Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / EOS Digital Cameras Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop EOS Digital Cameras or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products

Customer Reviews for EOS 70D

EOS 70D

New Dual Pixel CMOS AF technology unlocks the potential of Live View for both still images and video Built-in wireless technology makes it easy to share files, print images, and control the camera remotely 20.2 Megapixel CMOS (APS-C) sensor, 14-bit A/D conversion, ISO 100-12800 and DIGIC 5+ Image Processor EOS Full HD Movie mode with Movie Servo AF for improved continuous focus tracking of moving subjects
Average Customer Rating:
4.358 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(81 Reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (81 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
6
52 out of 62(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EOS 70D
Review 1 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Mojwad
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2014
Very amused with this camera and considered the lightest and best Canon camera for me
We hope that this only becomes a full frame evolve in the future ...
Thank Canon on this very remarkable product .. ^ _ ^
Review 2 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Larryd6
Location: Montrose, CO
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Fantastic camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2014
At this point, I really could not be more pleased.
This is one fantastic piece of equipment. Everything works exactly as it's supposed to & the learning curve is not at all steep. While I haven't had the opportunity to put it through it's paces (so to speak) I have no doubt what so ever that it will perform as well as, or better, than expected. I love it.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Mikey
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Camera Ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2014
Aside from my regular boring 9-5 I dabble in photography shooting anything from Weddings to senior pictures. I also use this camera on photo hunts as well as shooting celestial time lapse photos of the stars. This cameras touch screen and wifi had me sold. I love being able to control my shutter release button from my phone. The 7fps are marvelous when I have a wedding party marching down the aisle quickly. Love this camera I am very happy to have it in my bag!
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Boston
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2014
I was close to switching to another camera manufacturer for a number of obvious reasons. I checked out the 70D the camera rep let me take a few photos with it I went home looked at them on a computer and I was sold. I have not regretted buying it. It is my do everything camera now.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Ric B
Location: NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2014
I purchased the 70D a few weeks ago. Although there are more features and settings than the average person will ever use, they are easy to set up and use. I purchased it with the 18-135 mm kit. The lens is sharp at all focal lengths. Pictures shot at night at ISO 2000 showed no graininess. Flash pictures were perfectly exposed and sharp. Auto focus is fast and quiet. Battery life appears to be excellent so far. If you're moving up from a point and shoot, don't be upset with the heavier camera because it is well balanced and solid. The camera is a pleasure to use and surpasses my expectations. A great choice!
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Peter
Location: portland Oregon
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Jack of all trades and a master of many

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 26, 2014
Last week I lost one of my 1Dmk2's to a shutter failure. 70k shots and It was time .
So that was all the excuse I needed to get a new body.
I was looking at the 7Dmk2 and the 70D . I have owned 2 10Ds a 40D and two 1Dmk2's .
Crop has some drawbacks but it that 1.6 boost is welcome with sports I shoot .
I had my doubts coming from the Older yet flagship 1D's
Lets just say they were laid to rest very quickly with a day of use .
SD cards are not as tough as CF however this things inboard WiFI makes removing the card a rare occasion ( video ) .
I just use the provided EOS utility to ingest the pics I want in to my HDD no wear and tear on plugs or slots !!
the new twin pixel AF is smoking hot!
I have a older Canon XHA1S as my main video rig .. the AF on the 70D so far with a 24-105 F4 L IS USM is as fast as that * real * camcorder .
Simply put canon In my book has made DLSRs a very real replacement for video cams . No longer are they looked at as just a cine tool to be used with a focus puller and a film crew .
Batt life is par for the body size .
video is gonna eat batts so trust me get more batts.
The menus touch interface is very well done .Fluid and it makes the cam a joy to use.
As a side note you can use from what I can tell , every menu with the touch part on OFF and use the dials . Great for gloves!!!!!! thank you canon for the foresight!
All in all a very nice step up in the canon xxD series .
My only gripe is one of a personal one...
Crop means I need some new glass to get my wide angles back ...... So is life .
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Tony
Location: Ottawa Canada
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

EOS 70D an AMAZING camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2014
I have owned EOS 10D, 20d, 5D, 7D. I currently own EOS 1DsmkIII and 70D. The EOS 70D is an exciting camera to own. The autofocus in live view is second to none. Likewise the 10X digital loop has enabled great shots of the moon with an equivalent 2000 mm lens. It lends itself equally to portrait photography, nature photography, action photography. The results are on a par with my 1DsmkIII. I highly recommend this camera.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Kim
Location: Indiana
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Love the Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2014
I purchased this camera because I was looking to step up from my Canon XSi/450D. The pictures I take are fantastic. I have shot mostly nature pictures with the camera so far in varying light levels and have not had any issues getting good shots. I use a EF 100 mm Macro Lens and even in low light shooting mushrooms in the woods I didn't any problems getting good shots.
I had to get used to the auto focusing system, but I like to use the manual focus a great deal too. I was a little surprised by how noisy it was while shooting, but I was able to find how to make it quieter and now I don't scare the birds away.
Once I figured these things out, it took the camera from a 4 to a 5. It is exactly what I need for the type of pictures I shoot.
It is a great step into the higher end Canon Cameras.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EOS 70D
Nickname: DOGG
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Its a solid camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2014
This is my first canon I shot with another brand for 20 yrs and i wasn't happy as of late.I picked up the canon 70d at a store and played with the camera fell in love with it, it is very easy to use.,I have some awesome images from this camera, It's slightly underrated. but overall I'm very happy I just wish it was a full frame, but I'll have to wait for 6dII,
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Bene
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 31, 2014
Have had the camera a couple of weeks and used it to shoot son's soccer games. Using the 18-135mm IS STM lens and it did great. Very versatile lens. Camera is easy to use. 7fps burst is great.
Used video as well and it keeps focus on fast-moving players. Wish the display showed how many minutes of video recording available on SD remaining, but that's just my preference.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EOS 70D
Nickname: McPhoto
Location: palm beach, fl
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent crop sensor camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2014
The cmos system is incredible!! Fell in love with it right out of the box. Photos are top notch and movies look great too.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Denomite
Location: San Marino, Ca
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Could be better!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 24, 2014
If they just make this camera a little better, it would have been perfect for me.
We all know that no single camera is perfect. It all depend on what you need it for. For the professionals, they know what they need and they can spend the money because they make money with it. For the most of us, we need to have a camera that can do just about everything and do everything well. I know I will be changing to a different camera soon because this may not be the right camera for me.
What does Canon need to improve on this model to make it perfect for most of us?
1. Better focus
2. Better high ISO performance.
I have been taking classes to improve my photography for the past 3 years and I believe my pictures are very good now. Finally decided to use Canon 70D and was hoping this would be the right camera for me - wrong - but almost.
With proper lighting condition, this camera is fine, and so was my previous camera. I am more critical in low light and indoor sport. I use the camera for figure skating, cheer, basketball, football, marching band, and dance recitals. Figure skating and Dance recitals are the 2 that are most difficult because of the low light / changing light condition and fast movement (especially when spinning or axel jumps. Fast frame rate is not as important as fast shutter speed and low light performance. I use fast lenses so lens is not the issue here.
I shoot everything in Manual mode. I shoot through view finder so I can track the subject better. All the control on the camera works well for me except WB. I hate to go through the menu to change WB. To overcome that, I shoot both raw and jpg if WB becomes a problem. Other than that, the controls and features are fine.
The problem with this camera is focus and noise at high ISO. I typically keep the ISO at 800 or below if I can. Above 1600 the image is just not acceptable to me. I get about 40% sharp image so its a hit or miss kind of thing with this camera. I believe this camera has focusing issue.
Overall, this is a good camera. I use it for trips and day time event and the pictures are fine, but still do not give you the crispy sharp image. If you do not need to shoot at fast moving object at low light, you will be fine with this camera. I have adjusted the settings and also went to Canon to see what else I can do to improve the sharpness I am looking for, so I know its not caused my me. Soft focus is an issue even shooting still object on tripod sometimes.
I also used 5Dm3 that one of my friend own and used in all those events. 5Dm3 give me sharper image and better high ISO performance. But the camera buffer fills up faster so if you take a lot of shot, you will start to miss shots pretty soon. That did not work for me either.
Anyway, my next step is either to try 7Dm2 or switch to another brand, but I have already purchased several 2.8, 1.8, and 1.2 lenses.
I believe this is a good well rounded camera that just has a few flaws. I am looking for crispy sharp images which I am not getting from this camera. Hopefully Canon can find a solution to that.
21 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EOS 70D
Nickname: photogjb
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love the 70D…slight AF issue

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2014
Been a Canon user since my A1. I love all of the features this camera provides.
My only issue was with the autofocus thru the view finder. I also purchased a canon 85mm 1.8 and found my shots to be slightly off focus when shooting thru the viewfinder at 1.8 versus the LCD. I did the micro adjustment but that only fixed it slightly.
I returned the lens thinking it may have had an issue but i now have read other posts about AF/view finder issues with faster lenses with the 70d
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EOS 70D
Nickname: 666bar
Location: Washington
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

great camera?

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 17, 2014
Wife liked it so much she took it. I haven't really used it. Can't get it back from her
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EOS 70D
Nickname: pott
Location: Waco TX
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great I love it

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 3, 2014
I got my new 70D canon and I love it so for it does all I had read it would....I took pictures with it the first week at a wedding and they came out great...The video is out of this world...Great investment in canon camera and video all in one for one price...
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Bphotosmart
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Image Quality Issues

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 19, 2014
Pros: Improved Still image Focusing, Fast shutter speed, Outstanding live view focus, Touch screen and compatibility with STM lenses.
Cons: Missing joystick, wheel design stinks!, Red colors seem to overwhelm sensor creating blurry photos
This camera was a log overdue replacement for my 20d. Overall I found the camera to be very good with improved focusing and speed compared to the 20d. I did find a problem with the way it handled bright red colors. Otherwise the image quality is very good.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EOS 70D
Nickname: PBR582
Location: Minnesota
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 17, 2014
Have had this camera for 6 months now, hands down best camera in canon lineup based on price. Many powerful options and excellent layout. Produces excellent image quality and is truely a joy to use. Video mode is an added bonus!!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EOS 70D
Nickname: TJ
Location: Rochester, NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Satisfied

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2014
Purchased my 70D when it first came out. I was excited from the start and I'm still excited with it's performance. I've shot nature pics with my long lens without issue, even hand held. Early in ownership I photographed a wedding with fantastic results. My old EF 28-80 was the only thing that gave me trouble at the wedding. I have also used this camera numerous times for work related photo & video documentation with great results.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Dustin D
Location: Reno, NV
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worst Canon Camera I have Owned

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 10, 2014
The noise in the pictures is awful. I mean it is really bad.
9 of 60 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Bleriot
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very Good Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 31, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Solid Operation, easy to use
It`s a very good camera, in a very good price, I like to much the movement of the screen, to do some picture our some videos is very good option.
The quality of the image are very good too and the different option in programs.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site