Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / EOS Digital Cameras Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop EOS Digital Cameras or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EOS 70D

EOS 70D

New Dual Pixel CMOS AF technology unlocks the potential of Live View for both still images and video Built-in wireless technology makes it easy to share files, print images, and control the camera remotely 20.2 Megapixel CMOS (APS-C) sensor, 14-bit A/D conversion, ISO 100-12800 and DIGIC 5+ Image Processor EOS Full HD Movie mode with Movie Servo AF for improved continuous focus tracking of moving subjects
Average Customer Rating:
4.282 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (71 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
6
52 out of 62(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EOS 70D
Review 1 for EOS 70D
Nickname: McPhoto
Location: palm beach, fl
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent crop sensor camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2014
The cmos system is incredible!! Fell in love with it right out of the box. Photos are top notch and movies look great too.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Denomite
Location: San Marino, Ca
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Could be better!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 24, 2014
If they just make this camera a little better, it would have been perfect for me.
We all know that no single camera is perfect. It all depend on what you need it for. For the professionals, they know what they need and they can spend the money because they make money with it. For the most of us, we need to have a camera that can do just about everything and do everything well. I know I will be changing to a different camera soon because this may not be the right camera for me.
What does Canon need to improve on this model to make it perfect for most of us?
1. Better focus
2. Better high ISO performance.
I have been taking classes to improve my photography for the past 3 years and I believe my pictures are very good now. Finally decided to use Canon 70D and was hoping this would be the right camera for me - wrong - but almost.
With proper lighting condition, this camera is fine, and so was my previous camera. I am more critical in low light and indoor sport. I use the camera for figure skating, cheer, basketball, football, marching band, and dance recitals. Figure skating and Dance recitals are the 2 that are most difficult because of the low light / changing light condition and fast movement (especially when spinning or axel jumps. Fast frame rate is not as important as fast shutter speed and low light performance. I use fast lenses so lens is not the issue here.
I shoot everything in Manual mode. I shoot through view finder so I can track the subject better. All the control on the camera works well for me except WB. I hate to go through the menu to change WB. To overcome that, I shoot both raw and jpg if WB becomes a problem. Other than that, the controls and features are fine.
The problem with this camera is focus and noise at high ISO. I typically keep the ISO at 800 or below if I can. Above 1600 the image is just not acceptable to me. I get about 40% sharp image so its a hit or miss kind of thing with this camera. I believe this camera has focusing issue.
Overall, this is a good camera. I use it for trips and day time event and the pictures are fine, but still do not give you the crispy sharp image. If you do not need to shoot at fast moving object at low light, you will be fine with this camera. I have adjusted the settings and also went to Canon to see what else I can do to improve the sharpness I am looking for, so I know its not caused my me. Soft focus is an issue even shooting still object on tripod sometimes.
I also used 5Dm3 that one of my friend own and used in all those events. 5Dm3 give me sharper image and better high ISO performance. But the camera buffer fills up faster so if you take a lot of shot, you will start to miss shots pretty soon. That did not work for me either.
Anyway, my next step is either to try 7Dm2 or switch to another brand, but I have already purchased several 2.8, 1.8, and 1.2 lenses.
I believe this is a good well rounded camera that just has a few flaws. I am looking for crispy sharp images which I am not getting from this camera. Hopefully Canon can find a solution to that.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EOS 70D
Nickname: photogjb
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love the 70D…slight AF issue

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2014
Been a Canon user since my A1. I love all of the features this camera provides.
My only issue was with the autofocus thru the view finder. I also purchased a canon 85mm 1.8 and found my shots to be slightly off focus when shooting thru the viewfinder at 1.8 versus the LCD. I did the micro adjustment but that only fixed it slightly.
I returned the lens thinking it may have had an issue but i now have read other posts about AF/view finder issues with faster lenses with the 70d
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EOS 70D
Nickname: 666bar
Location: Washington
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

great camera?

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 17, 2014
Wife liked it so much she took it. I haven't really used it. Can't get it back from her
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EOS 70D
Nickname: pott
Location: Waco TX
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great I love it

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 3, 2014
I got my new 70D canon and I love it so for it does all I had read it would....I took pictures with it the first week at a wedding and they came out great...The video is out of this world...Great investment in canon camera and video all in one for one price...
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Bphotosmart
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Image Quality Issues

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 19, 2014
Pros: Improved Still image Focusing, Fast shutter speed, Outstanding live view focus, Touch screen and compatibility with STM lenses.
Cons: Missing joystick, wheel design stinks!, Red colors seem to overwhelm sensor creating blurry photos
This camera was a log overdue replacement for my 20d. Overall I found the camera to be very good with improved focusing and speed compared to the 20d. I did find a problem with the way it handled bright red colors. Otherwise the image quality is very good.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EOS 70D
Nickname: PBR582
Location: Minnesota
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 17, 2014
Have had this camera for 6 months now, hands down best camera in canon lineup based on price. Many powerful options and excellent layout. Produces excellent image quality and is truely a joy to use. Video mode is an added bonus!!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EOS 70D
Nickname: TJ
Location: Rochester, NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Satisfied

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2014
Purchased my 70D when it first came out. I was excited from the start and I'm still excited with it's performance. I've shot nature pics with my long lens without issue, even hand held. Early in ownership I photographed a wedding with fantastic results. My old EF 28-80 was the only thing that gave me trouble at the wedding. I have also used this camera numerous times for work related photo & video documentation with great results.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Dustin D
Location: Reno, NV
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worst Canon Camera I have Owned

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 10, 2014
The noise in the pictures is awful. I mean it is really bad.
7 of 38 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Bleriot
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very Good Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 31, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Solid Operation, easy to use
It`s a very good camera, in a very good price, I like to much the movement of the screen, to do some picture our some videos is very good option.
The quality of the image are very good too and the different option in programs.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EOS 70D
Nickname: NTSPS
Location: Georgia
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Wait on purchasing until bugs are fixed

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, Superior build quality, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor image quality, noisy, poor focusing
This well-built camera following the 7D, with its breakthrough technology sensor, needs bugs fixed before I recommend anyone buying it. The autofocus system does not work as well as older camera models and the microadjustment tool does not help. The focus issue is a shame since Canon is known for its crisp, sharp images. The camera also has high noise levels and problems working at low ISO levels.
Being a professional, I was very disappointed in the performance of this camera released by Canon to the public. I hope that a firmware upgrade might resolve some of these issues
25 of 31 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Ani
Location: Doha
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

70d 18-55mm stm

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
My first professional camera, i can control in manual mode easily
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EOS 70D
Nickname: LHphotography
Location: Jeju, South Korea
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Inacurate focussuing!!!

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 16, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Poor image quality
I bought this camera as a backup. At first I loved the fast focussing! After looking at my images critically in post I realised there was something seriously wrong as most of my images were very soft and just not sharp at all! I started setting up various tests for the camera and all of them confirmed that there was a problem. I found that focussing using Live view was much better and I think that may be due to the duel pixel technology. Not sure.. Focussing using the viewfinder (as I always do and want to do) is not good! I tried micro focussing adjustments, different lenses and even taking the cam for a checkup which turned out useless. Apparently not all 70D's are affected by this problem but some of them defnitely are! I sold my 70D and bought a 5Dii. Much slower focussing, but accurate!!!
7 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Crist
Location: Miami
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, af in video
Is an excelent camera by the price, the retion price/quiality is very good. Good colors, and image.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Igio
Location: Georgia
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very disappointed with image quality

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2014
Cons: Shaky operation, Poor image quality, Poor build quality, noisy, Short battery life, Heavy/Bulky, fast af
I have nothing much to say about this camera when image quality is so poor. Everything else just do not matter.
I purchased it based on many reviews but I am selling it now.
I do not need the fastest AF if I am not happy with both RAW and JPEG quality.
Rear wheel, directional pad, buttons are awkward.
Battery life is dropped significantly if you switch live view for several times.
Overall, for camera this price I am deeply disappointed.
7 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Art
Location: Orlando, Florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love my 70D

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 3, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I just purchased this camera after using my 4Ti. I love being able to use the the EOS remote app with it. I shoot a lot of interiors and this camera is way better than the 4Ti. Very low noise and I love shooting video with the continues focus. Awesome camera all around.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EOS 70D
Nickname: COCODUDE
Location: Denver, Colorado
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent DSLR For Pro/A< Photogs

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I just sold my 7 year old Canon 40D and upgraded to the 70D. WOW! I cannot say enough great things about how well this camera performs. Yes, you can spend more and get some really fancy bells and whistles, but the 70D is packed with pro features that cover so many of my needs. As a photog of 45 years, this camera is worth the minimal cost with some mid-range lenses. All I will say without covering all the tech stuff is if you are looking for a camera that's tight, quick, quiet and versatile, the Canon 70D is it!
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Canon Guy
Location: INDIA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Camera with Limitations

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 20, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings, Difficult to use, not fully customizable camera
Hello Canon,
My first cam was AE1 P, Second is 350D, Presently Third is 70D. Iam confused with this cam, as Auto ISO is limited from 100-400 when using built in or External Speedlight.
Recently I faced a situation in a party where I used AV mode as one side people were in dark, under a tent and opposite side people were in bright open area. I put F-Stop of 5.6. I put my external speedlight to E-TTL. Shutter speed I wanted auto adjustment between min 1/125 to max speed according to open area reading.
For the above example Ideally I should get fixed aperture, Auto shutter speed between my Customizable choice, and Customizable range of Auto ISO
*But Instead canon has limited the shutter speed and ISO in AV mode with the following options.
(a) Full auto where Shutter speed will drop down to any low reading, without caring for motion blur. Here I should be able to select my own minimum shutter speed.
(b) Restricting the Shutter speed between 1/60 to 1/250 in AV. Instead canon should have given full customizable range.
(c) Fixed 1/250 option in AV. If I had to go for this option, rather I will go to Manual mode.
(d) ISO restriction from ISO 100 to 400 when using speedlight. It should have been my desirable range.*
Either of them is good enough for variating lighting conditions. Without knowing these limitations I bought the camera which has all the other great features like STM, Good focusing ability in LCD, Touch screen, Wifi etc.
I feel so stuck with this camera now because I invested in all accesories like 4 speedlights with wireless TTL triggers and transmitter, Wireless shutter release and Timelapse remotes, Lens Filters, Lenses, thinking I had full Customizable camera in my hand .
The sad part is If you had not put these limitations in Mark III, I would have upgraded to it, thinking OK I did not buy an expensive camera from Canon, so they restricted these features. But even in Mark III you have these similar limitations. Now I have to sell all these separately at a lower price and plan further.
Someone let me know If I have misunderstood this camera or system, because there was no reason for all those limitations in a camera of its range...
14 of 32 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Kimberly
Location: Wisconsin
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

My Best Camera Yet!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, easy to use
This is my second Canon camera, and I am so pleased with both of them, but the 70D especially. It has revolutionized the way I do photoshoots and I don't think I could have bought a better camera for the price. The 19 AF points are so incredibly useful, and the seven frames per second makes it a great camera for shooting sports. For those considering buying this who are unsure due to negative reviews, don't listen to them; this camera is remarkable!
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Amila C
Location: NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Video Features

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, Superior build quality, Solid Operation
Cons: slow image review on touch screen, focusing issue on viewfinder shoot still images
I'm using mainly this camera for my video works. Thats just one word its Awesome on it. I have these two Camera bodies. But the downside is Every images taken in this camera it shift the focus. its not focusing the right point it shows in viewfinder. but in Live view shoot, there is no problem. its a factory fault.
15 of 17 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site