Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / EOS Digital Cameras Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop EOS Digital Cameras or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products

Customer Reviews for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit

EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit

As the world's smallest and lightest digital SLR camera*, the new EOS Rebel SL1 is small in size but enormous in performance.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
25 out of 26(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Review 1 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: butterflyfan
Location: Waukesha, WI
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Awesome camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2015
Great camera. Lightweight, easy to use, and great image quality. I love it.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: RaceMan
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Live view mode

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2015
This is my first DSLR and it is somewhat more difficult to figure out all the camera can, and can't do. I was not accustom to using the view finder. I like the live view mode better; but was disappointed that all the options are not available using this shooting mode. Canon also warns of the camera over heating and going into auto shutoff if using live view shooting mode for extended shooting. Then you have to wait for the camera to cool down before resuming shooting in live view mode. This is the only negative that I have found thus far.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: RobertH
Location: Atlanta, GA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

The perfect DSLR?

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2015
Moving up from a Canon point-and-shoot camera, I looked at a number of DSLR's before choosing the SL-1. I am really pleased that it takes great pictures even in poor conditions.
Also important is that it's small and light.
The two other things that I think are important is that you can treat it like a point-and-shoot if you want. Take off the lens cap, flip the switch to turn it on (it's the switch labeled On and Off), hit the camera button to turn on the LED screen, and push the button to take the picture.
The other thing is that are no buttons or whatever on the side of the camera where you would normally hold it.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: solobackcountry
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

The Clear Choice!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2015
The Rebel SL1 is an exceptional APS-C camera. I purchased the body only version and use it with upgrade EF and EF-S lenses. It does exactly what you need it to do without all the unnecessary bells and whistles commonly found are more expensive models. My only recommendation on this camera is to always have an extra battery on hand. The wonderfully small size comes at a price. I'm not going to get in to many specifics in this review. Most of my comments are personal opinion although I must brag about one particular feature. Rebel models have a dedicated AV (+/-) exposure bias button easily accessible on the back of the camera. I can't imagine not having that button on the back. I don't understand for the life of me why supposed "advanced" camera models omit this feature. Being able to quickly and easily manually bracket exposure is so important. Getting it right in the field is always the best way to go. The supposed "advanced" models require two additional steps while fumbling through the internal menus to adjust exposure bias. Upgrade Rebel cameras are well designed and beautifully user friendly for advanced shooters. I am so tired of reading negative comments from online technical reviewers referring to Rebel cameras as entry level. Are you people serious?! There is no such thing as an entry level DSLR. They are all capable of capturing amazing photos in the hands of experienced users. For me when it comes to APS-C Canon camera models, upgrade Rebels are the clear choice. The more I learn about advanced photography, the more I believe this. Much of what is fed to us online is hype. Use your Rebel with pride! They rock!!
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Angel
Location: Detroit, MI
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

10

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2015
The Best Cameras on the Market!
The Best Price and very Professional.
2 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: TGonzo
Location: Mastery, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Fantastic camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2015
His is my first real camera since a point and shoot I bought 12 years ago. I mostly take photos with my iPhone. I never realized what I was missing until my son was born. My wife and I were never satisfied with the photos we took of him. As you know, babies rarely stay still long enough for a proper photo. We decided to buy our first real camera based on a relative's recommendation. We decided on the SL1 after talking to a Canon rep at Best Buy. It is a beautiful camera. So light and compact. My wife and I have small hands so this was a big deal to us. It is also surprisingly easy to use. We were afraid of too many settings but they make sense on this camera. Even in full auto mode the photos are gorgeous. We are experimenting with the many manual settings. This is a great camera for those new to the hobby. I highly recommend it.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: zmgalen2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Amazing Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2014
I got this camera to get started on photography. Before this, I used a vixia camcorder. It began to break down, and I was worried this couldn't replace it....I was wrong. I am stunned by the video quality. Also, just using 2 megapixels, images are insanely sharp. I was worried that this wouldn't be as good as the t5i....but it meets all of my standards. Also, battery life is extremely long, which I need for shooting. Canon-great job on this camera! Who knew so much could fit inside such a little thing?
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Ryan
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 7, 2014
This Camera was a gift from my husband. He couldn't have picked a better one. It's very light but does the job perfectly. I am very satisfied with this Jewel. I LOVE IT..!!
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: EOS Rebel Review
Location: Sauk Rapids, MN
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

EOS Rebel Review SL1 18-55 IS STM

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 28, 2014
I have used previous Cannon Cameras and had a very disappointing battery experience. I would use the camera for about 2 hours and have only half of the battery left.
That is not the case here. We have used this camera for about 6 hours and still have a full battery.
So far the only downfall I have seen is you have to be close to take a close up shot of something. For intense if you wanted to take a shot of a small flower even with the lens zoomed in all the way you have to be relatively close. This can be fixed by purchasing a lens that can zoom in further. That is on great feature of the detachable lens style cameras.
All that being said the standard lens that comes with the camera takes amazing shots for everything you can do with it. If you are looking to take camera shot from far distances this lens won't cut it, but if you are taking closer shots you will be amazed at how well the shots always turn out.
The shutter speed of this camera is super fast in comparison to previous version of Cannon cameras I've used.
I would highly recommend this product to anyone looking to make the next step up in digital cameras.
13 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Linda
Location: Virginia
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Happy with the Little White

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 5, 2014
Pros: Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
I own a 5D Mark III and of course love that camera but the weight makes it hard to carry back and forth to work everyday. I have been finding that I have been talking less images and really wanted to get back to photography. I looked at the mirrorless cameras and was about to buy one when this little WHITE camera popped up during my research. This camera is so light and FUN. It has (most) of the same dials, etc as the 5DMIII plus touch screen capabilities. The images (with the 18-55 STM and the 55-250 STM) are great. In most cases I do not see much difference between this and the 5DMIII,. People stop me to ask what white camera i have. Fun to use and great images - plus very light weight. Can't ask for more.
31 of 36 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Darrian Gehner
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent though wish it had more features

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2014
Pros: quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Dim LCD, Missing features/settings, Short battery life
Wonderful camera to start out with (when you buy the kit with lenses). It is a steal for that price/quality. I have used this camera for 7 months and actually run my business with it. I wish it had a rotating vari-angle screen like the T3i and more ISO options (there is only a few and I can't select 150, 320, 570, etc.).
Love the camera though and would definitely recommend it.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Lethalpen
Location: Alberta, Canada
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great Mid Level Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 25, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
My first DSLR and I love it! Found it easy to use as a beginner.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Ange
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Love it!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 20, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I've been wanting to upgrade to a dslr camera for a while now, as I've been doing photography with an old digital camera with always blurry pictures. When I purchased it, they were telling me all these advanced features and upgrades and I said " it's okay, I'm not really that into photography like that, just novice." And I got the response "trust me, with this camera, you will be." Well, all the rest of the comments were right, I'm having so much fun learning the art of photography on this amazing camera! The image quality is great, and it is so much easier to use in many ways (especially with the fact that I have small hands!) It is so easy to handle, and to me, the photos look almost like a total professional took them, although I'm still a novice. I would recommend to anyone who either wants good quality photos easy, or is looking to use the manual mode and still have the capability of getting great photos! So, I think this is best for someone upgrading from a lower class dslr or starting photography, but knows that they will continue with it for years.
Additionally, I love that it has a built in sensor cleaner! It puts some of my fears at ease.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: captdave
Location: Rocky Hill, Ct.
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

well designed thought out camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
All my Canon cameras are wonderful, but my SL1 is fantastic
not only is it lightweight it performs as good if not better than my 60D and 7D in my opinion. Some of the photos I take can
be magnified and still show great detail and sharpness. I still
use my other canon camera regularly but my SL1 will be right
with them. Fantastic camera!
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: garden shopper
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

love camera - but want articulating lcd

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 28, 2014
Pros: excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings, missing articulating lcd
Love the SL1 - Dimensions are GREAT! - OVF is a must... However, I really want an SL1 with an articulating "vari-angle lc" as well. When will Canon add that? Thanks
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: AnneMarie
Location: Cleveland, OH
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Best decision ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 28, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I have long hesitated to get a DSLR camera, but it was finally time to get something of real good quality and reputation.
I love this camera from the moment I first turned it on. Set up was easy an did not require much of reading the manual. I took my first pictures within the hour and they turned out excellent.
The camera feels comfortable in my hand and is not as heavy as most other models. I wanted something smaller with all the features.
Battery life is excellent, features are great, photos turn out excellent. I am still learning the software.
I am recommend this camera to everyone who wants a full feature DSLR with a lighter weight than most cameras in this category.
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Cyclingfriend
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Very very happy customer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu
Cons: might be a bit too small for larger hands(6'2")
I bought this for my girlfriend and I and we are extremely pleased with this small investment! The iPhone photos are great but they can only cut it for so long, I have really been fascinated by the capabilities of this little guy! He's quiet, fast, and takes easy and really nice photos. Only complaint might be that for bigger guys, I am just over six feet, you might prefer the T5i since its a lot easier to grip with big hands, my girlfriend however is short and she would not be comfortable with a full size DSLR. The camera has a good flash, touch screen is very responsive with nice resolution, has a solid feel to it, not plasticy what so ever. Definitely would purchase this camera again if I had to do it over again
40 of 44 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: SWM
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Greatest invention since the light bulb!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, simple to use
I love this Camera!! it is small, light, and you can hold it in one hand. One of the biggest Pro to it is that it takes great pictures and has a stunning display screen quality. The built in flash is also great, when fired from a distance of about three feet to five or greater, the lighting looks natural, a huge plus. Finally one of the nicest features of the camera is the touch screen. It makes using the camera so much easier. Going with this is also the fact the display screen when looking at settings, like aperture, and f-stops, the screen is well laid out and simple. Once you get this camera opened and instructions read you will be shooting in no time!!
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: the photogeezer
Location: San Jose, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Love the compactness, needs small lenses

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2013
Pros: quiet, excellent image quality, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: extremely limited small lenses
I see no image quality issues that would distinguish the SL1 from any other SLR with an APS-C sensor. As an alternative body to carry with my 5DII, or as a light carry-around on hikes, it is what I expected.
I also bought the 40mm f 2.8 pancake and love it. It's a natural on the SL1. 40mm, though, crops to a less useful 60 or so. I need more alternatives to Canon's beer bottle zooms. At the VERY least, Canon, why not an EOS version of the 22mm you already have for the M-series? Such a useful focal length would be just right to live on my SL1.
17 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: D.Boone
Location: Dayton, O
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great Style and Performance!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2013
Pros: quiet, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
This is my first real DSLR. I had been using a mirrorless camera for a couple of years, but found myself wanting a slightly bigger camera with a built-in optical viewfinder. After looking at some full size cameras from other manufacturers, I saw the SL1 and instantly liked it. I did some further research, and convinced myself that the SL1 would be my next camera purchase. No buyer's remorse for me! The SL1 is the perfect size, with the shutter button in an ideal location for my hold. The SL1 also has a couple of features I was not aware of, such as a viewfinder sensor that turns off the LCD when you bring the camera to your eye. Picture quality is good with pleasing sharpness and color tones. I tend to shoot in Program mode a lot, and I have noticed that shutter speeds are faster with the SL1 than with my previous camera. This tells me that the SL1 must have a better sensor, and/or that the lenses are doing a better job of gathering available light. Additionally, the touchscreen LCD is a joy to use, and complements the other controls very well. The menus and functions are pretty easy to understand too. All of this combined with style and good looks makes the SL1 a fantastic product---two thumbs up!
43 of 44 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site