Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MG Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MG Series or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5520

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA MG5520

PIXMA Printing Solutions (PPS) app easily lets you print and scan photos or documents from your mobile device. With the cloud print function you can print directly from online cloud services either at the printer itself or with your mobile device using the free PPS app. 5 individual ink tanks and ChromaLife100+ System gives you great plain paper and photo quality. Offers a wide array of convenience features like Auto Power On, Auto Scan Mode, Quick Start, and Quiet Mode. Quickly and easily replace your inks while sitting at your desk with the convenient Snap Edge feature.
Average Customer Rating:
3.069 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (87 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
14
3 stars
13
2 stars
8
1 star
26
13 out of 30(43%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5520
Review 1 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Craig
Location: Panama City, Florida
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Meh..

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 22, 2015
Alright for the occasional home print job. Runs through ink like a frat boy through a 6 pack! And the replacement ink isn't cheap! Quality is also meh..if you want high quality it will saturate your paper and eat up even more ink.
Other than that it is a trusty ol' steede.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: duhi
Location: Rochester, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Excellent

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2015
This printer does everything that I expected. Easy set and operation. Excellent quality.
Review 3 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Penemonie
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year

works great for a while but problems came...

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 14, 2015
had a hassle to get everything set up but it was pretty good the first two months. after that problems came- i couldn't load a lot of paper in the tray because otherwise it would want me to reload the paper. now it scans really really slow like it is taking a sweet time chilling. and now when i print a ms word doc from my mac the layout is wrong even though i am sure i didn't do any change to the page layout settings.
DON'T BUY THIS.
Review 4 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: kraftyferret
Location: Greeley, CO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Annoying

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 13, 2015
Doesn't like to print over wifi. 90% of the time we have to walk to the room its in and connect via usb to be able to print. Only amazon kindle seems to have no issues. It does not print quickly either. When printing a 5 page document, it would print a page, then sit and do nothing for about 30 seconds to a minute before printing the next page.
The scanner works alright, but if you don't already have scanning software on your computer, it probably won't scan for you. I have not had an issue with paper jamming but it frequently is unable to grab paper from the tray so you end up having to adjust the paper tray often, sometimes after each page is printed. Lastly, the ink seems to run out very quickly. I don't print very often but my ink levels always seem to get low within a few pages. It won't print anything if any ink color is empty, even if it won't be using that color.
Review 5 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Bud
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Frustrating

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 1, 2015
The first trial during set up resulted in a paper jam I could not clear. Back to the store. Three different people worked on it and partially disassembled the printer before getting it clear.
Next effort was to copy a document. Unit would not print.
Tomorrow it goes back for a refund.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: bison
Location: New York
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

not best ever

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2015
Fails to print frequently requiring more than one attempt. Have tried I pad and windows 8 computer with same problem. Print quality is fair. Good price but do not recommend.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Ziggmonster7
Location: Southern Oregon
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

An Honest Opinion

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2015
I admit that I may be trying to attempt an operation incorrectly. The print editing tool that helps focus blurry pictures works well, but I cannot find a way yet to save the picture on my computer afterwards, only print it. Otherwise, I feel that my Canon printer is the best on the market, and I recommend it for anyone entering college, where a multitasking scanner/printer is a necessary tool. I also appreciate good quality color pictures, which I have produced so far, and have expectations of continued quality production on all my different project plans. Thank you.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Francine
Location: NJ
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents

good product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2015
I have Canon digital cameras and 3 in 1 wireless cloud printer. All great products at reasonable prices. Customer support has always been very helpful.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: jewkp
Location: Texas
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Wonderful Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2015
I recently had to replace my printer when mine quit working. The sales reps where I purchased it highly recommended this canon machine since I print pictures occasionally. It's a bit more complicated than my previous printer (different brand) but once I figured it all out I love all the features it has on it. I also wanted a printer with separate color cartridges, which this one has. The price was great and quality of the printing is excellent. I would definitely recommend this printer to anyone looking to purchase.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Dollygreeneyes
Location: Milwaukee WI
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Not user friendly

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2015
I purchase a Pixma printer, what really bother me is I had to load a manual on line. Did it ever occur to companies that some people have medical issues and can't not sit at a computer for long, Here I had to upload the manual to figure out things. Just not good for a person with a disability. I like the printer but really I think you should have put a manual in the box.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: HowlinKeeley
Location: Virginia
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Worst printer ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2015
This printer was bought because I thought hey, good price. but little did I know why that price was so good. BECAUSE IT'S JUNK! This printer worked fine in the beginning, computer and phone connected. But now after a few months, my computer can't "find it", my phone wont print to it and now it can't even hook up to my wireless router! This printer just degenerated so quickly I'm disgusted with it. Can't return because it's past its 90 day warranty so the only thing it's good for now is target practice!
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Danice
Location: Wisconsin
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

NOT Google Drive friendly

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2015
The main factor in my purchase of this all-in-one was that it claimed to work with Google Drive. It does, if all you ever need to do is print. If you want scan to it, though, you are out of luck. Not only that, there's no USB or SD card slot that you can scan documents to. This one will be going back to the store tomorrow. :-/ Not quite ready for prime time. I'm a Google rep in a big-box electronics store...won't be recommending this one to customers.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Tony
Location: Lodi, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best purchase in a long time.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2015
This printer is far more advanced and better meets my needs than the last Canon printer. Thank you so very much.
Review 14 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: dc
Location: High Springs, FL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Nice printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2015
The printer I have used for the past 3 years began having problems. So I needed a printer. The Canon almost fits my needs, no fax, my bad. Good color, works fast with different all paper lbs. I use.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Manatee_44
Location: Florida
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Canon Air Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2015
We recently purchased a Canon Air Printer so that we can print off the iPad. We were in awe of how easy it was easy to install and use. The scanning feature is SO simple. Much easier than other printers. We've scanned photos as well as documents. Instructions are right there in a window on the printer. It's fast when printing out items.
We LOVE it!
Review 16 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Joe
Location: Cleveland, OH
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Good Quality Machine

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2015
This is a good quality machine. However it does take some time to setup each print job. It is also a tad noisy. Print quality is outstanding.
Review 17 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: phototaker
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2015
I was skeptical because of the low price but was pleasantly surprised. It was very easy to set up the wireless capability to my phone and my laptop. It prints very clear photos. I haven't printed any documents yet but I'm sure they will look good.
It takes 5 different ink cartriges, hopefully they will last a while and don't cost too much to replace.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: MAC
Location: Indiana
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Product replacement: Yes

MAC owner not happy

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2015
I'm furious! We just bought this Canon Pixma 5520. It comes with an installation CD for PC but not for our MACs. Instead, I have to go to Canon's website, find the info I need, and download it… for EACH of our MACs. Due to our location, our internet is very slow and this will take forever! Why doesn't this product include the install CD for MAC?!!! I might be returning this product just because it is such an inconvenience to deal with. NOT happy about this.
6 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Artistwithin2
Location: St.Augustine, FL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Wonderful Printer!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2015
I was so frustrated with my printing problems from another brand of printer all-in-one,that I found this printer @ a reasonable price when shopping w/ friends, & on impulse brought it home! I haven't regretted it a bit! I set it up w/ my home network so easily...and it prints so perfectly. I highly recommend you to buy it! I also use it from my smartphone & tablet, just as easily! You won't be sorry if this fits your needs!
Review 20 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Frustrated
Location: Melville NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Frustrated

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2015
Do not purchase have not been able to use. It kicks off line.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site