Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / EOS Digital Cameras Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop EOS Digital Cameras or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EOS 70D

EOS 70D

New Dual Pixel CMOS AF technology unlocks the potential of Live View for both still images and video Built-in wireless technology makes it easy to share files, print images, and control the camera remotely 20.2 Megapixel CMOS (APS-C) sensor, 14-bit A/D conversion, ISO 100-12800 and DIGIC 5+ Image Processor EOS Full HD Movie mode with Movie Servo AF for improved continuous focus tracking of moving subjects
Average Customer Rating:
4.402 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(92 Reviews) 92
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (92 reviews)
5 stars
64
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
6
52 out of 62(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EOS 70D
Review 1 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Robophoto
Location: New York
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Love this camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2015
I really love this camera. The dual pixel sensor is great for focusing in live view. Combined with the STM lenses and touch screen its just a very satisfying combination. I actually like using this camera to record movies over my dedicated camcorder now. Something about touching the screen and being able to precisely focus where I want is very intuitive. I didn't even buy the camera for its video capabilities, now I'm addicted. The photos from this camera are amazing. I never thought I'd ever shoot at high ISOs now I'm getting some nice keepers at 6400, and with some PP even 12000 ISO. I really like the focusing system, it's fast and accurate. I've been able to freeze motion and get some really great bird in flight pictures with it. Build quality is awesome, very sturdy but light. I love the ergonomics of this camera. My previous camera was a rebel T3i. While its a great camera it felt a little small in the hands, the 70D feels perfect. Battery life is great too. Depending how I use it, I can get 800-1200 shots on a single charge. Very satisfied with this purchase.
Review 2 for EOS 70D
Nickname: dayhiker
Location: Aston, PA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Product replacement: Yes

Canon 70D

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2015
I am a long time Canon Camera user from the Canon AE1 to the Canon Xsi. I had the Xsi for 9 years and loved it. I thought it was time to upgrade and after a few months I chose the Canon 70D.
I have only had this camera since Christmas 2014 but love it. It takes amazing pictures and is very easy to use. I have not used all the capabilities of this camera yet but am looking forward to learning more each day.
I recommend this camera to all photographers not just Canon users.
Review 3 for EOS 70D
Nickname: cyberpip
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very good camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2015
I wish I wasn't writing this on my pad. Too slow. This camera is the best of its class. Just wish it was full frame but that isn't a big downside. I have used canon for forty years and never been disappointed. Next purchase I am going for a 6D at least. Not giving g up my 70D though.
Review 4 for EOS 70D
Nickname: NT
Location: Georgia
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

High Priced AVERAGE Camera

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2015
I thought with this new sensor that I would be happy with this Canon model.
Wrong. The image quality is not very good for the price, and the focusing is worse. I also am having to use very high ISO even in daylight conditions to get depth of field.
Poor build, already looking to sell. A Shame
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EOS 70D
Nickname: TomHabu
Location: Lancaster, CA.
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2015
This purchase was everything I expected. The only disappointment is that the back pack is awkward to put on and take off being it only has one strap. With time I'm sure I'll get better.
Review 6 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Rafi
Location: Israel
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

FOCUS

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2015
I find at times the camera will not focus - this is the first time this has happened - been using canon cameras from the 300 to the 7D now the 70D is giving me problems. It usually happens when I need a quick shot - I shoot mostly in "P" mode and at times in "M". Using a brand new Tamron 16-300 DI II.. Center weight setting..
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Pajama Monkey
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Amazing!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2015
I spent months researching which camera to buy to upgrade from my Canon T3i. Overall, I chose the 70D and I'm extremely happy with my decision. I love the Wireless capability, 19 point auto-focus, varying AF settings, HDR, and more! I'm still figuring out the camera but I haven't found a single thing i didn't like.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EOS 70D
Nickname: emmiegrace
Location: SC
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

My One Love

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2015
The Canon EOS 70D is absolutely the greatest. It is the first "nice" camera that I can call my own. It is simple when need be and you can adjust things like aperture, and the blur of your background when you want to as well. I highly recommend this to not just photographers, but anybody on any level of skill. BEST CAMERA EVER.
Also, the wifi feature is amazing!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Art LOver
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

70D

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2014
Great price from Canon, excellent service and deliver, nice people helped.
A big step up from my t4i
I would have waited for the new t6 but the price was so good I will wait for 4k video
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Astro
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Very happy with it!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2014
The camera in the software are incredibly full featured. They give you a lot of flexibility. I have used it for portraits landscape sports and astrophotography. It is incredibly versatile covering all of these ranges. I know there are other camera specialize for astrophotography, but as a newbie, I am very happy with it. i've also use the video, and the high definition is excellent.
Review 11 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Martino
Location: Northwest Floruda
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Superb

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2014
My aging Rebel XTi died while on vacation which prompted an upgrade. I decided on an EOS 70D and looked around for a deal. I only required a body.
Having found that virtually all suppliers had the same price, I noticed a pre Black Friday offer on one refurbished body direct from Canon at a very impressive saving.
The camera arrived very fast and the only difference between this and a 'new' body was that it came in a white box rather than a Canon box.
The camera itself is excellent, and adds to a long history of Canon cameras I have had.
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Mojwad
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2014
Very amused with this camera and considered the lightest and best Canon camera for me
We hope that this only becomes a full frame evolve in the future ...
Thank Canon on this very remarkable product .. ^ _ ^
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Larryd6
Location: Montrose, CO
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Fantastic camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2014
At this point, I really could not be more pleased.
This is one fantastic piece of equipment. Everything works exactly as it's supposed to & the learning curve is not at all steep. While I haven't had the opportunity to put it through it's paces (so to speak) I have no doubt what so ever that it will perform as well as, or better, than expected. I love it.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Mikey
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Camera Ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2014
Aside from my regular boring 9-5 I dabble in photography shooting anything from Weddings to senior pictures. I also use this camera on photo hunts as well as shooting celestial time lapse photos of the stars. This cameras touch screen and wifi had me sold. I love being able to control my shutter release button from my phone. The 7fps are marvelous when I have a wedding party marching down the aisle quickly. Love this camera I am very happy to have it in my bag!
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Boston
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2014
I was close to switching to another camera manufacturer for a number of obvious reasons. I checked out the 70D the camera rep let me take a few photos with it I went home looked at them on a computer and I was sold. I have not regretted buying it. It is my do everything camera now.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Ric B
Location: NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2014
I purchased the 70D a few weeks ago. Although there are more features and settings than the average person will ever use, they are easy to set up and use. I purchased it with the 18-135 mm kit. The lens is sharp at all focal lengths. Pictures shot at night at ISO 2000 showed no graininess. Flash pictures were perfectly exposed and sharp. Auto focus is fast and quiet. Battery life appears to be excellent so far. If you're moving up from a point and shoot, don't be upset with the heavier camera because it is well balanced and solid. The camera is a pleasure to use and surpasses my expectations. A great choice!
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Peter
Location: portland Oregon
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Jack of all trades and a master of many

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 26, 2014
Last week I lost one of my 1Dmk2's to a shutter failure. 70k shots and It was time .
So that was all the excuse I needed to get a new body.
I was looking at the 7Dmk2 and the 70D . I have owned 2 10Ds a 40D and two 1Dmk2's .
Crop has some drawbacks but it that 1.6 boost is welcome with sports I shoot .
I had my doubts coming from the Older yet flagship 1D's
Lets just say they were laid to rest very quickly with a day of use .
SD cards are not as tough as CF however this things inboard WiFI makes removing the card a rare occasion ( video ) .
I just use the provided EOS utility to ingest the pics I want in to my HDD no wear and tear on plugs or slots !!
the new twin pixel AF is smoking hot!
I have a older Canon XHA1S as my main video rig .. the AF on the 70D so far with a 24-105 F4 L IS USM is as fast as that * real * camcorder .
Simply put canon In my book has made DLSRs a very real replacement for video cams . No longer are they looked at as just a cine tool to be used with a focus puller and a film crew .
Batt life is par for the body size .
video is gonna eat batts so trust me get more batts.
The menus touch interface is very well done .Fluid and it makes the cam a joy to use.
As a side note you can use from what I can tell , every menu with the touch part on OFF and use the dials . Great for gloves!!!!!! thank you canon for the foresight!
All in all a very nice step up in the canon xxD series .
My only gripe is one of a personal one...
Crop means I need some new glass to get my wide angles back ...... So is life .
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Tony
Location: Ottawa Canada
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

EOS 70D an AMAZING camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2014
I have owned EOS 10D, 20d, 5D, 7D. I currently own EOS 1DsmkIII and 70D. The EOS 70D is an exciting camera to own. The autofocus in live view is second to none. Likewise the 10X digital loop has enabled great shots of the moon with an equivalent 2000 mm lens. It lends itself equally to portrait photography, nature photography, action photography. The results are on a par with my 1DsmkIII. I highly recommend this camera.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EOS 70D
Nickname: Kim
Location: Indiana
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Love the Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2014
I purchased this camera because I was looking to step up from my Canon XSi/450D. The pictures I take are fantastic. I have shot mostly nature pictures with the camera so far in varying light levels and have not had any issues getting good shots. I use a EF 100 mm Macro Lens and even in low light shooting mushrooms in the woods I didn't any problems getting good shots.
I had to get used to the auto focusing system, but I like to use the manual focus a great deal too. I was a little surprised by how noisy it was while shooting, but I was able to find how to make it quieter and now I don't scare the birds away.
Once I figured these things out, it took the camera from a 4 to a 5. It is exactly what I need for the type of pictures I shoot.
It is a great step into the higher end Canon Cameras.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EOS 70D
Nickname: DOGG
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Its a solid camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2014
This is my first canon I shot with another brand for 20 yrs and i wasn't happy as of late.I picked up the canon 70d at a store and played with the camera fell in love with it, it is very easy to use.,I have some awesome images from this camera, It's slightly underrated. but overall I'm very happy I just wish it was a full frame, but I'll have to wait for 6dII,
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site