Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / Other PowerShot Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Other PowerShot or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX170 IS

PowerShot SX170 IS

16x Optical Zoom and a 28mm Wide-Angle lens. 16.0 Megapixel sensor and DIGIC 4 Image Processor deliver enhanced image quality. 720p HD video. Smart AUTO with 32 predefined shooting situations to help you get the best results.
Average Customer Rating:
3.769 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
10 out of 13(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX170 IS
Review 1 for PowerShot SX170 IS
Nickname: john
Location: Dallas, Texas
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Purchase ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2014
Pros: cost and simplicity, great quality pics
Cons: flash manual, a little bulky
I love this camera. I bought it, at a major retail store. It is very user friend. The quality of the zoom and the megapixels have to be seen to be believed for the quality pictures. I shared the camera with those at work, and we could see and take pictures of the cars across the street, the stadium and the parking lot, like we were looking at it.
While is it not a DSLR camera, it is as close as you get, without the cost or the complexity. My only recommendation would be to make it a little slender but it really is not that bulky, plus the flash is manual and will only come on once it is manually flipped. Really, these are such minor things on the camera, that they are not even worth complaining about. Plus the rechargeable battery holds the charge for a long time.
I love this camera.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SX170 IS
Nickname: Jake
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Best Camera Ever!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use, perfect for quick images
Cons: Complicated controls/menu
I really like the size of the camera. It is like a mini "fancy camera." For my school i am in a yearbook class and taking pictures is extremely easy. The only thing that is complicated about it is that the settings are difficult once you first get it. But overall i really like this camera! :)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SX170 IS
Nickname: Mindblown
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

I had no idea!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, clear zoom
I recommend reading the Manuel online I had no idea this camera I just got for my birthday could do so much! Takes way better pictures than my iPhone. I am more than satisfied with this camera.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SX170 IS
Nickname: bruceh
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera so far

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, easy to use
Cons: rotary dial too touchy, have to manually open flash
I've had this camera for about a month. It is replacing a Canon PS A710IS, which has served me flawlessly for several years. The A710 still works great, but being it's only 7.1 megapixels, I decided to upgrade to the SX170IS. So far I haven't been disappointed. The SX170 has the same features as my old camera, including full manual control. This was important to me. I have a much more expensive Canon digital SLR, but this camera is my everyday and travel camera and I like the flexibility. So far, I've seen no trouble with battery life. The A710 used 2 AA batteries, so they were always readily available if my rechargeable sets died, so I was a bit hesitent to move to a proprietary battery. I ordered an extra battery which I keep charged and I think it will be okay. I haven't even run down a battery fully yet. One of the only cons I've found with this camera is that some settings are done by rotating the wheel on the back of the camera. This wheel also allows you to press on 4 sides (N, S, E, W) to control other functions. The problem is when trying to rotate the wheel, it's really easy to accidentally press it. You have to rotate it very gingerly and it seems I always end up pressing something I shouldn't and getting another setting that I have to cancel and try and go back to rotating the wheel. The wheel doesn't turn so easily, so you almost have to apply pressure. This could be a problem if you are really in a hurry to get a shot, but need to adjust a setting that uses the wheel. The only other thing, which is not a big deal, is you have to manually flip the flash up to use it. It would be nice if it could automatically pop up if needed.
20 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot SX170 IS
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Very disappointed...

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor image quality, lcd display is horribly grainy., camera is useless
PROS: Love the red, compact,very user friendly. Had everything up & running in 5 minutes. So easy to use.
CONS: The LCD display is terribly grainy, & makes the entire camera useless, & total waste of money.
I am really very disappointed. I must return for a refund & choose another brand. Can't take the chance a replacement PowerShot SX170 IS will be free from this problem.
7 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SX170 IS
Nickname: Edison
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very Pleased

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, good transitional camera
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, limited accessories included
I am pleased to have purchased this camera. It is an excellent choice to capture those precious family moments or events. To this end, the video function and quality is excellent. It is also a great choice to hone one's desire toward a more serious or "professional" photograph. This is accomplished with vast, yet easy-to-use features, that produce some of the most crisp photos I have ever taken. In this regard, the latter features make this camera a good choice to make that transition from "amateur" to "professional". I would like to see some additional accessories included; perhaps a carrying case. Then again, it's understood you're purchasing a "real" camera; far removed from the typical "throw camera" purse or pocket book accessory. Yes, an abundance of features that may seem intimidating at first glance but, in the end, very much appreciated. Thanks Canon! You hit the bulls-eye with this one!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SX170 IS
Nickname: rg2001
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Poor Quality Images with Noise

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2013
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance, Difficult to use, Short battery life, Complicated controls/menu, distored image on lcd screen, cannot delete all images on memory card at once
I received this camera as a Christmas gift from my husband to replace my Canon Powershot A620 (7.1 mp) camera. After taking several shots of family using the Auto feature with both the flash and without a flash, the pictures came out very grainy with noise. Images appeared to be washed out. I compared these photos with the photos taken in the same lighting conditions with my old A620 and my old A620 took much clearer shots. So disappointed since I expected this camera since it has more features than my old camera (IS, 16 mp etc.).
8 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SX170 IS
Nickname: line dancer
Location: Missouri
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good Canon Product

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2013
Pros: durable, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky, flash not totally automatic
This is my third Canon camera. Haven't had it very long but so far it takes great pictures. Like the optical zoom and size of display. Size of camera fits the hand; however, the weight of the camera is a bit heavy. Would be nice if the flash was automatic without flipping up the flash manually.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SX170 IS
Nickname: lil amshine
Location: chicago il
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great Product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 14, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, good color
Cons: Missing features/settings
I am can be a busy person. I think this camera works for most lifestyles. It is light weight and I can transport it almost anywhere. This camera is better than any phone camera. As you may know, this camera as 16 megapixels. I could teach myself how to use it quickly. It is a good starter camera for anyone who enjoys taking pictures and capturing special moments. I had a competitor camera and it has short battery life,bad image quality and I absolutely hated it. But when I came to Canon I saw that I really like this product.
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SX170 IS
Nickname: Author
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love this camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I love this camera. Previously, I had two cameras by a competitor - one a metal body, the other a plastic body, and while they both took excellent pictures, quite frankly, over half of my shots were blurry or otherwise unusable. So far, I have taken about 100 snaps with this camera, and none of them have been blurred. I am amazed. And it was cheaper than the competitor's models that offered similar features. And I bought it from an online company that provided a lot of accessories including an extra batter - sweet. Loving it more, the more I use it.
19 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SX170 IS
Nickname: A Mid

Great Compact point & shoot for the money

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Technology marches on. I am an avid amateur photographer with 50+ years of experience with every film and focal plane technology ever created. This camera is my latest "pocket camera" to have with me 24/7, it's for those unique unplanned shots that always pop up when you least expect them and when your DSLR is just not an option to lug around with you all day.
Some have criticized the change from AA sized batteries to a Canon propriety battery pack. Hogwash. Technology is going to move forward and the use of a battery pack simply does not mean this camera is any less useful. When you travel into the great whatever with an older camera you thought ahead and took extra batteries with you. Now you think ahead and make sure your battery is charged and yes if you will be away from an outlet you take as many extra battery packs as you need. I am guilty of not thinking ahead plenty of times with the AA technology with no means of stopping into a store to buy more, this camera is no different.
The feel and user friendliness of this camera is outstanding. The controls are simple, the instructions (PDF on-line only) are clear and easy to follow, and the image quality is great. You are not going to shoot that perfect close-up shot of a running back diving across the goal line with this camera, but for every day snapshots it offers a nice, cost effective solution to carry in your pocket every day.
It's not a DLSR. If you want a full featured high performance camera you'll need to spend a lot more money!
The autofocus feature is very fast, and images shot at max optical zoom are beyond my expectations, far superior to earlier Canon point and shoot products.
20 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SX170 IS
Nickname: Camstan
Location: Colorado
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Good inexpensive camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
A very good little camera that is a tremendous value as competitively priced. It isn't a substitute for a DSLR but it makes a great travel camera with its fairly compact size, high quality images, and wide zoom range. I like the straightforward interface that resembles my DSLR enough that I don't feel as if I have to learn a whole new system. The quality of operation, finish, and durability are all excellent. The battery is fine. The screen is plenty good enough for me. I don't need a lot of features like GPS and WiFi, so this is a great price point in a convenient package. Tip: reset the compression to "superfine" as soon as you get the camera, and leave it there.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SX170 IS
Nickname: Black Mamba
Location: Boise IDaho
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Worst Purcahse Ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2013
Cons: Dim LCD, Missing features/settings, Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance, Difficult to use, Short battery life, Heavy/Bulky, Complicated controls/menu, Flimsy Construction
This camera was one of the worst cameras I have ever bought. It was a waste of money.
7 of 67 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site