Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MX Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MX Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX472

PIXMA MX472

Enjoy new levels of printing convenience with utilizing features such as AirPrint and Google Cloud Print. The Automatic Document Feeder holds 30 sheets, making it easier to copy, scan or fax multiple page documents. FastFront enables you to quickly and easily change ink and add paper all from the front of the printer. With the optional XL or XXL pigment black ink cartridge, you won't have to replace your ink cartridges as often.
Average Customer Rating:
3.103 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
9
6 out of 13(46%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX472
Review 1 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: FlamingYeti

Terrible Printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2014
This awful printer/"scanner" can't even do the second part of its job. It refused to even start scanning, will not connect to my Wifi network, and has just been a headache from day one. You're better off spending your money on a potato than this awful printer
Review 2 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Island dreamer
Location: west Palm beach, Florida
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

So far so good

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 22, 2014
Great product. No problems yet on either machine. Great copies, no jams and photo copies are excellent.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: tj4449
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good printer for the price

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2014
Printer was very easy to setup and does an acceptable job of printing. For the cost it is a great bargain and does everything that it was meant to do! It is rather slow if you want to duplex, but in a pinch works well.
Review 4 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Sunshine
Location: Chicago
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Best Purchase Ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2014
I have know Canon to have an unblemished reputation for many years. I had not used the product other than the Office at work. I did some research on Canon to purchase for my home Office and compared it to other Brands. Canon qualities stood out to me and it's affordability sounded almost to good to be true.
I Purchased my Canon and must say they truly live up to there name. It prints high quality documents and has many other great features such as Scan, Copy, Fax. Besides that the ink cartridges are reasonably priced.
Canon is my new choice of Printers. I don't know how I never considered it before but I am certainly ecstatic I made the right choice this time -- Canon the best and only choice for Printers.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: dlink
Location: Toronto, ON
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Terrible setup support

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2014
If you can get this printer going, then it works fine. The problem is like others have said, it took me 3+ hours to set up the wifi connection, including being on hold for over an hour with their tech support. It worked well for about two months, then inexplicably my computer stopped being able to recognize it. The "support" window that popped up supposedly showing how to navigate reconnecting it was nowhere to be found on the canon software, and really read like complete jibberish. I'm usually fairly adept with technology, and it's pretty frustrating that they've made something so inaccessible to the common public.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: REV
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Copying
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great printer!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2014
Very happy with my purchase! Money well spent!
I will recommend this printer to my friends.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Anonymous

Don't even bother getting a canon printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 13, 2014
This printer is absolutely horrible. I wouldn't have given it a star if I didn't have the option. Takes a terribly long time to complete the simple task of printing.
The printer has ink, but if I try to print something out in black ink, then it will print out a blank sheet of paper. If I print using color ink then the paper comes out in a faded blue shade.
This is a horrible printer. Please do yourself a favor and do NOT purchase it.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: mike
Location: orlando
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Agree, worst purchase ever!!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2014
This printer is garbage. I wish i could find my receipt. I will never purchase a Canon product again. it jams, prints all jacked up. nothing has gone right with this product accept the first 50 pages.
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: bigdin
Location: RIVERDALE GA.
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

great purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 24, 2014
I LOVE MY CANON COPIER THE WIRELESS CONNECTION IS GREAT.IT DOESN'T TAKE UP MUCH ROOM .IT 'S FAST AND USES LESS INK THEN MY OLD COPIER.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Delta-Force-51
Location: Charleston, WV
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Printer!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 8, 2014
Canons' Pixma MX472 Multifunction printer is an excellent machine. This printer performs very well and has all the functions I need.
I have had no problems with this printer; moreover, it is a great value and well worth a look.
I recommend the Pixma MX472 to friends!
Review 11 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Astrodj
Location: BC Canada
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 4, 2014
Purchased this printer because I wanted a printer I could use on wi-fi with my iPad and iPhone.
It works extremely well, and it was not hard to share it with the two PCs I own. The only problem I had with it was with the set up, but once I got through that it was fine. I am very pleased with it, and does everything I wanted it to do. I would recommend this printer to anyone looking for a wi- fi printer
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: mountaingoat
Location: Denver,co
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Hard to setup

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 3, 2014
Hard to setup with out a dedicated phone line. I'm trying to setup using the line I share with home phone. I have a cable internet based phone service and all of the technical information with printer and information online has not worked for me to set it up properly.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: warthog
Location: West Virginia
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Initial Set-Up With A Mac Very Frustrating

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 1, 2014
Just purchased this product. Many wasted hours trying to set-up with a Mac Computer. No instructions nor a CD Rom for setting up with a Mac. Also no help available at all on Canon website to set up with a Mac.Finally called Canon Tech support. It took almost 45 minutes to slowly go thru the setup with a very knowledgeable and patient tech support person.. I'm sure the printer and its features will work well. But the total lack of info on how to initially set it up with a Mac would definitely be a reason why I would not buy another Canon printer. The tech rep was very understanding, but was at a loss as to why Canon was so negligent in providing proper materials or instructions to set it up with a Mac. Canon - you can do better.
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Jeri S.
Location: Harrisburg area, PA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Canon Consistency

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 29, 2014
As a small business owner, I recently had to replace my Pixma MX330 that had served me well for the past 5 years. Time was of the essence so I purchased this upgraded version thru their Tech. Support.
The machine arrived 2 days later & the instructions were simple enough to follow. Set-up took some time but, since it was 5 years ago since I had done this, it still went smoothly. Called for support one time and the hold time was minimal; their help was efficient and knowledgeable.
Word of Caution / Wisdom: if you are replacing a similar product, take careful note as to your fax-line connections. This was my only real problem & it was more my error in that it somehow got disconnected on both ends & took some trial & error to find the correct port to locate & re-establish the fax line.
I anticipate another long tenure with this machine.
Bottom line: great value for the price and support was there and very helpful thru the minor issues I encountered.
Review 15 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: RedGaron
Location: Laurel, MD
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good Value for a small all-in-one printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 10, 2014
I was looking for a printer/copier/scanner/fax that did not take up a lot of real estate in my home,but which could also print from several devices. The MX472 fits the bill for me. I was surprised at how easy it is to fax and receive faxes. Other all-in-one machines that I have used in the past, including from Canon, were too complex to set up to receive faxes for a phone line that is also used to receive calls and has an answering machine.
On the downside.... there is no duplex printing; and this printer seems to consume a lot of ink.
I have had this printer for only 1 week, and I will update this when I have more experience with this printer.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: liz

Worst Purchase Ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 10, 2014
This printer will not work. I had to buy an extra cable just to sync it to my computer even though it is supposed to be a 'wifi' printer. Well, it also does not come with an Apple version of the software. It won't print from my Iphone like it says, either. This computer basically is just a copy machine.
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: KK
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Wanted to like it

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 2, 2014
Pros: Small Footprint, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Difficult Setup
Got this for a great deal on Amazon, or it would be going back already. Spent nearly 3 hours trying to set up the wireless connectivity. Computer connected to network, printer connected to network, but they could not find each other. I really wanted this because of the wireless printing, and I've had other Canon printers that have easily connected (and I do know how to install the software, etc - which repeating the steps for set-up included downloading at least 4 times!). I'm going to try purchasing a cable to physically tie the printer and computer together. If that doesn't work, it's going to have to go back. However, the copy function works fine, so the printer does actually work.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Erie
Location: Hamilton, NJ
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

I Love This Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 22, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
This printer is reallly good!!!!! It is easy to use and it works very well.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: gapch
Location: Georgia
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great purchase

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 15, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: no 2 side printing
I would have given this machine 5 overall stars if had 2 sided printing. Machine is very heavy, so I would place where you want and leave it there.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Lockport, New York
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Worst printer ever bought

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 8, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable
Not easy to hook up. I've had continuous problems with it. Very loud., defiantly not worth the money.
5 of 9 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site