Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG2520

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA MG2520

If you want to print both quality photos as well as crisp documents, the PIXMA MG2520 Inkjet All-In-One is the printer for you.
Average Customer Rating:
2.775 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (71 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
9
3 stars
11
2 stars
5
1 star
28
31 out of 71(44%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG2520
Review 1 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: Bev in TX

Paper Jam

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 15, 2014
Cons: paper jams
My DH purchased one of these and it got a paper jam shortly after the warranty period expired. There was no sign of paper anywhere and the only solution would be to contact support. Since it is out of warranty that was not an option. This is the first time we EVER had to purchase a new printer because of a paper jam!!!
We will not be purchasing any more Canon printers.
Review 2 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: rkreg
Location: North Carolina
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

terrible

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 5, 2014
Cons: Poor build quality
extremely noisy, wont load paper(crumples every sheet) tried different paper with same result. The paper hangs up on the leftt side every time. This is my first Canon printer, I don't think I will buy another.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: brendathegray
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

So sad

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 31, 2014
Cons: Poor build quality, poor mechanical performance
While I was growing up Canon was a name to be respected. The lack of quality in this printer shows how much today's cheap philosophy rules businesses. It sounds like a thrashing machine and prints half the time but not without a fight. All of my printers have been Canon but this will be my last one.
Review 4 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: pam
Location: Beaverton MI
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Awful x 2

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2014
Cons: Poor build quality
I bought the second one thinking i broke the first, it goes into paper jam error when there is no paper jam and freezes up, it has cost me time and money on doing my shipping labels.. Never will I buy a Cannon printer again.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: Emily
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

not the worst, but pretty close

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 10, 2014
This printer has no standardization in print quality. It will print the same document, without adjusting the settings, 5 different ways, if printed 5 times.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: Lesteet
Location: Florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Junk

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2014
Cons: Poor build quality
Paper will not feed. Cleaned rollers, It is so cheap it is not worth the postage to send it back for repair.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: Evie
Location: Atlanta area
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Loud and doesn't print all of the document

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2014
Bought this product for my mom. Needed to be simple as she is 83. She's not a knothead and can use a computer but this printer is not user friendly. She was so excited to get an all-in-one. But it will not print the entire document. All she needs to do is print her bank statement. Little enough task but this printer only prints every other line. I have set up all kinds of printers in my lifetime but this one is not working correctly. Taking it back.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: Opensezme
Location: New York
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

product replacement

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 28, 2014
Pros: Superior build quality
Cons: Semi-sharp images, difficult to navigate
Product worked well the first few weeks. Then all of a sudden it stopped. The printer connection stopped working. I kept receiving a error message that my computer could not detect the printer, although the diagnostic report said that the printer was working properly. I am worried that I have to pack it all up and return it. That's a headache I don't need!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: Merilerole
Location: New York
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Decent, Affordable

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2014
Pros: affordable and good print for letters, decent photo imaging
Cons: doesn't connect right away when you plug it in
The initial cost was reasonable, the replacement ink costs are comparatively low. I didn't plan on printing much, an occasional letter or report for my 8th grader. The printer does go through more ink than I expected though. If we unplug the device from the laptop to change the computer it never loads up right away. We have to keep unplugging and replugging, restarting and once I had to completely reinstall the software (takes a long time). This printer would have gotten much higher ratings from me if it just worked when we plugged it in. It's not a great printer but it's good enough. That extra time and effort to get it to print is just a pain.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: nothappy
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Wasted my time and money

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 20, 2014
Cons: printing from pc too difficult
OK, I know it is inexpensive. That aside, the install was easy enough, the pictures I scan are good.
To print from my pictures on my pc has been the most frustrating experience I have ever experienced.
I have not been able to find instructions on how to delete the 1st document in the print queue. I can delete any and all documents/photos in the queue but not the 1st. This thus indicates the printer is busy and will not procede.
I managed once to print a picture from my pictures by accident and have not been able to replicate.
Too much work to simply print a picture
Review 11 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: clickabic
Location: San Antonio, TX
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent product for the price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 23, 2014
This Canon printer replaced a larger and heavier Canon printer. The MG2520 is much lighter and has a smaller footprint.
I've used the printer, scanner, copier functions with no complaints—except one.
The software that came with it seems to be geared too much to "fun" things like collages, greeting cards, etc. When scanning, windows appear on top of each other without my asking. The file name after scanning is always followed by unwanted numbers, which I have to delete before saving with the file name I use to identify the document.
Other than the software, which is sometimes irritating, the machine itself works very well, and I am pleased with it. The price I paid for the printer was more than worth the product's value.
One last thing: I always check the outside of the box to see what things are NOT included so I don't go home wishing I had read it before leaving the store. It only takes a minute to read and saves a trip back to the store with frustration.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: ambk
Location: Illinois
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Looks like another trip to the store!

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2014
Cons: misleading packaging and instructions
I bought this product today to use for scanning. I was really happy with the product until I got to the end of the installation process. I realized I couldn't even use it until I went back to the store and bought the USB cable to connect my computer and the printer. No where on the box does it say the USB cord is not included, and researching it online would've saved me a trip, but who would think a key component to using it wouldn't even be included?
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: nmgirl
Location: new mexico
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Completely Satisfied

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 15, 2014
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Do your research on items like this because the box clearly said "this does not come with usb cord". Also setting up my printer was the easiest thing ever, seeing that I have never set up a printer in my life. Overall I am very satisfied. The only thing I have a problem with is that online where I bought it said that it was wireless and can fax papers. But it doesn't. But that's not the reason why I bought the thing. My pictures come out very nice, and printing items online are very nice. Im a very happy customer. Thanks Canon. (please do your research people, and stop blaming companies)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: Dreanurse
Location: Georgia
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Wish list

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 13, 2014
Pros: Super-sharp images
everything is great with the printer. It does what its supposed to do. My only problem is that I wanted a wireless printer but I guess I picked out one that was not.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: angry customer
Location: Boston
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature

worst buy ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 24, 2014
Cons: un-usable
I wish I had read the reviews before buying the product. There is NOOOO usb cable in the box. Really canon ??? I have to inconvenience myself and go find out what kind of USB cable this printer supports. Since I cant use the product without a USB cable I am just going to trash it, because thats were it belongs.
7 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: Brandon
Location: West Hills, CA

missing required part

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 21, 2014
Nowhere on the box does it tell you that you need a USB cord to set up or use this printer. Like several of the reviewers here, I came home with the product ready to use it... only to realize this sad fact. After reading several reviews stating exact what I am now... I even inspected the entire box (top, bottom, every single side) and sure enough no mention of needing a USB cable. Not many products nowadays are missing the required component to use it in the first place.... but this is one of them.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: johnjohn
Location: Houston, TX
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Do NOT buy it !!!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 20, 2014
Cons: Semi-sharp images
Basic needs fulfilled at an average standard: printing, scanning, copying
PERSONAL EXP: Loud as a blender, paper jamming after 6 months of purchase. Ok machine but no thanks...
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: Courtney

Excited until i opened the box

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2014
Cons: do not provide proper hardware
I am very upset right now... My boyfriend got me this printer for my birthday.. i was happy until i realized that we have to spend even more money on a cord that should have been supplied by Canon..but fortunately this is my first and last experience with Canon products.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: Crystal
Location: Conway, AR
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Not All Parts Included!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2014
I should have looked at more reviews of this product. No where on the box, manual or instructions does it say that you have to buy a USB cable to connect your printer to your computer until you're almost done with the installation. You would think Canon would include ALL necessary equipment to use this. Going back to the store and hoping to find a USB cable so I can finally use the printer.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: mself61
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

ALL IN ONE !

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2014
Cons: cannot scan without cartridges installed. or error
I've owned quite a few PCS machines, my previous one was a Cannon as well, for the cost of the new cartridges of ink you can buy a new PCS, of course they sell you the low level cartridges out of the box that last a few times if you use them "regularly", I bought the MG2520 because my last MP160 died, and I need to do scanning and for some odd (Cough) reason they seem to cost way more just for a scanner only, I don't need to print much at all and if I do they usually seem to run out of ink when you need them the most. so I bought this to just SCAN from and not use the printer at all, funny it worked the first time without installing cartridges at all, now I'm finding out you can't scan even from the "windows scanner program" without having the cartridges in. so now I MUST install cartridges I will not use to do my scanning and eventually there WILL be an error that of course will NOT allow me to scan. so next time shoping I will be on the lookout for one that does scan WITHOUT the need for cartridges.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site