Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MX Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MX Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX472

PIXMA MX472

Enjoy new levels of printing convenience with utilizing features such as AirPrint and Google Cloud Print. The Automatic Document Feeder holds 30 sheets, making it easier to copy, scan or fax multiple page documents. FastFront enables you to quickly and easily change ink and add paper all from the front of the printer. With the optional XL or XXL pigment black ink cartridge, you won't have to replace your ink cartridges as often.
Average Customer Rating:
3.125 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(88 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (88 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
18
3 stars
10
2 stars
9
1 star
25
6 out of 13(46%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX472
Review 1 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: chunky
Location: Maine
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

all in one

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2015
I had purchased an all in one but had issues downloading the disc into my laptop, plus marks on paper when printing from the top instead of scanning was smugging. Returned item 2 wks. later replaced it with the same model and wow what a difference its works so much better, just need to figure out how to receive a fax now. Very happy and the price was great.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: bossanovablonde
Location: Long Island, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Problems with paper jams

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2015
I found out the hard way that I must feed one piece of paper at a time into my new multi-functional Canon copier, or else it will jam. Within a few days of purchasing this copier, I fed about 10 pieces of paper to print a proposal, which got stuck so deeply within the machine that I could not remove them. I had to go all of the way back to the retail store, for their service department to retrieve the paper. I am always anxious that this will jam again. That never happened with the older model I had for close to five years. Too bad that version was discontinued.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Bill
Location: Palm Bay, Florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great Machine

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2015
I am happy to say this machine has met my expectations, so far. I have only had it for a few weeks. Operated the FAX feature today and everything went well, with both sending and receiving. I would like to also state the discounted coupon price, through my local club store, really cinched the deal. Thanks Canon!
Review 4 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: glenshep2007
Location: Oak Ridge NJ
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Print not sharp - uses too much ink

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2015
While this printer is sufficiently fast the print quality is lacking. The blacks are "Too dark" and result in the, having a slightly fuzzy appearance. It is very noticeable and cannot seem to be remedied.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Totalnutforpics
Location: Omaha, NE
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Awesome Value.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 4, 2015
Ever since I fell in love with Cannon SLR cameras, I have been a nut for the brand.
Well This printer has not fallen short of my expectations!! The quality and ease of operation is to Cannon's high standards. The price was totally below the quality. It could have been priced higher as it is as good as any other printer that has a extremely high price tag.
Will stay with this Brand!! It is always the best.
Review 6 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: in NM
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Easy

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2015
Very easy to set up & use. Everything has been easy: printing, copying, scanning. It's great if you don't have lots of printing/copying since by reading the info before purchase it obviously isn't made for that. Drawbacks: It doesn't hold much paper and when it prints more than 4 or 5 pages they fall on the floor.
Good for the price. I've had it for several months now.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: None
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very good..but..

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2015
I like Canon products and the MX472 printer, especially requiring only 2 cartridges instead of multiple color cartridges. My only problem is there was not a simple manual to explain simple printing procedures.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: J
Location: Colorado
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very Satisfied Purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2015
My purchase of a MX472 has proven to be a very wise choice. My previous printer had out lived it's time and I had no idea as to what to purchase. My trip s to several stores to both review what was available and check prices made my choice quite easy as the Big Box Store assisted me and was able to answer all questions and offer suggestions. Furthermore, I found the instructions very excellent and was up and running in no time. I would highly recommend this printer to anyone in a home based use. The quality of the print is far superior to any that I've used in the past.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Rlydia
Location: Alaska
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

A Disappointment

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2015
This printer was easy enough to set up and it does print from my iPad, which is what I want it for. However, it does not come with even a basic User's manual and that is a major annoyance for me--especially since (so far, at least) I haven't been able to find/read the manual online. I do find what purports to be the manual but cannot open or download it. My big gripe right now is how to change the print orientation...but I'm sure I will have other questions later and I shouldn't have to spend hours reseaching to get an answer to a simple question.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: STUMC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Too cheap

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 22, 2015
This was a real step down from our 12 year old previous printer. We thought it would be better. The wireless is nice and the fax sends well. It doesn't always seem to receive faxes properly. I am most disappointed in the scanner. The software is cumbersome and antiquated. My old scanner allowed me to select the portions of a page to scan--say a photo from a scrapbook page- the resolution, and much more. This one doesn't. Every time the computer is turned on, a big display starts running on the desktop. Can't seem to disable that, but will have our computer tech get rid of it. Not everyone wants the printer to determine how the desktop looks. I was able to get rid of the 7"x7" array it initially put on the desktop, although it still leaves a large, ugly icon. Don't like a littered desktop. Will have to find a way to move it. Also discovered it has no memory card slots. Thought they all did now. Our old one had slots for several formats. It didn't cost much more, even 12 years ago. Guess if you buy the sale printer, even if it's supposed to do everything, you need to beware. (Someone else purchased this. I did not select it. Will not go with Canon again.)
Review 11 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: umefishing
Location: Baltimore, maryland
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Copying
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2015
worse printer I have ever experienced ,,,have had nothing but problems since I brought it.
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: gabe

worst install ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 17, 2015
trying to get this thing setup for twenty minutes and still needed to call tech support. awful experience.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: RogueKnight
Location: NJ
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 16, 2015
Great all-in-one for folks on a budget. Prints pics and docs easily and high-quality. I will def recommend this printer to friends.
Review 14 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: happycamper
Location: San Luis Obispo, Ca.
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Quite the little machine for the money

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 13, 2015
Just bought the MX472 all-in one for home office use. Have run it about flat-out for a week scanning old docs before shredding. Overall, an amazing machine. Very good auto doc feeder that makes duplex scans a snap. It will scan about 150 pages, then slows WAY down, for what reason not known for sure. Shutting it off for a couple hours solves the problem-so maybe heat? There are threads out there that talk about this. So if you want to scan an office load quickly, you are probably going to have to part with some serious $ for a high end scanner. Print quality is excellent. Copy function is awesome-no computer needed. Have not faxed yet and do not want wireless so never set up. Instructions are written for an engineer- I gave up and just played with it until it did what I wanted it to. We have Canon cameras and they have always been great. Been having nothing but trouble with other brand printers, on advice from friends switched to Canon printers, and I all can say is we won't look back. Try one, and I bet you will be hooked too. Just don't run when the babies' asleep- they are a little loud! lol Enjoy!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: ChromebookUser14
Location: Nashville, TN
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Didn't work on Chromebook

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 7, 2015
I purchased this printer specifically for it's Google Cloud Printing capability. After connecting the printer to my wireless network and "registering" this printer to my Google account, I was unable to find the printer under Google Cloud Print settings on Chromebook. After trying every work through I know and searching for help from the Google support and Canon support sites for four hours, I gave up. I took the product back to the store for a full refund because it is not worth this much trouble. I will use the library for my printing, scanning, faxing, and copying needs for now.
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: bigsissy9999
Location: California
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worse printer ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 6, 2015
I bought a Canon MX472 printer several months ago. I was so excited because it was advertised as a great printer and wireless from anywhere in the world. WRONG! This has been the worse printer ever. After spending hours trying to get it programed for wireless it still isn't. I have used different routers, computers, laptops and still not wireless. The printing is not sharp. Now I am having trouble with it jamming and printing blurry. Yes, I have done all the things required to fix it. But this printer is just one problem after another. I would toss it in the garbage if I had another printer to use. I work from home and use a printer every day. I would not even rate this printer a 1. Don't buy it.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Santi
Location: QC
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Doesn't work with Mac

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 6, 2015
I never get to connect my Mac with the printer. And both are connected to the router.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Charles
Location: Charleston,SC
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Junk

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2015
I had nothing but trouble with this Printer,was replaced once and new one just as bad!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: GARY
Location: LOS ANGELES
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

WORST PURCHASE EVER

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2015
NEW SCANNING SOFTWARE IS HARD TO NAVIGATE, MAKE EVERYTHING COMPLICATED. PRINTER KEPT SAYING ANOTHER COMPUTER IS USING THE PRINTER. HAVE TROUBLE SINCE DAY 1. HAVE TO REINSTALL THE DRIVE TWO TIMES ALREADY SINCE USE FOR 3 DAYS.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Arrowhead
Location: Pentwater, MI
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Easy, simple and quick

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2015
Just bought the Pixma MX472. It had a good price, was Consumer Reports recommended and is remarkably straight forward. It set up real simple. My router and the printer got to know each other very quickly and that is about all that had to be done. Push 1 button on the router and one on the printer and it worked. Apple print too. Very nice to press print in the living room and hear the printer fire up in the back room. nice!
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site