Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MG Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MG Series or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5520

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA MG5520

PIXMA Printing Solutions (PPS) app easily lets you print and scan photos or documents from your mobile device. With the cloud print function you can print directly from online cloud services either at the printer itself or with your mobile device using the free PPS app. 5 individual ink tanks and ChromaLife100+ System gives you great plain paper and photo quality. Offers a wide array of convenience features like Auto Power On, Auto Scan Mode, Quick Start, and Quiet Mode. Quickly and easily replace your inks while sitting at your desk with the convenient Snap Edge feature.
Average Customer Rating:
3.01 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(100 Reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (100 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
15
3 stars
15
2 stars
10
1 star
31
13 out of 30(43%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5520
Review 1 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: ashatech
Location: Little Rock, AR
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Incomprehensible Directions

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 19, 2015
I've used lots of home and office printers and printer-scanners in my life, of different brands and kinds, and have never found one so utterly frustrating as the Canon 5520. The directions, including the online manuals, are incomprehensible and make what should be simple operations difficult to impossible. For example, I've owned the printer-scanner a year and still can't figure out how a simple photo scan is supposed to work. When I've managed it, it has been almost accidental. (Entering "scan" as a keyword in the manual search function turns up nothing. When I stumbled upon a "how to scan a photo" section, which was encased in a lot of jargon and rigamarole, it sent me on a series of tasks that kept resulting in an endless loop directing me back to the utility menu, which would send me back to the same supposed instruction page.) The Image Garden and so-called Quick Menu clutter your desktop without being actually helpful. I've resorted to homemade videos on YouTube to learn how to do such seemingly simple tasks as changing the printer cartridges. I've fairly tech-savvy, familiar with lots of software and with both Macs and PC's, and patient with reading instructions. But not only is this machine not user-friendly, I would say it's actually user-hostile. Canon is supposed to be a good company, and I thought this would be a good buy when I purchased it a year ago. It's terrible.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Elle

Good printer, a little confusing sometimes.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 13, 2015
I got this printer for college and while it was a little confusing to set up with the Wi-Fi, it's worked perfectly for me. I'd definitely recommend it.
Review 3 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: stanbee
Location: SF
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Ink Hog

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 13, 2015
Produces beautiful copy but uses twice the ink of any other printer I've ever used.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: djdal
Location: Dallas, TX

Worst set up ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 22, 2015
I am boxing it up now to return. Worst set up instructions ever. Do Not Buy!
Review 5 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: NotaHappyCustomer
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Worst Printer Ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2015
I would give this zero stars if I could. By far, the worst printer I have ever come across. I bought it for my son and all we get is error codes (got these when we first plug it in). We did manage to get several copies made using it before it jammed up. After clearing the jam, it keeps telling us the output tray is closed open even though it is open. The printer appears to be of extremely flimsy construction.
Avoid this printer or you will be sorry!
Review 6 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Lila
Location: Portsmouth, VA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Excellent Product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 24, 2015
I didn't realize Canon offered me a program to create arts and crafts with my printer. Pleasantly surprised. Do far, it's met my expectations and more.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: welchbm
Location: South Carolina
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

poor UX design

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2015
i've owned severl canon printers, i purchased this one for the google cloud print capabilities. From the start i've been frustrated with his printer, primarily from the poor design of the user interface of the digital control panel. Then the printer broke and won't print anymore, i've had it less than 6 months and i use it occasionally. Very disabppointed. Tried taking it back to the store but they wouldn't take it so i now have to deal directly with Canon. I hope they will take this printer back and send me a different model.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: obLucky
Location: California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

OK with cautions

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 10, 2015
Plus side - cheaper ink, looks fabulous
Minus side- Hard to operate. I cannot find out how to scan a photo above 600DPI. Not at all intuitive.
For less than a dollar they could have added a USB or SD slot so you could avoid the balky computer interface.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: lynamp52
Location: Ceres, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

The Merchant Wants a Review!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 24, 2015
The Canon PIXMA-MG5520 is a very standard but uniquely multifunction product. The updated technology is a plus Bluetooth comparability is great the part jobs come out good it is a very versital product. Very easy to to use for the print, scan & copy projects I do.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: desert88030moon
Location: Southwest New Mexico High Desert
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Love Love LOVE this printer!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 15, 2015
I'm in love with this printer! It is larger than my previous all-in-ones, but of greater quality, which shows in everything I print. I did have trouble getting it to connect with my WiFi, but living in this near-border community, such things are a regular occurrence. I just plugged it in and off it went! I have had -0- troubles of any kind! I just finished printing a rather large project involving color printing, and frankly, I was wincing at how much ink I figured it was using. Other brands would be nearly empty, in my mind... But when I checked the ink status, it showed approximately 80% full! I'm overjoyed!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: 3rd Canon Owned
Location: Omaha, NE
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

MG 5520 NOT GOOD

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2015
This is the third Canon printer I've owned. For some reason they all don't work well. Most recent the MG 5520 I upgraded my router and now the dang thing wont stay connected. Have to delete everything and redownload everything just to print. Will be getting rid of this printer really soon. Owned for 6 months got it brand new.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Cricket
Location: Rockford, IL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Pitiful

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2015
I have spent far more time trying to clear errors with this printer than actually printing anything. The main one is that it's out of paper when it has plenty of paper. I repeatedly go through all of the steps in reloading it and aligning the tray until it finally decides to work for a while - but then, inexplicably, it will quit in the middle of a project and throw an Out of Paper error.
It has the least intuitive design of any printer I have worked with and is by far the most frustrating and least reliable. I actually figure out ways to avoid printing if at all possible just to avoid using it.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Kiko
Location: Tewksbury, MA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Nice but poor print quality

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2015
Perhaps it is me - but I am unable to adjust the print quality and find it to be vey poor.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Craig
Location: Panama City, Florida
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Meh..

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 22, 2015
Alright for the occasional home print job. Runs through ink like a frat boy through a 6 pack! And the replacement ink isn't cheap! Quality is also meh..if you want high quality it will saturate your paper and eat up even more ink.
Other than that it is a trusty ol' steede.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: duhi
Location: Rochester, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Excellent

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2015
This printer does everything that I expected. Easy set and operation. Excellent quality.
Review 16 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Penemonie
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year

works great for a while but problems came...

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 14, 2015
had a hassle to get everything set up but it was pretty good the first two months. after that problems came- i couldn't load a lot of paper in the tray because otherwise it would want me to reload the paper. now it scans really really slow like it is taking a sweet time chilling. and now when i print a ms word doc from my mac the layout is wrong even though i am sure i didn't do any change to the page layout settings.
DON'T BUY THIS.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: kraftyferret
Location: Greeley, CO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Annoying

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 13, 2015
Doesn't like to print over wifi. 90% of the time we have to walk to the room its in and connect via usb to be able to print. Only amazon kindle seems to have no issues. It does not print quickly either. When printing a 5 page document, it would print a page, then sit and do nothing for about 30 seconds to a minute before printing the next page.
The scanner works alright, but if you don't already have scanning software on your computer, it probably won't scan for you. I have not had an issue with paper jamming but it frequently is unable to grab paper from the tray so you end up having to adjust the paper tray often, sometimes after each page is printed. Lastly, the ink seems to run out very quickly. I don't print very often but my ink levels always seem to get low within a few pages. It won't print anything if any ink color is empty, even if it won't be using that color.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Bud
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Frustrating

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 1, 2015
The first trial during set up resulted in a paper jam I could not clear. Back to the store. Three different people worked on it and partially disassembled the printer before getting it clear.
Next effort was to copy a document. Unit would not print.
Tomorrow it goes back for a refund.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: bison
Location: New York
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

not best ever

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2015
Fails to print frequently requiring more than one attempt. Have tried I pad and windows 8 computer with same problem. Print quality is fair. Good price but do not recommend.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MG5520
Nickname: Ziggmonster7
Location: Southern Oregon
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

An Honest Opinion

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2015
I admit that I may be trying to attempt an operation incorrectly. The print editing tool that helps focus blurry pictures works well, but I cannot find a way yet to save the picture on my computer afterwards, only print it. Otherwise, I feel that my Canon printer is the best on the market, and I recommend it for anyone entering college, where a multitasking scanner/printer is a necessary tool. I also appreciate good quality color pictures, which I have produced so far, and have expectations of continued quality production on all my different project plans. Thank you.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site