Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / Other PowerShot Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Other PowerShot or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX510 HS

PowerShot SX510 HS

Built-in Wi-Fi lets you wirelessly transfer and share images and video. 30x Optical Zoom and a 24mm Wide-Angle lens. Canon's HS SYSTEM with 12.1 Megapixel CMOS sensor and DIGIC 4 Image Processor for improved speed and low light performance. 1080p Full HD Video.
Average Customer Rating:
3.902 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
4
20 out of 31(65%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX510 HS
Review 1 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: AuntieCC
Location: Redding, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Still getting used to.....

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2015
I haven't had a chance to use my new Canon camera yet. This is what I bought myself for Christmas, except I didn't receive it in time for Christmas pics. Anyway, just from the little that I have used it, I feel that I'm really going to enjoy the camera. I'm very disappointed that there wasn't a written instruction booklet that came with it though. Call me old-fashioned....I just like to have the booklet present when I start opening the box, making sure everything is there and exactly what everything is. I went ahead and printed out the manual (quite a stack of papers), but at least I have something to look at without having to go into the office and pull it up on the computer. For now, this is all that I have to say about my new camera. Probably will have more to say in the next few months.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: LRP
Location: LOVELAND COLORADO
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

HANDY FAST CAMERA

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2015
NICE COMPACT SMALL FAST CAMERA...CANON QUALITY..HAS MORE FEATURES THAN ILL EVER USE ...BUT I MAY TRY THE WIFI ON ONE OF THESE COLD SNOWY DAYS WHEN WE ARE STUCK INSIDE.
Review 3 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: shortstuff
Location: Merritt Island, FL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great little camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2015
I needed a new point and shoot camera because my other one was old and so outdated I couldn't find an USB cord to download my photos on the camera's memory. My husband said go ahead and buy what I wanted for my birthday. Before any purchase I consult consumer magazines for recommendations. This was highly recommended. Once I received it I started to use it especially the optical zoom. It took absolutely clear photos better than the EOS that I have, granted it is the first one that came out. It is easy to use although I still have many features to learn. Photos are sharp. Colors are true.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: Micky
Location: Worcester, MA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

The Price is Right

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2015
Purchased the PowerShot SX510 HS for my wife over the Holidays. It is a great camera for our family. Very easy to use and we have taken many photos that are 'KEEPERS". Usually we would use our phone camera, but will now be able to take quality shots everywhere we go. The WiFi sync was also very easy to set up. The SX510 HS is a great every day camera.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: Hollyspop
Location: Central Florida
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Movies lose focus

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2014
This is a great little camera,however, it will not stay in focus when on an airplane. Does anyone have any idea how to correct this?
6 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: alan
Location: las vegas
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

just great

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 9, 2014
HI. i got this to replace my 10 year point and shoot. WOW what a difference 10 years makes. this makes movies and stills with many different built ins. the wifi makes downloading pictures easy as pie. the telephoto lense is great. clear and crisp pictures in HD. i put in a 64G chip that will never fill up just in case. I bought it on line for 1/3 the cost that buying it in the local store would cost. cant say enough. cost is low and the pictures are great.
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: ohana3
Location: Graham,Wa
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

small in size...but

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 24, 2014
I bought the canon sureshot to take pictures for my daughters homecoming dance. I bought it on a Wednesday, and had to use it that Saturday. It was so easy to use! I am not especially good at electronics but it is easy to navigate, and the auto setting was wonderful. I did try some other settings, and I was very happy with the results. I love the wifi capabilities. I am very happy with the pictures and had to do very little editing, which by the way, was very easy as well . I cannot wait to take my camera to Hawaii next month! It may be small in size but it does everything I need and more!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: DG
Location: CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Excellent camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 20, 2014
For the price, this is a great little camera. It is small enough to carry around easily and has a lot of useful features. One thing I like is that you can switch it completely into manual and be creative with your pictures. I recommend getting a spare battery and these are reasonable as well. The lens quality is good too and it has a huge zoom for it size. You must remember though that because of the telephoto lens the f/stop only goes to 3.5 Also the max is f/8 I think. Great little camera, highly recommended......
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: mtsky
Location: Montana
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

a few problems...

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 17, 2014
Was excited to get a camera with many desired features at a good price, however, a few things stand out as negative:
1) no user manual. If Canon would like to claim that this is good for the environment, ask how I feel printing out something like 180++ pages on my printer. I would pay $5 more to have a small manual to carry, not a stack of 8.5 x 11 pieces of paper. Ridiculous.
2) No matter how I grip the camera, I'm usually pressing some other function button on the camera.
3) No viewfinder. I knew that when purchasing, but most of my photos are in the sun and I can't see a dang thing on the screen.
4) No cord included to connect to computer. Wanted the wireless function, but again, like #1 above, seems pretty cheap to not include the cord.
5) Zoom function, sometimes will not focus (and not anywhere near the limit) and seems painfully slow to zoom and focus.
25 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: KSchey
Location: Chicago Il
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Needed a knock around camera...

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2014
Dramatic improvement over the SX500IS, in the following areas: image quality, color, frame rate, battery life, and has wifi. The only real complaints of the camera is the location of the framing button, it to easily pushed when in the middle of taking photos and tracking moving object while photographing them.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: col
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

disappointed in Canon

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 22, 2014
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, Bright LCD
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Flimsy Construction, no usb cable or user manual, difficult wifi connectivity
I have always purchased and recommended Canon cameras however I now feel they have gone beyond cheap and their customer service just isn't what it used to be. When I compare my good old PowerShot A80 to my newly purchased SX510 - Wow. The new body is much more fragile. A USB cable and a CD ROM user manual was not provided! Unbelievable to me. The excuse? - They want to be more environmentally responsible. I have a different word for it - Cheap. I do have to say, the pictures I am taking are amazing. The camera function great but come on - give me a cable and a manual next time!
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: Lars
Location: los Angeles
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Product replacement: Yes

Good Camera for the Money.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 22, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings
This is a good compromise camera. I have owned "point and shoot" camera and SLR with interchangeable lens in the past. This camera has far better zoom than many point and shot camera, and has most of the features of the SLR.
I was impressed most of time, good battery life. Very good photo quality. Very easy to use. The camera auto matic mode most times picked the correct thing to focus on. I found it very easy to just let the camera make the decisions most of the time. And the image stablization features saved my photos when I was photographing eagles and whales a reasonable distance away.
I did find a few places where I wanted a better camera. I was taking photos of Mount Mckinley and snow against a pale blue sky completely disappeared. So that was one occasion I wished I was carrying a more expensive. But all in all of if you are looking for a great versitile camera that is easy to carry and use this camera is worth a serious look. I thought it provided a lot of Bang for the Buck.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: good
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

great

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Easy to use, great pictures.Good Price, very satisfing. I reccomend this camera to any one who wants to buy it
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: Mimi
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Problems within three hours

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 9, 2014
Cons: lens error
I have had this camera long enough to charge the battery and try to set it up. I keep getting a lens error and the FAQ says I need to contact the company for repair. If this is a known problem why are they selling these cameras?
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: Cherryberry
Location: Texas
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Totally Pleased

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 28, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Complicated controls/menu
This is the 2nd Canon Camera I have owned and I am totally pleased with it
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: Thomas
Location: Pagosa Springs, CO
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Quality Camera for the money

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 1, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings, Short battery life
This camera does not have any polarizer filter that can be attached. As a professional photographer, I bought this camera for my wife and I find it lacks the feature to add a filter.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: ./

ehh.

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 28, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance
The quality is not very good. Also, it the focus is really bad and it takes forever.
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: 4dollrs
Location: California
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera for a great price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: no lcd cover
My Canon S2IS bit the dust so I had to replace it. I did a lot of research and decided to go with this awesome camera. I hardly use auto mode, Manual and TV mode are great! I have used the full 30x zoom and the pictures come out clear and crisp. There is no fuzzy pixels on the pictures. I love that it recognizes faces and that it is light weight. I have taken pictures of the kids playing sports, in low lighting, and nature photos. All have turned out perfect. The only negative I have is that the LCD has no cover. The S2 IS was a flip out turn screen which kept it clean. I may get a screen protector to keep it scratch free. All in all I highly recommend this camera to those who love to use manual mode and don't want to spent thousands on a true DSLR or carry that bulky camera and equipment around.
30 of 30 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: jaytee
Location: Nebraska
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

well pleased

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 11, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, online manual is poorly written;hard to understand
Got this camera mainly for the extended zoom feature. So far I am pretty well pleased with it.
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: sak

Difficult

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 10, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Complicated controls/menu
We are having a difficult time connecting to the Wi Fi the directions are not at all clear.
21 of 36 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site