Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MG Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MG Series or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG7120

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA MG7120

PIXMA Printing Solutions (PPS) app easily lets you print and scan photos or documents from your mobile device. With the cloud print function you can print directly from online cloud services either at the printer itself or with your mobile device using the free PPS app. 3.5" Touchscreen LCD and Intelligent Touch System buttons only illuminate and appear when you need them. 9600 x 2400 dpi photo resolution and gray ink for amazing detail in your color and black & white photos. Advanced Media Handling allows you to print on CDs and DVDs as well as load plain and photo paper right into the front of the printer at the same time so you are always ready to print.
Average Customer Rating:
3.213 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (75 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
8
3 stars
15
2 stars
8
1 star
18
20 out of 47(43%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG7120
Review 1 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Deuces
Location: Papillion, NE
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love My Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2015
Purchased the MG7120 in November 2014 and love it. The quality is awesome whether printing, copying, or scanning documents. I highly recommend this printer.
Review 2 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Bifff
Location: Iowa
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Hefty

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2015
This thing is hefty, it weighs a ton. Ok, that's an exaggeration. But it is big, and solid. Prints a big sheet and as small as I've seen. Nice quality copies, prints and pictures. Complete newbie, but it was easy enough to get up and running. Dig it.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Gramgram S
Location: Hoisington, KS
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Love my Canon!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2015
I recently purchased a Canon MG7100 Series Printer. I can finally air print and print double sided without having to manually turn the pages around. Best printer I have had!
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Bendymom
Location: Smith Center,Ks
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Crafts/Scrapbooking
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Easy to set-up

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 5, 2015
Easiest printer to set - up, and also to use, very easy ,no brained...
Review 5 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Dnick
Location: L.A. California
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

EXELLENT PHOTO PRINTER

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2015
I am extremely pleased with the photo printing. I have yet to explore the many features offered, but I can tell this is a great printer.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Rich
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Skip this unit

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 29, 2015
An honest review. I love my Canon photography equipment and I liked my previous Pixma 610 printer. Based on that I selected the MG7120 over competitor's products. This printer has been terrible from the start and I've been trying to like it for about 6 months now. Functionally it does what it's told, however it is extremely slow to start up, extremely noisy, the paper output door bangs open and bangs open again during every printer cycling event (it cycles again I guess for cleaning after the print job is complete). Scanner works but has a terrible interface. It does appear it was an effort to simplify (aka cartoonize) the interface however when you just want to get something done, it's annoying. Sorry Canon, but you failed on this one.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: timbukto
Location: California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Terrible

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2015
This printer stinks. It has been a problem since I bought it a year ago.Photo prints=incomplete ink distribution. Copies:works when it wants. Paper tray pops out=bothersome.Manual is useless for troubleshooting.Followed online instructions too many times to correct poor printing.DO NOT BUY
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Linda
Location: Laurelville Ohio
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Canon is my favorite printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2015
It took me a week to get the printer hooked up but once I did it was love at first print - scan.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Jeff
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year

great printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2015
Pros: wonderful print quality, very easy wifi set up, auto on feature is really nice.
Cons: It is not the fastest printer
Overall: This is a wonderful printer if you want and easy, no hassle printer that has awesome quality. The hardest thing about setup is taking it out of the box. The owners manual is very detailed and has lots of support.
Review 10 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Tiny
Location: Burlington, WI
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great Printer and a great deal

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2015
I purchased the Canon MG7120 printer and I am extremely satisfied. Very easy to install and set-up. It print's, copies and scans very well. This is probably the best printer I have owned.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: NeighborBob
Location: Warren, Mi.
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very thoughtful.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2015
Very helpful and accommodating in figuring out how to solve my problem and with my new purcahse.
Review 12 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Cindy
Location: Portland, OR, United States
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Canon Pixma mg7120

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2015
When it works, I love it. If one cartrige is out, you cannot scan print in black. My printer said I needed more black ink. Since I could not evern scan, I went to the store immediately and bought a black in cartridge. I ut the cartridge in and was told informed that I new need a blue cartridge, Mind you that I have only made 3 or 4 color copies in the whole year that I have had it. So until I go buy a blue cartridge, I cannot make any black and white copies or scan. What is up with this.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Mike B
Location: Portland, OR
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

SLOW!!!!!!!!!!

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2014
I was not expecting this from Canon product. It take literately 4-5 minutes to start-up and first print. Everything else is great. It does print quality pictures and seem well built. Owning it for over a year now and I still can't get over how slow it starts up.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: sven
Location: Rothschild, WI
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

easy set-up

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2014
I am far from having any tech savy regarding computer set ups, etc.
The install of this Bluetooth device was amazingly simple, getting the toner cassettes in place was the most challenging task (snapping them in place), The directions on the device screen are very clear and easy to follow.
Thanks, Canon! Your printer is as good as your cameras. We have a Canon Power Shot SX110. Satisfaction with that camera is what drove the selection of the Canon printer to go with our new home computer.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: BAM
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

STOP, put your $ back in your pocket

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 21, 2014
This is the 1st BAD product I've gotten from Canon..I've been buying and using Canon products for more than 15 years...Printer is very noisy, shakes likes it's wired, manual is hard to understand if you're a beginner...Return it if you can...Best of luck, you will need it...What happened Canon?...
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Jane
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Thoroughly modern.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2014
So much easier to use than the printers with which I have become accustomed. I love the many applications.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: kyle
Location: florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

worst purchase ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 13, 2014
The wifi simply doesn't work on this. Tried everything, even brought someone else out, and was told to just get a better printer. The wifi is the only reason i bought this. The instructional "manual" has no relevance whatsoever to the product and may as well be in Chinese. There is literally no useful information about the wifi in it, or even the Canon boards. Searching on the internet, i found a lot of people with my problem and very few of them seemed to have at any success. When it does work, it's incredibly slow, takes minutes to process every job, and shakes like it's going to fall apart during the actual print.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: OLEMISSrebel
Location: East Aurora , N.Y.
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Easy to Use

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2014
Very easy to setup and great prints both documents and photos !
Review 19 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Ski girl
Location: Detroit, MI
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2014
I wanted a wireless printer and always believed Canon would be a great brand. Love the wireless option and all documents and pictures print perfect. You can't miss with this printer.
Review 20 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: u2_720
Location: Utah
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Photo Scans are Terrible

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2014
I have tried various settings and can't get it to scan a simple 4x6 photo to any level of satisfaction.
The scanned colors are blotchy.
I could get a better scan by taking a photo of it with my 15 year old camera.
I wish there was a solution to the terrible scanning issues because I like the printer otherwise. . . aside from the terrible clicking sound it makes when printing starts. . . sounds like something is breaking every time but prints always look good.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site