Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MG Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MG Series or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5520

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA MG5520

PIXMA Printing Solutions (PPS) app easily lets you print and scan photos or documents from your mobile device. With the cloud print function you can print directly from online cloud services either at the printer itself or with your mobile device using the free PPS app. 5 individual ink tanks and ChromaLife100+ System gives you great plain paper and photo quality. Offers a wide array of convenience features like Auto Power On, Auto Scan Mode, Quick Start, and Quiet Mode. Quickly and easily replace your inks while sitting at your desk with the convenient Snap Edge feature.
Average Customer Rating:
3.053 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(94 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (94 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
14
3 stars
15
2 stars
9
1 star
28
13 out of 30(43%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5520
Review 1 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: welchbm
Location: South Carolina
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

poor UX design

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2015
i've owned severl canon printers, i purchased this one for the google cloud print capabilities. From the start i've been frustrated with his printer, primarily from the poor design of the user interface of the digital control panel. Then the printer broke and won't print anymore, i've had it less than 6 months and i use it occasionally. Very disabppointed. Tried taking it back to the store but they wouldn't take it so i now have to deal directly with Canon. I hope they will take this printer back and send me a different model.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: obLucky
Location: California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

OK with cautions

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 10, 2015
Plus side - cheaper ink, looks fabulous
Minus side- Hard to operate. I cannot find out how to scan a photo above 600DPI. Not at all intuitive.
For less than a dollar they could have added a USB or SD slot so you could avoid the balky computer interface.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: lynamp52
Location: Ceres, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

The Merchant Wants a Review!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 24, 2015
The Canon PIXMA-MG5520 is a very standard but uniquely multifunction product. The updated technology is a plus Bluetooth comparability is great the part jobs come out good it is a very versital product. Very easy to to use for the print, scan & copy projects I do.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: desert88030moon
Location: Southwest New Mexico High Desert
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Love Love LOVE this printer!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 15, 2015
I'm in love with this printer! It is larger than my previous all-in-ones, but of greater quality, which shows in everything I print. I did have trouble getting it to connect with my WiFi, but living in this near-border community, such things are a regular occurrence. I just plugged it in and off it went! I have had -0- troubles of any kind! I just finished printing a rather large project involving color printing, and frankly, I was wincing at how much ink I figured it was using. Other brands would be nearly empty, in my mind... But when I checked the ink status, it showed approximately 80% full! I'm overjoyed!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: 3rd Canon Owned
Location: Omaha, NE
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

MG 5520 NOT GOOD

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2015
This is the third Canon printer I've owned. For some reason they all don't work well. Most recent the MG 5520 I upgraded my router and now the dang thing wont stay connected. Have to delete everything and redownload everything just to print. Will be getting rid of this printer really soon. Owned for 6 months got it brand new.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Cricket
Location: Rockford, IL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Pitiful

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2015
I have spent far more time trying to clear errors with this printer than actually printing anything. The main one is that it's out of paper when it has plenty of paper. I repeatedly go through all of the steps in reloading it and aligning the tray until it finally decides to work for a while - but then, inexplicably, it will quit in the middle of a project and throw an Out of Paper error.
It has the least intuitive design of any printer I have worked with and is by far the most frustrating and least reliable. I actually figure out ways to avoid printing if at all possible just to avoid using it.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Kiko
Location: Tewksbury, MA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Nice but poor print quality

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2015
Perhaps it is me - but I am unable to adjust the print quality and find it to be vey poor.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Craig
Location: Panama City, Florida
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Meh..

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 22, 2015
Alright for the occasional home print job. Runs through ink like a frat boy through a 6 pack! And the replacement ink isn't cheap! Quality is also meh..if you want high quality it will saturate your paper and eat up even more ink.
Other than that it is a trusty ol' steede.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: duhi
Location: Rochester, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Excellent

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2015
This printer does everything that I expected. Easy set and operation. Excellent quality.
Review 10 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Penemonie
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year

works great for a while but problems came...

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 14, 2015
had a hassle to get everything set up but it was pretty good the first two months. after that problems came- i couldn't load a lot of paper in the tray because otherwise it would want me to reload the paper. now it scans really really slow like it is taking a sweet time chilling. and now when i print a ms word doc from my mac the layout is wrong even though i am sure i didn't do any change to the page layout settings.
DON'T BUY THIS.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: kraftyferret
Location: Greeley, CO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Annoying

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 13, 2015
Doesn't like to print over wifi. 90% of the time we have to walk to the room its in and connect via usb to be able to print. Only amazon kindle seems to have no issues. It does not print quickly either. When printing a 5 page document, it would print a page, then sit and do nothing for about 30 seconds to a minute before printing the next page.
The scanner works alright, but if you don't already have scanning software on your computer, it probably won't scan for you. I have not had an issue with paper jamming but it frequently is unable to grab paper from the tray so you end up having to adjust the paper tray often, sometimes after each page is printed. Lastly, the ink seems to run out very quickly. I don't print very often but my ink levels always seem to get low within a few pages. It won't print anything if any ink color is empty, even if it won't be using that color.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Bud
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Frustrating

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 1, 2015
The first trial during set up resulted in a paper jam I could not clear. Back to the store. Three different people worked on it and partially disassembled the printer before getting it clear.
Next effort was to copy a document. Unit would not print.
Tomorrow it goes back for a refund.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: bison
Location: New York
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

not best ever

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2015
Fails to print frequently requiring more than one attempt. Have tried I pad and windows 8 computer with same problem. Print quality is fair. Good price but do not recommend.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Ziggmonster7
Location: Southern Oregon
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

An Honest Opinion

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2015
I admit that I may be trying to attempt an operation incorrectly. The print editing tool that helps focus blurry pictures works well, but I cannot find a way yet to save the picture on my computer afterwards, only print it. Otherwise, I feel that my Canon printer is the best on the market, and I recommend it for anyone entering college, where a multitasking scanner/printer is a necessary tool. I also appreciate good quality color pictures, which I have produced so far, and have expectations of continued quality production on all my different project plans. Thank you.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Francine
Location: NJ
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents

good product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2015
I have Canon digital cameras and 3 in 1 wireless cloud printer. All great products at reasonable prices. Customer support has always been very helpful.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: jewkp
Location: Texas
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Wonderful Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2015
I recently had to replace my printer when mine quit working. The sales reps where I purchased it highly recommended this canon machine since I print pictures occasionally. It's a bit more complicated than my previous printer (different brand) but once I figured it all out I love all the features it has on it. I also wanted a printer with separate color cartridges, which this one has. The price was great and quality of the printing is excellent. I would definitely recommend this printer to anyone looking to purchase.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Dollygreeneyes
Location: Milwaukee WI
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Not user friendly

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2015
I purchase a Pixma printer, what really bother me is I had to load a manual on line. Did it ever occur to companies that some people have medical issues and can't not sit at a computer for long, Here I had to upload the manual to figure out things. Just not good for a person with a disability. I like the printer but really I think you should have put a manual in the box.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: HowlinKeeley
Location: Virginia
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Worst printer ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2015
This printer was bought because I thought hey, good price. but little did I know why that price was so good. BECAUSE IT'S JUNK! This printer worked fine in the beginning, computer and phone connected. But now after a few months, my computer can't "find it", my phone wont print to it and now it can't even hook up to my wireless router! This printer just degenerated so quickly I'm disgusted with it. Can't return because it's past its 90 day warranty so the only thing it's good for now is target practice!
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Danice
Location: Wisconsin
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

NOT Google Drive friendly

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2015
The main factor in my purchase of this all-in-one was that it claimed to work with Google Drive. It does, if all you ever need to do is print. If you want scan to it, though, you are out of luck. Not only that, there's no USB or SD card slot that you can scan documents to. This one will be going back to the store tomorrow. :-/ Not quite ready for prime time. I'm a Google rep in a big-box electronics store...won't be recommending this one to customers.
Review 20 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Tony
Location: Lodi, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best purchase in a long time.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2015
This printer is far more advanced and better meets my needs than the last Canon printer. Thank you so very much.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site