Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA iP Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA iP Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA iP8720

PIXMA iP8720

With a six color ink system, including gray ink, and 9600x2400 maximum color dpi, the results are incredible quality and amazing detail in your black & white and color photos. Print wirelessly from any Wi-Fi enabled computer around the house. Enjoy new levels of printing convenience utilizing features such as AirPrint and Google Cloud Print.
Average Customer Rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
1 out of 2(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA iP8720
Review 1 for PIXMA iP8720
Nickname: Ed
Location: Palm Bay, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Disappointed at CD/DVD print feature

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2015
I bought this printer mainly because it was advertised to print directly on blank CD/DVD disks. After struggling with this for a year I have been informed that it only works with Canon's pre-designed templates, not my own label designs. This completely negated my reason for buying this printer. To be fair, it prints great photos and documents with very few problems; however I could have gotten as much good from a much simpler, smaller, and less expensive Canon printer.
Review 2 for PIXMA iP8720
Nickname: SG
Location: Seattle
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

V nice - but no Ethernet port else would buy more

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2015
Very nice printer - but lack of Ethernet port is a real drawback, and keeps me from buying several more. (Yes I can buy a USB <> Enet interface, but that is a real hassle to manage).
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA iP8720
Nickname: Topcat15
Location: El Cajon, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Primary Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 14, 2015
I bought this printer to serve as a support and subsequently replacement for my old inkjet printer. This has worked so well that my old inkjet printer has been boxed up for recycling. This is now my one only printer and it is, up to this point, an excellent primary printer. The colors are beautiful and my clients like the results as well. Perhaps later this year, I get another one to add as a support and backup printer.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA iP8720
Nickname: Guido
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Photo printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2015
The Canon Pixma iP8720 is an ideal printer for the serious amateur or professional. Images are very professional looking and rival those of a photo lab print. Installation and operation are very straight forward. Wireless works as advertised.
This is a extremely good buy for the investment. As with all printers the original ink supplied with the printer does not last long. However, the quality is worth it.
Review 5 for PIXMA iP8720
Nickname: mountainwoman
Location: mountains of Colorado
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2015
I purchased the Canon IP8720 when my previous Canon printer started to fail. I contacted Canon directly, and their representative was very helpful, listening to what I wanted and sending me in the right direction. The order department was also helpful, and I received my new Canon printer PLUS many bonuses, in record time. The speed is great and the quality so much better than my previous printer, especially for photographs. Very happy with the printer AND with Canon!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA iP8720
Nickname: RD7215
Location: Orlando, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Crafts/Scrapbooking
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Awesome printer!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2015
I got this for crafting and very impressed with image quality. It is a great printer, and I can even print off my iPad and iPhone! Super easy to use and install and so glad I upgraded to this so I can print larger size prints for projects for all the DIY projects I've pinned on Pinterest! Love, love, love!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA iP8720
Nickname: KDPS
Location: Denver
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

A very good wide format printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2015
Actually I could rate this printer 5 star except for our experience with an earlier Canon printer I bought for my wife. An ip7220 printer. It is so bad that I came close to looking for a printer other than Canon for myself after many years of better luck. Even after Canon replacing the original, it is very slow & noisy preparing to print. And it has a hard time picking up paper from the lower tray if there is any slight irregularity on an edge.
My new ip8720 is solid, & quiet as it prepares to print quickly & does a very good job with both text & prints. A good thing is both my wife's printer and my new one use the same ink cartridges. Thanks for that
1 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA iP8720
Nickname: Bob
Location: Austin,Tx.
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Printer!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2015
My old PhotoPrinter (Which I liked)quit on me. I started reading printer reviews. I decided to get this one because the price was reasonable ,and I like the fact it used multiple cartridges to print. photo's . I tested it by printing 4x6's, and 8x10's. and text.I didn't try any larger prints but the fact it can do larger prints is a plus. The print quality was great I'm very satisfied with the printer. It's easy to install I just installed the software and plugged it into my USB port. Some of the software doesn't work like Image Garden. But since I use a photo program I really didn't care. It definitly does what I bought it for to print photo's and text when needed. Great printer!
Review 9 for PIXMA iP8720
Nickname: Kansasdoc
Location: Kansas City, Mo
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

So disappointed

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2015
Out of the box I was surprised to look at my counter and hands to find a rainbow of splattered colors from the cartridges leaking. Be very careful to stay away from rugs and nice clothing when installing.
I used multiple Macs, Air, Mac PRO, IMAC, and Macbook Pro all on the same network. I have a very difficult time trying to set up on the network. I went to USB and the printer will disappear and the I have to restart the computer. So far it is a real hassle.
It must be a great windows printer but as a MAC owner I will probably trash it.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA iP8720
Nickname: NO-TECHNO-GEEK
Location: North FL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Why is only PC Software included?

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2015
I wanted another Canon printer for a specific purpose-to print copies of photos made with my I-phone. Imagine my surprise when I opened the box from Amazon and the only software included was for PC's!!! How hard would it be for Cannon to include a $.50 CD with Apple appropriate drivers for the MILLIONS of I-phone and I-pad users who would like to save a little time and effort and not to expend the extra time to track down what is essential to use the printer. Canon is a great product, someone needs to back it up and package the software for Apple users. I would have given it two more stars if both users software had been included.
6 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA iP8720
Nickname: KR1801
Location: Detroit, MI
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Why is it so big?

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2015
I am still waiting and hoping for a replacement for the Pixma 4920 for photo printing with a rear load.
I started using Canon all the way back from the 4300, 4500, 4600, 4700 and 4920 versions.
This printer is far to big to just print wallet size or 4x6 photos.
The good news is that at least they added back in the rear feed in this version vs. the 7220 before it.
Now if they would only listen and reduce the size for regular 8x10, 4x6 and wallet prints.
1 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA iP8720
Nickname: Pookie
Location: Duarte CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Crafts/Scrapbooking
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Happy with purchase

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2014
I would have given it a 5 star, but was unable to find a manual online to assist me in printing 12x12 photos. Once I figured it out I was happy with the quality of the print.
This is my 1st Canon, having purchased 7 other from another leading manufacturer. Photo images are clear & the photos come out completely dry to sticky finish.
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA iP8720
Nickname: nooneknows
Location: San Francisco, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Poor printing results

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2014
I am a graphic student. The printing result has streaks.
10 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA iP8720
Nickname: Sunrae
Location: Tampa,FL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Excellent photo printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 7, 2014
Excellent, very user friendly, printer. Set up with wifi in no time at all ( I am not computer set up savy). The pictures are beyond fabulous. Worth every penny. Going to use it to make Christmas gifts!!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA iP8720
Nickname: Geepa
Location: Franklin, TN
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

So far, so good...

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 2, 2014
Bought this as a replacement for an older Canon that started leaking black ink. It was time to go.
I wanted a good photo-quality printer first. I also do everyday printing (emails, articles, etc.).
This thing does not disappoint. The photos are beautiful. I have one picture of my grandchildren in the ocean. They are wearing bright orange shirts/trunks. It's beautiful. No running between the orange and the aqua and the white. Very crisp all around in what I would think would be a hard photo to print.
I haven't tried black and white photos yet.
Regarding everyday docs: It does fine. We keep it in draft mode to keep down ink use.
I have had somewhat of a hard time using the wi-fi connection with my laptop. (Our desktop is hard-wired to it.) I hope I have finally got it right. The instructions on setting up the wi-fi capability are a little confusing, in my opinion.
Summary: if you are looking for a great photo printer that will do everyday docs, this is the one.
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA iP8720
Nickname: Saber

Very pleased

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2014
I am very pleased with this printer. It was easy to set up and easy to use.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA iP8720
Nickname: mosalts
Location: Cedar Bluffs, NE
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Disapointed

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 20, 2014
Pros: High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: unreliable, Flimsy Construction
I was very excited to get this printer. My husband has used Canon for years and we purchased an i3 a year ago and were very pleased. But this printer has been a disappointment. Not very good set up instructions to start with but was fairly easy to figure out. Started off great but then started eating paper and pulling in paper crooked and ripping inside of printer. Very quiet and quality is awesome when working correctly. Easy return and very nice and helpful call in return. I will try again for another one but for now disappointed.
13 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA iP8720
Nickname: george
Location: Crossville, Tn.
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

very functional for my needs

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint
I am a Canon junky. I have not had trouble with printers, ink or paper. Costs more but trouble free.
Now for this printer. You can print on DVDs which is easy and with included softwre can be creative. Cartridges are larger than normal but can be purchased with extra ink. Machine is fast not noisy nd prints beautifully. Ink comes with machine but doesn't last long. Order ink in advance an d have on hand. Machine is large so make room for it.
Canon included software is getting better and is now very useful.
47 of 49 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site