Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MX Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MX Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX472

PIXMA MX472

Enjoy new levels of printing convenience with utilizing features such as AirPrint and Google Cloud Print. The Automatic Document Feeder holds 30 sheets, making it easier to copy, scan or fax multiple page documents. FastFront enables you to quickly and easily change ink and add paper all from the front of the printer. With the optional XL or XXL pigment black ink cartridge, you won't have to replace your ink cartridges as often.
Average Customer Rating:
3.146 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(96 Reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (96 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
19
3 stars
10
2 stars
9
1 star
28
6 out of 13(46%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX472
Review 1 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: FaxBrother
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Poor

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2015
Printer is great if you want to only print and copy. will do its job when only printing is required or copying. Fax is not made for business purpose. does not have PC-to-Fax software like brother. Before buying I thought that it will be nicer that Brother machine. but I was wrong. It is not nicer that brother. cannon can do some improvements in its function. I owned two cannon printers, one printer does not work at all in two years. I am disappointed in cannon products.
Review 2 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: oldswitchman
Location: Jacksonville,Florida
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Printer MX472

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 8, 2015
So far this is the best home printer I have owned.
Setup was easy, I have not used the Wifi yet, may have use for it later.
Unit prints well and fast, Pictures come out great.
I would buy it again !
Thanks
Oldswitchman
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: MobileHarleyMan
Location: Mobile, AL.
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great printer/Expensive Ink

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2015
In the limited time I have used this printer, the MX472 has performed flawlessly, producing vivid color for both photos & documents. The MX472 is far superior to my other printer, as it is more reliable, faster, quieter & far exceeds my other printer in color reproduction. The only negative I have found for the MX472 is the high cost of ink cartridge refills. If not for that drawback I would have given it a five star rating.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Uzala65
Location: Sacramento, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Just love it!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 3, 2015
This printer is awesome! Easy to set up and prints, copy and scan like the original copy. The quiet mode is second to none. I will recommend this product for anybody.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: John
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Terrible Product

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2015
I would warn anyone against purchasing this printer. I have only had it for 3 months and I cannot stand it. I am constantly fighting with it to try to get it to print, it often tells me to "please wait a while" for hours at a time -- NOT ideal if you are a student or anyone trying to meet deadlines. Cannot get the scanning to work, nor the wireless print. I am pretty technologically savvy but I cannot get this printer to cooperate. When it does work, however, I will grant that print and copy quality are beautiful for the price paid. Overall, it is a constant struggle to get this product to perform.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: maddog
Location: Wappingers Falls, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 24, 2015
I love this printer, it was easy to setup, and wireless printing is awesome! I recommend this printer to anyone who is in need of an all in one machine.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Newton
Location: Castalian Springs, TN.
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Phenominal

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 18, 2015
WOW! This is my first adjective of many that could be used. Thank you Canon and your designers for coming up with such an easy way to install a printer...even wireless.
That's right open the box, plug it in and put the disk in the portal and press load and then follow the easy to use directions from there. I kid you not I was a little apprehensive that it would work the first time, but it did.
I am so pleased, and I thank you again very much.
Newton
Review 8 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: HateMX470
Location: North Carolina
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Hate mx470 series. Worst printer ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2015
I like canon products and stick with the canon printers. I was starting my own business 2 months ago and was excited to buy this expensive new MX470 series printer/fax/copier. i have to say, dealing with this printet is the most stressful part of my job. When it even works, it is slow, jams every other use, sucks in too many papers at once, snd sucks back in and ruins papers if you dont remove it IMMEDIATLY off the printer. Now I am stuck with it. I Hate it.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: chunky
Location: Maine
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

all in one

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2015
I had purchased an all in one but had issues downloading the disc into my laptop, plus marks on paper when printing from the top instead of scanning was smugging. Returned item 2 wks. later replaced it with the same model and wow what a difference its works so much better, just need to figure out how to receive a fax now. Very happy and the price was great.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: bossanovablonde
Location: Long Island, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Problems with paper jams

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2015
I found out the hard way that I must feed one piece of paper at a time into my new multi-functional Canon copier, or else it will jam. Within a few days of purchasing this copier, I fed about 10 pieces of paper to print a proposal, which got stuck so deeply within the machine that I could not remove them. I had to go all of the way back to the retail store, for their service department to retrieve the paper. I am always anxious that this will jam again. That never happened with the older model I had for close to five years. Too bad that version was discontinued.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Bill
Location: Palm Bay, Florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great Machine

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2015
I am happy to say this machine has met my expectations, so far. I have only had it for a few weeks. Operated the FAX feature today and everything went well, with both sending and receiving. I would like to also state the discounted coupon price, through my local club store, really cinched the deal. Thanks Canon!
Review 12 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: glenshep2007
Location: Oak Ridge NJ
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Print not sharp - uses too much ink

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2015
While this printer is sufficiently fast the print quality is lacking. The blacks are "Too dark" and result in the, having a slightly fuzzy appearance. It is very noticeable and cannot seem to be remedied.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Totalnutforpics
Location: Omaha, NE
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Awesome Value.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 4, 2015
Ever since I fell in love with Cannon SLR cameras, I have been a nut for the brand.
Well This printer has not fallen short of my expectations!! The quality and ease of operation is to Cannon's high standards. The price was totally below the quality. It could have been priced higher as it is as good as any other printer that has a extremely high price tag.
Will stay with this Brand!! It is always the best.
Review 14 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: in NM
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Easy

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2015
Very easy to set up & use. Everything has been easy: printing, copying, scanning. It's great if you don't have lots of printing/copying since by reading the info before purchase it obviously isn't made for that. Drawbacks: It doesn't hold much paper and when it prints more than 4 or 5 pages they fall on the floor.
Good for the price. I've had it for several months now.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: None
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very good..but..

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2015
I like Canon products and the MX472 printer, especially requiring only 2 cartridges instead of multiple color cartridges. My only problem is there was not a simple manual to explain simple printing procedures.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: J
Location: Colorado
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very Satisfied Purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2015
My purchase of a MX472 has proven to be a very wise choice. My previous printer had out lived it's time and I had no idea as to what to purchase. My trip s to several stores to both review what was available and check prices made my choice quite easy as the Big Box Store assisted me and was able to answer all questions and offer suggestions. Furthermore, I found the instructions very excellent and was up and running in no time. I would highly recommend this printer to anyone in a home based use. The quality of the print is far superior to any that I've used in the past.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Rlydia
Location: Alaska
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

A Disappointment

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2015
This printer was easy enough to set up and it does print from my iPad, which is what I want it for. However, it does not come with even a basic User's manual and that is a major annoyance for me--especially since (so far, at least) I haven't been able to find/read the manual online. I do find what purports to be the manual but cannot open or download it. My big gripe right now is how to change the print orientation...but I'm sure I will have other questions later and I shouldn't have to spend hours reseaching to get an answer to a simple question.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: STUMC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Too cheap

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 22, 2015
This was a real step down from our 12 year old previous printer. We thought it would be better. The wireless is nice and the fax sends well. It doesn't always seem to receive faxes properly. I am most disappointed in the scanner. The software is cumbersome and antiquated. My old scanner allowed me to select the portions of a page to scan--say a photo from a scrapbook page- the resolution, and much more. This one doesn't. Every time the computer is turned on, a big display starts running on the desktop. Can't seem to disable that, but will have our computer tech get rid of it. Not everyone wants the printer to determine how the desktop looks. I was able to get rid of the 7"x7" array it initially put on the desktop, although it still leaves a large, ugly icon. Don't like a littered desktop. Will have to find a way to move it. Also discovered it has no memory card slots. Thought they all did now. Our old one had slots for several formats. It didn't cost much more, even 12 years ago. Guess if you buy the sale printer, even if it's supposed to do everything, you need to beware. (Someone else purchased this. I did not select it. Will not go with Canon again.)
Review 19 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: umefishing
Location: Baltimore, maryland
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Copying
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2015
worse printer I have ever experienced ,,,have had nothing but problems since I brought it.
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: gabe

worst install ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 17, 2015
trying to get this thing setup for twenty minutes and still needed to call tech support. awful experience.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site