Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / Lenses Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Lenses or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM

EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM

High magnification, compact and lightweight EF-S standard zoom lens with Optical Image Stabilizer for up to four equivalent stops of shake correction Supports Canon EOS Movie Servo AF feature for smooth and quiet continuous AF during movie shooting New six-group zoom system provides a more compact design while achieving a maximum magnification of 0.36x at the telephoto end Minimum focusing distance: 0.82 ft./0.25m (full zoom range)
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
3 out of 3(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM
Review 1 for EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM
Nickname: Pandu
Location: Central New Jersey
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

An Excellent purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 20, 2015
is my first purchase of a Canon SLR camera and Canon lenses. My first set of photographs of my grand son's birthday part were more than satisfactory. All pictures were clear, crisp and color balanced. I hope to take more pictures, particularly nature pictures in the near future.
Review 2 for EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM
Nickname: Dec
Location: New Hampshire USA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great DSLR Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2015
This Canon EOS Rebel Camera I bought is very easy to use.
I have to say one thing that struck me as clever was the explanation of the Camera Settings, (when you turn the settings Knob) displayed on the LCD Screen.
Excellent smarts there from Canon.
Review 3 for EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM
Nickname: Daytonalilbit
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Very Good Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 9, 2015
Very easy to use, not too large or small, I have small hands and it's comfortable for me to use.
Review 4 for EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM
Nickname: Terri
Location: minnesota
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

disappointed!

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 27, 2015
This is my first SLR camera. Bought this camera based on the Canon name. I was told that the T3 was a good camera for beginners. This is the lens that came with it.
So far my experience is disappointing. I take better pictures with my iPhone:(When I focus on a subject, it takes forever to "read" the lighting and I therefore often miss the picture.
I attended a class and was told that this is a "KIT Lens" and that I need to upgrade. I don't think I should have to upgrade yet. I feel the camera and lens should work! This is not the highest price range for EOS cameras, but nonetheless It should work! I was excited about the prospect of creating better quality pics....I'm afraid It will not happen with this camera and lens.
1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM
Nickname: BJF311
Location: Houston, Texas
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Nice Photos

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2015
Love the new camera and lenses. The lenses seem to cover a wide range of views/magnifications, and picture clarity is unbelievable!!
Review 6 for EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM
Nickname: SpecialOPro
Location: Schenectady, NY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great video lens

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2014
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images, quiet
Cons: Poor build quality, plastic bayonet mount, electronic manual focus, high barrel distortion
The 18-55 mm IS STM lens is great for video.It smoothly & noiselessly glides from subject to subject. For stills the focus is lightning fast. Super sharp lens. At closer distances at 18mm, barrel distortion is very pronounced. I have not noticed it at normal distances. The plastic bayonet mount contributes to its light weight; but I prefer metal. The electronic manual focus takes getting used to. You have to have the camera on to focus & there are no stops at the ends of the focus travel. The focus ring is always free turning. The faster you turn it, the faster the lens focuses. Rotate the other way & the lens focuses the other direction. The electronic focus is an acceptable trade off for the super auto focus. The lens looks better in real life, but still looks like a kit lens. The hood (extra) shades well , but is unattractive
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM
Nickname: S.J. Photo Nut
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good lens 4 the price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 2, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: no 2.8 f-stop
This lens came with the Rebel T5i as a kit and have no complaints - wish it stopped down to 2.8 f stop.
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM
Nickname: Mike CA
Location: California
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great Kit Lens

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 26, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images
For a kit lens this is really good. Never had an issue with sharpness unless it is operator error. Very light weight and makes for a nice carry around lens.
18 of 19 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site