Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MX Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MX Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX472

PIXMA MX472

Enjoy new levels of printing convenience with utilizing features such as AirPrint and Google Cloud Print. The Automatic Document Feeder holds 30 sheets, making it easier to copy, scan or fax multiple page documents. FastFront enables you to quickly and easily change ink and add paper all from the front of the printer. With the optional XL or XXL pigment black ink cartridge, you won't have to replace your ink cartridges as often.
Average Customer Rating:
3.119 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
13
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
18
6 out of 13(46%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX472
Review 1 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: bertha
Location: florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

trouble with set up

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2015
I have not been able to get it to print from my laptop
have to call someone to help with problem and pay to get it to work
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: RAG9779
Location: Newark DE
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Terrible Purchase

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2015
Purchased several Canon printers before all were wired, first wireless, this one is crazy, want through several hoops and still will not install to my wireless router, got a new router still nothing. Don't know if it is to late to return but will try, no more Canon's wireless for me
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: lew
Location: florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

great but

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2015
the set up instructions need to be more user friendly, once you get by that is great
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Don
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Wireless works great.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2015
This is the first wireless printer that we've owned. Setup was easy and it works great with both computers we have.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: jrhoffa
Location: Fergus Falls, MN
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

excelant product once again

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2015
This is by far the best printer we have ever purchased. We upgraded from an older printer, so I'm probably easily impressed. Never the less this is a great product. Fast, professional, and sophisticated I enjoy using this printer. The pictures I've printed so far have turned out perfectly. This is the Canon MX472 printer. It could however use a better set of instructions in print that comes with it. It doesn't have much printed instruction, just online instruction. The call in help is out of this world. They are so helpful. Walked me through my troubles.
Review 6 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: e513
Location: Santo Domingo, DR
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Output tray

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2015
Well I think is not the best one could buy, but if used for home like I do it you wont be so dissapointed except for one special thing. The OUTPUT TRAY is SO SHORT OR PAPER COMES OUT SO FAST, only thing I know is that after a few pages THERE'S PAPER FLYING ALL AROUND.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Frank
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: more than 20 years

Poor experience

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2015
I've had the printer for a very brief time. The print quality became blurry. I tried head alignment maintenance but it only produced repeated paper jams as I attempt to complete the alignment.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Melissa
Location: DFW, TX
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years

Wi-Fi Unfriendly

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2015
This printer is great for what it produces BUT it is very unfriendly with connecting to Wi-Fi enabled products. I will NEVER buy another one!!!!!!!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Texas ER

Might Be A Good Printer - but i'll never know

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2015
The directions, setup menus, and online help to set up this printer are so bad I can only guess that they were written by a child who has never actually used a computer - and doesn't speak English.
This machine is not serviceable as a result. Take a look at the documentation before you buy it. Trust me.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Pat

Very disappointed

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2015
I am a casual user. Just need for occasional printing airline tickets, recipes and pics. Very fussy printer. Takes forever to print. Queue gets backed up easily. Hard to trouble shoot issues. Spent more time trying to get functional then actually printing. Im quite disappointed with this printer.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: mjm1
Location: kennewick, wa.
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

canon printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2015
printer works wonderful, easy to operate, fits in small areas,
easy to install, easy to set up
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Virginian
Location: Reston, VA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

So far so good!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2015
Just bought this last week. Copy and print worked just fine. Havent tried the 'fax' yet. My laptop with Windows 7 Pro did not have the driver and even thought the printer was detected automatically via the network, it could not install the drivers automatically. I had to download the drivers from here:
http://www.usa.canon.com/cusa/support/consumer/printers_multifunction/pixma_mx_series/pixma_mx472#DriversAndSoftware
And then, after the initial setup of the drivers, I went through the "add Printer" from the start menu. Then, the driver was loaded and printer works fine via the network.
A bit noisy when it prints.. but doesnt bother us, since we are not printing many a day. Meets our needs well.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Oahu_red
Location: Little Rock, AR, United States
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Decent, but not as great as its predecessors

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2015
I owned an MX470 for 8 years and it worked fantastic until the last day I had it. I only gave it up because I was moving cross-country. I wish now I'd just paid to ship it because this beast is alright but not as good as my old one. As others have commented, the size is large and seems out-of-proportion with its functionality. It does all the same stuff my old one did - why has technology advanced nearly a decade yet this thing is twice as big? It is louder and not as intuitive to use. That said, it performs as expected given it's price point and I personally did not encounter some of the set-up issues others have complained about. It was standard for me - download a driver and it was good to go. My boyfriend took care of the wi-fi set-up. He doesn't have a lot of experience or a lot of patience and he didn't complain about it. Overall, I'm somewhat disappointed with this printer but wouldn't recommend against it. My primary disappointment is probably that Canon has historically been such a good company that I expect their products to progressively evolve to keep up with the times, and this printer feels like a small step backwards rather than forward compared to my last printer purchase 8 years ago. Like others have said, I think Canon can do better - and should, if they want to stay relevant.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: jfz219
Location: Indiana
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Please simplify installation

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2015
This is a very good printer that can be setup in less than 15 minutes. However, it can take hours and challenge your patience. The problem is poorly organized materials given with the printer. I found the Canon support site to be the most straightforward. Download the recommended drivers, use a temporary USB cable, and perform the manual setup for wireless mode.
Once setup, this is a LAN printer accessible from any computer or handheld device.
Review 15 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Rick
Location: KC MO
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

poor experience

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2015
It is impossible to get this wireless printer to print without it being wired.
I screen is impossible to read and is tiny.
Error codes don't tell you anything.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Reggie
Location: Dallas, TX
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Nice Printer for the price...

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2014
I had no problem setting up this printer: wifi, fax, etc. No USB was required as mentioned in earlier post. Print from iPhone and iPad with no problem.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Marieli
Location: Orlando, FL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Awsome Purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2014
Is the Best purchase Ever, Everyone has to have one of these.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Gene
Location: St. Louis
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very good but...

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 20, 2014
The printer offers a lot of capability at a low price. However - and I've installed a LOT of printers over many years, including WiFi enabled ones... the instructions are the worst I've ever seen. Things that should be addressed clearly are obscured. For instance the term "access point" or something to that effect, should have been followed by "(your router or similar device"). The input window instructions are sometimes non-sequiters The distinction between WEF setup and conventional WEP entry are obscured and overlapping. All they needed to do was have someone unfamiliar with the device try it out and find what their questions are.
Last, the WiFi reception is quite weak. All other WiFi devices work throughout my house but this printer, according to tech support needs to be in the same room or only one interior wall away.
But those aren't deal-breakers, and once you're up and running it is a very good device.
11 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: saltomer
Location: park city, il
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

great printer that needs backlight on lcd screen

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2014
I like this printer...it works flawlessly, quickly and is intuitive in it's function. Great quality and value for the price. Wish for two things: backlighting on the lcd screen (cannot read it in low light at all), and easier software to understand.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MX472
Nickname: Randy
Location: WV
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great Purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2014
Great Product. Easy installation on computer, semi easy installation on android phone. Awesome quality and speed of printing. Really like the wireless setup, application, and menu options included in the software. Should have purchased Canon years ago.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site