Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / EOS Digital Cameras Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop EOS Digital Cameras or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products

Customer Reviews for EOS 70D

EOS 70D

New Dual Pixel CMOS AF technology unlocks the potential of Live View for both still images and video Built-in wireless technology makes it easy to share files, print images, and control the camera remotely 20.2 Megapixel CMOS (APS-C) sensor, 14-bit A/D conversion, ISO 100-12800 and DIGIC 5+ Image Processor EOS Full HD Movie mode with Movie Servo AF for improved continuous focus tracking of moving subjects
Average Customer Rating:
4.482 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(112 Reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (112 reviews)
5 stars
82
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
6
52 out of 62(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EOS 70D
Review 1 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Jeffreycsr
Location: Glenside. PA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Canon EOS 70D

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2015
I purchased this camera to upgrade from a Canon Rebel XT, which i have been using for many years. I absolutely love this camera it is has almost everything i would ever want. The quality and feel of the camera is excellent and the menu functions and accessibility are very good.
Review 2 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Nick G
Location: Norfolk,Va
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

EOS 70D

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 14, 2015
I went from a t2i to a t3i and now to the 70d people it the best camera when your coming from that line up and also the price as well it preforms awesome please buy if you have the money and looking for a awesome upgrade please buy this camera you will be please I have had mine for 2 months now it awesome.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EOS 70D
Nickname: pbranner
Location: Fairfax, VA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Why Canon?

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2015
I decided to get back into film but there was so many choices to choose from. I chose Canon. Canon offered the best in overall quality and price point. Afterall all, today's technology you really can't go wrong. I felt Canon just does it right! The EOS 70D far exceeds what I expected in a DSLR! The resolution of all my data is pro quality. I see why this is a Canon?!
Review 4 for EOS 70D
Nickname: zackiedoo
Location: Bedford, VA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

I love my eos 70D

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 6, 2015
This camera amazes me daily!!! & I learn something new about this camera daily!!! I am not kidding at all. I owned the 60D & loved it, but the 70D just blows it away!!! The built in wifi is a real gift for ease of sharing pictures, & one of the main reasons I wanted this camera, but I was stunned when I realized that this feature is even more awesome than I thought it would be, & I think Canon should publish this more. I ordered a book so I could learn every single feature the 70D has & just today my husband got the Canon 430EX II flash for me. I have had a Canon SLR for years & I have never been happier with Canon & my EOS 70D!!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Steve
Location: Woodland Park, CO
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years

70D is all that I had hoped for and more

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2015
I purchased the EOS 70D to keep up with the competition in the stock photo industry. There were specific features that I was interested in, including ruggedness, image quality, image size, zone focus, the new auto focus screen and the in camera chromatic aberration elimination feature. All the new features have performed splendidly, the camera is very fast and the image quality superb. I have not yet had an image rejected by and editor for any reason.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EOS 70D
Nickname: grodriguezg
Location: Miami
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2015
This is a wonderful machine ever I bought. Price according you get.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Mick
Location: Pownal, ME
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Upgrade

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2015
I had an XSi and a T5i. This is a big step up in the quality of workmanship. The live view focus is amazingly fast and accurate. Ultimately more accurate than the viewfinder. Makes live view shooting and video shooting a real joy. Dual dials make adjustments quick and easy. Ability to customize HDR, multiple exposures, etc. give great control. 7 fps are great. The only thing I'd like to see is giving the white balance its own button. Very happy to recommend this fine camera.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Pianofinger
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best late purchase.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2015
i just picked up this camera a few days ago. I switched from the t4i. If I would have known that the difference would be like night and day I would have done this a year ago. Admittedly I thought the transition would be nonexistent, boy was I wrong. The placement of buttons and even the power switch took a little getting used to it. After practicing with it for a few days I have gotten used to it. The focus speed of this camera compared to my old one is also amazing. I used to think my 50mm lens was loud and slow. It is definitely loud but not slow anymore. I did not realize that a camera change could make so much difference. My pics in low light are incredible. Ok I'm officially done salivating.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Outdoors or Bust!
Location: Lake Tahoe, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

3rd Generation Canon Purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 20, 2015
Just recently purchased the new Canon EOS 70D and this will be my 3rd generation Canon camera (started in 1986 with a Canon AE-1 Program, then EOS Rebel XT in 2005). So far it is everything I expected and more. Incredibly easy to use for novices (family) and advanced features that are right in my area of expertise. Most of my photography is outdoors with a focus on wildlife and after only one month, I am getting some of the best pictures ever and I contribute this to the camera, not me.
Very happy with this camera and highly recommend this to anyone looking for a great versatile camera.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EOS 70D
Nickname: DD
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Loving this purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 14, 2015
I have found the Canon 70D to be the best and innovative camera I have owned yet!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EOS 70D
Nickname: photog
Location: Dayton, OH
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Incredible DSLR

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 11, 2015
The 70D is truly a revolutionary DSLR. When taking photos, it packs in a great autofocus system and all the right features to make great use of my L-series lenses. Switch over to video, and the 70D's autofocus really shines.
Paired with a new STM lens, this thing is more than just an incremental step forward... it is truly groundbreaking innovation. Forget mirrorless sensors... Canon is on to the future of DSLR videography with this camera.
Seriously, WELL DONE.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Dave S.
Location: Durango, CO.
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

BEWARE ADWARE, HOW DARE?

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 9, 2015
I downloaded EOS MOVIE Utility 1.2 for Windows from URL: http://www.usa.canon.com/cusa/support/consumer/eos_slr_camera_systems/eos_digital_slr_cameras/eos_70d#DriversAndSoftware .
One day later my internet experience was ruined by an INVASIVE MALWARE ADD-ON, "Ads by Mini," that is secretly attached to the aforementioned software.
Very disappointed,
Dave S.
Durango, Colorado
7 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Nick
Location: Norfolk
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

EOS 70D

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2015
This was a camera I've been wanting for a long time and it was worth the wait. If you people a looking at this camera as a next buy please get it. I'm coming from using a T31 and if your in to video you will fall in love with this camera but even as a photographer you can really tell you have a real quality product in your hands and images come out really clean and crisp read these words, YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED awesome buy.
Review 14 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Dee
Location: California
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

So far, so good!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2015
So far so good. This is my first experience with a digital DSLR camera as well as Cannon. I saw this as an investment and did some research before deciding on this one. So far I'm loving it. I have to admit- I'm still learning all the options and settings available- but from what I've been able to do so far I'm happy with what I've produced. Crisp pictures, great color, easy focus, lot of options to take the best picture possible, and user friendly. This camera has only fueled my love for photography!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EOS 70D
Nickname: HBT
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Fantastic Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2015
My fiance bought this camera first and she just loves it, and just my few times of using it we decided to buy another one for me. We are just getting into photography so everything is still a learning experience, but so far it has easy with this camera. After years of using a point and shoot camera the Canon EOS 70D has been an excellent transition. Looking forward to years of picture taking using the Canon.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EOS 70D
Nickname: YAMAHAZ
Location: Phx, AZ
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

SO HAPPY!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2015
Thank you Canon. I just used my new 70D for the first time this weekend at the Drag races. Best pictures I have ever taken. The action was fast and not one shot out of focus, not even at 7fps. Can not wait to use all the amazing features this camera offers. I'm a long time canon user AE-1,EOS Elan II, Rebel XT, T3i. and now the 70D, I would recommend this camera 100% to anyone that is ready to take the next step.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EOS 70D
Nickname: WestOGuy
Location: Nebraska
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

My first DSLR - Really Nice!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2015
I've been purchasing Canon products for decades now. I just upgraded from a G9, to this DSLR mostly because I just wasn't happy with my low-light shots. This 70D, while certainly not the top of the line - has just a ton of features! It's built well, controls are easy to use, and it really takes great shots! The family is loving it.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EOS 70D
Nickname: MNTom
Location: Southern Arizona
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Love the Cam, hate the website

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2015
I love my new 70D. It is a wonderful camera. When I went to look at accessories, I was so surprised at how the poor Canon Product Sales website is! It looks like a site from the mid '90's. Canon needs to invest some time, effort and money in giving modern users a good shopping experience. I would never buy something from the site. I hope Canon will listen to this and take some improvement action.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EOS 70D
Nickname: bagera
Location: toledo
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

hot camra

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2015
love this camera i got it 2 year after used my t3i its now my back up to my 70d i learned from one of the best
it is one of best of line the WiFi is big plus an from firing shutter. from mono pod held high to making odd angle shots with it
apps for iPhone an an Google phones give it advantage in design the touch screen is of the 5i masks ease of use as wall
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EOS 70D
Nickname: RonRon
Location: Orlando Fl
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love this camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2015
I love my new 70D.!i read many pros and very many more cons .... But when I got it and started shoting all the. Ins fell by the waist side... My 50D is my new back up...! Thank you Canon!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site