Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5522

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA MG5522

The PIXMA MG5522 is an advanced Wireless 1 Inkjet Photo All-In-One printer with a smart design delivering a combination of high performance and real convenience.
Average Customer Rating:
3.591 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
5
1 out of 2(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5522
Review 1 for PIXMA MG5522
Nickname: lectric1970
Location: gilman, Il
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

love it

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 25, 2015
I have had many home office printers over the past 5 years alone from different manufacturers. This far and away the best I have ever had. It's so user-friendly and the print quality is exceptional. It has a durability that the others did not have as well. The others couldn't hold up to the use of all my kids and grandchildren. Your only problem with this printer is that you will want to use it so much that you'll go through ink very fast.
Review 2 for PIXMA MG5522
Nickname: yolray
Location: Henderson, NV
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Love my new printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 2, 2015
I have baked photo cakes for our friends and they love them
Review 3 for PIXMA MG5522
Nickname: tcorbett
Location: Durham, NC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Awesome

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2015
Awesome printer! Works perfectly. This is my first wifi printer and I had heard printing over the wifi is slower, but this printer prints very quickly whether over wifi or with a usb cable.
Review 4 for PIXMA MG5522
Nickname: workaholic
Location: Southern California
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

basic workhorse

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2015
Purchased as a supplement to my "at home printer" I needed an easily portable, scanner/ printer for some out of town business. The price dropped and I could not match the price for a wireless,scanner, printer. This is my first Cannon printer. I wanted separate ink cartridges for individual colors and black ink and may need the wireless feature. On first setup, advise setting printer up skipping wireless feature and then going back and installing as wireless if needed. You have that choice. I used the USB cable from a previous printer as new printer does not come with one. Set up went smoothly and without a hitch. You must READ instructions carefully and accurately doing things in correct order. Took less than 20 minutes.
Review 5 for PIXMA MG5522
Nickname: Gigi
Location: Lincoln University PA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great Product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2015
I purchased this printer about a month ago and I am very satisfied so far. I love the wi-fi feature and the print quality is excellent. I would recommend the PIXMA printer to anyone.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG5522
Nickname: ck
Location: Tulsa
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Super Buy!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 13, 2015
I have always owned a Canon printer and camera but never a WiFi so I went with the name I trust and not only did it arrive sooner than expected, it is extremely easy to set up, and print from any device, especially my phone and scanning to my lap top. I am an older retired professional and if I can do it, anyone can. If you want dependability - buy Canon and have fun! Oh and the tech help is amazing, too.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG5522
Nickname: david
Location: phoenix az
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

just ok

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2015
some things scan super size others small can't find the reason why. Slow and noise scan or copy
Review 8 for PIXMA MG5522
Nickname: wkosciel
Location: Kissimmee, Florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

MG5522

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2015
A good product but the hub-less communication between the Printer and Computer should be fixed.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG5522
Nickname: Odb1son
Location: florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2015
This all in one wireless printer has made my life a whole lot easier I was not going to use it until I moved into my new house. Then I needed to scan an fax something A.S.A.P. took it out of the box. set up was a breeze and I got everything done very fast CAN'T WAIT TO PLAY WITH PHOTOS
Review 10 for PIXMA MG5522
Nickname: MaryKay and MIke
Location: Kelley, IA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Wireless printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2015
We haven't had this for very long, but it is doing exactly what we bought it for. Where the wife didn't print much, now with her tablet, she is printing the most.
Review 11 for PIXMA MG5522
Nickname: gjsx51
Location: Greensboro, NC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

A good investment

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2015
This printer/scanner was bought as a replacement for separate units that I dearly hated to replace, However technology marches on and the old units were not compatible with my new computer b/c of nonexistent drivers and software interface. This new combo unit is smaller and takes up much less space in my studio, and the lack of wired connections is wonderful. So far, my only qualms have been loss of wireless connection during scans, but the issue is shared with my wireless network, so I don't blame the printer specifically. The software interface includes lots of extras and offers that I really don't need. My only suggestion for improvement is to offer a software setup that is strictly for operation of the unit with no un-needed photo editing or file prep for social media. I have Photoshop for all that :-) Overall, I see the new printer/scanner as a good investment in my business.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MG5522
Nickname: Ed
Location: Denver, CO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

9 pages and need a new set of ink cartridges

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2014
About a month ago I purchased a set of new color ink cartridges at a prominent office supply store. We have printed 9 pages with mostly black and white on the page. The cartridges are now showing almost empty. The ink cartridges are way too expensive for them to empty after 9 pages of printing. I have had this printer for a while and this has been the trend for this printer. The lifespan of the ink gets shorter and shorter. This is not my first Canon nor my last but i would not recommend this one to anyone. I gave it one star only because 0 is not an option.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG5522
Nickname: OLDCRIP
Location: Palm Springs, Ca
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

FAIR FOR THE PRICE

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 22, 2014
Like the man said "You get what you pay for". First off, Canon calls it an "All in One", when it doesn't have a fax!!! Photos that I've printed are not sharp, and the colors are washed out. Does a fine job of printing. Fast and sharp. The download from the installation disc has way too much unwanted junk that should have had a selective start.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MG5522
Nickname: Chrissy
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Nothing beats a canon

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2014
This is my second canon printer. I have tried others and I come back to canon every time. You can't find the quality anywhere else that you get from canon.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG5522
Nickname: rlb1962
Location: Gering, NE
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 26, 2014
This printer was easy to set up. I am able to print from any of our laptop computers, or our tablet, or even from our antiquated desktop computer which runs Windows XP. It is very versatile. I can even print two-sided documents, which saves on paper. I love it!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MG5522
Nickname: zincminers
Location: Summerfield,Fl
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

No Problems

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 6, 2014
I had no problems except I forgot to load the paper for the test sheet. Once I loaded the paper all went as programed. I was using wireless and had no problems setting up the connection. I just followed the questions and answered each in turn gave my security key for my network and I was on. After I was connected to my wireless router I went to the web, registered and then went to support and drivers. Downloaded the recommended drivers it took about 9 minutes with my connection then I printed the test page. Note your printer must be on at all times. So far I am very please with the printer and this is my first Canon.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MG5522
Nickname: Di
Location: Vallejo Ca
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Printing in color but gives a B/W output

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 6, 2014
I bought this printer to print in edible papers. My images were colored but it gives me a black and white and not clear print outs. I have followed all instructions including update but still did not work. So exasperating.
Review 18 for PIXMA MG5522
Nickname: lucy
Location: orlando, fl
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

not so good printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 13, 2014
setup was quite cumbersome, not user friendly at all. It took me a while. I was disappointed and returned the printer. It was extremely loud when printing and terribly slow to print
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MG5522
Nickname: Edca
Location: Texas
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Can't get cloud print working

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2014
While apple air print works great scan and copy is fine too but can't use the canon app to print wirelessly on non apple device. I have a modem and router combo from cable company. Will return for either lower cost machine or refund all together. Sad think I already bought extra ink and having to return that and the printer is a hassle. Also I do have another printer that can print wirelessly fine but wanted to replace that one. MP495 so It a canon issue not me.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MG5522
Nickname: Jourdan

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 4, 2014
As a previous review stated, wireless installation is near impossible. Setup of the printer itself wasn't too difficult, but the wireless setup was ridiculous. Not user-friendly at all.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site