Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / EOS Digital Cameras Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop EOS Digital Cameras or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EOS 70D

EOS 70D

New Dual Pixel CMOS AF technology unlocks the potential of Live View for both still images and video Built-in wireless technology makes it easy to share files, print images, and control the camera remotely 20.2 Megapixel CMOS (APS-C) sensor, 14-bit A/D conversion, ISO 100-12800 and DIGIC 5+ Image Processor EOS Full HD Movie mode with Movie Servo AF for improved continuous focus tracking of moving subjects
Average Customer Rating:
4.295 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (61 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
5
51 out of 61(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EOS 70D
Review 1 for EOS 70D
Nickname: NTSPS
Location: Georgia
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Wait on purchasing until bugs are fixed

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, Superior build quality, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor image quality, noisy, poor focusing
This well-built camera following the 7D, with its breakthrough technology sensor, needs bugs fixed before I recommend anyone buying it. The autofocus system does not work as well as older camera models and the microadjustment tool does not help. The focus issue is a shame since Canon is known for its crisp, sharp images. The camera also has high noise levels and problems working at low ISO levels.
Being a professional, I was very disappointed in the performance of this camera released by Canon to the public. I hope that a firmware upgrade might resolve some of these issues
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Ani
Location: Doha
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

70d 18-55mm stm

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
My first professional camera, i can control in manual mode easily
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EOS 70D
Nickname: LHphotography
Location: Jeju, South Korea
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Inacurate focussuing!!!

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 16, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Poor image quality
I bought this camera as a backup. At first I loved the fast focussing! After looking at my images critically in post I realised there was something seriously wrong as most of my images were very soft and just not sharp at all! I started setting up various tests for the camera and all of them confirmed that there was a problem. I found that focussing using Live view was much better and I think that may be due to the duel pixel technology. Not sure.. Focussing using the viewfinder (as I always do and want to do) is not good! I tried micro focussing adjustments, different lenses and even taking the cam for a checkup which turned out useless. Apparently not all 70D's are affected by this problem but some of them defnitely are! I sold my 70D and bought a 5Dii. Much slower focussing, but accurate!!!
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Crist
Location: Miami
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, af in video
Is an excelent camera by the price, the retion price/quiality is very good. Good colors, and image.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Igio
Location: Georgia
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very disappointed with image quality

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2014
Cons: Shaky operation, Poor image quality, Poor build quality, noisy, Short battery life, Heavy/Bulky, fast af
I have nothing much to say about this camera when image quality is so poor. Everything else just do not matter.
I purchased it based on many reviews but I am selling it now.
I do not need the fastest AF if I am not happy with both RAW and JPEG quality.
Rear wheel, directional pad, buttons are awkward.
Battery life is dropped significantly if you switch live view for several times.
Overall, for camera this price I am deeply disappointed.
5 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Art
Location: Orlando, Florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love my 70D

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 3, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I just purchased this camera after using my 4Ti. I love being able to use the the EOS remote app with it. I shoot a lot of interiors and this camera is way better than the 4Ti. Very low noise and I love shooting video with the continues focus. Awesome camera all around.
Review 7 for EOS 70D
Nickname: COCODUDE
Location: Denver, Colorado
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent DSLR For Pro/A< Photogs

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I just sold my 7 year old Canon 40D and upgraded to the 70D. WOW! I cannot say enough great things about how well this camera performs. Yes, you can spend more and get some really fancy bells and whistles, but the 70D is packed with pro features that cover so many of my needs. As a photog of 45 years, this camera is worth the minimal cost with some mid-range lenses. All I will say without covering all the tech stuff is if you are looking for a camera that's tight, quick, quiet and versatile, the Canon 70D is it!
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Canon Guy
Location: INDIA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Camera with Limitations

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 20, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings, Difficult to use, not fully customizable camera
Hello Canon,
My first cam was AE1 P, Second is 350D, Presently Third is 70D. Iam confused with this cam, as Auto ISO is limited from 100-400 when using built in or External Speedlight.
Recently I faced a situation in a party where I used AV mode as one side people were in dark, under a tent and opposite side people were in bright open area. I put F-Stop of 5.6. I put my external speedlight to E-TTL. Shutter speed I wanted auto adjustment between min 1/125 to max speed according to open area reading.
For the above example Ideally I should get fixed aperture, Auto shutter speed between my Customizable choice, and Customizable range of Auto ISO
*But Instead canon has limited the shutter speed and ISO in AV mode with the following options.
(a) Full auto where Shutter speed will drop down to any low reading, without caring for motion blur. Here I should be able to select my own minimum shutter speed.
(b) Restricting the Shutter speed between 1/60 to 1/250 in AV. Instead canon should have given full customizable range.
(c) Fixed 1/250 option in AV. If I had to go for this option, rather I will go to Manual mode.
(d) ISO restriction from ISO 100 to 400 when using speedlight. It should have been my desirable range.*
Either of them is good enough for variating lighting conditions. Without knowing these limitations I bought the camera which has all the other great features like STM, Good focusing ability in LCD, Touch screen, Wifi etc.
I feel so stuck with this camera now because I invested in all accesories like 4 speedlights with wireless TTL triggers and transmitter, Wireless shutter release and Timelapse remotes, Lens Filters, Lenses, thinking I had full Customizable camera in my hand .
The sad part is If you had not put these limitations in Mark III, I would have upgraded to it, thinking OK I did not buy an expensive camera from Canon, so they restricted these features. But even in Mark III you have these similar limitations. Now I have to sell all these separately at a lower price and plan further.
Someone let me know If I have misunderstood this camera or system, because there was no reason for all those limitations in a camera of its range...
12 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Kimberly
Location: Wisconsin
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

My Best Camera Yet!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, easy to use
This is my second Canon camera, and I am so pleased with both of them, but the 70D especially. It has revolutionized the way I do photoshoots and I don't think I could have bought a better camera for the price. The 19 AF points are so incredibly useful, and the seven frames per second makes it a great camera for shooting sports. For those considering buying this who are unsure due to negative reviews, don't listen to them; this camera is remarkable!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Amila C
Location: NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Video Features

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, Superior build quality, Solid Operation
Cons: slow image review on touch screen, focusing issue on viewfinder shoot still images
I'm using mainly this camera for my video works. Thats just one word its Awesome on it. I have these two Camera bodies. But the downside is Every images taken in this camera it shift the focus. its not focusing the right point it shows in viewfinder. but in Live view shoot, there is no problem. its a factory fault.
15 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Dizzyd718
Location: Atlanta Ga
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Upgrade

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 25, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Worth the upgrade from the t5i Amzaing in every aspect
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Hi
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 21, 2014
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Great camera, easy to use, full of features. Very happy with purchase, will be using this for along time.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EOS 70D
Nickname: JB
Location: CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Rough Start

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 20, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, Bright LCD
Cons: Poor build quality
I had been looking at this camera for some time and finally made the purcahse. I took it to a graduation and got some great shots. I was unable to off load the pictures. This was my 3rd Canon and thought I knew how to operate. Called service and support and they were great. There was an issue with the camera and it was not operator error. They offerred to have it shipped for repair. Since it was only 2 days old I elected to return to the store and get a new one. No issues since and love the replacement.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EOS 70D
Nickname: JJ
Location: SLC, UT
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

AMAZING

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, easy to use
Absolutely amazing camera for the money. The digic 5+ processor and the extra megapixels make this camera outperform the 7D. Low Light shooting is superb and At 7FPS it's fast enough for sports and action. And with its ability to autofocus in video mode with almost all EF and EF-S lenses.... Way to go Canon. Very happy I upgraded from the 7D.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Aaron
Location: Lynnwood, WA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Does Multiple Things Well

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2014
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings
I have been a professional for a few years now and I started on the 7D and then upgraded to the 6D. In that upgrade, I lost fps to gain image quality and it worked out all right in most shooting situations. I started to work with a lot of sports and the 6D wasn't cutting it as I was losing a lot with 4.5 fps. I also shoot documentaries for my clients. I needed a camera that could do several things well and the 70D is the camera that helps me do it on a budget. I could only afford one camera body to do both excellent video as well as photos in a sports environment. Granted I use the best glass available (70-200 2.8 II, 16-35 2.8.II, 24-105 f4, 135 f2, etc) the images out of the 70D rival that of the 6D when shooting sports and I am getting 7fps.
Video is where the 70D has really proven its worth. I needed a B-cam on interviews as well as low-light setups, and the camera performs well along side the XF100. (I do need to grade both, but when its done, they work) I accomplish two very demanding and different jobs with one camera. There is aliasing and moire, but you just have to be mindful of that when planning a shoot. While not specifically an action camera (no AF point expansion, custom mode saves, etc) It will get the job done every time. Other than work that specifically needs full-frame, I find myself going to the 70D more often than the 6D. It does everything I need it to and more.
40 of 42 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Eduardo
Location: Miami
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excelent

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 15, 2014
Pros: quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life, best if be full frame
Good relation of cost/benefits is a very fast and useful camera
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EOS 70D
Nickname: akkrs
Location: London
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Not so good for video

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 15, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality
Cons: Shaky operation, Missing features/settings, Complicated controls/menu, moire/aliasing on video
Whilst the new focus system is good in video there are shortcomings. This camera has chronic moire/aliasing problems making some of the video footage unusable; especially in 720p setting. Also there is no 1080/50p (you only get 720/50p) so shooting fast action in 1080p is out of question. Also image-stablisation is lens-based and is very poor.
2 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EOS 70D
Nickname: JJ Kool
Location: Miami, FL
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome DSLR!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 13, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
Dual Pixel AF system, the WiFi,Excellent LCD and responsive touchscreen, the movie mode with fantastic auto focus and the complete Canon's kit! I love how solid it feels in my hands, the battery life is great, and the overall quality is excellent.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Dax
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

PERFECT MID FORMAT

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2014
Pros: Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, easy to use
Perfect. Canon Eos 70D in a very best mid format. Great quality, fast use. GREAT!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EOS 70D
Nickname: begetarian
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera 70D

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 3, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
Bought the camera about a year ago. By far I've had the best image quality as far as shooting with it. No one and I mean NO ONE should use automatic focus with this camera. And if its your main complaint about it, I believe you shouldn't be shooting with any camera in automatic focus. Use manual, it gives you the ability to capture some of the greatest things the normal eye won't even see. I don't even edit my photos with photoshop. My customers love the quality with the camera and how its used. My only con about it is how heavy it is carrying it around your neck for a certain amount of time, but besides that. Its the best camera I've got for my money.
2 of 6 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site