Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Camcorders Reviews / High Definition Camcorders Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop High Definition Camcorders or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for VIXIA HF R500

VIXIA HF R500

57x Advanced Zoom and SuperRange Optical Image Stabilizer helps provide outstanding steady video. Canon 3.28 Megapixel Full HD CMOS Image Sensor. DIGIC DV 4 Image Processor captures video at 1920 x 1080 resolution and helps provide exceptional imaging performance. Record Full HD video directly to a removable SD memory card.
Average Customer Rating:
3.375 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
1 out of 1(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIXIA HF R500
Review 1 for VIXIA HF R500
Nickname: trophy91
Location: Fl
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera for the money

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 20, 2014
I have only owned this camera for a short period of time so I'm still getting use to it. This camera has so many features that I know it will take time to learn them all. This camera is very compact with an outstanding zoom lens. I enjoy the baby mode feature since I have a 6 months old grandson.
I also enjoy having the optiom of recording in MP4 or AVCHD format.. Video is sharp and clear. For the price and features you can't go wrong.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VIXIA HF R500
Nickname: MrPVC
Location: Bangor, PA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great Value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 17, 2014
I bought it for the HD picture quality and it does that wonderfully. I found the menu easier to navagate than one would expect from reading the manual. The zoom is fantastic and presents a number of possibilities, as long as you use a tripod. I consider it the best value of the three in the series because I have no interest in the extra features of the two higher priced models. The only negative is the lack of a viewfinder. The screen is almost impossible to see on a bright sunny day. (But I knew this would be the case when I bought it.) I may try to rig some kind of sights to help me aim at a subject when I can't see the screen. I do not use any of the downloadable software because I do not have an Apple or a Windows machine. I am running LINUX Ubuntu and do not have any problems downloading the files. It would have helped if I had a description of what the different folders in the camera''s memory contain. I use the open source video editor "OpenShot" to edit my videos. It works fine. If I find myself using the camera a lot I may consider one of the semi-professional models.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIXIA HF R500
Nickname: Fern
Location: Sacramento, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great Camcorder for Grandma!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 12, 2014
I purchased this camera to record video of my rapidly growing grandchildren. I've been recording them on my smartphone, but I don't like the tall skinny videos my smartphone takes. This camcorder is an excellent value. It is easy to set up and use. Everything you need to know in order to use it is on the quick start guide that comes in the package. I love that it stores video on a removable SD card. I can pop the SD card into my card reader and copy the videos to my computer. I love that it takes still photos, too. For this grandma's modest needs, this camera has been the perfect solution.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIXIA HF R500
Nickname: JC
Location: TN
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Not good

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 11, 2014
The touch screen is a bad idea because I could not make all the functions work due to my finger size and I have only slightly larger than normal size hands. I wear size 11 gloves. I gave it away.
1 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIXIA HF R500
Nickname: Pix4fun
Location: Washington DC area.
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Good all around camcorder.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 8, 2014
I've found the VIXIA HF R500 to be a good all around camcorder. It's been great for taking vidoes of vacations and special events with very good picture and sound quality. The only real problem I've found is that it is a little limited in low light and loud sound situations but for most of my uses this camcorder has done very well.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIXIA HF R500
Nickname: LindaT
Location: Florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Wish I knew

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2014
Wish I knew when I bought this video camera that it does NOT come with instructions. You have to go to one website for instructions then another website to download software to transfer video to your computer. The manual is 200 pages and for the price paid for this video camera the least the company can do is provide it. Why they expect you to print a 200 page document is beyond reasoning. Thanks Canon for the poor product support.
2 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIXIA HF R500
Nickname: bojo360
Location: Upper Midwest
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Some feature are great-some not so much

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 24, 2014
Can't use LED screen in sunlight. Long range focus takes a longer time to register than I would have hoped.Stabilization works great at long range. Picture quality is very good. Snapshot is okay, Zoom is okay but you can take a photo out with any good video editor. Convenient compact size. Lens cover doors will fog lens when used outdoors over long periods Economical. User friendly.Touch screen very handy for average to smaller fingers. I would buy again for my modest needs..
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIXIA HF R500
Nickname: PandaCam
Location: Portland, OR
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

A great value

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 29, 2014
Pros: Easy Computer Connectivity, Compact Design, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
This camera has exceeded my expectations for a consumer camcorder. The auto focus and focus follow are quite good. I bought the Canon wireless mic to go with it. It does not do well in low light, but I am surprised how well it does with filming small objects.
19 of 19 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site