Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MX Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MX Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX472

PIXMA MX472

Enjoy new levels of printing convenience with utilizing features such as AirPrint and Google Cloud Print. The Automatic Document Feeder holds 30 sheets, making it easier to copy, scan or fax multiple page documents. FastFront enables you to quickly and easily change ink and add paper all from the front of the printer. With the optional XL or XXL pigment black ink cartridge, you won't have to replace your ink cartridges as often.
Average Customer Rating:
3.186 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (70 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
15
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
19
6 out of 13(46%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX472
Review 1 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: GARY
Location: LOS ANGELES
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

WORST PURCHASE EVER

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2015
NEW SCANNING SOFTWARE IS HARD TO NAVIGATE, MAKE EVERYTHING COMPLICATED. PRINTER KEPT SAYING ANOTHER COMPUTER IS USING THE PRINTER. HAVE TROUBLE SINCE DAY 1. HAVE TO REINSTALL THE DRIVE TWO TIMES ALREADY SINCE USE FOR 3 DAYS.
Review 2 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Arrowhead
Location: Pentwater, MI
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Easy, simple and quick

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2015
Just bought the Pixma MX472. It had a good price, was Consumer Reports recommended and is remarkably straight forward. It set up real simple. My router and the printer got to know each other very quickly and that is about all that had to be done. Push 1 button on the router and one on the printer and it worked. Apple print too. Very nice to press print in the living room and hear the printer fire up in the back room. nice!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Jaxon
Location: Wilmington, DE
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Printing is Moody

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2015
Printer is moody! I have had to install and re-install 3X. When wireless goes down due to storms - I have to setup the printer again and again.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: ggc2438
Location: Deerfield, Ohio
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

good value for the price

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2015
This is a very good all in one printer and except for the fax setup [I still am having problems with it ] the rest of the setup procedure was very simple. With the exception of the noise it makes when delivering paper to be printed this is well worth the money.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Columbus, Oh
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

best purchase ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2015
This printer is awesome. Very easy to setup and use.. Also the price ink is very reasonable. I would recommend this printer to anyone looking for a fast work horse printer.
Review 6 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Mitch
Location: Florida
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Almost 5 Stars...

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2015
Excellent printer/scanner/copier. Would have given it 5 stars except for... it was hard and frustrating to get the Wi-Fi set up. (Instructions not written well.) Also, since paper has to make a 180 to print, it doesn't handle self-stick envelopes, card stock, etc. well, so don't count on it for those.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Tanya
Location: Seattle, WA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Canon Pixma MX472

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 7, 2015
This is my first Canon printer ever, The printer/copy quality is great, but setting up the printer is not too easy. The instructions are complicated and confusing. The ink cartridges are expensive, and what Canon send with the printer do not last long. You have to purchase the XL or XXL cartridges in order to be able to print for a decent amount of time. The XL and XXL are very expensive. I have been trying to set up the fax for over a month now, and it still does not work. I have only had the printer for little over a month, and so far I am not impressed.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: stjenn
Location: houston tx
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

pixma

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2015
Overall the printing is just fine. Not all of my computers could find the driver as plug and play. Major complaint is its noisy. Also , it makes all kinds of "settling down" noise, and then prints.. Don't know why it cant just print... Good print out of chinese language.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Duke
Location: Neenah, WI
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Machine, Even Better Service

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2015
We just recently purchased an MX472 because we needed
a Cloud Printer for our new ASUS Chromebooks. I couldn,t get the printer to work on the Cloud. I called support for Canon, and in about 5 minutes, I was placed in touch with the man who handles Google items. He had my computer and my wifes computer up in five minutes! WOW!
DUKE
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Bill
Location: Connecticut
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Not Happy With It

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2015
The software is just ok. The printer itself prints very sharp. However, the printer's actual control pad leaves a lot to be desired. It is hard to read what the display says. It really needs a backlight. It is also difficult to navigate. I also don't like how scans are just saved as a sequential number. I want to be able to name the scan as I am saving it. I bought the MX472 as a replacement because of the price.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: TERRY
Location: Yuma, AZ
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

pPIXMA MX472

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2015
I needed a new Printer, Scanner, Fax, Copier to set up for my new Mac Air. Took me no more than 10 minutes and it works perfectly. I print from the laptop, iPhone and iPad. I own another brand wireless printer and spent hours unsuccessfully trying to set it up. So happy now.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: bertha
Location: florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

trouble with set up

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2015
I have not been able to get it to print from my laptop
have to call someone to help with problem and pay to get it to work
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: RAG9779
Location: Newark DE
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Terrible Purchase

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2015
Purchased several Canon printers before all were wired, first wireless, this one is crazy, want through several hoops and still will not install to my wireless router, got a new router still nothing. Don't know if it is to late to return but will try, no more Canon's wireless for me
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: lew
Location: florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

great but

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2015
the set up instructions need to be more user friendly, once you get by that is great
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Don
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Wireless works great.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2015
This is the first wireless printer that we've owned. Setup was easy and it works great with both computers we have.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: jrhoffa
Location: Fergus Falls, MN
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

excelant product once again

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2015
This is by far the best printer we have ever purchased. We upgraded from an older printer, so I'm probably easily impressed. Never the less this is a great product. Fast, professional, and sophisticated I enjoy using this printer. The pictures I've printed so far have turned out perfectly. This is the Canon MX472 printer. It could however use a better set of instructions in print that comes with it. It doesn't have much printed instruction, just online instruction. The call in help is out of this world. They are so helpful. Walked me through my troubles.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: e513
Location: Santo Domingo, DR
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Output tray

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2015
Well I think is not the best one could buy, but if used for home like I do it you wont be so dissapointed except for one special thing. The OUTPUT TRAY is SO SHORT OR PAPER COMES OUT SO FAST, only thing I know is that after a few pages THERE'S PAPER FLYING ALL AROUND.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Frank
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: more than 20 years

Poor experience

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2015
I've had the printer for a very brief time. The print quality became blurry. I tried head alignment maintenance but it only produced repeated paper jams as I attempt to complete the alignment.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Melissa
Location: DFW, TX
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years

Wi-Fi Unfriendly

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2015
This printer is great for what it produces BUT it is very unfriendly with connecting to Wi-Fi enabled products. I will NEVER buy another one!!!!!!!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Texas ER

Might Be A Good Printer - but i'll never know

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2015
The directions, setup menus, and online help to set up this printer are so bad I can only guess that they were written by a child who has never actually used a computer - and doesn't speak English.
This machine is not serviceable as a result. Take a look at the documentation before you buy it. Trust me.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site