Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / EOS Digital Cameras Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop EOS Digital Cameras or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit

EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit

As the world's smallest and lightest digital SLR camera*, the new EOS Rebel SL1 is small in size but enormous in performance.
Average Customer Rating:
4.737 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
18 out of 19(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Review 1 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Cyclingfriend
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Very very happy customer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu
Cons: might be a bit too small for larger hands(6'2")
I bought this for my girlfriend and I and we are extremely pleased with this small investment! The iPhone photos are great but they can only cut it for so long, I have really been fascinated by the capabilities of this little guy! He's quiet, fast, and takes easy and really nice photos. Only complaint might be that for bigger guys, I am just over six feet, you might prefer the T5i since its a lot easier to grip with big hands, my girlfriend however is short and she would not be comfortable with a full size DSLR. The camera has a good flash, touch screen is very responsive with nice resolution, has a solid feel to it, not plasticy what so ever. Definitely would purchase this camera again if I had to do it over again
28 of 31 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: SWM
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Greatest invention since the light bulb!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, simple to use
I love this Camera!! it is small, light, and you can hold it in one hand. One of the biggest Pro to it is that it takes great pictures and has a stunning display screen quality. The built in flash is also great, when fired from a distance of about three feet to five or greater, the lighting looks natural, a huge plus. Finally one of the nicest features of the camera is the touch screen. It makes using the camera so much easier. Going with this is also the fact the display screen when looking at settings, like aperture, and f-stops, the screen is well laid out and simple. Once you get this camera opened and instructions read you will be shooting in no time!!
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: the photogeezer
Location: San Jose, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Love the compactness, needs small lenses

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2013
Pros: quiet, excellent image quality, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: extremely limited small lenses
I see no image quality issues that would distinguish the SL1 from any other SLR with an APS-C sensor. As an alternative body to carry with my 5DII, or as a light carry-around on hikes, it is what I expected.
I also bought the 40mm f 2.8 pancake and love it. It's a natural on the SL1. 40mm, though, crops to a less useful 60 or so. I need more alternatives to Canon's beer bottle zooms. At the VERY least, Canon, why not an EOS version of the 22mm you already have for the M-series? Such a useful focal length would be just right to live on my SL1.
15 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: D.Boone
Location: Dayton, O
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great Style and Performance!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2013
Pros: quiet, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
This is my first real DSLR. I had been using a mirrorless camera for a couple of years, but found myself wanting a slightly bigger camera with a built-in optical viewfinder. After looking at some full size cameras from other manufacturers, I saw the SL1 and instantly liked it. I did some further research, and convinced myself that the SL1 would be my next camera purchase. No buyer's remorse for me! The SL1 is the perfect size, with the shutter button in an ideal location for my hold. The SL1 also has a couple of features I was not aware of, such as a viewfinder sensor that turns off the LCD when you bring the camera to your eye. Picture quality is good with pleasing sharpness and color tones. I tend to shoot in Program mode a lot, and I have noticed that shutter speeds are faster with the SL1 than with my previous camera. This tells me that the SL1 must have a better sensor, and/or that the lenses are doing a better job of gathering available light. Additionally, the touchscreen LCD is a joy to use, and complements the other controls very well. The menus and functions are pretty easy to understand too. All of this combined with style and good looks makes the SL1 a fantastic product---two thumbs up!
35 of 36 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Geo
Location: Rhode Island
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Simply Outstanding

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2013
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, touch screen controls
Cons: i can't put it down
I purchased this camera as a gift for my daughter. Sorry My Dear, I opened it and charged the battery. I have not been so overwhelmed since I purchased my F 1. Just the capabilities got my creative juices flowing. I wish my blood would do the same. Excellent picture quality and the potential! I rather not get into the nitty gritty, but the touch screen capabilities, Thank You Canon!. All my film and digital wonders have been packed away, that body with all the glass I have, just excuse me while I go out shooting...
22 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: DocSmall
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great Camera at a Great Value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 8, 2013
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings
I should start by saying that this is my first DSLR camera. I feel like I can do almost anything that any other camera can do. The limits of this camera are only imposed by its user. That being said, there are some minor features that are missing from some of its larger brethren and the kit lens that comes with it does not have a distance focus scale. But these are relatively minor issues with the camera. The kit lens is excellent in terms of responsiveness and quick auto focus. The camera itself is very lightweight and easy to carry around. The image quality is far beyond what I was expecting. The camera is very easy to use and understand the various settings and functions on the camera. Battery life for me has been really, really good as well. I must say that I don't typically shoot more than 200 pictures at a time. But the auto off feature is a wonderful addition for battery saving.
I love this camera and so does my wife. I would recommend this to ANY beginner in the market for a DSLR.
25 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Peter
Location: Fairport, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Excellent results after 1000 pictures

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 28, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu
Just finished shooting 700 pictures while traveling in Europe. The SL1 performed excellent. Great picture quality and ease of use. Used many of the features to capture unique shots. Small size was a plus while traveling. Quick start up time enabled the capture of some shots that may have been missed.
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: gruhl
Location: Western Ohio
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

smaller than i expected

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 20, 2013
Pros: quiet, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
I have only used for about a 2 weeks now. just wanted to drop a quick review for now. YES - the older ef/ef-s lens that are not the "stm" type not auto- focusing. those lens will auto focus.( I HAD HEARD THAT THEY WONT ). I own 8 other ef / ef-s lens that work just as good with my model SL-1 as they do with my T3i. I am still playing with the camera to get a feel for it. big (little) difference between the T3i and the SL-1. so far I love the camera and it`s features. Again, Top Quality Canon craftsmanship.
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Mic
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love this camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
I just recently purchased this SL1, only thing I have to say is I don't regret this purchase. I know have a d-slr camera for quite sometime. Excellent quality in pic and videos. The kit lense is great, very silent and quick to focus on videos and even on AF MODE. Now I just need a telephoto lens :) one thing I did read on other reviews is short battery life, for my purpose, it's excellent no issues with it.
23 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Tbone
Location: Arizona
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

I really enjoy this camera.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2013
Pros: Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
I purchased this camera mainly for video and as a backup for my 7D. Video is outstanding using the STM lens.(40mm however seems to generate noisy audio). I am very satisfied with the IQ and with a little practice it fits my hand with comfort. I like it so much I sold my 7D and will use it until the 7D replacement comes out. Battery life is not a problem and seems greater than advertised. The light weight is addictive and I find myself taking this places I normally would take a pocket camera.
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Hclarkx
Location: Sacramento, CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best small camera ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 11, 2013
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable
I've been using Canon cameras for 10 years, finallly working my way up to the 5D MkIII. With never a failure and total confidence and familiarity with the Canon way, the SL1 was a no-brainer when it came time for a smarter "backup" and "walk-around" camera than my 60D. The G cameras were okay but a bit slow for shooting grand children. The 60D solved that but was a bit large and heavy to be always at my side. Now, the SL1 does that job at about half the weight and bulk of the 60D.
My wife was an avid photographer 30 years ago having an SLR before I did. When I got one she drifted away from photography. She then carried a Digital Elph at times but mostly just left the Photography to me. Until I got the SL1. She loves it and has carried it on several hikes when I chose the 5DIII. She also has it handy when the grand kids are around.
An under-advertised and overlooked-by-reviewers feature of the SL1 is the quiet mode. With the camera in S mode it's even quieter than my 5DIII's S mode. That mode also slows the continuous shooting down to an often more practical 2 frames per second.
We are now at well over 1000 exposures including grand landscapes, vacations, family gatherings, hikes, and more and the SL1 has been great in every setting. It's always with us.
18 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Shutterbug60
Location: Woodland Park, NJ
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent, and small!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 24, 2013
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, ability to use most lenses
I purchased this model, to go along with, the other 2 models of Rebels I currently own. I am a news photographer and carry quite a lot of gear, when I have to shoot. I was immediately drawn to its smaller size and weight, and its Canon reputation. I was very satisfied with its features, and its compactness. The ability to use all the same lenses as my "bigger" EOS cameras made it a no brainer as to which camera I would use professionally. Anytime I need to use it, it is up to whatever situation arises, and meets all my criteria. Its ease of use, and compact form, allows my hand to grip it tighter, and to gives me more flexibility in any shooting scenario. Its much lighter weight allows me not to feel weighed down, even when using a super telephoto lens. The picture quality is outstanding, and its high resolution makes cropping, a easy task. It only has one down side, there isn't a battery grip currently available for it, and its own battery, while lasting a really descent amount of time, needs recharging a little more frequently then I would like. Overall, this is an excellent camera for both the novice and pro alike.
54 of 54 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Bella
Location: NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Love My little Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 17, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Was looking to upgrade my point and shoot camera! Didnt want the heavy Slr Camera! Till one day I saw the Canon commercial !! I had to see it. Love the quick focus !! But being New to these cameras!! Don't know if I'm saying much!!! I LOVE THE EASE of it !!! no,issues what so ever!! Very happy with my purchase!!!!!
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Patentcad
Location: Chester, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Small size, Big features

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2013
Pros: quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
First off, one reviewer here says the camera won't autofocus with non-STM lenses. I have FOUR non-STM EF-S lenses (10-22,18-55, 15-80, 55-250) and the camera works very smoothly with all of them, so I don't know WHAT he's talking about. The camera is beautifully designed, has all the features of the T3i it replaced except for the articulating screen, but of course now it's a sophisticated touchscreen. Makes using the camera so much easier. Even when you are using a big lens, the smaller camera body size helps. I generally run the larger 15-80 lens (GREAT zoom) and when I want a smaller size for portability I go to the 18-55 that I saved from my T3i, which is smaller and lighter than the STM kit lens they sell with this camera. Again, all these lenses work great with the SL-1, so that other review is highly inaccurate, and trashing the camera with a one star rating based on faulty information is a puzzling thing to do, and misleading to other camera buyers.
31 of 31 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Jerry
Location: Philadelphia, PA sububs
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Perfect for smaller hands.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 4, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, smaller size for smaller hands
My wife wanted to accompany me on the various photo outings, and to renew her interest in Photography. At one time, when the kids were at home, we all had our own 35mm cameras, and loved the art. She tried to use my DSLR and found that it was too heavy and too bulky for her smaller hands.As someone who had used SLR's in the past, Point & Shoot cameras just didn't make it. When Canon announced the SL1 around Mother's Day I ordered one for her. She has been out with me a few times and is just in love with the camera. She feels llke it was made just for her smaller hands. Needles to say, the photos have been spectacular, even as she re-learns how to take great pictures. In my view, the camera is perfect for what the designers had in mind.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: JP
Location: Providence, RI
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 10, 2013
Pros: quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
For the Rebel line of DSLR's I cant understand why anyone would buy the T5i when this is for all essential purposes the exact same camera but in a smaller body.
As an enthusiest with small hands I feel this is perfect, granted I'm still use to larger bodies.
overall it is an excellent camera.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: Div M,

Awesome smallest DSLR by Canon

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 7, 2013
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Brought this few days back and have taken tons of pictures with AF and MF...awesome pics similar in comparison to some higher versions of Canon. Also small body doesn't make it less of features at all..Has almost everything and touch screen is very useful. Kit lens are nice but will prefer buying some more lenses. overall superb camera if you are looking for something light to travel...
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: dld542004
Location: Indiana
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 10, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Bought this for the wife. I've got the 5D MK lll and figured it would make a nice backup. I 've tried all my other lenses with it and no problems. In fact quite a nice package with the 40 mm pankake lens! I enjoy "borrowing" it. Highly recommend.
27 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EOS Rebel SL1 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit
Nickname: JS

Oh NO!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2013
Purchased the SL1 for my wife. The 18-55mm IS STM kit lens that comes with the camera works very well. However, I tried to use an older EF-S lens that is "not" STM and the camera would not focus when set to AF.
Essentially the camera would try to focus "unsuccessfully" to the point that the shutter wouldn't respond.
If you are new to Canon and are building your library of lenses this is a nice APS-C sensor camera. If you are like me, and have older EF-S lenses; look elsewhere!
The camera is going back tomorrow...sorry Canon!
52 of 152 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site