Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Camcorders Reviews / High Definition Camcorders Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop High Definition Camcorders or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for VIXIA HF R500

VIXIA HF R500

57x Advanced Zoom and SuperRange Optical Image Stabilizer helps provide outstanding steady video. Canon 3.28 Megapixel Full HD CMOS Image Sensor. DIGIC DV 4 Image Processor captures video at 1920 x 1080 resolution and helps provide exceptional imaging performance. Record Full HD video directly to a removable SD memory card.
Average Customer Rating:
3.632 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
1 out of 1(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIXIA HF R500
Review 1 for VIXIA HF R500
Nickname: Jess
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2015
The visual is great but the audio fades alot once you view what you recorded you can hear it then the sound fades and comes back and it happens a few times
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VIXIA HF R500
Nickname: Akabatman
Location: Cape Cod
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Outstanding value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 13, 2015
I've owned many video cameras and the HF R500 is the least expensive - but produces the best video.
The image stabilisation is the best I've seen, with care it looks like a tripod is being used.
It lacks some of the features of other cameras I've owned, but as I rarely - if ever - used them, it's not a concern to me.
I really like this camcorder.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIXIA HF R500
Nickname: outdoorsman
Location: Idaho
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great zoom and clarity.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2015
Just received the HF R500 today.
Was surprized how small it is. Took 4 hours to charge the tiny battery.
Don't let its size fool you. This takes incredible video. HD 60p is incredible.
I did have some trouble post capture in burning an AVCHD DVD to play on my blue ray player. After three attempts, I tried to see if my blue ray player would play the edited mp4 file from a jump drive. It did flawlessly.
MP4 is becoming more mainstream. I am glad this camera has both options during capture.
The zoom is smooth and has three speeds plus a variable setting.
The optical image stabilizer works well.
I used this camera indoors and was very slightly grainy compared to older cameras.
Overall, I was impressed, especially for the low price.
I only wish the lens was threaded so I could attach a polarizing filter.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIXIA HF R500
Nickname: Amaranti
Location: Orlando, FL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Good, but not great

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2015
This is a good camera for beginners. Full of features and it feels right in your hand. Good weight, good size. What I personally did not like was a rattling sound in the camera body when you tilted the camera in any direction. I thought perhaps I had a defective one and returned it. The replacement had the same annoying rattling. The rattling does show up on the recordings if you move the camera too much while filming. Not sure how this made it through quality control, or if this affects all cameras in their line, but it made me return it for a refund.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIXIA HF R500
Nickname: mctech
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

a real nice christmas

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2015
I received a canon vixia hf r500 for christmas and so far i am enjoying it very much it replaces my old fs300 my old camera works great but it was time to step up to hd also the external mic jack makes this camera a real winner everything from the touch screen to the headphone jack are nice additions to a great compact and easy to use camera
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIXIA HF R500
Nickname: Kalena
Location: San Ramon, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Very nice camcorder

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2015
This was my first Canon purchase and I am very pleased. The camcorder is small, lightweight and very easy to use. I was able to fit it inside my purse.
I would recommend this camcorder for starters. I plan on purchasing more Canon products in the future.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIXIA HF R500
Nickname: jim
Location: denver co
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

very pleased with product

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2015
I am so far very pleased with the product. This is a new experience and using the camcorder to do the basics is going very well.
I have a major complaint. Considering the price of the product I am very upset that it does not come with an operating manual.
You are referred to the website for the manual only to find that Canon expects you to print out 200 pages to have a complete manual. Same is true for the software to use the camcorder with your computer. Instead of sending a disc to upload the software as other electronic manufacturers do you are expected to go on line to download that information. I can assure you that these penny pinching items by Canon on an expensive piece of electronics will be a major consideration in my choice of future products I buy
11 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIXIA HF R500
Nickname: ben
Location: Joppa, Illinois
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Vixia Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2014
I really like the Canon Vixia video camera. It's ease of use as well as other functions such as the snap shot function is nice to have. I love the camera's ability to stabilize your motion and give you clear video. Great product and well worth the purchase.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VIXIA HF R500
Nickname: Grump
Location: CT
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Not a great experience

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2014
I like the camera, it's easy to use, works well, and all that. This was my first camcorder purchase but not my first Canon product purchase. I have a Canon P&S camera, and a Canon all in one printer / copier / scanner. This could be my last Canon purchase though. I simply could not get the Image browser software to work after wasting hours of time trying to get it to work which included browsing the help forums. It's clear this is sub-standard software and I'm not the only one that has had a problem. I'm considering sending the camera back as it's somewhat useless without the Image Browser EX software. Nice try, thanks but no thanks.
10 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VIXIA HF R500
Nickname: PhotoshopDon
Location: St .Louis, MO
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great camcorder for the price!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2014
I had a Canon FS100 previously and was looking to upgrade to a camcorder with higher resolution. I researched Canons camcorders, and purchased the Vixia HRF500. The quality of the recordings are beautiful and very sharp and you can't beat the price. The only thing that I wish it had on it was remote zoom, but that comes with the higher price models.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VIXIA HF R500
Nickname: PISD teacher
Location: Pearland, TX
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great for beginners

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2014
I purchased 5 of these for a entry level high school video production class. It was a great invenstment since high school students that are new to production need little to complicate their video projects and this camera is great!
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VIXIA HF R500
Nickname: trophy91
Location: Fl
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera for the money

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 20, 2014
I have only owned this camera for a short period of time so I'm still getting use to it. This camera has so many features that I know it will take time to learn them all. This camera is very compact with an outstanding zoom lens. I enjoy the baby mode feature since I have a 6 months old grandson.
I also enjoy having the optiom of recording in MP4 or AVCHD format.. Video is sharp and clear. For the price and features you can't go wrong.
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VIXIA HF R500
Nickname: MrPVC
Location: Bangor, PA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great Value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 17, 2014
I bought it for the HD picture quality and it does that wonderfully. I found the menu easier to navagate than one would expect from reading the manual. The zoom is fantastic and presents a number of possibilities, as long as you use a tripod. I consider it the best value of the three in the series because I have no interest in the extra features of the two higher priced models. The only negative is the lack of a viewfinder. The screen is almost impossible to see on a bright sunny day. (But I knew this would be the case when I bought it.) I may try to rig some kind of sights to help me aim at a subject when I can't see the screen. I do not use any of the downloadable software because I do not have an Apple or a Windows machine. I am running LINUX Ubuntu and do not have any problems downloading the files. It would have helped if I had a description of what the different folders in the camera''s memory contain. I use the open source video editor "OpenShot" to edit my videos. It works fine. If I find myself using the camera a lot I may consider one of the semi-professional models.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VIXIA HF R500
Nickname: Fern
Location: Sacramento, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great Camcorder for Grandma!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 12, 2014
I purchased this camera to record video of my rapidly growing grandchildren. I've been recording them on my smartphone, but I don't like the tall skinny videos my smartphone takes. This camcorder is an excellent value. It is easy to set up and use. Everything you need to know in order to use it is on the quick start guide that comes in the package. I love that it stores video on a removable SD card. I can pop the SD card into my card reader and copy the videos to my computer. I love that it takes still photos, too. For this grandma's modest needs, this camera has been the perfect solution.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VIXIA HF R500
Nickname: JC
Location: TN
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Not good

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 11, 2014
The touch screen is a bad idea because I could not make all the functions work due to my finger size and I have only slightly larger than normal size hands. I wear size 11 gloves. I gave it away.
3 of 36 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VIXIA HF R500
Nickname: Pix4fun
Location: Washington DC area.
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Good all around camcorder.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 8, 2014
I've found the VIXIA HF R500 to be a good all around camcorder. It's been great for taking vidoes of vacations and special events with very good picture and sound quality. The only real problem I've found is that it is a little limited in low light and loud sound situations but for most of my uses this camcorder has done very well.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VIXIA HF R500
Nickname: LindaT
Location: Florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Wish I knew

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2014
Wish I knew when I bought this video camera that it does NOT come with instructions. You have to go to one website for instructions then another website to download software to transfer video to your computer. The manual is 200 pages and for the price paid for this video camera the least the company can do is provide it. Why they expect you to print a 200 page document is beyond reasoning. Thanks Canon for the poor product support.
14 of 42 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for VIXIA HF R500
Nickname: bojo360
Location: Upper Midwest
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Some feature are great-some not so much

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 24, 2014
Can't use LED screen in sunlight. Long range focus takes a longer time to register than I would have hoped.Stabilization works great at long range. Picture quality is very good. Snapshot is okay, Zoom is okay but you can take a photo out with any good video editor. Convenient compact size. Lens cover doors will fog lens when used outdoors over long periods Economical. User friendly.Touch screen very handy for average to smaller fingers. I would buy again for my modest needs..
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for VIXIA HF R500
Nickname: PandaCam
Location: Portland, OR
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

A great value

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 29, 2014
Pros: Easy Computer Connectivity, Compact Design, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
This camera has exceeded my expectations for a consumer camcorder. The auto focus and focus follow are quite good. I bought the Canon wireless mic to go with it. It does not do well in low light, but I am surprised how well it does with filming small objects.
22 of 22 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site