who wants a full feature DSLR with a lighter weight than most cameras in this category.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Cyclingfriend
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Very very happy customer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu
Cons: might be a bit too small for larger hands(6'2")
I bought this for my girlfriend and I and we are extremely pleased with this small investment! The iPhone photos are great but they can only cut it for so long, I have really been fascinated by the capabilities of this little guy! He's quiet, fast, and takes easy and really nice photos. Only complaint might be that for bigger guys, I am just over six feet, you might prefer the T5i since its a lot easier to grip with big hands, my girlfriend however is short and she would not be comfortable with a full size DSLR. The camera has a good flash, touch screen is very responsive with nice resolution, has a solid feel to it, not plasticy what so ever. Definitely would purchase this camera again if I had to do it over again
39 of 43 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: SWM
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Greatest invention since the light bulb!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, simple to use
I love this Camera!! it is small, light, and you can hold it in one hand. One of the biggest Pro to it is that it takes great pictures and has a stunning display screen quality. The built in flash is also great, when fired from a distance of about three feet to five or greater, the lighting looks natural, a huge plus. Finally one of the nicest features of the camera is the touch screen. It makes using the camera so much easier. Going with this is also the fact the display screen when looking at settings, like aperture, and f-stops, the screen is well laid out and simple. Once you get this camera opened and instructions read you will be shooting in no time!!
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: the photogeezer
Location: San Jose, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Love the compactness, needs small lenses

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2013
Pros: quiet, excellent image quality, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: extremely limited small lenses
I see no image quality issues that would distinguish the SL1 from any other SLR with an APS-C sensor. As an alternative body to carry with my 5DII, or as a light carry-around on hikes, it is what I expected.
I also bought the 40mm f 2.8 pancake and love it. It's a natural on the SL1. 40mm, though, crops to a less useful 60 or so. I need more alternatives to Canon's beer bottle zooms. At the VERY least, Canon, why not an EOS version of the 22mm you already have for the M-series? Such a useful focal length would be just right to live on my SL1.
17 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: D.Boone
Location: Dayton, O
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great Style and Performance!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2013
Pros: quiet, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
This is my first real DSLR. I had been using a mirrorless camera for a couple of years, but found myself wanting a slightly bigger camera with a built-in optical viewfinder. After looking at some full size cameras from other manufacturers, I saw the SL1 and instantly liked it. I did some further research, and convinced myself that the SL1 would be my next camera purchase. No buyer's remorse for me! The SL1 is the perfect size, with the shutter button in an ideal location for my hold. The SL1 also has a couple of features I was not aware of, such as a viewfinder sensor that turns off the LCD when you bring the camera to your eye. Picture quality is good with pleasing sharpness and color tones. I tend to shoot in Program mode a lot, and I have noticed that shutter speeds are faster with the SL1 than with my previous camera. This tells me that the SL1 must have a better sensor, and/or that the lenses are doing a better job of gathering available light. Additionally, the touchscreen LCD is a joy to use, and complements the other controls very well. The menus and functions are pretty easy to understand too. All of this combined with style and good looks makes the SL1 a fantastic product---two thumbs up!
41 of 42 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Geo
Location: Rhode Island
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Simply Outstanding

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2013
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, touch screen controls
Cons: i can't put it down
I purchased this camera as a gift for my daughter. Sorry My Dear, I opened it and charged the battery. I have not been so overwhelmed since I purchased my F 1. Just the capabilities got my creative juices flowing. I wish my blood would do the same. Excellent picture quality and the potential! I rather not get into the nitty gritty, but the touch screen capabilities, Thank You Canon!. All my film and digital wonders have been packed away, that body with all the glass I have, just excuse me while I go out shooting...
22 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: DocSmall
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great Camera at a Great Value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 8, 2013
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings
I should start by saying that this is my first DSLR camera. I feel like I can do almost anything that any other camera can do. The limits of this camera are only imposed by its user. That being said, there are some minor features that are missing from some of its larger brethren and the kit lens that comes with it does not have a distance focus scale. But these are relatively minor issues with the camera. The kit lens is excellent in terms of responsiveness and quick auto focus. The camera itself is very lightweight and easy to carry around. The image quality is far beyond what I was expecting. The camera is very easy to use and understand the various settings and functions on the camera. Battery life for me has been really, really good as well. I must say that I don't typically shoot more than 200 pictures at a time. But the auto off feature is a wonderful addition for battery saving.
I love this camera and so does my wife. I would recommend this to ANY beginner in the market for a DSLR.
26 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Peter
Location: Fairport, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Excellent results after 1000 pictures

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 28, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu
Just finished shooting 700 pictures while traveling in Europe. The SL1 performed excellent. Great picture quality and ease of use. Used many of the features to capture unique shots. Small size was a plus while traveling. Quick start up time enabled the capture of some shots that may have been missed.
23 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: gruhl
Location: Western Ohio
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

smaller than i expected

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 20, 2013
Pros: quiet, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
I have only used for about a 2 weeks now. just wanted to drop a quick review for now. YES - the older ef/ef-s lens that are not the "stm" type not auto- focusing. those lens will auto focus.( I HAD HEARD THAT THEY WONT ). I own 8 other ef / ef-s lens that work just as good with my model SL-1 as they do with my T3i. I am still playing with the camera to get a feel for it. big (little) difference between the T3i and the SL-1. so far I love the camera and it`s features. Again, Top Quality Canon craftsmanship.
10 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Mic
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love this camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
I just recently purchased this SL1, only thing I have to say is I don't regret this purchase. I know have a d-slr camera for quite sometime. Excellent quality in pic and videos. The kit lense is great, very silent and quick to focus on videos and even on AF MODE. Now I just need a telephoto lens :) one thing I did read on other reviews is short battery life, for my purpose, it's excellent no issues with it.
25 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Tbone
Location: Arizona
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

I really enjoy this camera.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2013
Pros: Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
I purchased this camera mainly for video and as a backup for my 7D. Video is outstanding using the STM lens.(40mm however seems to generate noisy audio). I am very satisfied with the IQ and with a little practice it fits my hand with comfort. I like it so much I sold my 7D and will use it until the 7D replacement comes out. Battery life is not a problem and seems greater than advertised. The light weight is addictive and I find myself taking this places I normally would take a pocket camera.
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Hclarkx
Location: Sacramento, CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best small camera ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 11, 2013
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable
I've been using Canon cameras for 10 years, finallly working my way up to the 5D MkIII. With never a failure and total confidence and familiarity with the Canon way, the SL1 was a no-brainer when it came time for a smarter "backup" and "walk-around" camera than my 60D. The G cameras were okay but a bit slow for shooting grand children. The 60D solved that but was a bit large and heavy to be always at my side. Now, the SL1 does that job at about half the weight and bulk of the 60D.
My wife was an avid photographer 30 years ago having an SLR before I did. When I got one she drifted away from photography. She then carried a Digital Elph at times but mostly just left the Photography to me. Until I got the SL1. She loves it and has carried it on several hikes when I chose the 5DIII. She also has it handy when the grand kids are around.
An under-advertised and overlooked-by-reviewers feature of the SL1 is the quiet mode. With the camera in S mode it's even quieter than my 5DIII's S mode. That mode also slows the continuous shooting down to an often more practical 2 frames per second.
We are now at well over 1000 exposures including grand landscapes, vacations, family gatherings, hikes, and more and the SL1 has been great in every setting. It's always with us.
20 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Shutterbug60
Location: Woodland Park, NJ
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent, and small!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 24, 2013
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, ability to use most lenses
I purchased this model, to go along with, the other 2 models of Rebels I currently own. I am a news photographer and carry quite a lot of gear, when I have to shoot. I was immediately drawn to its smaller size and weight, and its Canon reputation. I was very satisfied with its features, and its compactness. The ability to use all the same lenses as my "bigger" EOS cameras made it a no brainer as to which camera I would use professionally. Anytime I need to use it, it is up to whatever situation arises, and meets all my criteria. Its ease of use, and compact form, allows my hand to grip it tighter, and to gives me more flexibility in any shooting scenario. Its much lighter weight allows me not to feel weighed down, even when using a super telephoto lens. The picture quality is outstanding, and its high resolution makes cropping, a easy task. It only has one down side, there isn't a battery grip currently available for it, and its own battery, while lasting a really descent amount of time, needs recharging a little more frequently then I would like. Overall, this is an excellent camera for both the novice and pro alike.
63 of 63 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site