Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / EOS Digital Cameras Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop EOS Digital Cameras or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EOS 70D

EOS 70D

New Dual Pixel CMOS AF technology unlocks the potential of Live View for both still images and video Built-in wireless technology makes it easy to share files, print images, and control the camera remotely 20.2 Megapixel CMOS (APS-C) sensor, 14-bit A/D conversion, ISO 100-12800 and DIGIC 5+ Image Processor EOS Full HD Movie mode with Movie Servo AF for improved continuous focus tracking of moving subjects
Average Customer Rating:
4.37 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (54 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
47 out of 54(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EOS 70D
Review 1 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Canon Guy
Location: INDIA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Camera with Limitations

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 20, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings, Difficult to use, not fully customizable camera
Hello Canon,
My first cam was AE1 P, Second is 350D, Presently Third is 70D. Iam confused with this cam, as Auto ISO is limited from 100-400 when using built in or External Speedlight.
Recently I faced a situation in a party where I used AV mode as one side people were in dark, under a tent and opposite side people were in bright open area. I put F-Stop of 5.6. I put my external speedlight to E-TTL. Shutter speed I wanted auto adjustment between min 1/125 to max speed according to open area reading.
For the above example Ideally I should get fixed aperture, Auto shutter speed between my Customizable choice, and Customizable range of Auto ISO
*But Instead canon has limited the shutter speed and ISO in AV mode with the following options.
(a) Full auto where Shutter speed will drop down to any low reading, without caring for motion blur. Here I should be able to select my own minimum shutter speed.
(b) Restricting the Shutter speed between 1/60 to 1/250 in AV. Instead canon should have given full customizable range.
(c) Fixed 1/250 option in AV. If I had to go for this option, rather I will go to Manual mode.
(d) ISO restriction from ISO 100 to 400 when using speedlight. It should have been my desirable range.*
Either of them is good enough for variating lighting conditions. Without knowing these limitations I bought the camera which has all the other great features like STM, Good focusing ability in LCD, Touch screen, Wifi etc.
I feel so stuck with this camera now because I invested in all accesories like 4 speedlights with wireless TTL triggers and transmitter, Wireless shutter release and Timelapse remotes, Lens Filters, Lenses, thinking I had full Customizable camera in my hand .
The sad part is If you had not put these limitations in Mark III, I would have upgraded to it, thinking OK I did not buy an expensive camera from Canon, so they restricted these features. But even in Mark III you have these similar limitations. Now I have to sell all these separately at a lower price and plan further.
Someone let me know If I have misunderstood this camera or system, because there was no reason for all those limitations in a camera of its range...
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Kimberly
Location: Wisconsin
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

My Best Camera Yet!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, easy to use
This is my second Canon camera, and I am so pleased with both of them, but the 70D especially. It has revolutionized the way I do photoshoots and I don't think I could have bought a better camera for the price. The 19 AF points are so incredibly useful, and the seven frames per second makes it a great camera for shooting sports. For those considering buying this who are unsure due to negative reviews, don't listen to them; this camera is remarkable!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Amila C
Location: NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Video Features

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, Superior build quality, Solid Operation
Cons: slow image review on touch screen, focusing issue on viewfinder shoot still images
I'm using mainly this camera for my video works. Thats just one word its Awesome on it. I have these two Camera bodies. But the downside is Every images taken in this camera it shift the focus. its not focusing the right point it shows in viewfinder. but in Live view shoot, there is no problem. its a factory fault.
13 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Dizzyd718
Location: Atlanta Ga
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Upgrade

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 25, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Worth the upgrade from the t5i Amzaing in every aspect
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Hi
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 21, 2014
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Great camera, easy to use, full of features. Very happy with purchase, will be using this for along time.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EOS 70D
Nickname: JB
Location: CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Rough Start

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 20, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, Bright LCD
Cons: Poor build quality
I had been looking at this camera for some time and finally made the purcahse. I took it to a graduation and got some great shots. I was unable to off load the pictures. This was my 3rd Canon and thought I knew how to operate. Called service and support and they were great. There was an issue with the camera and it was not operator error. They offerred to have it shipped for repair. Since it was only 2 days old I elected to return to the store and get a new one. No issues since and love the replacement.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EOS 70D
Nickname: JJ
Location: SLC, UT
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

AMAZING

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, easy to use
Absolutely amazing camera for the money. The digic 5+ processor and the extra megapixels make this camera outperform the 7D. Low Light shooting is superb and At 7FPS it's fast enough for sports and action. And with its ability to autofocus in video mode with almost all EF and EF-S lenses.... Way to go Canon. Very happy I upgraded from the 7D.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Aaron
Location: Lynnwood, WA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Does Multiple Things Well

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2014
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings
I have been a professional for a few years now and I started on the 7D and then upgraded to the 6D. In that upgrade, I lost fps to gain image quality and it worked out all right in most shooting situations. I started to work with a lot of sports and the 6D wasn't cutting it as I was losing a lot with 4.5 fps. I also shoot documentaries for my clients. I needed a camera that could do several things well and the 70D is the camera that helps me do it on a budget. I could only afford one camera body to do both excellent video as well as photos in a sports environment. Granted I use the best glass available (70-200 2.8 II, 16-35 2.8.II, 24-105 f4, 135 f2, etc) the images out of the 70D rival that of the 6D when shooting sports and I am getting 7fps.
Video is where the 70D has really proven its worth. I needed a B-cam on interviews as well as low-light setups, and the camera performs well along side the XF100. (I do need to grade both, but when its done, they work) I accomplish two very demanding and different jobs with one camera. There is aliasing and moire, but you just have to be mindful of that when planning a shoot. While not specifically an action camera (no AF point expansion, custom mode saves, etc) It will get the job done every time. Other than work that specifically needs full-frame, I find myself going to the 70D more often than the 6D. It does everything I need it to and more.
37 of 39 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Eduardo
Location: Miami
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excelent

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 15, 2014
Pros: quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life, best if be full frame
Good relation of cost/benefits is a very fast and useful camera
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EOS 70D
Nickname: akkrs
Location: London
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Not so good for video

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 15, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality
Cons: Shaky operation, Missing features/settings, Complicated controls/menu, moire/aliasing on video
Whilst the new focus system is good in video there are shortcomings. This camera has chronic moire/aliasing problems making some of the video footage unusable; especially in 720p setting. Also there is no 1080/50p (you only get 720/50p) so shooting fast action in 1080p is out of question. Also image-stablisation is lens-based and is very poor.
2 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EOS 70D
Nickname: JJ Kool
Location: Miami, FL
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome DSLR!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 13, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
Dual Pixel AF system, the WiFi,Excellent LCD and responsive touchscreen, the movie mode with fantastic auto focus and the complete Canon's kit! I love how solid it feels in my hands, the battery life is great, and the overall quality is excellent.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Dax
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

PERFECT MID FORMAT

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2014
Pros: Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, easy to use
Perfect. Canon Eos 70D in a very best mid format. Great quality, fast use. GREAT!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EOS 70D
Nickname: begetarian
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera 70D

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 3, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
Bought the camera about a year ago. By far I've had the best image quality as far as shooting with it. No one and I mean NO ONE should use automatic focus with this camera. And if its your main complaint about it, I believe you shouldn't be shooting with any camera in automatic focus. Use manual, it gives you the ability to capture some of the greatest things the normal eye won't even see. I don't even edit my photos with photoshop. My customers love the quality with the camera and how its used. My only con about it is how heavy it is carrying it around your neck for a certain amount of time, but besides that. Its the best camera I've got for my money.
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Nicopag
Location: Uruguay
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

POP UP FLASH - internal flash

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 2, 2014
Cons: internal flash is a disaster
Hi, I am an old canon user and I just upgraded from my 60D to my 70D.
This is a great camera, but I am very disappointed with the popup flash.
I dont know why but the camera in A+ mode it takes what every she wants.
The light of every photo is different and very underexposed.
I cant believe that something so simple like this doesnt work in a camera of this level.
Is there any fix for this?
Sorry about my English.
7 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Kevito
Location: Victoria, TX
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

First APS-C DSLR

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2014
Pros: quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, great first dslr
Cons: poor af
This is my first DSLR. I had to choose between features and CMOS type, and I felt this had the most features for my price range, although I would have liked a full frame model.
The best features of this camera include the high framerate shooting, excellent touch screen and plenty of settings options for the price. It supports the latest and greatest memory cards, wifi (it's not the best implementation though), super neat video autofocus and overall good construction.
The worst features are with autofocus in low light situations. With short focal length lenses, it tends to 'wander' and overshoot. It is hard to see in the viewfinders if the photo is in focus and sometimes the focus confirmation doesn't seem to detect a focus anyway. I find a lot more of my photos quite out of focus unless I run it manual mode first to 'help it'. I have tried various focus modes and they all seem to suffer from some sort of focus wandering or overshooting (at close range) or even under-focusing at long range. When shooting rapidly (over 8000 photos in an hour), the camera tends to freeze up and slow down until you put in a fresh memory card. This problem is independent of the brand or type of card.
This is a great first camera for someone who wants a taste of all the latest and greatest DSLR technology. It does video and photos quite well, in my amateur opinion, and does it for a good cost. I tend to do a lot of low light / high motion photography and have quickly run to the limits of this camera for those conditions.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EOS 70D
Nickname: franknitty69
Location: Washington, DC
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Best Midrange DSLR on the market period.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 29, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, vari-angle touch screen lcd, live view auto focus, 19 autofocus points, dedicated buttons, 7 fps continuous shooting, wifi, full hd 1080 video
Cons: only one preset c mode, no automatic brightness control for lcd, only one card slot, top lcd doesn't show selected image size
I have used many DSLRs. I was always hesitant to purchase one because of price and i didn't think it would change the way i took pictures. I actually purchased a T5i because of an amazing Christmas deal. But when i read a review of the 70D online, and understood the differences, i immediately knew i needed to step up to a mid-range body.
The 70D is an amazing camera. Some of the stand out features are the vari-angle touchscreen lcd, wifi, 19 autofocus points, live view auto focus (Dual Pixel CMOS AF) and the the burst rate is high and consistent.
I also love the fact that you get add'l buttons such as dof preview, af, drive, iso, meter mode, af on, ae lock and af point selection. These buttons are customized via the custom controls and i have mine set up for back button focusing.
If you have already mastered your Txi Rebel or other entry level DSLR and want to step up without going to a full frame, the 70D is the best choice.
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EOS 70D
Nickname: B.H. McNultey
Location: Westchester, NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Very Good

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2014
Pros: quiet, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Happy with purchase. Easy to use. Great for taking pictures of things.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Ewill
Location: La Jolla, Ca
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, Bright LCD, Solid Operation
Cons: Heavy/Bulky, flash is default on in ca mode
I am an amateur photographer and will admit this is the nicest camera I have operated, but I have been very pleased with the performance. I just traveled to Japan and took some very nice photos with the 18-135mm IS STM lens, but I will say that focusing was lagging at times and I couldn't get a subject in focus without adjusting the manual focus then switching back to auto. The camera has some great features and offers some versatile features for the price. I was most amazed with the Wi-Fi because I was able to download the EOS app on my iPhone and not only could I see real-time what the camera was seeing from my phone, but I could remotely take and download photos directly to my phone. My biggest gripe is that when switching between manual mode and CA (creative auto) the flash is default 'on' which is really annoying as I almost never use the built-in flash. I understand this is probably true with multiple Canon models, but it gets very annoying, especially if I am wearing a hat the flash will attempt to pop-up and sometimes will get an error because it hits my hat and cannot function properly.
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Manuel
Location: México
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very satisfied

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 6, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, nice to own
Cons: nothing at all
I use to have a 5D Mark II but I had to sell it. This time I couldn't afford de Mark III but this camera works so well I
don´t think I need any more. Great camera to look at and to work with. Great performance and image quality. The lens included with the kit is outstanding (18-135). Thanks Canon.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EOS 70D
Nickname: bigron452
Location: Hopewell Junction, NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Nice T3i Upgrade !!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2014
Pros: excellent autofocus, quiet, feature rich, easy to use
Cons: little pricey
I upgraded to the 70D from the T3i. It's a much more advanced camera, with more features which I found pretty easy to use. Now I'm not a pro or anything, just a guy who loves taking pictures of family, friends, my pets, wildlife and vacations. I've had the camera about 6 months now and I love it! The autofocus is amazing, much faster than the T3i, 19 focus points vs 9 with 19 cross type vs 1! Don't worry if you don't know what that is, it just means it focuses much quicker and you don't get the hunt and peck while it searchs. When you look through the viewfinder you'll see what I mean! The STM lenses are smooth and quiet, and produce excellent pictures. I also picked up the 55-250STM to go with the 18-135STM in a package deal! Vibrant colors, sharp images and excellent low light pictures come easy. The T3i had the variable display, but with the added touch screen it takes it to a new level! You can change settings quicky, on the screen .. no need to go into the menus! Video is OUTSTANDING!! some of my videos look like they were shot with a video camera, and here the auto focus again shines. The camera is loaded with features, too many to mention here, but if you like nice clean photos, bright vibrant images, a quick focus and a fast DSLR .. Be sure you take a look at the 70D.
18 of 19 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site