Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MG Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MG Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5520

PIXMA MG5520

PIXMA Printing Solutions (PPS) app easily lets you print and scan photos or documents from your mobile device. With the cloud print function you can print directly from online cloud services either at the printer itself or with your mobile device using the free PPS app. 5 individual ink tanks and ChromaLife100+ System gives you great plain paper and photo quality. Offers a wide array of convenience features like Auto Power On, Auto Scan Mode, Quick Start, and Quiet Mode. Quickly and easily replace your inks while sitting at your desk with the convenient Snap Edge feature.
Average Customer Rating:
2.891 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
14
13 out of 30(43%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5520
Review 1 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: mid-west person
Location: Philadelphia PA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Nice Experience

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2014
I haven't purchased a printer in many years and this was a very nice experience. The unit was delivered promptly. I am not a computer geek but I had no problem installing the printer and setting it up. The quality of the printing is very good.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Missouri
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

mg5520

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2014
I bought the mg5520, based on my past experience with canon products. The quality of the prints and the ease of use is great. But my primary reason for trashing my last printer was it's extreme use of ink, most of which is wasted in cleaning. Sadly the MG5520 seems to use most of it's ink doing the same thing. I replaced all five of the inks and have printed maybe 50 pages black and white, with 10 color pictures. The printer is already showing low on all inks.
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: wes
Location: Jackson, Mississippi
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Incredible purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 16, 2014
I purchased the Canon 5520 printer. I am a 62 year old female sophomore in college and I am in no way mechanically or technically inclined, but I had absolutely no problem setting up the printer. I am thoroughly pleased with the quality of printing, and I look forward to using the printer's other options (photocopying, etc.)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Mnnay
Location: Wisconsin
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Highly recommended

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 7, 2014
Excellent product and very user friendly ... the 3 in 1 is wireless so no wires to mess with and I can access it from any of my family's tablets , smart phones or lap[tops from anywhere in the house.
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Paulino
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome Purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 7, 2014
I am Completely Happy with my Canon MG 5520 printer
it is easy to use and prints beautifully!!!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Buddha0360
Location: Dalas, Tx
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Thumbs up Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 24, 2014
I am not technically adept, so I was very surprised and pleased with the easy setup and use of this printer. Also it is the first time I have had a wireless printer, which has really been a pleasure. Have had no problems with it in the 3 weeks since purchase. No reservations in recommending it.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Yakima, Wa
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 24, 2014
I like the MG5520 in all facwets except you cannot do Christmas cards in the duplex side only light weight paper when you use card stock when it goes back for second side it folds up in the printer and you have to turn on side to remove paper, I wanted to do Christmas cards but will not accept duplex setting the only way you can do cardstock is manualy
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Just Me
Location: FL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Not as good as I expected

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 19, 2014
I owned a Canon printer before purchasing this one. I really liked that one. This one uses ink so quickly. It is too expensive to use and I don't print that many color documents. I would probably not recommend this printer since I would not purchase it again.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Becca
Location: Kansas City, MO
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 11, 2014
This was my first Canon printer and I'm amazed at how fast and quiet it is. Also it's ready to print so much more quickly than previous brands. I'm not great at setting things up but got this set up easily and quickly and couldn't be happier. I'll definitely be shopping Canon when I need a replacement!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: A
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 28, 2014
Just a really nice affordable printer with great features.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: PCS
Location: League City, TX
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Worst printer I've ever owned

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 25, 2014
This printer has been one huge disappointment. Problem #1, it's very cheaply made. Problem #2, it has a very poor interface. You have to jump between buttons under the display, arrow keys and an OK button to do anything. It's not always obvious which one to press and if you pick the wrong one you get an error message you have to clear. Problem #3, it's poorly designed. To print you have to drop a door, pull out the bottom tray (but not past the arrow!), rotate out a little bar then flip up a piece on the end of it. That's the input. Then you fold down a second door that was behind the first and slide out an extension, that's for the output. Oh, and when you want to remove the extra paper you put in it they supply a nice little notch so you can grab the edge of the paper but it's not deep enough to actually reach the paper's edge. Minor but still a poor design. Problem #4, it's a pain to get working. For the longest I could print from my phone but not my laptop. Finally a driver update fixed that one at least. But even then, if I try to print in a day or two the computer will report the printer isn't found (using wireless). You have to go through the WLAN setup on the printer (or "the device" as it calls itself) again (after being scolded for pressing "OK" instead of a different button, again). That rarely completes successfully but after getting a timeout error from the printer I can usually print to it. Until next time. Problem #5, it is slow, slow, slow. I've owned several printers in the last 20 years and this is absolutely the slowest. A lot of that is because before the first print it spends at least a minute clunking and whirring and blinking lights and doing nothing useful. After that it's just slow, slow. Unless you print a photo, then add a couple of extra "slows". Especially since I often have to reprint as it will print a part page then spit it out. As for the slowness, I've read that leaving it on all the time helps. Mine still clunks and grunts, though, for the first print and the superbright LEDs might as well be a nightlight. Problem #6, all that clunking is NOISY. The bottom line is this is one of the clunkiest, cheapest most poorly designed things I've ever owned.
9 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: mijano
Location: Wasilla, AK
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very Disappointed

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 21, 2014
I bought this printer to replace an older Canon printer that I was very pleased with. I wish I could say the same for this. The Output Tray cannot handle more than a couple of sheets of paper without them falling off. The first time a printer a multi-page document I was quite surprised to find that the pages weren't collated. I read the manual and have changed the settings to collate the pages, but it only does so randomly.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Louie
Location: Knoxville, Tn
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Not happy

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 18, 2014
This was bought to replace an older printer. I bought Canon because of the name brand. Did I make a mistake, yes I did. The quality of the prints is not the best, and the speed of copying is very slow when compared to my old printer. There is also a noise issue with this, even though there is a quiet mode in the settings. To sum up my review, I find this printer a waste of my money. Its just too slow, noisy and huge(my fault). It is also very confusing to operate. I would not recommend this printer to any of my friends
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: tnh
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Worst Printer Ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 12, 2014
I've only had this printer a few weeks and have only been able to print/scan once without restarting or reinstalling. Why can't I just select "print" and receive a basic document? Instead I spend at least 30 minutes trouble shooting each time. Checking the return policy now...
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: nana
Location: Port Richey, FL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Disappointed

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2014
Bought this brand new and the printer head had loud noises and I recd an error message. Canon responded quickly. I recd the second one (refurbished) and tried to set it up again and got another error saying to install printer head with an error of 1401. I am disappointed and will be contacting canon again.
Review 16 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

It will test your sanity.....

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 4, 2014
I have had this printer for a few months to print some things for my online class. The first day I used it and printed 100 pages or so without issue. That was the only good day this printer has had. It always tells you to load paper even though it has paper. You have to reload 1-5 times before it finally decides to feed a sheet in. Then stay there because you will have to reload 1-5 times for the 2nd sheet to print. Every so often I get two pages to print before repeating the unload and loading of the paper. I have tried with 5 sheets of paper and with 20 sheets of paper, the result is the same you have to load and unload repeatedly before it will print one page. I am in misery. Purchasing This printer was the biggest mistake. Somebody please help! Oh and I repair printers for a living... Seriously. Thankfully I don't have to work on this model or I would never get to go home.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Barry
Location: Colorado
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Quit in 2years 1month

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 15, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: unreliable, not built to last
Good printer great features but broke one month after warranty expired.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: mblc
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Product replacement: Yes

Do not buy this.

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2014
Cons: Slow Print Speed, unreliable, High Ink Consumption, extremely loud and slow
I am moderately skilled with electronics and find this printer clunky and difficult to manage.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Ally
Location: Huntington Beach
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Every single scan is a corrupt file

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 2, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, scanner doesn't work
We bought this primarily for scanning. It scans easily to my iPad & computer, but every scan under all the different settings (JPEG, PDF, etc.) comes out corrupt. I thought it was a problem with the driver, so I re-downloaded it but no fix. Now it's just the biggest paperweight ever
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Sue
Location: Florida
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Awful

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 28, 2014
Cons: unreliable
I have had this printer for 4 weeks. Worked great initially. Now it will not turn off using the power button. Also my IPhone and IPad keep losing it so the reason I bought it (to AirPrint) now doesn't work unless I reboot everything. I had a canon pixma 640 and it was great. Too bad I changed it.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site