Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot S Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot S Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot S120

PowerShot S120

Built-in Wi-Fi lets you wirelessly transfer and share images and video. Canon's HS SYSTEM with 12.1 Megapixel CMOS sensor and DIGIC 6 Image Processor for improved speed and low light performance. 1080p/60p Full HD video. Bright f/1.8 lens along with 5x Optical Zoom and a 24mm Wide-Angle lens.
Average Customer Rating:
3.909 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
6 out of 9(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot S120
Review 1 for PowerShot S120
Nickname: bmf920
Location: Boston MA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Fine Camera, Transferring Photos is IMPOSSIBLE

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 2, 2014
This camera works just fine. I don't have a real issue with the battery life as others mention. But I have a MAJOR problem transferring photos. I am a tech savvy 24 year old and find it nearly impossible to transfer photos from my camera to either my cellphone or my computer. I have successfully transferred photos once or twice, but ever since, it continues to NOT function. It is pretty frustrating. This is an expensive camera. To not include access to a properly functioning app or a USB cord to ACTUALLY transfer photos is a serious screw up.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot S120
Nickname: AnnieM
Location: Ohio
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Love this camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 10, 2014
We purchased the Powershot S120 to take on our trip to France, because I did not want to carry my Canon 60D due to its size. The S120 is so easy to use and took spectacular photos - even better than some that I had taken on a previous trip to Europe with the 60D. The photos taken at night were amazingly clear and bright. This was, undoubtedly, the best camera purchase I have made.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot S120
Nickname: Blaccard
Location: Jupiter FL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Horrible Battery Life

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 8, 2014
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life, poor microphone placement
I liked this camera alot. However the battery life when shooting Full HD video is horrible. If you search on the internet you will see loads of complaints regarding battery life issues, yet Canon fails to recognize this problem. Images and effects are great. I purchased this camera for business travel so I didn't have to drag the 5D around. I keep 3 batteries with me because batteries are dead within 10 minutes in Full HD. If you plan on using this camera for video, forget it. I get longer Full HD video battery life with my phone! The microphone position is bad for audio as well. Wifi should have the ability to shut off to save battery life.
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot S120
Nickname: JIm357
Location: WI
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Don't bother with this camera

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 21, 2014
Pros: Bright LCD
Cons: Missing features/settings, Short battery life, poor instructions
I took delivery of this camera last week and used it extensively over the weekend. All I can say is I am not impressed. The manual is useless, there are features missing that I was planning to use and my IPhone takes as good of pictures as this very expensive camera takes. The wifi is more difficult to use than it needs to be and the ap for smart phone use is a joke. One would think Canon could afford to make a useful ap and come up with a camera that has functional features that work when advertised. For the proce on this thing I would like functional features.
22 of 56 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot S120
Nickname: Seabrook
Location: Kensington, MD
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great pocket camera but suffers short battery life

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2014
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, raw image capture
Cons: Short battery life
A great camera with a solid build but with one significant caveat. A significant improvement over the S110 both ergonomically and in captured image quality. However the battery life is very short and erratic, especially in video capture mode. Until that failing is resolved I'm hesitant to recommend this camera.
23 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot S120
Nickname: NNYer
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

No User's Manual Included, and you really need it

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Short battery life, no user's manual
I wanted a very small, compact camera to carry in my purse when I don't want to lug my DSLR with the big, heavy 18-200mm lens. I wanted a camera that takes GREAT snapshots in low light situations. I wanted video capability with auto-focusing. This camera delivers. I am incredibly impressed with the quality of the photos. I had an old PowerShot that really can't even compare. However—there is a manual for Wifi included (totally irrelevant to me), but NO USER'S MANUAL for learning the features of the camera. That is such a stupid move on Canon's part, IMHO. At the very least, Canon should offer the option of PURCHASING a little book/manual. I downloaded all 215 pages of it from their website and printed out the 180 or so most relevant pages, but it's like carrying around a half a ream of paper. C'mon, Canon. A camera needs a User's Manual, even for very experienced photographers.
43 of 44 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot S120
Nickname: LBscraps
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

EXCELLENT point and shoot!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
We were headed on a trip when it wasn't convenient to take our large Canon Rebel T3i and lenses, so my husband decided to give me my Christmas gift a little early. Can I just say I LOVE THIS CAMERA!!!!! Not only all of the other features mentioned everywhere - my VERY favorite is that in the typical auto mode, at the end of a day, or series of shots, one button merges them into a movie. Not just a slideshow, but there is VIDEO and AUDIO for a couple of seconds BEFORE the photo was snapped!!! I'm making these into QR codes to put on my album pages with the photos - how TOTALLY cool is that? I LOVE this, and have recommended it, already, to all of my photo crazy friends!
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot S120
Nickname: Hstan
Location: Texas
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

$$$$ - BUT NO MANUAL & PAYING FOR USELESS FEATURES

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2013
Pros: excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, full controls
Cons: expensive useless features, no manual
This is my third S90+ series. Incredible pocket travel camera. My travel BW blowups are mind boggling. But I really didn't like paying for silly WiFi on a serious photo instrument ... would have much rather have a real manual. With all the capabilities of this camera, having a reference manual that you can tab and yellow marker is almost a must, And if you think you can just print out the .pdf manual, think again -- it's 215 pages! and the .pdf on-screen file does not even allow underlining, yellow marker or cutting and pasting to a Word file. Pretty darn useless and not very thoughtful. What in the world were you thinking? WiFi? Restricted .pdf manual? No manual?
38 of 40 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot S120
Nickname: Robo
Location: Maryland
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Misleading

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2013
Cons: Missing features/settings
I am disappointed with my new Canon S120 because the advertisements stated WiFi, but after purchasing, the documentation says that you must have Windows 7 or 8.. If you don't have Windows 7, how do you get the images into a computer? Logically, it would be using a USB cable, but none came in the package. Then too, one might expect a manual, but you have to download one from the web (Windows XP works for this.)
20 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot S120
Nickname: Mark
Location: NYC
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Its so so, expected better

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, durable, Bright LCD
Cons: Poor image quality, Short battery life
This camera takes killer Videos. Anti-shake device works as if you had this camera on Glide-Cam mount. Awesome. But photos Im not really impressed with. For outside it maybe ok. But indoors its not so good. But old S80 took better pictures. It takes very good pics in dark places where you dont need flash BUT when you put the flash on it takes too long to for the flash to load power to the lamp. You also have to pop the flash up manually everytime (my wife hated that) and when you take pictures in wide angle (24mm focus) edges of pictures long elongated (if you have a face on the edge of your photo - it looks stretched out - I really didnt like that). I took pictures with at wide angle with different cameras and I have never seen this happening on any photos. Battery life is not so great. It is really weird. Battery didnt last me too long on a full charge.
17 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot S120
Nickname: motherrunner4
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Best Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Complicated controls/menu
This camera is great for someone who wants a little bit of freedom that a more advanced camera allows, but that doesn't garner the attraction that it brings. This camera fits great in my pocket and is very sleek and lightweight. It's not very easy to navigate in the programs, but with enough playing around, you figure it out. Well worth the cost and would buy again!
33 of 42 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site