Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MG Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MG Series or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5520

PIXMA MG5520

PIXMA Printing Solutions (PPS) app easily lets you print and scan photos or documents from your mobile device. With the cloud print function you can print directly from online cloud services either at the printer itself or with your mobile device using the free PPS app. 5 individual ink tanks and ChromaLife100+ System gives you great plain paper and photo quality. Offers a wide array of convenience features like Auto Power On, Auto Scan Mode, Quick Start, and Quiet Mode. Quickly and easily replace your inks while sitting at your desk with the convenient Snap Edge feature.
Average Customer Rating:
3.107 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (75 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
13
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 star
22
13 out of 30(43%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5520
Review 1 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Tony
Location: Lodi, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best purchase in a long time.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2015
This printer is far more advanced and better meets my needs than the last Canon printer. Thank you so very much.
Review 2 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: dc
Location: High Springs, FL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Nice printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2015
The printer I have used for the past 3 years began having problems. So I needed a printer. The Canon almost fits my needs, no fax, my bad. Good color, works fast with different all paper lbs. I use.
Review 3 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Manatee_44
Location: Florida
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Canon Air Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2015
We recently purchased a Canon Air Printer so that we can print off the iPad. We were in awe of how easy it was easy to install and use. The scanning feature is SO simple. Much easier than other printers. We've scanned photos as well as documents. Instructions are right there in a window on the printer. It's fast when printing out items.
We LOVE it!
Review 4 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Joe
Location: Cleveland, OH
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Good Quality Machine

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2015
This is a good quality machine. However it does take some time to setup each print job. It is also a tad noisy. Print quality is outstanding.
Review 5 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: phototaker
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2015
I was skeptical because of the low price but was pleasantly surprised. It was very easy to set up the wireless capability to my phone and my laptop. It prints very clear photos. I haven't printed any documents yet but I'm sure they will look good.
It takes 5 different ink cartriges, hopefully they will last a while and don't cost too much to replace.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: MAC
Location: Indiana
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Product replacement: Yes

MAC owner not happy

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2015
I'm furious! We just bought this Canon Pixma 5520. It comes with an installation CD for PC but not for our MACs. Instead, I have to go to Canon's website, find the info I need, and download it… for EACH of our MACs. Due to our location, our internet is very slow and this will take forever! Why doesn't this product include the install CD for MAC?!!! I might be returning this product just because it is such an inconvenience to deal with. NOT happy about this.
5 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Artistwithin2
Location: St.Augustine, FL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Wonderful Printer!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2015
I was so frustrated with my printing problems from another brand of printer all-in-one,that I found this printer @ a reasonable price when shopping w/ friends, & on impulse brought it home! I haven't regretted it a bit! I set it up w/ my home network so easily...and it prints so perfectly. I highly recommend you to buy it! I also use it from my smartphone & tablet, just as easily! You won't be sorry if this fits your needs!
Review 8 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Frustrated
Location: Melville NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Frustrated

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2015
Do not purchase have not been able to use. It kicks off line.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Ferrit
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very bad purchase

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2015
Purchased a Cannon Pixma MG5520 printer December 2013 from Staples, the printer now jams with paper and something inside came loose making awful noises, will not print.
Review 10 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: teach
Location: Pennsylvania
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Not happy

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2015
This printer is very slow and runs out of ink quickly--even when I only print in black and white. I just replaced the color cartridges and have printed nothing in color. Yet the cartridges are already showing that they are empty. I love my old Canon printer but am very disappointed in the MG 5520.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: salvajewendy
Location: rochester ny
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

canon printer and scanner

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2015
this is the best printer i have ever found. it has beautiful picture quality after printing and also comes with the ink. great and well worth the price
Review 12 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: shadykd
Location: arizona
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Should have read the specs better

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2014
I like the way it prints however I hadn't noticed that it does not do 8 1/2 by 11 copies Also, the paper holder after the copy is made is not long enough.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: CanonUser
Location: Riverview, FL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Canon MG5520

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2014
Friendly to setup and operate, great quality printing
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Bobbi
Location: Louisiana
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great Deal!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2014
I went to the store to get print cartridges for my existing printer and this Cannon MG5520 printer cost less than the print cartridges for the printer at my house. The replacement cartridges for the Cannon cost less also - but I haven't had to buy any of those because the printer came with great cartridges. I think they must be regular cartridges because I have printed like crazy and they are still going strong! I love this printer.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Fizzy
Location: LufkinTX
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Works Great

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2014
Works great ink is reasonable much cheaper than my old printer.
Review 16 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: bobbyd
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

solid value

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2014
Easy to set up using only quick start guide on wifi and AirPrint. Good speed and resolution. I'd give it 5 stars if it had a paper feeder in addition to the paper tray and the paper tray held more paper.
Review 17 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Morph2187
Location: Charlotte, MI
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very poor performence

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 21, 2014
I got this printer in September of 2014 its now December of 2014. I typically print a couple pages every other week or so. This printer worked great for the first month or so. After that the printer would constantly give me the error that there was no paper even though the paper tray was full. I would unplug the printer and plug it back in and would usually work. Sometimes I would have to do this more than once. Now when it attempts to pull paper in it makes a small effort, moves the page about an inch and stops. It then gives me the no paper error. I have not been able to get error to be resolved or print in anyway. On top of this issue the wireless printing is hit or miss at best, the printer takes around 2-3 minutes to power on and prints relatively slowly. The issues with the slow printing and powering on don't bother me to much, the wireless issues are irritating but not bad enough to pitch the printer, but the lack of printing and the constantly having to reset the printer are unacceptable.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Bunnigirl
Location: Tulsa, OK
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Print This

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2014
Your holiday offer made my purchase easy and cost effective.. My new Canon MG5520 printer is wonderful.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: ATXan
Location: Austin, TX
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

worthless

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2014
I bought the MG5520, thinking I'd gotten a good deal, and it worked fine for the first week... printed several pages, not especially fast, and with seemingly excessive amounts of whirring and clicking, but at least it worked.... Now it gives error code 6000 when powered on and does nothing else. The "troubleshooting guide" recommends turning it off and on and having it serviced if that doesn't work. Seriously?! One week and several pages for my investment?! Do yourself a favor and pick a different printer.
Review 20 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Kati
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great buy

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2014
Inexpensive. Easy to set up and easy to use. I am pleased.
1 2 3 4 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site