Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MG Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MG Series or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG7120

PIXMA MG7120

PIXMA Printing Solutions (PPS) app easily lets you print and scan photos or documents from your mobile device. With the cloud print function you can print directly from online cloud services either at the printer itself or with your mobile device using the free PPS app. 3.5" Touchscreen LCD and Intelligent Touch System buttons only illuminate and appear when you need them. 9600 x 2400 dpi photo resolution and gray ink for amazing detail in your color and black & white photos. Advanced Media Handling allows you to print on CDs and DVDs as well as load plain and photo paper right into the front of the printer at the same time so you are always ready to print.
Average Customer Rating:
2.981 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
12
2 stars
6
1 star
15
20 out of 47(43%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG7120
Review 1 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Monrovia, Indiana
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Horrible

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2014
Terrible photographs printed.. Boxing it up and taking it back to Bestbuy..
Review 2 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: thomas
Location: tampa, fl
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

excellent

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2014
Fantastic printer. It makes my photos on my cellphone look amazing in print! I am buying another one for my In-Laws for Christmas!
Review 3 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: J TX
Location: DFW, TX
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Finally a dependable full feature printer!!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2014
Easy to setup when following directions, lower ink price, GREAT CRISP PRINTS, no matter what you print, great wireless function, lots of features...what else could one desire in an 8.5 x 11 all-in-one? Simple. Gift yourself (Or someone you know) with this one, in a color you will enjoy.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: ajax
Location: sf
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

terrible software

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2014
Great print quality, but worst software ever. The scanning and CD software is really bad. Documentation is equally bad.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Syrsa
Location: Davie, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Will not buy this again.

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 17, 2014
Problems from the first. All of a sudden cannot change the files to print to photo paper. Colors turn out with a brown tinge, in spite of the PhotoShop preferences.. The printer keeps saying I have to upgrade. but cannot due to the directions given.
Sorry Canon, something is wrong, and it is not me.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: MarineWife
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Worst purchase ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 26, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable
What a waste of money! It won't connect and when I finally get it to connect, it will print one picture and then go "offline."
Don't waste your money on this printer.
5 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Closer
Location: Tennessee
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 26, 2014
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: High Ink Consumption
Great printer. Looks even better when you actually see it. Set up is easy if you just follow the enclosed guide. Just do everything on the enclosed guide and then install the software CD. It doesn't prompt you to do this in the guide. Copy's print out in approximately 10 seconds. Photo's on best quality setting print in 45-50 seconds. Great product from a great company.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: CAR
Location: IOWA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

PICTURE PRINTER

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 14, 2014
Pros: Sharp Tones & Colors, nice color pictures after you find the right setti
Cons: Difficult Setup, Flimsy Construction
COLOR SYNC IS OFF A LITTLE FOR MY MAC. THE 4X6 CARDS AND PICTURES ARE OUT OF ALIGNMENT. COULDN'T FIND THE SECOND DRAWER. NICE PICTURES IF YOU CAN GET THE COLOR RIGHT.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Mac
Location: California
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Good Harware - Weak Software

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 9, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: limited label software
I was impressed to find what appears to be a nice quality printer and low price that provides 'on-CD' label capabilities. For normal printing it seems fine. Unfortunately, the software provided with the printer to allow you to print labels directly on CDs and DVDs is lacking in features and I can't find an upgrade at Canon for a better package. I will be returning the printer.
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Craig
Location: New Bern NC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Awesome printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 5, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Love this printer so far! We use it for general day to day printing. Had a problem to start with when we got it. note to anyone who does purchase this printer, DO NOT USE A LINKSYS VALET ROUTER it might work for a day then you will have nothing but problems. We upgraded our router and it has been the best printer.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: irate
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 4, 2014
Pros: pretty
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup, High Ink Consumption, unreliable
after 2 months, this things is unbelievably slow. It is a pain to set up. It is hard to use. The paper feed is unreliable and the trays are inconvenient. Printing an envelope is a crapshoot. it drinks ink. Photos are too expensive to risk trying. copying is a labyrinthine process. Manual is not usable. This is just and awful printer. But it looks cool sitting on my desk.
14 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Joshua
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

So Happy

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Just bought this printer earlier today, and at first I was a little worried due to the bad reviews. I got it home and literally had it set up in about 5 minutes. It was so much easier than I thought to get it connected wirelessly to my wifi and get it printing straight from my iPhone. So pleased that I actually went back and bought my dad the same one.
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Fuzzwicket
Location: Bloomington, IN
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Copying
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

My Granny was slow but she was old

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint
Using this printer for about a month and am still disappointed in the time it takes to get a copy. It scans then prints and it is unbelievable how slowly it goes through the scan/print process especially when getting two sided copies. And it frequently goes through some internal click, clack, buzz and whir routine that seems to take forever when I'm waiting for a copy. I had an MG6120 that did the same thing and - silly me - I thought Canon may have improved on that internal process but this printer is actually worse.
And it makes excellent photo prints and the print quality is good. I haven't decided yet about ink consumption but I'd suggest you shop around before buying this printer.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Pat
Location: California
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Gets jammed often!

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 20, 2014
Pros: Sharp Tones & Colors, quality photo images
Cons: Difficult to use, High Ink Consumption, unreliable
The quality of the photos from this printer are good. I use it as a dedicated photo printer only. I have a 2nd printer to do everything else. This printer costs way, way, way to much in ink to use as an everyday printer.
Turning the printer on takes several minutes. Then most times I print it gets jammed. I waste a ton of expensive photo paper. At this stage when I use the printer I know that it is going to be a very long, trying process.
I am researching other printers and can't wait to replace it.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: east greenbush, ny
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Better than expected

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 1, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use, it's red!
I was hesitant after I read the reviews to buy this printer. But I set it up in a flash, enabled the wireless feature and started using it within a short time right out of the box. Granted I have only had it for one day but if it can do all it promises I am thrilled with it. I have already used the scanning feature with great success and printed both in b&w and color. I only give four stars for value because of the crazy expensive ink prices. This printer is replacing my relic pixma MP760 which I hated to give up but it would no longer function with my upgraded software (still using it on an older computer). It is sleek and pretty, easy to use, easy to set up and has a lot of great features. I have all Canon printers, this is my fourth. I also have two Canon cameras and lenses. I am a Canon fan and the best part is if you do need help a real live person is there on the other end of the phone.
12 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Nick
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Product replacement: Yes

Best-designed hardware

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 29, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, easy to use
I just got the printer and I've used it a bit. However, I've found it to be one of the best-designed printers I've ever used. The way the thing is designed is just nice--the way the trays slide in and are arranged, the auto-open tray mechanism, the way the top panel kind of rotates out of the way, the context/touch-sensitive buttons which are invisible when they aren't relevant (because they aren't lit up). It's great that it has an auto-shutdown and auto-wake feature too. Wireless setup was simple.
Documentation of the settings on the printer are a bit lackluster, and there's some notable (though minor) obvious translation issues in the interface and documentation.
The one failing physically is that some of the plastic bits on the tray and such are somewhat flexible and cheap-feeling.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Fiestaman
Location: Leesburg, VA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

OK, but not thrilled

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 14, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, quality of output, wireless and device support
Cons: Large Footprint, High Ink Consumption, terrible scan interface
Love the wireless and phone/device interface. Satisfied with quality and speed. Wish had larger paper capacity.
Biggest complaint is horrible scanning interface. Not a novice but not intuitive at all. My wife is ready to throw it out the window for that reason.
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: brotherbox
Location: Dallas Tx
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Crafts/Scrapbooking
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

wish it had better intergration

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 6, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Difficult to use
I bought this printer to replace the office printer I had had for several years. My old one an mp550 was a work horsed did everything I could think of except high quality photos. main reason I selected this one. it works well in office products, but have a bit of an issue with other software. Some issues with labels with printing tried old software and new, it works better with the new but not as well as the old printer. Same with greeting cards and thank you cards, my staple of work. I have not found a program this works well with. I design and print in 2 different formats since programs do not integrate. End product looks good enough just not as I would have liked. pictures printed look great, just not on a card. there's no way to tweak on a card. but for other work it prints fine.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: racen23
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Crafts/Scrapbooking
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2014
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
The pictures printed are true to its color. I love it.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: chef
Location: Venice, FL
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Service Makes the difference

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 24, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use, 1 yr free exchange, like color choices
Have had for 5 months. Use on quiet mode & find it is quick and w/ quality as good as you're willing to "spend" ink on.
Photo quality on high res is amazing.
Service? Out of the blue this week after changing 3 almost empty cartridges at the same time got an error message. Followed instructions but it wouldn't clear. Went to website and e-mailed cust serv. In less than an hour had a reply that it would need service and they would exchange at no charge. This was a Wed afternoon and new printer was on my door step by mid afternoon Thursday!
I think it's a great printer for the money but the service is what keeps me going back to Canon!
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site