Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MX Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MX Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX472

PIXMA MX472

Enjoy new levels of printing convenience with utilizing features such as AirPrint and Google Cloud Print. The Automatic Document Feeder holds 30 sheets, making it easier to copy, scan or fax multiple page documents. FastFront enables you to quickly and easily change ink and add paper all from the front of the printer. With the optional XL or XXL pigment black ink cartridge, you won't have to replace your ink cartridges as often.
Average Customer Rating:
3.15 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
5
6 out of 13(46%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX472
Review 1 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Delta-Force-51
Location: Charleston, WV
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Printer!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 8, 2014
Canons' Pixma MX472 Multifunction printer is an excellent machine. This printer performs very well and has all the functions I need.
I have had no problems with this printer; moreover, it is a great value and well worth a look.
I recommend the Pixma MX472 to friends!
Review 2 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Astrodj
Location: BC Canada
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 4, 2014
Purchased this printer because I wanted a printer I could use on wi-fi with my iPad and iPhone.
It works extremely well, and it was not hard to share it with the two PCs I own. The only problem I had with it was with the set up, but once I got through that it was fine. I am very pleased with it, and does everything I wanted it to do. I would recommend this printer to anyone looking for a wi- fi printer
Review 3 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: mountaingoat
Location: Denver,co
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Hard to setup

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 3, 2014
Hard to setup with out a dedicated phone line. I'm trying to setup using the line I share with home phone. I have a cable internet based phone service and all of the technical information with printer and information online has not worked for me to set it up properly.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: warthog
Location: West Virginia
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Initial Set-Up With A Mac Very Frustrating

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 1, 2014
Just purchased this product. Many wasted hours trying to set-up with a Mac Computer. No instructions nor a CD Rom for setting up with a Mac. Also no help available at all on Canon website to set up with a Mac.Finally called Canon Tech support. It took almost 45 minutes to slowly go thru the setup with a very knowledgeable and patient tech support person.. I'm sure the printer and its features will work well. But the total lack of info on how to initially set it up with a Mac would definitely be a reason why I would not buy another Canon printer. The tech rep was very understanding, but was at a loss as to why Canon was so negligent in providing proper materials or instructions to set it up with a Mac. Canon - you can do better.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Jeri S.
Location: Harrisburg area, PA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Canon Consistency

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 29, 2014
As a small business owner, I recently had to replace my Pixma MX330 that had served me well for the past 5 years. Time was of the essence so I purchased this upgraded version thru their Tech. Support.
The machine arrived 2 days later & the instructions were simple enough to follow. Set-up took some time but, since it was 5 years ago since I had done this, it still went smoothly. Called for support one time and the hold time was minimal; their help was efficient and knowledgeable.
Word of Caution / Wisdom: if you are replacing a similar product, take careful note as to your fax-line connections. This was my only real problem & it was more my error in that it somehow got disconnected on both ends & took some trial & error to find the correct port to locate & re-establish the fax line.
I anticipate another long tenure with this machine.
Bottom line: great value for the price and support was there and very helpful thru the minor issues I encountered.
Review 6 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: RedGaron
Location: Laurel, MD
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good Value for a small all-in-one printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 10, 2014
I was looking for a printer/copier/scanner/fax that did not take up a lot of real estate in my home,but which could also print from several devices. The MX472 fits the bill for me. I was surprised at how easy it is to fax and receive faxes. Other all-in-one machines that I have used in the past, including from Canon, were too complex to set up to receive faxes for a phone line that is also used to receive calls and has an answering machine.
On the downside.... there is no duplex printing; and this printer seems to consume a lot of ink.
I have had this printer for only 1 week, and I will update this when I have more experience with this printer.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: liz

Worst Purchase Ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 10, 2014
This printer will not work. I had to buy an extra cable just to sync it to my computer even though it is supposed to be a 'wifi' printer. Well, it also does not come with an Apple version of the software. It won't print from my Iphone like it says, either. This computer basically is just a copy machine.
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: KK
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Wanted to like it

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 2, 2014
Pros: Small Footprint, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Difficult Setup
Got this for a great deal on Amazon, or it would be going back already. Spent nearly 3 hours trying to set up the wireless connectivity. Computer connected to network, printer connected to network, but they could not find each other. I really wanted this because of the wireless printing, and I've had other Canon printers that have easily connected (and I do know how to install the software, etc - which repeating the steps for set-up included downloading at least 4 times!). I'm going to try purchasing a cable to physically tie the printer and computer together. If that doesn't work, it's going to have to go back. However, the copy function works fine, so the printer does actually work.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Erie
Location: Hamilton, NJ
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

I Love This Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 22, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
This printer is reallly good!!!!! It is easy to use and it works very well.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: gapch
Location: Georgia
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great purchase

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 15, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: no 2 side printing
I would have given this machine 5 overall stars if had 2 sided printing. Machine is very heavy, so I would place where you want and leave it there.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Lockport, New York
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Worst printer ever bought

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 8, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable
Not easy to hook up. I've had continuous problems with it. Very loud., defiantly not worth the money.
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: mystic7
Location: Charlotte, NC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Terrible

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 1, 2014
Pros: durable
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, Difficult Setup, poor scan quality, noisy as heck, instruction sheet more concerned with being green, ...than being helpful
I'm no novice but this printer isn't worth the $30 I saved by not buying a more expensive model. First off connecting via wi-fi is a major pain if your router doesn't have a WPS button (which most routers don't unless you upgrade every year. Mine is 5 years old). And if you can't get it connected via wi-fi, there is no USB cable included.
Besides that the scanner is terrible. I checked online and many people have the same complaint. A solid green square, for example, is all mottled and blotchy, not solid. Since scanning is my #1 need over printing or faxing, that makes this purchase a major fail. Bringing it back today.
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Oddish
Location: Long Beach
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Product replacement: No

Hmm...

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 14, 2014
Pros: fast print speed
Cons: Difficult Setup, huge body
I just set it up and printed out a document. The set-up was awful, not easy at all to get it connected to the Internet. That alone makes me want to return it.
The print job was fine, what you would expect. I'm more disappointed in the HUGE size of the printer, it doesn't fit well under my desk like my last one did so now I have a lot less legroom...great. Honestly, they couldn't make a more compact product?
6 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Redbird
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Bang for your buck

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 4, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed
For moderate home office use this printer is ideal. The quality of the print, copy, scan features are excellent.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Mature lady
Location: Florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

I cannot seem to get the printer to print form ema

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 28, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup
In my 20 + years of installing printers to use with my home computer, this is the 1st time, I cannot get the printer to print. I an receiving the fax que each time I check print. Printing is the primary use for the al in one machine scanning is the second, fax very seldom. why am I recieving FAX when ever I go to print ???
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Bart
Location: East Bay Calif.
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Noisy & difficult to follow manuals

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 20, 2014
Pros: fast print speed
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, noisy
My Learjet starts up quieter than this machine! And the manuals are difficult to use (still haven't figured out how to print an envelope!).
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: burly
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Price

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 20, 2014
I just purchased this printer last night. I had a canon 300 before, that I loved. This printer is very nice, and I am learning all the new features.
My question to anyone with this printer does it make a lot of noise, when in use? I am not used to that, or is mine not working correctly?
Thanks for the help!
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: ck
Location: Commerce Twp., MI
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

my mx 472

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 10, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, easy to use
I really like my new printer. This replaced my HP4215 that was eight years old. The print is very clear. Canon support is for as long as you have the printer! That's awesome. The only problem I have, is the fax tries to answer my telephone! The directions for the printer, say to plug my phone line with the answering machine phone to the back of the printer. The instructions on my answering machine phone says NOT to install near any other electronics, especially a computer or printer. So I just turn my printer off when I get an incoming call! Works for me.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: GabiRo

MP Navigator is not working with MX472

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2014
The printer is ok. But the MP Navigator is not working with this model MX472. My Image Garden is a disaster. It is slow and ugly and it does not have the same features as MP Navigator. I would not recommand this printer to anyone because of the My Image Garden software
20 of 36 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Fashion
Location: VA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2014
Great product for the price. Reliable and color is true.
26 of 42 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site