Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MG Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MG Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG3520

PIXMA MG3520

Features Full-photolithography Inkjet Nozzle Engineering (FINE) with a patented print head firing ink droplets as small as 2pl. Print documents and web pages with fast speeds of approx. 9.9 images per minute (ipm) for black and 5.7 images per minutes (ipm) for color. Conveniently load the front of your PIXMA printer with genuine Canon FINE ink cartridges and paper at the front of the printer, so you're ready to print fast. Wirelessly print photos, emails, web pages, documents, and more from your compatible iPad ® , iPhone ® , or iPod touch ® devices to your Canon PIXMA Wireless All-In-One.
Average Customer Rating:
2.947 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
6
10 out of 19(53%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG3520
Review 1 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: Chief
Location: Lake Stevens, WA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Great printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2014
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
I've had this printer for several months and use it daily. I am more that satisfied with its performance and quality of printing.
I would recommend it anyone wanting a small, inexpensive, quality printer. Bought the service plan. Don't thing I will need to use it,
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: Anonymous

Worked a few times, then broke

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2014
Cons: unreliable, Flimsy Construction, stops working after several uses
I purchased the MG3520 to replace a printer I had had for several years. I liked the features and its compact size. However after using the printer only a few times it started sending me an error message saying there was a printer jam. There was NO paper in the printer. I reset the printer several times and opened it up to double check that there wasn't some small piece of paper hiding-- there was not. I am very disappointed with the quality of this printer and what seems to be its planned obsolescence. I am now forced to go purchase a new printer from another company.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: kb

great printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 12, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint, Heavy/Bulky
The bad reviews have mostly come from people that found the installation difficult. I did not.
If you couldn't install through wireless mode they gave you an option at the end to use a USB wire, not provided but I had one from a previous printer.
You pretty much just plug in the wire, let the computer detect the printer, and click next a few times. After 5 mins the printer is installed and you never need the USB again.
I found the use of the printer quite easy and loved it after first scan.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: M
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Used this product for: Less than 1 month

No. Just No.

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable
Setting this thing up was THE biggest pain. My OS needs to be updated to be compatible with this printer, that's my fault, so I used my phone to set it up. This is supposed to be made easy with the phone app. Not only are there no actual instructions on how to connect, but if you want to actually figure out how to do it, you need to switch between about 5 different web pages and the app at the same time. And it doesn't even really tell you how to do what it wants you to do, so it's super confusing. After I spent a couple hours figuring out how to setup this thing, I was finally able to print.
But no. Not really. Every print that isn't a picture needs to go through a Data Conversion Service first. And I've been trying to print things for about an hour now, and I keep getting errors on this Data Conversion Services end even though it says it's not undergoing maintenance. There isn't even troubleshooting for it.
This thing was supposed to help me in college, but instead I feel like I need to go as far as majoring in this printer to get it to work. Not happy.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: Canon Enthusiast

DO NOT BUY

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, fast print speed
Cons: Dull Tones & Colors, High Ink Consumption, unreliable
It seemed cool at first. Everything was running smoothly and then out of nowhere in less than 6 months the dang thing just won't turn on.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

DO NOT BUY

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2014
Cons: everything!!
I am a college student and I was searching for a good priced reliable printer. I bought this printer thinking that I wasn't going to have any problems with it, especially for the price and because it IS a Canon! This printer sits on top of my desk and hasn't fell off or anything like that. I have only used it about 10 times since I have had it and every single time it's a nightmare. It takes me an hour to print 10 pages because the paper is constantly getting jammed and because it just fails print (when it fails to print it sends multiple pages through the printer at one time which I am sure isn't good for the motor). Save your money!
Review 7 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: Yl
Location: Az
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

I hate this printer!!!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2014
It is so annoying that I can not get this stupid thing to connect to the wifi!! So I can only use it with one of the computers in my home!! Safe your money and buy a better product!! I really regret this purchase!!!
6 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: GAGIRL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years

Wirelessly Set Up in NO time

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 6, 2014
It literally only took me 15 minutes to set up this printer via WiFi and 12 of that was for the CD to install the software. I was worried about this due to the reviews I had read, but was pleasantly surprised, especially considering that the WiFi I was using is notoriously bad. Such a good experience, I am buying another for myself (this one was a gift). The onscreen menu is a little confusing but I am sure I can figure it out if I spend a little time with it.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: Snyper0012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Easy To Use + Cheap

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2014
Pros: ease of use, simple, Easy Setup, reliable
Cons: somewhat slow printing, lack of features
Very good printer for the price. Although printing speed does lack somewhat compared to its competition, it makes up for its ease of setup and use. I needed a printer urgently to print some of my portfolio pieces and what came out was more than sufficient color quality and consistency. I recommend this surely for anyone who is looking for a bang for your buck.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: Nat
Location: Antioch , il
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2014
Pros: awesome printer. i print from my iphone 5s
Cons: must get a usb cable for initial set up
The instructions are not complicated. They give a CD you put in your laptop and you follow the directions. For the initial set up, get a USB cable for printers.
It's not included but once you do the initial set up via USB cable your good to go. No more cable needed. I connected my Iphone 5s to printer via Air print.
If you choose not to the USB cable initial set up , you will be frustrated because it won't connect via wifi at first. I think that what most people are upset about. Once you connect it once via USB cable it pick up your wifi and your done, no need for the cable
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: essess
Location: SF Bay Area
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Easy Setup for Mac

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2014
Pros: price, compact size, Easy Setup, impressive features, good performance
Cons: none as yet
Although not a 'Techie' I had absolutely no problems setting up this printer to my desktop Mac via USB and to my Macbook Pro via wiFi. Just followed instructions.
Price is extremely good for the range of features offered and initial test printings look good.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: morgano

Set-up is a joke.....

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2014
I haven't even gotten this printer to work yet, because the set-up instructions may of well been written in Russian, or Chinese! Set-up won't work on my iPhone 5S, iPad, or laptop w/ Windows because this thing will not connect to wifi that is currently running on all three other devices!! Piece of junk!
8 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: kat
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Confusing but OK

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2014
Pros: print from anywhere, wireless, scan and copy
Cons: confusing set up, unclear directions, not mac friendly
Just as other reviews have stated, this is not as straight-forward as plugging into your computer and printing... at least if you have a Mac. I bought a USB cord, but in the end I didn't need it because I just hooked it up to my iPad using the wireless connection. That set up is a bit confusing, but now that it is all connected, I have to say I love being able to print from my iPad or iPhone at any time from any place!
The trick is getting the the app (Pixma Software Solutions). Then, follow the not-so-easy-to-follow directions on the app itself.
So, this product is ideal for someone who wants to be able to print from a tablet or smart phone. Also you must have a little bit if savvy when it comes to technology.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: shaggy
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

terrible

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2014
Have always been a big fan of Cannon in the past, but the MG3520 wi-fi connecttion dose not work. Very complicated set up and directions. Very frustrating spent most of the night working with, but just decided to pack it up and return it. Will diffidently try another brand tomorrow.
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: Lilly
Location: Richmond, va
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Nice

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2014
Pros: Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Difficult Setup
Like others have said, connecting this printer to a Mac was a pain. I had to purchase an USB cord to connect the printer to computer/wifi. After the printer and Mac synced it instructed me to remove USB cord.
All seems to be working properly. Photos and documents print quickly. There's an option to print 2 sided, I like this feature.
Overall, my only bit of advice is if you have a Mac be sure to buy an USB cord when you buy the printer (unless you have wsb). I had to run back out to the store which is why I give it 4 out 5 stars. The box is marked plainly Mac.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great value but extremely difficult to setup

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Difficult Setup
Bought the printer for the wireless feature but found the setup software (Canon IJ Network Tool) to be problematic. Setup completely failed on Mac OS X (10.9). I can connect wirelessly to the printer but cannot assign the printer my home network's SSID.
I managed to get around the problem by using the setup software for the iPad (PIXMA Print). However, this was not a very straightforward process either. For security reasons, my home network's wireless router does not broadcast it's SSID. I had to first set the router to broadcast the SSID, run the setup through the iPad to assign the SSID to the printer, and then set the router back to it's original configuration. This only worked on the iPad. I initially tried this on OS X but I could not detect my network's SSID even when I had set the router to broadcast it.
The setup software is needlessly complicated. All you really want to do is establish a connection between your device and the printer. Once you get access to the printer, you should be able to manually type your network's SSID.
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: Nick
Location: Little Rock, AR
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

EXcellent Value, Exceptional Print Quality

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2013
Pros: Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed
Printing photos is a joy with this printer. They loook ,just like the prints I used to get from the photo lab. Well done, Canon!
9 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: Mr Larsson
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Incompatible with Airport Express

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2013
Pros: Compact Design, fast print speed
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup
Hooking up the Canon Pixma 3550 to my iMac using a USB cable went smoothly. But the reason I bought the printer was to print using wi-fi. This feature does not, however, work as advertised.
Connecting the printer to my Airport Extreme Basestation is, as far as I can tell, impossible. I've tried all methods offered by Canon's installation software and none of them work.
Trying to connect using WPS isn't possible because there is no button on the access point (my wi-fi base station I assume) which I'm asked to push after having been instructed to enter a byzantine combination of buttons on the printer itself.
The PIN code method becomes a dead end when I'm asked to enter a PIN code into the computer's "setup screen". I have no idea what a "Set up screen" is.
I'm appaled at the poor quality of Canon's installation software and would advise anyone wanting to print wirelessly to choose another product.
30 of 33 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: rackumupp
Location: Anaheim CA

satisfied customer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2013
I just bought my MG3520 white and I am impressed. The ease of use is very convenient. The print quality is outstanding in both black & color modes. For the price this is an excellent Home/office printer/copier/scanner
34 of 36 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site