Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MG Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MG Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG3520

PIXMA MG3520

Features Full-photolithography Inkjet Nozzle Engineering (FINE) with a patented print head firing ink droplets as small as 2pl. Print documents and web pages with fast speeds of approx. 9.9 images per minute (ipm) for black and 5.7 images per minutes (ipm) for color. Conveniently load the front of your PIXMA printer with genuine Canon FINE ink cartridges and paper at the front of the printer, so you're ready to print fast. Wirelessly print photos, emails, web pages, documents, and more from your compatible iPad ® , iPhone ® , or iPod touch ® devices to your Canon PIXMA Wireless All-In-One.
Average Customer Rating:
2.548 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
13
13 out of 31(42%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG3520
Review 1 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: Country Joe
Location: Louisville, KY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Replacement for 8 year old Cannon

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: noisy
This is a replacement for my MP210 which finally bit the dust. If you follow the instructions carefully and use the install disk, then this printer is easy to set up. Also I use a USB cable which make it a lot easier. There is an on-screen manual available after the install to help if you have any problems. When printing pictures, I prefer using "Easy Photo Print EX" instead of the complicated and busy Cannon Quick Menu. The printer is a bit more noisy then my other printer, but other than that I am very satisfied with it.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: mad
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months

Not happy

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2014
Product does not stay on. Have to turn on and off printer in order to get it to print. Sometimes I have to turn in on or off multiple time before it is even detected on the network. Attempted to update firmware to fix problem and will not. This product is nothing but a headache and pile of you know what. I have owned it less then a year and thinking about throwing it out and buying a different printer. What a waste of money!
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: kb25
Location: Columbus, OH
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Not my best purchase

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 9, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, durable, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup, unreliable
I am a young college student, looking for an all-in-one printer. This particular printer was on sale so I decided to go with it for financial purposes. The printer worked okay but now that I have a new computer it will not allow me to scan anything into my computer, which is a main reason why I bought it! Very disappointed with my purchase.
Review 4 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: TF

Can't Print If it Doesn't Power up

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2014
Cons: unreliable
The printer operated fine on the day of purchase. Tried to power up the printer two days later without success. Troubleshooting did not produce any results so I'm returning the product.
I will not replace with the same product and would urge others to consider the poor quality when researching this printer.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: kichi
Location: California
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

I hate this printer!!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 24, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, unreliable
I have never had such strong (negative) feelings for a printer. When my computer stops saying that it isn't connected to the printer...duh, its wireless....then it tells me that there is no paper. It is FULL of paper!! I turn it on, off, on, over and over and sometimes it catches, most of the time not. I have moved it, I have downloaded new drivers.... I am ready to throw it across the room! I give up!!!
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: ElCid

Still new so rating is "neutral"

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 20, 2014
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, fast print speed
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup
Haven't had a chance to use the printer, but I got it to replace an old Pixma MP 150 that finally died. Also, new Windows wouldn't always recognize it.
NOTE: There is NO USB cable in the package, so you either have to use one you have or purchase one. This should be noted prominently on the box. Not everybody uses wireless.
Instructions are on a very large fold-out piece of paper which is cumbersome to use.
Instructions do NOT note that all applications have to be shut down before loading the Canon disc.
Instructions do not say when to connect the USB cable, just a PC notice that device is not connected.
There is a note on instructions for canon.com/ijsetup which is where I learned to shut down other applications.
All operating instructions are "in the computer" I really miss having some basic or quick reference instructions on paper so I do not have to go searching.
It appears to be a good product and I have received good support from Canon in the past.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: Katie
Location: Corona Ca.
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Slow worst printer ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, unreliable
This all in one did work from day one the instructions are not user friendly and making a copy or printing is so slow and the quality is poor
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: LarryB
Location: Tampa, FL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

TERRIBLE MANUALS!!! TERRIBLE TROUBLESHOOTING!!!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2014
Pros: Compact Design
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup, terrible manual, terrible troubleshooting
First: I am a techie. A real, highly experienced computer professional.
Perhaps this would be a great printer...if I could get it to work. But since the error messages make no sense, and link me to places in the manual that aren't appropriate, I have few hopes of that. And that leads to my primary complaint: Instead of making a manual be available, they have only offered an online manual. It is terrible. You click through, and through, and through...to finally get to a single paragraph that isn't what you want or need. Then you back up and try again. A single PDF manual could be read, and searched....but Canon decided not to give one.
I could not be more annoyed.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: Jemifi
Location: Florida
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

When it works it works great, however...

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, Low Ink Consumption
Cons: Slow Print Speed, unreliable
I found the setup to be relatively easy. The print quality was good as well. However, the printing was rather slow and the machine took a while to warm up in the morning. I could put up with this as the price was fair and the ink seemed to go far. However, out of the blue the printer started printing with broken lines as if the printhead was misaligned. All troubleshooting efforts went nowhere and less than four months after my purchase I am looking for a new printer.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Bad Design-High Noise & Ink Use

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 13, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, Heavy/Bulky, Difficult Setup, High Ink Consumption, bad noise
Printer is Big. Makes loud priming and whirr click noises on every print job start and also loud whirr click noises after each print job. Quiet mode has no effect on this. Ink is used to prime on each print job if not done within a few minutes of the previous job.
Scan is slow and each time in wireless mode the scanner must be found and warmed up. My canon lide 110 scanner just scans and is done.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: unhappy

bad quality

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 10, 2014
Cons: unreliable, Flimsy Construction
I had the exact same experience others have noted with this printer. For the few times it printed before going into this phantom paper jam mode it seemed fine. Unfortunately it stopped working forever and desoite taking it completely apart to9 find the suppossed jam it is still not printing. Poor quality dont waste your money like I wasted mine
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: Bobbo
Location: Macon. GA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Terrific product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 26, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: Difficult Setup
I have admired Canon products for years. but finally own one for myself. I am highly pleased. It performs beautifully.
3 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: Chief
Location: Lake Stevens, WA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Great printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2014
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
I've had this printer for several months and use it daily. I am more that satisfied with its performance and quality of printing.
I would recommend it anyone wanting a small, inexpensive, quality printer. Bought the service plan. Don't thing I will need to use it,
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: Anonymous

Worked a few times, then broke

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2014
Cons: unreliable, Flimsy Construction, stops working after several uses
I purchased the MG3520 to replace a printer I had had for several years. I liked the features and its compact size. However after using the printer only a few times it started sending me an error message saying there was a printer jam. There was NO paper in the printer. I reset the printer several times and opened it up to double check that there wasn't some small piece of paper hiding-- there was not. I am very disappointed with the quality of this printer and what seems to be its planned obsolescence. I am now forced to go purchase a new printer from another company.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: kb

great printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 12, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint, Heavy/Bulky
The bad reviews have mostly come from people that found the installation difficult. I did not.
If you couldn't install through wireless mode they gave you an option at the end to use a USB wire, not provided but I had one from a previous printer.
You pretty much just plug in the wire, let the computer detect the printer, and click next a few times. After 5 mins the printer is installed and you never need the USB again.
I found the use of the printer quite easy and loved it after first scan.
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: M
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Used this product for: Less than 1 month

No. Just No.

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable
Setting this thing up was THE biggest pain. My OS needs to be updated to be compatible with this printer, that's my fault, so I used my phone to set it up. This is supposed to be made easy with the phone app. Not only are there no actual instructions on how to connect, but if you want to actually figure out how to do it, you need to switch between about 5 different web pages and the app at the same time. And it doesn't even really tell you how to do what it wants you to do, so it's super confusing. After I spent a couple hours figuring out how to setup this thing, I was finally able to print.
But no. Not really. Every print that isn't a picture needs to go through a Data Conversion Service first. And I've been trying to print things for about an hour now, and I keep getting errors on this Data Conversion Services end even though it says it's not undergoing maintenance. There isn't even troubleshooting for it.
This thing was supposed to help me in college, but instead I feel like I need to go as far as majoring in this printer to get it to work. Not happy.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: Canon Enthusiast

DO NOT BUY

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, fast print speed
Cons: Dull Tones & Colors, High Ink Consumption, unreliable
It seemed cool at first. Everything was running smoothly and then out of nowhere in less than 6 months the dang thing just won't turn on.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

DO NOT BUY

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2014
Cons: everything!!
I am a college student and I was searching for a good priced reliable printer. I bought this printer thinking that I wasn't going to have any problems with it, especially for the price and because it IS a Canon! This printer sits on top of my desk and hasn't fell off or anything like that. I have only used it about 10 times since I have had it and every single time it's a nightmare. It takes me an hour to print 10 pages because the paper is constantly getting jammed and because it just fails print (when it fails to print it sends multiple pages through the printer at one time which I am sure isn't good for the motor). Save your money!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: Yl
Location: Az
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

I hate this printer!!!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2014
It is so annoying that I can not get this stupid thing to connect to the wifi!! So I can only use it with one of the computers in my home!! Safe your money and buy a better product!! I really regret this purchase!!!
7 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MG3520
Nickname: GAGIRL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years

Wirelessly Set Up in NO time

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 6, 2014
It literally only took me 15 minutes to set up this printer via WiFi and 12 of that was for the CD to install the software. I was worried about this due to the reviews I had read, but was pleasantly surprised, especially considering that the WiFi I was using is notoriously bad. Such a good experience, I am buying another for myself (this one was a gift). The onscreen menu is a little confusing but I am sure I can figure it out if I spend a little time with it.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site