Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MG Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MG Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5520

PIXMA MG5520

PIXMA Printing Solutions (PPS) app easily lets you print and scan photos or documents from your mobile device. With the cloud print function you can print directly from online cloud services either at the printer itself or with your mobile device using the free PPS app. 5 individual ink tanks and ChromaLife100+ System gives you great plain paper and photo quality. Offers a wide array of convenience features like Auto Power On, Auto Scan Mode, Quick Start, and Quiet Mode. Quickly and easily replace your inks while sitting at your desk with the convenient Snap Edge feature.
Average Customer Rating:
2.667 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
14
13 out of 30(43%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5520
Review 1 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Just Me
Location: FL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Not as good as I expected

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 19, 2014
I owned a Canon printer before purchasing this one. I really liked that one. This one uses ink so quickly. It is too expensive to use and I don't print that many color documents. I would probably not recommend this printer since I would not purchase it again.
Review 2 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Becca
Location: Kansas City, MO
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 11, 2014
This was my first Canon printer and I'm amazed at how fast and quiet it is. Also it's ready to print so much more quickly than previous brands. I'm not great at setting things up but got this set up easily and quickly and couldn't be happier. I'll definitely be shopping Canon when I need a replacement!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: A
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 28, 2014
Just a really nice affordable printer with great features.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: PCS
Location: League City, TX
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Worst printer I've ever owned

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 25, 2014
This printer has been one huge disappointment. Problem #1, it's very cheaply made. Problem #2, it has a very poor interface. You have to jump between buttons under the display, arrow keys and an OK button to do anything. It's not always obvious which one to press and if you pick the wrong one you get an error message you have to clear. Problem #3, it's poorly designed. To print you have to drop a door, pull out the bottom tray (but not past the arrow!), rotate out a little bar then flip up a piece on the end of it. That's the input. Then you fold down a second door that was behind the first and slide out an extension, that's for the output. Oh, and when you want to remove the extra paper you put in it they supply a nice little notch so you can grab the edge of the paper but it's not deep enough to actually reach the paper's edge. Minor but still a poor design. Problem #4, it's a pain to get working. For the longest I could print from my phone but not my laptop. Finally a driver update fixed that one at least. But even then, if I try to print in a day or two the computer will report the printer isn't found (using wireless). You have to go through the WLAN setup on the printer (or "the device" as it calls itself) again (after being scolded for pressing "OK" instead of a different button, again). That rarely completes successfully but after getting a timeout error from the printer I can usually print to it. Until next time. Problem #5, it is slow, slow, slow. I've owned several printers in the last 20 years and this is absolutely the slowest. A lot of that is because before the first print it spends at least a minute clunking and whirring and blinking lights and doing nothing useful. After that it's just slow, slow. Unless you print a photo, then add a couple of extra "slows". Especially since I often have to reprint as it will print a part page then spit it out. As for the slowness, I've read that leaving it on all the time helps. Mine still clunks and grunts, though, for the first print and the superbright LEDs might as well be a nightlight. Problem #6, all that clunking is NOISY. The bottom line is this is one of the clunkiest, cheapest most poorly designed things I've ever owned.
6 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: mijano
Location: Wasilla, AK
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very Disappointed

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 21, 2014
I bought this printer to replace an older Canon printer that I was very pleased with. I wish I could say the same for this. The Output Tray cannot handle more than a couple of sheets of paper without them falling off. The first time a printer a multi-page document I was quite surprised to find that the pages weren't collated. I read the manual and have changed the settings to collate the pages, but it only does so randomly.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Louie
Location: Knoxville, Tn
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Not happy

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 18, 2014
This was bought to replace an older printer. I bought Canon because of the name brand. Did I make a mistake, yes I did. The quality of the prints is not the best, and the speed of copying is very slow when compared to my old printer. There is also a noise issue with this, even though there is a quiet mode in the settings. To sum up my review, I find this printer a waste of my money. Its just too slow, noisy and huge(my fault). It is also very confusing to operate. I would not recommend this printer to any of my friends
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: tnh
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Worst Printer Ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 12, 2014
I've only had this printer a few weeks and have only been able to print/scan once without restarting or reinstalling. Why can't I just select "print" and receive a basic document? Instead I spend at least 30 minutes trouble shooting each time. Checking the return policy now...
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: nana
Location: Port Richey, FL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Disappointed

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2014
Bought this brand new and the printer head had loud noises and I recd an error message. Canon responded quickly. I recd the second one (refurbished) and tried to set it up again and got another error saying to install printer head with an error of 1401. I am disappointed and will be contacting canon again.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

It will test your sanity.....

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 4, 2014
I have had this printer for a few months to print some things for my online class. The first day I used it and printed 100 pages or so without issue. That was the only good day this printer has had. It always tells you to load paper even though it has paper. You have to reload 1-5 times before it finally decides to feed a sheet in. Then stay there because you will have to reload 1-5 times for the 2nd sheet to print. Every so often I get two pages to print before repeating the unload and loading of the paper. I have tried with 5 sheets of paper and with 20 sheets of paper, the result is the same you have to load and unload repeatedly before it will print one page. I am in misery. Purchasing This printer was the biggest mistake. Somebody please help! Oh and I repair printers for a living... Seriously. Thankfully I don't have to work on this model or I would never get to go home.
Review 10 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Barry
Location: Colorado
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Quit in 2years 1month

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 15, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: unreliable, not built to last
Good printer great features but broke one month after warranty expired.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: mblc
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Product replacement: Yes

Do not buy this.

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2014
Cons: Slow Print Speed, unreliable, High Ink Consumption, extremely loud and slow
I am moderately skilled with electronics and find this printer clunky and difficult to manage.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Ally
Location: Huntington Beach
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Every single scan is a corrupt file

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 2, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, scanner doesn't work
We bought this primarily for scanning. It scans easily to my iPad & computer, but every scan under all the different settings (JPEG, PDF, etc.) comes out corrupt. I thought it was a problem with the driver, so I re-downloaded it but no fix. Now it's just the biggest paperweight ever
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Sue
Location: Florida
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Awful

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 28, 2014
Cons: unreliable
I have had this printer for 4 weeks. Worked great initially. Now it will not turn off using the power button. Also my IPhone and IPad keep losing it so the reason I bought it (to AirPrint) now doesn't work unless I reboot everything. I had a canon pixma 640 and it was great. Too bad I changed it.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: RJ
Location: Columbus OH
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Wireless Printing a Challenge

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 20, 2014
Pros: Compact Design
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, unreliable
Setup was OK, but since then connectivity is spotty. I have to restart my laptop or the printer almost every time I print. We use this strictly wireless from a couple of laptops and an iPad. The iPad worked twice and hasn't been able to find the printer since. The laptops print sometimes, but most of the time we need to restart either the printer or the laptop in order for the page to print. Often, when the one laptop hangs while printing, we have to restart the wireless router to allow the laptop to continue accessing the internet. This only happens when printing hangs. Don't think I'd buy another Canon.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Sean
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Dissatisfied

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, unreliable
Overall it has many nice features and the pigment printing is nice. Wireless setup is very easy on Windows 7+ operating systems. However, it is very slow printing, especially anything with graphics. It seems to have a hard time with PDF files, often getting confused and either "processing" but never printing, or printing just portion of images or sections. I spent over an hour last night trying to finagle a seven page PDF out of it. I did eventually get the pages, by printing each single page individually. I have never had a printer operate this poorly.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: sunnyaz4me
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Crafts/Scrapbooking
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Purchased Despite Neg Reviews

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2014
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Purchased this Canon for use at home despite it's receiving negative reviews. I've had it for over a week now and it's been fabulous! I was able to link to my wi-fi easily (haven't tried my phone yet). I do remember seeing a special sheet in with the papers giving a number to call, but I didn't need it. I've been printing some heavy duty ink consuming projects (hence the new printer) and it seems to be doing great. Not sure I can classify it as low, but def standard ink consumption. It's super easy to use and even warned me once that I was getting ready to print on a side of paper that I'd already printed on. I haven't used the scanner yet....
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Stumped
Location: Alabama
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year

great printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2014
Pros: Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Difficult Setup
Had some problems getting it to connect to wireless adapter, but now works great, faster printing than my last printer and clearer print. Have not had long enough to say anything about how long a cartridge will last.
Review 18 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Finnman
Location: NJ
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good Printer Needs More Features

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: Flimsy Construction
Replaced a Canon MP620 due to print head failure after four years with no other problems.
Setup was easy using the CD and the Quick Install Guide.
Connected wireless with no problem. IPad app connected without problem.
Like the feature of 5 separate ink tanks like the MP620 to cut ink cost down. Scan to PDF was simple to use. LCD display clear and again easy to use.
Improvements should be a another feed tray like the MP620. To print 4x6 photos need to remove 8.5x11 paper. MP620 had a rear tray to feed 4x6. Also rear tray was good to print on one sheet of special paper. Paper tray does not slide into unit like the MP620 and when closing the paper tray it bends the paper up a little. Platen cover is OK but not too sturdy.
There is no Ethernet connection only USB and wireless. MP620 was Ethernet but no wireless.
Overall well satisfied but needs some features the MP620 has.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: frustrated
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 7, 2014
Directions were not very good. The ink head was not installed and the directions did not tell you how to install. Went on line for help and these left out the first step to pull out lock out lever. 2 1/2 hours to install and make printer work. So far printer now works good
2 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: BH873
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Shop around for others

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 3, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup
Cons: Flimsy Construction, extremely noisy
Set up and use was pretty easy and straight forward. However this is quite possibly the loudest/noisiest printer I have ever used. Not only during the printing process, but every once in awhile it just start making noise, like its processing, but it isn't doing anything. I went from a Canon MG5220 to this model. The 5220 would do the same thing where is would just start making noise like it was processing but not do anything. So it must be a Canon thing. But my old 5220 was way quieter. Paper trays are also pretty flimsy compared to my old 5220.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site