Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MX Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MX Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX472

PIXMA MX472

Enjoy new levels of printing convenience with utilizing features such as AirPrint and Google Cloud Print. The Automatic Document Feeder holds 30 sheets, making it easier to copy, scan or fax multiple page documents. FastFront enables you to quickly and easily change ink and add paper all from the front of the printer. With the optional XL or XXL pigment black ink cartridge, you won't have to replace your ink cartridges as often.
Average Customer Rating:
3.037 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(107 Reviews) 107
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (107 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
21
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
34
6 out of 13(46%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX472
Review 1 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: 
Location: Massachusetts
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

pixma mx472

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 19, 2015
While the machine and I got off to a bumpy start during the setup (which is like pulling teeth for me to do), I really like this product.
Some of the few issues I've encountered involved really simple problems-- like I couldn't get to the ink cartridge to change it. Simple solution-- turn off the machine and start over.
Another involved trying to use the scanner. My old all-in-one allowed me to scan either by pressing the scanner button on the machine, or going through the scanner software on the computer. Since I tended to use the scanner button, I was really perplexed not to find it on the PIXMA. Not a biggee.
Have had the PIXMA for a year now and I would highly recommend it.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: 
Location: iowa
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

constant paper jams

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 29, 2015
This printer constantly experiences paper jams and then ink gets on some imaging ribbon which is very difficult to clean.
Tech support is excellent, the product is the worst I've had in many years of printers
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: 
Location: Portland, OR
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

i'd rather use dot matrix

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 24, 2015
Do yourself a favor and spend your money on anything else besides this printer. It's slow. It's often impossible to connect to the wifi. I have to have the printer almost right next to the wireless modem. It is not convenient and it is not easy. Handwrite everything before you buy this.
Review 4 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: 
Location: Central Florida
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Worst Canon Ever Owned

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 17, 2015
The MX472 is the worst Canon product we've ever owned. It's absolutely lousy; performance is far worse than the Canon MP180, which is not too bad a little machine. Both aforementioned products share a similar problem -- very expensive ink cartridges and terribly high ink consumption, especially the MX472. Printing only basic textual documents, the last 240XL cartridge produced less than 175 pages, which is more than 14 cents a page. Canon, didn't you mention a yield of about 300? Next, if installation and setup of the MX472 - especially wireless functionality - can be accomplished, it's worse than college finals week. I finally "linked up" via my Apple laptop, but it wasn't easy. Also, very large documents cannot be sent by wireless; a wired connection (USB) is required. Printing with this machine is unbelievably slow, the quality is mediocre, and it "spits" your documents all over! The MX472 is loud and slow, so slow that it disrupts the origin computer via a slow print queue. Paper capacity is too small and paper jams are a regular fact of life. The scan function and its software are bottom-of-the-barrel. I simply do not understand the users who rated this product with more than 2 stars; i suppose they mainly had the price in mind, but you get what you pay for.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: 
Location: Texas
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Save your Money

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 12, 2015
Without a doubt the worst printer i have ever purchased. Nothing but problems right out of the box.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: 
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Value

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 10, 2015
Printer is a very good value with good print quality. The price of replacement cartridges was very competitive as well. The only downside is the paper tray for finished copies.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: 
Location: Cleveland, OH
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Bad purchase

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2015
This may be the worst purchase I have made. It is difficult to load the ink. The paper loading is also pretty poor. It jams more than a blues artist pulling an all nighter. Just horrible all the way around. It has lasted over 6 months- that is the only reason I gave it 2 stars- I was in a generous mood. I would recommend buying copy paper before you put money on this.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: 
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

pixma mx 472

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2015
good printer but does NOT have a "Fast Print" setting - wastes ink- good for Canon, but not for me. Will never buy another printer without a "Fast Print, B &W or Color" setting.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: 
Location: Bethel Park, Pa.
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Copying
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Worse Printer Ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2015
Terrible, stops working every day. When I do the repair on Canon it says it is fixed, HAH!!!
Wouldn't recommend Canon printers to anyone. I bought the printer because I thought Canon had good equipment and a Good Name
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: 
Location: San Carlos, CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Worst Purchase Ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2015
Worst purchase ever. The feeder works intermittently, the wireless connection works intermittently, printing takes forever. I have had it less than 6 months and I am scrapping it for another manufacturer's product.
I will never buy a Cannon printer ever again!!
Review 11 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: 
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great!!!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 31, 2015
A great printer, for the price, etc. As a retired Army officer, I am OCD about products.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: 
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Poor

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2015
Printer is great if you want to only print and copy. will do its job when only printing is required or copying. Fax is not made for business purpose. does not have PC-to-Fax software like brother. Before buying I thought that it will be nicer that Brother machine. but I was wrong. It is not nicer that brother. cannon can do some improvements in its function. I owned two cannon printers, one printer does not work at all in two years. I am disappointed in cannon products.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: 
Location: Jacksonville,Florida
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Printer MX472

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 8, 2015
So far this is the best home printer I have owned.
Setup was easy, I have not used the Wifi yet, may have use for it later.
Unit prints well and fast, Pictures come out great.
I would buy it again !
Thanks
Oldswitchman
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: 
Location: Mobile, AL.
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great printer/Expensive Ink

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2015
In the limited time I have used this printer, the MX472 has performed flawlessly, producing vivid color for both photos & documents. The MX472 is far superior to my other printer, as it is more reliable, faster, quieter & far exceeds my other printer in color reproduction. The only negative I have found for the MX472 is the high cost of ink cartridge refills. If not for that drawback I would have given it a five star rating.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: 
Location: Sacramento, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Just love it!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 3, 2015
This printer is awesome! Easy to set up and prints, copy and scan like the original copy. The quiet mode is second to none. I will recommend this product for anybody.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: 
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Terrible Product

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2015
I would warn anyone against purchasing this printer. I have only had it for 3 months and I cannot stand it. I am constantly fighting with it to try to get it to print, it often tells me to "please wait a while" for hours at a time -- NOT ideal if you are a student or anyone trying to meet deadlines. Cannot get the scanning to work, nor the wireless print. I am pretty technologically savvy but I cannot get this printer to cooperate. When it does work, however, I will grant that print and copy quality are beautiful for the price paid. Overall, it is a constant struggle to get this product to perform.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: 
Location: Wappingers Falls, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 24, 2015
I love this printer, it was easy to setup, and wireless printing is awesome! I recommend this printer to anyone who is in need of an all in one machine.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: 
Location: Castalian Springs, TN.
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Phenominal

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 18, 2015
WOW! This is my first adjective of many that could be used. Thank you Canon and your designers for coming up with such an easy way to install a printer...even wireless.
That's right open the box, plug it in and put the disk in the portal and press load and then follow the easy to use directions from there. I kid you not I was a little apprehensive that it would work the first time, but it did.
I am so pleased, and I thank you again very much.
Newton
Review 19 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: 
Location: North Carolina
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Hate mx470 series. Worst printer ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2015
I like canon products and stick with the canon printers. I was starting my own business 2 months ago and was excited to buy this expensive new MX470 series printer/fax/copier. i have to say, dealing with this printet is the most stressful part of my job. When it even works, it is slow, jams every other use, sucks in too many papers at once, snd sucks back in and ruins papers if you dont remove it IMMEDIATLY off the printer. Now I am stuck with it. I Hate it.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: 
Location: Maine
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

all in one

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2015
I had purchased an all in one but had issues downloading the disc into my laptop, plus marks on paper when printing from the top instead of scanning was smugging. Returned item 2 wks. later replaced it with the same model and wow what a difference its works so much better, just need to figure out how to receive a fax now. Very happy and the price was great.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site