Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5422

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA MG5422

Like all PIXMA printers, the MG5422 produces amazing detail in both business documents and photographs with 9600 x 2400 maximum color dpi 2 and a 5-Color Ink System.
Average Customer Rating:
2.333 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
4
3 out of 9(33%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5422
Review 1 for PIXMA MG5422
Nickname: Terry
Location: Madison, WI
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Product replacement: Yes

Software is the worst

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 4, 2014
The machine is OK., but the software is horrendous. Nothing is intuitive. The search in help is horrendous. Every search will find a letter combination that stands alone or even is embedded in another word. The search results, therefore, are endless, and you cannot figure out which results actually have anything to do with your problem. I have had a number of road block that would take forever to work through. The latest is trying to save, yes, something as simple as saving, a layout for a CD disc print. Absolutely cannot find it on that page or in help. I never dreamed anyone could design such completely inadequate software. If it sounds like I am frustrated, I am!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MG5422
Nickname: OpaS
Location: DFW - Texas
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 8, 2014
Pros: easy set-up, reliable
Cons: so far none
I've had this printer for about 6 months and have NOT had any of the negative experiences of others reviewing here. Both Win 7 and Win 8 as well as my wife's iPod Air found enough drivers automatically to use the basics of this printer. I can print from anyplace in my 3500 sq ft house without an issue.
For those wasting paper because of network issues (could be your router, sharing or security settings, etc) you might try connecting via USB for those important picture prints. I too have had wireless print issues, always turned out to be a router or interference issue.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MG5422
Nickname: MomWifeIT
Location: St Louis, MO
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Multipurpose Printer, Resonable Price

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2014
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images, copy and scan times a good., small foot print fits on my file cabnet.
Cons: panel feels delicate but has held up well.
I have been using my MG5422 for about 4 month and am still very happy with it. The setup was easy, just follow the instructions.
It does go to sleep when not in use but this has not caused a problem when printing. The will be a delay as it wakes up and preps but not for regular back to back printing.
I am also in IT and have Not had the problems the other IT Pro mentioned with my printer.
Note: I have his same router problem with one of my laptops, but Not my printer. So I suspect his troubles may be router/wireless related, not printer.
Why I bought it: Ink Usage:
Reviews said costs were higher for heavy office use, but good for personal/home use.
Neg:
I was surprised I had to buy ink after 4 month of light use, and I was told by an Office Depot person that printers in general ship with starter ink cartridges, not a full cartridge. Most of our printing is word docs or photos.
The inks are pricy but I have also learned the hard way not to buy cheap ink.
THe front panel the lift up to replace ink feels delicate but so far has held up well. ANd my three year old can reach it, so far so good.... no breakage.
There are my 2 cents.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MG5422
Nickname: VECYO77
Location: denver colorado
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

terrible printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2014
Cons: Poor build quality
the worst printer I have ever owned in my entire life. my entire life! Goes offline before every printing job...A big waste of time and money!!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MG5422
Nickname: Kel
Location: Massachusetts
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Unfortunately...

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2014
Cons: very slow
I'm upset to say that this printer I received as a gift is not too great of a gift. I am currently online now looking for ways to troubleshoot the issue of it "not being connected properly" when it had been connected properly for the past 7 months and nothing has changed. Ink definitely goes quick. One issue I'm finding to be most upsetting is when you are in the middle of printing pictures, if you lose connection to the wifi, the printer stops mid print and gives you your picture, half printed... I have wasted many many many sheets of photo paper and much ink to this. Very frustrating. Also, when you hit "print," there is a good 4-6 minutes spent "thinking" and generating loud noises before it begins printing. Overall, it's cheap and the look gives it the appearance of being a nice, little nifty printer but in reality it feels like you're using a dial up printer, one that 5 times out of 10 doesn't want to do it's job anyways. You'll also find it has "paused the printing job" quite frequently.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG5422
Nickname: Mike
Location: Dallas, texas
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Good Printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2014
I'd never set-up a wireless printer before. This one was easy to set-up, and I'm 66 years old. I've been using it for 3 weeks and it has been easy to use.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG5422
Nickname: Yiyo
Location: Puerto Rico
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

WORST PURCHASE EVERRRR

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 3, 2013
I'm very disappointed whit this product. I want a product that made my life more easy when I have to print. This Printer PIXMA MG5422 its a waste of time and money. I will definitely wont recommend this product to anyone not even my worst enemy.
12 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MG5422
Nickname: jt
Location: Massachusetts
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Frustrating network connectivity issues.

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2013
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable
I've worked in IT for over 20 years and deal with network issues for all devices including printers. This MG5422 model has been nothing but a headache. I've reinstalled drivers multiple times. I've reset my wireless router and reconfigured it 3 times. Eventually it will work and I am able to print a test page from both a laptop and a desktop PC. A day or two later when I try to print, it will say it's offline and the whole headache starts all over again. I've called customer support and they've walked me through most of the steps that I did, but the problem comes back. There is either a firmware issue, or Canon's proprietary software is flawed. I have used Canon products (scanners, printers, and cameras) in the past and they've been good, but this printer has left a VERY bad impression. I have found other reviews and blogs with the exact same symptoms online, and users have no resolution. I've had the printer for 5 months and will look to get this returned for a refund. Buyer beware.
27 of 28 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG5422
Nickname: Butch
Location: Philadelphia, pa
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Sucks up ink in no time!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 20, 2013
Cons: Slow Print Speed, High Ink Consumption, Flimsy Construction, separate carriers
1) This printer is to costly to use because of the way it uses up Printer Ink! I found myself constantly purchasing expensive Ink Cartridges and I don't print enough to warrant such Ink usage! The Ink Cartridges are to expensive!
2) I also do not like the separate paper carriers!
3) It operates very slowly before printing takes several minutes!
53 of 62 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site