Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / imageCLASS Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop imageCLASS Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for imageCLASS MF6160dw

imageCLASS MF6160dw

The imageCLASS MF6160dw helps to improve office workflows and increase productivity.
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (6 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
1 out of 1(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for imageCLASS MF6160dw
Review 1 for imageCLASS MF6160dw
Nickname: rwb2259
Location: Ohio
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great purchase!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2015
I have had this printer about 1 1/2 years now. It replaced an older Canon printer which was really worn out! I have nothing bad to say about the performance of this printer. It has never failed me and to be honest, is more than I ever expected. The only difficult thing that I have is that changing to different size sheets / envelopes for the tray is difficult at times. Other than that I have no complaints! Great printer.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for imageCLASS MF6160dw
Nickname: nothappy
Location: Oklahoma
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Worst scanner ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 6, 2015
I bought this printer/scanner for the combined functions of a printer, scanner, and copier. The printing and copying are ok but the scanning function is not good at all. It will grab the pages, turning them slightly and "eat" up the sides of the document which are "source" documents from clients. I can't use the scanner with confidence unless I first copy the document, then scan the copy so it won't mutilate the client's paperwork. This causes double the work. We are a CPA firm and scanning documents is a main way of preparing taxes or other related tasks for our clients so that we then have a record of where our numbers and information came from. If I had known the machine wasn't going to handle the scanning function, I would never have purchased it. I use this machine at my desk for my convenience as we have multiple other scanners throughout the office; which I am now using because they are much more reliable. It's just the inconvenience that I dislike.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for imageCLASS MF6160dw
Nickname: Steve
Location: SW USA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

HORRIBLY ENGINEERED PRINTER

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 31, 2015
I set the paper tray that came with the printer with letter sized paper as the default.
Then, I set the Multi-purpose tray that came with the printer with legal sized paper as the default.
As long as I print ONLY letter or legal sized items, this is a nice and fast printer.
But, I regularly also print No. 10 envelopes and various Avery labels.
So, every time I print either an envelope or an Avery label, I must re-set the Multi-purpose tray to tell it I am printing either an envelope or an Avery label.
And, if it is a label, I must ALSO enter the exact dimensions of that label.
Then, after printing the envelope or Avery label, I must reset the Multi-purpose tray to legal paper.
I must do that over and over and over and over again every time I print an envelope or an Avery label.
This Canon MF6160dw does NOT allow you to save those "Custom" Settings so that I could just pick them the next time I wanted to print that item.
Keep in mind that these are STANDARD No. 10 envelopes and STANDARD Avery labels that are probably each printed millions of times per day by everyone.
I print envelopes and Avery labels often enough where this becomes a HUGE WASTE OF TIME to have to do this MANUALLY so often.
The printer that this Canon MF6160dw replaced was over 12 years old when it died.
But, even that old decrepit printer AUTOMATICALLY recognized what printer settings needed to be used when I printed No. 10 envelopes and Avery labels in Microsoft Word.
Now, I could buy another Canon Paper Tray to hold my legal paper so I would at least not have to constantly reset the Multi-purpose tray to legal paper after I printed an envelope or an Avery label.
But, the price of a 500 sheet Canon paper tray (they don't sell anything smaller) costs a WHOPPING 73% of what I paid for the entire printer.
You would think that in this age of technology, a printer that requires 'MANUALLY" changing settings should not even exist.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for imageCLASS MF6160dw
Nickname: Kurtz
Location: Texas
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Fantastic Device

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2015
After 8 years of traveling the world with us it was time to replace our MP830.
My wife; who is knows very little about all things technical, setup our new MS6160 all by herself. Generally the computer geeks in the family handle all things technical. This goes to show how simple the device is to set up, and on a network no less.
Simply put Canon makes great products. I have a Canon EOS D7 camera body and Canon EF lenses. My entire family own various Canon cameras. You cannot go wrong with Canon products.
People who report problems setting up this printer have other issues affecting their computer systems. The printer is simply a manifestation of those problems, where in reality nothing is wrong with the printer. Keep that in mind when reading negative comments.
Great product, thank you Canon for making my life and wife happy.
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for imageCLASS MF6160dw
Nickname: trupador
Location: Glen Cove, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great for home office

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2015
I purchased the multifunction printer a month ago. It was very easy to hook it up to the wireless router. Within minutes it was up and running. However, it is a multifunction therefore, there are other setup requirements if the user wants to take advantage of all the functions.
Review 6 for imageCLASS MF6160dw
Nickname: Roger
Location: Philadelphia
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great machine, with Google Cloud Printing

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 3, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
As usual, Canon produce another version of printers for home and small office use. I had 3 of 4880/4890 in the past; love them. I bought this 6160 only because I need to use the Google Cloud Printing service on it. After successfully connected the 6160 to my google cloud printing, the test page was not printed and error code is #82 (which means that the printing files is too big for the printer). In reality, it was just a few text line for testing.
I called the Canon USA tech support. Got transferred to the Network Department. Have some issues and back and forth with the networking department tech support. It was before the Labor holiday. After the labor day holiday, I realized that there was a new firmware released as Sep 1, 2014. I downloaded the new firmware and the google cloud printing worked on this new firmware version. I guess the tech support eventually identified issue on their firmware. That is ok; everyone can make mistake and I am glade that they worked so hard to get a new firmware released during the holiday.
Overall, a great machine and exciting new google cloud printing function does work on firmware released as of Sep 1, 2014.
I plan to buy a few more 6160 machines as I am moving away from Window PCs and replacing them with Google Chromeboxes.
12 of 16 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site