Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot G Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot G Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot G16

PowerShot G16

Built-in Wi-Fi lets you wirelessly transfer and share images and video Canon's HS SYSTEM with 12.1 Megapixel CMOS sensor and DIGIC 6 Image Processor for improved speed and low light performance 1080p/60p Full HD video 5x Optical zoom and bright f/1.8(W) - f/2.8(T) lens
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 out of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot G16
Review 1 for PowerShot G16
Nickname: DoctorPepper
Location: Palm Coast, FL
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Excellent Carry Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2014
I purchased the PowerShot G16 as an alternative camera to my two DSLRs (EOS 6D and EOS 600D), for times when I didn't want to, or couldn't carry one of those. The G16 is an excellent camera, and fits my role as a carry around camera quite well. It is a bit larger than most point and shoot cameras, but has excellent image quality and enough advanced features to keep me happy.
If I were to complain about anything, it would be about the lack of a wrist strap. This camera ships with a neck strap, but I carry mine in a Case Logic belt pouch. I purchased the Canon WS20 wrist strap, and it works great.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot G16
Nickname: Senator
Location: Western Illinois
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Happy enough, but...

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2014
We purchased the Canon G16, our 5th Canon, because we like our Canon G10, and the G10 has a lot of miles on it - we don't want to be in Lapland or some other distant place and have an old camera fail - and we insist on a camera with a view finder. The G16 is a bit slimmer than the G10, so that is good for my pocket, and it performs at least as well. But it has some capabilities we may never use - wifi, burst, editing-on-the-camera to name a few. The pop-up flash must be an improvement over the G10, but it seems like a mechanical piece with potential for failure someday. The dedicated switch for movies is probably a good idea, but old habits get in the way, and we have missed some good opportunities. We don't like the placement of that movie switch, as it is easy to push accidentally while holding the camera with the right hand. I'm sure the G16 has much more potential than we will realize as we travel the world and play with grandchildren.
Review 3 for PowerShot G16
Nickname: TC
Location: Rio Rancho, NM
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Small Carry Camera Needed

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 28, 2014
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: would like to have an external mic input.
I have two Canon DSLR EOS bodies with a few L series lenses and love them but wanted to have a Canon that I can pretty much carry with me all of the time and still capture stills in RAW format. I also wanted something that I can record short video clips to upload to micro-stock sites and this is a little gem for video! I can't get over the quality of video and also with two slow motion modes along with 1080P. I don't really have any cons about this camera because I did my homework BEFORE I bought it and my wife is still happy with her PowerShot G10 that she has had for about 6yr and is still using it without fault.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot G16
Nickname: bobbyb
Location: Cleveland Ohio
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Everything in a compact package

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2014
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu
This is by far the most complete compact camera ever. It is just slightly larger than a compact digital camera. Lets start with its amazing low light ability. ASA 3200 is like ASA 400 on my old camera. 1.8 to 2.8- 5x zoom allows for photos in museums with no flash. And with the ultra low noise in those photos a new world of photography opens with a compact digitl camera. I wear it in a case around my neck and off to the side so it can go everywhere undetected but is always available for those "Oh I wish I had my camera shots." Oh yes you can edit shots right on the camera from cropping to contrast adjustments to vivid color or even b&w. Then go to the nearest drug store and print them on your vacation. Autofocus is fast and accurate. And even a feature that tracks the subject if its moving. Select the face detect and the camera will find the primary and secondary faces and set the exposure automatically. Dont want the bulk of a dslr but want the features then this is the camera. It also has a little bigger sensor at 1/1.7. A dream come true.
25 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot G16
Nickname: wayne
Location: Illinois
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

A Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 24, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
My last Canon camera was the A620. I used that camera almost everyday. It was a g=real workhorse. It is because of the A620 that I decided to buy the G16. One of the feature I like about the G16 is the menus system is the same as the A620. That enabled me to get used to the new camera in no time. Canon has added new features of course and I have found the camera to operate beyond my expectations. I am very satisfied with the G16 and look forwad to years of use..
The images are fantastic. Color, contrast and sharpness are excellent. I couldn't be happier. I made the right choice in purchasing the G16.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot G16
Nickname: biginabox
Location: London
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

1 Week Wonder

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 24, 2014
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life, Flimsy Construction, excess heat during moderate use, over mechanised
Within a week of opening the box, my Powershot (G16) failed, again. because of its fragile lens construction. My former G10 succumbed to 'lens error' after 3 years, the G16, which is noticeable flimsier, lasted a week of light use, handling with kid gloves.
Also, the battery life is much shorter. And the case gets worryingly hot after only an hour's intermittent use.
If you want a camera for cocktail parties and christenings, the G16 is the ultimate tool. But as a practical camera for everyday use, forget it. With less reliance on motorisation, and a simple lens filter thread, it could be a viable option for serious street photography and documentary work. But since it seems to have a design fault, either in the dust seals or the lens blades, or both, it will always be too much worry for the price.
14 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot G16
Nickname: PhotoJman
Location: Houston, TX
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great backup/jacket camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 23, 2014
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, doesn't make me to go auto, quiet
Cons: Short battery life, using flash is clunky, wish it had a focus ring, shutter lag feels long, small camera can be hard to grip
I had been thinking about getting the G15. and then this came out and was what I was on the fence about between this and the s120. I liked that I could send pics from the phone in real time if i needed to.
I use a pro DSLR as a main camera and it is what i shoot 99% of my work with. but at home its a pain to lug all that stuff around. so this is where this camera shines.
I like that I can shoot a picture of something the kid is doing silly and he is not distracted by a giant lens and I can then throw them up on Facebook or email as soon as i can. no computer, or anything.
When my son had his 1st birthday my parents were stuck in florida. and the whole time they could watch a near immediate stream of photos as it as happening.
What I like is that this has made simple shooting fun again.
one more thing it is funny to see me put a giant speedlight on top of this. it is like those pictures of a little truck hauling a 15 foot high stack of boxes. And about as stable.
I also like that i can use it where the big camera is too big. i was in a tank and i could use this much easier than an DSLR.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot G16
Nickname: Gug
Location: Trenton, MI
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great Value!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 29, 2014
Pros: excellent picture quality, video is stunning, low light and night pictures, f 1.8
Cons: the windfilter could be better, no vari angle lcd, pause button for movies
This camera takes great pictures, period. It also does an excellent job underwater being it has the underwater mode and it doesn't get more natural looking. The hidden benefit is the video. At 60 fps and 1920 x 1080 it is near as real as being there.
Fits in my cargo pants pocket while traveling. Has the same performance and quality as many SLR's without having to carry the bulk.
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot G16
Nickname: Pjay
Location: Clifton Virginia
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very good

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 14, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
I upgraded from a lower level camera after a vacation where every shot had something wrong with it. This camera is in the sweet spot between the larger and bulkier SLRs and tiny compacts. I am hard on cameras and I keep it in my pocket so mechanical functionality and hand-fit are key to me. I have large hands and like to use cameras one handed.
The good: Better picture quality hands down. Better camera control, menu makes sense and has the key features. I know every reviewer talks about first shot speed but from my POV this camera is really fast. Very good build quality. Another worry for me was battery life. On previous cameras I only used AA since I tend to get stuck in very remote locations without power. I bought three batteries for this camera just to be sure but one battery lasted my whole trip and that is pretty amazing. Another positive is that the computer does a pretty good job of figuring out what is going on and setting up the picture so AUTO works well. Overall I have better balanced exposures and color. It is also good at figuring out what your subject is and adjusting for that subject.
There really are no cons but lets call them petty annoyances: The bulge-grip in front needs to be a little larger to accommodate one handed use as does the thumb pad in the back, but I have really large hands. I go in and out of my pocket a lot with this camera and I do tend to spin the controller wheels so I have to do a quick looksee to make sure the wheels are right before taking a shot.
Conclusion: I good choice for me. I could not have gone smaller and I don't like bulk on my trips. The photo quality is very good and AUTO covers a lot of ground for the snapshot taker. It has a great feature set I am still exploring. I gave it 4 stars as that is where I place it compared to larger higher end cameras.
88 of 91 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot G16
Nickname: Senior Adult IT
Location: Alpine Meadows, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Features

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 3, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use, great small size, high iso
Cons: Short battery life, Complicated controls/menu, wifi on ios 7 fails
Purchased for a trip to Africa. The high ISO and picture resolutions were great for the trip. Also did some HD video which came out great. Small size did not seem to effect picture quality. Pictures seemed as good as my 70D and 1Ds. WiFi and iOS 7 do not get along so could not use WiFi function. It's a known issue on the internet and I assume Canon will fix it in the near future. Video really takes toll on battery life, I suggest one carry a spare. So far have taken over 1400 pic and 30 videos on a 128gb chip using about 20gbs. Powerful camera in a Small Profile.
82 of 83 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site