Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MG Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MG Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5520

PIXMA MG5520

PIXMA Printing Solutions (PPS) app easily lets you print and scan photos or documents from your mobile device. With the cloud print function you can print directly from online cloud services either at the printer itself or with your mobile device using the free PPS app. 5 individual ink tanks and ChromaLife100+ System gives you great plain paper and photo quality. Offers a wide array of convenience features like Auto Power On, Auto Scan Mode, Quick Start, and Quiet Mode. Quickly and easily replace your inks while sitting at your desk with the convenient Snap Edge feature.
Average Customer Rating:
2.833 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
8
13 out of 30(43%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5520
Review 1 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Barry
Location: Colorado
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Quit in 2years 1month

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 15, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: unreliable, not built to last
Good printer great features but broke one month after warranty expired.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: mblc
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Product replacement: Yes

Do not buy this.

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2014
Cons: Slow Print Speed, unreliable, High Ink Consumption, extremely loud and slow
I am moderately skilled with electronics and find this printer clunky and difficult to manage.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Ally
Location: Huntington Beach
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Every single scan is a corrupt file

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 2, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, scanner doesn't work
We bought this primarily for scanning. It scans easily to my iPad & computer, but every scan under all the different settings (JPEG, PDF, etc.) comes out corrupt. I thought it was a problem with the driver, so I re-downloaded it but no fix. Now it's just the biggest paperweight ever
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Sue
Location: Florida
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Awful

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 28, 2014
Cons: unreliable
I have had this printer for 4 weeks. Worked great initially. Now it will not turn off using the power button. Also my IPhone and IPad keep losing it so the reason I bought it (to AirPrint) now doesn't work unless I reboot everything. I had a canon pixma 640 and it was great. Too bad I changed it.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: RJ
Location: Columbus OH
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Wireless Printing a Challenge

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 20, 2014
Pros: Compact Design
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, unreliable
Setup was OK, but since then connectivity is spotty. I have to restart my laptop or the printer almost every time I print. We use this strictly wireless from a couple of laptops and an iPad. The iPad worked twice and hasn't been able to find the printer since. The laptops print sometimes, but most of the time we need to restart either the printer or the laptop in order for the page to print. Often, when the one laptop hangs while printing, we have to restart the wireless router to allow the laptop to continue accessing the internet. This only happens when printing hangs. Don't think I'd buy another Canon.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Sean
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Dissatisfied

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, unreliable
Overall it has many nice features and the pigment printing is nice. Wireless setup is very easy on Windows 7+ operating systems. However, it is very slow printing, especially anything with graphics. It seems to have a hard time with PDF files, often getting confused and either "processing" but never printing, or printing just portion of images or sections. I spent over an hour last night trying to finagle a seven page PDF out of it. I did eventually get the pages, by printing each single page individually. I have never had a printer operate this poorly.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: sunnyaz4me
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Crafts/Scrapbooking
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Purchased Despite Neg Reviews

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2014
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Purchased this Canon for use at home despite it's receiving negative reviews. I've had it for over a week now and it's been fabulous! I was able to link to my wi-fi easily (haven't tried my phone yet). I do remember seeing a special sheet in with the papers giving a number to call, but I didn't need it. I've been printing some heavy duty ink consuming projects (hence the new printer) and it seems to be doing great. Not sure I can classify it as low, but def standard ink consumption. It's super easy to use and even warned me once that I was getting ready to print on a side of paper that I'd already printed on. I haven't used the scanner yet....
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Stumped
Location: Alabama
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year

great printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2014
Pros: Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Difficult Setup
Had some problems getting it to connect to wireless adapter, but now works great, faster printing than my last printer and clearer print. Have not had long enough to say anything about how long a cartridge will last.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Finnman
Location: NJ
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good Printer Needs More Features

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: Flimsy Construction
Replaced a Canon MP620 due to print head failure after four years with no other problems.
Setup was easy using the CD and the Quick Install Guide.
Connected wireless with no problem. IPad app connected without problem.
Like the feature of 5 separate ink tanks like the MP620 to cut ink cost down. Scan to PDF was simple to use. LCD display clear and again easy to use.
Improvements should be a another feed tray like the MP620. To print 4x6 photos need to remove 8.5x11 paper. MP620 had a rear tray to feed 4x6. Also rear tray was good to print on one sheet of special paper. Paper tray does not slide into unit like the MP620 and when closing the paper tray it bends the paper up a little. Platen cover is OK but not too sturdy.
There is no Ethernet connection only USB and wireless. MP620 was Ethernet but no wireless.
Overall well satisfied but needs some features the MP620 has.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: frustrated
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 7, 2014
Directions were not very good. The ink head was not installed and the directions did not tell you how to install. Went on line for help and these left out the first step to pull out lock out lever. 2 1/2 hours to install and make printer work. So far printer now works good
2 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: BH873
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Shop around for others

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 3, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup
Cons: Flimsy Construction, extremely noisy
Set up and use was pretty easy and straight forward. However this is quite possibly the loudest/noisiest printer I have ever used. Not only during the printing process, but every once in awhile it just start making noise, like its processing, but it isn't doing anything. I went from a Canon MG5220 to this model. The 5220 would do the same thing where is would just start making noise like it was processing but not do anything. So it must be a Canon thing. But my old 5220 was way quieter. Paper trays are also pretty flimsy compared to my old 5220.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Rich
Location: Saginaw, mi
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

How can I get my iPad to connect to the printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 23, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, Low Ink Consumption, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: will not link to my ipad
This printer is great. I just can not get my iPad to find it.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Sammy
Location: Syosset, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Easy operation & High quality

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 22, 2014
Pros: reliable, fast print speed, easy to use, duplex print
Easy to set up and beautiful photo print at very fast speed.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: lerico
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2014
This printer does not support printing with address/shipping labels sheets
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: NoGoodNickName
Location: Campbellsville, KY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great technical support included with this printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 6, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, fast print speed, easy to use
I have always been a Canon camera fan and purchased this printer based on the past quality of Canon cameras. At first we were pleased; however after 8 months the print quality become bad. I tried to auto align and manually align the printer however nothing worked. I then installed new ink cartridges even though the other units indicated some ink remaining, however that did not help. I called Canon customer service and was swiftly answered by a professional support person. They explained how to clean the clear positioning strip and the printer started printing perfect again. Thanks to the canon support people we are working again.
17 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Mickey
Location: Albuquerque
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Good Value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2014
Pros: ease of set-up
The MG5520 was extremely easy to set up. Print quality is excellent; as good as drugstore photos.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: wp
Location: us
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years

Drops settings

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2014
This is my third Mg series printer . Everytime I want to print on this wireless printer I have to reconnect to my wifi. My other MG series stays connected to wifi and works even after it goes to sleep. I bought this one because my other two MG8500 and MG5500 worked fine.
I don't want to constantly reset it. I tried updating firmware that did not help either.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Mare
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Not the Quality I Expected From Canon

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2014
Pros: easy set up, easy setting for duplex printing
Cons: doesn't have memory card reader, no actual paper tray, can't close with paper in loader, flimsy print head holder, overall quality not up to previous models
I used a MP560 for several years. I needed to replace the print head and found this model, said to be a newer model/version of the MP560, actually cost less than the print head for the MP560, so I purchased it, instead of the print head. I am really disappointed in this model.
It was advertised as having memory card slots, which I used regularly on the MP560. The features section of the description states, "Memory Cards: Don't feel like using a computer? Just insert a compatible memory card into the built-in card slot, select images on the LCD, and print." If it has one, I can't find it, either on the printer or by searching the support section on the Canon website.
There is no paper tray... just a sheet feeder. You can't leave paper in the printer and close it when the printer is not in use. It, also, doesn't hold much paper.
The print head holder feels very flimsy, which I find very concerning. The only problem I ever had with the MP560 was the print head and this feels very unstable, causing me to think even replacing ink cartridges could damage the print head.
There are a couple of redeeming qualities:
I found this model easy to set up. I plugged it in, turned it on, and followed the directions. From unpacking to first document printed was less than 10 minutes.
Easy to set for duplex printing. Open the printer menu, click on duplex printing and that's all there is to it.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: tomcat139
Location: Way Back in Wisconsin
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Couldn't ask for much more.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2014
Out of the box I didn't have much a problem setting it up. Follow the provided steps and you too can finish the process quickly. Haven't figured out the cloud yet but I haven't found the need to.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: sheyzee
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

headache

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2014
I just had to replace my wonderful Pixma MP560 -- it just died suddenly (!) I went online and spoke with tech support at Canon then went to Best Buy and ended up with a Pixma MG 5520.
Although the print quality is fine, there are a couple of problems that make me want to return it. First of all it is extremely noisy -- and it makes a lot of noise -- setting up for a print, printing, then going back to the "resting" state. The other problem is that the pull out paper support for printed copies is too short and if I am making multiple copies, which I do as a teacher, they hang over and eventually fall on the floor. Also to close it up when I'm done, whatever blank paper is in the tray also folds.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site