Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MG Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MG Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG7120

PIXMA MG7120

PIXMA Printing Solutions (PPS) app easily lets you print and scan photos or documents from your mobile device. With the cloud print function you can print directly from online cloud services either at the printer itself or with your mobile device using the free PPS app. 3.5" Touchscreen LCD and Intelligent Touch System buttons only illuminate and appear when you need them. 9600 x 2400 dpi photo resolution and gray ink for amazing detail in your color and black & white photos. Advanced Media Handling allows you to print on CDs and DVDs as well as load plain and photo paper right into the front of the printer at the same time so you are always ready to print.
Average Customer Rating:
2.767 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
11
11 out of 30(37%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG7120
Review 1 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: BC
Location: Southern California
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Lots of features

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 21, 2014
Pros: Lightweight/Portable, fast print speed
Nice looking piece of equipment. Seems reasonably fast at printing and scanning. Be sure to follow the instructions for setup--there are lots of pieces of packing materials. After only a few days of use, the printer seems very slow to start up when it is turned on. Cannot print files from Google Chrome browser, but OK from Internet Explorer. I look forward to experimenting with photo printing.
Review 2 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Geno
Location: Round Rock, TX
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

OK but some disappointments

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, duplex printing, more compact then the mp980
Cons: Large Footprint, lacks slide scanning, lacks usb cable
I bought the 7120 directly from Canon as a replacement for my MP980 (which failed to print after 3 years and was uneconomical to repair). Unfortunately the new printer lacks a feature of the old one (viz.-Scanning slides). The 7120 moved the slot for the camera memory card to the left side which is more convenient for me. I made it through tax season, printing the pdf tax forms. The 7120 requires some care in stocking up the plain paper cassette making sure the paper lies below the guides on both sides, else the printer grabs multiple sheets. This requires removing the cassette from the printer. The MP980 allowed me to just slip new paper into the cassette and print. After printing a fair number of tax forms, I still have not had to replace an ink reservoir; after printing the first few sheets, the ink status on the printer screen seemed to show I had used 50%. Fortunately, this was not the case. The new menu icons are far too complicated for me and confusing to simply set routine printer functions. I chose to use the USB wire connection (cable not included) rather than fool around with wi-fi. Overall, the new printer works well, but not as satisfactorially as the MP980.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Continous connection problems with my Mac

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, fast print speed
Cons: unreliable
Ever since I started using this printer it's been extremely fussy with the connection to my Mac Pro (2013).
Wireless printing stopped working altogether so I connected it with USB to my Airport and even then it very often cannot find the printer and the much-touted Auto Start-up does not work at all. A huge disappointment!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Viridel
Location: Havre, MT
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Downgrade in every way

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2014
Pros: solid job on cd/dvds
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Flimsy Construction, terrible software
Replacing a 6120 that had a faulty red jet, and let's just say I'm glad the store has a 14 day satisfaction guarantee:
a) Moving the scanner opening from the front of the device to the middle is a TERRIBLE idea
b) I use the scanner for batch jobs, which MP Navigator handled quite adequately. MPNav doesn't work on this model, and you're stuck with the 2/3 Gb My Image Garden disaster of a bloatware program. I cannot understate how terrible this software is.
- b2) MPNav had a feature that would auto-detect multiple images and crop accordingly, great for batch-scanning large quantities of photos. This feature in My Image Garden - gone. Tech support says it's there. Well, it don't work.
c) Additional CD/DVD print trays, each cost 20% of the purchase price of the entire printer... Really?
d) Touch screen is lousy, have to apply way too much pressure (compared with devices we are all used to already), and its accuracy is terrible.
e) What's with that little paper tray thing that flips out automatically? Comically foolish.
Took a good base product (6120), and completely destroyed it with unneeded tweaks and gimmicks, while wrecking the actual usability of the product. There is no functional reason behind any of these decisions, except to create an over-engineered piece of trash with horrendous software.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: mark
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2014
I am very happy with this printer. The print quality is great and have had no problems with it. I am using it as a wifi printer and have done copying with it as well.
I like the 2 drawers with different paper types for photo or regular printing.
The only wish I have is that they have a driver for Linux as well, but the driver on WIndows 8.1 works well.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: nothappy
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Printer that can't print

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 24, 2014
Pros: wireless
Cons: doesn't print, can't fix most issues through settings
I bought this model and it worked great for about a week then it consistently messed up and couldn't print because it said "the size of the printer paper is different from the settings" so I took it back and got a new one. The second day of using it same problem would NOT print my papers for work.
Taking it back and won't go with a CANNON again, not going to pay a premium price for a generic printer.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Sandy
Location: Florida
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Not the best!

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 11, 2014
I keep having problems with the color cartridges. I have replaced all, but it keeps saying that the grey is empty, when it's brand new. It won't print and it's very frustrating!!! It uses a lot of ink, very quickly, so the cost is high.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: wtg
Location: Springfield, MO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love it. Really!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 11, 2014
Super easy to use. The quality is crazy good. Love the interface all around.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: BadCanon
Location: Houston, TX
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

PIXMA MG7120 broke after 3 uses

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 11, 2014
Cons: broke after 3 uses
Printer broke after the 3rd use and needs to be serviced. No way to fix it myself. Not the quality I expect for the money. Can't comment on the features because I can't use any of them.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Pegith
Location: Maryland
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Pretty Much a Disappointment

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2014
Cons: inflexible printing capability
Not happy with this printer at all. I can no longer print address labels from my templates and I haven't been able to print other than 8.5 x 11 paper or envelopes in spite of printer directions; apparently printing various paper sizes is not possible. Since I use my printer to create cards, invitations, and other craft projects and this printer doesn't accommodate multiple sizing for paper, it's pretty much useless. I'll be looking for something else ASAP.
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Tesla07
Location: Orlando, Fl
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very Impressed

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 28, 2014
Pros: user friendly, excellent printing, many features, well made
Cons: none
I am very impressed with the features and print output. I found this printer very user friendly. I also own a Canon Pixma 6520 but without hesitations; will use this printer for my primary use. Very well made and impressed with the large digital screen which guides you as to how to use different areas. 5 stars for this machine!!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: gstewartjr
Location: San Diego, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Won't print Avery Labels

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2014
Pros: cloud print, design, duplex
Cons: avery label paper sense, ink runs out fast, can be long warm up time
Cloud and print works fine. Problem is that paper sensor looks for white, and is confused by Avery label headers. Tearing off the top right portion of label allows it to work, but seems dangerous as there is now sticky residue going though printer. Driver need some sort of override to allow label printing.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: rox

Does not work

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2014
wireless doesnt work. I did everything* right. It reads that its on the right network – Ive tried everything, even spent money on a professional IT person.
It simply does not work, unless connected with wire. And now it wont recognize 4x6 paper.
its 3am, and I have been trying ot set this up since 7pm.
14 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: SusieQue
Location: IL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Not very happy

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2014
Pros: sleek design
Cons: hard to load paper, can't print smaller labels
I had a canon printer before and was quite happy with it so thought I would stick with canon. I researched online and thought this one had pretty good ratings. Humph. I can not get it to print labels without jamming. Hard to insert them. Have to take out the whole tray which is hard to get in and out. I was able to put in just one or two labels before and print them by just sticking them in the top of the printer. It is bigger and bulkier than my old unit and does not fit on my table as well. Could not get it to set up wireless either. Thinking of returning it and wish I could just get my old printer fixed.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Douglas
Location: Ohio
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Annoying Noise

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2014
Pros: quality printing
Cons: noise!
The printer makes a long series of clacking noises before and after each time I print. Very annoying!
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: lsls
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Mostly used for: Printing Documents

Annoying noise ruins whole experience...

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint, High Ink Consumption, too much noise
Biggest problem of this printer for me is that every each time I print even a single page document, it always makes very annoying loud noise for about 40 seconds for some sort of adjustments or cleaning to make itself prepared for the next printing task... The noise during printing can be reduced by "quiet mode" with the sacrifice of speed, but I'm talking about the noise this thing makes during interval of print tasks.
I mainly use this to print very small amount of document every 5-15 minutes or so, and in such case, this "automatic adjustment/preparation" time is much longer than the time used for printing itself, and there's nothing you can do about it to turn this off or anything. Be careful if you plan to print frequently with short intervals! It will surely be super annoying.
16 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: petester
Location: Queens, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Printer Horrible Software My Image Garden.

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2014
Cons: Large Footprint, unreliable
While the printer looks great and all the style of set up is very long, longer than any set up I've ever encountered using a printer. First 3 minutes then 6 minutes then test print heads align its insanely long.
One of the major drawbacks is the software "My Image Garden" its a total mess believe me when I say it. I use a mac and Im a graphic designer for over 10 years and this program is not functional at all. It doesn't allocate the iPhoto Library and I can't copy any images/photos to its templates whether its to print to Disc or anything else. In addition it doesn't import PDF's if one already has a DVD layout made its so limited in so many ways its crazy.
Canon you guys need go back to the drawing board or buy out a program called Disc Cover 3 by belightsofware.
15 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Max
Location: Forest Hills, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

High Ink consumtion

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2014
Cons: High Ink Consumption
the design is perfect, good quality of assembly. however the printer takes too much ink, I use XL size cartridges and still see that I am asked to replace them every 30-40 prints on 4X6" papers. I would have expected at least 200...I feel if use printers at Walgreen or CVS I could save more money having the same quality...
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Printerguy
Location: Kenosha, WI
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Wish I'd got something else

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2014
Cons: must remove paper to print envelopes.
Got this printer to replace my now non-working MP990. Was thinking Canon would at least improve on the 990. Printing is much the same for full page printing but when I want to print an envelop I have to remove the paper and put in the envelop to print. No rear tray and the upper tray doesn't accept envelopes. What a pain! I will be returning this unit.
13 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: CK
Location: Belvidere, NJ
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very easy setup on wifi, and AirPrint .

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2013
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, easy to use
Very good looking functional design. White color goes well within home office. Clear instructions for initial set up. The video tutorials available on Canon USA website, make it more easy. Highly recommend to watch before starting install.This is my second Canon printer , the first is MX860, and was very difficult to install. This MG7120 printer installed very quickly on my wifi. I had it up and running within an hour all by myself.
The quality of printing is very good. I have not tried to scan as yet. This model does not have auto feed but capability to print from my laptop, iPhone etc. makes the difference for me. Still using the inks which came with the unit. Hope soon off brand inks will be available to keep down the operating costs for a home office.
23 of 24 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site