Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MG Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MG Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5520

PIXMA MG5520

PIXMA Printing Solutions (PPS) app easily lets you print and scan photos or documents from your mobile device. With the cloud print function you can print directly from online cloud services either at the printer itself or with your mobile device using the free PPS app. 5 individual ink tanks and ChromaLife100+ System gives you great plain paper and photo quality. Offers a wide array of convenience features like Auto Power On, Auto Scan Mode, Quick Start, and Quiet Mode. Quickly and easily replace your inks while sitting at your desk with the convenient Snap Edge feature.
Average Customer Rating:
3.077 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
5
13 out of 26(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5520
Review 1 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: RJ
Location: Columbus OH
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Wireless Printing a Challenge

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 20, 2014
Pros: Compact Design
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, unreliable
Setup was OK, but since then connectivity is spotty. I have to restart my laptop or the printer almost every time I print. We use this strictly wireless from a couple of laptops and an iPad. The iPad worked twice and hasn't been able to find the printer since. The laptops print sometimes, but most of the time we need to restart either the printer or the laptop in order for the page to print. Often, when the one laptop hangs while printing, we have to restart the wireless router to allow the laptop to continue accessing the internet. This only happens when printing hangs. Don't think I'd buy another Canon.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Sean
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Dissatisfied

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, unreliable
Overall it has many nice features and the pigment printing is nice. Wireless setup is very easy on Windows 7+ operating systems. However, it is very slow printing, especially anything with graphics. It seems to have a hard time with PDF files, often getting confused and either "processing" but never printing, or printing just portion of images or sections. I spent over an hour last night trying to finagle a seven page PDF out of it. I did eventually get the pages, by printing each single page individually. I have never had a printer operate this poorly.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: sunnyaz4me
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Crafts/Scrapbooking
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Purchased Despite Neg Reviews

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2014
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Purchased this Canon for use at home despite it's receiving negative reviews. I've had it for over a week now and it's been fabulous! I was able to link to my wi-fi easily (haven't tried my phone yet). I do remember seeing a special sheet in with the papers giving a number to call, but I didn't need it. I've been printing some heavy duty ink consuming projects (hence the new printer) and it seems to be doing great. Not sure I can classify it as low, but def standard ink consumption. It's super easy to use and even warned me once that I was getting ready to print on a side of paper that I'd already printed on. I haven't used the scanner yet....
Review 4 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Stumped
Location: Alabama
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year

great printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2014
Pros: Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Difficult Setup
Had some problems getting it to connect to wireless adapter, but now works great, faster printing than my last printer and clearer print. Have not had long enough to say anything about how long a cartridge will last.
Review 5 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Finnman
Location: NJ
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good Printer Needs More Features

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: Flimsy Construction
Replaced a Canon MP620 due to print head failure after four years with no other problems.
Setup was easy using the CD and the Quick Install Guide.
Connected wireless with no problem. IPad app connected without problem.
Like the feature of 5 separate ink tanks like the MP620 to cut ink cost down. Scan to PDF was simple to use. LCD display clear and again easy to use.
Improvements should be a another feed tray like the MP620. To print 4x6 photos need to remove 8.5x11 paper. MP620 had a rear tray to feed 4x6. Also rear tray was good to print on one sheet of special paper. Paper tray does not slide into unit like the MP620 and when closing the paper tray it bends the paper up a little. Platen cover is OK but not too sturdy.
There is no Ethernet connection only USB and wireless. MP620 was Ethernet but no wireless.
Overall well satisfied but needs some features the MP620 has.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: frustrated
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 7, 2014
Directions were not very good. The ink head was not installed and the directions did not tell you how to install. Went on line for help and these left out the first step to pull out lock out lever. 2 1/2 hours to install and make printer work. So far printer now works good
2 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: BH873
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Shop around for others

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 3, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup
Cons: Flimsy Construction, extremely noisy
Set up and use was pretty easy and straight forward. However this is quite possibly the loudest/noisiest printer I have ever used. Not only during the printing process, but every once in awhile it just start making noise, like its processing, but it isn't doing anything. I went from a Canon MG5220 to this model. The 5220 would do the same thing where is would just start making noise like it was processing but not do anything. So it must be a Canon thing. But my old 5220 was way quieter. Paper trays are also pretty flimsy compared to my old 5220.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Rich
Location: Saginaw, mi
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

How can I get my iPad to connect to the printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 23, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, Low Ink Consumption, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: will not link to my ipad
This printer is great. I just can not get my iPad to find it.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Sammy
Location: Syosset, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Easy operation & High quality

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 22, 2014
Pros: reliable, fast print speed, easy to use, duplex print
Easy to set up and beautiful photo print at very fast speed.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: lerico
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2014
This printer does not support printing with address/shipping labels sheets
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: NoGoodNickName
Location: Campbellsville, KY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great technical support included with this printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 6, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, fast print speed, easy to use
I have always been a Canon camera fan and purchased this printer based on the past quality of Canon cameras. At first we were pleased; however after 8 months the print quality become bad. I tried to auto align and manually align the printer however nothing worked. I then installed new ink cartridges even though the other units indicated some ink remaining, however that did not help. I called Canon customer service and was swiftly answered by a professional support person. They explained how to clean the clear positioning strip and the printer started printing perfect again. Thanks to the canon support people we are working again.
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Mickey
Location: Albuquerque
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Good Value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2014
Pros: ease of set-up
The MG5520 was extremely easy to set up. Print quality is excellent; as good as drugstore photos.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: wp
Location: us
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years

Drops settings

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2014
This is my third Mg series printer . Everytime I want to print on this wireless printer I have to reconnect to my wifi. My other MG series stays connected to wifi and works even after it goes to sleep. I bought this one because my other two MG8500 and MG5500 worked fine.
I don't want to constantly reset it. I tried updating firmware that did not help either.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Mare
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Not the Quality I Expected From Canon

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2014
Pros: easy set up, easy setting for duplex printing
Cons: doesn't have memory card reader, no actual paper tray, can't close with paper in loader, flimsy print head holder, overall quality not up to previous models
I used a MP560 for several years. I needed to replace the print head and found this model, said to be a newer model/version of the MP560, actually cost less than the print head for the MP560, so I purchased it, instead of the print head. I am really disappointed in this model.
It was advertised as having memory card slots, which I used regularly on the MP560. The features section of the description states, "Memory Cards: Don't feel like using a computer? Just insert a compatible memory card into the built-in card slot, select images on the LCD, and print." If it has one, I can't find it, either on the printer or by searching the support section on the Canon website.
There is no paper tray... just a sheet feeder. You can't leave paper in the printer and close it when the printer is not in use. It, also, doesn't hold much paper.
The print head holder feels very flimsy, which I find very concerning. The only problem I ever had with the MP560 was the print head and this feels very unstable, causing me to think even replacing ink cartridges could damage the print head.
There are a couple of redeeming qualities:
I found this model easy to set up. I plugged it in, turned it on, and followed the directions. From unpacking to first document printed was less than 10 minutes.
Easy to set for duplex printing. Open the printer menu, click on duplex printing and that's all there is to it.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: tomcat139
Location: Way Back in Wisconsin
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Couldn't ask for much more.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2014
Out of the box I didn't have much a problem setting it up. Follow the provided steps and you too can finish the process quickly. Haven't figured out the cloud yet but I haven't found the need to.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: sheyzee
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

headache

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2014
I just had to replace my wonderful Pixma MP560 -- it just died suddenly (!) I went online and spoke with tech support at Canon then went to Best Buy and ended up with a Pixma MG 5520.
Although the print quality is fine, there are a couple of problems that make me want to return it. First of all it is extremely noisy -- and it makes a lot of noise -- setting up for a print, printing, then going back to the "resting" state. The other problem is that the pull out paper support for printed copies is too short and if I am making multiple copies, which I do as a teacher, they hang over and eventually fall on the floor. Also to close it up when I'm done, whatever blank paper is in the tray also folds.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Jim
Location: Nevada
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Difficult Setup

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2014
Pros: frontloading paper
Cons: no mac cd, no support for osx 10.6.1, no included usb cable, mac driver download takes hours, menu is not intuitive, very difficult setup, big footprint, ink must be replaced every 6 months, artifact grid added to printed items
I rarely print anything, I might print about 2 pages every 2 months at the maximum. I've tried three other brands of inkjet printers, yet each printer lasted only a few years. Each printer eventually became unable to put ink on paper, despite using new ink cartidges and following maintenance guidelines and programs. I never bought a Canon before, so I figured I'd try it and see how long it lasts. I've had the MG5520 for one day and have spent almost 12 hours setting it up. I use Mac computers and the included CD is Windows only. It took 4 hours to download the Mac drivers from Canon to find that my Snow Leopard Mac is unsupported unless I upgrade it. I am not willing to upgrade my Mac at Canon's request as I upgraded last year, had massive permissions problems, lost my internet connection, and had to revert to the original OS on the installation CD. I told my wife that her 4 year old computer is already "old" and not supported by Canon. I finally did get the mg5520 to work, without need for the required (and nonsupplied) USB A and B wire by downloading a Google Chrome browser and using Google Cloud Print. The printer menu is not intuitive, the menu for both wifi setup and cloud print setup are hidden deeply in the menu tree choices. Canon warns to replace all ink tanks every 6 months, I assume there's a risk of inkjet clogging and printer death. An artifact of a small pink/blue grid is added to everything I print. On the plus side, I do like the ease of front load paper.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: NoGoodNickName
Location: Campbellsville, KY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Canon quality not included on this printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2014
I have always been a fan of Canon cameras and believe they are the very best. So when it was time to purchase a printer for my parents, I wanted the best and decided to go with the Canon PIXMA MG5520, verse my normal/long time printer brand. At first the printer worked great, however after less than one year of light use the printer started having alignment issues. I tried to auto align and manually align the printer however nothing worked. I then installed new ink cartridges even though the other units indicated some ink remaining, however that did not help. I tried all other options relative to cleaning and maintenance and nothing helped. Maybe we just received a bad one, however after paying more for the Canon and then more dollars on costly ink; I'm dissatisfied with this product. ... Now note that I called Canon customer service and was swiftly answered by a professional support person. After trying the item they suggested, I plan to call them back for one last effort. Canon is a great company, however this specific printer is not.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Cookie
Location: New York
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Not very happy

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2014
I really wanted to purchase another Canon printer, but they were out of stock. Had settled with this model only because my child needed it for school as well as the fact that I use it for photo printing. First there are two downsides: 1. No USB port 2. No slots for SD cards. I assumed this model had it because every other one that I looked at had these features. Second, I have been having trouble with the printing. There is no visible reason as to why printing should stop in the middle and then spit out the picture without completing the printing. I had a lot of wasted photo papers not to mention ink. And your ink is expensive enough. I am very dissatisfied and I am thinking of returning this item. I never thought I would have had problems with a canon printer. I am surprise.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: DaveMac
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good printer, but Why slight Mac users?

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2014
Pros: reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Large Footprint, no mac software in box!
I've been very satisfied with Canon printers over the years having had four of them in all so far from the i860 to the Pixma Pro9000 and others so when it it became time for a new printer, it was a no-brainier for me to go with another Canon.
I choose this as a replacement for my Pixma 4200 in my home office. The MG5520 is very nice and has a scanner too so I can also retire an Lide500 Canon Scanner too!
Now the bad turnoff for me, I'm considering returning it because Canon sees the need to only include a Windows CD in the box! WHY slight Mac users? Yeah, It was easy for me to download the software for my iMac, but it was NOT exactly a desired extra step for me to setup a new printer right out of the box!!!
Come on Canon!!!
The ONLY thing making me hesitate to return it is my experience with your printers in the past and ALSO my experience with owning your EOS "xxd" series and "xD" series cameras with "L" series lenses I've also owned and currently own for this slighting of a Mac user and loyal Canon product user. I have roughly a week to decide and have kept all my packaging and receipt accordingly.
6 of 10 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site