Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / EOS Digital Cameras Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop EOS Digital Cameras or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products

Customer Reviews for EOS 70D

EOS 70D

New Dual Pixel CMOS AF technology unlocks the potential of Live View for both still images and video Built-in wireless technology makes it easy to share files, print images, and control the camera remotely 20.2 Megapixel CMOS (APS-C) sensor, 14-bit A/D conversion, ISO 100-12800 and DIGIC 5+ Image Processor EOS Full HD Movie mode with Movie Servo AF for improved continuous focus tracking of moving subjects
Average Customer Rating:
4.463 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(121 Reviews) 121
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (121 reviews)
5 stars
89
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
7
52 out of 62(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EOS 70D
Review 1 for EOS 70D
Nickname: B-rad the Nomad
Location: Headland, Alabama
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Purchase. Well worth it.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 19, 2015
I purchased a Canon 70D in order to take another step closer to developing professional quality photographs. It was a step up from the previous Canon I used and I am extremely satisfied with the product and the services offered by Canon. I had a small issue where I could not download the EOS software on my MacBook Pro because I was lacking an Optical Disk Drive, but Canon technical support quickly and easily talked me through the process over the phone. The capabilities of this camera continue to impress me and it has been an overall great shopping experience provided by Canon.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Quixote
Location: Santa Fe
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very disappointing focus issues

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 31, 2015
I have owned dozens of Canon EOS cameras but the 70D has a widely reported focusing defect when shooting with wide apertures. Unfortunately I didn't learn this until I purchased a Canon 50mm f/1.4 and started shooting with open apertures. Too late to return the camera, which I would do if I could. There are dozens of studies and tests on the internet which identify this problem but there is no reported solution anywhere. Canon has not acknowledged the product issue so no help there. Don't buy this camera if you ever expect to shoot wider than f/5.6 and don't want to have to manually focus all photos.
14 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Doxiedan
Location: warren ohio
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love the Camera...2nd Cannon camera .

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2015
GREAT CAMERA. GREAT PICTURES.. Easy to use..great Quality
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EOS 70D
Nickname: H>D>
Location: York, Pa
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

For me it's perfect

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2015
I waited a long time to buy this beause I wanted to see what the 7D mark II was going to be like. I really was looking for the articulated viewing screen as I do a lot of low level photography. Sorry, the 7d mark II didn't have it. However, I love this camera. It has a lot of reallly cool fun features that I enjoy experimenting with
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Ind
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

No firmware update (long time)

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 18, 2015
Con:
Noise in image (Grains)
Lack of image sharpness in still photo (also after micro adjustment)
No joystick
No Firmware since long time
Menu can still make easy
More Custom menu needed
Pros:
Fast Focus
Fast Shutter Speed
Easy to use
excellent Video
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EOS 70D
Nickname: shooterMike
Location: Atlanta, GA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Love It!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 13, 2015
This is my first DSLR camera and I love it. when purchasing I have reviewed several cameras and got feedback from a lot of photographers. some of the features that the 70D has are great selling points for me. example, the Wi-Fi shooting and being able to take a picture and within a few minutes send it to my phone and post it on social media. this feature has also saved me from having to buy a remote shutter release because I can make changes and take control of the camera from the free app.
the size and build of the camera are solid and perfect size for my hand. I purchased the camera to shoot photos underwater and have also purchased the housing required. Takes great photos and doubles as my walking around camera because of the high quality and ease of use. I have purchased several canon lenses now and they are all excellent quality. Great combination Canon glass with Canon camera.
I am still learning to use the camera but I get better every day, love the file size of the raw format and touch screen for moving around and checking to ensure you got the shot. I will be a long time customer of Canon and I am now looking to purchase a full framed camera now that I know what I am doing.
Review 7 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Scott80
Location: Palm Coast FL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

EOS 70D

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 2, 2015
Just got a EOS 70D replacement for my exhausted and now ancient, EOS 10D. While I knew, being many generations advanced, the 70D would be quite superior to my old camera, I am still greatly impressed with some of those changes. For one thing, I have poor eisight and I really like the new image control selection knob on the top left. The icons are clear enough for me to know what they are at a glance and I really like that it locks with the push button on top. On my old 6.3mp, 10D, I would often change the selection inadvertently. Also with the 10D's 6.3mp sensor, I used to have to carefully compose shots when I took them because cropping was very limited. Now, though I still compose carefully, the 70D's 20mp sensor allows me far more latitude in composition and I miss fewer good shots. The low light performance is excellent too and the higher ISO settings don't get nearly as grainy as my 10D did. The old 10D faithfully took nearly 150K images for me but it is now getting a much deserved rest. The 70D, is a dream machine.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EOS 70D
Nickname: TBM
Location: Eastern Oregon
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Terrific Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2015
First off, I am new to DSLR camera's but, I do have considerable experience with "point and shoot" and video camera's of various makes and models. I am impressed with the quality of this camera and the 18-135 and 50-250 IS STM lenses; along with the relative ease of learning to use these systems I have found it easy to produce wonderful, clear pictures even under the stresses of a new learning curve. I have done much research and settled on the 70D mainly for the fully articulated LCD and professional setting options as I didn't want a point and shoot version of the dslr. With less than 1000 shots taken; I am mostly on Manual controls with an occasional use of AV and TV settings. This is not to toot my own horn but to convey the ease at which this camera makes it possible to learn the concepts of photography. I love the fully articulated LCD and that it is a touch screen adds to its convenience of use. I find the over all lay out of all the function buttons convenient and easy to learn and to use. I love this camera and even with my limited experience; I can't be more pleased with the quality photos I can produce with it; and that I really didn't need to rely on the Auto function for good photos is a major plus. I think this is a terrific mid level camera for the enthusiast moving up possibly on their way to a Full Frame DSLR system.
I have shot a limited amount of video; and it has very good clarity but at this point I have not shot enough to comment on this aspect of this camera.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Steakth2k2
Location: Northern California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 27, 2015
I first started back in the 80's with a AE-1 as my first camera when I was in the Marine Corp. From there I became a Canon faithful. I really enjoy the EOS 70D and its easy handling. Digitial Photography is a wonderful thing to have.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Jeffreycsr
Location: Glenside. PA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Canon EOS 70D

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2015
I purchased this camera to upgrade from a Canon Rebel XT, which i have been using for many years. I absolutely love this camera it is has almost everything i would ever want. The quality and feel of the camera is excellent and the menu functions and accessibility are very good.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Nick G
Location: Norfolk,Va
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

EOS 70D

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 14, 2015
I went from a t2i to a t3i and now to the 70d people it the best camera when your coming from that line up and also the price as well it preforms awesome please buy if you have the money and looking for a awesome upgrade please buy this camera you will be please I have had mine for 2 months now it awesome.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EOS 70D
Nickname: pbranner
Location: Fairfax, VA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Why Canon?

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2015
I decided to get back into film but there was so many choices to choose from. I chose Canon. Canon offered the best in overall quality and price point. Afterall all, today's technology you really can't go wrong. I felt Canon just does it right! The EOS 70D far exceeds what I expected in a DSLR! The resolution of all my data is pro quality. I see why this is a Canon?!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EOS 70D
Nickname: zackiedoo
Location: Bedford, VA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

I love my eos 70D

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 6, 2015
This camera amazes me daily!!! & I learn something new about this camera daily!!! I am not kidding at all. I owned the 60D & loved it, but the 70D just blows it away!!! The built in wifi is a real gift for ease of sharing pictures, & one of the main reasons I wanted this camera, but I was stunned when I realized that this feature is even more awesome than I thought it would be, & I think Canon should publish this more. I ordered a book so I could learn every single feature the 70D has & just today my husband got the Canon 430EX II flash for me. I have had a Canon SLR for years & I have never been happier with Canon & my EOS 70D!!!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Steve
Location: Woodland Park, CO
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years

70D is all that I had hoped for and more

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2015
I purchased the EOS 70D to keep up with the competition in the stock photo industry. There were specific features that I was interested in, including ruggedness, image quality, image size, zone focus, the new auto focus screen and the in camera chromatic aberration elimination feature. All the new features have performed splendidly, the camera is very fast and the image quality superb. I have not yet had an image rejected by and editor for any reason.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EOS 70D
Nickname: grodriguezg
Location: Miami
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2015
This is a wonderful machine ever I bought. Price according you get.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Mick
Location: Pownal, ME
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Upgrade

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2015
I had an XSi and a T5i. This is a big step up in the quality of workmanship. The live view focus is amazingly fast and accurate. Ultimately more accurate than the viewfinder. Makes live view shooting and video shooting a real joy. Dual dials make adjustments quick and easy. Ability to customize HDR, multiple exposures, etc. give great control. 7 fps are great. The only thing I'd like to see is giving the white balance its own button. Very happy to recommend this fine camera.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Pianofinger
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best late purchase.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2015
i just picked up this camera a few days ago. I switched from the t4i. If I would have known that the difference would be like night and day I would have done this a year ago. Admittedly I thought the transition would be nonexistent, boy was I wrong. The placement of buttons and even the power switch took a little getting used to it. After practicing with it for a few days I have gotten used to it. The focus speed of this camera compared to my old one is also amazing. I used to think my 50mm lens was loud and slow. It is definitely loud but not slow anymore. I did not realize that a camera change could make so much difference. My pics in low light are incredible. Ok I'm officially done salivating.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Outdoors or Bust!
Location: Lake Tahoe, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

3rd Generation Canon Purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 20, 2015
Just recently purchased the new Canon EOS 70D and this will be my 3rd generation Canon camera (started in 1986 with a Canon AE-1 Program, then EOS Rebel XT in 2005). So far it is everything I expected and more. Incredibly easy to use for novices (family) and advanced features that are right in my area of expertise. Most of my photography is outdoors with a focus on wildlife and after only one month, I am getting some of the best pictures ever and I contribute this to the camera, not me.
Very happy with this camera and highly recommend this to anyone looking for a great versatile camera.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EOS 70D
Nickname: DD
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Loving this purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 14, 2015
I have found the Canon 70D to be the best and innovative camera I have owned yet!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EOS 70D
Nickname: photog
Location: Dayton, OH
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Incredible DSLR

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 11, 2015
The 70D is truly a revolutionary DSLR. When taking photos, it packs in a great autofocus system and all the right features to make great use of my L-series lenses. Switch over to video, and the 70D's autofocus really shines.
Paired with a new STM lens, this thing is more than just an incremental step forward... it is truly groundbreaking innovation. Forget mirrorless sensors... Canon is on to the future of DSLR videography with this camera.
Seriously, WELL DONE.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site