Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / Other PowerShot Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Other PowerShot or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX510 HS

PowerShot SX510 HS

Built-in Wi-Fi lets you wirelessly transfer and share images and video. 30x Optical Zoom and a 24mm Wide-Angle lens. Canon's HS SYSTEM with 12.1 Megapixel CMOS sensor and DIGIC 4 Image Processor for improved speed and low light performance. 1080p Full HD Video.
Average Customer Rating:
3.71 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
4
20 out of 31(65%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX510 HS
Review 1 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: col
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

disappointed in Canon

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 22, 2014
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, Bright LCD
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Flimsy Construction, no usb cable or user manual, difficult wifi connectivity
I have always purchased and recommended Canon cameras however I now feel they have gone beyond cheap and their customer service just isn't what it used to be. When I compare my good old PowerShot A80 to my newly purchased SX510 - Wow. The new body is much more fragile. A USB cable and a CD ROM user manual was not provided! Unbelievable to me. The excuse? - They want to be more environmentally responsible. I have a different word for it - Cheap. I do have to say, the pictures I am taking are amazing. The camera function great but come on - give me a cable and a manual next time!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: Lars
Location: los Angeles
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Product replacement: Yes

Good Camera for the Money.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 22, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings
This is a good compromise camera. I have owned "point and shoot" camera and SLR with interchangeable lens in the past. This camera has far better zoom than many point and shot camera, and has most of the features of the SLR.
I was impressed most of time, good battery life. Very good photo quality. Very easy to use. The camera auto matic mode most times picked the correct thing to focus on. I found it very easy to just let the camera make the decisions most of the time. And the image stablization features saved my photos when I was photographing eagles and whales a reasonable distance away.
I did find a few places where I wanted a better camera. I was taking photos of Mount Mckinley and snow against a pale blue sky completely disappeared. So that was one occasion I wished I was carrying a more expensive. But all in all of if you are looking for a great versitile camera that is easy to carry and use this camera is worth a serious look. I thought it provided a lot of Bang for the Buck.
Review 3 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: good
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

great

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Easy to use, great pictures.Good Price, very satisfing. I reccomend this camera to any one who wants to buy it
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: Mimi
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Problems within three hours

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 9, 2014
Cons: lens error
I have had this camera long enough to charge the battery and try to set it up. I keep getting a lens error and the FAQ says I need to contact the company for repair. If this is a known problem why are they selling these cameras?
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: Cherryberry
Location: Texas
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Totally Pleased

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 28, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Complicated controls/menu
This is the 2nd Canon Camera I have owned and I am totally pleased with it
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: Thomas
Location: Pagosa Springs, CO
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Quality Camera for the money

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 1, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings, Short battery life
This camera does not have any polarizer filter that can be attached. As a professional photographer, I bought this camera for my wife and I find it lacks the feature to add a filter.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: ./

ehh.

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 28, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance
The quality is not very good. Also, it the focus is really bad and it takes forever.
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: 4dollrs
Location: California
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera for a great price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: no lcd cover
My Canon S2IS bit the dust so I had to replace it. I did a lot of research and decided to go with this awesome camera. I hardly use auto mode, Manual and TV mode are great! I have used the full 30x zoom and the pictures come out clear and crisp. There is no fuzzy pixels on the pictures. I love that it recognizes faces and that it is light weight. I have taken pictures of the kids playing sports, in low lighting, and nature photos. All have turned out perfect. The only negative I have is that the LCD has no cover. The S2 IS was a flip out turn screen which kept it clean. I may get a screen protector to keep it scratch free. All in all I highly recommend this camera to those who love to use manual mode and don't want to spent thousands on a true DSLR or carry that bulky camera and equipment around.
28 of 28 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: jaytee
Location: Nebraska
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

well pleased

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 11, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, online manual is poorly written;hard to understand
Got this camera mainly for the extended zoom feature. So far I am pretty well pleased with it.
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: sak

Difficult

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 10, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Complicated controls/menu
We are having a difficult time connecting to the Wi Fi the directions are not at all clear.
17 of 31 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: Ralph_Bay
Location: Morristown, TN
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Average Camera..But expensive

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 2, 2014
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Missing features/settings, Poor Low-Light Performance, flash is not automatic, price/features ratio is too high
This is a good piece of equipment that fut fill the minimum expectations. Quality wise, it is what is expected in a CANON product. It does not have any new features. It is all the same as standard cameras. Canon tried to put the body of their EOS types in this small one, but it fells very weird in my hands. Wi-Fi, is not working properly, or better.. at all.
It does not analyze the need of flash, so it needs to be open manually, so if you forgot to do it, you get a terrible picture.
Zoom is good, almost all offer the same 30X optical.
So in summary: Too much money for what you get.
I have 30 days with it and will return it today to the store.
11 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: 2SMOOVE
Location: NEW HAMPSHIRE
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

THIS CAMERA IS A SWEET BUNCH OF POWERFUL OPTIONS!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, convienence, powerpacked, reliable, technology intellegence at your fingertips
THIS PRODUCT IS JUST AWESOME SO FAR. EASY TO USE AND CONTROLS ARE SIMPLE LIKE THE MENU! NICE FEATURES LIKE BRIGHT LCD AND AWESOME IMAGE QUALITY.
22 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: Anonymous

Very good purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2014
I would recommend this product to future buyers. It is a great size and is very light weight. The wifi connection is really not a problem. I am a thirteen year old girl and I found that it took less than ten minutes. The manual follows through the process very well. And I'm not too sure why it was harder for the other buyers to follow the SIMPLE manual to connect the wifi. The wifi works very well and it is a great feature.
30 of 31 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: Banjo77
Location: College Station, Texas
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Little Camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 13, 2014
Pros: excellent pictures night /day zoom effects, ease of use, battery life adequate, button layout good, so for..pretty tough camera
Cons: weird hand size
I waited till my annual canoe trip in South Texas in February before reviewing my new camera. It’s my acid test for product durability with the rain and the cold and the beer. I’ve greatly enjoyed this camera the 3 months I’ve used it. In addition to canoeing/kayaking, I enjoy shooting vacation shots, landscapes, vacation dogs, bands, whatever. I have had 3 Canon cameras since 1984: the AE-1, the Powershot A530, and now the Powershot SX510 HS. (I’m product loyal in my cars, musical instruments and electronics too, but aren’t we all?)
What do I like? Great pictures, closeups, zoom lens, action shots, night shots with or without flash, fish eye effect, ease of button commands, and after a gritty 27 mile canoe trip down the central Texas river, very durable and trouble –free. Battery life was adequate for an all day event. I did not, and may or may not use the WIFI function, I just prefer to plug camera to computer by cord. If you need that to work, can’t help you there. I don’t take videos yet either… maybe later thought?? My phone is a phone and my camera is this Canon…but I digress.
The con qualities, not too many… weird size is …weird, but embrace the new. I think that’s it...weird size in the hand..did I say that? Not much for the complaint department. It’ll be a workhorse camera like the old Canons I had were.
However, it is so very, very much better a camera than my other two Canons, and they went around the world and back with me. I know there’s a mess of great cameras out there. You could do a heck of a lot worse owning this camera…that sounds confusing doesn’t it…not meant to be. I’m very fine with the fact that the Canon SX510 HS Powershot will be my camera for the next 10 years.
24 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: happyone
Location: Washington
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

love my canon

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2014
some cameras are just so hard to use and they don't take good pics. this camera is easy and awesome pics.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: Garias
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year

Good fast family camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2014
Pros: Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: wifi drains battery
Bought this camera from Costco a couple of months ago. Good camera to take pictures and videos of the kids. Very easy to use; good zoom. Would recommend to anybody who wants/needs a family camera.
21 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: Thai
Location: Bronx, ny
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, durable, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Not much to say but good first time user camera to have, it is very easy to use and the picture quality is very good.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: Bitsy
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Huge waste of money

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2014
Cons: Missing features/settings, Poor image quality, Short battery life, Complicated controls/menu, terrible sports/action pics
Worst purchase I made all year! I bought this camera at Best Buy at the suggestion of the salesman. I told him I wanted a camera specifically to take sports photos. A football season & halfway through a basketball season & I've yet to get a pic that's not a complete blur. Went back to Best Buy, salesman #2 couldn't believe this was the camera suggested for my specific needs, but told me of a few "tricks" that might help....nothing helped! Oh & don't get me started on the wi-fi.....complete waste of money.
10 of 28 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: Midspoint
Location: Goshen, Indiana
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Amazing~Easy to Use

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I have a DSLR camera, but I've not been happy about lugging equipment around and having to quickly change lenses in order to capture close-ups or distance photos. This camera is small, easy to handle, and the zoom is amazing! My pictures are clear and crisp, and the details with the zoom are excellent. I am more than satisfied. Since I like to edit my pictures before sharing, or processing, I didn't buy for the wi-fi... (it's not an important feature for me), so I have no opinion on it.
I've only had it a couple of weeks, but I am excited about the results so far. Nice job, Canon!
17 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: jsgirdwood
Location: Alaska
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

poor operating functions

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2014
Cons: Short battery life, Complicated controls/menu
The quality of the camera is overall not bad for the price, but the option to upload the photos via wifi is at best not user friendly, and at worse, a complete waste of time.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site