Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MG Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MG Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5520

PIXMA MG5520

PIXMA Printing Solutions (PPS) app easily lets you print and scan photos or documents from your mobile device. With the cloud print function you can print directly from online cloud services either at the printer itself or with your mobile device using the free PPS app. 5 individual ink tanks and ChromaLife100+ System gives you great plain paper and photo quality. Offers a wide array of convenience features like Auto Power On, Auto Scan Mode, Quick Start, and Quiet Mode. Quickly and easily replace your inks while sitting at your desk with the convenient Snap Edge feature.
Average Customer Rating:
2.982 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
10
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 star
16
13 out of 30(43%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5520
Review 1 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Latin Traveler
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Wastes ink

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 14, 2014
Used too much ink and refill ink is not an option. Operating cost is too high for me.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Snowbird
Location: Sunrise, Florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Love my new printer.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 13, 2014
Love my new printer, was easy to install and also easy to use, excellent print quality. A bit noisy when in use. Very fast printing when in black & white.
Review 3 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Paul
Location: Marion, Ohio
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Printer Problems

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2014
Had my new printer for 2 weeks and it stopped feeding. During the 2 weeks, I was pleasantly happy. Took the printer back to store and, of course, they did not have another one. We are still waiting, without a printer, and it has been almost a week.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Ed
Location: Tarpon Springs
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Nice& Solid

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2014
So far so good. Quite dependable. Will review after 6/7 months.
Review 5 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Bird
Location: New Mexico
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Big disappointment

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2014
I usually have had good luck with Canon products, but the 5520 cannot handle simple tasks with my MAC, such as printing envelopes or labels. As long as I just print letter it does fine, but everything else is a major ordeal or just won't work at all.
Not happy at all with the product.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: jimc
Location: Kansas
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Good Printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2014
After hooking up the printer I had some issue with some IRQs more than likely caused by the last printer I had which was over 15 years old.
Once I resolved this issue the printer works great very hast.
Have not taken time to setup the wifi side yet but very happy with the printer so far I hope it last as long as my last one.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Gabbie
Location: Boston, MA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2014
I love this printer!!
Easy setup for all my devices, Laptop, Cell phone and Kindle.
This is my 3rd printer within 2 years and this is by far the best.
Ink I felt like I was constantly having to buy ink for my other printers, but the PIXMA MG5520 lasts quite awhile and my 11 year old is constantly printing.
Love the feature that turns the printer on if you send a print to it and it is off.
A Great Buy!! Reasonably priced.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Jomarie75
Location: Watseka, IL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2014
I had no trouble getting my PIXMA MG5520 printer up and running once connected to my computer, with no issues like I have had before with others. My trail run with printing pictures was perfect. Thank you Canon for the easy of set up directions.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Kim
Location: Hampton, VA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Worst Purchase Ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2014
I've been working all afternoon to set up my laptop to the computer. I've got my phone hooked up to print from Facebook. I've got Google cloud set up but doesn't see this printer still. I have never had such a hard time setting up a printer!!! I have download and signed up for more stuff than you can image!!! Still can't do just a basic print from my laptop.
2 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: mid-west person
Location: Philadelphia PA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Nice Experience

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2014
I haven't purchased a printer in many years and this was a very nice experience. The unit was delivered promptly. I am not a computer geek but I had no problem installing the printer and setting it up. The quality of the printing is very good.
11 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Missouri
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

mg5520

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2014
I bought the mg5520, based on my past experience with canon products. The quality of the prints and the ease of use is great. But my primary reason for trashing my last printer was it's extreme use of ink, most of which is wasted in cleaning. Sadly the MG5520 seems to use most of it's ink doing the same thing. I replaced all five of the inks and have printed maybe 50 pages black and white, with 10 color pictures. The printer is already showing low on all inks.
21 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: wes
Location: Jackson, Mississippi
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Incredible purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 16, 2014
I purchased the Canon 5520 printer. I am a 62 year old female sophomore in college and I am in no way mechanically or technically inclined, but I had absolutely no problem setting up the printer. I am thoroughly pleased with the quality of printing, and I look forward to using the printer's other options (photocopying, etc.)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Mnnay
Location: Wisconsin
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Highly recommended

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 7, 2014
Excellent product and very user friendly ... the 3 in 1 is wireless so no wires to mess with and I can access it from any of my family's tablets , smart phones or lap[tops from anywhere in the house.
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Paulino
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome Purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 7, 2014
I am Completely Happy with my Canon MG 5520 printer
it is easy to use and prints beautifully!!!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Buddha0360
Location: Dalas, Tx
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Thumbs up Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 24, 2014
I am not technically adept, so I was very surprised and pleased with the easy setup and use of this printer. Also it is the first time I have had a wireless printer, which has really been a pleasure. Have had no problems with it in the 3 weeks since purchase. No reservations in recommending it.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Yakima, Wa
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 24, 2014
I like the MG5520 in all facwets except you cannot do Christmas cards in the duplex side only light weight paper when you use card stock when it goes back for second side it folds up in the printer and you have to turn on side to remove paper, I wanted to do Christmas cards but will not accept duplex setting the only way you can do cardstock is manualy
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Just Me
Location: FL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Not as good as I expected

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 19, 2014
I owned a Canon printer before purchasing this one. I really liked that one. This one uses ink so quickly. It is too expensive to use and I don't print that many color documents. I would probably not recommend this printer since I would not purchase it again.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Becca
Location: Kansas City, MO
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 11, 2014
This was my first Canon printer and I'm amazed at how fast and quiet it is. Also it's ready to print so much more quickly than previous brands. I'm not great at setting things up but got this set up easily and quickly and couldn't be happier. I'll definitely be shopping Canon when I need a replacement!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: A
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 28, 2014
Just a really nice affordable printer with great features.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: PCS
Location: League City, TX
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Worst printer I've ever owned

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 25, 2014
This printer has been one huge disappointment. Problem #1, it's very cheaply made. Problem #2, it has a very poor interface. You have to jump between buttons under the display, arrow keys and an OK button to do anything. It's not always obvious which one to press and if you pick the wrong one you get an error message you have to clear. Problem #3, it's poorly designed. To print you have to drop a door, pull out the bottom tray (but not past the arrow!), rotate out a little bar then flip up a piece on the end of it. That's the input. Then you fold down a second door that was behind the first and slide out an extension, that's for the output. Oh, and when you want to remove the extra paper you put in it they supply a nice little notch so you can grab the edge of the paper but it's not deep enough to actually reach the paper's edge. Minor but still a poor design. Problem #4, it's a pain to get working. For the longest I could print from my phone but not my laptop. Finally a driver update fixed that one at least. But even then, if I try to print in a day or two the computer will report the printer isn't found (using wireless). You have to go through the WLAN setup on the printer (or "the device" as it calls itself) again (after being scolded for pressing "OK" instead of a different button, again). That rarely completes successfully but after getting a timeout error from the printer I can usually print to it. Until next time. Problem #5, it is slow, slow, slow. I've owned several printers in the last 20 years and this is absolutely the slowest. A lot of that is because before the first print it spends at least a minute clunking and whirring and blinking lights and doing nothing useful. After that it's just slow, slow. Unless you print a photo, then add a couple of extra "slows". Especially since I often have to reprint as it will print a part page then spit it out. As for the slowness, I've read that leaving it on all the time helps. Mine still clunks and grunts, though, for the first print and the superbright LEDs might as well be a nightlight. Problem #6, all that clunking is NOISY. The bottom line is this is one of the clunkiest, cheapest most poorly designed things I've ever owned.
11 of 19 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site