Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MG Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MG Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5520

PIXMA MG5520

PIXMA Printing Solutions (PPS) app easily lets you print and scan photos or documents from your mobile device. With the cloud print function you can print directly from online cloud services either at the printer itself or with your mobile device using the free PPS app. 5 individual ink tanks and ChromaLife100+ System gives you great plain paper and photo quality. Offers a wide array of convenience features like Auto Power On, Auto Scan Mode, Quick Start, and Quiet Mode. Quickly and easily replace your inks while sitting at your desk with the convenient Snap Edge feature.
Average Customer Rating:
2.882 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
5
7 out of 17(41%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5520
Review 1 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: lerico
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2014
This printer does not support printing with address/shipping labels sheets
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: NoGoodNickName
Location: Campbellsville, KY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great technical support included with this printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 6, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, fast print speed, easy to use
I have always been a Canon camera fan and purchased this printer based on the past quality of Canon cameras. At first we were pleased; however after 8 months the print quality become bad. I tried to auto align and manually align the printer however nothing worked. I then installed new ink cartridges even though the other units indicated some ink remaining, however that did not help. I called Canon customer service and was swiftly answered by a professional support person. They explained how to clean the clear positioning strip and the printer started printing perfect again. Thanks to the canon support people we are working again.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Mickey
Location: Albuquerque
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Good Value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2014
Pros: ease of set-up
The MG5520 was extremely easy to set up. Print quality is excellent; as good as drugstore photos.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: wp
Location: us
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years

Drops settings

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2014
This is my third Mg series printer . Everytime I want to print on this wireless printer I have to reconnect to my wifi. My other MG series stays connected to wifi and works even after it goes to sleep. I bought this one because my other two MG8500 and MG5500 worked fine.
I don't want to constantly reset it. I tried updating firmware that did not help either.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Mare
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Not the Quality I Expected From Canon

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2014
Pros: easy set up, easy setting for duplex printing
Cons: doesn't have memory card reader, no actual paper tray, can't close with paper in loader, flimsy print head holder, overall quality not up to previous models
I used a MP560 for several years. I needed to replace the print head and found this model, said to be a newer model/version of the MP560, actually cost less than the print head for the MP560, so I purchased it, instead of the print head. I am really disappointed in this model.
It was advertised as having memory card slots, which I used regularly on the MP560. The features section of the description states, "Memory Cards: Don't feel like using a computer? Just insert a compatible memory card into the built-in card slot, select images on the LCD, and print." If it has one, I can't find it, either on the printer or by searching the support section on the Canon website.
There is no paper tray... just a sheet feeder. You can't leave paper in the printer and close it when the printer is not in use. It, also, doesn't hold much paper.
The print head holder feels very flimsy, which I find very concerning. The only problem I ever had with the MP560 was the print head and this feels very unstable, causing me to think even replacing ink cartridges could damage the print head.
There are a couple of redeeming qualities:
I found this model easy to set up. I plugged it in, turned it on, and followed the directions. From unpacking to first document printed was less than 10 minutes.
Easy to set for duplex printing. Open the printer menu, click on duplex printing and that's all there is to it.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: tomcat139
Location: Way Back in Wisconsin
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Couldn't ask for much more.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2014
Out of the box I didn't have much a problem setting it up. Follow the provided steps and you too can finish the process quickly. Haven't figured out the cloud yet but I haven't found the need to.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: sheyzee
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

headache

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2014
I just had to replace my wonderful Pixma MP560 -- it just died suddenly (!) I went online and spoke with tech support at Canon then went to Best Buy and ended up with a Pixma MG 5520.
Although the print quality is fine, there are a couple of problems that make me want to return it. First of all it is extremely noisy -- and it makes a lot of noise -- setting up for a print, printing, then going back to the "resting" state. The other problem is that the pull out paper support for printed copies is too short and if I am making multiple copies, which I do as a teacher, they hang over and eventually fall on the floor. Also to close it up when I'm done, whatever blank paper is in the tray also folds.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Jim
Location: Nevada
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Difficult Setup

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2014
Pros: frontloading paper
Cons: no mac cd, no support for osx 10.6.1, no included usb cable, mac driver download takes hours, menu is not intuitive, very difficult setup, big footprint, ink must be replaced every 6 months, artifact grid added to printed items
I rarely print anything, I might print about 2 pages every 2 months at the maximum. I've tried three other brands of inkjet printers, yet each printer lasted only a few years. Each printer eventually became unable to put ink on paper, despite using new ink cartidges and following maintenance guidelines and programs. I never bought a Canon before, so I figured I'd try it and see how long it lasts. I've had the MG5520 for one day and have spent almost 12 hours setting it up. I use Mac computers and the included CD is Windows only. It took 4 hours to download the Mac drivers from Canon to find that my Snow Leopard Mac is unsupported unless I upgrade it. I am not willing to upgrade my Mac at Canon's request as I upgraded last year, had massive permissions problems, lost my internet connection, and had to revert to the original OS on the installation CD. I told my wife that her 4 year old computer is already "old" and not supported by Canon. I finally did get the mg5520 to work, without need for the required (and nonsupplied) USB A and B wire by downloading a Google Chrome browser and using Google Cloud Print. The printer menu is not intuitive, the menu for both wifi setup and cloud print setup are hidden deeply in the menu tree choices. Canon warns to replace all ink tanks every 6 months, I assume there's a risk of inkjet clogging and printer death. An artifact of a small pink/blue grid is added to everything I print. On the plus side, I do like the ease of front load paper.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: NoGoodNickName
Location: Campbellsville, KY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Canon quality not included on this printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2014
I have always been a fan of Canon cameras and believe they are the very best. So when it was time to purchase a printer for my parents, I wanted the best and decided to go with the Canon PIXMA MG5520, verse my normal/long time printer brand. At first the printer worked great, however after less than one year of light use the printer started having alignment issues. I tried to auto align and manually align the printer however nothing worked. I then installed new ink cartridges even though the other units indicated some ink remaining, however that did not help. I tried all other options relative to cleaning and maintenance and nothing helped. Maybe we just received a bad one, however after paying more for the Canon and then more dollars on costly ink; I'm dissatisfied with this product. ... Now note that I called Canon customer service and was swiftly answered by a professional support person. After trying the item they suggested, I plan to call them back for one last effort. Canon is a great company, however this specific printer is not.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Cookie
Location: New York
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Not very happy

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2014
I really wanted to purchase another Canon printer, but they were out of stock. Had settled with this model only because my child needed it for school as well as the fact that I use it for photo printing. First there are two downsides: 1. No USB port 2. No slots for SD cards. I assumed this model had it because every other one that I looked at had these features. Second, I have been having trouble with the printing. There is no visible reason as to why printing should stop in the middle and then spit out the picture without completing the printing. I had a lot of wasted photo papers not to mention ink. And your ink is expensive enough. I am very dissatisfied and I am thinking of returning this item. I never thought I would have had problems with a canon printer. I am surprise.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: DaveMac
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good printer, but Why slight Mac users?

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2014
Pros: reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Large Footprint, no mac software in box!
I've been very satisfied with Canon printers over the years having had four of them in all so far from the i860 to the Pixma Pro9000 and others so when it it became time for a new printer, it was a no-brainier for me to go with another Canon.
I choose this as a replacement for my Pixma 4200 in my home office. The MG5520 is very nice and has a scanner too so I can also retire an Lide500 Canon Scanner too!
Now the bad turnoff for me, I'm considering returning it because Canon sees the need to only include a Windows CD in the box! WHY slight Mac users? Yeah, It was easy for me to download the software for my iMac, but it was NOT exactly a desired extra step for me to setup a new printer right out of the box!!!
Come on Canon!!!
The ONLY thing making me hesitate to return it is my experience with your printers in the past and ALSO my experience with owning your EOS "xxd" series and "xD" series cameras with "L" series lenses I've also owned and currently own for this slighting of a Mac user and loyal Canon product user. I have roughly a week to decide and have kept all my packaging and receipt accordingly.
6 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: surfnturf
Location: Ada Oklahoma
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

crapped out after a month

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2013
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed
Cons: unreliable
This printer, scanner combo worked great out of the box. Prints pictures really well but after having it only for a month, the printer just stopped working, period. Uninstalled, re-installed, downloaded new drivers, used the disk, done everything possible and I know a few things about installing printers. I am MCSA, MCSE, CCNA A+, Network+certified and do this for a living. The wireless function has crapped out and this is really annoying. Will not buy another Canon...
13 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: atta boy
Location: Florida/MN
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Easy setup good price/performance

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 14, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint, no mac cd included!
I had to replace a wireless printer made by another company. It never worked reliably on wireless. So I bought what I thought was the next best companies printer. Brought it home and after 4 frustrating hours I never could set it up. Having set up at least a dozen other printers in the past I decided it was not me but the printer. I took it back to the store and got my money back. I went to a different store and bought the Canon 5520. The setup was a breeze and the multiple options for wireless was much appreciated. It prints rapidly and beautifully. My only criticism is the included CD was Windows only. Hey guys there are millions of us that use a Mac!! I downloaded the software and drivers which took some time and it worked out O.K. I am glad Canon Cameras recognize Macs...I have a 5D MarkIII and love it.
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: MrTig
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

surprising quality

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2013
Pros: reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Bought this as additional printer to home Canon MP990 for location use. Price was main consideration. Very happy with photo quality and interested that you can buy large replacement ink cartridges, but haven't found anywhere but online to purchase them. directions are terrible. To person who complained about noise, there is a quiet print function, that does quiet it. Not sure what it does - slower? Always used quiet mode.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Jayne
Location: Dahinda, IL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

So far so good...

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 9, 2013
Pros: Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use, reasonably priced, 4 ink cartridges
Cons: no written instructions
I recently purchased this printer after my 8+ year old Canon MP390 died. I read countless reviews for all the major brands of all-in-one printers out there and decided to stay with Canon. The set up wasn't too bad, but written instruction may have helped it go faster for me. Once initial set up was done (took me about 45 minutes from out of box to first print), I got the wireless connection easily taken care of. (Have your wireless password handy when setting up the wireless). I have printed about 20 pages of things so far and it prints beautifully. I like that it is Energy Star rated. Haven't done any photos yet. I am hopeful that this printer will serve me as well and for as long as my old Canon did. For now, I would recommend this printer. Guess time will tell......
22 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: paul
Location: ca
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 6, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint, Heavy/Bulky
great product i print a lot and the quality is well very satisfied
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Diana
Location: USA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worthless

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 2, 2013
Cons: Difficult to use, Large Footprint, Heavy/Bulky, Difficult Setup
This printer is extremely loud. There are no directions on how to use with a PC.
11 of 18 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site